(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

pammie: oh...haha...i'm the same...mosies also come to me...i hope my son can be spared...i don't have a net at the cot...so leave all the windows closed better...

all: i have 2pkts of drypers S to sell...anyone interested? intend to let go at $10 per pack...bought at $14.10...

ClarisseMummy: U funny leh but yr CL really modern leh ... at least u enjoy yr confinement!

SSL: My boy gg to 4wk drinking 80ml now.

Congrats Adel. Hope to see your bb pic soon.

Where's Morraine huh?? still in the waiting game?? kekeke

ClarisseMummy: saw u asking about Neo garden catering in other thread ... me using them for my boy full mth buffet this sat.
What you like to know? mayb I can help take note and let you know.

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">SSL</font>,

I know wat u mean.. tt's few times Janelle actually latch on for bout 1hr plus, my arm was almost numb even with armrest as support. Tt's why HB bought me a nursing pillow but now like no use cuz e most she will latch on for e most 30 mins.

Do u take oatmmeal? Few of my gf hv said tt taking 1 bowl of hot oatmeal daily help to increase thier BM supply. Apparently Oatmeal is a gd source of iron &amp; low iron leavel can result in decrease of BM.

<font color="0000ff">Mybabydream</font>,

Check out this Padded Seamless Nursing Bra :-

http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/dropcupbras.html</font>

Good afternoon, gals!
I'm back!

Thanks everyone!

Thanks for updating for me, Nuttnuts.

Here is my boi boi birth story.
On 15th Oct 4am - The contraction starts. I thought it's stomachache cos of the pizzas I ate the nite b4. :p Cos it only lasted for 2-3mins.

4:30am - Another contraction, I was totally "alerted" liao. I started counting the interval of the contractions.

5:00am - The interval became 15mins once. I kept on thinking "can't be so concidence bah"...

6:00am to 7am - The interval became 10mins once. So I called my gynae's emergency line, and told him the situation. He asked me to go hospital labour ward straightly!
So I quickly bathed and my HB drove me to hospital.

8:10am - Admitted to Mt Alvernia hospital's labour ward. The nurse is so nice, she said I supposed to report at main reception @ 1st level first, then come up to 3rd level, but she said it's ok, she helped me to register &amp; she helped me to carry my bags too.

9:00am - In labour ward, the nurses put 2 devices on my belly to detect &amp; measure the baby heartbeat &amp; the frequency of contractions.

9:30am - My gynae broke my waterbag &amp; explained the situation to me. He said probably I will deliver the baby around 1-4pm. And that time my cervix only opened 2cm.
I refused to take epi.

11:00am - I still can tahan the pain. So when the nurse came in and asked me whether want to use epi, I still say "No".

12:00pm - The pain is getting worse, and my cervix is still 2cm wide.

No choices, I agreed to take epi after I checked with the nurse whether my cervix will open wide if I take epi.
The answer is "YES"! Because my lower part of body is "tensed up" so the cervix can't open too wide.

12:30pm - I took epi, the pain started "loosen".

2:30pm - My cervix opened up to 6cm liao! My goodness!

4:00pm - The nurse said my cervix opened up to 10cm liao, can start the "pushing" process.
Under the guidance of nurses, I started to push the baby. But baby just refused to come out.
10mins later, gynae came in &amp; take over the job. I told him tat I can't feel anything cos of the epi effects.
I totally can't feel the contraction liao, how to push?
So they took away the epi dripping, and I started pushing again.
3-5 pushes only my baby popped out liao! Phew!
And bcos my gynae helped to "clip" the baby out, my boi boi's head a bit "longer" lor.
But my gynae said it's ok ones, it will back to normal size.

6:00pm - Tried breastfeed the baby in the labour ward &amp; then I was pushed to the normal ward.
Suprisingly bb knew how to suckle when you latch them ley!

Here is a horrible experience for me after delivery.
9:30pm - I realised that my "bleeding" is very heavy. I was assisted by a nurse to change my pad in toilet.
And we realised that my blood was dripping all the way from my bed to toilet.
kao_scared.gif

But we still managed to change the pad &amp; get back to my bed.

10:30pm - After my HB &amp; my mum gone back, I realised that the "bleeding" problem came again.
Called for nurses help. A nurse headmaster came in &amp; checked &amp; kept pressing on my belly.
Suddenly, alot of blood just "flushed" out from my lower body!
The headmaster realised that it could be due to my uterus's contractions, and the blood clots gathered inside that
that's why I bleeding so much. They called my gynae immediately.

