(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Sunny,
Edgar was alright for the first 2 days at school. didn't particularly like it but at least didn't cry. then on the 3rd day, he started to cry. i wasn't the one to send him there right from the start, it was my dad. then on the 4th day, i sent him myself and i witness how badly he cried. he was clinging on to me and the teacher had to pull him away from. I can't explain how bad a mummy I felt I was at the moment. I couldn't eat nor concentrate on doing things after that, kept thinking about that parting scene. And it didn't help that Edgar had nightmares and refused to wake up in the morning coz he knows he gotta go to school. i find all these too traumatising both for him and me. So I pulled him out of the school. And up till today, if I were to drive pass that school, he will still cry. There was once I did that, and he went "Oh no, school!" and cried badly in the car...

Glad to hear that some of our todds here are doing fine in school. Since Edgar isn't ready for CC, I have signed him up for playgroup and Kidsloft and let him continue his Shichida classes. I take it as a bonding time with him. Now with #2, I barely spend quality time with him. Feel so bad. Hopefully when my 2nd maid comes at the end of the month, I will be able to spend more time with him.

CL,KY,
I have put Edgar on waitlist at St. James. Frankly I have not been to the school. Registered coz a friend recommended. And I find the fees very reasonable. Compared to Chiltern house, which was where I was planning to send Edgar to initially. Don't know if will get a space anot coz it's queue is super long. So will still need to find a contingency plan.

Aileen,
Put on waiting list at a few school then. Maris Stella and Bukit Panjang is worth considering.

Ya if Edgar is alright with playgroup then let him get used to going to school to have fun then slowly you see if you can sit at a corner , then later on when he is slightly older sign him for those classes with no parental accompany one

Aileen .. Chiltern House at Turf City? A fren recently withdrew her older son as she felt it's too much play and she's not comfortable if the little time she has left with her son after school. She's homeschooling him now. For kindergarten, it's usually the morning timings that are hot, so if u do not mind the 2nd timing, the waiting is not so bad.

Rachel, I think u are doing ok with D... there're pros and cons with sending a child to school this young. I went thru' it once as I've got no alts then. I'm also delaying sending K to a daily school... will see how when he's 4, and if he shows more sense, I may consider homeschooling him then. I realize there are more and more mothers homeschooling their kids in singapore these days, and their kids are all doing very well.

Son#1 does play with his penis ... I'll correct him with the right values when I see that. It's easier with an older kid. Might be more difficult for a younger child to see why it's not right. They are curious mah... just keep telling him repeatedly.

.ky.

SY
yes, it might be a blessing to most people when mothers are able to stay home and care for their children. am just worry i am not doing enough to educate him, afterall i am not a teacher. i observed that he behaves better with strangers around, if not he is always in the action of pushing his limits.

Ky
i guess the main reason why i join your playgroup is to let dylan to have more chance to socialise with his peers. since day in day out he was surrounded by adults. i find him rough when he is in contact with other children, so scare he will hurt others.

I do remove his hand away when he does that, but like what you said he don't really get it when i explained to him it is not nice to do this. think i will keep repeating till the message gets into his system =p

CL
yah i hope he is fine on mon. scared after one weekend things will be different.

rachel
JH is also like that. he behaves better outside of home. one mother told me this is quite normal cos kids have their pride and they also dun wan to lose face.

aileen
i heard st james is good. think sch cannot be rushed. i was prepared to pull JH out and try again later if he is not ready. as long as he enjoys his playgroups that's more impt.

CL,
put on waiting list gotta pay money one right? and i think it's non refundable? unless i'm wrong.
hopefully he will learn to appreciate school. otherwise next year i will get headache again when i send him to school.

ky,
ya there's a chiltern house at turf city. think there's more than one. i heard from my neighbour that their chinese standard is very high, that's y i am considering that school. edgar's mandarin is 0/100!

sy,
ya i'm not in a hurry to send him to school. since i'll be getting another maid. so there's enough hands at home to handle 2 kids.

KY
yes I think your calculation is rite..
I buy pet pet from Pasir Ris West Plaza medical hall at $12.00 but must pay cash cos they decided not to use Nets since the charge increase.
the last time when Carrefour has 10% for everyday card, Pet Pet after rebate of 10% is $11.60 but I din buy cos HB say too many things to carry.. now I regretted.

Thanks I may reconsidered Nepia again.. my #1 used to use that too.

