(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

U dont latch gerger in the morning hor. so u pump and feed her with EBM la. And only latch her during wee hours feeding. Do u find your ss drop in this way?

its still the same. i kena low supply during the 1st week after my CL left, cos i hands n legs mahz.after tt my supply almost went back to normal. i dun latch her during the day unless i am out and if the public plc permits, if not she will be on FM. At home, she is always on EBM till wee hours then Latching her on.

If each pump of one feed, u try drinking more liquid and eat more fish, it helps alot.

My ss low or not, i am not sure, but once i latch her for 10mins on one side and she falls asleep, it will last her for at least 2-3 hours. if not enough, she auto wakes up within one hour.

So far i only have 2 bottles in Freezer, i keep them in lower compartment. if u know u need the milk, i sugest u dun put into the freezer. sure finish in time, unless u have alots of milk supply, if not i guess we are pumping just enough for the feeds.
Since u have bottle warmer. u can use it to thaw, switch on the warmer, and then leave it on for 5-8 mins, then switch off and leave the bottle inside.

thanks for clearing my doubts.
ermz.. talking abt breastfeeding, my girl is 3 weeks old, i feed her bf her abt every 2 hours, ixxit ok if i dont pump after feed? also, what u mummies do when u go out without ur baby? u pump out before going out? then when u r out, what to do if ur breast feel full again? ixxit ok to wear normal wire bras when u go out? cos the support better n look nicer with clothing. then how u breastfeed when wearing normal bras? take it out?

clarissemummy

think your ss establish liao. for me, duno yet. but for sure at night bet 7-12, he will want more.

now, i latch brennan for 15mins on each breast, usually he will pop out the nipple by that time too. Sometimes he fell asleep after one breast, but after i switch to the other, he will wake up. so i guess my ss still not there yet. if enough, it will last him for 2hrs+. but sometimes he will wake up after 1+hrs or sometimes he wont, so gotta wake him up. wonder if sleeping in sarong makes him more sleepy. how u know gerger wants milk? the rooting signals?

so ur EBM in lower compartment and normally will be consumed within 2days la. but your ss quite good right cos remembered you can pump quite alot.

PM: ermz.. talking abt breastfeeding, my girl is 3 weeks old, i feed her bf her abt every 2 hours, ixxit ok if i dont pump after feed? its ok not to pump, but emptying the breast helps to build more supply. also, what u mummies do when u go out without ur baby? no chances i head out without her unless i am gng for a wedding dinner during these 2 mths u pump out before going out? then when u r out, what to do if ur breast feel full again? a good habit to pump before you head out. if not gng out with a full breast will land u with engorgment. ixxit ok to wear normal wire bras when u go out? cos the support better n look nicer with clothing. i am wearing wired bras, its ok and no fuss as long as u are comfortable. then how u breastfeed when wearing normal bras? take it out? practices makes perfect, i usually wear strapless bras, so i just flip the top down and start feeding.

SSL: when she cries, if she starts looking for the nipples u know its time for milk.. kkekeke..
currently i have 9-12 bottles of EBM in the fridge. as for my SS, i think during the confinement period, my CL really make me good food and soup. every morning i can express abt 5-8 oz and subsequent abt 3-5 oz each pump, both sides. i guess one has to be real hardworking.. and i alwasy try to empty the breast, cos when demand increase, supply increase.

YK: kns... i super hungry.. want to go eat, and started raining..
not advice, just sharing.. kns.. she sleeping.. mai cha.. i wan to eat macdonalds..

Re:Rebonding
Me too!went rebonding and colour my hair as soon as my confinement is over...feel so shiok man.

Re: EBM
Yes, u shd pump out often to increase ur milk ss. Dun be lazy, as u will get engorgement. if u empty out ur breast, it will signal to ur body that u need dat amt of milk ss. As for me, since I wanna stop before Dec, I have reduced the no. of time i pump out, from 5x to 3x per day. Each time, I din empty out the breast...now I can see that my milk ss is dropping. By a month's time, I believe my milk SS will be nil.

