(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY,
i'm going to the kidsloft hol prog as well but it's the fairytale and folktale prog. will u be signing up for ur normal days playgroup? i was thinking if she's good, i will sign edgar up.

sandra,
tyler arrived on 6 nov. edgar's alright if there's someone to distract him. else he keeps going to didi, wanting to kiss him and touch him. we always have to keep a close watch on him. afraid he might hurt didi while sayang-ing him. he will also want me to carry him when i'm carrying didi. part of jealousy, i guess.

Sandra

Congrats on your #2. I am expecting my #2 too and EDD also end of february.

If I were you I will be very angry too, I don't even allow Clarisse to have sweets now, not to say when she sleeps. Bad for her teeth also leh. But maybe just let your maid know you do not like Sarah to have sweet yet and make sure she understand no next time.

You maid work in Singapore before? She so fast has friends in Singapore?

Linda

Can try to apply Vitamin E or aloe vera on the scar for Gracie. Clarisse's face got a scar (mosquito bite), I try to apply the cream everyday for her. Now is a routine for her, everyday will ask me "put cream" and point to her face.

tabb
thks so much.. where do u find time to still do so much.. I'm constantly v busy and tired looking after the 2 of them. can only surf wb when pumping now..
and i'm so slp deprived. i only slept 2hr plus last nite and cldnt nap today. am hving a splitting headache now. luckily, know all the songs u mentioned, except cant sing rudolph qt well.. (CL/Denmy - anyone can help me with the christmas songs?)

tabby, aileen,
Hmm hubby sweet??! To be frank, i'd rather he allow me to drive. Can u imagine how restricted my movements are if i can't drive? So i have already broken the no-driving rule just now. Drove to nearby supermarket to buy some stuff. If not can't survive! Heh heh.

sandra,
NO wonder you're fuming with your maid. I'd be angry too if my maid did what your maid did! How long has she been with you?

SY,
Yes same here...janelle also needs me to sleep beside her. I also dunno how i'll cope when no.2 comes, considering that i intend to bf. I'll let you know in due time! Hopefully my 2 girls won't drive me crazy by then...haha.

aileen
so how do u put edgar to bed and tyler to bed? i m concern how to put 2 kids to bed.

sandra
that's really bad of your maid! that's so dangerous. and eating sweets?? i wouldn't really let them eat now cos they may end up choking.

krissie
i think it's quite common for kid and maid to go over to mother/MIL place in the day. quite a lot of pple do that i think

aileen
i dun think i can send JH to the playgroup on normal weekdays. no transport arrangement. i think she's good. almost all the kids there are more advanced than JH in terms of speech and he's like one of the oldest there. my hb heard this boy say I put the mat on the floor and his jaw dropped cos the boy is younger than JH..haha (but the boy is not a regular there. he has an older bro so more advance in speech). but there were 2 girls born in May and i can see that their speech is pretty advanced.

SY
wrt to put kids to sleep... as Kyler is still very young, it's easy to set him to sleep early like around 8pm. Kae being only take 1 nap now will sleep around 9pm. So there is a 1hr gap, I will put Kyler to bed first while HB/MIL/helper look after kae. After done with Kyler, will be kae turn to change into PJ and drink her milk before she sleep.
When kyler is old enough to know how to protest, I dunno if I can manage tho :p

Sarah
I would strongly recommend you Go Go Go.. Hokkaido trip!!! and have a good trip.. yes indeed will behouse bound when #2 arrive.
I know how guilty u will be.. I dunno if I can go holiday withour Kae. Being mummy really make us so different

if you really have to leave sarah in a "goodhand" I think In law will be better choice? it's a good time grand parents can spend with Sarah while u and Hb can take a break!

So many posts...

Mashy,
Yah, very sad about the dragonboat tragedy. My HB used to be an active dragonboat rower during JC and Uni. He also feels quite bad about it even though he doesn't know those affected personally. My HB says that it's true that lifevests impede the paddling motion and slow them down. Even though lifevests are compulsory in Singapore, many rowers will go around it by wearing it improperly. My HB mentions that there are several times that he himself and his teammates will just wear the vest on one side. It's a really a tragedy, dunno whether it's a 'preventable' one on hindsight?

SY / durianlover,
You are not alone! My Isaac also need to sleep with me and HB. But I haven't really been trying hard to train him to sleep in his own room.

SY,
Isaac is older than JH and his speech is slow too compared to some of the babies here. He can't speak in proper sentences yet, but can string 3 words together. I'm not that worried about it actually... I do believe that babies will develop at their own pace.

