(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mashy - Yep, what a freak accident. The more I read the more I got sad. Keep tearing when I read. Reminded me of my colleague who passed away in Oct too. So who do u know out the 5?

Anyone watched Lust Caution? I am going to watch it tonite

sysac

stephen loh. i don't actually know that guy. i know his parents and elder bro/SIL coz they were from my former church. My hb grew up in that church, so knew the whole family. My hb asked me why i'm so affected even though i don't know him personally. Think as a mother, u kind of can feel for another mother's loss. couldn't help feeling sad.

haven't watched a movie in ages. envy leh...

Hi girls, haven't been coming in for a Loooooong time. How's everyone now? So who else got pregnant? =) Was reading through all your postings- made me feel better because I have the same frustrations and worries as many of you here. Sarah is also giving me alot of problems when it comes to eating and she's also at the stage whereby she wants to assert her will. No longer very cooperative- so driving me up the wall almost every other day. Her daddy finally bought a cane yesterday. That said, she's also getting very cheeky- half the time I really dunno whether to scold or to smile at her. *hiaz*

I have maid problems too. But I guess like SY with number 2 coming and because I can tell she does care for sarah, I am hesitant to change maid. At least I know her bad habits and flaws- with a new one, I need time to figure her character out. I have no time to start from scratch again cos baby due end feb.

Hubby taking me to hokkaido mid december- company incentive trip again. I am so hesitant about it, firstly cos I can't imagine any winter wear that can fit me and secondly cos I haven't travelled without sarah before. Everyone tells me to go though cos I'll be more housebound than ever once the 2nd baby arrives. Question- anyone has any advise as to how to feel less guilty leaving baby behind? I am absolutely paranoid about my ILs or maid neglecting sarah when we're not around. Crazy mother talking no? =\

Hi Sandra,

It's been a while since anyone saw u in here! Congrats on being pregnant! I don't think u r paranoid about Sarah being neglected. I do feel the same way when I leave Cephas at my ILs' place overnite (which is very seldom). One is because my MIL is looking after my 1-yr old niece there full-time like 6 full days & Cephas goes over on Wed-Fri only. So when HB suggs leaving him there overnite during those rare occasions, I wld worry the whole nite until I see him.

I'm sure my MIL wld take good care of him but then it's just a feeling. Whereas when he's at my mum's, it's my mum, my aunts & the maid who watches over him. Ratio is 4 adults to 1 child. At my ILs', it's 1 adult to 2 toddlers.

As long as Sarah is in good hands & u feel confident abt it, I think wld be good to go for the trip. U'll truly be housebound for a while after that.

Mashy - Think this is the 1st movie since I started my PT studies! Haha...no need to envy...u can too! My god-dau's parents invited us along so I obliged although need to pick Cephas up from my mum's. We'll just pick him up aft the show.

Another thing- does any of your kids here have problems sleeping at night? Sarah needs the tv to be lulled to sleep every night. She used to be able to fall asleep in her room independently during bedtime but eversince 4 months ago she needs her tv shots. Does that mean she's a tv addict? She also wakes up in the middle of the night around 4am to come into our room to sleep when previously she could sleep the entire night by herself. Also started about the same time as the tv habit. I'm upset that everything that I taught her seem to have gone down the drain. And now is not a good time for me to 're-train' her as I am so tired most of the time...

Hi sysac! yeah, the last time I posted anything in here should be around april. Moving house kept me busy for about 3 to 4 months, then I went thru a rough spate with hubby for about 2 months before discovering that I got pregnant 2nd time round- and that kept me lethargic and hormonal till now. Ha!

Things have really improved tremendously (in terms of stress levels between Hubby and me) eversince we got the maid in august. The stress of moving and pregnant hormones plus looking after a toddler was just a little too much to handle for us as a couple. Now, at least I don't have to nag at him for not helping me with the chores. We're starting to have a little more time to 'pak tor' like those days before we had sarah. It's something that we had forgotten after having her...

hey sandra,
1stly, congrats on your #2!

