(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

good morning girls..

for the past few nites.. from 10pm onwards, my girl had been very cranky.. keep on crying and crying.. sometimes can manage to pacify her for a while but she will cry again.. screaming away.. made me n hubby n CL have sleepless nites.. any idea if this means my girl is colicky??

Another way to increase ss is tandem pump. While your bb is feeding on 1 side, you pump on the other during the let down. More efficient. If bb still fusses after feeding on 1 side, then feed the EBM. Works for me!!

Pammie, don;t worry, my gal at 2 mth also weigh abt 4.5kg. As long as she's happy and active should be ok. If still worry, then give pd a call.

Mummies, for exclusive bf bb, how often does your bb pass motion? Mine almost after every feed. Is this normal?

Clarisse: but i latch bb on for her every feed except at nite, so if i pump every 2hrs then my gal won't have any milk to drink when i latch her on cos she drinks abt every 2hrs too.

i intend to pump out my morning bm then store in freezer to stock up. my ml ends on 9th Jan...so if i stock up now...should have abt 40packs of 100ml of ebm in the freezer.should be ok right?

pammie

I tried latching her for Brennan's feed from 7pm - 12 last night. Was so tiring when he starts to fidget during the 10pm feed. I gave up after 1hr of latching and ask hubby to feed him FM. And u know what. he drank 180ml!!! super hungry :p haiz....

Now i try to latch him from 7pm - 12. Think everytime didnt really do it thats why the ss that time not alot. Hope this method helps.

Last night, he woke up for feed at 3.30am and 6.50am. So far, am able to satisfy him.
hahaha, i also like u, will tell Brennan to go sleep so that mummy can sleep. And he will just stare at me doing his karate moves

You can still pump in the morning ah. If u pump out, wont be no more milk for Tammi? I totally cant. Not sure if it will satisfy him.

Sometimes i wonder, when we give BB FM, they drink so much. But during latching, not sure if got so much or not...

I probably will express out if i really have time, but i have to do it within a day and drink the next day cos i usually store it in the lower compartment, which can only last for 48hours.

For my case, no need to store EBM cos me not working now. Reason for wanting to store is just incase i need to go out and Brennan at least got BM during the time i'm out. So far, will feed him before i go out and will be back within 2hrs.

pammie: ah i see... ok then.. will check out the gnc stores.. sigh.. dunno will waste money or not... coz i thought can get breast pump.. then increase.. ended up with 3 pumps now..

i tried to latch him on... during the day but somehow or rather.. he will be like erm.. very angry and then the feeding time.. becomes.. very short interval.. cannot stand his crying and impatience.. so ended up giving him FM again.. sigh..

but surprisingly.. i can give him enough BM from like 11 plus.. then 3plus.. then he will wake up at around 5plus...but why not the day?

garfield, if pumping between intervalyou scare not enough milk for your bb, then can dry to pump after the latch to "clear" the breast. Initially I also have the same problem as you as bb latch every 2 hours, so no time to pump to store. Actually no need b'c bb is feeding also simulate the milk supply. So if you want to increase, need to pump after feed or using Fenugreek pills as many mummies here recommended.

I didn't. Actually I find drinking papaya milk helps a lot in milk production also

As Clarrisemummy says sometimes need to trial & error to find the best means. Different methods work for different people.

i latch on my bb last nite from 3 to 4 plus but after that he still mang zang so i feed EMB plus FM 100 plus ml. My question is why after one hr latch still not full meh?

should i then bottlefeed straightaway rather than direct latch at nite? i find direct latch very long, waste precious sleep time and useless cos after that still not enuf.. any advise?

where can i buy the nose sucker pls?

mummies ...

me from the sept threat one ... very KP so tot drop some views heehee ...

for the first 2mth its very impt to latch the bb as often as possible as you are building up your supply ... no matter how good a pump is ... it can NEVER drain the breast as well as the pump ...

some of you might find that you are feeding your bb almost every hr ... it could be that your bb is going thr a growth surpt ... if you latch on that freq ... you will find that your supply will increase cos you are sending a signal to your brain tt 'hey milk not enough' ... and read somewhere that your bb is actually helping you to build up the supply to meet his future needs ...

adel ..

