(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

krissie,
how long will they continue to wake up at night when teething? tink my gal is going thru dat and i buay tahan liao...going to run to my mum's place this weekend to seek help.

cindy - i didn't mention that i am changing PD as i am very comfortable with Lilian lei... maybe my typo error is it?

Nw still considering whether to bring my boi for Rotavirus...

wenyl, i alreadi got the set from the previous BP, but i wan to get the books... added my order in it:-

1. Wenyl x1 (Blue)
2. Tabbiesus x1 (blue)
3. Tracy x 1(Pink)
4. Denmy x 1 (Blue)
5. Cookie x 1 (pink)
6. Lingbel X 1 (pink)
7. Cindy x 1 (blue)
8. Sandra x 1 (pink)

Also want the following books:
If I were -Denmyx1, Sandrax1, Pochaccox1
A-Z adventure - Denmyx1, Sandrax1, Tracyx1, Pochaccox1
Guess hw much i love you - Denmyx1, Sandrax1
Baby animals - Sandrax1, Tracyx1, Pochaccox1
Animal Dance -Denmyx1

Lingling & Florence,
Welcome welcome!

Re: starting on rice cereals
i've also got the same questions as ling ling!

Btw, my gal refuses to drink water! Oh no...if that's the case i think i've gotta delay starting her on rice cereals till she gets used to water. When start on semi-solids it's a MUST to drink water am i right? Not too sure about it. But the past 3 days i kept trying to give Janelle some water and she refuses...think too long never give her water liao.

Hi durianlover
Christabel refuse water too..what I did is
1) B4 every feed, I let her drink slip of water (cause she is hungry tht time, she drink anything). Note:after a few slip she may scream and cry but immediately stop when milk is given
2) After each bath, I let her drink slip of water...cause most of the time Christabel is thristy. She likes to take her bath and she talk and laugh a lot during bath time...I think these made her thristy. This are some of the routine to make her drink water.

Hope all these helps

kao_welcome.gif
lingling and flo...

Re: Brown rice
my method is almost the same as Joanna. I am using Eu Yang Sen brown rice so it works in teaspoon... 2 tsp can make alot of cereal wf 120ml of milk.. i will add in abit to cook over small fire and add in subsequently to a smooth and yet not too thick consistency...

So hard to keep up with the postings, come so fast.

Re. solids
I'm starting on Heinz rice cereal this Sat.
intend to use EBM too.

1. May I know how much to give for the first feed? Instructions say 1 teaspoon cereal + 1 teaspoon EBM right?

2. Do we have to give milk after that? So we'll have to increase cereal amount daily until can replace the milk feed?

3. How much cereal to give so that don't have to give milk anymore until the next feeding time?

Hi Joanna
Thanks for the advise, I will try out this weekend with warm water first...

Hi Mashy Brainz
I too miss the time alone with hubby, sometimes after putting my gal to my mum place, my hubby will send me to work just to have a little time together and talk talk.....

BTW ask around all mummies will U bring ur bb to wedding dinner now? My hubby niece is getting married this Sun and my MIL really hope I can bring my gal there. But I have concern :

1) She is still not able to sit up and are not able to sit on the high chair for bb yet.
2) I can only let her lie on the maxi cosi stroller, which is very warm on her back when she lie on it for too long. (This stroller that I bought is the biggest mistake, its very bulky there is no other adjustable position, I have bought another stroller which is lighter but can only let her use when she is 6 months and above)
3) She normally sleep around 8plus to 9, I am afraid the dinner will distrupt her normal sleeping routine.

Can help to advise.

Welcome Ling!

