(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

HI mashybrainz,

Both parent have mental problem and apparently dad killed himself before trial. The girl has quite a tragic end. Anyways, this happened many years back in USA and pro-early childhood educators are just using this as an example to prove their cause.

Agree with wat u say abt love. HaHa....my bil was reassuring me at times when i was stress la esp after episodes of disciplining my son...somtimes just felt so down.

Hi Queen,
Dun worry abt the classes, I tink playgroup is good enough for this age. I have seen many kids who thrive academically even without going to all these classes. I uses to bring my no.1 for shichida and did GD....hahaha...no diff as compared to his peers. So for no.2 I am not doing it. She is in fact learning so much faster as compared to her bro. I am sure Isaac is doing well and will do well in the future as u are a concerned mom. Yes, striking a balance. Kids need a life and so do we, as parent. I used to be embroiled and quite tortured that I am not doing enough for the kids....coz of this statement "windows of opportunity" hahaha.....I am learning to let go. Thanks for letting me vent and reading wat i wrote. Try to have no. 2 and more kids then u won't worry so much...coz no time to think....hahaha.

thanks on the tips on drugstore.com

Mashy
I have CG every friday nite..hee can be home only 11pm onwards
So if fri nite will have to be late nite for me too.

Wow so many posting to catch up in a day.

First day at CC
Aden was happy going in but when I say bye, he clinged on to me like glue. I skipped breakfast and had late lunch only when he nap. Really so siong leh. He will play, then suddenly remember and turn back to look for me. Then when he was having dinner, I went to drive the car over the cc building, the teacher has no choice but bring him to sit beside Charmaine. Wonder what shall I do tomorrow ?

Will try saying bye bye to him half day onwards.

CL

Realised that if u say bye bye fast enough, they won't be so clingy. Maybe just stay like 10mins? Then wave bye and go. The longer u stay, the worse it gets. Today got a gal in class, her mother was with her, she stayed for a little too long until the gal cried and vomitted when she left. Last week when the dad was there, he put her down, waved bye and left. The gal didn't cry at all then.

mashy
mayb the gal was more sticky to the mum.
i can't comment much about this 'cos today i was not with my gal and she did wave bye to my hb when he left without crying. friday i will be with her, i hope she wouldn't be clingy to me like what she does at bedtime.

re: birthday bash
need to take out my name

'cos hb said he didn't feel good to join big celebration as his grandma just passed away not long ago.....
rachel, so sorry, can't help on the decor part liao.

re:2nd Birthday Bash!!
Date: 26 Jan 2008 (Sat)
Time: 1130am-230pm
Venue: TBC

1) Chicken Little - 2 adults + 2 child
2) Mashy - 2 adults + 1 child
3) SY - 3 adults + 1 child
4) sl
5) MamaChan - 2 adults + 1 child
6) Aileen - 3 adults + 2 child
7) cheng -02 adults + 1 child
8) Maywong - 2 adults + 1 child
9) Krissie - 3 adults + 1 child + 1 bb
10) Cookie - 3 adults + 2 child
11) bblon
12) Sysac - 2 adults + 1 child
13) God's child - 2adults + 1 child
14) SSF -3 adults + 2 child
15) Rach - 2 adults + 1 child
16) tabbiesus - 3 adults + 2 child
17) Linda
18) Flo - 2 adults + 1 child
19) Esther
20) Tracy - 2 adults + 1 child
21) SH - 2 adults + 1 child
22) Wenyl - 3 adults + 2 child

Volunteers pls!
committee:-
1. Treasurer: esther, Rach.
2. Game/Activity Team: Tabb, MamaChan, Mashy
3. Decor Team: Rach,God's child
4. F & B Team: Cookie, SL, Flo.

We need more helping hands in the game/activity and display team.

mummies, pls indicate the number of adults and children attending the bash. need to do headcount. I had also narrow down the date to 26 Jan and the time to 1130am to 230pm. pls voice out your concern and the committee will discuss and work it out. TQ!

sunny

Perhaps...

my boy was also very clingy to my hb leh (not me, sigh). My hb took leave today. So I told him to leave the room first. My hb got up, waved goodbye to him and asked for a kiss. Then my boy ok. Just waved goodbye. After that, it was my turn to leave. I told him i'm going off, waved goodbye and went off. At first he thought he was leaving with me. Hahah, so funny. But he eventually got the idea. Hopefully tomorrow will be ok for him.

