(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Thanks ClarisseMummy & Mayday

Fushiastar,

MamyPoko is NB size. Btw, your PetPet price is NTUC one?

Any idea if the Taka Baby Fair starts on weekend of 3 Sept or 10 Sept?

SSL: info I collated some time ago..

MamyPoko NB 28 pcs $11.90 (NTUC) 42.5C

Pet Pet S Up to 6 kg 46 pcs $8.90 (JohnLittle) 19.3C
Pet Pet S Up to 6 kg 46 pcs $8.05 (KP) 17.5C
Pet Pet S Up to 6 kg 46 pcs $7.95 (Polyclinic) 17.3C

Wa fushiastar, u really did your homework ah.. thanks

what does the 42.5C, 19.3C represent??

Me going KKH pharmacy to buy some medicine for my mum. thinking checking out if their stuff are cheaper there.

Morraine, yeah. funny feeling right? It's like gravity pull... uncomfy also.

wah, fushiastar, you really do your shopping

SSL, Fresia..no lah.. just note down whereever I see lor..

oh.. 42.5 C means that 1 diaper costs 42.5 cents
and KP stands for Kiddy Palace..
Nope, I don't intend to do footprint or paintbrush..

I have a list of some of the diaper prices.. When I finish collating I'll put it ip here for eveyone, k?

SSL: Sorry leh, I really dun know the prices for the formula and diapers. For formula dun buy too early lah. And just a tin of 400g is enough if you intend to and insist on bfing. So perhaps the the price difference may not matter so greatly? As for diapers, if the price difference between Mamypoko and Petpet/Drypers is very big then I personally feel it's ok to use Petpet or even Drypers. You do not need to worry abt bb's umbilical cord as (1)bb doesn't feel any pain there and (2) you can easily fold down the front of the Petpet/Drypers diapers to leave the stump exposed. Also, the stump may fall off within the 1st 5-7 days. I will be buying either Petpet or Drypers S size as my cousin who just gave birth to her 2nd bb showed me that the Pampers NB size is the same as the Drypers S size. And the price difference is really big. An any case, whatever diapers we use, we MUST change it very frequently, so it's not like the more expensive ones can last longer at this stage. It's prob more economical for us to invest in a good nappy rash cream.

thanks sneaky

Kris,

MamyPoko was highly recommended by hubby's colleague so intend to buy the NB pack to see if BB is comfortable with it

If so, then will buy S size when he outgrows it or continue with PetPet if he is also comfortable with it.

I have found more cozy pals for those who are still interested. They have Noni, Maxi and Lolli. However, there's a price difference. It's now going at $38 per cozy pals. The price is high I know but if anyone interested, please pm me. I am not earning any profit as I will show receipt for all to see.

I will order only if there are more than 10 interested. If not, I shall leave it as it is...

To know about Cozy Pals, Please go to this link

http://www.bbshop.com.sg/Prod_Info/Info-Toys/Bid.htm

Hi all..
Reporting back from my checkup.. bad news.. tomorrow I need to go down SGH again to do Glucose Tolerance Test.. sigh.. gynae said my abdominal pain is due to gastric acid..

she said baby's heartbeat is good and she is doing fine.. she did not take any measurement on the baby's weight just measure the size of my tummy using measuring tape.. baby's head is down.. will be going for a detail scan 3 weeks later..

Oh ya.. at end 30wks, I had gained 11.9kg..

kuririn

Dont be disheartened. As long as BB is growing well, you just monitor your carbo and sugar intake.

Why she didnt take BB's weight leh? Did she ask u to go for GTT because she find that BB's weight and your amniotic fluid is too much?

At least you have a good news, ie BB's head is down already

my baby is 2.2kg at 33 weeks. my gynae said baby is not head down yet and if she does, i should be worried.

he told me about the side effects of epi again. he said last week at MA, a woman used epi and became paradised.
now, i muz rethink again. hopefully i can endure the pain and opt out of epi.

Fushiastar:
I placed 2 mattress so its not hard to pick baby up. I heard a lot about babies refusing baby cot after 4 mths, with the baby cot going to waste. I have extra beds in my guest room so a baby cot will take up too much space and become white elephant too.

mydreambaby,
wow the news of becoming paralysed becos of epidural is really scary. Issit true? What happen? I am very determine to use the epidural leh.

Fushiastar,
My colleague gave me a brand new baby cot and play pen. I put the play pen in my mum's place so that when I visit my mum, my bb has place to sleep. I use bb cot in my own house.
My colleague advice is that bb usually dun like to sleep in play pen as it can be quite warm,bb cot is cooler. However, for bb cot, u can utilise it only the most 6 mths, after which, when the bb starts to climb up, it's too dangerous for him to sleep in bb cot. and bb cot will become a white elephant then.
I intend to use the cot until 6 mths. Anyway it's free from my colleagues, hehe.

