(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

first 2 days of school
Ariene also started school yesterday. So far so good. Teacher said she's very well behaved and sweet. Ariene says she like school very much and seems happy to go to school. *Keep fingers crossed*

So busy and tired nowadays.... Realise that most of the toddlers are already going to school or at least playgroup.

HI Yuki,

My boy attends the same school as ashley. Mine is in the morning session. Small world! The school does phonics with her so she should be able to read simple words by decoding them phonetically. I realise phonics reader read "more slowly" then sight reader (those trained by flashcard method). As long as she has the skills to code and decode simple words should be good enough and she will be able to pick up more in K1. Me pm u and we exhange contact ok.

Sunny,
Ya, I think full day CC is really hard on them. 1st day my boy only slept 20min for the whole day. He was knocked out before the day ended. End up I have to carry him in my arms to sleep!

Re: 2nd day at childcare
JW was v happy when we first reached CC. I think he thinks that I will be there for the whole day like yesterday. He even brought his own shoes to his slot and put it in.

Taking CL's advice...I told him to say bye bye coz mummy going to work. He immediately shake his head v hard and then pull me to sit down & promptly sat on me to stop me from leaving. His eyes also starting turning red and tears are welling up. Aiyoh...so sad...I nearly cried too coz I have never seen him like dat before.

End of day, the teacher says he is coping fine though he cried from time to time. Says it's normal for kids new to CC. But when i went to pick him up...he was still crying. When he saw me, he wept and ran towards me. First time ever, he hug me so tight. Aiyoh...make me wanna cry and feel so guilty to leave him there whole day. :-(

CL,
Ya my boy clapped his hands in joy when i told him we go school school in the morning. Wonder if he will still be as keen tomorrow.

Jamon,Yuki,
ya ya Charmaine does her phonics in school and for myself I do word recognition. I was more successful with Charmaine in terms of flashcards but of course not the super on kind. Plus she is a teochew gal who loves show off, she will read off anything like from bottle, can, in supermarket, poster to show she knows the words. Some she will even guess but very far. I will always say ya look like and it is call. So she pick up from there

Good morn ladies!

Today my boy started crying in the carpark. He knows he's going school and started crying liao. But he managed to calm down very fast when my hb came down from the car and said bye bye, then asked him for a kiss. He then walked to school with me. But once outside the classroom, he started to cry again. End up i had to hand him over to the teacher to console him while i leave.

mashy
same fate. Aden as ok up to out from the lift and saw the cc logo. He started climbing up to me. Then I just carry him in, get him to put the shoes, put the bag. Then I have to hand over to the teacher. He was crying all the way. But I think I just have to be hard hearted and leave him to cry to get used

morning mummies..
wow..so many kids starting school this year. we might also start enrolling Caleb soon too. is it too late? or we can only enrol beginning of the yr? btw, i read that many kids are crying. can't a parent sit through the session for at least the first week? what if the kids cry for almost a month. can we withdraw? i am asking as i know Caleb will sure cry and not wanting to go school. my case will most likely be like Aileen's case too. phobia of school.

rena - welcome back! i know the feelings of being so drained out with a sick child overseas. anyway u must be glad that ya back. when caleb was sick in perth, i was just counting down to head home. first time in my life that during vacation i can't wait to be home. haha..

mamapanda - welcome back too! wah sitting on snow and playing snow bombs sounds fun! any pics to share?

Norway photos
took more than 1GB of photos. I'll select a few & post them here. Gimme awhile

SSF,
The CC allow me to stay if I want but she advise me the earlier I let go the faster the kid can adjust. So she was right because Aden was ok after the morning saga yday. He could follow the schedule and not like monday with me around , he wanted his own way.

SSF

Most if not all children will cry lah. It's either now or later at kindergarten. Some even in Primary School. In kindergarten, they don't even allow u to stay so long. So it's better to start now than in kindergarten. Now they will still let u stay for 3 days altho that's not advisable.

If Caleb cries in kindergarten next time for 1 month, will u withdraw? Surely not right? If u do that now, he'll probably do the same all the way till pri school.

U can enrol at any time of the year depending on the school vacancies.

Wow..so much posts to catch up about first day at school.

Mamapanda,
Welcome back and thanks for organising the CB spree!

Rena,
Welcome back too!

