(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

cookie
is it a phase that Kae is going thru? there was a period when JH is like that. actualy it's a good thing that she likes to drink soup. just make sure u give her nutritious soup with lots of stuff. even if she only takes the soup, at least she gets the nutrients. i remember last time i got a fren whose kid doesn't like to eat but only likes to drink soup. so she always make sure her soups are very nutritious. it is not the quantity of food but the quality of the food that is impt. no point eating a lot of rice when it's only carbo right?

sometimes when JH doesn't wan to eat, i will just let him drink soup and will try to squeeze in a bit of the ingredients in each spoon. the spoon i use is quite big so quite easy to put soup and some food on it.

CL
i din manage to go cos i was so tired. had a full day workshop on sat and tired out by then.

mashy
the 5 families very poor thing. it is so sudden and such a freak accident.

cookie - i understand how you felt. there was once, i woke up early to cook C porridge and he rejected my porridge. It didnt help tat my MIL commented my porridge was dry and my hb was busy watching his HEROS vcd in the rm. i was so mad that i just find i need some time out. i took the car keys and left the home. HB also panicked keep asking me where i am gg...haha i just ignored him. but ILs was there...so i didnt blow my top. when i returned hm, my MIL said C finished everythg and hb was quietly sitting at the living rm. haha..C also likes soup...anythg watery he is on for it. i guess just have to be patient...but nowsaday I am also doing the chasing round the house to get him eat the porridge.

cookie,
dont be too hard on yourself.
Clariss also doesn't enjoy her meals. she always need something to be there to distract her so that she can finish her meals. each kid is different. maybe because her food is really not as tasty as the adults. my FIL fried kway teow last night and she kept coming to the table for a spoonful even though she already taken her abc pasta. they are really smart kids. clariss loves soup too and we make it a point to cook more soup for her because she doesn't like water too much. I think it's ok to give soup in between each mouthful of her porridge as she will swallow the porridge with the soup.

SSF
ha, i also chase JH ard the house sometimes during meal times. i will also take out his books and toys to distract him. or get him to do some drawing and coloring while i feed. as long as he is distracted and i bring the food to his mouth, he will eat.

SSF,

I think Elijah should be easy to feel . Although he doesn't really like the food at my in laws place . he will still eat them as long as we on the disney channel.

other times if we are eating he will be a food monster waiting to finish up our food.

RE: progress

So glad tat elijah manage to be able to sing "Oh how i love Jesus" He will be performing with my other kids from sunday school so we have been training him very hard..hoho

RE: MS

Lately MS is still very bad. making me so tired therefore always not able to come online.

hi denmy/jamom, I'm going to babies prom on Sat, 12noon. bringing 2 alone. wish me luck!

rachel, babies prom is a SSO concert tailored towards the 7 and under ... it's soldout on a yearly basis.

.ky.

rena - wow i am impressed that Elijah has his own performance at a tender age of 2y/o. u must be a proud mummy when he performs. hehee..to think abt that..i havent really talk to C about Jesus. i think i have to get some materials maybe a toddler bible and read to him. Christmas would be the best time to start teaching
u better rest more too...just get over the 2nd trimester and u shld feel better.

sy - yeah chasing C all over the hse for every meal. sometimes i can get very annoyed esp when hb just watch his stupid VCDs all day long. Argghh...

ky
what is so special abt this concert? sounds interesting. do the kids actually enjoy it at this age?

rena
wow, elijah can sing a song by himself? that's great....Jh sings gibberish

ky
oic, heehee thought it is a promotion. thanks for explaining.

rena
try to take plenty of rest, take care.
elijah is so clever! you did a great job mummy =)

cookie,
recently meg also refuses her porridge quite often. but she will gladly take cereal, so we will just feed her cereal. We notice that at certain stage, maybe due to teething, she rejects porridge unless it is made till very watery where she doesn't need to bite.

At my MIL's, I have to run around the house feeding her. It's very frustrating, esp now with another in my tummy and having to squat and stand and run to feed her while hubby is playing his stoopid sudoku! I don't have this problem at home on wknds. She will sit still to watch tv or color books while i feed her.

