(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

RE : AVENT BOTTLE WARMER

For those using Avent Bottle Warmer, can i know if we have to monitor the time after turning the knob or the warmer will have a timer by the knob no. we turn to?

From the instruction, small bottle takes 5mins and we should turn to "3", bigger bottle is 6mins also to "3".

Eg. if me warming up EBM (stored in lower fridge compartment) in 4oz bottle, just turn knob to 3 and time for 5mins.

SSL: i have the same question too..btw, i don't really make use of the automation. i switch off the power when i feel that the milk is ready...don't really understand when is it ready for baby if we base on the lights on and off thingy...any experienced users???

Teats
I tried changing the pigeon teats to M sized too but my boy choked on it and a lot of milk leaked away. i switched it back to S teats. FYI, he could finish his 120ml of milk in 5 mins with the M teats...i think it's too fast liao...i changed because the S teats collapse when he drinks...therefore, the salesgirl at Taka adv me to change to M teats...

sneaky

do u swirl the bottle when its being "warmed"? Normally, when doing the traditional method, i will swirl the bottle occassionally to even out the heat.

so now your boy using S teats? when u say collapse meaning when he is sucking, it gets flatten?? mine does too at times but i guess maybe cos i was trying to pluck it out. how long it takes for your boy to finish his 120ml?

Anyone knows if where to buy those thermometer for testing the temperature of warm milk? btw, is there any temperature to note when it comes to warming up EBM or making FM?

sneaky: am so... upset..! i stupid stupid went to buy the avent pump yeh? then for the past few days... i pump out only 40ml of milk coz.. hand tired mah.. so now i tried out.. the ameda pump.. only can get 40ml~ arrgrggg!~~ i thought its alright jus to pump out a bit to relieve engorgement! never will i think tt my body also stupid enough to produce 40ml! sigh.. gotta re-establish my milk supply all over again! so tiring.. trying to pump out every 2 hours now.

SSL: yes, i do swirl the bottle...i still think the conventional method works better...the warmer is only convenient cos we don't need to get hot water and a cup...other than that, it's nothing fantastic about it, right?

yes, my boy uses S teats now. yah, the teats flattened when he's drinking halfway and the time taken to finish his milk doubled. i'm using the Peristaltic nipples, which are much softer than the standard ones...therefore, it collapses easily...he finishes his 120ml in 15 mins...yours?

adel: i was about to sms you to ask if you're enjoying your ameda...well, it's like that one lah...you'll definitely reap better results if you pump every 2 hours...i'm lazy leh...usually do so around 4 - 5 hrs interval...must learn to be like carole and you liao...i'm getting around 70 - 100ml per attemp...hope to get more leh....

Found this info from Avent website.. take alook

How long can I use a teat before it needs replacement?

AVENT teats are made from silicone rubber. Since silicone does not wear out or change shape, the teats will need to be changed less often than latex teats. We recommend changing the teats in any event after 3 months use, for hygiene reasons. Always inspect the teats before use and throw away if damaged.

Hi Adel, don't be demoralised. I had breast engorgement 3 days ago + fever and hardly anything came out too cuz of blocked ducts. Plus it was really painful and now I'm trying to get the supply back by using a hot towel to relieve the soreness. Hang in there, we're all doing ur best. Stay positive..breastfeeding is always tough, but a lot of us are in the same boat!

prob now is i do not have engorgement! sigh.. at least if got engorgement.. still nt so bad.. at least i know tt i have got milk! not now..

sneaky

brennan using s teat and also drinks 120ml FM in 15mins.

u girls so handworking, can still latch and pump. i latch already tiring so now only latch, no pump.

SURVEY

is any mummy keen 2 buy petpet (M,L,XL) at $12/pack and S-sized petpet at $42.60 for 6packs? collection is at pasir ris.

if i not wrong, for M,L,XL sized petpet, NTUC & Carrefour sells for $12.90, Kiddy Palace & Prime sells for $13.90 while Cold Storage sells for $14.90. not sure abt Giant.

u c, i hv lobang 2 buy petpet at the above price but need 2 c if there's gd response then i organise. i'm not profiteering from tis bulk purchase. will show mummies the receipt when u come by my plc 2 collect.

no min. quantity required

Sneaky: How often u clean the sterilizer?
When you put half water and half vinegar with one cycle meaning with bottles in?

Fun: I'm using Avent teat 2 also. How long does Alden takes to drink his milky? Mine around 20 - 30 mins to drink 100ml ... think he's the slowest!

FUn
thanks for the suggestion, will try your method.
its seem that he drinks slowly than when he is 1st first month. now he drink 100 ml around 20 mins. i suspect its because the flow.

SSL
btw... yest went to guardian pharmacy ask them abt my bb rash on his face. i told them that i apply drapolene now and its a bit spreading. she recommend me the cream that u mention to me yest. i bought it and apply to him last nite. it seems his rash subside, not too red liau. will continue to apply until really recover.

thanks SSL.

now everytime after drink milk will clean his mouth, face and neck with lukewarm water to prevent him from the rash.