CL
Perhaps I will try Pet Pet tonight and see if it still leak. Haizz sometimes not expensive then good. My friend use petpet all the way no problem..

CL
ya, she's v sticky to me. just now went to fetch her, she came out from the class with red eyes and nose, sobbing quite badly. she even didn't wanna follow my mil back home and kept asking me not to go back to work. sigh..... wrong choice to bring her there myself. :p
i signed up thumberland at the RC. just downstairs of my place. actually i wanted to sign up the edu farm at blk 549 'cos near my mil's place, easier for her to bring my gal after the bb is born. but seems that there's not enough students to open the class leh as they advertised quite late.

ky
ya, i find that the malay teacher not bad, too. +ve attitude, patient, cheerful with more than 10 yrs of experience. her teaching skills, i am not too sure 'cos i was only there for 30 min.
the parents are allowed to be there for 1st 3 days... meaning next wk onwards, the kids would be all alone with the teachers liao.

krissie
do we need to wait for the kids to say bye?

aileen
do u speak mandarin at home? i speak mandarin to JH and read chinese books so he can say some chinese words and he understands when i speak to him in mandarin. he likes the chinese books from pelangi a lot.

cookie
nepia got promo at NTUC this week. JH ok with pet pet leh. but night i still use nepia.

Sunny,
Ya it looks good. Too bad I sign up Aden with CC if continue with nanny I sure go there then ha ha YX and Aden can be classmates.

Ha ha I think if you want to wait for them to say bye bye quite long. Must make sure they know you are leaving. Cannot just disappear without them knowing

sunny

When I saw aden he was sitting with his sister watching TV, but once he saw me he cried and run to me. I praise him and told him time to say bye bye then he very happy and stop liao. Start bye bye and blow kisses

sy,
we speak a mixture of mandarin and english amongst us adults. but we purely speak to him in english. only my mil speaks to him in chinese. i think he only understands alittle. maybe 20%.

CL
hee.. it would be nice if aden and yx can be classmate. your nanny ok when you told her not continueing sending aden to her place?

i didn't disappear without her knowing leh. but, she still kept looking for me and cried. sigh....

just now mil told me yx was mumbling words during nap time which never happened b4..... mayb she's too stressed up during the class this morning.

SY
so happy for you!

aileen
since edgar is ok with playgroup, just let him attend and slowly he would understand what's school is all about....

RE: Playgroup
I think it is normal for them to reject school in the beginning bah. Dun be too stress over it. Jamie slimmed down 2kg when she start school 2mths ago. She refused to drink her 1st bottle of milk, her meal intake decrease, having nightmare at night as she kept screaming for mummy. She pretend to sleep longer thinking that she might be able to skip school, start to cry when my mum hold up her school uniform.

With all these, I wanted to give up during the 1st mth. As I feel bad forcing her to go school. But eventually she get used to it. I purposely start her early so that she will not cry together with the rest of the class and her teacher can concentrate more at her as she is new. True enough, almost her whole class is crying on 2nd Jan and she started with abit of crying but after awhile she is ok and now she is the one consoling them. Glad that all these is over.

RE: Bilingual
My mum is speaking mandarin to Jamie. I speak english to her unless she dun understand, then I will change to mandarin. She is 80% chinese speaking 20% english bah.

cookie
RE: JL diapers
they have drypers and fitti.
last time i bought fitti from them, i got the fitti premium i think, the better quality one. I like fitti. Its like nepia to me but without the wetness indicator. Last time they also carry EQ, Sealer and pet pet at the old branch but since moving to emerald branch, i see they only carry fitti and drypers. I didn't see the other brands.

I use nepia and pampers for my kids. My mom dun like the sticky tabs of pet pet/ drypers so i have to use the ones with velcro like nepia/ fitti. i like the pull up pants for my girl when she is notti, so i use drypers/ nepia and mamy poko depending on which is having promotion.

RE: bilingual
we speak purely cantonese at home amongst the adults but to my girl its prob 90% english and 10% cantonese. And maybe occ. at most 1%chinese.

But, I got bilingual dora the explorer books and chinese version Vcd and some other chinese books. She's ok with them,she learnt about xiao xing xing (small star) from dora so i think she can pick up pretty fast. Her favorite chinese word is "ting" stop! from JG chinese playgroup. Surprisingly, her cantonese is not really good, but she will repeat what we say in cantonese but she doesn't use it on her own.