Re. development
I see that some of you here are really putting in the effort to teach your babies. Apart from reading books, viewing some interactive websites and playing simple counting games, I haven't been teaching Isaac anything else. At lest, nothign structured. I know next to nothing about Montesorri and letterland. I'm wondering whether he's missing out or whether he's lagging behind? Do you all think putting him into playgroup now would be good? Also, it is too early to start music lessons?

Re. #2
Heehee, I think I'm one of the minority here who haven't had #2 and not expecting #2. Actually, I'm way behind my timeline liao. My very initial plan was to try conceiving in June this year and now it's already Dec. And I just got a job offer which I'm likely to take up. Seems like I have to push back to having #2 till mid next year at the earliest. I'm actually quite envious, I wish I'm expecting too!

Just to share:
http://www.hpb.gov.sg/hpb/default.asp?pg_id=3306

as suddenly as it came, my boy's phobia for meds suddenly disappeared! Today he guai guai took the meds from my spoon.
So happy don't need to struggle anymore.

mashy,
Haha sounds great! How come he suddenly ok with taking medicine? Is it a new spoon that you used?

queen,
Actually, like you, i also hardly have any structured teaching for my girl. Was initially worried whether she's lagging behind but my hb told me 1 week back that he was listening to radio station 93.8 and they were saying that nowadays toddlers have too little free play. Free play meaning that no structured programme...just play and explore by themselves stuff like how an ant moves, how things function, etc. Coz nowadays kids tend to be loaded with structured pre-school programmes. But actually at that age what's needed is lots of free play for them to discover how things work around them! After i heard that, i felt very much more assured that it's alright not to send my girl to classes and stuff.

As for having #2 at a later stage, the good thing is that Isaac would be older and more mature and probably be better at handling the arrival of a new sibling. So look at it on the positive side!

Oppss just realise I made a mistake in my post..hahaha.. I dun put my kids to sleep... put them to bed.

Durainlover
I'm so happy and relief to read what u wrote
I wasnt really teaching alot with kae too.
Although she "idle" alot at home, she still learn a lot tho, these days she knows how to put diaper on her "bb" ernie and she will place ernie on bed and ask my helper to make milk for her bb...hahaha..so funny

Mashy
hahah good for you...
How I wish kae will suddenly find eating is a joy..hahaha..

Aileen
Read you gng for the holiday program...
I happen to see the schedule and it's quite lax and good time for me to take leave
Now I'm thinking if I should sign up for kae so I can spend time with her as well.
Is the class full yet?
U bringing edgar there? or your FIL?

queen/cookie/durianlover
I'm quite relieved in some ways that I'm not the only one who is not doing much structured activities with D. He definitely has lots of free play and exploring the world around him as well as learning from whatever limited time we expose him to tv nowadays. He never cease to amaze us how quick he is to learn whatever short moment of ball-related sports shown on tv. Other than playing soccer and basketball in his own version well, he's taken to invent his own snooker/pool with one 1.25L empty bottle and his ball and aims the ball to hit his blocks or he will imitate the baseball player getting ready to bat.

Now when I put him to bed at night especially a long day of not seeing him as my classes had resumed for quite some time, even after lights off, I can see him doing the actions for 'Baby Signing Time' which I have to start singing for him and he can do a whole lot more things like signing and saying the word for the signs that's shown on the dvd! What surprised me was that he would do the sign and say "sleep" and then proceed to lie down and hug his toy bolster. hahaha. And he'll sit up again and sign "pyjamas" and look very happy doing it and then show off more to me. I have to repeatedly ask him "Why aren't you sleeping after you say sleep?" he'll just give a chuckle and proceed to roll around in bed and expects me to stroke/massage him. *faintz*

Queen
Hehehe, me also not expecting any #2 yet, keep telling pple next year and they will reply me next year is just 2 months away. hahaha. hb and myself just hope to TTC mid next year and then give birth in 2009. By then D would be 3 yrs, and will be more sensible an acceptible to have a younger sibling, not to mention, would be attending nursery liaoz.

Mamachan
Our tots can be soooo cute hor..hahaha..
Motherhood is an amazing journey

kae learn alot from the baby signing times too..