I really hate it when my MIL will say, let the maid (my sil's maid) feed her instead and my hb will agree. I will immediately say to him, so do you also want to bring the maid back home on wknds to feed her??!!

Hang in there, they go thru many phases. If she refuses to eat but have some other fave food, just let her have the fave foods or milk for now.

checking with you all who will be interested to get the following item:

1090560.jpg

it is a baby liquid powder that will dry up and turn into powder when apply onto our babies' skin. keeps baby dry and no need to worry baby will inhale the powder. i was haunting up and low for this liquid powder when they did not bring in this product into sg anymore. now i finally manage to 'hunt' it down in china!!

here is the link: http://china.nuskin.com/product/epoch1-1.htm

sorry i cant find an english link yet. my friend ask me to get 3 tube for her, hopefully i can swing by their showcase in time before i fly back to sg on wed.

yah, the xchange rate is S$1 = $4.95

cookie

understand how u feel. My boy also same thing, rejects the food. He's now very picky with his food. Even when I cook delicious fish porridge (even my hb said it's tasty), he spits it out! But Kaelyn is quite well developed lah, unlike my boy. She's rather tall for her age. My boy altho born 1 month earlier than kaelyn is so small compared to her.

rena
wow! Elijah can sing a whole song? My boy can only do a little action when WE sing twinkle twinkle. He still can't talk much let alone sing. sigh.

Tracy
Whenever I'm at my MIL's place or we go out with them, I'll let my MIL feed him. Hhaha, save me the trouble & agony too. Also give her a chance to bond with my boy.

rachel,
I've one of this liquid powder too, a gift from someone. Not tried yet tho.

mashy,
sigh lucky you..when meg was still young, my MIL seems to wanna 'fight' with me to feed her. Now older and more difficult to feed, erm..she doesn't 'fight' with me anymore.

Have been reading this thread once in awhile but hardly did any posting.

Congratulation to mummies who have given birth and mummies who are expecting bb# 2.

Linda,
Hope your girl is ok now.

Rachel,
Birthday bash memento - Thank you for the nice artwork.

Yah Mashy..

he can sing like this..

E : Oh How I Love(soft) Jesus..x2
E: Oz he ..me!

the soft love coz he cannot really say it will
then the .. he will miss out coz he dun know.

We realise tat he can sing many songs from the christian CD as we have been playing everday for almost 1 year.. we were impressed as well.

tracy

haha, that means u didn't let her win right? that's why she gave up trying anymore. hahaha. sometimes better to let her win the battle to win the war.

Rena
so impressive! my boy can only do the hand signs for twinkle twinkle and jesus loves me this i know.

rena

haha, C is also talkative, but in his caveman language. 'errr, eeee, ahhhhh', and he's best at going after gals.

Think when we go for the playgroup at tabby's place, my boy will like CL's charmaine very much.

hi SY, the special thing abt this concert is that the kids can create as much havoc as they want during it. u know for concerts, young kids are being frowned upon ... for this, the whole place gets turned upside down! we've been going to this since my #1 is less than 1. Some regulars have felt that it's the same year after year ... actually I intend to sit out this yr, but can't resist ... yes, they do enjoy, esp when they get to gallop ard the whole theatre and go up to stage to be near the instruments ... it's the adults that are having a tough time.

Mashy ... mine can't talk much too, but getting there ... just input and input and input. they'll output when they are ready :>

.ky.

Rachel,
That's beautiful. Thanks for the hard work! Can I get a soft copy as well?

Linda,
Oh no...poor Gracie

Cookie,
Don't get too worried. JW went through a stage where he rejected everything as well and just wanted his milk. Lasted for a few weeks. Then one day, he just suddenly change his mind and start eating again. My MIL says after nearly 2 weeks overseas, JW is so easy to feed now. Gulp down his porridge in one place. Din run around. Kekeguess maybe he didn't like the feeling of being starved esp in HK!

