(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Nuttnutts just delivered her baby this afternoon around 1pm+.
Here baby weighs 3.685kg.

Congrats, Nuttnuts!

Thanks very much, everyone.

jenifur,
Thanks for the link. Will read it & try to "fight" wif my boy...

SSL,
Oh, issit? Then how much you give your bb FM now?
Like you, now at home, i supplement him with FM cos my BM oso quite low ss.
I give him 50ml every 2 hrs. But he seems like not very full ley.

fresia,
Dun be too afraid. I think my case is very rare ones lor, just like my gynae said.
And luckily I "survived" through liao.

congrats nuttnuts

Puea

Am giving my boy 110ml FM. only increase few days ago. U can try giving him more cos if he is full, he will spit out the teat

We increase from 60ml to 90ml (only 1day) and to 110ml. Think he probably going through the growth spur. Now he 23days old.

Last time also let him latch and supplement with FM and didnt do much pumping. I'm now trying very hard to latch and pump and latch and pump. Tiring but at least can get accumulated EBM for him to feed. BM still not alot during expressing. cos i usually pump after latching to empty the breasts. Usually get bet 10ml - 30ml. This morning woke up at 3.30am to pump, got 40ml. Was advised to pump or latch (better if both) between 1-5am as its the time where most milk are being made.
Hope all my efforts will pay off soon so that I can BF him in day time and he can sleep well too.

I dont have a fixed schedule of feeding. I feed when he demands. Usually 100ml of EBM can last him
1+ - 2hrs. FM will be longer. probably 3+hr.

hi all..

Thanks to all!!
was discharged this morning! just finished reading.. the thread.. will post birth story later!

back again this time really in depression even my gynae said i am slightly depress easily cry now

my breast engorgement is damn jiat lat i have been have fever ever since wednesday till now...i feel so tired, weak and sad.

I dunno i can persist breastfeeding till when....

gynae said i belong to those group have too much milk supply that why engorgement very very often.

isit true? for ladies who have breast engorgement do you have fever too? my fever range from 37.8 to 38.6 leh.

<font color="119911">ling</font>,

yah our babies can celebrate bday together

<font color="119911">whitefloral</font>,
be strong ok guess the old generation people wun understand why are we going thru such hardship to give BM to our babies to them just use FM lor convenient and easy for everybody...

Celine: me oso crying on n off.. dunno for wat reason. but try to stay cheerful ok! if ur milk supply is slightly more, then the option will be pumping it out constantly every 2 hours to ease the engorment.
surely there is a way. stay relax

Adel: welcome back!

On Formula Milk - how long can we keep an opened tin of FM?

I bought a tin of Nan 1 HA on 30 Sep, and used it for 2 feeds.. I am told I can't keep the tin of milk powder beyond 3 weeks once opened. Is this true? I left it in cool place but not in fridge.. if I really have to throw it away, v wasteful! it was almost $30..

any advice?

mm.. finished readin the posts le.. think i still have some time left before the next feed.. so decided to tell my birth story here ba..

18oct 4.00pm
went into gynae's clinic to have ctg scan and pelvic check. was told tt pelvic is very soft now.. so easy dilation. gynae then inserted one pill and sent me home. went back home but couldn't sleep in the end coz of the anticipation.. haha..

19oct 12midnight
admitted myself into the hospital after taking roti prata and teh tarik! was sent to the delivery suite.. and bla bla bla.. there was a porter to take my bags ant etc! amazing.. haha

19oct 2am
gynae came and check if my cervix is dilated or not.. was about 1cm dilated le.. then he went on to burst my water bag and put me onto the drip to hasten the dilation! god.. tt was painful..and ask if i wanna have epi or not? i said no.. but will opt for it if its too painful.. he then gave me a smile and said.. okie.. be careful.. its gonna hurt..

19oct 4am
couldn't take it anymore.. contractions came in straight after 2am.. and in the intervals of 1-2mins each! asked for epi.. was in so much pain till i couldn't make any sound! haha.. then 15 mins later.. my epi came! and of course it felt good! hahahah.. wat a relief.. was then about 4-5cm dilated.

19oct 6am
could feel the baby's head going down onto the groin area.. and its painful even with epi..( i think.. they didn't give me such a strong dosage.. maybe scared tt i couldn't push!) and staff nurse came in to check and told me tt am only about 6cm dilated.. hiak hiak..