11:00pm - I was pushed back to labour ward again. My gynae checked again to confirm the cause.
And he re-stitch my wound!

I was given gas to suck, and I was totally unconcious liao but I still can feel the pain when gynae
stitching me. It was "Arghhh!!!" I can oni remember I was screaming like hell! It's painful than the labouring process.
I was put in sleep in the labour ward after that.

3:00am - I was pushed back to my ward. And bcos I was "awoke" liao from the effect of the gas.
So I started to sms my HB &amp; friends. Was totally awake until 8am breakfast time.

My gynae then explained to me, for my case is very rare, for a first-time mum, my uterus shld not have this kind of
reactions. Anyway, he kept apologizing to me. I told him I can understand, and I know it's not his fault, he already did his best.

For those mummies, want to check wif u gals.
I didn't have breastmilk at all for first 3 days in hospital, though my baby was keeping suckle my breasts.
So no choices got to give him formula milk.
Until I drank the soup, and my breastmilk came in, my boi boi already used to suckle the bottle, so he refused to
latch him liao.
I got to pump out the breastmilk and give him in bottles.
Any way to make him suckle my breasts again?
Every time I tried to latch him, he cries so horrible like I ill-treat him ley...

Hi! Sorry for the lack of updates...too bz &amp; tired after bb is born to update posts... Hope everyone's fine!

Jenifur,

My boy'a name Ethan Neo, born on 13 Oct, 3.555 kg &amp; length 51cm.

Below is my little prince's photo at birth:

326492.jpg

326493.gif

Mayday

Me thinking of using Neo Garden for my boy's celebration next sat
heehee...

Jenifur

Mine worst cos no armrest at all. I sit on sofa bed to nurse BB, only with pillow behind as support. Do u find the nursing pillow useful? is it those C shaped like pillow? duno if i c section will it kenna the wound or not. expensive bo?

Puea

Ur boy and mine weight and height very near siah.

Dont worry, I'm like u too, only felt breasts pain and engorged on Day 3 and 4. bb given FM in hospital though i latch him on. many unsuccessful attempts to latch on. Very upset. But u have to "fight" with your bb. cos he cant "find" your nipple, thats why frustrated. So every BF time is fighting between me and my boy. For me, his kicks sometimes kenna my wound and the inner wound will hurt also. But no choice.

Now at home, i still supplement with FM cos my BM really low ss. So far, he is able to latch, although sometimes after a while then he can "find" my nipple.

You take care of yourself ok.

breakbeats: yr boy eyes v long and dark eyebrow. V cute!

SSL: tok u need to find Halal certified one?
So u ordering which menu? Me ordered the Deluxe one.
Your inner wound still hurt? If u sneeze or cough u feel pain at yr wound?

mayday

no need liaoz cos hubby say now malay ramadan
so cant eat also. heehee. he will still invite them but they cant eat so we no need to order malay food lor.

me ordering the cheapest range. $9.50 one. heehee.. havent order yet cos no headcount. waiting for inlaw side to confirm no. of pax. how many are u ordering for?

lately my left side of inner wound aches abit. maybe too much movement or carrying. i try to control my sneeze. but very funny is now my sneeze has a funny sound, not those loud loud ones hahaha. err... no pain at wound cos the sneeze is so gentle now. duno what happen. last time my sneeze used to be loud loud type.

have been expressing bm for my girl coz she's v impatient to latch on, tried 'fighting' with her. Alwas kena KO by her. She will cry v loud, turn her head left right left right in frustration, gek until face and body all red and refuse to latch on.

Pumping is more painful than latching her on. I latch her on when she's 0.5 full so more patient and won't fight. Only can do it on the right breast, seems like she cannot find my left nipple, shorter than right. I keep telling her 'must b more patient ok, mummy nipple is not as long as the bottle teat'

Nepia's diapers not bad, with the oct promotion price is about 20cent a pc. like some of u, slso didnt stick to original plan of using clothe nappy during day, now she's 100% diapers. Think it's v tiring for mum to wash her dirty nappy when she can poo like 8 times a day.

Cried a few times coz mum is against bf, 1st 2 days when bb lost weight as milk has not come in, she blamed me for illtreating bb and will nag the same thing through the day. To stimulate milk, I pump every 3hr. She would say i have not been resting, always pumping and there's no milk, starve the poor bb.

