(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Chicken Little
Yah, I can understand how painful it must be...already I had ulcers in the past on the tongue or on the lip, it's difficult to eat... can imagine more so for our little ones....just that I find it hard to 'swallow' that he's not getting hydrated..... if he doesn't eat, nevermind, it's more of getting hydrated still... sigh

hi mummies, i received a letter from MOH to perform health check for my maid. i read that HIV test is not compulsory and only done at MOH approved clinicial lab. did you do the HIV screening for your maid? Does the normal GP provide the test?

SSF
I didn't do HIV testing screening for mine...just the usual pregnancy test and other testing... if you want, can request to your GP to do an additional testing? So they can draw the blood all at one time.

mamachan
as long as he's drinking fluid, that's the most important thing liao. how about trying to boil some barley water for him to drink? just keep asking him to take a few sips every few minutes.

CL
where did you buy your ergo?

sunny
we've done the necessary le...now that he refuses to sip water totally unless after medicine time to get rid of the medicine taste in his mouth...we've bribed him with his fav mac's apple juice drink...he only drank half which we're happy le.... so far, he only had his morning milk and afternoon choco milk fresh milk (mixed with some normal fresh milk) and the apply juice and some sips of water.... he gets even more manja when my hb is around, mouth is even more "pain pain". He's now my hb's little koala bear.

Havent been here for a couple of days..talking about HK trip? birng back some memories..

SSF
so suprise to see you at kidsloft
I was in a daze when u wave at me.. :p manage to spend the voucher?
We thought of buying car seat and stroller but din manage to get any.. hmm not what we are looking for.

Talking about health check.. oh no! I just missed the deadline!! suppose to bring her check today latest.
Ya HIV test is not compulsory, the last round when I brought maid to check, I din check on that too. Not sure if GP will do it..cos last round I din do it for my helper.

Mamachan
Poor D, hope he gets well soon. Just be patient with him, he's probably feeling terrible. Won't be able to join you for the GE run cos will be off to Perth, anyway the registration is closed due to overwhelming response

Wenyl
E is so funny, but then again is not his fault cos he did "hold" his poo =)

Aileen
Kaypoh, your hb going CLSA conf? I stayed at Hollywood Hotel cos is more kids frenly. Disneyland Hotel is more suitable for couple. The 50% discount with the annual pass purchase has ended I think.

SY
Wow, JH really starts young, hope he and Keenan don't become "qingdi"...haha

Hi Mamachan,

Guess your frustration stems from your tireness and worried.

Be patient.... i recall megan didn't take much when she had HFMD..... evem ice cream can't tempt her so it must be really painful.

CL, can the ergo be used on the hip, ie when carrying baby sideways. or forward facing?

Flo,
no, hb not going.

ssf/yuki/flo,
the package tours all bundle in hollywood hotel. unless i book everything seperately myself. i guess both hotels shld be quite ok. anyway this trip is really just for the kids, or shld i say for edgar. and i'm sure he doesn't give a damn where we are sleeping! haha!

Sunny
I can help you get at 10% or you can wait for metro sale for 20% like what Cookie did

Aileen
Yes it can be used at the hip forward facing, in the front will be facing the mummy or whoever carrying the baby and it can be as backpack at the back. 3 way.

CL,
oic... can borrow your ergo to test it out or not? i'm using the baby bjorn now but i feel that it's getting uncomfortable as ty grows. how much is the ergo btw?

CL
metro no longer selling liao.
only can get from bbsupplies or babysneed.com at $182. no discount....
10% discount? after discount is how much?
ya loh, can borrow your ergo to test?

Aileen, sunny,
I can loan you to test out but gotta to wait till my cousin come back from her trip.

She going on a trip from 30 Aug for 1 week.

I get from another source. Just bought one for my fren baby shower gift. I pm both of you on where I get from.

mamachan
oh dear, hope D gets better. it's really a trying time as they can't eat or drink well. i remember jh din even want his milk as well cos painful to swallow and he will just cry to sleep every time.

re HK
my neighbour just came back. she idn quite enjoy it. think quite polluted and she finds it really crowded.

ask u gals for your opinion.