Mashy,
I'm also the other mummy that won't be sad when my kid cries. :p

In fact, when Meg started her first day at the 2hr playgroup I wasn't the one to bring her. We left it to my MIL. She's been there since August so now well adapted liao. Took her about 2wks to stop crying totally. The teachers are very used to handling such situations so trust them.

Hi Mashy Brainz,

Wow, Daren is really a genius huh.... now i am stressed. Megan still can't recognise her alphabets. Her character is very different fm ashley. When asked what colour, megan will just answer "blue' without even looking at the item. Megan is full of tricks and can;t concentrate whereas ashley is able to.

Hi Chicken Little,

Ashely likes to read Little Red Riding Hood and Goldilocks and 3 bears. I think i read almost 100 times liao. but she dun like to read, she make me read to her.

Reading road signs is a great idea!

Is is true that children recognise words as picture?

Hi jamom,

Really? Small word! Will be glad to know another parent in ECCH!
Ashley is in K1 starting this year. What about your biy? WHat's his name?

Yup, my friend who is a teacher says that that may be the disadvantage of phonetics........ her gal 'decode' the words so slowly that it sound like a sentence! So if she read the whole sentence it sounded very long...........

actually what's this thing abt phonics? I remember last time I wasn't taught phonics at all, but my english and spelling also ok. so why now suddenly all concentration on phonics?

Like the hanyu pinyin. I think it's very bad to use that to teach chinese. So many have become over reliant on hanyu pinyin that they can't read without pinyin.

mashy/CL
mine is not much better. as expected, what worked for my hb last 2 days doesn't work on me...
just now at home when i let her take breakfast, she ate slower than usual and seemed delaying the time to go to the class.
then during the class, she kept turning her head back to look for me. after about 10 min, she started to cling on me and doesn't wanna join the class....
i just stayed there for 30 min and left. heard her crying and looked for me. peeped from the window and saw that teacher carried her and she was not interested in any toys.

hope she won't cry when she see me later when i pick her up.

Hi Mashy Brainz,

I was very happy to hear from Ashley's teachers that they dun have to 'memorise' spelling once they master phonics cos they can spell by listening to the sound. Isn't that great?

Cl/mashy - ok thanks for the advise. i think i will go school hunting at my hse opp this weekend. hope to start him soon instead of wasting his time at hm watching VCDs the entire day. hee..

Yuki,
I think up to 5 or 6 years old they have photographic memory. So they actually look at the words as a whole pics. When we were young we are taught ABCs and Pi Hua for chinese but now word recognition is more important in both languages. So I think you must boost her confidence to show you the words she knows. Then slowly she might pick up that habit of reading. Charmaine now reads for Aden. I will just sit with them. But Sometimes I still have to read because Aden will start snatching from Charmaine.

Play games with her. We will run around supermarket, in the house to look for words starting with certain alphabets. Then she will do it more often. Charmaine childcare starts to get them to journal daily. So they will write a sentence of what they do or like for that day. Certain day in english certain in chinese. This year the teacher says they must put down reason on why they like so it means 2 sentences liao. ha ha

Mashy
Agree on hanyu pinyin. So Charmaine chinese enrichment teacher warn me not to teach charmaine any hanyu pinyin. She is focusing on her vocab and words recoginition now.

Sunny,
I think recently the kids more clingy to us now. For your case, I think YX will be extra because you are preggy now. It seems like that when I was preggy Charmaine tends to be more sticky

Hi Sunny... I hear the english teacher in your gal's school's not bad.... it's the one near the food place right? She's a malay teacher. Can parents sit in for the first few days? asking for a neighbour, coz she was told no.

For enrichment courses, I guess that's the reason why many parents choose to keep to dual income family.

Aileen, St James is a good kindergarten. Why did u choose St James and not Maria Stella? One is for academic and one if more play-based but I hear both are good...

Hi Yuki, u can slowly get your gal to read certain high frequency words ... they make up 1/3 to 1/2 of written materials. words like the, is, a, he ... get her interested or take note of words, and if she's looking at the pictures while u read, tell her to look at the words when u read, and then allow her time to look at the pictures after that.

kids do see chinese words as pictures ...

.ky.

Ya hor sunny,
Which playgroup did you sign up in the end ?