2ndly, i would encourage u to go for a holiday cos with #2 coming, there will be less or no chance to go! So go go go!

Sandra - Oh wow, that was so long ago
It's good that things are alright now
I know what u mean. Men & the hsework issue!

Well, all the more to go to Hokkaido-a long pak tor opportunity!

Cephas has no problems getting to sleep at nite. He knows that it's bed time when it's lites off! Is Sarah watching too much during the day? Haha...maybe it's a phase she's going thru.

I just read this mth's Young Parents issue. For 2 years old, it's recommended to allow an hr of Tv progs daily.

hi sandra
haven seen u here for some time!

yeah i know those worries abt leaving sarah behind. even when my parents bring JH out, i worry too! guess it's never the same as ourselves taking care of our own kids

is it a phase she's going thru with regards to her sleep patterns? JH changes sleep patterns frequently. maybe just ignore her when she wakes up?

glad u and your hb are ok now. nowadays me and hb arguing alot too cos his work is keeping him so busy and i m feeling not well most of the time. really quite frustrating.

if u can go for the trip, why not? it will really be hard to travel once no 2 comes.

mashy, sysac,
apparantly, 2 of my colleagues have frens among the 5 who passed away. quite sad. heard that one of them is only child.

SY

only child? sure heart broken like anything. Worse than death.

hi sandra
long time no c. hehe, i remembered u posted before abt your preg then after that mia liao. hahaha. hokkaido very cold in dec leh. but it'll be a good break. i'll also feel guilty if i'm u. but some couple time is also good. So go ahead and enjoy yourself! haha, what do preg women wear for winter clothes ah? don't think u'll be able to borrow. Does any shop here sell preggy winter clothes at all? maybe can buy online?

Hello haven't come to the forum for a long long time too!

Sandra,
Congrats on your #2! I'm also expecting #2, hopefully will deliver by end Dec.

My girl also wakes up at 3plus or 4am every night to climb into bed with us. So much so that we gave up and just let her sleep in the same room as us.
And I agree - now's not a really good time to re-train your girl esp when u may not have the energy, plus #2 coming soon. But since u still hv abt 2 more months before #2 pops, maybe still have time to train if you have the energy to! For me, i gave up "training" my girl in a lot of things that i would have otherwise done if i were not expecting. Like potty-training, sleep-training, etc. Now's just not the time!

Any of you drive throughout your pregnancies? My hb is currently overseas and he forbids me to drive, so i had to take leave this whole week. Really sian staying at home and being cooped up. And I really miss my hb coz got nothing to do at home

Sandra

happy to hear from you again!

am oversea now and have been away from dylan for 5 solid days... it does not make me feel any better when my mum called me saying he kept looking for me the whole of yesterday. like having mood swing, one moment can play happily and the next moment wants to be carry... very guilty.

still, the plus thing is it is a great trip to me and my hb. do go and enjoy the trip with ur hb! dont worry about sarah being neglected, she is big enough to seek for attention wor =) Sarah is growing up everyday and she is getting more and more independent. habit can be change, you might want to get your hb to help you to change sarah's bad habit?

durianlover
i drove during my last pregnancy. how come cannot drive? i remember even in nov, i was still driving to my mum's palce cos i went to stay over.

durianlover
you can take taxi! when is your leave till, or I can bring dylan over to play with janelle and we chit chat!

SY,
Ya that's why...i also can't agree with my hb's logic of not driving when my belly is big! I mean, i feel perfectly fine with driving. Don't see why i can't! But since i promised my hb not to drive, so no choice.

rachel,
Yes yes sure! Come over when you can
Haha
I'm on leave till this Thursday. Can call or sms me...so boring to be home! Bring Dylan over...Janelle seriously needs to learn how to share her toys!