All MTBs,
Did anyone of your feet swell? I am in my 34th week +, and I have swollen foot now. My mum said it's not that kinda swell caused by water retention. she said one week after the swell subside, I will deliver the bb. dunno how true. But one thing for sure, it's so difficult to walk with a swollen foot.

fiona:
its true since my gynae also delivers at MA. the chance of it happening shd be rare i think, but if it happens, its really scary.

Good morning girls..

SSL:
I also duno why she din take baby's weight.. maybe thats the difference between seeing a private practice gynae and one working in hospital bah.. The reason why she asked me to take GTT cos glucose appear in my urine test for 3 times liao.. so she said better to test lor.. She did mentioned that there's plenty of water for baby to move around thats it..

Ok me going off soon to SGH for the test.. sigh.. hungry but cannot eat until after the test..

Kuririn. Hope that your GTT turns out ok.. Don't be sad.. At the most, diet control for about 2 months.. We are all gonna see our babies soon

Fiona, Thanks.. Where do you intend to have your baby sleep after 6 months? The baby cot- a Mamalove brand one, I got is convertable to a junior bed.. I thought that it can be used til about 5-6 years old.. As for the playpen, thought maybe I'd use it when baby's about 6 months onwards in the day to put baby in when I'm at home and doing stuff..

My feet are only very slightly swollen, but fingers are more swollen than feet.. Maybe it's cos I always sleep with my feet elevated.. You can try that..

hi Fiona & fushiastar,

I am at my 36 wks now.. my feets are also slightly swollen.. nite nite very difficult to sleep sideways.. cos after tat when i tries to change positions, my inner thigh areas will SORE like hELL!! prefers to lay flat thru out the nite.. kekee not pain with this position lor..

My baby already 2.8kg already... still have 4 weeks to go.. my boy seems to be on a bigger size than average bb. :p

Dr chked on my blood level yesterday and found me having low blood.. given so many iron pills and folic acids to boost up my blood level now.

Good luck everybody!

kuririn

Dont worry. Like what Fushiastar said, just another 2 more months only

For me, started self glucose testing at home when i failed GTT at 21 weeks. Been controlling my diet since then.

SSL: try drinking lots more water.. it helps to clear the sys. i kena once at 28 weeks 2++, and after tt i try to have lots of water... esp. before my checkup.

fushiastar,
after 6 months, I will let my bb sleep in the playpen.

Last time, I used to have swollen feet due to water retention, I will sleep with my feet raised up on a pillow. It works perfectly well. However, this time, the swollen feet is not due to water retention, even when I raise my feet up, the swell doesn't seems to subside.

Hi Fun,
wow you are alreadi in your 36th week. In fact, you may have less than 4 weeks to go. Gynae says according to statistics, chances of bb arriving before 40 weeks is 60%.

ClariseeMummy

As I failed my GTT, my gynae wanted me to do glucose monitoring at home (ie. I have to prick my finger 6x a day for twice a week to get glucose readings), as well as to monitor my diet.

Thats why I cant eat alot of things that MTBs have been talking about here.

But I'm used to it.

Just to share, I found that DHA capsules at GNC are much cheaper than Neurogain.. Neurogain-250mg DHA is about $29 for 30 capsules at Watsons, I found DHA capsules 250mg- the same amount as in Neurogain- a bottle of 60 capsules for about $26..

hi everyone...time flies and we only have a few weeks to go...so jia you okay? most of us are going through some uncomfortable times now...don't give up....

fushiastar & SSL:
I will only know the results earliest by monday.. the sugar water so sweet (yikes).. yesterday had been drowning myself with water to flush out the sugar water after the test.. SSL like you, my gynae said if I fail the test then I have to see a dietician to control my diet and also learn how to prick myself to test for glucose everyday..

Just want to check, how do you girls intend to store your EBM? my friend passed me some glass bottles that she got from the hospital.. but I need to get new caps for it.. any idea where to get?? my another colleague suggested that I go get the disc and cap from nuk as it fits the bottles just nice.. but been to some departmental store cannot find leh..

anyone know when is the taka baby fair??

Kuririn

My gynae didnt refer me to dietician. My self appointed dietician is my hubby
he is very strict but i think its good for me and baby.

Ask me to control on my own (basically cutting down on sugar and carbo). I got alot of useful advice from forum gals here and some friends who had Gestational Diabetes during their pregnancy and have been controlling my diet.