i suggest that you give brent abit of FM first so tt he is not that hungry and latch him on rather than the other way round ... so that he will be more patient to suckle ...

teddie ...

i used to time how long i feed my bb oso .. but come to realise its not how long the bb drink ... rather its how much effort the bb puts in to suckle ... take it tt ur bb is helping u to build up ur supply ... oso when they r too small they cant drink too much milk at 1 go cos gastric v small ...

you can get the nose sucker thing from kiddy palace and any retail store that sell bb stuff ... anyway i have 1 and my bb hates it ... you wan buy from me? only tried once and failed terribly then put 1 side liao ... PM me if u keen =)

nvm.. found it... thought maybe can share... argrgr..

fenugreek (Trigorvella foenum-graecuml), an herb that can cause low blood sugar (hypoglycemia) and has been tried in the management of diabetes, albeit unsuccessfully. Diabetics must monitor their blood sugar and measure the dosage of medication to manage their illness very carefully, making it very difficult to control the disease with natural substances.

Fenugreek probably has little effect on milk supply until a mother takes large amounts of (about three capsules, three times per day, but this varies from pill-to-pill) and her milk and urine begin to smell like maple syrup, though no clinical trials have been conducted to prove or disprove this relationship. When a mother takes large quantities of fenugreek, the baby begins to smell like maple syrup too, and some babies have been misdiagnosed as having "maple syrup urine disease," a serious metabolic disorder. Another danger associated with fenugreek is that the herb is related to peanuts, the food most likely to cause an allergy. The possibility of an allergic reaction in a baby is quite high, and many cases of colic, stomach upset, and diarrhea have been reported among babies whose mothers take fenugreek.

Clarisse's mom
Yupz, you are right. I hv the problem of inverted nipples. We tried latching on at birth but no success. As a result of our inexperience being parents, we under-fed the boy in his first week & his jaundice shot up (this, we are really feeling v guilty abt it). After that, I do not want to make him work too hard for his milk. Also, he's quite small at birth & he really need to be well-fed.

Peipei
I have the Malay massage, but only after 2 weeks since delivery. Becos I am really too busy with the baby & expressing BM evry 3 hrly initially. Usu. for normal delivery, you can start on 5-6th day. For Caesarian, usu. is 2 weeks later, after wound is healed. Here's the contact of my massage lady. Her name is Mdm Esah, tel 9628-5480 You can tell her u r referred by Charlotte's sis-in-law.

Pammie
Why don't you ask your PD abt your gal's milk intake? After my experience of underfeeding my boy, I am asking my PD everytime re what qty range shd he be drinking. AT least it give a guide to whether he is progressing well.

pammie: i dunno abt underfeeding.. but if ur bb is gaining an average of 150 -200 grams a week.. it should be good enough..

garfield: surely there is enough to pump out. i too pump and latch, i pump cos i wan to build more milk.

Yippee: we are mostly 1st time mothers.. keke all inexperience too. Inverted nipples, try to use nipple shield or nipple corrector.

adel: when free?? lol, i wanna pass brent present

i was at Suntec Level 3, lots of Baby and Kids shops for mummies!!! and there is a Nursing room with 2 breastfeeding rooms and 2 changing tables equipped with hot and cold water supply! excellent n cosy.

Clarisse'mum
Sure did, bought a pair of Avent Nipplets - $72 each side
It'ok, din really wanna recall the 1st 2 weeks since delivery - which was terribly chaotic.

Hi Mummiers,

I really pei fu you all leh, can take care of your bb alone, express milk, latch on and still got time to come to the forum. Me damm shiak as my mum went back to her home after my confinement over so now no time to come in as me have to take care of my cranky bb alone.

She always cry to signal to us to carry her but we tried not to as worried that it may become a bad habit as every now and then she wan ppl to carry...BUT THEN sometimes boh bian leh have to carry her as hear her cry make my Xin very Tong leh...Sometimes, she will wan us to carry her till she fall asleep leh if not she will cry till she sleep [which can be as long as 1 hr plus]. Do u all have the same problem too?

Adel,
I same same as u as supply drop also. Can only expressed 50-60 ml on right side and 10-20ml on left side....It's really made me wonder why??? Sigh...Only in the morning can pump alot...

