(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Sysac,
so we have to avoid ginger n saseme oil if BB has jaundice but if BB dun have then we can eat right? Thanks. Am thinking of SAFRA too for BB's party next time (very likely next month hee hee)... but will get my fav outside caterer instead. =)

SY,
yah today's hot n sunny but so sad for my flat the sun cannot get to kitchen sunning area so have to depend on the hot air/wind instead... so long never have hot cripsy sun dried clothes liao sigh....

SSF,
Today am on urgent leave since i still have leave balance to clear for this year... will be on leave again next Mon & Fri then after Christmas holiday I'll most prob start my Maternity Leave already... unless of coz BB have to come out next week then ML would kick in much much earlier...

Clare - ic ic...btw did u get ur gynae to sign any form for your office use? the last time i ask him to sign, he said too early. sigh i hope he sign next mon coz i will be working from hm after the next visit and will not be coming into office.

Hi Krissie,
it's ok, me going for gynae visit tomorrow, so will probably ask

Wendy,
me too, really feel like eating durian, but also watching my sugar intake... have been very very bad girl lately... anyway, console yourself that lately no good durian...

Clare,
yep, my hubby was the one busy taking notes, coz I super tired and sleepy these few days, I keep asking him whether he understand what the teacher say or not, machiam he is the one breastfeeding, hahaha... yep, agree with you impt for hubby to learn how to take care of bb, they are our support.

Rena,
thanks for emailing our contacts!

SSF,
No idea we have sigh any form... is that for ML?? Didn;t know there;s such a form.

Sleepdeer,
haha... i was sitting in front didn't really see you but i thot i did see your HB taking notes but not sure if its your HB... then there are other HB asking question also... was telling my HB he's the lazy one dun know whether got concentrate anot.. just know how to laugh so loud when watching the video on the sleepy baby... = P

hi all TMC mummies - my frd who gave birth there before said when they ask if your hubby is stayingover. just said NO. and they will not charge for the extra $63 for the food. my frd said they dun really care even if your hubby stay over later. so remember just say NO NO NO. hehee..and u can save alot!

oh SY ad Clare, my company request doc to sign a pregnancy form so that they can use that to give us cash for our delivery. my company will give some form of cash as a gift. so thats why lor.

SSF,
oic...wah your co quite good..

anyone buying video cam for bb? i tot of buying but to buy a good one is quite ex and already spend so much money on bb. cannot decide leh and scared i regret if i dun buy

SSF
ur company practice this working fr home thingy, tats good. but how does it work? any difference in salary wise? planning to discuss w my boss if its possible for me to work from home.. but mine is in designing industry so oso dunno can work it out or not..
hope u can advise me. thanks

SY
recently bought one (panasonic Brand) actually cost us $700 ++. w those basic functions. actually those ex ex ones r w those extra functions which we actually seldom use oso.
maybe u can loan fr ur fren or relatives n try using it b4 confirming whether really wan to spend a few hundred... understand tat these $ can buy lots of other things too =)

Hi Sysac,

Poor boy. He must have cried very hard after each pprick.... My friend said she cried whenever her baby have to go thru that.

Agreed with other mommies that you seem so zhai.... So glad for you. Thank God your hubby is supportive. Before i was discharge from hospital, the nurse also brief me on post natal depression but added a comment "Seeing your hubby being so supportive, i don't think you'll have a problem with that."

Btw, can share how much is the hospital bill?

Hi SSF,

Wow, Cash gift..... that's nice!

Bought 2 nursing bras from metro over the weekend. When i compare it with the two that i bought from mothercare two years ago, realise there's a slight difference. Mothercare's nursing bra 'opens' up a bigger space (exposing more breast) as compared to the eternity ones. From what i observe, the eternity bra seems to open only half cup, make make BF slightly more difficult..... HAve not tried on but just my comments. Anyway if you do intend to BF for long, may be good to invest in at least two better ones........

Yuki,
i also bought 2 nursing bra from Eternity leh... hmm in that case maybe we can cut the hole bigger?? hee hee just thinking out loud

SY - my company dun pay for my delivery fees like some company does. so in fact that cash gift is quite pathetic thinking that i am in an MNC company.
my hubby already bot a panasonic video cam last yr at teh expo fair. it cost 1.5K and seriously i dun think we are bringing into the hospital as how to juggle with a video camera and digital camera. its super challenging. video camera can be a good aid when the baby grows older and start to walk, talk, crawl.

nope wendy, i dun work in Singtel and mine is a pathetic 100 plus only. sigh!