RE: school
tabby took abt 1-2 weeks to get use to it last time. She has taken a 1 month school holiday and will start school again on monday. Hopefully she will be ok. When she got used to school, the last few times, when we say go to school, she will rush to the door, put on her shoes and hold our hand and not cry. i mentioned before, she likes one of her teachers so it helps.

Initially, i started her quite cold turkey, i left her there for 2 hours the first day, she cried but was super happy to see us, the second day i also came early, and noticed she was eating all by herself and not fretful. Third day, i see she cried initally and see that she is very clingy to the teachers. They say she will ask to be carried and look for me, not really wanting to join in. but after the second week, when she met her regular teacher (1st week she was on leave), she became clingy to her but her teacher was very good and encouraged her not to be so clingy so she was quite ok after 1 week, Only cry a bit when we say good bye, and by third week no more crying. The secret i think is to do it gradually, if your school let u pick them up a little early, then i think its better to leave them despite the crying but come early so that they know they are not abandoned. I find if i bring her.. she will cry more.. but i will just leave... cos if i sneak by later, usually notice she won't be crying anymore, I think its better not to sneak away, but to say a proper good bye and tell them I will see u again later firmly and then go cos they will cry anyways. But, i think each kid adjusts differently so u really should monitor... i intend to put her to full day maybe when she is more used to it maybe after 3 months, then start using the school bus service when she is 2.5 years.

But do expect a lot of runny noses and maybe the kids to fall sick. My girl kena 2 episodes of runny nose, one was mild and the second time she got the bad cough just before christmas. Surprisingly she didn't have much fever, only the phlegmy cough, even now she still have a hoarse voice and cough, but no more phlegm and runny nose.

Aileen
i went to stjames kindy. Its quite nice, but i'm catholic so prefer maris stella. I want to put her on waiting list for maris stella. Last time i checked st james got a place for tabby at pre nursery but i had already enrolled her for pats so decided didn't want to go ahead. Also becos, i need more of a childcare service (longer hours) than a real kindy cos my mom can't cope with the 2 kids. Anyways, i also like pat's kindy except its soo expensive... i prefer to send her to maris stella if possible. If i don't go overseas, my girl got a place at pat's kindy already but seeing that i most likely have to go away next year to the states, i will prob. lose that place. so sian....

FOr me, i prefer playbased kindy cos that's the type of schooling i had. St james, is nice... good environment.

RE: speech
today my girl is very cute...
my mom taught her our professions so she will say..
gong gong is an engineer, porpor is a housewife, daddy is a doctor and mommy... she will pause and then grin and say "NURSE" ... after that she will laugh at me and tell me i will need an injection!!! i just rolled over laughing....

I taught her if she gets hurt, i will kiss and make it better. If she gets a cut, then she can get a bandage (tho she dun like the bandage cos she's scared of the pain on removal). I got a hello kitty doctor kit for her (cannot resist lah.. cos too cute) and if i have a cut, she will get it, and tell she will kiss it better, get bandage, give me an injection, give me medicine and then check my heart beat.

Mashy/ CL
if i go to the US, it'll be LA, i may have to go alone without hb but i'm taking the kids.. (haha.. can live without hb but can't live without the kids.. my hb is so upset with me!!) so if u can check with ur cousin/ friend roughly how much the childcare is and how it works, do most parents just use nanny or childcare that would be helpful...cos by then tabby will be 3.5 and didi 2 years old so i think both can go to childcare or tabby can go prenursery and didi childcare. Dunno if my mom can come with me to help out for long term but she says most likely she will be with me for every alternate 2months. Also, if u can find out, how is the housekeeping situation is the us? Do they employ part-time cleaner? Are maids completely non existent in the US?

Hi MamaPanda, Rena
Welcome back.

Rena
Hope Rena is feeling better now. Sorry miss your msn yesterday, did you get my reply?

Valerie
Don’t mention, just a small gift. Glad that Kristen likes it. Heard that she’s not feeling well and left early today. Hope's she's feeling better.