KY, Aileen,
yes yes St james is good. My fren niece and nephew both there. My fren's nieces all in Maris Stella. Another one can consider is Bukit Panjang Methodist Church Kindergarten oso very good one. My nephew in there now

KY

Which kindy is more play based? st james or maria stella?

I'm considering both but i'm expected to be away in 2009-2010 so i'm wondering how to reserve a space for my kids.

mamapanda
RE: CB
so none of my bubble are available? oops!

mommies

do any of you have friends in the states or relatives in the US with toddlers? do u know the childcare system over there? I need to do some research as my boss asked me to consider going oversease for 2 years.

Tabbiesus,
What do you need to know ? My fren's hb was posted to US and she went over with him. The older one was sent to school full day. You let me know I check with her

Aileen ... think st james more academic-based. CL, any idea? I've got a fren who tried both. Girl keep falling sick in St james, so withdrew. now she's happy in maris stella.

Tabb, which part of US r u going to? a fren stays there in the east side, she's got 3 but she's staying-at-home. usually people engaged nanny ... that's what i hear

.ky.

Re. playgroup / CC
Looks like the 1st few days are traumatic for both parents and tots. Isaac still cries when we dropped him off at my ILs in the morning. He knows we are leaving for work and will hang on to us. Sometimes me and HB will sneak out quickly while my MIL distracts him and when he realises that we are gone, he'll cry, though my MIL says only cry a while. I realise that if we dilly-dally at the door and comfort Isaac he will cry very hard and hold on to us very tightly, the best way is to say a quick good bye and go off. Isaac will just cry at the door for a while and after that it's ok liao. So I guess the principle is the same for playgroup/CC? Anyway, I asked HB whether want to send Isaac in earlier (we were targeting 2.5 yrs or even 3 yrs). He says no hurry.

Re. alphabets and reading
When I was SAHM those 4 months, I showed Isaac the Starfall website. It introduces alphabets and reading using Phonics. He loves it so much that he would want me to show it to him almost everyday. So I went through the alphabets with him and he learned his ABCs (in both upper/lower case) very quickly from there. He picked up all the alphabets within 1 to 2 months. He also picked up the sounds of the alphabets. Like 'ke' for C, 'pe' for P etc. So now he'll point out objects and name them. I'll ask him what letter does train begin with? He'll say 'T'. I'll ask him what letter does 'dog' begin with, he'll say D and so on. Sometimes he learns cos he's seen the words in books, On and off, I'll ask him a completely new word. Like yesterday, we passed by a construction site with the big crane and diggers and he asked me to look at them. I told him that's a crane, that's a digger, and he surprised me by saying 'Crane, C!' and 'digger, d!'. Of course I was doing other things like reading books and pointing out letters and words on car plates, road signs, newspapers, usually when he's getting restless in the car. He gets it. But I have to credit the Starfall website cos i think it's a great starting tool to use. Till now, he likes to view the website once in a while. He can't really read yet... but he'll try to guess the words by looking at the first letter of the word. Like when I ask him to read the word 'cat', he'll say car. Then when I say 'no, it's not car', he'll say cat. When I ask him to read 'ball', he'll say ball most of the time. Sometimes, he says 'bus'. So he cannot read yet lah. But common words like apple, egg, fish. He gets them most of the times. Though I'm not sure whether he truly knows the words or it's like guess work based on the first letters of the word.

RE. books
I read those Elves & showmaker, Little Red Riding Hood, 3 little pigs kind of story to Isaac. Recently started with Dr Seuss books and I think they are great! The stories are wacky and made up of rhyming words which I think it's great for tots cos rhyming words is a good way to introduce how words sound like.

Queen
Totally agree. Starfall is great. both kids love it. I oso have the CD from phonics zoo. Will play and charmaine will teach Aden. So like k , you will do the kicking then they will get it.

ANy mummies bought diapers from John Little before??
How's is their pricing??
They having 15% off diaper from 3rd to 5th Jan.. I wonder if its worth while to pop by...
How is their collection anyway? anyone knows?

Cookie
Can call them up to ask for the brands they have. I think they dun have pampers. Drypers yes. Other brand I not very sure

tabbs

my cousin is in SF. She married a HKer and is working there full time for a while liao. Think she's not coming back anymore. Her daughter just born in May. Think she's going to put her gal in childcare. If u want, i can link up the both of u.

thanks CL and Mashy for the info..
I will call them up !