Like Rachel says maybe just be more relaxed. Most kids won't starved themselves too much. Kaelyn will eat when she is hungry. So long as she is not underweightshould be ok bah

ky
sounds interesting. maybe i shall try to go for the babies prom next year

sunny
jolly phonics and letterland are different methods for teaching phonics. i never really go into it so not quite sure. maybe u can try reading up on it?

mashy
JH also has a lot of caveman talk. it's ok. like ky said, just input. once thye are ready, they will output one. cannot be stopped when they start to output!

rena
wow... elijah's speech development is good.
take care, MS will go away soon. rest as much as possible.

ky
the concert sounds interesting. any website?

SY
ya, have been searching thru internet... only know that letterland is teaching thru alphabet, and jolly is teaching thru language....
got to read more. hehe...

sunny, u can take a look at sistic website ... both letterland and jolly teaches phonics. Letterland use characters for association, hm, I don't know much abt jolly though. son #1's school is using jolly and they converted from letterland as they find the characters are too strong. Jolly uses actions (like zoophonics).

.ky.

CL, u said something abt normal tickets for normal airlines would be priced ard the same as jetstar to HK ... which airlines should i look at? jetstar is at $88 1-way in early 2008, plus other charges, it'll be $188. whr else can I find comparable prices? and btw, for child, there's no such thing as 50% anymore? we pay full fees for a 2-yr old?

.ky.

ky

i saw the ad for the babies prom before i left for japan and wanted to book the tix then forgot after we came back. Too bad all fully booked already.

Thanks so much mummy Rachel, Demny, CL, sunny, SY, SSF, Mong, tracy, Mashy and SH on the feeding..

Ok I will try out your advice and also "relax" more. Probably I'm just too uptight last weekend.
In order to get her eat, I even on the Tv and let her watch and eat or even let her walk around but din help. But I'm glad in another way, I never wanted her to watch TV or I need to run around with her during meal times.

I hope it's a phase too and I can feel she is fighting for her independance very strongly these days, she will ONLY want to be self fed. and ya lor.. when worst come to worst.. I feed her favorite Cheese.
Thanks all... I will jiayou! really hope this phase will pass soon.

Wenny and SH

Thanks...Gracies is fully recover and hope her scar will be disappear and might be take a long time.

Syaac
Shopping Queen....hoooo

Me too lahh..I bought 2 shoes and 3 bags :p but is not belong to my money hee..heee...all trip is under hb account

CL
I hope too has been work hard haaa....haaaa....paisehhhh

Rena
Elijah so clever..... CIA YOU

RE: Korea Trip - Bad Experience on their immigration

Somethng happened to me when I reached Korea Incheon Airport. I reached there at 06:00am ( Singapore 05:00am ) I was hold by the immigration when was my turn for the stamp on my passport. The officer was a guy and asked me " Why you alone" and I asked him I came here alone and for holiday...any problem????? I talked to him in nice way. And he asked me "go inside and point to the immigration room" I understand what he meant..he actually ask me go to look for another officer. So when I went in to the room, another office asked me the same question after look at my passport and visa stamp "Why you Alone" I told him again " I came here for holiday " and he said "you alone and can not stamp for you " ( In simple english ) I was really angry and explain to him that actually my hb was here for business trip but think he doesnt understand what I mean.
Until I show him my permanent resident IC and show him the word on my blue IC "SINGAPORE PERMANENT RESIDENT" than he on the spot only 2 second and stamp on my passport... Oh My God...I was really angry on that moment..he actually think that I came to Korea and work there as prostitute from the way he talked in his korea language and look at me from front to back ....

Hi denmy,

yup me going on friday. My hubby was late in buying the tickets so got to go on a weekday for a good seat. Actually he was not that late, went on the second day when it was released to members. And was told that good seats all sold out on day 1.

Hi CL,
The teacher is veri experience. Thanks for the recommendation. Din buy mnay activities book coz i own quite a number already. I bought some storybook. She does have a good range of books in fact better than those i have seen at world book fair.