Hi Clarisse's Mum,
I am a teacher, so can u imagine how pathetic a staff lounge is? We dun have a nursing room. These few days when I go back to sch to work, I tried pumping milk behind a curtain!I am very conscious male colleagues or students will just walk in. I can't hear any footsteps as the sounds made by the electric pumps is so loud.

I find expressing milk in school very troublesome. Also, I wanna stop partly because I stay with my in laws who dun encouraged me to bf. i dun have my own fridge to store my EBM. Currently I am using HER fridge to store my EBM and she keeps complaining that I took up alot of space...hmm...

if i pump out the milk, feed the expressed milk to baby? im alittle confused. if i keep pumping, then keep feeding her with the expressed milk, then i cant latch her on directly? i can feel my milk supply decresing alittle. as the baby grow older, she will demand more milk right?

PM,

just to share what i do to build ss.

pump every 3hr, wake up at nite to pump too. Day/nite latch on 1-2 feeds. If her feeding time coincides w my pumping time, i will pump out the remaining after she feeds n store in fridge. Rest of feeds are on ebm.

drink a lot of fluids, esp soups. try to catch a nap too.

also must strongly believe that u have enough to feed your precious one. Stress affects ss.

clarisse mum n daddy
u guys very cute, talk here

Whitefloral.. Must seperate!.. If not bacteria from raw food may get to ebm and milk Will spoil!.. I have 2 lpastic containers in my freezer, one to contain raw food, the other to contain ebm..

Precious moments, i think what is meant is that after you latch baby, then pump out whatever is remaining in the breast.. expressed milk store and feed if at any particular future latching session there's not enough milk or you want someone to feed fot you..
I use a shawl to cover baby's head and latch

PM: pumping out breast milk = EBM. u can pump and also latch your girl. like me i express out and latch me girl too. decreasing of BM can be due to several reasons. maybe u can take more fish and have more fluid intake. if there is no nursing room, i will go to the toilet or even public just lift the blouse up and cover the bb face, i ever BF in the car too. :p i sterilize my bottles and pump funnels in the steriliser.

Fiona: so funny.. how come got such PIL. tks god my MIL is very suypportive.

whitefloral: lol.. he always like to KPo.. :p

hi all mummies,
May I know who will be taking care of your bb when you go back to work?
anyone of you here intend to put your bb in infant care centre?

Any advice what to look out for in IFC?Got to search for one now...before I go back to work.

sigh......... wat a day..
Brent went for his 2nd hep b jab.. he was alright when i was around.. then.. i thought should be ok to go for a movie and leave him with my pil... but....... when i came back he started fussing and became real cranky.. dunno the reason.. too.. but i would not say its my pil's fault.. prob its coz of the jab? any one's baby went for hep b jab.. then became cranky? if my pil's the cause.. then i wun dare to leave him there anymore le..
i tried to let my mum take care of him for one night.. and gosh.. he was asleep most of the time.. and of course i had a good night sleep.. sigh... am so.. tired now.. gotta go sleep for my night feeds le..

as for ms.. it did increase a bit but needless to say.. am so stressed out now.. so.......

good night everyone..

Good morning mummies. I still have a week to go for confinement. Realised that my girl is getting used to being carried by my CL such that only my CL can pacify her when she cries. I'm getting frustrated cuz my girl seems to want my CL instd of me :-( Did any of u experience the same thing? I'm just worried that it will be a nightmare after my CL leaves. Care to share your experiences?

syl:
my girl also like that.. like yesterday.. no matter how i carry her tap her she dun wan to sleep.. my CL carry her and tap her a while niah she fall asleep liao.. then i asked my CL any difference in my carrying she said no leh.. cham.. my CL leaving next tues.. my CL said maybe she got more meat so bb like her to carry... sigh..

whitefloral

how much can u pump out each time? it seems that the only way to increase ss is to pump
if no time to latch and pump, guess have to adopt you and clarissemummy's method, ie. pump and feed EBM, latch a while.