Hi Clare,

I mean when you unclip the hook, it opens up at a higher cut thus exposing less breast which might means blocking the breast for baby's sucking.

But i guess it's ok lah. I intend to use it at home and if going out, maybe wear the mothercare one.

Hi Wendy,

REally? 1.5k is alot! drooling..... hee hee. My company - only a hamper, no bonus, not even 13th month and my boss has just commented that they will arrange for a notebook for me to work from home during my maternity....... *sob, sob*......

Well, SSF, at least u got that 100+. I work in a ministry and yet I don't get any maternity privilages nor do I receive any cash. Its all up to me and my husband to pay for everything. Civil service sucks all the way. Low in pay, low in benefits, low in bonuses, over worked. In short, they pay peanuts and expect monkeys.

Yuki,
We're not even given a hamper! The hamper we receive come from colleagues chipping in money to buy.

And in case you're wondering, no, we do not have any subsidy for any sort of in-patient treatments, maternity included. We only have 85% outpatient subsidy from government hospitals and polyclinics or $10 maximum from private clinics, subject to a maximum of $350 a year

Wendy,
i'm surprised leh... i always thot Civil Servants will have better privilledges when it comes to such matters like giving birth, child's education, medical etc...

Yuki,
Yah that's wat i meant... to cut the inner opening bigger? But like wat u say if i'm really successful at BF then will prob invest is a better nursing bra later... = )

Clare,
Its a misconception that needs to be addressed. It used to be good for those who joined the service under the pension scheme or those who join under the non-medisave scheme. For younger, new employees like me, there's no benefits worth talking about. They claim that they give u an additional 1% for your medisave but, we cant use medisave to fully subsidise our medical bills, so what's the use? The amount we can claim from medisave each time is so miserable.

hihi mummies,
comparing company benefits, i think mine oso damn pathetic, only $80 but can choose either want hamper or voucher. so of coz i take the voucher. and considering my co is mnc not to mention it's a fortune 500 co. somemore! the only consolation i have is that my boss is very good, even allow me to take no pay leave if i choose to after my maternity leave. least i know i'm secured with a job! :D

i am back from mtg.
that day i went to try normal clothing.... sob sob, can't fit in size M leh. end up didn't buy any... i think if i delivery as early as 38th wk i.e. 4 jan, i would be spending some days of CNY leh. anyway, i think i will just see if the old clothes can still fit me in... i also intend to have a big shopping after confinement. but hopefully with the size same as pre-preggie. haha...

Hi Wendy,

At least you are entitled to 13th month and some bonus........

Because of the industry i am in, i didn't have any bonus, not even 13th month for a couple of years already. So while everyone was happily celebrating CNY - nothing for us to look forward to....... Luckily my hubby is in Civil service, have some bonus to help to pay for road tax, car insurance etc.... Can claim some of my gal's doc fees etc thou not much but at least something....

I regret not joining CS after i graduated. My friend who graduate same time as me, her salary is 25% higher than mine, not counting the bonus etc.... And at least got yearly increment despite how miserable it may be... at least something.

If not for the fact that my manager left and my company need me to shoulder a heavier responsibility thus promoting me and giving me a one time 8% increase, my pay would have remain stagnant for years..... And even with this increment, it's still 25% less as compared to my peer in CS.........

Hi clare,

If you cut the cup, may end up tearing the whole bra cup......??? Hee Hee

Hi celine,

I am surprised. I thot MNC usually have tons of benefits???

MH
oh like that ah.... i am wondering if we bring our own hor, will that be like very ngiao. haha...
will you bring your own?

hi all mummies,

The thread here really move very fast. Glad to find that Clare and Queen arnd the same time with me. By end of this week, I'm gng 37 weeks. Can't wait for my bb to come out soon! Hoping tat I can deliver by end of tis week or next week! So envy most mummies here noe the weight and how big bb is. Mine, I'm still forever clueless. I noe tat most important is tat bb is healthy and strong but jus feel abit left out and left in the dark.