Mashy Sunny,
Aden willingly say bye bye to daddy. But recently he more clingy to me. Realli dunno what to expect tomorrow.

For me is full day care so it is more xiong for him I feel. 2 option tomorrow. Either I leave him for 2 hours without me then quickly go back and show him I will be back or I should stay with him half day and leave him second half on his own. Blur Tomorrow dunno what to do

re:2nd Birthday Bash!!
Date: 26 Jan 2008 (Sat)
Time: 1130am-230pm
Venue: TBC

1) Chicken Little - 2 adults + 2 child
2) Mashy - 2 adults + 1 child
3) SY - 3 adults + 1 child
4) sl 2 adults + 1 child
5) MamaChan - 2 adults + 1 child
6) Aileen - 3 adults + 2 child
7) cheng -02 adults + 1 child
8) Maywong - 2 adults + 1 child
9) Krissie - 3 adults + 1 child + 1 bb
10) Cookie - 3 adults + 2 child
11) bblon
12) Sysac - 2 adults + 1 child
13) God's child - 2adults + 1 child
14) SSF -3 adults + 2 child
15) Rach - 2 adults + 1 child
16) tabbiesus - 3 adults + 2 child
17) Linda
18) Flo - 2 adults + 1 child
19) Esther
20) Tracy - 2 adults + 1 child
21) SH - 2 adults + 1 child
22) Wenyl - 3 adults + 2 child

Volunteers pls!
committee:-
1. Treasurer: esther, Rach.
2. Game/Activity Team: Tabb, MamaChan, Mashy
3. Decor Team: Rach,God's child
4. F & B Team: Cookie, SL, Flo.

So busy for the past few days....

Rach,
I am okay with MSN conference later fri night. Will transfer the monies tomorrow.

CL,
I remembered that charmaine has problems only when the other parents came to pick up their kids. Did Jeannette gave any advice?

Queen,
I remembered that one thing that Lavina said and I totally agreed is that language is more than just words recognition or phonics. Zoophonics, GD, they just concentrate on one part. Language is a whole system - you need to recognise words, read words, and also language comprehension. She actually recommended the Oxford Reading Programme which is more comprehensive.
hmmm... I met up with a fren the other day and she told me that another fren's child who is just 6 mths older than charmaine - can speak in perfect sentences, basic words in 3 /4 languages, knows who's Winston Churchill and Bill Gates. Gosh.....

today was not feeling well. dunno why but the whole day felt so tired and my stomach so bloated and the whole digestive system seems upset

Today JH went to playgroup for the 1st time. Overall I am quite happy with his performance. He did not cry and he was pretty engaged in the activities but he always remember to turn ard to check whether i m still ard. bus ride was ok as well and he was quite chatty on the bus. going to try to let him take the bus on his own on fri and then meet him in sch.

initially i tot of getting out of sight once he is settled with the activities but the teacher told me that there was this gal who transferred to another sch and the mum hid and later when the gal found out, she hated going to sch. i hope that tmr i can leave him a bit for a while and he will be ok. he willingly let the teachers lead him to do stuff. just that he will remember to turn ard to check for me

the teachers also praised him and said that for a 2 year old, he has a lot of self control. he will sit and take instructions. his speech has also improved recently and he started to form 4-5 words sentences. i realyl hope the teachers can understand him.

sl
my sis told me one of our fren's god son can recog different car makes at the age of 2...amazing right...

krissie
cd it be that u r back at work and your gal trying to adjust to that fact?

re flashcards
JH suddenly made me dig out the flashcards to do with him. dunno why but he got sudden interest and he forced me to do with him. quite funny. we did body parts and after that he kept going eyebrows and pointing to mine when we were lying on the bed before he slept.

Sunny,
How long u intend to keep ur gal company for PG?

CL,
JW is same as Aden. After a while, he went in to play but kept turning around to make sure i am around. Will cry when i am not in sight. Wonder how long i should keep him company.

Cookie
MSN at nite is fine with me, unless Mel decided to sleep late.