SSL: i guess we're on the right track... :D

tennyson: no lah...i run teh cycle without the bottles...just clean the steriliser only...i clean it this way once a month as recommended (can be found in the instructions manual).

dear gals, i am tired from bf my gal.

really dunno wat to do. i latch my gal directly for her feed but she will only drink for abt 15mins from 1 breast then doze off. can't wake her up to continue to drink or drink from another breast so i lay her down to sleep. cham! 5mins later, she will cry and i have to carry her. no use using sarong, bed or cot. then carry her in my arms to sleep.

like tat, i have to feed her like every hr. how to rest like tat?
i dun wan to pump out to feed her cos i only can pump out abt 60ml which is not enough for her. she now drinks abt 90ml.
really feel like giving up bf.

garfield: i was like u in the past.. prob here is tt when u do not latch on.. cannot stimulate ms... but if u do not drain out properly.. ur body won't adjust ms to ur bb's needs! thks to myself for being lazy...i have been so lazy to express out properly.. n dun latch on often.. my ms actually dropped to 40ml! so can u imagine me cursing n swearing at myself for being so lazy!!

bottomline is u must drain ur breast properly..to increase ms! so tiring to have to re-establish my ms again..

garfield, adel: I know exactly how you both feel. I'm having the exact same problem. This whole week, my girl is also drinking 10 mins and falling asleep every time. It's very frustrating as I can't wake her up. Few minutes later, she wakes up for milk again. I'm trying not to give up too... Agree with Adel that we have to let the baby suckle to get the milk flowing. Mine isn't flowing at the moment and I'm frustrated as well. Have cut down the latching and increased the bottle feeding. Hopefully, I'd feel better and that baby gets out of the falling asleep habit.

pammie: was is you who said u can give some fenugreek pills for mothers like us.. with low milk supply to try? if so, can u pass me some? am so desperate now. he is 4 weeks old now coming to 5th week.. and he is drinking like 100ml.. but can last only 2hours! argrg...

sneaky: think the pain could be called carpal tunnel syndrome?? read from internet... have to wait few months to get well?! faint..

can i know how much babies week by week should drink? my CL just left and so far my baby's taking 90ml... my CL just increase 10ml every other day i think. but is that right?

garfield: i facing same prob sometimes too.also, my baby i think got nipple confusion dun wan to latch properly. he just suck only the nipple then i gotto push myself in so he gets the whole areola... then he will stretch very vigorous til all red and 'unplug' himself by pulling away.. this a few times!

sometimes bf for 1 hour already after that he still cry then no choice got to give FM (hate having to give FM) always feel bad... like so useless can't give him the best...

oh ya, anyone know if we should clean their tongue cos of the white residue? if not wat will happen? and how to clean?

I use a piece of square facial cotton dipped in cool boiled water. Squeeze dry the cotton and put over your index finger to clean baby's tongue. Hope that helps.

Tennyson

Did u let yr bb cry den give the milk or once u see bb's mouth moving onli u will give? I find tat if Alden nv cry for milk, he drinks slowly.. if he cry and waited for the milk, he drinks faster! haha

pammie:

thanks, let me think tink. is the capsule big? i hate big ones!

ssl:

my bb different fr yours. once she has her bath, she's very much awake and dun sleep easily. so alot of things like sterilsation n breakfast has to be done early morning b4 her bath starts.

jenifur:

today i tried my MIL's mtd, it works so far! when baby seems sleepy, i put her in the high chair(the type which can swing) and swing. i sang her songs at the same time. she fell asleep in about 10 min time and lasted till 1 hr. that was the 1st try. but now the holiday, difficult for her to sleep long too, with all the children's noise coming from downstairs.

yr baby very chubby hor!big eyes somemore! think all babies who drink fm are chubby?! my girl has double chin. :p

btw, can u pls update the growth chart? my girl's name to be changed to J. her ht at birth was 47 cm. after 1 mth, it was 3.92kg/52cm. thanks so much!

RE : AVENT BOTTLE WARMER

For those using Avent Bottle Warmer, can i know if we have to monitor the time after turning the knob or the warmer will have a timer by the knob no. we turn to? the knob are not timer, u have to be ur own timer. i bought a timer clock and set to 5 mins to tell me its time the milk has heated up.

adel: dun be demoralised, i think u are stress tts why the milk is slightly lesser. cos pumping out and latching are totally different. so give urself sometime.

garfield: cos u latch her, tts why EBM will be lower. while pumping and not enough supply to ur girl, try giving little FM first. i too started with FM till my BM comes in, and from 100% FM to 50% to now 0% FM, but FM still required when i am out with my girl. No one is God and so dun give urself pressure. but of cos, i would suggest u to latch her everyday, i latched my girl during her nite feed, so i wont have to purposely get up to heat EBM. so this will let my girl remember how to latch.