I passed to my SIL my boy's stroller for use with her baby boy. Then it got damaged and they went on to buy a new one. Hmmmm, when i've no 2, I won't have anymore stroller coz they damaged mine. What should I do?
That's why don't like to pass things to pp. Sometimes they don't come back and in the end we've to fork out money and pay. They saved the money while we had to pay for their carelessness.

mashy
for me, if i pass bb stuff to others, i will tell them if i want it back i.e. lend to them or give to them loh. did you tell them you still need it when you pass to them? i think lots of ppl will take it that once the item is passed to them, we won't take it back.
and if i get things from other ppl, i will also ask if they want it back so that i would take extra care on those items passed to me.

sunny

yah, they know that i intend to take it back when i've no 2. In fact, her hb said what will we do when we've no 2, and we told them we'll take it back from them lor.

mashy
Did they return you the damaged stroller? If they did, they didn't offer you a solution or they just say it was spoiled (they might even infer that you may given them in a not-so-good condition that's why spoilt).... if not, then next time when you see your SIL you could casually ask oh, so when I have #2, would you lend me the stroller you bought?

Mashy
ha ha how they damaged ? My 8 year old niece's mas baby stroller was bought by my mil. When my Charmaine was born, it was pass to charmaine when she turns 1 because I have a graco heavy duty one for her first year. Then I used for a year then pass back to my sil for her son. It went on to another fren's son before it is spoilt. In our household, most of the things are passed around the cousins so now my niece is wearing Charmaine's clothes

mamachan

no, they didn't return us. They just said the buckle spoilt when they appeared in a new stroller. The hb did say that when we need the stroller, we exchange, but I don't have anymore strollers other than the 2 damaged ones from my car accident to exchange. They're going on 3 wheels now.

Sigh, think I'll think abt it when i confirm have no 2 bah. I hope it won't clash with their no 2 else dunno whether i can even get back all the rest of the stuff that i passed to them.

mashy,
i would have just asked them to compensate. i mean, that's the only normal thing to do right? anyways... maybe just wait till you have #2 then you will have all the reasons to demand them back.

CL,
ok, if you don't mind, i'll borrow from you after your friend returns to you. thanks! :D and thanks for the lobang.

mashy
Since they spoiled ur stroller, next time when u meet them, "tell them if u hv no.2 perhaps i need to borrow ur stroller leh cos i dun hv any stroller at this moment so we can share share right" .. c how they respond??? Let them know that they damaged ur stroller without compensate one.

mashy
actually, in seemingly to plan for #2, the earlier stages bb clothes, just ask them nicely back for them as you would like to keep them for yourselves lah.... how old is their child anyway? even if they have #2 same time as you, it's still your clothes and it's rightful for them to return every single piece back to you.

Aileen
I will let you know when I can pass to you to try it out. I still used during weekend hee hee especially when I do not want aden to run around

RP lunch - Tomorrow 26 Aug - 12.30- Meet Chevron House below the Big TV

1. Aileen
2. SL
3. Belinda
4. Chic lil

Anyone else ?

SUnny
My hb is using the Ergo, so far he is very happy with his investment. I havent use it yet cos my big tummy but I tried before when my tummy is small ok. the SLing is going be painful shoulder thos now sometimes I still use the sling if no choice to carry Kyler.

CL
Wow I must learn from you how to use the Ergo on side way so bb can face forward. So far my HB only use to way bb face him. Good thing Kyler is guai guai so far, never make noise..
Strange le.. i always find pple looking at HB when he sling bb... lotsa pple do the same and I wonder why curious sporean still give the stare.

Oh Metro dun carry Ergo anymore!.. looks like hb make a good choice to buy right away instead of waiting the last time.

Cookie
yup this is the only baby investment my hb approved so far and he urged me to buy. I would think Aden should be over 16 kg now and I do not feel the strain and weight when i carry him for long hours.

Wow.. so good comments about Ergo. Just bought a new sling for #2. Should have gotten Ergo instead. Maybe I can look around when there is sales? Any idea where will I be expecting sales of Ergo?