First day at PG
Mel was ok when I first went in with her. She was busy exploring around and totally ignore me when I waved bye bye to her about 10 min later. However, she started to cry and look for me after 1 hour. The principle asked me to go in since is her first day of school. I tried to wave bye bye to her after she settled down. But she was so funny, wave bye bye but started crying...so end up teacher asked me to stay with her since class will be finishing soon. Tomorrow hb will go with her, hopefully she'll take it better.

Queen
Your car got vandalised at your pl? Surprise to hear that cos I thot the area seems quite safe. I'm sure 2008 will be a better year for you and all at home.

cookie, rachel, queen, jamom, SY
thks for the advice / suggestion. dun think tt it has to do with the flow, coz she didnt even want to suckle. then, plus, i think she forgot how to suckle on the breast.
I'm still trying to latch her everyday...

rachel
did dylan ever latch on again after tt? or totally no more latching.

jamom
I also suspect tt she has the bottle too often tt she forgot how to latch on the breast already. It's like a foreign object to her. hahaa...

SY
nope. it happened before i'm back at work.

SH
yesterday my hb left her alone for 1 hr and she was ok. i ask hb to try leaving her for 1.5 hr alone. if this works, tomorrow, when i am with her, i will try to stay only 15 minutes. *cross finger* hope everything is fine.

CL
ya, i think full day is xiong for kids to adjust. but, no choice mah. how many days does the center allow you to accompany aden?
probably every night before aden sleeps, you could remind him that there would be school the next day, and let him know what he would expect and what you would do when you send him there?
last time when i went around to look for childcare center, a teacher told me that after kids go to childcare centre especially full day, they tends to have nightmares initially. but, we can't do much thing except for reassuring and keept reassuring the kids.

First day in school
Damien's first day of his playgroup, he did not cry when he entered the class as he was more interested on the toys.

Damien got this bad habit that whenever he went to someone house to play with their toys,
by end of the day he refused to return the toy to them. He will fussed and kept crying.

yesterday, the same thing happen again that he wanna to bring the toys from the school back home.

today my boy cried when i left him in school.
He waved goodbye to his daddy in the car, but when i dropped him off in his class, he started to wanna cling to me. We were late, so didn't have time to let him settle down. Guess that's our mistake. Should give him some time to settle down before we leave.

Tomorrow will be a better day.

just now hb called me. he and mil left after 15 minutes the class started then peeped at the corner to see how my gal reacted. surprisingly, my gal was ok and even told the teacher that she wanna pee. but after a while, when she got bored with the toys, she started sobbing and looked for hb. luckily the teacher still managed to distract her with other games...

hope everything is fine with her till end of the class and also tomorrow.

mashy
ya, i think it's good to bring your boy there earlier and walk around 1st. that's what my hb did even though the center did not open so early. he just bring my gal to walk around outside the center, sweet talk to her.

CALI BB SPREE
Ladies, received notification that our cali bb orders were shipped but some of the cali bb spree items were OOS at time of shipping and no back-order dates were given. As CGW will be increasing their shipping charges WEF 1 Jan 08, I have already shipped whatever had been shipped to Singapore and I'll not be waiting for the backorder items as they can take months to fufil the backorders.

The following is the list of OOS items :
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>item</TD><TD> person(s) affected </TD></TR><TR><TD>California Baby Hair Conditioner</TD><TD> Calming 8.5 oz </TD><TD> Flo </TD></TR><TR><TD>California Baby Bubble Bath</TD><TD> Calming 13 oz</TD><TD> Tabbs </TD></TR><TR><TD>California Baby Calming Non-Talc Powder 2.5 oz</TD><TD> Slinky </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

The rest of the items have been shipped and I'm awaiting delivery to my home.