I tink its not a problem bringing baby to wedding dinners. its like bringing them out for kopi wif frens. i'm bringing her for wedding din in 2wks time too.

dun wori, got many relatives around, can pass the bb round. wat we do when we bring her out for din wif frens is, once she gets cranky, daddy will carry her out to rock her to sleep. otherwise he'll carry her in his lap while he eats.

its rather troublesome, but dats how it is i guess.. wedding dinners good time to 'show-off' ur baby..
can dress baby up some more.

queen,
i ve the same questions as you on EBM + cereal too. i'm planning to start soon as well, cos she's not finishing her milk already. she turns 5mths this sunday.

mongs/sunny,

so good that your company has nursing rooms. I suggested to my HR to have one but the reply is that there's no demand for it - I am the only bfing mother in my organisation. so sad.

mamachan,

I have considered putting my gal in infantcare or with nanny before. BUT after hearing a lot of stories, I dare not. especially when my gal's quite difficult.

If you intend to put bb in infantcare, why not just drop by one day unannounced to your intended infantcare centre to do a "spot check"? That way, you can have a feel of how they do things.

Hi Tracy
I try to bring my gal out for dinner B4 (it not wedding dinner but normal kopi section with friends) and she become extremely cracky and refuse to lie on the stroller, both me and my hubby have to take turn carry her..esp during her zzz..time. But I guess U are right old folk are really very happy and are really keen to 'show off' their new and latest grand daughter to all their relatives..

Ling - defnitely not a prob bringing babies to wedding dinners... i had brought Celeste to one when she was 2.5mths and she b going for anothe rone this sun. jus rem to dress your baby warm enuf for the air con environment. Since its aricon, i dun think u have to worry bout ur bb feeling warm in the stroller... i had my fren arrange my table at a corner so its easier for us to take bb walk ard should she fuss...but she was absolutely a good bb at the dinner! aldy warned her beforehand that if she misbehave, no more dinners for her!

and like wat Tracy said, its good time to 'show off' our babies! i liked this part too. so i will dress my princess in white and stocking wf white silk shoes... ooohhh.... so sweet...

cindy,

thanks but i really can't help worrying cos she drinks so little. That's also why i don't dare to ignore her when she cries at night. i still give her night feeds cos i am worried that she's hungry especially when she drinks so little in the day. according to the sleep sense book, it's no good.

hi florence,

my gal's like that as well. Drinks little in the day. Kaypo queen - if there are distractions then lose interest in milk. Can try to feed her in a quiet environment where there's no distractions. It works sometimes for me.

1. Wenyl x1 (Blue)
2. Tabbiesus x1 (blue)
3. Tracy x 1(Pink)
4. Denmy x 1 (Blue)
5. Cookie x 1 (pink)
6. Lingbel X 1 (pink)
7. Cindy x 1 (blue)
8. Sandra x 1 (pink)

If I were -Denmyx1, Sandrax1, Pochaccox1, tabbiesusx1

A-Z adventure - Denmyx1, Sandrax1, Tracyx1, Pochaccox1, tabbiesusx1
Guess hw much i love you - Denmyx1, Sandrax1, tabbiesusx1
Animal Dance -Denmyx1
Pooh loves u - tabbiesusx1

If you can get:
Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You? - tabbiesusx1
Where the Wild Things Are - tabbiesus x1

Sunny
I plan to join the Friends of ZOO when kaelyn is bigger.. and bring her to Zoo often to know animals. My Hb say now Kaelyn wun appreciate one.

Clare
u are SO RIGHT!!... same experience too.. I went nite safari all I remem is seeing different species of DEER.. hahaha and indeed can't tell a difference.
But I learn something new.. Deer actually make sound like cat...meowww....strange hor.

RE:leapfrog
After much "pestering" my hb is moved on getting it..heehee.. will go Toys Rus to check out.

I read from another thread someone mentioned.. now Toys Rus is selling the Book at BUY 2 GET 1 FREE...so in case mummy go can share if it's true? then maybe it will be cheaper to get from Toysrus..if the offer stand.

I will try to go on Sun.. if bb is well from her 2nd jab.

WELCOME Ling...

god's child,
I've been wanting to get her those stockings too. does kiddy palace or seiyu sell it? i'm going junction 8 today lah..