So far, my day and wee hours ss seems ok. but from 8pm-12 i dont really latch cos BB seems easily frustrated and quickly hungry during that period. so will just feed FM after i latch around 7pm if he is still hungry.

adel

brennan is ok when he went for the hep b jab. probably cos change of environment hence Brent not used to it?

Syl & Kuririn

its like that one. CL seems to be able to do wonders to our BBs. We try to follow the same style of carrying but Bbs will still cry. Give BB sometime to get used to you after CL leaves. I had a hard time initially too, but now ok liao. Hubby and I still cant settle his cries at times, and only MIL can.

ssl: mm... i just realised something.. no pump is better than bb themselves.. u know ah.. i tried to express and drain my breast.. five mins later.. Brent was crying for milk then i latched him on.. my breast still produced milk miraculously.. and on the other side.. got let down.. wah.. world's best pump!

San, has bb been sleeping with u every nite? I still haven't tried. Perhaps this wkend.

SSL, thanks for the encouragement!

fushiastar,
depot rd? great! I worked somewhere nearby. Can I have the contact no. pls?

And how much is the fee after subsidy? wats the ratio of care giver to bb? Can I just pop in someday to visit or do I have to book an appt with them 1st?

Sorry for asking so much. Tks!

Syl:
yup bb had been sleeping with me since last week.. very tiring especially if she dun wan to sleep and keep crying and u duno what she wants.. this happened yesterday nite and the nite before.. the nite before she tortured us to 3am then fall asleep.. last nite better abt 1am.. sigh.. made me and hubby had sleepless night.. more worried for hubby cos he still need to drive to work.. night time i try to handle everything myself so that hubby can have good rest..

hi mummies, my baby always suckle for at most 10 mins then fall really deep asleep, when i try to feed her more, she jus ignore n continue sleeping, i was always wondering if she is getting enough milk? once our milk supply drop, we cant get it back?

ermz..got another question, what contraceptive method is the best? my gyane recommended inserting someting into the.. ermz.. i dont knw what its called. my gynea said the procedure its something like pap smear, it cost $450 and it can last for 5 years. it has 2 version, he recommended the better version to me.

PM

try to burp your BB and it will wake her up
Sometimes, Brennan also like that. What i do is i will let him sleep on the nursing pillow for a while, then he will wake up automatically when i switch to the other breast.

Your gynae probably referring to IUD?? Ask your hubby to use condom la, less invasive for u.

SSL

like wat Adel say, no pump will be as effective as bb
i pump coz my girl like to fall asleep at the breast after 5min n will wake every hr to feed coz she didnt eat much. like last nite i latch her on, she fed 1am 15min,3am 5min ,4am 5min. By the time she cried for milk again at 5am, i was so tired, gave in and gave her ebm.

Bottle feeding ebm last her longer. The increase in ss came as a bonus, so trying to freeze some for her to contd to take when i return to work. can get +/- 1 litre in 24hr.

whitefloral: ya a cow!!!!!!!! so good with such good supply... 5 mins can settle her? then u should try the lying down method.. jus lift ur top n let her suckle.. while u can continue to sleep.. unless u are bad at sleeping.. as in like.. u toss and turn all over the bed..

CL: jus to share: a day after my CL left, the whole nite 2am to 7am baby fuss and cry! Then the next evening, we prevented him from sleeping and then next nite was normal again. could be cos he got jab the nite before the fussing nite.

my hubby and i were actually quite upset that bb seemed to stop crying and prefer CL on a few ocassions but now she's left, haha bb got no choice but to adapt to parents now...

My baby i also a Oct 05 baby. He is exactly a month old today. I'm happy as I think he is progressing well in his weight as he is considered quite small at birth (2.64kg delivered at 37th wk). He is now over 4kg & hopefully he will catch up with his fellow Oct baby frens very soon.