Now that milk has come in, she complains that I spend time pumping or latching her on, difficult to judge rite heat of breast milk when heating it after taken out of fridge, bb doesnt sleep as long as on FM etc. Dont get the support needed. Felt very stressed and I think this is affecting my supply
bb is a big eater I think, she's in her 3rd week, drinking abt 100ml ev 2.5-3hr.

anything we can eat to increase supply?

mayday: Morraine admitted today. not sure abt her now.. kekke..indeed my confinement is good.
i wanted to know whats the difference in food quality between Neo garden and Melrose..
my stitches still hurt little and when i cough, inside the tummy at times pain.. tomolo i will ask gynae..

SSL: NEo Garden not Halal Certificated!

BreakBeats!!! CONGRATS!!!

its really upsetting when bb just refused to latch on and worse at times they just push us away...

whitefloral, be real patient, not all mothers are so understanding. like my mum, she has never taken care both my brother n myself and yet can tell my CL wat to do. i was like thinking... hey.. u know nuts why dun u just keep quiet... i was very angry with my mum on one occasion and starting crying thereafter.

I am not totally on breast feeding... i try to latch my girl when she cries while the CL warms the BM or the FM. maybe my BM slightly less taste, and my girl rejects and pushes it away too... i see this, each time my tears roll... very sad.. cos never expected her to refused to drink.. haiz

Hi SSL

we r also hv our bb celebration next sat.. however, the actual man yue traditions (bai zhu xian) will be on thursday. my mil says sat oredi passes the chinese bday (ba yue er shi liu)

my boy is drinking 70ml per 2 to 3 hrs interval for nite time. day time wen i latch me, not sure how much he drinks though. we r tinking of increasing his intake and lengthen the interval but hv not done so. is his consumption okay?

ClarisseMummy:
morraine admitted liao ah.. i was still talking to her this afternoon leh.. happy for her.. cos finally her girl wants to come out liao..

Fun,

i got plugged ducts liao.. said too soon.. so painful! apply heat will help izit? i'm pumping as i'm typing.. wah, really couldnt take it man, first the blister now this..

Pammie,
u poor girl...can imagine sore &amp; blisters on nipples cos keep on BF. Try to apply some cream and air dry whenever possible.

Breakbeats,
congrats again girl. Ethan looks so cute.

Pammie,
wah we posted exactly at same time. With the blocked ducts, massage that area hard and thorough. Its very painful but it really helps to disperse the milk stuck at that area. I kena that 3 times so far and I really massaged and kneaded my breasts until all red. After that i felt that the area has become softer and the lump disappeared.

hi Mrs Tan..

ya we did post at same time! it's 2.42am now, and i just fed Tammi.. so wide awake! again, she drank till she gagged but i managed to burp her twice so I can go n sleep soon.. ya the lump was so hard n painful last nite man! i applied heat even while she was sucking away and the blister on the nipple made it extra painful I was screaming in pain while she was sucking.. I was even biting a towel so I dont scare her.. My conf lady n hb can only stand by and watch me struggle in pain.. but the swelling has gone down 85% liao.. hope it will cont to reduce tmrw.

hi all Oct'05 mummies,
I had given birth to my bb boy on 15 Oct'05 and I hope I wont be rejected by this thread for joining so late...

Can I ask anyone here if nipple shield will help to ease sore nipples? Any well recommended brand?
I tried to latch my boy on and indeed he can latch on quite well on my 3rd day in hospital but the only problem is he only sucks on my nipples thus making it so painful and sore, and even bleeding on my left nipple. Cant really latch him on as and when I want now..so sad!

whitefloral

I also had that fighting episodes initially when BF baby (occassionally now). His head will be like knocking against my breats trying to find it. Even though he found the nipple, he will suck suck and spit out.

Ya, agreed that pumping is more painful than latching. Me still using nappy during day and diapers at night. Maybe cos CL around so got people to wash for me. Next time i alone, will see how it goes la. Main thing is to take care of BB well and make sure my BM ss comes in quick.

I understand the frustration u are going through. My MIL and CL also commented why I still got no milk. Last time they got when they deliver . . blah blah blah.... And CL not supportive of me BF too. keep wanting to give BB FM.

I've been trying very hard (maybe not hard enough compared to the mummies here) to latch and pump BM. but not much increase. Will start to pump and latch at night too liaoz. Guess wont have rest any more. But if can increase my BM ss, i wont mind not resting if my body can take it.