19oct 7am
my dear.. gynae came to check me.. and told me tt am about 7-8cm dilated! which also meant tt am only 2cm away.. (stupid nurse was told by my gynae tt am definitely going for natural since dilation is so fast) i was told by her tt i gotta wait till 11am before cervix dilation is completed.. imagine the torture..

19oct 8 plus

my dear dear gynae came again.. and was told by him tt am ready! oh my god.. its only then the fear sets in and i suffered from anxiety attacks! my gynae and hb calmed me down.. and told me tt its gonna be over soon... and they were right.. they prepared everything.. and baby was out within 4pushes! i could feel the pushing.. thanks to the anaethetist! he gave me sufficient epi to cover the contractions.. only.. not as in like.. my whole body was numb..

side effects of epi for me..: erm.. only shivering.. no.. vomitting or whatsoever after tt...

was able to get out of the bed within 3 hours after delivery.. and was scolded by the nurse..(suppose to stay in bed for 6 hours at least due to epi). hiak hiak. too active i guess..
had a wonderful stay in glen e.. though..

Adel: whahhahahah... After 3 hours get out of bed. ok leh.
kekekekke... how come got anxiety attacks? u too worried liaoz. I did not have any pain during the dilation after my epid. and neither the pain u mentioned. maybe my dosage of epid more than urs

Pammie: how come use 2 feeds only?

pammie: i've had her for close to 3 weeks. before i could test her out, i was pressured to get a replacement. after 3 weeks, i find that this maid is not bad...she's quite good at her job already. it's so sad to part with her.

congrats, Adel! hope you enjoy motherhood...

ling: i think we fall prey to depression easily at this stage. my mum told me that we shouldn't cry during confinement cos it wind will enter our eyes and cause puffiness forever. my massage lady also said that crying will affect the baby and our milk ss. so girls, please don't cry. stay happy, okay? i know it's easier said than done cos i cried many times already...breastpump...get the Avent one lah...not bad!

clarissemummy/sneaky: thanks! yea.. i am currently enjoying motherhood.. hiak hiak... and thankfully.. my milk supply came in time.. haha.. i was bf him.. on one side.. and the other one was leaking.. wat a waste...

seabreeze: yea! dr cheng.. is very steady!! haha.. i adore him so.. much!!!

mummies here: anyone got the chinese word software? am unable to get my son's name registered coz.. of the fan ti zi surname...

they say must write directly into birth cert.. *pengz*

adel: no waste no waste.. ask hubby to take the other side.., whahahahhahaha. :p
my's birth cert got this ugly hand writting! OMG... lol. whahahaha

Actually, there is a shield in Taka which i saw, its good when we are breast feeding one side n use the shield on the other, so the BM wont go to waste.
let me go find the pic for u all.

http://www.babynme.com.sg/farlin/nursing_accessories.htm

Breast Shield, 633
For breastfeeding mothers
For nursing mothers whose nipples are sore or irritated
Prevents leakage &amp; backflow of mother milk
Eliminates the need for breast pads
Help to correct flat or inverted nipples during pregnancy
Sterilizable
2 per box

Breast Shield, 633A
For breastfeeding mothers
For nursing mothers whose nipples are sore or irritated
Prevents leakage &amp; backflow of mother milk
Eliminates the need for breast pads
Help to correct flat or inverted nipples during pregnancy
Sterilizable
2 per box

my breastmilk very little...when i try to pump out, it is less than 1oz from both breasts. Drinking papaya &amp; fish bone soup liao still no use...anyone got any suggestions? *STRESS*

garfield: i think my bm supply is sufficient.. (meet my son's demand) coz am feeling really relaxed.. as in like happy to have him.. not like very gan chiong about this and tt.. so this could probably be one of the reasons? and on top of tt.. i drank a lot of milo!!! one big cup half and hour before bf time!

i hope this will be of some help!

SSL

my girl also increased her demand suddenly in a day. She's 17days old and today she drank 200ml within 3hr

me also get up to pump at 3am, realised can get more than usual. Will contd to do that.

