(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mashy,

He doesn't need to pack the house anymore.. I hired a maid to do all the housework for me already. But, my maid will be with my parents while I'm in hospital to help them out in cooking and preparing some of my confinement dishes. But, yeah, I'll respect his wishes and let him sleep at home on the BIG, COMFY bed while I sleep in the cold, hard, hospital bed

Luckily I'll still have my carebears to keep me company

wendy - ahha then i will be the selfish one. i told him to stay with me thruout the night coz in the night, u be waking up to stimulate ur breast for milk right? my frd said the nurse will bring the baby in the night to suckle to you. so i want him to stay over and accompany me. my frd who was in Mt A said one of the nurse very nasty..scolded her when she is not doing well. and she ended up crying and want to be discharge asap. upon hearing that, i told my hubby i want single bedded and he be by my side thruout. coz i think we will be quite emotional during that period too...so better have someone with me. in addition, i am afraid of darkness. hahaa..enough excuse for him to stay over :p

SSF,

They actually bring baby to you in the middle of the night to BF? Hmm... guess I haven't thought abt that.. My hubby will stay if I really want him to.. but.. I don't see any point in making him stay if he doesn't want to..

HAve finally packed my bag, wash half of baby's clothings........ Now at peace already. Before that i was feeling very 'unsettled'...... For mommies who haven't packed, try to do so asap so that you wouldn't panic if baby choose to pop early.

Hi SSF,

Huh, the nurse so bad? I will complained if i am your friend. Already been thru such tough period and need time to adjust - scolding from a nurse is last thing that we need!

Hi Sysac,

Thanks. That adds up to almost 6k right? How much of it were you be able to claim from Medisave? Seems like NUH is still one of the most expensive hospital, yeah?

SSF
yah heard microsoft gives 5K. my colleague's wife (dunno which co she work) also got 5K when she gave birth so cover everything nicely.

i may want to get the nursing bib if i intend to BF for 6 months. anyone else interested?

wendy,
your hb so cute. sometimes men can be so unpredictable.

want to faint. today my hb told me my mil wants to come to my place everyday when she not working during my confinement. i tot not really needed since i have CL and maid and won't have time to entertain her when she's here. so i told my hb he has to take leave when she comes. he seems quite shocked by that. but then if we were to switch places, he would also wan me to do the same right? he said his mum won't come often and i hope so. so he said she come to see bb and not me. but bb will also want to sleep right? my fren's MIL the best, every time bb sleeping, she will wake bb up when she comes so she can play with bb. my fren got quite upset with her in the end.

then later my hb said my mil wants to come our place for reunion dinner. if i have not delivered yet, i think that's ok but if i m doing confinement, she still wants to come! dunno what kind of reunion dinner is it when i can't eat anything they eat. even my mum is surprised that she still insists on coming if i m doing confinement. sigh....

Wendy,

for my first delivery, I stayed in a 2 bedder and so hubby cannot room-in but I am glad that he can go back to rest cos he have been with me from 2 am. He helps to clean up the house and did the final preparations. In addition, if I need any help (snacks, milo, positioning of baby for breastfeeding), I can just page for the nurse. That's what we are paying for, right? He can't help me to breastfeed anyway..:p

SY,

I'm also facing the same problem as u. My MIL say she and my FIL want to stay here during CNY period and have renuion dinner here! I'll be having my confinement then, what dinner?

Besides, I only got 3 bedrooms, 1 for us, 1 for maid, 1 to keep all baby stuff and no bed also. Then if they stay here, how am I going to access my baby stuff if they're sleeping in my nursery? So inconvenient..

I really don't have the mood to entertain them on top of adjusting to new life with bb. Besides, I really don't want to waste money buying a queen bed when we're already so broke now. Worse of all, my FIL smokes 24x7 and he's very noisy.. talks very loud and non-stop.. no peace.. Worse still, while they are here during CNY, all the relatives will start coming to my house! I really don't want to have so much company.. sigh..