Mamachan,
Sorry to hear that D has HFMD. Just have to keep him hydrated, it doesn't matter if its yoghurt or juice or cold milk. As long as he pees (but don't expect to be a lot or as frequent), he's fine. When Isaac has HFMD, he plain refused to take anything, even cold yoghurt. Initially, it was ok, but I guess the ulcers got too painful and he refused everything. When we went to the PD, he said if there was no pee at all the whole day, Isaac had to be on the drip. So that was what we had to do in the end. Isaac was on overnight drip in Mt. A.

cookie
i try to use sling but not very good at it...think i m not confident enough

may
i think good to have both sling and carrier. but i din get the carrier last time. me and hb both look weird using the carrier....

mashy
thikn shd be upfront and ask them are they going to pass u the stroller when u have #2. how can they even not make any mention of it....

Is RP lunch today or yesterday? If it's today, will join you gals if my meeting ends early.

RP lunch - Tomorrow 26 Aug - 12.30- Meet Chevron House below the Big TV

1. Aileen
2. SL
3. Belinda
4. Chic lil

Anyone else ?

Mashy - What a shame they spoilt the stroller! I dun think they'll lend you their new one. Not everyone is so generous.

For me, I only part with items I am sure I will not want them back. When HB volunteered C's Maxicosi infant carrier for the car to my ILs, I told him make sure it comes back & in a good condition cos it was my parents' gift to him. The minute my BIL & wife wrapped it up & placed in the storeroom cos they upgraded the infant to a car seat, I took it back

As for clothes/toys/misc stuff, I kept the ex ones & those close to me who bought. Other than that, I parted with 3 diff bags to 3 diff pregnant mums. No choice as I know I wun be so heart pain if they dun get returned or see them being mis-used.

Mashy,
That is one of my biggest fear when i pass stuff to my ILs. So like Sysac, i only pass those I can bear to part with and i consider them 'written off' already cos I know they will be spoilt. Especially for clothes, cos the maid handwashes the clothes and they go out of shape. My heart already 'broken' many times when i see the clothes now. The Elle dress that Megan used to wear out is now worn at home by her cousin - becomes 'home clothes', yellow stained. I know Elle may not be 'branded' to some, but to me it is still more ex than those homewear!

Anyway, if I were you, when i'm expecting my #2 i will ask to borrow their stroller. I'm not going to buy another one!

Just to share my 'pain' (i'm one of those must air it out type) :p...Went to Parentcraft to dislodge my 3/4 stuck breast on Monday. SUPER OUCH OUCH OUCH!!! Haiyo..till today till sore and bruised. Apparently my nipple had a bleb where the skin grew over and the milk couldn't come out. The nurse took a syringe to continuously suck at the bleb to remove the blockage. Anyway..it was 1.5hours of OUCH!

tracy
ouch! that sounds really painful!!!

i m still trying to see how i can avoid passing all my bb stuff to my sil. my mil already start to ask for my stuff already. jx only 6 months old by then but she already ask me to pass the stuff to my sil.

i tot handwash the clothes better? my sil intends to machine wash though got maid. the clothes will spoil faster if machine wash.

SY,
How about just giving a few pieces to MIL and keep the rest? That's wat either my SIL or MIL did to me for Duncan. Gave me only a few pieces then i had to go buy long pants. After i gave birth and Duncan was passed over to MIL, long pants appeared out of nowhere!

I prefer to machine wash cos the maid scrubs very hard at the neckline and sleeves thus enlarging them. Then when its wet she hangs them on hangers by going thru the neck and not from bottom up. So further enlarge.

Tracy - Ouch! Tat must really hurt! Hope u feel better now.

I know what u mean. For me, I ordered ON tees & shorts for my niece. They are abt $12 a pc. Wow liao, they let her wear to sleep! When I saw my niece one morning in the ON top & pj pants, my jaw dropped! Aft that, I promise myself dun so k-poh liao! Haha...

Cloths passing on
I gave all the bb cloths to my SIL abt 3-4 bags leh. She asked me do u still hv somemore or not huh? ... she did not buys any cloths for her bb aspect me to sponsor her bb cloths all the way... I never see such a meow person b4... sigh...

Re: Clothes & other stuff

Thanks gals for your suggs. I suppose I'll have to wait & see how. Yeah, maybe i should start asking back my stuff already since I'm ttcing now. For the clothes, I actually passed all below 6mths clothes to them (other than my boy's tiny first clothes for remembrance sake). My boy is still wearing some of his 6mths clothes! I didn't buy alot of expensive clothes when he's a bb. Bought mainly 2nd clothes and got some hand-me-downs, so still ok. I suppose i can collect them back now since her kid has outgrown them very quickly.