Tracy - im not so sure if kiddy palace have it. i got mine from Isetan at the kid' department. the smallest size fits 0-9mths... but it does get distorted very easily cos babies will kick their stroller bars and end up brushing the stockings here and there... i even got a pair of little white ballet shoes from Embrio to match.they will certainly look very princess in it!

Ling ling,

To mix ebm with cereal, just warm the ebm and mix with the cereal to the consistency that you want then feed.

god's child,
thanks! will check out kiddy palace n seiyu..i know kidzloft ve full length tights @ $3.30 with or without lace for 0-48mths.

Ling ling,

I brought my gal to my sister's wedding dinner when she's 2 mths. No choice cos it's my sister's wedding dinner and my mil just had a major op so can't take care of my gal. it's literally a nightmare for us cos there's no nursing room/diaper changing station at the hotel. the environment is noisy. we had to keep going out of the ballroom to pacify my gal cos she kept crying. Now we also bring her out for dinner with my family which can last till 10pm sometimes. She's quite okay - just make sure that she naps more in the afternoon.

Re:leapfrog
May I know where do you mummeis saw the title..Baby Animal?
I can't find it on the website ley...
only saw Animal world... they are not the same rite?

joanna/queen/durianlover/ling ling
I'm currently feeding Daren with Heinz rice cereal. so:

1)yup, give one teaspoon n 1 or more teaspoon of EBM so that the texture is runny i.e slightly thicker than EBM. the idea here is to let them sample eating from a spoon.

2)Usually is feed baby BM direct or EBM (not fully though) 1st before giving the rice cereal. So daily increase the amouunt slowly to up to about 5 teaspoons by the 5th day. And subsequent weeks.

3)I have yet to reach the point where I feed him enough so thst I don't have to give milk till the next feeding. haha. must check with the other mummies. I think should be around 2-4 tablespoons? Depending on baby?

oh yah, the EBM I used warm... haha, at times express direct into bowl n mix before feeding.

tracy, mashy
re teething
erh, i also dun know leh. I only heard from my colleague that her bb woke up and cries during teething. Think it's uncomfortable, painful for them? Let me ask her if I see her.

durianlover
we feed water when he wakes up. He's usually thirsty.

re leapfrog books
do they make sounds when u press on a pic/button? If so, me also wanna get the books. I just bot one (not leapfrog brand) and it's $30.

re:teething
oh dear, my fren wif 2 kids juz told me it takes about 2mths for the teeth to fully grow out! means sleepless nights for 2 months??? horrifying thought!

Welcome new mummies (Ling Ling & Florence)!

Wenyl - Cephas has been drinking 210ml since he turned 5 mths old. He drinks abt 4-5 times a day. This is on top of the HT brown rice that he takes for lunch. The can of milk says 210ml (7 scoops) for 5/6 mths babies. Used the small bottle at the pool cos I made 125ml to keep him warm. He finished it & I topped up another 90ml when he came out from the pool.

Denmy - I shd think we bought the same cot. Different cots had different bedding designs. He already has a big tummy, Makes no difference whether he drinks in the water or not...hahaha...

Tracy - Can get the float at Kiddy Palace. I bought it at a shop in Holland V though. It's $11.90.

Joanna - Yep, he's a big boy liao! 6 mths old already
I just started Cephas on the HT organic brown rice. 2tbsp with 100ml of water, then abt 150ml of milk for lunch. Previously he was taking the brown rice I bot fr Chong Hoe Medical Hall. It was 1tbsp with 100ml of water. Thicker than the HT ones.

Krissie -So u brought your baby for swim already? Enjoyed it. 1st pic was his 1st swim. 2nd pic was during his 2nd swim. Planning to bring him to swim every Sat. I am a member of the Civil Service Club at Bukit Batok so it's nearby & convenient to bring him every week

sysac
i think your float is nice. will go and get one.

my boy doesn't seem to increase his milk intake as he grows older. still at 150ml per feed. how do i know whether he is ready to drink more? in fact, he's drinking lesser now.

my boy still having diarrhea. sob sob. he lost so much weight in 2 days. looks a bit skinny now.