All I can tell my MIL is "see how" and try to taichi the matter as much as I can, hopefully, she'll get the idea.. I'm not trying to be difficult or rude, but I really hope they'll understand. I don't mind if they visit visit but staying over? I don't really welcome the idea and I'm still thinking how to deliver the message across to my hb without sounding offensive.. its really hard..

Yuki,

I managed to finish packing my hospital bag too last Sunday, feel more settled. Now left with washing the baby clothes.

SSF: I have not encountered such a nurse from Mt A before. I will definitely lodge a complaint against the nurse. After all, I am the customer.

Hi Yuki,

I took the 1-bedder at NUH. Can claim medisave $1.5 for myself. For baby is $300 a day. Anyway, the bill will be sent to my company and then company will bill me according to my medical entitlement.

Hi Krissie,

Yep, the room is nice. It faces the Olympic size pool.That's the newest Safra outlet and so everything looks nice and new.

Hi SY,

He got pricked on his left foot during those blood tests. I cried during his first stay. Became stronger during his second stay. Going to c PD later in the afternoon.

I do not know abt the rest of you. However, I think we will still be slightly emotional after gigin birth. Rem we were sharing abt being emotional during our pregnancy. We may not suffer from post-natal blues but we may still be a bit emotional. Luckily, my mum & HB are quite supportive. Will say words of encouragemt when they c me a little teary during BB's jaundice stay.

Hi mummies.

Wow! Not been in here for 4-5 days and the thread is really moving.

Just a question as I saw a thread on yellowish discharge due to yeast infection. I've been having yellowish discharge but urination is alright, no pain, nothing. So izzit a cause for alarm?

Wendy

Actuali you are better off than me... my MIL ask me go back her house to stay for that few days and go back for reunion dinner... when i cant get to eat the food too... and i hav to transport my newborn here n there...i rather they come my hse for dinner if they reali insist but no staying la...

Wendy,

Do also bring up the fact that cigarette smoke whether in the house or "lingering" around on the smoker after smoking, it's not good for the baby. It can choke the baby too. For the good of the bb.

MH,

If my MIL tells my hb to buy a new bed for them, he WILL oblige her. I'm quite sure my hb has got the idea that I don't welcome the idea of them staying over but I'm just hoping my ILs don't push things too far by pressuring him. I also don't want my hb to be sandwiched. He's their only child and he tries his best to make both sides happy but sometimes, its just not possible.

Mamachan,
Read that we may be having a certain bacteria in our vaginal which does no harm to us and has no symptoms but could be dangerous to bb if passed on to him during birth. However, I think if you're having normal yeast infection, your discharge will be brownish or greenish and foul smelling with itching and painful urination. Tot dried discharge that is yellow is normal? Anyone can confirm this?

God/Mamachan,
My FIL definitely knows that and you know what his reply is when I kindly asked him not to smoke when I'm around at their place? Cannot smoke he cannot tahan, he will die. What else can I say other than giving my hb the "stare"?

At least at my place, he knows I don't like him to smoke in the house, he goes outside to smoke but, he smoked at my doorstep and all the smoke still come in.. When I asked my hb to ask him walk abit further down the corridor to smoke, my FIL showed his displeasure, saying I'm making things difficult for him and I don't welcome him..

I think I'm going to go crazy if they really stay over during CNY..

Wendy,
your hb wd be concerned if FIL smokes ard bb right? and not so hygienic if he tries to carry bb...imagine bb getting used to the smoke smell.

at least your MIL will tell u what she wants. my MIL tells my hb her plans and my dear hb of cos just say yes without asking me. so what can i do after that? can i say no to their plans?? arrgghh...

sysac,
cephas jaundice all cleared? update us after the PD visit.