Yuki
My nephew actually picked up phonics from VCDs when he was younger. At age of 3, he could read almost every word on the menu in restaurants by joining the phonics together although he doesn’t know all the meaning. I introduced computer to him when he was about 3 and he can actually spell one word each from A to Z by typing on Microsoft word….maybe u can try that on Ashley too. I find Mel picks up phonics better after watching leapfrog VCD & starfall website. She can now pronounce the phonics of certain alphabets and will take out her flashcard and flip thru them herself. She can read certain flashcard like dog, run, ball, nana (banana)

2nd/3rd day of school
Yesterday it was my hb & Mom’s turn to take Mel to school. Just like the first day, she was ok when she first got there. My hb/mom left the classroom after a while. Then I sms my hb and he said she was ok. I told hb to check on her later cos she cried after 1 hour the day before. My hb literately “peep” into the class to “check” on her. Mel saw my hb and started crying. Teacher asked my hb to leave and he came back when the class finished. Mel was crying non stop end up the teacher got to bring her to another room with her bag.

Mashy/CL/Sunny
Mel sama sama on day 3. Today my mom brought Mel to school. She refused to enter the classroom when they reached there but was ok when my mom ignore her and just carried her in. My mom sneaked out after Mel settled in but after half an hour she was crying very badly and the teacher asked my mom to go back into the classroom. The teacher actually called me first but I missed the call. When I returned the call, I could hear her crying very loudly (sob sob). My mom peep into the room when she got there and Mel was crying and carrying her bag to get ready to go home. She was ok after my mom went in. The teacher said Mel was very angry and used the marker pen to draw on herself and the teachers while she was crying. The teacher also commented that Mel behaves better when my mom is in the class as compared to me & hb. So the teacher say my mom will sit in throughout the class next Mon/Tue. Hopefully will be better next week….jia you mommies!

Valerie
Do you think is becos the kids in the class are much older that’s why Kristen and Mel don’t seems interested to join in the activites?

RE: Bilingual
My mum speaks Mandarin to Mel whilst the rest of us speak to her in English so she’s probably 20% Mandarin and 80% English.

Tabbs
My girlfren stay in Dallas, she’s a US citizen now and her 2 kids (7 & 6) are studying there. She used to put #1 in infant care when she was about 1 cos she can't cope with 2 at home alone. Subsequently, she got a live-in HK maid (they are probably paid much higher in the US). I think you can put both Tabb and didi in school by then. Her kids attend monterssori school there when they were younger. I can ask her the cost for you

Cookie,
I m using Mamypoko for night & EQ for day for both my boys. I use MP for E since young till now. Hardly leaks at night. When he was a NB, he could still take Nepia. But after tat, Nepia will leak on him, even in the day when we go out & I din change him after a long period of time. But with MP, it can hold his pee until the diaper is super heavy heavy. Hope this info helps.

Tabby,
Will check with friend and update you.

Flo,
Our kids seems to be better behaved with your sole caregiver.

Thot with older kids, they will like it more. Aden and another boy in class keep running to the other older class to play.

Sunny,
I given my nanny 2 months notice. Of course she cannot bear for him to leave and her daughter cried. But for past 3 days, after fetching Aden home, He dropped by her place to play a while before coming back. The daughter even thank me for sending Aden down.

May, Aileen
First day as I was with Aden, he was tired and slept through the nite. Then second and third day, he does not seem to sleep well liao. Will scream a bit during sleep. I think he must be scare. Will start his birthday celebration from tomorrow. Ha ha so hope he is compensated for weekend play

Flo

RE: us
Can find out from your friend is it easy to get a maid in the US?

RE: starting school
So exciting and scary for our kids hor... but most of us feel a little heart pain when we hear them cry so hard... i also turned and ran when it was my turn to drop her cos the teacher said it is easier that way... cos then the child can get used to it faster. But if keep popping in and out, the child gets confused... the advice is that some kids cry 1 week, some 1 month! At St james, the VP very strange told me got kids who cry the whole school term! HOpe that all our kids will settle in soon!! jiao you mommies!!

Thanks all mummies for your input on the diapers..

Last nite used pet pet.. and no leak! so it's even cheaper option as compared to MP

Wendyl
MP also never failed me before when I used on Kae.. so I bought lotsa MP for #2. Turn out #2 always leak when wearing MP ley..
But wear petpet no leak.. so tonight I try petpet again.

I realise... petpet is much more absorbent then EQ now..

Re: NALGENE water bottle case...Polycarbonate plastic contain bisphenol A - known as BPA, also in most baby feeding bottles

HI mummies...
In the recent news about the brand NALGENE water bottle using polycarbonate plastic may cause harm to health..
I realise most bb feeding bottles are also make from polycarbonate plastic, Avent, Pigoen etc etc...