Sometimes I really envy Ling as she can pump so much milk everyday...How I wish I got her supply...Maybe if anybody does not have enough to feed our bb, we can ask her to supply us...Kekeke..
[Hope CD did not see this...]

Adel & Pammie,
Can I know how much did u paid for a bottle of fenugreek as I also feel like taking fenugreek too since my supply is so low. If too expensive not effective for me then again is waste of $$$$.

Me also trying to latch my gal everyday for 15 min but still the supply so low leh...BTW, which position did u all use to latch ur bb as I do feel pain on my back while I latch her on...Really make me feel like giving up...

Hi Gals, thanks for the info on the consitpation as wed, I bring my gal for her jet and ask the doc on this issue. The Doc told me that it is the baby system, some babies can poo many times a day while other only poo 2-3 days. If your bb did not poo more than 5 days, then it is a big prioblem liao.

Jenifur,
Pls help me to update my gal's growth. 4.9Kg/59cm. Thanks!!!

Ling,

Thanks for your recommedation on Neo Garden. A lot of my guests like their food very much and I also intend to use them for my sis wedding next year. I fall in love with their egg tart and choclate elcair too.

BTW, how long did u gals do your confinement, 30 days or 40 days?

Hi Nuttnuts

Just a quick Q - actually I hv ordered catering for 55pax for my baby's full mth tmr - but end up inviting 70 guests. How's their serving size like?

nuttnuts: i just went to GNC to buy the fenugreek pills.. jus started today.. ain't tt sure will increase milk supply or not.. u wanna try? i give u about 10 to try? if ya free.. then we meet up in town or something.. then i'll pass u.. if u dun want.. think u can get it from gnc at $24.95 for 100pills..

sigh.. tried to latch on and feed till he is full leh.. obviously cannot.. gotta supplement with FM in the end...

adel: i tried latching sam just now...he fell asleep after changing breast and when i put him down, his eyes opened big big...after 5 mins, he fussed a little and i had to supplement with 100ml of FM...what a big eater my boy is...i will try latching him again later...now, he's trying to fall asleep in between my hubby & me...i just let him be cos he's not crying...

nutts: i was like once very low SS leh, frustrated and stress esp. after CL left. my SS went all time low. but then i managed to to steal time while bb sleeping to express. tks god i managed to express enough to keep extra in fridge. like i was say, try to pump out all the excess so tt new supply can be build up. i was make it a pt to pump out all, as more demand = more supply. i too eat lots of fish and drink milk too. u can try having more fluid drinks before pump and after pump. If i can have more than 30 bottles in fridge, i will surely share with others.

i do not have back ache frm latching, maybe ur sitting position is wrong and should be corrected. the only pain am experiencing now is the wrist ..
super pain and i cant seem to hold my girl using my strength from the wrist.
Food from Neo is good.. kekek.. i did 31 days cos i have my CL for 31 days.

sneaky: mm.. tat was a good try if u ask me.. then soon.. i think ur body will listen to u.. n produce enough milk..at night!lol..

am now supplementig brent with Fm.. was latching him on since 12am.. thought my bm not enough.. woke up to make milk only to find out tt he went bb to zzz... but i woke him up to change diapers.. n am feeding him nw anyway.. haha

morning adel and all!!!! you're most prob right...i feel so full and am prob experiencing engorgement...i'm pumping as i type...getting 70ml on left and 80ml on right...keke

ling: could we be suffering fm the same wrist prob??? mine very painful and bone protruding liao...

sneaky: mine not protruding, but simply cant take the pain at times, esp when someone is carrying Clarisse and pass back to me. i cant use my wrist strength to carry her neck, and have to bear the pain

Is this the routine nite feed scenario for all?
1) bb cry like mad while mother rush to prepare milk
2) satisfied look and blur blur if enuf milk... if not cry like mad again and mum top up
3) burp
4) sleep OR 4) cry again

So, if cry again, wat do u guys do? after checking all possibility eg poo/cold/hot

adel: i hope it is...but i did pop 2 fenugreeks last night after dinner...maybe that works for me too :D woman, i'm heeding your adv...using cloth nappies for sam now for at least half a day (after shower and before next clean up in the evening) if he's at home...i think he likes the cloth nappies...

ling: hmmm...the next time we meet, i see see for you, okay?