Its normal for BB to lose weight in the initial few days. Once u start BF or give FM he will gain weight. Haha same thing, i also scared CL dont know how to warm EBM thats why i ask her to give FM at night. Wont want her to give cold milk to my boy.

ClarisseMummy

I know Neo Garden not Halal. We wont be ordering Halal food cos Malays are fasting
so no need to eat. heehee

inc

We supplement my boy with 90ml FM if he demands. Just increase yest, have been feeding him 60ml for quite some time and realised that he seems to want more. So we make more and see how much he can finish. Thats how we got the 90ml.

Interval is about 3hr if he takes FM. If got latch in between, sometimes he can continue for 6hrs before he wants FM suppl

hi Pammie,

oh dear, u poor girl, didnt know it was that painful with that horrid blister. U might wanna try nipple shield? I find it doesnt work too well for me though cos bb doesnt like the material of it. Can u pump instead of letting Tam latch on not? Think u shld really give ur nipples a break now, since the blister seem so bad. Can apply cream also. see if it helps

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">LinT</font>

kao_welcome2.gif

Nipple Shield is suuposed to help to ease sore nipple so u can still continue to BF. But then it didn't work for me cuz my girl dun like e shield. So far I've tried both e hard &amp; soft shield from Pigeon but Janelle rejects both. Find e soft shield is better though.

<font color="0000ff">Pammie</font>,

Ouch! It must have been painful. Read tt usually milk blister will lead to block duct if not treated. Heard from my aunt tt salt soak before breastfeeding will help to open e milk duct opening &amp; also aids in e healing of milk blister. U might wanna give it a try to see if it helps

Dissolve 2 teaspoon of salt in 1 cup of warm water then u soak ur nipple. Gently rinse w warm water. Straight after soaking, place hot &amp; wet towel on e milk blister b4 u nurse Tammi. Do this at least 3x a day</font>

Jus saw ur Q bout e nursing pillow. Found it useful @ 1st when Janelle tends to latch on longer cuz dun hv to carry her weight. I can even fall asleep while nursing her @ night. Not too sure if it will hurt ur C-Section wound. Think shld b ok. HB bought it from Kiddy Palace @ $79.90 but I'v seen cheaper ones.

Here's how my pillow look like :-</font>

326768.gif

wa not cheap also hor. maybe buy an armchair better cos after that still can sit. heehee

or maybe use my own pillow :p

Honestly I would not hv bought it myself but then since HB buy liao so bo bian.

<font color="0000ff">mummies</font>,

Where r u bringing ur BB to hv their hair shave huh?</font>

Where do u plan to take ur bb for jabs? Polyclinic, GP or PD? 5-in-1 or 6-in-1?

Next, any idea if full mth cakes from melrose or Kyo taste better?
FYI, melrose has increased their prices on all range of cakes and kuays except tarts. No more the cheapest of all.

hubby wanted to buy for me before i deliver but i say no need. can use our own pillow. heehee but till now didnt use pillow also.

re: sore nipple
i had e same problem initially. used avent nipple soothing cream. it works 4 me. applied 3 x per day.

re: how much to feed
i bf my girl in e day n supp w fm at nite. she latches on for 20-30mins each time every 2 hrs. fm, 80ml each time she can tong for 2.5-3hrs.my girl is a big eater though. if it's not yet feeding time i will feed her with plain water.

bb photo
here's e link to my ger's photo
http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/meifang14/album?.dir=/98e5&amp;.src=ph

fiona,

so your got enough BM ss for your ger ger la.thats very good. 20-30mins each breast? do u need to pump in between feeds? U didnt express your BM?

hi Mrs Tan - better liao..

Jenifur, thanks for the tip. I'll try the salt method tonite. I use v v hot water to treat it, immed put bb to suck but still the blister is there.. the towel so hot until my skin turned red.. i guess if all else fails ill see doc next week.. now abit too tired to feel pain! and as mrs Tan sugg, I express so that she sucks only on one breast..

LinT: Congrats!!! Welcome to the Mummies Club.. of cos u are welcome to join us... kekekk

mayday: i have yet to order.. went to bring my girl to see PD today..
wont be free till monday.. due to my ward, gng back to his hometown too. Once ordered, will let u know.

Pammie

I called Sister Kang from Mt A abt the plugged duct, she say try to massage the lump towards the nipple.. and let bb latch on longer lor.. i msg the area when ever i'm free.. keke.. gd luck.