You gals are lucky to be able to bf from breasts, me I give exclusive EBM & 3 feeds of formulas per day as baby refuses to latch on.

adelyee:
my baby was cranky and cried for no reason at nite also when she had her jab. its normal and it does happen to some babies.

adel

where got so super 5 min settle her. She doze off to dreamland then 1hr later wake up to feed again.

ask u girls, do u find the breasts very big and ugly? cant fit into my work tops. will go back to normal when we stop bf? always wished breasts were bigger, now, they r too big

hi adel

I supplement with Similac Excellence Infant for night feeds. But still I try my best to wake up at night to express milk (now I waiting for my pump to be sterilised cos just now wake up blur blur, drop it onto the floor).

Clarisse's mum
Thanks, hope to exchange info with the rest of you since our babies should be ard the same months of age

would like to ask you all hor, have you all start to stock up ebm (in fridge or freezer) in preparation for your return to the work place?
Currently, i do not have extra bm to be pumped out to store so not sure when i shld start pumping out bm then store in fridge or freezer for my bb

yippe: sure.. no problem at all.. let me know wat info u need, i will try to source.
u should try changing all nite feeds to latching on, as it helps to let bb remember how to latch and also latching can increase supply.

garfield: storing of EBM, any EBM stored in lower compartment for last than 48 hours can be freeze, but if stored in lower conpartment for more than 48 hours, it cant be freezse anymore. You should try to pump every 2 hours to establish a good suply of BM, so tt u will have extra EBM to store. i am currently storing an average of 8-9 bottles in the fridge.

yippe: bb refuses to latch on? 1st, is ur nipple flat or inverted? if yes, then either get a nipple corrector or nipple shield. it helps to latch bb on. it not bb refusing ur milk, maybe due the style of carrying. when bb is hungry (not crying too hard) try to latch bb.

adel,

sorry for not replying soon enuf cos' bz teaching maid for past few days so I didn't really log on to read.. Ya, i was the one who wanted to share my Fenugreek pills with mothers who have low MS becos it doesn't work for all mothers and I thought if u try and it works, you can go and buy your own bottle cos' one bottle has 100 caps so it will be a waste if it doesn't work.. But it's close approaching 30days since I last opened it so I dont think I will want to share with u la cos' suppose to discard 30days after opening bottle right?? if u have GNC at your area, just buy a bottle and try and if it doesnt work so well then maybe you can sell it away..

Mothers, got advice for me or not? My little gal is 2 mths old and weighs a pathetic 4.6kg ! she has hardly gained any weight over 2 weeks.. Her drinking is still 60ml for every 2 hrs.. She's otherwise v happy and peaceful and doesn't cry after being fed. Most of the time I latch on but once a day I feel from bottle EBM (i dont give her formula). Now i read that most of your babies at 1 mth weigh either same as or more than her, Im really concerned.. she was 3.2kg at birth.. That means over 2 mths, she gained only 1.4kg. sigh..

pammie: 60ml for a 2mth old bb? u wanna give ur PD a call? as long as she is growing, dun be too worried. stay calm yaz

SSL

I hv pretty much same prob as u, i latch Tammi 90% of the time cos' in the day i have nothing to express! i can only do it in the morning when both breasts are full n even then with Fenugreek, I get about 80 - 90 ml without I get abt 50 - 60ml. And really it's hard for me to express and I know I still hv milk cos' she continues to suckle but nothing comes out when I express. So I can't follow what Clarissemum says abt latching and then pumping the rest out.. My girl also fidgets in the nite and I will sometimes 'scold' her and tell her to go to sleep cos' I need sleep and then after a while she quietens down..

Garfield, it depends on how much stock there is. Those that I would need to use for bottle feeding during the day, I store them in the fridge since they will only keep for 48 hours. Those which I don't require, I store them in the freezer and bring them down to the fridge to thaw when I need them.