Garfield

I had yellow colostrum for 4-5 days before milk came in. Didn't suppliment bb. Spoonfed her the tiny bit of colostrum. In the meantime try to massage your breasts and pump/ latch on to stimulate milk. Drinking the papaya and fish soup helps too.

sneaky

my friend also told me can't cry during confinement too. How, don't cry also cry liao. Now just trying my best to control my emotion and rationalise things instead.

garfield

try drinking hot milo, massage w hot towel before u pump. Must try to have sleep, realised when i sleep, listen to music that I like, take deep breaths when pumping, can pump bit more. hope it works for u

congrats adel! u r really one relaxed mum envy u coz i was and am tired din really have good rest since discharged.

aiyo my boy 11 days old drinking 100ml every 2~3 hrs normal boh? my pedratrician said bb must put on 0.25g per day.... so stresses.

whiteflora: my son (22 days old) also suddenly increased his demand. he drank 160ml within 2 hrs 2 times last night...goodness! he used to drink only 100ml and can last him 4-5 hrs...now 3 hrs have to feed him liao...as for crying, yah...try to control. i'm also trying very hard...hey, talking abt breast milk, i think i'm also stressed out instead of being relaxed. that's why my supply is getting lower and lower...very sianz...

sneaky: i heaerd tt pumping will lower the supply. maybe u wanna try to latch on instead. use the nipple corrector then let Sam latch.

ling: i am very scared of getting him to latch on cos he'll cry and become so angry...however, i will try again later to see if he's okay with a nipple shield first. maybe i correct nipple myself...or i pump until my nipples get longer then latch him...

Sneaky: u guide him to ur nipple.. by holding him firmly..
then tease his mouth with ur nipple.. (erm.. dun get the wrong idea hor) i mean tts what i have been doing till.. even now when my hb carries him when he is hungry.. he will open his mouth to search for my nipple to latch on..

Ladies, i need some advise from you all.

Went to the gynae today. Today is my EDD and still no sign of birth. Gynae told me to come back on monday and we will decide what to do.
Gynae also said that bb's head is not fully engaged yet,thus i didn't have any pain or whateve...

Should i otp for c-section or induce birth on monday? Since bb's head not fully engage, its no use for me to try natural birth right? or should i try for it?

If induce, is it very painful? I read so many of your's birth story, very scary. After inserting the pill, it is still a must for the drip?

pls advise...i'm confuse leh

dun worry abt not engaging. when the gynae decide to induce, the inducing process will make the bb to engage downwards. some inducing by drip only, and some induce via pill then drip. depends on the call of the gynae. dun be so worried, you pay ur gynae to let the gynae worry.
stay calm n relax.. and keep telling bb time to come.. and daddy n mummy is expecting u.

fresia

trust your gynae and leave things in his/her gd hands. it's difficult but try not to worry. you will have your own unique birth story to tell and we will look forward to it ok? Everything will be worthwhile when u hold your bb in your arms
all the best!

sneaky,

i get what u mean when bb's angry. Mine's also supe angry when I try to latch her on. Cry and cry, fight and fight. maybe u wana try to latch him on when he's half full on ebm so hopefully he has bit more patience then? That's what I am doing coz 1 of my nipple is flat and when the breast if full, all the more my girl can't find the flat nipple.

Q to ask u girls, if we warm up 100ml of ebm for bb and she drinks 80ml, can we keep the 20ml back to fridge? very wasted if throw leh

Ling and whitefloral: Thanks, i will leave it to the gynae then. In the mean while, hope bb will want to come out these 2 days.

Adel,

Congrats! you must be relieved that the waiting game is over.

u decided to induce during your visit to Dr Cheng? Just wondering, why did he propose to induce instead of waiting for the baby to come out himself?

Fresia,

Just to share, I went to induce becos' my baby was getting too big and still no sign of birth/engaged. But I didn't feel any pain becos' i had epidural before my gynae broke my waterbag. When cervix fully dilated, the baby was still high up, so gynae used forceps. When you have epidural, you wouldn't feel much pain except some discomfort from the numbness. So dun worry too much, so long as the baby is of right size to come out naturally, dun have to consider c-section (unless cervix refused to dilate).

hi adel, i've tried that in the hospital. tease him with my nipple until he got milk rash on his cheeks...so heartache. well, i think whiteflora has given me a good suggestion and i will try that.

whiteflora: i've checked with my experienced SIL and massage lady. they both said that it's okay to keep it but make sure it's not left outside at room temperature for more than 15 mins after baby stops drinking. however, this way, the quality of milk will deteriorate.

viola: hahaha.. i decided to induce out.. after discussing with Dr Cheng coz.. i was suffering from pain..
it wasn't his decision at all..

Those breastfeeding, does your nipple feel sore? Does the skin of the nipple kind of dry up after you feed ?
I tend to feel the baby's gum chewing on the nipple even when the whole aerola is already in the mouth...

help!

ruff: mine sore.. maybe u can try using the nipple shield.

my noti girl uses her gum to bite me.. and worse cos i express my BM for her.. and more sore than ever... sometimes i express out, and she happens to be hungry n i latch her.. aiyo... pain!