It's the other stuff that's the headache. Lucky i didn't pass them the exersaucer and the bb toys else dunno can ever get back or not.

Anyone looking for second hand digital piano? I m helping my bro to ask around cos his friend is migrating very soon. He has a very new Roland digital piano to let go. Selling like almost 40-50% of the price he bought few months back. MOdel is HP201. I tink its one of the exam models. Tats wat he said. Anyone interested, PM or SMS me ya. Thanks!

hi mummies..i have booked my flight to sydney and suddenly feel that i will miss C. so i have decided to bring him along as i know he will enjoy the aquarium that also featured his fav nemo and also the wildlife park. pray that he will be ok as he fell sick when he was in perth last yr. now i am so looking fwd for the break.. be gg next sun for 5days. yippy!

mamachan/cookie - ok thanks. so HIV is indeed optional. i will be bringing her for a checkup this weekend. will opt for the hiv test to have a peace of mind.

cookie - ya manage to used up the vouchers eventually. my 2 sons were the happiest of coz! for stroller and car seat, you may want to go to hypermark at kaki bukit, there are more varieties over there with 2 hypermarts.

tracy - ohhhh...sounds really painful. guess the pain does helps after all.

re: passing bb clothes
like some mummies, i only passed along those clothes that my kids will no longer wear. and i also don;t expect the clothes to be returned in good condition. i guess for clothes its more difficult to maintain esp when white clothes will turn yellow after some time. as for pram, i actually loan it to my cousin and got it back recently. but since it was purchased by my FIL,i am ok. haha..and yes, the condition was not the same as before. but i am ok as thats the expectation i set when i loan it out.

Re: any promotion at Bird Park?
HI mummies
I'm planning to Jurong Bird Park this weekend, Anyone has any lobang info? like any promotion disc gng on for bird park?

SSF
ya.. we are gng to hypermart 1 day. Now we are looking for "slim" car seat so that it wun take up too much space in car.

Tracy
poor you... really ouch.. I'm so scared now...boohoo

SY
I use sling for bb only when they are like "firm" maybe 3 mths onwards. I dun use sling when they are younger or too small difficult to manage them inside the sling I feel.
trying using it more, then u will be confident.
I like sling, except it give shoulder pain when bb get havier

SSF
Actually, you should be more concern about our helpers if they are Hep B positive or not than HIV positive especially if they are involved in food preparation.

RE : HIV Test for maid
i think this is very important.
Heard this story from my mum...one of her friend's distance relative..
The whole family going to migrate to AUS and so the family had a compulsory body checkup and found out that their 2 boys are HIV carrier.
So was suspected to get from the maid coz since young the 2 boys but from which maid..they still got no idea at all.

Re: HIV Test for maid

Personally, I also think that it is very important coz your kids will come in contact with her very closely. So to have that peace of mind, better find out.

Belinda
That family must have felt so devastated that their boys contracted this deadly disease. So sad. It'll affect the rest of their lives and probably can't have their own kids. Worse is when it becomes full blown AIDs.

HIV/HEP B
if it gives you all peace of mind, then have your domestic helpers get tested. In the meantime, just make sure that if your maids got any cuts/grazes/sores with blood, make sure they are bandaged up before handling the kids, coz transmission is via blood to blood, not saliva.

Mamachan

Not necc just blood to blood. Intercourse also can get mah. ALso, sO long as get the blood in the system can get it already. So even if the tainted blood got in the eye, also can get AIDS. Biting also can transmit the disease.

And if she's menstruating, the blood is tainted.

mashy
yup, I know that, in fact I wanted to say the usual route of transmission is via sexual intercourse and any blood-related contacts, but seemed inappropriate with regards to caregiving of our kids, coz it's really a freak idea to think the maid would do anything of that sort to our kids

As for biting, if the skin is broken and blood exposed, then yes, that's what I meant by blood to blood transmission.

But via saliva or sneezing (mucous droplets), it cannot be transmitted that way. If the virus is exposed to the environment, there's no way that it can transmitted as it will die in the environment.

Anyway, as said, if to have peace of mind, just get the maids checked for those who are worried.