Durainlover
btw I drove all the way during my 1st pregnancy.
for 2nd pregnancy I still drive but not as often cos more tired but in my 3rd trimester I still drive when I go out alone but more careful tho... i.e. drive slowly as compare to my usualy speed hee

Queen
hee.. not to worry... cos I properly should worry more cos kae is very slow in her speech too. Still cannot string words!

mashy
how come he suddenly accepts the med?
btw, did you receive my pm? i heard that pm normally take a while to reach the email inbox.

queen
i think for music lessons, it depends on what you want to achieve. IMO, if you wanna let Isaac have more exposure to music, anytime is a good time. but, if you are thinking of letting him to learn playing instrument, e.g. piano, i think age 3 and older would be better.

hi mummies, so happy...hb got a new job! better incentive, can work from home and less travel! Praise GOD! the only travel he has to go is to Ireland for abt 3wks to undergo training. and most likely, i will be joining him for abt 2 weeks. wat a nice 'gift' for Christmas! he will now have more times to bond with the kids

rena - over my place here in tamp mart, they do sell 3 packets of angelwipes for $5.50. I also tried calling but no one answers. if you are buying in bulk, pls let me know. thks!

Congrats SSF,
This sure is a piece of good news. Looking at my hb's stress situation, I hope a new job will drop from the sky for him man.

Mashy,
I am doing a distribution at cityhall MRT today, your hb wants to pick up the jshopper stuff from me ?

Sandra
Forgot to congratulate you. Ha ha I am one heartless mummy who will go travel without the kids. Done it once with hb and friends 2 weeks before Charmaine turns 1. Went for a taiwan trip when Aden turns 9 months. You need to recharge, feel good to spend more time with them. So go enjoy yourself. Hokkaido, nice place leh. Relax well before the next baby comes along.

mashy
one of my colleague is from the same church as you. she knows u and your hb.

queen
nowadays i dun teach JH much too cos i m feeling tired most of the time. i do a lot of reading and conversation with him cos doing those means i can sit down and no need to run abt. we actually end up talking a lot more which i think is good for speech development cos he always picks up words. he is also very funny. when we pray, he always repeats the last word of the sentence.

i think music lessons depends on how ready is isaac. but the exposure would be good i feel.

SSF
congrats!! i also hope my hb will change job but he not doing anything abt it so far... good that he can travel less.

cookie
the kidsloft hol prog are quite full. better call up if u really interested. the one i m attending is full already.

mashy
one of my colleague is from the same church as you. she knows u and your hb.

queen
nowadays i dun teach JH much too cos i m feeling tired most of the time. i do a lot of reading and conversation with him cos doing those means i can sit down and no need to run abt. we actually end up talking a lot more which i think is good for speech development cos he always picks up words. he is also very funny. when we pray, he always repeats the last word of the sentence.

i think music lessons depends on how ready is isaac. but the exposure would be good i feel.

SSF
congrats!! i also hope my hb will change job but he not doing anything abt it so far... good that he can travel less.

cookie
the kidsloft hol prog are quite full. better call up if u really interested. the one i m attending is full already.

SFS,

That's great news for you.. praise God for his goodness.

I have bought from JL Jurong point the last 7 pacs of 6 small packs. at least able to last me for a while. maybe i will ask wenyl to help me get the big packs coz most places are out of stock. I want to get 12 packs.
at least can last me till my #2 pop haha i am so kiasu..

SY

Hahaa, I think i know who you're referring to. We bumped into her a couple of times when I was working at Hill Street coz so near. Her hb's aunt is my gynae. haha, small world right?

sunny
thanks, received it already.

Re: Meds
actually, i put the meds in his toy spoon yesterday afternoon and fed him with a raisin dumped in. Dunno why he's ok with it. Then yesterday night, i switched it to his normal spoon and he still accepted it.

CL
ai yah, my hb forgot to take the jacket to office.

re angle wipes
seems like it is always out of stock after a while. think cos must wait for their container to come or something like that

mamachan and queen

i'm also not expecting no 2. Hehehe. One of the minorities here too. Doubt i can start till next yr.

durianlover

i also didn't start my boy on anything structured yet. Just send him for gym class once a week to let him run and enjoy himself. He's quite slow compared to his peers but i'm hoping that he'll turn out fine like my cousin. My sousin was very slow when he was young, now he has done very well in his studies and CCA.