Wendy,
your HB never say anything? it's his bb so he shd be very gan cheong abt exposing bb to second hand smoke at an early age..

my IL also talk very loud one and they like to argue. sometimes when i m at their place, they can argue until the neighbours can hear....

Hi mamachan,

Can't rem the bacteria's name but it is common for pregnant women to get it. Doctors will give you a swab during labour and you will be given an antibiotic to get rid of it before you start pushing your baby. This is so you will not pass the bacteria to baby when he's on his way out.

SY,
I agree.. never liked the idea of a person with smoke smell all over carrying bb.. Most of the time, my MIL and FIL also do the same SY, they just tell him what they want behind my back and my hb will just agree to it then tell me about it. I guess because I have protested on other issues a few times before so that's y my MIL tell me about it this time but I'm not expected to voice any protests anyway..

Wendy,

I understand how u feel abt the smoking.. my FIL also smokes and he will be coming to visit from HK during CNY.. if he doesn't refrain from smoking in the house... i'd be upset too... maybe u can show your husb these articles to illustrate your concern and get him to talk to his dad... why make your little one suffer! The first article is really good...

http://www.tobaccofreelancaster.org/FS16.pdf#search='smoking%20around%20newborn'

http://www.askdrsears.com/html/10/t105800.asp

Hi SY,

Yep, will let you all know Cephas' condition after visit today
Appt is at 4pm so will let you all know tonite.

My dad smokes but he confined himself to the toilet to smoke during his off & on stay here. My HB also smokes. However, he has cut down since I got pregnant and is only a social smoker now. He will smoke when our friends come over. However, they will go outside the house to have their sessions.

In-laws is a tough topic. My Pils live a junction away. I have not seen them as often previously as since my delivery. My Mil has been coming over too almost everyday. I appreciate the fact that she buys food for my mum to cook and she went to the market with my mum this morning too. My HB told her to take initiative to come over as and when to go marketing with my mum.

Dun be too stressed out by your ILs. Just theink of the baby. Leave the rest to your HB to handle.

Hi SY,

Sorry. Smoking para not for you.

Hi Wendy,

Tell your HB to talk to his dad abt smoking in the house. Tell him it's all for the baby. It's not that you r picking on him.

SY,
Seems like our ILs are very similar! Hahaha..

Actually, because my hb is the only son, we used to stay with them but I really cannot tahan my FIL and the ciggie smoke so my hb gave way to me and bought a house near them.

When we were staying at my IL place, I was always sick and we couldn't conceive even though we were not doing anything to prevent conception. The moment we moved to our own place, I got pregnant the following month. However, we still had to goto ILs for dinner every night cuz we're both working and no maid yet, so I still had to bear with my FILs smoking. Couldn't eat anything at all admist the smelly smoke. Only have appetite to eat on fridays when I go back to my own parent's place.

Thanks goodness I have my maid to cook dinner for us now and I don't have to put up with the unhealthy air quality anymore but the nightmare is about to re-surface this CNY..

Sigh..

My FIL is one of the most difficult pple to live with on planet earth! My hb had talked to him before but nothing seems to help. Now, we go over on Sundays for lunch and he still smokes even though my belly is so big and telling him his grandchild is inside!

All I can do is move to the furthest corner of the house when he smokes to gasp for fresh air, turn the fan towards him and blast the smoke back to him.. He used to complain when I did that in the past but at least nowadays, he doesn't complain that I'm blasting the fan at him anymore.

Maybe he got tired of complaining cuz he realied I'd still do it whether he likes it or not. Hee!