RE: possesiveness
Btw speaking of which, my girl is super possesive over her own stuff. How do you encourage such a kid to share toys??

durianlover
aiyah, I will be back to singapore by this wed late night leh... thurs will be my bro's "guo da li" so will be helping him out. see when you on leave or not working, call or sms me la!

I educate dylan since young about sharing toys, think is when he was around 9 mths old. he will very willing to. there was one inciddent when i bought him downstair to take a walk, we met a older boy with his grandma. he kept demanding to his grandma for the housekey dylan was holding and to my surprise, dylan stretch out and gave the boy our housekey. haha

take your time to educate Janelle, she will learn to share sooner or later =)

sandra- hi hi! welcome back again. first of all congratulations on ur second coming. hehe...fyi..i have popped my son on aug 7..same day as cookie. wow ur hb so nice...got biz travel again. envy! oh and yes pls go ahead with ur travel before no 2 comes along. better go or u will regret!
regarding bedtime, i have no problems with Caleb. basically he zonked out till the next morn ard 8am. same applies for my Jadon too. hahaa...lucky me!

re: rowers
i tear a little too after reading the papers this morning. its really tragic and my sympathy goes out to the family. being a mum myself, it my heart aches to see another mummy in tears and near to collapse. i hope they can pull this thru soon.

rachel - enjoy 'er ren shi jie' while u can!

durianlover - i drove from the beginning to my last stage of pregnancy. no problem lei.

rachel,
Oh ya forgot you're still in china! Wow you very happening leh! Go on holiday still can come online so often
Heh heh. I'd be on leave till this Thursday only. After that if i'm on leave it'll be coz of maternity leave already...haha.

Mamapanda,
When are you flying off? Next week right?
Ya i want to bring Janelle over to play with Ariene before you all fly off!

durianlover

your hb is so sweet and protective.. haha.. me.. when i was preggy, i was driving all the way to expo and carrying heavy stuff like baby cot and mattress all by myself.. never hear my hb say anything. Plus I was carrying tabby all the way throughout. Up til the moment my waterbag burst.. i was actually about to carry her out of bed when i felt it burst!

Sandra
nice to hear from you again, hope u are coping well. oddly enough, tabby now knocks out herself.. i will bf didi next to her on her bed and sometimes, i just chit chat with my hb with the room all dark and then after awile me and my hb notice that she self knock out and is happily snoozing away.. she ko at 9.30pm quite regularly recently. i guess, when the baby comes, there will be a period of adjustment where things get a bit haywire, then after awhile both babies will find a new routine and settle in. Tabby is a super jealous bb and she has also learned to live with the fact that didi will be around for awhile, but just be prepared there will be an adjustment period, even if u get her into a routine before delivery.

Sandra,
Hey, really long time no hear from you on the forum. I'm also expecting #2 due in mid-May. Meg normally sleeps thru the night unless she is not feeling well. On good nights, she will tell us she wanna sleep in her cot and she will just go to sleep on her own there. At times, she choose to sleep on our bed. Then there are times both hb and I already sleeping while she watches the Disney Channel till 1130pm! Sesame street's at 11pm lah. Then she will doze off with the tv on and we will transfer her back to cot when we happen to wake up.

Sunny,
Eh...i think you meant sandra bah.

Mashy,
I just learnt yesterday that Stephen Loh is my hb's campmate.

RE: dragon boat rowers..

Such a tragic accident.. who would have thought.. I was just telling my hb about them.. our prayers are with the family.

mamapanda
let me know once the VS stuff are here, i will get it from u before u go for your trip... so lucky.. must be really looking forward to it...

tabb
I dun mind to be in charge for circle time. But, i'm better at nursery rhymes. anyone can help me with christmas songs, I'm not too good with them. think the last time i went to PG at cheng's place, CL was guiding the cirle time v well (*hint hint*)

how many songs do we usually need? then I can prep. haha.. i need to go search for the lyrics and memorise them.
i cant think of suitable christmas songs for kids except jingle bells, which sounds catchy. I was thinking that we can sing a few nursery rhymes as the kids are more familiar with them and can participate too. What do u think?