Also come across this article :
The Express On Sunday, September 16, 2007

A CHEMICAL used in the production of plastic baby feeding bottles may cause birth defects, early puberty, hyperactivity, and cancer, alarming new research reveals.

Experts have now called for a complete ban on the chemical, bisphenol A - known as BPA - which is used in the production of 90 per cent of feeding bottles sold in the UK. Baby bottle manufacturers are mounting a fierce defence of their use of BPA, but they are up against the damning consensus of an international conference, whose findings are published in the top scientific journal, Reproductive Toxicology.

Although BPA is one of the most widely used chemicals in the world, and traces are therefore found in the bodies of most human beings, 38 leading scientists are backing the ban. Professor Fred vom Saal, of the University of Missouri, is the world's leading authority on BPA. He said animal studies have raised fears about the relationship between BPA - which mimics the female hormone oestrogen - and a spectrum of illnesses, from abnormal development of reproductive organs to early sexual maturation in females, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder and autism, obesity and type 2 diabetes, low sperm counts, and an increase in prostate and breast cancers. He added: "We were all agreed that BPA should not be used in baby feeding bottles. The risk is too great." The chemical is used to make other items including water cooler containers, sports bottles, microwave dishes and liners for canned food.

The scientists, meeting in the US, agreed that babies are exposed to levels exceeding those that harm laboratory animals. In the latest animal study, Retha Newbold, of the US government's National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, said BPA caused reproductive damage similar to the anti-miscarriage drug DES (diethylstilbestrol), a synthetic oestrogen that was prescribed to pregnant women from the Forties to the late Seventies. That drug led to "DES daughters, " born with reproductive defects that caused infertility and cancers.

Baby bottle manufacturers such as Avent - owned by the multi-national Philips - argue that animal studies cannot be compared to human studies. But Professor vom Saal said: "There is essentially no difference in the way that rat or mouse cells respond to BPA and the way humans respond to it. "So when the manufacturers say only small - harmless - amounts get into a baby, it is not appreciated that this is enough to alter the delicate hormonal balance of the body."

In Britain, Professor Vyvyan Howard of Ulster University said: "You do not want manmade, unnatural hormones being taken into the body when babies are at a developmental stage. The first few months out of the womb are crucial, babies are still developing their brains and their reproductive organs.
"Given the evidence we now have, BPA should be banned."

I'm thinking about changing the milk bottles the kids are using...

What are your views on the above issues?? Should we be worry ?

Bilingual
I think D is 100% English, Coz we speak to him in English all the time. I try to inject some mandarin in but my mandarin is not entirely fantatic! Tried cantonese at times too....my hb will just,'orh' when I ask him to speak more cantonese with D. He'll just "entertain" me for a short period of speaking cantonese and then switch back to English. The only way is to turn on the few chinese vcds we have for D to "expose" him but think it's all foreign to him

Playgroup
D will be starting his 1st day at Milk n Honey Day Care centre this Monday for half-day (Mon-Fri). I hope he'll adapt well and look forward to go to playgroup everyday. Hopefully he'll be exposed to some Mandarin too.

In the below website.. it indicate which are the brands that feeding bottles are make of Polycarbonate plastic, including Avent, Pigoen...

http://zrecs.blogspot.com/2007/07/z-report-bisphenol-in-polycarbonate.html
http://www.ibfan.org/site2005/abm/paginas/articles/arch_art/510-2.pdf

I know some mummies (including myself) using BFree feeding bottles... it is the ONLY 1 in SPore that suppose to be BPA free but... this company got intergrity problem (I never heard abt the news in spore at all.. and spore still selling their product) so really dunno can trust the bottles or not :

http://zrecs.blogspot.com/2007/11/z-report-bpa-bfree.html

FYI...

sunny
no need to wait for the kids to say bye. coz some of them wont say bye. dun drag the bye bye process. keep it short and sweet.

ky
how do u explain to your son tt it is not right to touch the penis ah? coz it's also a part of his body mah. then he must be wondering why cant touch?

another tip is not to disappear when you all accompany the child for the 1st few days. coz some childs might feel forsaken and hate the sch. for me, i'll tell him before leaving, even if he cries.

tabby
so u going to US without hb? i remember last time i used to think the sch in US are very fun for the kids. when i was in US, i dated this guy before and his niece was in some monte sch and the classes look so fun. always taught it is nicer for kids to be educated in presch there but not so much for primary sch

do u think it is better that someone stays with the kids throughout the first 2 days? i was with JH throughout the first day and din walk away. second day i told him i was going out for a while and 3rd day he was ok when i din appear. sounds like most of the kids cry cos the person bringing them walk away very fast? think JH felt more secured cos i was ard the first 2 days.

