(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

hi mybabydream, i intend to get a small can of S26 gold as standby...what about the rest? as for pacifier, it is necessary to sterise at least once or twice a day...

mybabydream

me still reading the posts here. just didnt post if got no queries.

how are u doing at home? anything new?

me picking up a new hobby - crocheting. going to learn how to do it.

Sneaky,
If the bb is using the pacifier everyday, I think it's better to sterilise everyday like our bottles. Just put everything into a steriliser lor, so convenient.

I intend to get similar as standby too.

MTBs,
I went for my checkup today (34th week). Gynae didn't scan too long...in fact scan my tummy for fetal's heartbeat for less than a min, that's all. My bb's weight is currently ard 2kg and gynae was saying my bb will weigh ard 2.8-2.9kg at birth. BB's head has not engaged yet, so I guessed chances of me delivering before my EDD is pretty slim...sigh!dunno when will this pregnancy last. The big tummy is getting heavier and I am getting more and more tired. How about you?

fiona

I'm also feeling heavier and more tired as the day goes by. Cant walk for long cos back will start to ache.

Kris

I have uncomfortable feeling (like gastric pain but no pain) just below my chest area. Like something stucked there and sometimes make me no appetite and felt choke. Is it normal?

Normally how many more kgs do we add after gynae provide us with baby's est weight during the scan?? Would like to know roughly how heavy my boy will weigh at birth

can drink yoghurt right? I have been drinking the marigold one daily without fail to ease my heartburn.

so we are talking about formula milk now. Haven't decide what to buy. How do you tell which is 'better' and just realised milk powder's so ex, no wonder people always say they are saving 'nai3 fen3 qian2'.

starting to feel very tired too, even when I slept for 9hr at night. Midway through work will be so tired, wonder if I can work till delivery as planned. My tighs ache too and I have difficulty putting on undies.

do u guys get a bit of 'stretching pain' in the tummy? just started to get it, don't know if it's due to the weight.

colleague lent me a Medela Electric Pump, tried it on hubby last nite :p. Do we need to sterilise the parts?

fiona: yes, i agree with you. as long as the sterilizer is on, the pacifier shall be sterilized at the same time. however, i'll try not to let my little boy be too dependent on pacifiers in case it's hard for him to kick the habit next time...i'm also getting very heavy and clumpsy...like you, i cannot walk for long nowadays...after a little walking, my back feels like breaking...

whiteflora: yes, i'm experiencing stretching pain like you...i think it's because of both Braxton Hicks and baby stretching...my hubby also tried my Pigeon manual breast pump a while ago...it was so funny...when we used the lowest pressure, he didn't feel much....but when we turned the knob to higher pressure, he said it's painful...oh dear, how am i going to tahan this when it's my turn leh??? and yes, the parts must be sterilised too...

snowlove, thks.. u know wat.. ur msg prompted me to make a call to KKH AMK. They don't have a 3D scan there indeed.. I was wondering is there a private clinic next to KKH AMK? do u know any?

I just watched 'In a Womb' on National Geographic. It's so endearing to see the baby developing in the womb!! Anyone interested can tune in to SCV Channel 11 at 3pm this Friday.

SSL: I believe bb can be expected to gain abt 1.2 to 1.6kg or so in the last trimester? This is the period of most significant growth. I am basically estimating by the fact that my bb gained 800gm in 4 weeks in the 7th month. Going by that I believe my bb will be abt 3.1kg at birth.

As for formula for standby I'll be getting Similac Excellence. I think it's one of the tastier ones.

I'm getting Frisco gold 400gm to standby.. Initially wanted to get Similiac but it contains either palm or coconut oil..

Think almost everything that goes into baby's mouth must be sterilised/cleaned well.. But practically, if you intend to breastfeed direct.. We can't sterilise our breasts!

As for pacifiers, I don't intend to use.. I feel it affects the jaw and teeth development of a baby..

I'm getting pain in the belly region too! together with braxton hicks contractions.. If that is a mild version of actual contractions, it's painful!!

I can walk a max if 45 minutes now before I get breathless, tired and a little dizzy...

I'm not doing a 3d/4d scan.. don't really think it's necessary..

Breast pump/ breast milk storage containers must be sterilized/washed in the same way as milk bottles too!
I got the medela mini electric

Hubby and I did our final bit of baby shopping yesterday.. Got a chest of drawers, container for misc items like cotton calls, baby clothes hangers, container for storing baby's utensils and laundry baskey for baby too.. Think I've done enough shopping!

Did anyone get a playpen?

hi fiona, sneaky, fushiastar,
ya..i also getting quite tired of being preg liao. cant wait to have bb out but then cannot so soon leh. now only at 34 wks, must wait at least another 4 more wks then can. i started experiencing very strong & very frequent brax hicks 2 days ago and also bb's pushing & stretching in tummy...it was really uncomfy yest..and i was even so worried that bb is gonna come out soon! the hardening of tummy is not painful so i doubt its any sign of labour lah. then tummy suddenly like became so big like that. but we have abt 4 wks left to go..lets tahan & jia you!

