(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Morraine: Yeah..! Someone remembers me...

ha ha ha..

Hmmm.. so fast u talk abt packing bag liaoz arh.. wei.. u noe GlenE got give wat things or not huh??

heard jus TMC gives bathtub leh.. the rest of the hospital bo give one leh.. someone correct me if i sa lar hor..

hello breakbeats!
i was just thinking abt u! hey...nice to have u back here. must keep me informed abt ur side ok?

Morraine: What! Give bath tub?! So good?! Zhun bo...? Seriously, I dunno whether GlenE got give any freebies or not...

Intend to start packing bag this weekend..just in case my bb wanna come out to greet me sooner (hope not!)

hiyee morraine and breakbeats..
am giving birth at gleneagles too.. have u all done the pre admission thingy?

i heard that must go and do the pre admission thingy before giving birth.. coz scared wait the queue is very long when.. u are in labour..

breakbeats: no need to pack so fast ba.. hehe..ur edd is on 12/10.. maybe u can pack near to mid sept.. mmm.. mine's juz few days after u.. 19/10..(induced) ya making me nervous already. hahaa

hello mummies here: have u all bought ALL the necc babies stuffs?

Kris,
u mean preg women cannot take yoghurt? where did u hear that from?! yoghurt is great for us! and also prevents thrush as well. cos it contains live culture which is gd. its high in calcium too.

kris, i think its safe to take yogurt.

That time i had candida infection and my gynae asked me to take yogurt or yogurt drink.

Mrs Tan..kekeke...prefer to call u by name..coz very nice & unique

How r u & ur little one doing? Mine head-down position liao..weighs 1878g at 32 weeks.. (damn..bought 4d neber strike, came out 2nd prize 1178! @#%$%$!)

Ask my gynae whether will premature delivery or not coz always kena braxton hicks plus tummy VERY big & heavy liao..he scolded me...says everything normal leh..better to give birth at edd..why I so kan cheong?!

My in-laws sold current house so now we're very bz looking for new place..gotto move out by 21 Nov latest...luckily we're moving after & not before my delivery...

Booked confinement lady, plus will get full-time maid in Sept..so at least few burdens off my mind..going to book massage lady soon...

Still go swimming? Got meet-up with Pam?

Adel Yee/ fellow GlenMummy : My clinic told me preadmission is to be done at 35th week, so I wait lor..

As for packing, it was recommended to prepare stuff for admission at 34th week..so I kiasu follow lor..no harm pack earlier mah..

I have bought most bb stuff, not not all yet..

Does anyone know where got sell nice receiving blanket/wrap and nice, comfy disposable panties??

<font face="calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">ClarisseMummy/Gracemum/Mayday/Morraine/MrsTan/Nuttnuts/Snowlove</font>,

I've sent u the contact list.

<font color="0000ff">all</font>,

Do let me know if you want me to update your contact details in our list too.</font>

<center>
308382.jpg
</center>

SSL: really ah?? Ok ok! Thanks! Does it matter if I take any yoghurt? I think live yoghurt is different is it? I hate this thrush thing...
I'm v sure I got it cos I was put on 2 courses of antibiotics within 6 weeks.

Breakbeats,

hehe i guess its cos ur tummy is big and heavy plus the BH, thats why u thot bb will be early...actually from 37 wks on, bb can come out liao lah..or else dam cham leh, so tired &amp; heavy. i am still not very big yet but i think my tummy is heavy enough for me liao. no leh..stopped swimming for so long liao, now only the normal shopping and occasional stretching exercises that i do on my own, thats abt it. wonder if its enough or not, to prepare for labour. Pam is busy moving house too, so she also bo eng leh.
we must keep each other informed should we pop earlier ok?

Adel arh.. my gynae say he wil let me noe when to do wor.. my SIL oso in GlenE she did hers like ard her 34 weeks or so i think..

Kris: ok to take yogurt, like what Mrs Tan says, its good in calcium &amp; kills bacteria..