However, this time, I'm going to be firm and give a straight NO if he starts smoking in front of bb. I'll tell him straight off its very unhealthy to carry bb also with all the smoke and tar deposits on hands and body too, so if he wants to carry bb, NO SMOKING.

dear mummies

wow, was so busy the past 1 week and yesterday. the thread really moved.

a colleague of mine just gave birth on sunday 6pm while we were at another colleague's place for her new born 1 month celebration. imagine we were having fun while this other colleague was in pain. so funny.

this colleague went to see her gynae on sat and her gynae noted that her aminotic fluid level has dropped and since she was already 38 weeks, suggested that she admit immediately and induce her to give birth. the induction cause a lot of pain but her cervix did not dilate, only 0.5cm after a long long time. can't tahan the pain and ask for epidural. baby seems to grasp for air while on the way out and have aminotic fluid in his lungs. was in ICU for 1 day and now ok.
she was in 2 bedder at Mt A and wanted to change in 1 bedder after the first day but no space.

all my colleagues advise me to take 1 bedder since first child and more privacy. we have decided to go for 1 bedder and my hubby will stay over. he wants to bond with the baby as well.

bought cherries to eat from cold storage. very exp. 0.51kg cost $14+ and there is only like 30 of them. my sis said that cherry will prevent jaundice, don't know if it's midwives tales or real.

going to see my gynae later. at 36 weeks today. wonder if my baby is engaged. hopefully I didn't gain a lot of weight in this 2 weeks. put on 13 kg on my last check 2 weeks ago. sigh!
very excited to see baby again. always tell her to be ready when dr scan and take pics.

Hi mummies/SY/Wendy/tabbiesus

sigh.. now our concern is about our MIL n FIL. last weekend when hb is mopping the floor n im doing ironing, he brought up the topic abt he alone going back to msia for reunion dinner n leave me n bb w my parent if i deliver b4 CNY!!! angry! a few weeks ago he even mentioned tat my FIL planning to get hb's grandmother to come over to spore n help in my confinement!! faint! i straight away told him tat i wan peace n quiet in the house n not ppl moving ard n now still give me an elderly in her 80's i in turn hv look after... stress

so can truely understand how SY n wendy is feeling now. my hse initialy hv 3 bedrooms but converted 1 into a study room w clear glass partition wall so tat room cant let them sleep in too. n the another one is for bb w all his stuffs n cot, so no much space for them to place mattress n stay over too. headache...

somemore my FIL oso smokes, had mentioned to hb b4 tat i wil not allow him to smoke near the bb wan. but luckly my MIL is vy open minded n she even mentioned to me tat confinement wil be better when my mum could help out coz she understand new mum r under lots of stress. she herself went through the stage tat she nearly got into depression when she gave birth to my hb n stay w her in laws...

Hi gals!

Wendy/Sunny - my gynae told me the abdominal pain is veli common as u near ur EDD. He said tat the difference between labour pain and fake cramps is that during real labour, the pain will be the whole tummy tightening together wif the abdominal cramps. I also experience alot of cramps lately, sometimes, was hoping tat it will be the real thing. hee hee...
Been having restless sleeps for a while now....

Krissie - Great, you also 37 wks. Good good, means, have a few more mummies same time wif me.

Mamachan - you could be having yeast infection. Best check wif ur gynae, though. I have been having yellowish discharge for quite some time now. Its very common for pregnant ladies and sometimes its so itchy, make me so uncomfortable. Its due to the food intake, gynae advice less carbo, fried food and dairy products. Typically, need to get rid of the infection when u near ur due date as it might get passed on to ur bb during delivery. Gynae will insert a pill into your vagina to clear the infection.

After listening to some of the woes of handling in-laws, I find myself abit fortunate cos I dun have a MIL or FIL. Sometimes, I do wish I have lah, so tat they can help to take care of bb when I'm in SG cos my own family is in Johor. Do u noe tat immediately after I give birth, I will be transported back to JB to do confinement. My baby will have his photo taken to make passport and off we go. So sianz.....

Wendy

aiyo ur FIL is really so inconsiderate!! cant believe he can keep smoking after being told not to... same as u i hate the smell of ciggie n always hv difficulty in breathing when someone smoke near me.
no choice if ur FIL still carry on like this the onyl way is to tell him straight in the face liao. anyway u hv been giving in to him all this while... rit?