Let's talk about mooncakes!

Where are you getting mooncakes from?
The citibank promotion for Crown Prince Yam mooncakes is quite good

Any recommandation for traditional mooncakes?

The Raffles Hotel white lotus paste with nuts one? Think the Raffles Hotel snow skin with champagne truffle&ganache and Raffles cognac truffle are nice!

Morraine, you don't like mooncakes ah.. I love the yam ones by Crown prince, which tastes more like a yam pastry..

Hi girls..
This morning at 2am plus woke up with bad abdominal pain.. the pain is more concentrated on the upper to middle part of the abdominal and it lasted continuously for 30min to 45min.. initially hubby wanted to send me to CGH A&E one but I said wait and see how.. lucky the pain subside.. this morning woke up tummy still feel strange strange.. went to see GP.. he said most probably is gastric problem..

Since tomorrow is my checkup day.. going to highlight to gynae.. really duno wats wrong.. btw braxton hicks painful a not?

fushiastar :

But very exp ley... I tried before, nice but exp ley... :p

Celine, ya ya ya, I want to eat Goodwood Park's durian mooncakes too!
If you like durians mooncakes, I recommend you another restaurant -> Jia Xiang, their durian mooncakes very nice too!
Can buy in International Plaza or the Change Alley (Raffles Place mrt).

kuririn :

Poor you...
Do you still feel baby movements?
The most important is, you still can feel bb movements, and it means bb is fine.

fushiastar ~ ya lor.. dun like.. if i were to take i stil can tahan take a small slice of snow skin one.. traditional one.. NO WAY!

kuririn,
oh dear...lucky thing the pain subsided. ya u must tell ur gynae abt this, do a scan to make sure bb is fine. from wat i know, brax hicks are supp to be painless but some ppl find it painful also. not too sure myself. does that pain feel like menstrual cramps? cos if yes, thats a sign of labour lor. if not, then might be ur gastric.

Dear Kuririn,
i probably experienced the same kind of pain as you last weekend. Mine lasted for a couple of hours and i believed it's gastric pain too.
Dun worry too much abt it and rest lots!

Puea, Mrs Tan & qiqi:
sorry just woke up from nap.. the pain is like crampy pain lor.. GP said if contraction will be at lower abdominal.. and it comes and goes.. but mine is from middle to upper abdominal and its continuous pain lor.. will having the pain I can still feel the baby.. GP got check of baby by listending to the heartbeat.. he said baby should be fine cos he also can feel her move lor..

kuririn: it should be gastric pain ba.. or probably ur baby's having a strike coz he/she is hungry!! just monitor the baby's movement!! hang in there!

wah.. mooncakes.. making me drool man.. but obviously i can't eat them!!

hey mummies who have experienced braxton hicks before... can tell me how does it feel like ah?

Ssl:
I am getting more bored and lazy. Still lazed ard on bed till very late even if I am hungry. L now my schedule is abnormal as I cam only sleep at 2 or 3 am.

Crocheting! Hehe, muz be fun.

Fiona:
I felt heavier and bump tighten easily after meals. Sometimes, the tightness makes me breathless and wants to vomit. Backache too. As usual, perspire a lot.

Fushisstar:
I got a playpen instead of baby cot.

For those who deliver at GlenE, this is the info. I got from a Mummy in Aug/Sep thread :

For Baby:
GEH provides - 1 pk of Pampers Newborn diapers, Pigeon wet wipes, Tissue Paper, a shirt to wear during his stay.
You must bring - mittens & bootees to keep them warm in hosp, 1 set of clothes for discharge receiving blanket... + 1 more which i forgot to bring... a cloth nappy to wrap him first before the receiving blanket)

For mummy:
GEH provides - Hosp gown & first few pc of maternity pad & disposable bed liner.
You must bring - Own maternity pads, disposable panties.
(btw, i did not wear any nursing bra or pyjamus, cos there's lots blood flow, better use hosp gown, no need to wash :p)

Hope this help

I had the entire Seasons yam snowskin mooncake to myself when I went JB. Craving for mooncake.

also had middle abdominal pain on Mon, quite bad that i had to sit down and still painful, went away 2hr later, don't know what kind of pain that was, not crampy though.

think bb very cramped up inside already, her movements like poking out of the tummy and i am also peeing more often.

want to share with you girls: can try out Clarins Tonic Pregnancy Oil, suppose to firm and tone. Have been using it only on tummy since 3rd mth pregnancy but this 2 weeks i tried it on arms, buttocks and tigh and think i do see bit of firming effect

kris

Are we able to buy Similac NewBorn outside other than hospital? Was thinking of getting it during the Taka Baby Fair.