HI sunny,
I use zoophonics, jolly, sunshine, montessori phonics mainly and a bit of a few other program.I did read up on letterland also. Each system is different and has its advantage. I use different system at different stage as I feel no perfect system. I am not a phonics expert and I go by which method works best for my kid at that stage. But certain basic priciple still follows. Lettersounds, beginning lettersounds, phonemic awarenss, blending (with certain specific sequence).
I have a fren who attended a phonics program told me that she was told that montessori and jolly phonics are one of the best.
KY is right abt problem with letterland. I few of my fren's kindy also switch to jolly.Zoo phonics also has the same problem. I find jolly is good in the sense that there is no picture association.Abit hard to explain why but I tink if u are looking at a good phonics program need to look beyond lettersounds. Letterland and zoophonics has veri strong system in the sense that it really tackles letter reversal as the image association really helps and a few other attributes.

Sunny and SY,
Tis is my third time at babies prom. Almost the same every year but older boy loves it. He started attending before he was 2 and my gal before she reached 1. Like wat KY mention, the onlu classical music concert where ppl can forgive noisy kids.

Hi cookie,
Something to share when it comes to feeding. Not sure whether other mommies shared tis. I have my own struggle with feeding the kids and I learnt tis from a peadiatric nutrionist. She say to include a favourite dish in every meal. Like for example, both my kids love butter. And if i am having a hard time feeding, I just have to whip out the butter and they will finish every single grain of rice. Good when I am rushing for time or when they are sick and not much appetitite. Seriously, it is just a phase. Just got to rough it out.So hang on there!

Jamon, Ky,
Hee, actually I was so late that I missed the Babies Prom. Then they opened another show at 2pm on Sat. Hahaha.. lucky me.

Montessori toys Road show

Right To Learn is having yet another Road Show at Caltex House (near Raffles Place Mrt)

Date: 26th - 30 November 2007
Time: 11.00am - 7,00 pm

ky
i think for kids above 2 year old, they pay the child fare. for kids below 2, they pay 10% of published fare.

why dun u look out for sq promo? abt 3 years back, i paid 198 for ticket to HK on SQ including taxes when i went in Jan.

JH has been very sticky to the maid. dunno whether it was becos i was away for whole day workshop on sat. sigh, he keeps calling for the maid even when i m ard. feel quite sad abt it cos i always try my best to rush home to spend time with him. when he wakes up, first person he call for is also her

there's something i m not very pleased abt my maid but i dunno how to tell her. last week when i wasn't ard, my mum told me my maid said things to my boy like i scolded her but she won't mind. why does she want to say such things to my boy? i feel that i can't really trust that she won't say bad things abt me in front of JH. i scolded her cos she din remove the fish bone when she cooked the fish for JH. lucky i was feeding him and i saw the fish bone and it was huge.

maybe i m being too sensitive but i feel it is impt to watch what we say in front of the kid and she shd never comment abt the parents in front of the kid. even if i scold her, it was for good reason so why complain abt it? but i wasn't at the scene so very hard for me to say anything to her.

SY

I'd be quite upset if my maid did that too... i'd get my mom to say something about it straight away.. cos u dunno what the kids pick up now. Maybe u can say that grandma told you this and you are not sure if grandma heard correctly, then reiterate to her that if she's not happy abt something.. speak to you about it.. no point telling ur son.. explain to her if she does that it will make things worse rather than better cos she'll get scolded even more. Explain to her that the point is not to scold her but the point is for the good of JH.. like if there is bones.. what happens if he chokes and stuff like that so tell her that when it comes to JH, you will be 110% fussy.. i do that for my helper.. i will tell her if she does something forgetful like this am, she mop the floor and its wet, i'll tell her please don't do that cos tabby fell, and then she'll feel bad about it and remember not to do it. I try to explain to her the reason why she can't do certain things.. maybe my maid is reasonable so if u tell her my reason, she will understand and try to remember.. of course she is not 100% perfect but she is responsible to tell me stuff and will love tabby well.

tabby
she knows tat she's in the wrong abt the bones. but sometimes her attitude really puts me off. that day i happen to see that the toy box in JH room was really covered under a layer of dust so i asked her abt it. she said she wiped in the morning. i told her i dun believe her cos how can she wipe in the morning and then it is so dirty at night? the table and floor also not as dirty though it is exposed. she insisted that she wiped and i told her then she din wipe properly. sometimes i feel that she thinks i m stupid or something or no common sense. anyway, the only reason i still use her is cos i can tell she cares for JH.