Ling

I brought my boy to a wedding before. Don't worry, with so many relatives, your bb will not even get to warm the stroller. My bb was passed from 1 hand to the other. And my ILs couldn't bear to put him down either. As for diaper changing, you might like to check with the hotel. The one I went to had a diaper changing station.

whoo ha...all mummies so welcoming hee..

My gal is 5 months 3 weeks and drinking only 120ml every 3hr. even though I think I am not expressing enough for her.

She is on 6 feed daily. 2 latch on and 4 bottle feed

6am : latch on
8-9am : 120ml EBM
11-12 : 120ml EBM
3pm : 120ml EBM
6pm : 120ml EBM (try to latch on but reach home ard 7plus everyday)
9pm : latch on

she need 4 feed per day (ard 480ml) but I can only express 400ml daily..lucily I have some frozen BM tht I store previously but supply getting lower so I need to start Christabel on solid soon. Any mummies knows how I can increase my supply meanwhile. I use to pump 2 times per day but inorder to increase supply now pumping 3 times per day, yet its still not incresing the supply. I drink plenty of water and drink 1 full cup of warm water B4 pump, also already take plenty of fish and drinking nursing tea. Any other ways?
Sorry hor, think I a bit loh soh lor..

god's child
wow without seeing read also can imagine how sweet with all the whites.

Christabel she now like to suck her toe too....sometimes when we go out shopping, I let her wear sock and she still continue suck, I have to keep changing her socks, can't imagine her with shoe..ha ha

exactly...I also think my gal drink very little...on the first month, she is 70% latch on and 30% bottle- already drinking 120ml (nite feding by confinement lady) 2nd mth 100% latch her on and on the 3rd month, she refuse to bottlefeed. Scream and cry until our heart pain whenever we bottlefeed her and she drink very very little, 60ml-80ml(only to sustain her hunger) every 2 - 3 hrs. She can even go on hungry strike for as soon as 6 - 7 hrs. Its only the recent 1 month or so that she start to accept bottle and take full 120ml per feed..we are slowly incresing the intake to 150ml.
At first I gets very worry that she drink so little but when I bring her to checkup, the PD says she is fine so long as she grow min 0.5Kg per months, its OK. On the 5mths jab, she is 7.1Kg which PD says its fine..so I kinda a bit relief.

lingbel: I think the amount of milk that u gal drink is quite ok, my elder gal used to drink that much oso...my younger gal feeds more...

I usually express 3-4 times per day, 2 times in the office and 1-2 times at home...U may want to add a pumping session after the night latch..it may not be much initally but it will signal the brain to produce more..another extreme is to include a session in early morning before u gal latching...U need to rest more too...

Are u using a dual pump?

Lingling,
I have exactly the same schedule as you and my girl drinks the same amount as well. however, I latch her on one more time than you at around 3am. she was 6.15kg 1 month ago. this sat will be going to PD for her 5mths jab, hopefully can hit 7kg. I think you girl is of good weight. Same thing, I need to express enough for her 4 bottles so total is 480ml but I don't have enough, sometimes short of 60ml, sometimes short of 120ml. u are lucky, still have frozen EBM, I feed her FM or latch on after she drinks whatever is left for her at 6pm. my girl is christmas baby so about 5mths and 2weeks now.

cookie
the buy 2 get 1 free one doesn't apply the little touch version (6 - 36 mths.)

re: leapfrog
1. Wenyl x1 (Blue)
2. Tabbiesus x1 (blue)
3. Tracy x 1(Pink)
4. Denmy x 1 (Blue)
5. Cookie x 1 (pink)
6. Lingbel X 1 (pink)
7. Cindy x 1 (blue)
8. Sandra x 1 (pink)