RE: Angel Wipes

This steven guy seems to be missing in action again. Is it the company closes down already.

Boo Hoo.. cannot buy the wipes anymore. Does any one know where we can buy this angel wipes?

sandra
i think u shld go with hb. i accompanied my hb last year for his trips too.. though we didnt bring ger, it was a special time for us alone w/o the kid.

tracy

went to his wake yesterday. it was so crowded. His dad gave a very touching speech about him and the whole process of identifying his body. Really scary coz he couldn't even recog him, needed to check his teeth to identify him. Vaguely remembered my hb introducing us after a christmas service a few yrs back. feel so sad when i saw his family. My church friends all came out with red eyes and noses.

I think the police kind of expected the crowds and had placed them at all the wakes to help with traffic control. I had to walk quite far to reach the wake last night.

Found that there's another dragon boat rower's wake below my block. It was also very crowded last night and the police had to come to help with crowd control.

Krissie

RE: playgroup circle time

to make it easier for you i will help pre record a disc of music.. with the zhao zhao shou song u wanted from JG (last CL burned a copy for us) and if u like the skidamarink dinky dink song, i've got some christmas songs like rudolph, jingle bells and is there any other songs anyone would like to include? I got the barney i love you song as well. If possible i will try to upload the playlist somewhere on our groups either yahoo.

I'm really excited about the playgroup cos it'll prob. be the last time i can have a playgroup before i go back to 'serios" work!!

Mashy,
good thing the police were there to control the crowd. I'm sure many ppl would be visiting the wakes. I saw on tv yesterday one of the father being interviewed and he said that no point now finding who's to blame, but rather to ensure that precautions are taken in future to prevent such accidents. I totally agree with him and hope the other families will find the strength like him to move on.

Rena,
Actually I just ordered and received from him on the same day about 3 weeks ago. I sms him.

RE: playgroup

I just realise that there will be so many adults at my place, and its quite small, so i hope u don't mind if its gets to be a bit of a crowd cos I still prefer to have it at orchard cos I'm afraid it'll be too hot at holland.

Can I put some mommies in charge of certain sections? Mommies, please volunteer to help in each section as u are comfy in...

Dates: December 22nd Saturday
timing... 10am-12pm
venue: orchard

Theme: christmas

1. Circle time (Christmas songs) ?kirssie
2. Craft: tabbiesus
3. Storytime : Mashy.. using ur book
4. kiv santa & gift giving ?denmy

Please confirm attendance if can come and no. of kids/ pax

1. Chickenlittle - ok for all dates now. Yup yup bringing Charmaine. She is doing a lot of caroling in school, can get her to lead the kids if she dares ha ha.
2. krissie - ok for 22nd dec, brining hb and my new helper, gerald and baby.
3. sunny - all dates are ok at the moment
4. Flo - all dates except 15 Dec (is Mel's bday but we have yet to plan anything!)
5. mashy - ok for sats.
6. ky - prefer 15 or 16th. can my 4.5 come too?
7. Aileen - ok with 22nd. coming with hb, helper and 2 princes.
8. Cookie - Coming with HB, helper, and the 2 Ks
9. sl - okay for saturdays.
10. cheng - dates ok except for 15 dec (got 2 parties on that day already :p)
11. denmy - 15th and 22nd ok, will also bring Ethan along
12. queen - preferred 16th or 22nd.

Lust Caution:

Watched it last nite. Show was alright. Got a but draggy aft a while. The'uncensored' parts were no big deal. I find those scenes more violent than steamy
Overall, overated by the media. For those who plan to watch, pls sit middle or towards the back.