Sy

haha.. i know this problem.. my mom has this problem too.. but for me my policy is if i feel it is dirty.. i will tell her to clean again. No discussion.. I will just say. Oh ok, good, but clean again now please. Thank you.. and watch her clean it again lor.. no need to talk ... very soon my helper and my mom's helper learn that from me, if its not good enough the first time, will end up doing again. If not done, still will have to do if i catch them. I guess, sometimes they are only human, will try and take short cut. I learn that with helpers, sometimes must explain and sometimes, just tell them to do again.. otherwise they will always come up with some excuse. At the end of the day, i'm not interested with the reason why its not done, i just want it done.. do i sound fierce? :p

Cookie

I just read ur post on feeding kaelyn.. feeding tabby is the same.

I absolutely hate feeding her cos I will get frustrated if she don't eat so now i get my helper to do it.. as long as she eats one bowl, i'm pretty happy, sometimes i know its not a lot but I figure she is old enough to ask for more food, there are days when she eats more like 3 bowls and some days 1 bowl is a big struggle. I guess there are a lot of other factors like, if she didn't get enough sleep, diff. environment (if we're out). I will let her watch tv, color and play when eating but she must sit in her high chair. I don't let her wander around.. like that have to chase her very hard lei.. i think what you can do if kaelyn likes to self feed is put a small bowl and spoon in front of her with a bit of food for self feeding and in between feed her a few mouthfuls.

I do this for tabby when she seems to want to self feed. She absolutely LOVES! soup too.. so i will put a bit of soup/ noodle in front of her and she will guai guai eat a few bites in between.

Dun get too stressed, there are other ways to get them to eat. I mean, sometimes, we also feel lack of appetite too right? I always tell myself now that tabby is older, she may be experiencing feelings more like us so, i will observe her and see if overall she is eating enough rather than just based on one meal, i find that if u monitor this way, u will find that kaelyn will compensate for a smaller meal during another meal time or by asking for a snack/ milk.

SY - oh no...fish bone is no joke! i also won;t be happy if she complain abt me behind my back and to my kid somemore. i thot her contract is ending soon? maybe u might want to consider changing another helper before ur no 2 comes along.

linda - poor you...being mistaken for a prostitute. they shld have at least ask for more details before suspecting. tats why ppl say, if you are working, bring along your staffpass or namecard so that it helps to resolve any misunderstanding. like when i used to work in HP, once u show ur staffpass, they dun really ask alot of qns. checkin is also a breeze. but in a way, you shld be flatter la.. at least they think u are pretty inorder to be one. tsk..tsk..

linda

ai yoh, poor thing. or is they suspect u're terrorist? hehehe. ya ya, u pretty enough, that's why. Think if it's me, sure no questions asked. coz look so much like 'huang lian po' already.

I know this is depressing but then then I cried for the 5 rowers who died in Cambodia. As a mother, I really felt the loss for their families.

Mashy - U so funny! Maybe u'll be thot as leader of the pack - The Mamasan! Haha...just kidding...

Linda - I guess anyone wld feel insulted at that moment. I wld prob tell them "I am here to contribute to yr economy, U pathetic pc of s**t!" I heard they are very cautious of women who travel into the country on their own. A lot of PRC women do just that. Travel in and be a working member there. Don't bother! Korean men are uite MCP one.

SSF
actually i just renewed her contract. cos of having no 2, i dun wan to change the envt too much for JH. anyway see how lah.

sysac
yeah korean men are quite MCP!

sysac

me too. going to the wake either tonight or tom night. when i read the reports interviewing his parents, i felt so sad. it must have been so devastating. already attended 2 funerals from their family in the last 3 yrs. now worse, their son.