Norway
That place is the most beautiful place I've ever been to! We love that place very much and Ariene keeps asking to goto Norway. She'd pull us to the door and say "Mummy, we go norway OK?" *faint*

Its not really that cold in Norway. First 2 days may be colder cuz we're not used to it. The coldest we hit there was only -3deg. Was colder up in the mountains where we did the sleigh ride. But, once you've started exercising, actually started to feel warm and we even sat on the snow and played snow bombs.

seems like a lot of mummies are starting to send the toddlers to sch.

mummies whose toddlers just started school,
it may take sometime for them to settle in but eventually guess they will love sch if the experience is good. clariss still have sudden outburst of tears at times in the class. it's quite sudden and I guess she suddenly miss her daddy and mummy. sometimes, it's because the new kids cry so she started crying but think she is doing well. Clariss didn't cry for the first 2 days when she started going to half day childcare in Dec but when she realised that she needs to go there everyday, she cries everytime we say she is going to sch. now, although she says she doesn't want to go to sch, she goes without crying.

mashybrainz,
ya, need to have ample time to settle them but once they cry, it's better to quickly hand over to the teacher and disappear. most kids will learn that no matter how hard they cry, their parents will come only slightly later and they will stop pretty fast once they realised that.

Hi mummies - Thanks for the well wishes. I was just packing up my cubicle to move over to the 'new' office. Realised I kept so many barabg barang aft almost 15 years here. Was giving away gifts to my colleagues

Happy BD Jan toddlers!

hi, saw my name mentioned earlier...

I use Zoophonics in the weekly playgroup as it's the only phonics program that I've picked up from mummy friends. I notice that every young kid that has gone through the program has by far love the program, though some didn't pick up as much as others. When son#1 was 2.5 yrs old, we did this too but I notice his learning ability is not as much/high as son#2.

I'm unable to comment much abt phonics and reading, though in the past yr, I've noticed how various 4-yr olds have picked up reading in their various ways. 1 girl can read at 7-yr old (or more) level, and yes, she loves books, and she doesn't use Phonics, but she was in the Shichida class for a yr, but I believe the biggest influence came from all the readings which her mother did with her. Mine knows his sounds but is still unable to blend words together.... he loves books too but prefer to have us reading to him. Another girl seems to memorize words by heart and doesn't seem to learn the sounds well... there are 44 phonetic sounds and if you think abt it, it will probably take 2 yrs to learn, and generally school does need a systematic method to teach to a group-based class, and yes, I do agree with Jamom, reading also requires comprehension, including knowing understanding, tenses, sentence structure, etc.

On flashcards, like what some of you have said, it depends on the child and there are various schools of debating thoughts ... well, isn't that the same with many parenting issues? A fren chose to focus on flashcards as her MIL has taken over the "ownership" of child-caring including what to feed, when to nap, etc. She decided to embark on a specialized area to remain "sane". I guess I'm sort of in the same situation .... hubby's more concerned in the basic need and hence I tend to focus more on the learning part. And flashcard is just part of it.

Queen ... I'm like u. stressed and yet trying to keep to certain principles ... this would carry on for a few years, esp when everyone starts telling u which enrichment programmes their kids go to and how burnt out their weekends are with all chaffeuring to kids lessons. It's so common these days to hear kids of 4-7 yrs old going to 5-10 enrichment lessons.

btw, someone in another forum is doing a Amazon spree, u might wanna tag onto that instead. I'm not ordering this round, got enough stuff from the last spree I did.

.ky.

Hi hi ,

Long time no see.. Gals..

I was finally back from China- the hainan island and it was a nightmare for me. coz elijah had viral fever over there . he was sick on the 4th day we were there and all the way till we are back home. too much drama mama...

Today i left elijah at my IL's place and my son is terrible coz when i kiss him good bye and tell him mummy goes to work ok.. but i was still sitting there. guess what he push my legs and ask me to go.. mummy go go...

so sad.. Hubby was saying that he thinks our son will have no problem going to school. so sad..

Rena,
Welcome back. Aiyo, good lah. Elijah independent lah. How is he now ?

Mamapanda,
Welcome back. Post pics of norway hor. Ariene must have enjoyed herself alot.

Update - Aden's second day at CC
Ask the principal what to do. She says he performed worse with me around so today I should drop and go. Told him bye bye and he same as Caeden starts to bye bye to everyone and blow kisses. Then I bring him to the gym to play, he was so happy then I have to tell him bye bye. Charmaine's teacher hold on to him and tell us to leave. Of course he was crying very badly.

The principal updated me that she brought him out to the main door, each time she open the little gate, he got angry and cried louder. He keep asking her to carry which she did not, so she says only can hold hand, he slapped her hand away. She slowly walk in and ask if he wants to hold her hand and follow, he no choice so hold hand and follow her to his class.