We let our friend buy the tickets and he bought 2nd row! at the end of the 2.5 hrs show, my legs and neck were aching. Nursing a stiff neck now :p

Thanks for the well wishes gals. I guess, I'll have more time to pop in now since I have a helper. hehe... can get abit sian sometimes.

Congrats Durianlover. =) I have no problems with driving too. Drove while pregnant with sarah, now also drive whenever my hubby is out of town. Which is quite often.

Thanks rachel for the tip- putting it that way makes sense and I do feel better about leaving her behind. My hubby cannot break her bad habit on my behalf- it's quite sad but I think because he travels quite a bit, sarah is not very close to him. He also doesn't know how to play with kids so basically I'm the one that she runs to when it comes to everything... The maid has problems with feeding her too- I have to basically takeover all the feedings and sleeping times. She's smart in the sense that if she knows that I am not around, she might still listen to the maid but whenever Im home, she'll still try to get me to do things for her. Particularly recently- my friends say it's because she knows she's going to have a sibling, so super manja. *sigh*

Congratulations also to sunny and tracy. Wow, looks like most of us are mothers second time round already. Time sure flies. =)

re: christmas playgroup
i can help up on those preparation works before the session 'cos not good in guiding the children along. please let me know if there's anything i can help.

tabbi
I sent email to update u on the VS spree. Confirm u didn't get it? Anyway, the stuff are here already but I cant open the box yet cuz I'm disputing the volumetric weight of the BIG box. They sent the orders in 2 boxes. One of the box is 5.8kg and the second is 9.83kg. However, I did some measurement of the box and find that it should only be 8.87kg so I'm waiting for their reply now. I had not expected them to send us our small orders in 2 big boxes and I'm really sorry that this shipping will turn out to be slightly more ex than direct shipping form VS because of the boxes. I had wanted to save on the shipping by making use of the free local shipping but.. sorry about this. Anyway, I'll let u know when can collect once the dispute is settled and I've calculated the final shipping charges. Till now, I've not collected any monies for this spree yet.

tracy

stephen's parents are surprisingly very strong even at this time. Really admire their courage and strong faith. stephen's dad could still make jokes last night at the wake service and related how they turned stephen's 2 ex-galfriends to their god daughters.

a lot of postings to catch up on!

went for the kidsloft hol prog this morn. lavina is really quite good. but my boy quite stony as usual....

re sleep
JH still needs me to be ard when he sleeps. dunno how i m going to handle that when number 2 comes! he needs me to lie beside him until he falls asleep. if i even try to move, he will call out for me.

re sleep:
sy, same here. edgar also needs me to lie beside him when he sleeps.or my hb, if i'm not around. in the day, my maid rocks him to sleep, then my dad will sleep next to him coz when he stirs he must have someone beside him, else he will cry and can't get back to sleep.

durianlover, ur hb is so sweet. mine is like tabby's, totally bochap. when i was heavily pregnant, he still ask me to carry edgar when he is cranky! and i also drive till i pop. infact i was having contractions when i drove myself to work and to the gynae. and blur me, didn't even know that was early signs of labour! tot was braxton hicks! :p

sandra, congrats on ur #2! hope to see u more often here! :D

Durianlover - I was driving thru'out my pregnancy too. HB said he'll drive me around the last 2 mths if tummy got too big. Well, tummy didn't get too big plus Cephas saved him the trouble by coming out a mth earlier :p

mashy/SY
read that you are interested in baby prom tickets. there's a mummy selling her 2 tickets. still interested? let me know, then i pm you her contact.

Nothing really beats us looking after our own kids- my helper just made me really angry. She brought sarah out for her afternoon stroll to get her to sleep an hour ago. Sarah just woke up and I found a sweet in her mouth. I confronted my maid as to why there was a sweet in sarah's mouth when she was sleeping and she can answer back and say it was her friend who gave sarah cos she was crying just now. My baby could have choked on it and died during her sleep! Gave her a piece of my mind and all she could manage was a soft sorry. Really fuming now.