I'm so glad I talked to you about the IL problem. It helps to know we're not alone and can share our woes. Now, I just want peace and quiet, at least till christmas is over.. Silent Night, Holy night..

Klisa, I don't want to give birth now. I want to enjoy Christmas first! So, whole night was telling bb to be patient and not so early and crossing my fingers its not labour pains. Haha!

Rachel,

The whole world has to give in to my FIL, including my FIL's elder brother and sister. He was the youngest and to put bluntly, throughly spoilt by his mum during his younger days. Try telling him what to do is as good as stirring up a thunderstorm but for bb's sake, I've got no choice. I've saved the smoking articles tabbiesus posted earlier. Even highlighted important parts regarding passive smoking and how it harms bb. Will get my hb to print them out and show it to my FIL (without hb knowing). Hopefully, FIL will get the idea.

Wendy - u and me different, I was hoping bb will come out before christmas. hahaha..... anyway, let's hope both of us will get our wishes! Our christmas wishes! I keep asking my bb boy, so, when u wan to come out? Come out lah.... come out then u can see christmas tree liao!

wah today's topic on In Laws huh... both mine & HB's parents are divorced, MIL staying with us. MIL will be working but she'll be cooking for my confinement n my mum wil be coming over to help out everyday... so i guess everything SHOULD be alright. = P

Re: Raspberry Tea LEaves
Anyone started drinking already?? Me have been trying to look for the Tea-Ball or Tea-Bag to put the tea leaves in for soaking but cannot seem to find leh... anyone knows where to get it?? AT this rate i may even pop before I even started drinking... = (

mamachan
i hv been hving yellowish discharge too since pregnant. gynae checked n found out its yeast infection. had tried putting insert (a white pill) but actually caused some cramp ard my lower abdominal area n the discharge came back again. got scared n gynae oso said better not do the insert again coz might trigger labour. tat was during my second stage of pregnancy. now got quite used to it but sometime oso quite uncomfortable. but no choice lo.. gynae mentioned tat it wont be much of a concern unless bb stay in the birth canel for too long n will get infected.

klisa
wat i heard fr my fren if u apply ur bb passport through internet wil be cheaper n faster too. abt 7 days. so u mean after ur bb come out u will quickly snap a photo n send for application liao? tat will be tough of u to do the travelling woh...

klisa

Hmmm, I'll check with my gynae. My check-up with him is next week.

I've been having yellow discharge for some time, but not itchy. And have been drinking lots of water too.

I find that the discharge is alot in the mornings when I wake up to pee, other than that through the day it's alright.

Hmmmmmm

Hi sysac,

It's true that we will still be very emotional after giving birth. My friends and i experience that. Watch TV series, not very 'chiam' also will cry.

When i had problem TBF, hubby said if too tough, don't insist. I scolded him and accused him of not being supportive.... But if he insisted, i would have scold him too for not understanding.... Both ways, he can't win.... I cried when i saw my mum feed my gal formula........ Was super weepy during confinement lah....

Re: Raspberry Tea Leaves - I started drinking twice per day 2 days ago and found that I have lesser abdominal cramps. Dunnoe is it becos of the the tea or not.
Clare - tink u better start drinking soon leh... else waste onie. My tea comes in sachets, so dun need to get tea bags. Our EDD abt the same time.

rachel - I went into ICA website and they claim tat they can get the passport ready within 3 working days after submission. Yeah, we will do it thru online. Will ask my hubby to quickly take a photo of him and then submit. I dread the journey back, even worse if causeway jam. But no choice, got nobody here. So, have to go back to my mum's place.

hi - back from lunch...had coconut drink...so far drank only 2. i think subsequent week, i need to drink at least once.