Ask if he wants to join class, he shake his head. so she ask him to sit beside the big bear. He walk in and sleep on the bear very angry. Principal says he wants face so wont give in easily. Then later he join the class, eat and drink as per normal. Tomorrow I will cancel my leave and do the same again. Pray for better tomorrow.

ky
wah... 5-10 enrichment class!!! how do the parents afford if they have more than 1 kid? i hope i won't be one of them. it's not only financially stressed for the parents, it's also stressful for the kid, IMO.

rena, mampanda
hello!!!!

CL
heart pain to hear that hor? i think if i see my gal cries very badly, i will cry, too....
hope every next day is better for all of us.

my hb just updated me that my gal didn't cry at all after he and mil left. she just kept asking for daddy, wanting to look for daddy..... i shall c how she behaves tomorrow.... 'cos she is much much sticky to me.... *cross finger*

sunny,
Ya i wanted to cry in the car when I think back. Then after the teacher and principal gave 2 calls to me to update I think he is fine. Plus he still have Charmaine a familiar face to cling on without us. So I think tomorrow I will drop and go. Today tell him school he can still happily says "school, school"Tomorrow dunno if he will do the same ha ha

sunny

today i met a mother at the school who sends her kid to 3hr english kindergarten followed by 3 hrs chinese kindergarten! Even the principal told her have to monitor as it's very stressful for a kid to go thru such long hrs.

i'm an exception. My boy cry in school, i not heart pain at all leh...

Second day in school
jsut got an update from my mum that Damien refused to let her go back.
He even want her to sit beside him during the class. Lucky was 1.5 hr playgroup.

Mum was comment that some of his classmates can talk pretty well and seem to understand what the teacher talking abt
and my son is so blurred.

Told her that probably he is the youngest in the class like his brother when he just started school.

hihi mummies,
see that quite a few todds are starting school. wish you mummies all the best. i have been a failure. hopefully none of you will follow suit. up till now, edgar still has phobia of school. he will retreat the moment he sees group of kids in an enclosed area. he will think that it's school. and will cling to me like koala. i think gotta wait till he's older. by the way, are anyone of you planning to send ur todds to St.James kindergarden? I have put Edgar on the waiting list for 2009, Pre-Nursery class.

mashy
oh... kindergarten also stressful for kids? hmmm... i thought kindergarten age is big enough to enjoy school life and making lots of friends...
you are really good lah! i even would have separation anxiety if my gal stays over night at my mil's place, even 1 night. that's y till now, she hasn't stayed at my mil's place overnight before. me loser hor? haha...

bblon
dont' worry. Damien would pick up things from the class after a period of time spent there.

CL
*pat pat*
for the book, probably i will pick up from you this sunday.... sms you on sunday to cfm.

aileen
how come edgar is so phobia of school? that time you brought him to school, what had happened to him?

Krissie
even now when i think back, it still hurts abit. dylan totally rejected my breast when he was ard 6mths and never ever latch on again since... i did try many times but he simply do not want my breast and will keep turning and turning his head away as far as he could.

you dont give up, try talking to her and hopefully she wants to latch on again. jia you!

mamapanda
welcome back! do post some beautiful photos and let us see the beautiful land far far away from us =p

sunny

hahah, i think i will also have separation anxiety if my boy is to stay overnight at my IL's place. that's why even go hols must drag him along. But go sch just a few hrs lah. He needs to go sch eventually, so might as well. Think if just 1 session still ok. That mother sent the daughter to 2 sessions. Total 6hrs leh. It's not like childcare. Childcare still have nap time etc, kindergarten got no nap time leh.

Flo, sorry didn't see your question from 2 days ago. And a BIG THANK YOU for the surprise gift! Really didn't expect it and Kirsten loves it very much.
I'm very impressed with Mel already. She can be on her own for so long on the first 2 days of school. Kirsten just refused to let my maid go out of sight when she first started.

Had a simple celebration with home-made cupcakes in school during snack time today, since Kirsten loves cakes and candles. She also likes to distribute the cakes around. But it also means, she has to cry more today after me and hubby left her a 2nd time during the class snack time. haha, yi4 chang3 huan1 xi3, yi4 chang3 kong1.