Yesterday I read an article in 'mind your body' made me so worried. The lady in the article said her son was diagnosed as mildly autistic when her son didn't talk at 2yrs old. My boy also doesn't talk leh. So scared he's autistic too.

mashy
don't worry too much. that time my gal wasn't talking when she's abt 1 yo, not even babbling... my mil kept commenting that my gal was sooo quiet compared to the bb she saw so far. making me so worried that she's autistic.
but now, she starts talking and parroting our words and sentences.
give him more time. if you are really worried, probably can let PD to assess him, too?

mashy
i saw that article too
i ever ask my PD abt speech. there's 2 parts to it. comprehension and the actual talking. if his comprehension is ok, then no need to worry too much. if not like what sunny says, ask PD for assessment

Sandra - congrats on #2 and i also tink u shld go for a good break wf ur HB before u get stuck wf ur babies
have fun!!!

Re: Structured program
hee... the only structured program tat i have wf celeste is the bedtime reading and singing... most times during weekends, its play pretend wf her. she is gettin to appreciate her dollhouse and kitchen better.. so tat makes me less tired from running around the house, just gota sit beside her and play along

SSF - congrats wor, so nice tat ur HB can work fr home.. ur sons will surely be so happie!!

Mashy,
It is ok. No hurry. Let me know if he wants to meet today then I will bring it out. Praying hard it does not rain today.

I started to get worried too because my family GP commented on Aden too. So I have been upset but then again when I look at him at times I realli dun think so.

Everyone told me if the child is autistic , the mummy will have that instinct and cannot fail one. So I dun have it and I am hoping it is true and not that I am not observant.

As per the GP, he says normal PD cannot access one need a child psychatrist. Though I do not feel Aden is one, now I have to engage one to access him to ensure he is ok

Sandra - congrats on #2 and i also tink u shld go for a good break wf ur HB before u get stuck wf ur babies
have fun!!!

Re: Structured program
hee... the only structured program tat i have wf celeste is the bedtime reading and singing... most times during weekends, its play pretend wf her. she is gettin to appreciate her dollhouse and kitchen better.. so tat makes me less tired from running around the house, just gota sit beside her and play along

SSF - congrats wor, so nice tat ur HB can work fr home.. ur sons will surely be so happie!!

Mashy,
It is ok. No hurry. Let me know if he wants to meet today then I will bring it out. Praying hard it does not rain today.

I started to get worried too because my family GP commented on Aden too. So I have been upset but then again when I look at him at times I realli dun think so.

Everyone told me if the child is autistic , the mummy will have that instinct and cannot fail one. So I dun have it and I am hoping it is true and not that I am not observant.

As per the GP, he says normal PD cannot access one need a child psychatrist. Though I do not feel Aden is one, now I have to engage one to access him to ensure he is ok

CL

where to get a child psychiatrist? how come your GP commented on Aden leh? What is it abt him that your GP would comment on him?

In terms of comprehension, C is quite ok. He can understand us and can take instructions. Even at times when we're talking abt him, he knows and will give an embarrassed laugh. But sometimes it makes me worried coz he tends to ignore me when i call him. I had to test him a few times without gestures to make sure he understood what i said and not my gestures.

Wondering should i get him a speech therapist but the report said the queue was 1 yr long! Makes me wanna become a speech therapist myself!

Queen ... music as well as any exposure is definitely good for kids. However learning an instrument would be more appropriate when a kid is 4 yrs old, when he is able to take instructions better and able to "survive" on his own. I did let son#1 attend Rythm in Me at UE square ard this age; that's coz I was a first-time mum and thot I needed to get out with him for bonding time and this is the shortest session which hubby "allowed".

On autism, Mashy, speech delay and autism are different. Autism will include other "abnormality" (if I may say so) and the more severe ones include avoiding eye-contact. Autism is a spectrum. If you are worried abt the speech part, u can approach a speech therapist for assessment. I was worried abt #1 (at this age) and I went to poly to get a reference letter to KKH (btw, KKH has a CDU (Child Development Unit) and the queue there is 9 months) ... I didn't go to CDU and we got to see the PD who then referred us to a ENT specialist and a speech therapist. Son#1's ear was checked n lotsa earwax was found ... partly the reason why a child can't speak may be bcos he can't hear. We only saw the speech therapist 2 times as by then, we notice he's speaking more ... now he's so chatty that we thot we had worried too much then (but all parents do worry right?)

btw, I've seen severely autistic child ... he's just different (at a first look u'll know) to some mild cases ... in fact, I recently talked to a mother and she said both her kids are and if she didn't say, I wouldn't know, but I could see that the younger boy (which is ard 5) was behaving slightly different. For autistic, if treatment is seek early, it's better. My nephew is autistic and my SIL seek treatment since he was young; I see an improvement and he's going to a normal school next yr. My brother did comment that he think himself is mildly autistic (and ya, come to think of it, I think so coz sometimes he's a little "weird")....