I cut down half of my rice intake and avoided sugar, yellow noodles, cakes, desserts, coffee, milo and white bread totally. Probably the only sugar i take are those from fruits.

But now, i reverted back to eating white bread in small quantities cos I've been losing weight [all those gained (which is already not alot) during pregnancy are all lost] and got assurance from gynae that as long as I control my diet, and baby is growing well, the readings doesnt matter.

Hope your result will turn out to be ok
Anyway, like what ClarisseMummy & Sneaky said, we only have few weeks to go before we can all see our baby

Hi Morraine,

Sorry for the late reply....

Marriage Cert is needed when we need to use our HB CPF for our medicial bill...

I am not sure whether the hospital need them during pre-admission or when we settle the bill... In order to play safe, we better bring a copy of the marriage cert if we want to use HB CPF for our medicial bill...

Original will be needed if we register name for our baby...

marriage cert. is suppose to be brought along during the admission together with both parents IC.

yes yes.... another 1 mth to 2 mths to go before our little ones gng to pop.

SSL: try to drink more water. i make it a pt to make sure i have lots of water before i go check up, so i can flush all the sugar in time. water helps to clear our system too.. now i can drink water without vomitting.. i drink lots lots of it.

Advise from my friends :
If you all are getting HB Formula Milk for stand by, tried to get sample from the supplier / distributors / clinic / hosiptal. I believe they are willing to give some samples to you. If you buy and found out that FM is not suitable, then it will be a waste...

So far has anyone done a 3D Scan? How much does is the cost of the 3D Scan?

Fushiastar,
My belly button part was sunken in also but mine was the upper part was protruding..

Hi kuririn,
Saw some postings on the sealing caps for glass bottle at some other threads. Hope it help....

"purchase sealing caps (although I don't know how much they cost) from Cheong Choon Store. Address: Blk 34 #03-132 Upper
Cross Street Singapore 050034
Tel: 9532 3855 Fax: 6532 7816

Pharmacy in Mt Alvernia hospital charges 70cents per set (screw cap + sealing disc)"

Hi fushiastar, ur baby cot can be converted into a junior bed? I tot this will be great, at least usable for a few years.

Btw where to find mamalove baby cot that you are saying? How much it cost?

does it mean during admission, hubby mus be the one who register? what if the one sending u over are your parents but we want to use hubby's cpf huh?

Tao baby, I got mine from Kiddy palace TPY, internal dimensions 28" by 52".. think it's still on offer $279.. Includes 1 set of bedding and mattress..

Good morning ladies..

Nuttnuts:
Thanks for the info.. since today I on leave.. maybe later get hubby to drive me to Mt Alvenia hospital to get.. or maybe go this sat when I go back to my mum's place..

SSL:
I'm going to watch my diet liao.. no more rice for lunch.. sigh..

SSL, you lost all that weight you gained.. Oh no.. must eat more..

Getting more and more tired everyday and I'm finally starting to prepare all the baby stuff I bought.. Taking the clothes out to wash and organising everything..

Does anyone know where to get incontinence sheets?

mybabydream: I dun think it really matters who checks you in. Cos whoever's cpf you wanna use the hospital can always wait for the person to sign on the form one.

I so can't wait to deliver already. Now walk also pelvic pain, down there pain, BH pain...
My water retention start liow.. fingers swollen all the time.. and I just keep feeling thirsty... sigh.. we must all ren3 through this period..

Nuttnuts ~ i jus confirm with my SIL who jus got admitted last nite.. she did her pre-admission in her 35th weeks.. den she neber submit her marriage cert..

den when she got admitted last nite.. all she had to do was present the admission card den her hb went to pay the $1.2k deposit lor..

Kris, which Kiddy Palace? I just checked at the KP- TPY last friday.. don't have.. Incontinence sheets are necessary right?
My friend delivered at KKH and she managed to ask the nurses for them and was given quite a few sheets but I don't know if they'll give me at NUH, so better buy..

fushiastar:
wat is incontinence sheets??

kris:
me also having pain down there?? esp nite time toss n turn super pain.. sigh..

my baby weigh 1.5kg when I am at week 30...I worried my baby will be too big by the time I am due but gynae said baby is within the normal range.

I gained 12kg at week 30! yucks!

loved goodwood park durian mooncakes but dun think i can eat now coz dun want unnecessary weight gain at the moment...durian very potent!

fushiastar: yah...what is incontinence sheets?

talking about weight gain, i've already gained 13kg halfway through week 34...i think i will put on about 1-2 more kg...so sad...i expected myself to put on only 13kg at most throughout pregnancy...