SY - yes the nursing bib can be use as a blanket as well for your baby. Sabrina said if there are many orders, she can give a better price.

wendy - ya can understand..if me, i will also not welcome my in laws. moreover your fil smoke and yes they can be very loud at times. like mine..i think my baby will be frightened each time they open their mouth. u try to talk to you hubby and see what he can do abt it. coz he also cannot reject his parents. or at least ask him to leave the hse to smoke and not let the rest suffer.

hi mongs - update us on the engagement of your baby ya. all the best!

MH - yes i am shocked to hear from my frd too and tats one of the reason i reject Mt A. but mainly also becoz of Mrs WOng that i chose TMC although the car park is an issue.

sysac - ya in fact i am already quite sensitive and emotional now. also its very common for moms to tear when they see their baby having jaundice. so i think you are reacting normally. i guess i will also tear if its me.

Rachel

Hmmmm, okiez, I better check with Dr Tee at KKH next Wednesday, see what he says. Next week would be my 36th week. AM getting more and more excited.

I'm so glad that my mum will be the one doing confinement for me, even though I'll have to move back to her place.

wendy

tough man, to hv this kind of FIL. can forsee in the future there will be alot of conflicts... hopefully after seeing the article he will be more auotmatic...

my PIL is in msia, so at least no need to keep facing them like u hv to face ur FIL. my MIL is good but my FIL is those gan john type. hb eldest son so at least he has help me block most of the stuff brought up by my FIL. @ first my FIL wan me to do confinement in msia! next is wan me to give birth in msia so his grandson will be msian n no need serve NS when he grow up. next is wan us to leave his grandson w them in msia n my MIL look after!! sigh.. after my hb blocked all these.. he came up the idea of getting the grandmother to come over do my confinement after he failed to get to my MIL to do it (my MIL has to work lo)... problem jus cant stop.

when my hb inform me tat when bb come out those relatives (i mean lots of them) will be coming over fr msia to see bb during CNY. i told him better not coz i might be stress out during tat period n w lots of ppl ard the hse i might bust out n cry infront of them. hb abit taken back when i said these... heehee quite bad of me too la..

mamachan - yeah, normally the discharge is more in the morning. same here. But i also noticed tat if i walk or very active during the day, will also have more discharge. Anyway, its very common thing. As wat rachel said, so long bb dun stay in birth canal too long after water bag burst, wont infect bb, but since tis is gng to me my firstborn, I tink I'm gng to have longer labour, so, want to clear the infection before delivery.

mamachan

yah check w ur gynae lo. if nothing serious mayb jus leave it alone.

true tat its the best for our mum to do our confinement for us. wil feel more comfortable n @ ease.

Earlier on I was just skimming thru the threads and came across nursing bras. Where else can we look for them at other than mothercare and thyme maternity?

I have 2 bras from OIO from KKH (mom got it for me). where's this pretty mums at?

I'm going on early maternity leave starting next week. Really buay tahan already as my workplace also quite ulu, have to climb alot of stairs and walk up slopes to get to my workplace.

So I guess I'll be spending time getting ready for stuff.

rachel - u muz be veli stressed, huh. Pity u leh... tink the nationality of ur son hor shld be decided by the bb's parents.... so cham leh... if possible limit the number of visitors during confinement...need alot of rest and also we will be rather emotionally weak after birth. When my sisters gave birth to their children, I see them cry non stop over the slightest thing. So, got to take care leh.... Hope everything works out for u....

Come to think of it, most of us are not that comfortable with PILs coz our upbringing is different.

What one of us said it's true, I mean, how bad is our own husband? =) Sure, we have different habits and all, but must really trust God for favour for both ourselves and bb.

I was abit concerned of how it would be like when my MIL 1st told me before I got pregnant that she would leave her job to look after bb so I can go back to work. I just told her plainly that ok, then I'll share half my salary with you so that you can have the money to continue financing the house she's sharing with my brother-in-law. She had second thoughts coz she felt paiseh about having to take money from us.

Also good, I get to take care of my own bb as a Stay home mum.