i have been taking fenugreek for 1 week, dun really see any increase in bm.probably because i only take 2 pills/day and i dun pump out except in the morning after i wake up.

should i increase to 4 pills/day? What is the max amount of pills you all took per day to see an increase in bm?

garfield: i took 2tabs/2 times a day before...you must pump diligently leh...besides latching, you shd also pump out to increase your supply...

sneaky: no babies would hate nappies! hiak hiak... coz its much cooler and allows the backside to breathe.. if its possible.. try to let samuel play on a rubber mat.. naked without anything.. for a while to air backside! they will feel quite comfortable.. not for too long.. maybe 15mins.. but make sure he's well fed.. and burped le..!

sneaky

u still taking fenugreek?

me took 2 tabs a day (once in morning & once at night). not much increase too prob cos i dont pump out. now starting to lor. very tiring

dear all
anyone want fenugreek, i have it and just open few days ago. still got 90 pils (think so), want to sell it at S$ 18. my BM already stop but my husband insist to buy it for me so i have more milk.

anyone drink mamil for breastfeeding, we bought it but i never drink it. want to sell it too... i got 2 tins... sell it at @ $ 7.00/tin

Do most of you mummies cope on your own in the middle of the nite of does your hubby wake up also to help? I suppose we can tahan during the maternity leave period, but wondering how to cope after that when both hubby and mummy has to work? I'm already feeling the strain..it's really tiring and I haven't even reached the end of the first month yet.

syl: actually the night feeds are alright when.. bb can differentiate btw day and night.. i trained my bb to diff.. btwn day n night so when the night falls.. he will only wake up for one or two feeds the max.. and goes back to sleep after i changed the diapers..
hb.. was sleeping after bb's week 2 so am left to fight with bb! no choice so train him lor..

if he dare to fuss at night.. i will throw him to sleep on the other bed.. and then after a while when he really cries.. then i will pick him up and tell him tt if he fuss again he will have to sleep alone! weird thing is tt.. he seemed to understand and will settle down.. to sleep with me in my arms... keke..
jus remember lor.. at night anything after 11pm.. all lights off in the room and make sure tt there's no noise at all incld no tv! leave a table lamp on.. hiak hiak..

Is this the routine nite feed scenario for all?
1) bb cry like mad while mother rush to prepare milk
2) satisfied look and blur blur if enuf milk... if not cry like mad again and mum top up
3) burp
4) sleep OR 4) cry again

So, if cry again, wat do u guys do? after checking all possibility eg poo/cold/hot

this scenario its like a daily affair for me.
my girl wakes up at 5am/6am for feed then refused to sleep, so i have to carry her and pat her to sleep, then put her beside me and sleep together.

syl

me also managing nite feeds while hubby sleeps in other rm. He helped during 1st week and boy u can see him super shack the next day altho he on leave.

so now he does not do nite duty. I also find it v tiring. And my girl does not nap much during day, only 2 hr at most
and wants company all the time, so no time to catch up on sleep. Getting used to it oredi, no choice, just waiting for this phase to past.

hi, all mummy

did anybody know? if i want to slim dowm, now i skip meal. each day i only drink milo and eat a bit of food, but i still have a lot of milk for my baby , i can pump out 3 bottle of 80-125ml of milk , i want to know is did my milk have nutritious for my baby????

or all the mummy milk good for baby????

did anybody know this????

gracemum: good amt of intake of nutrients is gd for bb. If you r BF, best to have good food and yet sliming down. Food like fish wont let u put on that extra pound. i am trying to shed some weight quick, but i dun resort to eating abit, but i carry on having food intake, but cutting down on Carbo instead.

gracemum ...

like what clarisse mum said ... its impt to take good and nutritious food is you are BFing ... cos whatever u take will affect the quality of the milk ... no doubt that the quantity is still there but its the quality of the milk that we are looking at ...

if you are doing what you have posted above ... your bb might be better off with FM where is can get those DNA, Omega 3 stuff ... just my tot ....

hi , clarisse's mum,seabreeze

thanks, I'm try to taking some" good food" also,but is very diff. because i have to take care baby, do housework by myself, cooking, i got nobody want to helf me.. , my MIL also never came and visit me not ever one after confinement..
my own mother @ uk takecare my brother baby le

quit tiring and lazi to cook also.. just take the easy way le