.ky.

ky

in that case, then maybe my boy is not autistic but rather have speech delay. should i also send him to see ent? he had a hearing test when he was born and was fine then.

Queen/Mamchan/Mashy - We are in the same boat. No sight of #2. Think I'll be the last one here to have #2. By then, maybe more mummies would have #3 or #4. Haha...

SSF-Congrats! Ireland is beautiful. Lots of green & old castles! Enjoy!

sandra - Oh dear...that was really irresponsible of your maid.

Rena,
I also can't get Steven. His hp is either off or no answer. I dunno who else to order from. I m down to my last packet. My hb already bought tollyjoy wipes from NTUC. My bbs bum can't wait liao. heehee!

Mashy,
He says aden's eye contact fickles, high pitch in voice and hyper lor. I got recommendation liao and it is not cheap lor. 1.5 hours, they come and observe for $180. And I am scheduled till after Xmas. SIgh. Autisum as per the dr has got different kind. He says his nephew is one and he keep telling his sis but they dun believe and he realli turns out to be one though he can still call him and like normal kids. Aiyo he say like that , how can i not be worried. That night I cannot sleep liao.

Aden also can understand instructions and will be upset if we scolded him too. I also dun understand but since he said that I cannot let go without accessing him.

mashy, perhaps you should ... it's really up to you. My son was falling sick a fair bit when he was younger esp phlegm and as there's a joining from the nose to the ear, sometimes, fluid gets trapped in a space at the ear area ... n I notice his right ear has a big space (that's the ear has accumulated a lot of ear wax). If you need to have affordable treatment (looking at it long term), go via the poly route. It's not a long wait as long as u don't choose CDU (can choose either KKH or NUH). We were offered a date 2 days later and we opted to see the PD a week later. Seeing PD is the first step b4 they'll let u see ENT (on another date) if you go by this route.

oh, btw, my son#2 also ignores me when I call him ... but I know he knows, he's just a strong-willed boy coz he knows he'll be told to stop doing what's he's not supposed to do if he acks ...

.ky.

CL, mashy
i think my fren's daughter is seeing a speech therapist cos she's born deaf. if u wan, i can get the contact from here.

CL
Aden austistic? hard to imagine. u mean the GP actually told u to bring for assessment?

CL

what does it mean eye contact fickles? My boy also hyper leh... Wah, $180 really not cheap. Got so many different types of autism? Last time also no such thing.

Think i'll go and ask my PD when i see him. He's a family friend so think he should be able to give an honest recommendation.

its been a while
so much reading to catch up!

Mashy,

Renee also doesnt speak much and i am also thinking of sending her for an assessment. before we left for perth, was discussing with my sis and got some referrals from her. i felt that renee seems to have difficulty with her speech..whenever we ask her to say something, it will come out completely wrong
but she says some basic words though..i guess i'm abit ks so rather send her for an assessment.

Mummies with Maids

Just wanna share a piece of info that i just found out myself yesterday. I'm not too sure how many of you are aware that Hepatitis screening is not part of their medical check when they come into singapore to work.

Hence i find it a bit worrying as these maids deal with our babies..Again, i stress that i'm the more paranoid type..so i've sent the maids for screening and will have them take the vaccination.. to be safe.

i mentioned it to denmy last night and she told me that she also intend to send her maid for thypoid jab as the maid deals with food too..

tat seems like many jabs huh...but just wanna share the piece of info..i'm not very well read on hepatitis but i always think prevention always the best

SFS,

Congrats! it's always good when the family can spend alot more time together..so envious.

My hb came back for a longer trip this time round..and renee has been so manja..sticking to him like glue and also refuses for hb to carry leroy
each time hb tries to carry leroy, she will cry and cry like she was so wronged!!

Mamachan,

wanted to post this and kept forgetting...i still remember the photo u posted on daren ..that silky white outfit..hehe..looks so cute!! hehe..

CL

all this talk abt autism is getting me worried. Just did a check on autism again and realised that my boy seemed have a lot of the symptoms mentioned like:

1) dislike cuddling
2) poor lang development
3) doesn't play toys normally
4) no fear of danger, insensitivity to pain sometimes (can knock himself and never even cry)
5) Unresponsiveness to normal teaching methods and verbal clues (may appear to be deaf despite normal hearing - can call him several times but he ignores me)
6) Hyperactivity

But then when i see the way he tries to 'court' a gal, doesn't look autistic but cunning leh...