EBM:
Constant pumping will help in the flow of EBM, but always remember to pump all out, so tt the supply can be build up again. even after u latch the bb, make sure u pump the remainder out. frankly speaking, i am not an expert, trial and errors help me alot and i am now able to have spare EBMs in the fridge. so u girls just stay calm and u will be getting where i am now.

HPM: i used Neo for my girl's full mth... nice food! yum! i am gng to use them for my bro's wedding too

Clarissemummy

RE: EBM

So if i am taking Fenugreek to increase my ss, its still advisable to pump out after every latch? alamak, then very bo-si-kan leh....

Me not pumping out now. always latch, so far ok during day time and wee hours feed, though interval maybe shorter. But usually he wants more from evening till 12midnight so i will top up with FM whenever he demands more, rather than relatch again.

I usually store my EBM in lower compartment of fridge, hence have to consume within 2 days. And i have to combine 3-4 pumping before i can get 120ml. that makes me wonder if i should continue pumping.

Btw, if we store in chiller (not freezer)compartment of fridge, how long can it last har? And if we store in freezer, so for every pump, i just add on to the frozen one ah, since i need 3-4pumps to get one feed? or i combine 3-4pumps then freeze it?

RE: AVENT BOTTLE WARMER

Do u find that after 5mins, the milk is usually too hot? if so, how long do you normally warm it then?

RE: THERMOMETER

Any lobang where to get those thermometer for measuring the milk temperature. btw, how warm should milk be for feeding BB?

My boy fidgets and fuss alot lately during his sleep (day or night). hence me also affected especially at night. last night woke up every hourly by it.... wonder whats wrong with him?

RE: EBM
So if i am taking Fenugreek to increase my ss, its still advisable to pump out after every latch? alamak, then very bo-si-kan leh....
<font color="aa00aa">best to pump out, cos this remainder will signal to produce the amt of milk just enough to replace. if u pump out the remainder, it sends a signal to produce more, so the supply will increase.</font>

Me not pumping out now. always latch, so far ok during day time and wee hours feed, though interval maybe shorter. But usually he wants more from evening till 12midnight so i will top up with FM whenever he demands more, rather than relatch again.
<font color="aa00aa">Latching dun allow us to know the amt of feed, where Expressing it out does.</font>

I usually store my EBM in lower compartment of fridge, hence have to consume within 2 days. And i have to combine 3-4 pumping before i can get 120ml. that makes me wonder if i should continue pumping.
<font color="aa00aa">Room Temp. can keep up to 10 hours, Lower compartment can keep up to 5 days, and freezer up to 6mths</font>

Btw, if we store in chiller (not freezer)compartment of fridge, how long can it last har? And if we store in freezer, so for every pump, i just add on to the frozen one ah, since i need 3-4pumps to get one feed? or i combine 3-4pumps then freeze it?

<font color="aa00aa">add to newly EBM to the older one</font>

RE: AVENT BOTTLE WARMER

Do u find that after 5mins, the milk is usually too hot? if so, how long do you normally warm it then?
<font color="aa00aa">5mins is just nice, if not u try 4mins 30 sec</font>

precious moments

called up TMC to ask, can rebond/ colour when breastfeeding. I also cheong to do that during confinement.

fushiastar

hehe, i din separate ebm from raw food in freezer and the sealing caps not tight, so hence the taste i guess.

Fun

will go buy avent to store ebm too. tried turning the hospital glass bottles upsidedown with sealing caps and find that they leak, so not airtight. Can we freeze the avent bottles?

SSL

err...dont know if mine's silicone or latex. It's clear transparent teat, what's that?

yesterday mum heated a sewing needle over flame and used it to melt the pigeon S teat hole bigger, works
should be better than cutting coz can have several attempts to get the desired flow. can try.

how do u girls clean the teats? mine has become 'cloudy' colour and not nice nice like a new teat.

whitefloral:will go buy avent to store ebm too. tried turning the hospital glass bottles upsidedown with sealing caps and find that they leak, so not airtight. Can we freeze the avent bottles? <font color="aa00aa">yes avent bottles can freeze, there is Avent Breast Milk Bottle, a box of 4. i am using them! excellent... kekeke.. they comes with sealing caps and disc for all bottles too. i actually wanna buy another 4 bottles, i scare hb scold, then i bought the bags form Sneaky instead. </font>

whitefloral

transparent one is silicon

Latex is yellowish in colour.

I clean the teats using teat brush. if i find the teat changes colour, i throw away :p

ClarisseMummy

U dont latch gerger in the morning hor. so u pump and feed her with EBM la. And only latch her during wee hours feeding. Do u find your ss drop in this way?

I intend to try your method so that I can pump and increase ss. But i think i cant be like u. each pump will get enough for one feed. Got to be several pumps wo. Probably have to pump every 2 hourly.

Do u find your ss at wee hours low if u dont latch gerger??

pammie

any advice since u are taking Fenugreek too?

clarissemummy

do u store all your EBM in freezer? so when feeding time, u just thaw it by running it under tap or other methods?