But of course, too much of anything is no good.. just to remind all MTBs.. even if people says that we should start taking 'cooling stuff' like coconut drink now... but still must take IN MODERATION... My friend drank coconut juice twice a week from 35th week onwards and her bb girl is born with 1 shaky leg! (1 leg is very weak, keeps trembling)

Jenifur,
I dont get the email leh? can you resent to me?
My email address: [email protected]

Breakbeats.
welcome back.

me too. i havent pack my adminssion bag yet. plan to pack on 35week onward.

I just go for my check up yesterday nite. now my bb weight 1.975kg and my weight is 60.5kg total i gain 10.5kg at week 33. My gynae said my bb head turn already but he didnt said whether engage or not. but he said everything normal. Mooncake festival coming soon, my gynae remind me not to eat too much mooncake...

kris,

I drank yogurt drink that time cos i dont like the soury taste of eating yogurt lor. the drink smells like yakult so i like it

Thrush is usually due to the way u clean yourself right? i got it at the initial stage of pregnancy too. and doc say its due to the way i clean my genital area. must clean from front to back.

Then i kenna the candida infection, which is not becos of the way i clean myself. for that, i had to insert a pill into my vagina to let it "kill" the bateria. not on antibotics.

Kris: I never heard that we shd avoid yoghurt! Read that its good to drink it. What is thrush?

Breakbeats: I juz complied my list and started buying the things. Will pack them all in the hosp bag by 35th week.

Morriane: tmc gives bathtub huh?! Ure the 1st one I heard about tmc giving bathtub! Alamak, thought it doesnt give, else can save on 1 tub!

Adel yee: I bought some of babys stuff. But I am still looking ard for pigeon ear thermometer. Wondering where is selling, seems hard to find

What exactly is braxton hicks? Is it tightness from the uterus? But I felt my tightness on my tummy after meals, which is not braxton hicks right?

My colleague have one extra Brand new Safety 1st 3 sec Ear thermometer for sale.
Usual $105
Now $80 with two boxes of disposable probes.
Usual price at $14.50/box.

Hi Kris,
It's ok to take yoghurt during pregnancy. Like what the other gals have advised, yoghurt contains those "good bacteria" that helps to "kill" the bad ones. Read in babycentre.com that yoghurt helps to flush out yeast infection. Take those with live cultures, eg Marigold yoghurt and yoghurt drinks come with live cultures. Suppose to be better than ordinary ones.

I agree that personal hygience plays a part too. Make sure u wash from front to back. Use feminine wash like lactacyd to maintain the ph balance.

Food intake also plays an important role. Try not to take too much processed sugar.Yeast thrives on "sugary" conditions.

However, yoghurt doesn't cure the yeast infection. It just helps to keep it in control.
Similarly u can't just rely solely on feminine wash too. The best is to take medication.

Just to share what I have been going through for the past few mths since pregnancy. I'm perpetually down with yeast infection ever since I became pregnant. Never have this problem before pregnancy. So sian!!! On many rounds of medications (I'm prescribed with pesaries for insertion), and the problem always comes back after a few weeks. Maybe I was ill-discipline, didn't take yoghurt diligently and I have a sweet tooth too. Notice that my discharge gets worse if I'm to induldge in rich cakes. Even my gynae was surprised that my infection was so "perpetual and stubborn". Now, I'm trying to be very disciplined. Eating yoghurt or drinking yoghurt drinks with live cultures diligently. Giving up my sweet indulgent. So far so good... hopefully can say bye bye to that stupid yeast.

kris

can i just reconfirm. For the Desitin Creamy, its better to get those without Aloe Vera? Or they only have one type? Cos i saw TMC selling only one type with Aloe Vera. $13+

Was thinking to checkout at KKH cos remembered seeing sometime ago TMC got sell the one without Aloe Vera one. Or is it Desitin and not Desitin Creamy (which i happen to see at Unity Pharmacy)?