re language
i think JH is abt 60% English and 40% chinese. if i switch between English and chinese, he can understand what i m saying. even if i use chinese to ask him, he knows what i m saying and will reply me in english. but i still speak a lot of english to him. i realise speaking chinese needs conscious effort! yesterday when i was reading his chinese books to him, he started saying a lot of the chinese words. surprised me a lot. some i only mentioned once or twice. he said mi feng (bee), pai zhao (take photo), hua ping (vase) etc. cannt remember what he said. he has been saying du jia (go holiday) for a while so i know he understands the meaning. he will also say sleep in chinese.

cookie
think this question abt the bottles came out in the papers a few weeks back. only bfree bottles are free from this plastic thing. i guess one more reason to swtich them to cups sooner?

Seems like the hot topic now is on school/playgrp. Didn't manage to catch up with all the postings as i haven't come online for quite a few days. Janelle also started with her daily 2 hr playgroup. So far ok though she'll cry at the beginning when "depositing" her.

Just to let u all know, I delivered my 2nd baby, Janine, on 31 Dec.
But life has been quite a nightmare since i returned home from hospital. Janine won't sleep at night and is permanently glued to my breasts
And Janelle has refused her sleep (including afternoon nap) eversince we returned home from hospital. I have no idea why she's now into refusing her sleep.

Hubby and i are totally zonked out trying to make both our girls go to sleep at night! Think i'm also getting postnatal blues. Find myself getting v emotional and tearing for no reason, which is very "un-me" coz i've always been known to be very stable. Just praying that the sleeping part will get better!

Durianlover,
Congrats on ur new arrival! Janine looks so sweet in her sleep. Are u latching on 100%? Maybe u can ask someone to try bottle feed Janine? Cos for me, during the 1st few days, my bb Ben keeps falling asleep when I latch him on & he ended up not sucking much. Like u, I had to keep nursing him until I got so tired & fedup. So, I decided to get the CL to bottle feed EBM to him so tat I can spend more time resting & also spend some time with Ethan in the day.

RE: Plastic milk bottles
Recently I saw NUK selling 8oz glass bottles. So, is it a better choice to switch to using glass bottles????

plastic milk bottles
Maybe u can try the Aprica milk bottles. I remembered they said they use a certain kind of plastic that is non-toxic and will not break down. They have also bought the patent from Dr Brownes's so their bottles are anti-colic. That's why their milk bottles are honey colored instead of the clear plastic color. I have a few Aprica bottles which I use to feed Ariene EBM and after 2 years, they're still good as new.

Durianlover,
Dun get stress out. It is not easy handling two. Janelle is probably worried that if she sleep Janine will get more attention bah. Perhaps also one way that she can get more attention as both u and hb will go close to her and try to make her sleep. Must rest well during confinement. Like what Wenyl suggested, get someone to bottlefeed Janine so that u have more time to rest. Getting post-natal blue is quite common bah..just try to cheer urself up and look at the brighter side. Do come in when u have the time to tell us ur concern.. u will feel better. JIA YOU !!

Cookie,

Saw your posting on the milk bottles. If I am using the bottles to store EBM, is it the same? I used a mixture of Avent and NUK bottles now. Avent to store the EBM and NUK to feed. If I were to change all my bottles to Aprica or glass bottles, I think my hubby will most prob scream at me. : (

Durianlover,
Janine's so sweet. Hang on there! It will get better. Charmaine was perpetually glued to my breast too. I have advice from other pple to express out so that I can sleep better at night but the problem is at the initial stage, I can only express 30 - 40ml so it's not enough for her at night and I still need to wake up to express so thot that mgiht as well latch her on.

cookie,
tink the news updated yestrday that our local authorities confirmed that BPA is fine, not cancer causing. I'm using Avent bottles and will change every Taka baby fair, or if they are defaced, scratched or turn blurry. Think this should help.