My boy is now 1.8kg at 33weeks, does it mean that he will probably gain another 600-1200g? I just hope his weight will be more than 3kg during delivery time. I realised each time, his weight increase is about 600+g (in a month)

dear MTBs,

Envy all of you can eat mooncakes, like Adel, I cant eat too

For me, I experience discomfort at the lower part of the tummy. And if i walk too long, back will start to ache.

latest update!!!
Clarisse @ 31 week n 5days, weight 1.58kg. head still not down, so will have to talk to little clarisse as she has up to 36 weeks to turn her head down, if not i will kena Elective C-section.

morning everyone! My bb gal weighs abt 1.3kg at 30 weeks n 5 days. Head is still not down.
I same as ClarisseMummy, have to talk to my bb gal to down if not have to go for C-section.

Think my bb kinda small...but my gynae is happy with my bb size....

garfield: ya.. my gynae oso say same thing.. bb kind of small... and hoping she will catch up the ideal weight in weeks to come.
jia you!

morning girls..
Back at work after 1 day MC.. later afternoon on leave go for checkup..

SSL:
Are you refering to Similac Excellence for 0 to 6mths.. if yes, I do saw it in NTUC lor.. I still haven't decide whether to go for Enfalac or Similac.. My cousin advise me to take Enfalac cos cheaper than Similac.. but hubby like more pro for Similac.. hehe..

May and Garfield, really.. your baby small? Mine is 1.6kg at 32 weeks, Gynae showed me this graph and chart: and my baby is the 40th percentile.. She said baby's weight is ok and actually just nice leh.. Also said that I'm quite small frame so if I have a big baby, probably have to go for a c-section..

SSL, how come you want your baby to be more than 3 kg? I hopw mine won't be more than 3.2kg.. Can definitely buy Similiac NB outside hospital.. Cold Storage has..

Mybabydream, you got a playpen instead of a cot? Isn't it difficult to pick up the baby, cos the bed portion of the playpen is very low so we have to bend? I got a cot, but my friends got me a playpen-the babylove one.. so I'm wondering what to do with it..

Kuririn, Qiqi, Whitefloral: I'm getting pain too.. Was lying on my bed the other day and got this awful pain around my belly button that came with my Braxton hicks contractions that lasted quite awhile.. It felt like my belly was contracting and when I looked at my belly, it looked kinda deformed, the belly button part was sunken in and the bottom part was protruding.. Guess part of it was contracting.. Think Zoe wasn't very comfortable when that happened cos I could feel her moving at the same time.. Hubby was beside me and saw it too.. Uterus is preparing for labour I guess..

Celine, Sneaky, Puea, Morraine, Adel, SSL, May: About mooncakes!
I'm not really buying for myself to eat cos mooncakes aren't really very nutritious, more buying for family.. Hubby also doesn't like mooncakes although I do.. At the most buy the single ones to share lor.. Watching the calories! :p

SSL: Yup, confirm can get Similac Ex 0-6 months in supermarkets. No worries k!

kuririn: My #1 started on Enfalac from newborn (only 2 supplements per 24 hours for night feeds) but by the 2nd month she rejected the milk. I personally tasted it and found it unpleasant. It's got a strong metallic taste. Then I switched to Similac Ex, tasted it too and it's quite close to real milk, and my girl also loved it. Till now she's still on the Abbot milk, GainIQ. Will prob move on to Grow when she hits 3. Some how Abbot Labs seem to be getting their milks right. Most of my colleagues with young children are also giving their them the Similac range.

Morning ladies

I'm also feeling the "tighening" in the tummy quite often now. Its not painful but is like being squeezed. Visited the gynae 2 days ago. He said got to monitor this closely as it is not time for delivery yet. If too often must inform your gynae leh... I guess he worry pre-temp delivery.

Wah mooncakes... i also have craving for it

fushiastar: oh, i did realise that my bellybutton sinks at times when i have tightening...haha..i think this is 1 way to see if we're experiencing BH...and yes, baby does move after every BH...guess they really feel slightly uncomfortable...besides having feeling of tightness, i also feel a little SUAN SUAN around my back/pelvic area and sometimes a little sucked up feeling at the vagina...i think it's the works of BH...

SSL: indeed, a little walking and standing makes my back ache as if it's going to break...i attended a launch yesterday and could only stand for less than half an hour and i started looking for a seat already...the ache is rather unbearable nowadays...

kuririn & kris

probably find out how much they cost at NTUC first before confirming to buy at Taka Fair. If more expensive at the Fair, then i will buy at NTUC

Probably same goes for the diapers (MamyPoko & PetPet)

Do you still remember the prices for the Similac Excellence (small tin) and MamyPoko & PetPet diapers?