SSL and sunflowergal: This is the 2nd time in my entire life I kena thrush and both times is due to the exact same cause - sucessive courses of antibiotics within a short period of time. Due to the flu which struck me last month and 2 weeks ago, I was put on antibiotics and history just repeated itself in the form of thrush.
Antibiotics are a very common cause of yeast infection as it kills the good bacteria in us and that alters the delicate PH balance in our sensitive regions. Sigh... luckily the clinic managed to squeeze in an appt for me to see my gynae yesterday. I waited over 2 hours to see her at the clinic, but she was v v nice.. never even charge me consultation! Only charged me for the medication.

Anyway, how to tell if a yoghurt has live cultures???

SSL: the Desitin cream I think with or without aloe vera also doesn't matter. The point is that Desitin Creamy is BETTER than Desitin.

Mybabydream: Thrush is a candida infection/yeast infection which can occur in the vaginal or in the mouth. It happens to ladies when the PH balance in the nether regions is upset and the yeast starts to thrive. Many of us naturally have candida down there but it's always kept in check cos of the PH balance. Once it strikes you you get this unbelievable itch which can turn the area sore, give it a burning sensation, and after a few days if not treated you'll start to see cottage cheese-like material there. It's not a pretty sight. But Thrush is generally easy to self-diagnose and if not pregnant a GP can easily prescribe medication for that.

Mybabydream: An infant is said to have colic if he/she has bouts of prolonged unsoothable crying (i.e., over 1 hour) at about the same time for at least 3 times each week. When a colicky bb has an attack, the cry is likened to a scream and bb will cry v vigorously, and at the same time his/her legs will be drawn up and down to and away from the chest. No matter what parents do, a colicky bb will not stop crying, but will stop only when he/she's tired out and knocks out fast asleep or the discomfort just eases on its own. The best way to carry a colicky bb during an attack is to carry bb upright, his tummy to your tummy/chest and gently rock him. It probably will not stop the crying but it can make the crying less vigorous. Colic upsets us parents more than it does the bb, and colic is a self-limiting condition which will improve by itself. Most pds are still not able to agree on what is it that causes colic but the sure thing is that it is not harmful to bb. It may appear to be so though cos of all the screaming.

Hi kris
Marigold indicates on its packaging that its yoghurt contains live culture. Most brands do not indicate whether they contain live culture or not. So I stick to Marigold. Plus it has the non-fat version.

Kris, I think the one that said cannot take yoghurt was me.. Thought I read somewhere that it's better not to take cos of the live bacteria that's in them.. But it seems like maybe not..

Saw my gynae yesterday..

Baby Zoe's 1.6kg-(using the femur length as a guide to correlate) (40th percentile) at 32 weeks and my weight gain is about 9.5kg..

Gynae postulated that Zoe will weigh about 2.6kg when she's born.. Thank goodness she's not too big cos I'm not very big-framed.. As long as she is above 2.5kg, considered normal birth weight..

Gynae also said something I didn't understand.. She was checking my umbilical cord blood flow and wasn't pleased with it.. Said that there is increased resistance to blood flow and that we will monitor.. I asked if something can be done about it and she said we'll just monitor first.. hmmm...Seeing her in 3 weeks time ..

Other than that all else is ok.. amniotic fluid level within normal limits and my placenta is posterior and not low..

Morning, all MTBs!

Long time didn't log into this thread liao... very busy with work.

Abt the coconut waters, I think yes, got to drink it moderately. I heard it's to help to "clean" whatever toxics in our &amp; bb body before giving birth.

Bathtub? Mt A. oso got give bathtub too, and plus some Baby Johnson&amp;Johnson things...

Dear MTBs,

I'm going to give birth in oct! my gynea is Christopher Chong from KKH. i can't wait to get rid of my bump actually, it's becoming very restrictive to watever i do(like airing clothes, squating down)!!

Have any of you done a 3D or 4D scan? I am going to do a 3D scan at the KKH AMK clinic when i reach 34th week.

qiqi,
i never done 3d or 4d scan before.
i also see gynae at KKH AMK clinic but never heard of there is 3d scan leh? how much is it?

what formula milk (brand) will u standby for supplement? any good ones to recommend?

and if we use express milk, the milk bottles muz be sterilised right? does that mean whatever we put in bb's mouth muz be sterilised? like spoon, pacificier? :p