Mummies, wah so many todds starting school ya? Jia you! I find they really do cry a lot lesser if you leave immediately after saying bye bye. Got to be gentle but firm. From a teacher's advice, I used to linger a while then suddenly disappear but leave maid with her. And then she will cling onto maid like her last string of hope in case maid also disappears. Better to say bye, hand them over and let them cry a bit.

Wow seems like lots of toddlers here have started school! I am trying to enrol Megan into a PCF playgroup but they only accept a child above 30 months old. So i guess i have wait till Jul 08.

Talking about enrichment classes for children, i think i am the most laid back mother in the world. Till now, i have not sent ashley for any enrichment class since birth......... But i am stressed by my mum lately that Ashley does not know how to read now that she is 4 already...........Keep asking me to send her for more lessons etc. The only thing that make me regret is that i didn't enrol her for lessons during the dec holiday period cos she was literally watching TV and rot at home........ Now she can name me all teh shows on Starhub channel 33 - American Dragon, Totally Spies, Hannah Montena, High School Musical.............. Hai.........

Hi Mashy brainz and Sunny,

Likewise i know of a friend who enrol her child into a chinese speaking kindergarten in the morning and a english kindergarten in the afternoon........ i thot it will be very tiring for the child but my friend reckon her child will have lunch and an hour break thereafter which is good enough........

so scary right?

Hi Chicken Little,

Can Charmaine read by age of 4? My mum is really stressing me up . But then again i realise that i had spent less time reading to Ashley for this past year.........

yuki

think u will be more stressed if u read the earlier posts. Mamachan's D can start to read words already!!!! He's our little genius here.

Don't worry, my niece also couldn't read at 4. Could barely talk at 3, now she's in kindergarten, and she's learning fast. Most kids don't even know their alphabets in nursery, so don't stress yourself up.

Yuki,
Charmaine can recognise some words which she like. I juz let her read simple ones which I know most words she already know. Then those she does not know, she will ask me then I will revise with her each day. Now she can read but not very well. You may like to start her road sign or words she see at building. Charmaine did that when she is in car, mrt. THe joke was when she say Lot1 , she ask how come this building call loti. What books do you let ashley read ?

Charmaine is also a disney channel kid as my mum will leave her to watch tv while she do housework or cook.

Aden was munching his dinner when I went. So I hid so he can finish but he saw his sister then start to comb the area and caught sight of my backview. Started crying so I went to carry him, praise him and high 5. He was ok and start saying bye bye. Brought him to carry the bag then look for Charmaine. Then u-turn because I forgot something. Ha ha he was so phobia of going back. Tomorrow I hope he will be ok because I am going to leave him there say bye bye and leave.

For Aden, he has found the principal and the main teacher as substitute. The teacher updated too that beside the morning saga, he was ok through out. So I think Aden should be able to get used soon.

Yuki/CL,

my duncan only can recongize few words that he remember...not actually can read. I m thinking to enroll him with Kumon for P1 preparation.

rach

11pm too late for me lah. I usually knock out by then. Hehe. Nvm, u just go ahead and let me know the outcome can already. Whatever u need me to do, just let me know.

mashy
aiyo...D is just naming the alphas in big signboard letters by making the letter sounds, but I suspect he might not even know what the word really means except for a few familiar word items he hears so much of and know of. Not really genius...he has yet to make simple 2-3 word sentences in his speech...different todds really progress differently. Guess as this stage, the sounds of each letters is interesting to him.

I've heard sysac's Cephas talk abit before and Tracy's Megan....I was like "Wow!" Really big boy and big girl le.

a lot of postings to catch up!

i have decided to let JH cry in sch tmr and see how the teachers settle him. today i told him i m going out to buy sometihng. he only looked for me after i disappeared for 45 min but after i reappeared i realised he kept coming to look for me. my plan is to really disappear tmr and let him cry.

JH has also been stringing a lot of words. qutie funny actually. he recently made up this new phrase. he will say mama naughty heng girl girl. dunno how to connects them but it was very funny the way he said it. he will purposely say he's a girl and i m a boy.

he's also starting to use a lot of phrases like go inside, come in etc provided u can decipher them cos still not very accurate.

cross my fingers that tmr sch will go even more smoothly. i m going to let him take the bus on his own too.