SSF - So, if we say NO at TMC, then we wont be charged with the extra $63 per nite? But hubby can still secretly stay over issit? I'm gng to deliver at TMC and booking one bedder.

Btw, I just bought Raspberry tea leaves at Nature's Farm and started drinking yesterday. We are suppose to drink twice per day rite?

sysac
but the antenatal instructor says we can take ginger, wine + sesamee oil during our confinement even when bf. But, in moderation.

sunny: it would be most probably under ur maternity package unless u want itemised charges.

I will be bringing the maternity pads just in case.

Another qs, to mummies tat are about 36-37 weeks, do you have problems urinating? I have abit of prob lately. Everytime go and pee, very little come out but I drink lotsa water. I drink cranberry juice also. Gynae told me may be due to water retention and kidney not functioning very well, so I have to lie on the bed more. But I'm so scared I kenna UTI again. I just got an insertion last Friday to clear my yeast infection, but I seem to be still getting yellowish discharge up till now. Don't want to pass it on to bb in case of delivery.

SY, the package at Mt E:

Normal/Vacuum/Forceps delivery - $1,600 for double room and $1,980 for single room

With epidural - $1,900 for double and $2,280 for double

C-section - $2,800 for double and $3,300 for single

All prices before GST. Seems like epidural charge is $300 and not $400 as told by the admission staff.

I remem someone posted in my Gleaneagles thread that the hospital do charge for maternity pads and the pampers they give u. Doesn't come free but even if u BYO, you probably won't have the chance to use it as the moment the baby is born, they'll use their diapers already. Its a charge u cant escape.

Klisa,
I also have that problem. Had UTI during my 28th week but have recovered from it already. Even now, I also have to go the the toilet often whenever my baby rests her legs and elbows on my bladder. Sadly, most of the time, when I go to the toilet, like you, only a few drops of urine.

To prevent yeast infection, I sleep without underwear but try not to cough or sneeze while in ur pyjamas cuz it causes the bladder to leak..

Also, drink more cranberry juice and eat more yogurt or yakult. Yummy

PS: Anyone tried starting a bulk purchase for Raspberry tea so we can buy cheaper? Anyone got lobang here?

Hi Clare,

I do not know abt the other Safra outlets. I also wanted to bring in my own caterer. However, it is not allowed at Safra Mt Faber and the food for Baby's Cephas' will be catered by Pioneer Spring Rstnt at $18 nett each.

Hi SY,

No time to think of stress then. Just moved abt like robot. Express milk, freeze milk, go to hsp, feed milk then come home during those 4 days when he had to stay. No time to think of being tired also. Just missed having him at home.
PD is from NUH. He looked aft Cephas during his stay. A nice chap who is patient and encouraging and so we are just seeing him for now until Cephas is given the all clear for jaundice.

Hi Yuki,

My bill was $4.6K. Cephas's bill came up to $1.4K. The nurse refused to let us go in to see when they pricked him. Can hear him cry but he wld stop when they wheeled him out of the nursery for us to feed.

Hi Krissie,

It's up to the individual. I decided to avoid ginger and sesame oil so that Cephas will clear the jaundice and we need not go in and out of hsp in case the lvl goes up again.

sysac
thanks.. will call to them check it out. Is the room very nice? oh i see.. would take note of the ginger and sesamee oil then.

klisa
I'm 37weeks tom. hmmm.. definitely need to go toilet more often, sometimes not much urine. But, I didn't really monitor whether the urine is lesser than the water that I drink. but, sometimes, very little urine coz i think it's bb's pressure which makes me feel urgent?

away for half an afternoon and so many things to catch up!!

rachel,
which model of videocam did u buy? i m considering to buy one so can videocam bb as he grows but really need to look at budget.

SSF,
your video cam must be the high end one! dun think will want to bring so many things to hosp (u r right, can't juggle) but wd like one as bb grow older.

yuki,
thanks for the advice on the nursing bra. think if really want to BF for long, must buy a good one.

SSF,
your co is MNC and not much benefits? i always tot MNC will have a lot. I heard P&G very family friendly. must aim to go there..

wendy
i also tot civil service very good benefits esp when it comes to pro family! cos must respond to govt policy....

even if we bring our own stuff to hosp, they won't use and we end up getting charged for it?

klisa,
yah sometimes when i go toilet, not much urine comes out. u try to drink more water to prevent UTI

sysac,
so glad that cephas's ordeal is over. so poor thing to be pricked when he's so young. post more pic of him when u have time. he's so cute!