Durianlover,
I agree Janine looks like Daddy. Yes, why dun you try getting someone else to bottle feed? Since this is your #2, it is impt for you to get more rest. I was in the blues after giving birth to Meg too, crying the whole nite for no reason. Try getting frens to come over to chit chat, or talk to frens on the phone, I find this helps overcome the blues. Take care and pop in here to chat with us when you can!

durianlover,
u must take care of yourself. Is it possible for you to lie down to feed janine? so far, I have been taking care of Clarene at night and although she suckle frequently at night, I am not very tired because I lie down to feed her at night. just have to switch sides so that she empty both breasts. Janine may need a bit of help to find the nipple because she is still young but very soon she will get the hang of it. I started doing that on the 2nd night when we are back from the hos. I didn't lie down to feed clariss till she was about 2 mths old so my confinement after giving birth to clariss was also very tiring. by letting her suckle frequently, u can be sure that your milk supply will be more than enough for janine. Clarene is slightly more than 2 weeks old and I have more than enough milk for her. I managed to pump about 60-100ml extra everyday for storage.
U really need more rest to feel better. our hormones causing us some mood swings so rest is very important. no one is helping you to take care of janelle after her playgroup?
my MIL helps me with Clariss after her half day childcare so for me it's really quite relaxing and managable in the daytime.

Hi Durianlover ... congrats!

newborns do not have the sense of day and night, so try to instill that as soon as u can. Play, draw the curtains, be active (music, noise, activities, etc) in the day. At night, keep it dark, quiet, and be quick in changing her, and make her feel comfortable to sleep. mummy's breast is the best place to sleep, so naturally that's where newborns want to be, but after they suckle for a while, they fall asleep. Try to feed 20 mins a side, and see that she's nursing. Remove her when she's done ... but each baby's different and u'll notice after a while how long she feeds. And it depends if u want to feed on demand or on schedule... usually newborns come "equipped" with some "food" within and they tend to sleep more within the first week. Sleep when she/they sleep ... u have your helper to help right? For me, son#2 was very different from son#1. He too didn't wanna sleep at night and in the day, I outsourced him to my helper when I needed time to bond with #1, and since I didn't wanna express, time was saved with managing of bottles.

Perhaps it's Janelle's first week at school + new sister, and she's adapting to the change. Give her one-to-one time whenever you can.

And like mongs said, the nursing will get better ... to nurse lying down, put a small bolster or roll a diaper and put behind Janine's back so that she faces towards u. But do ensure your latch is correct first.

.ky.

durianlover
haha.. t's my turn to say hang in there..rem my ealier post when i just gv birth tt me getting post natal blues too... i totally understd what you mean. But, it'll get better. Think the 1st 2 mths is the toughest. Do you hv a maid to help you. It's v xiong if only hb and you. As for Janelle, I think she's jealous of the bb. Maybe she's rejecting slp as she wants you to spend time with the both of you. i did what wendyl did too. will ask CL to feed clare bottle so tt i can spend some time with ger.

sl
i hv the impression tt the BPA leaks when being heated. So, i guess storing BM seems fine. But, it's the heating which may cause the BPA to leak into the milk. Also, with the washing, BPA will leak when bottles are scratched. Why not change bottles, since they are used for 2 years liao. I'm using the medela bottles to keep my milk. It's BPA free.

Durianlover,
Janine has such a sweet smile. guess Janelle is feeling insecure cos too many changes in her life. Hang in there do pour out your feeling to your hb and don't keep everything to yourself. Jiayou

CL
Heehee, I think Mel likes to play with older boys but there's only one boy in the class and he doesn't seems to like girl. Juz now we went for JG make up class. She wanted to run off the moment we reah there. Hopefully she won't reject school tom

Durianlover,
Janine has such a sweet smile. + guess Janelle is feeling insecure cos too many changes in her life. Hang in there do pour out you feeling to your hb and don't keep everything to yourself. Jiayou

CL
Heehee, I think Mel likes to play with older boys but there's only one boy in the class and he doesn't seems to like girl. Juz now we went for JG make up class. She wanted to run off the moment we reah there. Hopefully she won't reject school tom

Durianlover,
Janine has such a sweet smile. + guess Janelle is feeling insecure cos too many changes in her life. Hang in there do pour out you feeling to your hb and don't keep everything to yourself. Jiayou

CL

alamak,
I just bought 4 avent bottles for storing milk. should have bought medela since I am using medela pumps but we are using avent teats so thought it's easier to heat up the EBM. I have a lot of other brands bottles that I bought cheaply from sales. those are normal milk bottles, think maybe store milk in milk bags better. heat up in warmer and transfer to avent bottles better.

Durianlover,

CL