Any idea if Pampers having some promotion now?
MP diaper has never failed with Kae, but always leak big time for Kyler !!! so wanan change another brand for nite use.
Last nite change his diaper and PJ middle of the nite.. Kyler was sooooo angry! *faintzz*
So I conclude.. boys and gals probably really need different diaper?!...
Mummies with Boys... what diaper brand is good so far? super absorbent kind to use at nite.

CL
faintzzz...sorry.. what's wrogn with my eyes!!
Thanks a million.
silly me.. never scroll down :p

I dun like Drypers cos it tend to leave red mark on the thight even tho it is not chubby!..

Ok update :
JL has Fitti, Drypers, Pet Pet, Sealer and EQ, will have 15% till tomorrow.
But I did a comparison... after discount Pet Pet (14.90 B4 disc)is STILL more expensive as compared to buying from medical hall- for me.
SO can save the trip :D

cookie
Shop n save beside my place is selling Pampers premium M & L & XL at any 2 packs for $53+. Not sure if its island-wide though but no harm going to have a look.

cookie, whr can i get cheap Pet Pet? After 15% + 5% less, PetPet at JL is $12.06. Is my calculation correct?

I use Nepia for son#2 at night ... NTUC having offer at 26.95 for 2 packs.

.ky.

so many posts to catch up.. hv not read all yet. But wld like to share re kids first few days at sch.

re saying bye
when saying bye, parents must sound happy and confident. dun drag it. Just say bye and go. coz there were a few times ger wld cry when i leave. then once the teacher close the door and i'm out of sight, he'll stop. For me, I'll say, mummy is leaving, you be a good boy and I'll see you tonight. You'll hv a great day at sch today playing with your friends. Love you, bye."

most imptly, the mother cant seem sad, worried, etc..

re:pG/CC
think i am one of the few mummies here who yet to have any plan to send my kid to any PG/CC. am i too bochup?? now seeing so many discussion on kids going to schools do make me abit stress, thinking am i not doing enough...

hb and i both still comfortable with the current status now and we both feel dylan is not ready to be on his own yet. i might be too protective...

HI Mommies,
long time no post, looks like many kids have started CC o rplaygroup. S will go in in two weeks time, reading about all the crying toddlers, I hope I will be be able just leave her even when she cries, worry worry!

Aileen, CL,
Haha, I also went to take a look at St. James and will look at Maris stella next week, heard their waiting list is super long too.

cookie
i recently switch to MP pull-up for dylan for his night wear, previously was on Nepia but he has outgrown the L size thus got to sell off the last pack. so far so good for MP, although most of the time dylan is able to hold his pee till he wake up in the morning, finish his milk before i bring him to release.

think quite a few boys here use MP too.

mummies with boys
do your boy keep touching and holding his penis?? mine do... ever since he is off diaper during daytime. how can i teach him not to do that?

just to share JH's 3rd day. i m very proud of him today. we let him take bus by himself and as we left him though he kept asking us to follow him we just said bye. then i went to school to meet him. he reached sch before me and he was already inside the sch. i peeped and he was all smiles and going to put his bag into the shelf at the back. so i decided not to appear and i told the teacher to call me if anything. i was prepared to let him cry and see how the teacher settles him.

at the end of class i still din get a call from them. so i went back to sch with a fren who wanted to take a look. JH was playing happily when i went and he din even look for me. i asked the teachers and they said he asked for me a few times but they just told him mummy will come later and he was ok. at the end of class, he took his own bag and when he saw me, he was all smiles but din cling esp to me. he was overall very happy and i guess he can feel that i m proud of him and he feels proud of himself too.

last night i was still worried cos he kept saying i must go to sch with him

rachel
the main reason i send him to sch is cos i m not at home to teach him. if u can teach him at home, why not? i was telling jamom that JH made me realise a mother is still the best teacher. no matter what thye do with him in sch, he still prefers me to do it with him

SSF
it is ok for them to cry. in fact i think they must cry and then we see whether the teachers can settle them. if cannot then u consider withdrawing him first. it's quite normal to cry for a few days i think

i m keeping my fingers crossed that after one weekend, he will still be willing to go to sch on mon. so far he has been waking up on his own in the mornings. and he's always very happy to hear that he going to take sch bus