Animal Dance -Denmyx1

If you can get:
Stella Songbird - Sunny x1
Let's Get Busy, Baby - sunny x1
The Little Engine That Could? - sunny x1

Hi MH,
OKie, I will try out. Thanks for the advise
yes..use to be Medela single pump and later heart pain pain invest heavily on PIS.
My friend;s bb boy also drink 180ml and that really worry me alot cause I am not sure if my gal is having enough so I kinda force my gal to finish 150ml..which make her scream and cry..(perhaps she is too full) and also stress myself too. When I ask ard, I found many babies drink differently and start to take it easy on her feeding now..so long as she is still actively playing...

tracy
ya, can get the float from KP. Now 20% off.

sysac
haha.. haven brought him swimming yet. Hb busy with work and classes.

lingling
try milo before pump. better than warm water. must be HOT hor.

Wendyl
Can I indicate my interest below first. Will confirm with you on the exact qty. Re books, I'll go and see the sample 1st before telling u the titles. BTW, my gf says that we can interchange the books into the leappad. Is it?

re: leapfrog
1. Wenyl x1 (Blue)
2. Tabbiesus x1 (blue)
3. Tracy x 1(Pink)
4. Denmy x 1 (Blue)
5. Cookie x 1 (pink)
6. Lingbel X 1 (pink)
7. Cindy x 1 (blue)
8. Sandra x 1 (pink)
9. Krissie x ? (blue) - will confirm if it's 1 or 2.

Animal Dance -Denmyx1

If you can get:
Stella Songbird - Sunny x1
Let's Get Busy, Baby - sunny x1
The Little Engine That Could? - sunny x1

Ling Ling: My younger gal is drinking abt 140 ml per feed and she is 7.3kg (4m 3wk), much bigger than her elder sis at this age...as long as baby is active, no need to force baby to drink...

to achieve let down, u must not be too stressed up too, I usually distract myself from thinking abt it by reading newspaper/magazine when I pump...

although not working on weekend also must maintain morning pump (if u are pumping in the morning) so that ss dun drop...

Sysac

which shop in HV? i want to buy too!

Ling ling

I'm like you... same prob... my girl oso drinking the same amount but recently managed to increase to 150ml. Maybe u can try drinking milo b4 pumping instead of warm water... i find milo quite effective in helping with supply..

Hi Krissie
milo helps..okie okie..sure I can take 1 cup of milo from pantry on the way to nursery room

Hi mongs
U have exactly the same schedule as mine..ha ha
my gal is also Christmas bb (23rd Dec)..izzit all christmas bb graduate from the same school that learn the same schedule....ha ha..

now my frozen BM left very very little supply..1 - 2 packet left. my mum very worried, she keep asking how huh supply so low, when U not at home in the day..bb got enough or not huh....like to ask if I need to start give her some formula, should I give step 1 or step 2..since she is so close to 6 months now. Cause I heard bb tummy very senstive....need time to find a suitable formula for her..

lingling,
My gal is a 'wedding baby'! Already brought her to at least 4 wedding dinners since she was born! Now's the stage where many of my frenz getting married...sooooo many dinners to attend! Most of the time she sleeps thru the dinner though! So even if i dress her up pretty pretty, by the time dinner starts (8:30pm) she's already fast asleep in her pram! Only the 'yam seng' part she may stir a little coz too loud, so usually i pre-empt by covering her ears before the 'yam seng'.

Re: milk intake
Lingling, ur gal really small drinker. Mine drinks at least 200mls, 5 feeds per day. But i think she's probably around 7kg only, or perhaps less.

Re: sucking socks
My gal does that too. She tries to suck her shoes also.

Re: drinking water
Thanks for the suggestions, i'll try feedin her water 1st thing in the morning. As of today, she still screams whenever i give her water n will get really really angry!

sysac,
is the Bukit Batok CSC good? We were thinking of signing up as members but not sure of the facilities.