Couldn't sleep throughout the night. Tummy aching away and is still aching. Got this pain to the right of my belly button and has been there since last night before I sleep. Don't think its labour pains cuz it has not increased in frequency nor intensity, just pain all the way. Besides, no blood in discharge also.

Hope its not labour pains.. Still abit early.. I want to enjoy christmas first..

Civil Service used to have good benefits. Nowadays, whatever they seem to give u is just a cover. Like I said, the extra 1% in medisave does nothing to help. Would u rather have inpatient subsidy or extra 1% which u cant use at all? The only benefit they give to mothers that is not usually given outside is they allow u to take up to a max of 5 yrs no-pay leave after ur child is born. Other than that, we're kinda worse off than most MNCs who give cash benefits or even hampers cuz we get nothing.

hi yuki,
my co. does have abit more perks than some others, but juz tat the amt is usually very small. got quantity, not quality. u get wat i mean? keke...

i couldn't sleep well recently. everytime when i turn to right side to sleep, my right side abdominal will be pain. don't know y...

Hi Sunny,

I'm facing the same problem except, my tummy still hurting now. It does not usually hurt so long. Ended up sleeping on the left side most of the time but after awhile, shoulder aches so no choice, have to turn to the right for at least awhile to ease the pressure.

Hi Sunny,

I didn't also.. unless it starts to get more and more painful. Maybe I'll mention it to him next week when I see him..

Good morning

sunny
i am having the same problem, feel pain on the right side... these few days can't sleep well... my nose always block too...
kao_sad2.gif

klisa - yes that's what my frd said abt TMC stayover. i told my hubby yesterday already.so we will tell the nurses hubby not staying, gg back later. with regards to urinating, every night i will pee at least once, and always have trouble getting up as tummy is always heavy and like swollen. but still managed to pee alot. as for water retention, yes my feet and fingers do feel a bit numb.

SY - yes my company is MNC and benefits is really not so good. sigh..i know IBM allows you to claim 75% of consultation fees and delivery. so nice ya. and microsoft give 5k cash to new born babies.

all- remember i told you before of my cousin's church frd who is a homemaker and sew nursing shields. Basically the nursing shield is like an apron, go over the neck and shield the baby while you breastfeed in public. the pricing is from 10-15 bucks i think. I actually had one done by her. so those who are interested, can go to the following site. she actually created this site in a rush since she just gave birth to her third baby recently. so maybe, this is something you guys want to get in bulk to get a better discount too.

http://www.momsatworkz.com/pages/poster.htm

Hmm.. seems like pain on the right side is quite a commnon thing ya? Are you pain to the right of the belly button, somewhere in the middle section of your big belly also?

I told my hubby about telling the nurses he not staying over then secretly stay overnight. He gave me a big stare and said "That's not right, so dishonest!" Made me feel so stupid suggesting it to him.. sigh..

My hubby really one of a kind, extinct type ya? No wonder his friends call him panda even though he doesn't have panda eyes, nor is he fat like a bear.

haha wendy your hubby so funny. anyway, i am not sure if it will work. but just go with whatever he is comfortable with. personally i just find payign 63 bucks per night for the hospital food is not worth it at all. coz my hubby said he will not eat there. i also heard the food there for hubby is horrible. and as for the bed, since we are already paying so much for single bedded, why must we pay extra somemore. that's my thots lor. if can, save that 63 bucks per night for baby's pampers and milk better

SSF, ya.. Haha! Come think of it, its this thing abt him dat attracted me in the first place.

He said pay 63 per night for a sucky sofa bed & no food (someone told me Gleneagles dun provide food 4 hubby) is not worth it. He suggested to stay at hospital with me until the nurses drive him away then come early in the morning. He also said he'll bring more of my carebears to keep me company for the night to compensate for his absense. I was so shocked, it was my turn to stare at him until he turned red with embarassment. LOL!

Come think of it.. maybe I should take his suggestion. Anyway, I'll be sleeping at night, y make him sit around and suffer on the stupid squeezy sofa bed? Sounds abit selfish on my part ya?