(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hey wendyg,
same here!!

he takes all sort of veggies, tofu and egg yolk too. initially when i sent him over to my mom's, my mom will split the lunch porridge for 2 meals....(at 1pm and then 3pm) and when i asked her if he had taken his 4pm milk, she said how to eat and drink so much!!!

my mom is a strict vegetarian lah, so abit bias about the meat. but she also commented that should not give too much veg. sometimes should just let the system rest awhile.

But then again, we should not ignore those advice right????????? dun know why become abit skeptical about things now.

maybe i should re-structure his routine? cos he usually eats at 6.30-7pm (if other pple feed, he will finish at 7.30pm!). then will shower at 8.30pm. Sleeps at 9pm with 180ml milk. not very healthy hor??? my mil ever commented that should not bathe him so late and sleep immediately cos scared "fong shi"! but i ignored her. now, i am not so sure....

triniti,
HK- how exciting! love spending Christmas in HK!

Cayden takes other carbo like pasta/potatoes 2-3 times aweek but primarily porridge . i am cooking 1 tablespoonful of brown rice for porridge. not alot right?

anyway, feels much better after taking kit kat!

isaac's dinnertime is normally 6-6.30pm. Bath @ 7pm, 180ml milk (sometimes can't finish) @ 8pm plus minus, then sleep 8.30pm plus minus.
We try to bathe him early, but for exceptional days like ystrday when we were at MIL's place for dinner, reached home only 8pm, by the time bath water heats up, it's 8.15pm liaoz.
Will make sure he's nice & dry before opening the windows. Towel dry his hair too.

re: refusing to nap
Thanks ladies for yr suggestions and concern. I guess dd is just acting up cos she turned 11mth a week ago hehe.. She'll refuse and diff to nap alternate day according to MIL. But the past weekend I find her back to normal leh.. maybe my house quieter so she nap better.. At least no more flipping and throwing pacify in sarong. *phew*

hi triniti,
Let us know if found any interesting in HK.. maybe we can BP and ship over haha...

re: amt to feed,
Frankly speaking i eat less then a corelle bowl of porridge for a meal myself leh... so i can't imagine my dd eating that much hehe.. But if the bb is eating balance meal and eating well I guess shld be fine.. I think my dd is taking abt size of 1 chinese rice bowl, plus 60-100ml of water.

applejuz,
maybe can take aidanee's advise to have 2-person's world in Aust? Otherwise if really got #2 then even lesser chance to do so leh ;)

cat tail:
i was telling one of my friends about eliz's refusal to eat solids and she commented that if they continue to drink milk then its fine. Apparently, milk has calcium, vitamins etc etc so our babies do get all the nutrients and fats too. Elizabeth still looks quite chubby even tho she seldom eats! Maybe we don't need to stress ourselves out over their meal times.......

476181.jpg

wendyg:
isaac eats 1 bowl? eliz eats 1/4 bowl. If she's happy, she eats 1/2 bowl....

re: amount to feed
my bb can eat I bowl of porridge for lunch and dinner + 4x180ml milk, don't know whether i overfeed him.
Will baby know when they are full and stop accepting food or they will continue to eat even when they are full?

thanks mummies for your input.

i got milk,
your gal is sooooo cute and chubby. unlike her, my son often goes on milk strike.

Penguin72,
my son loves to eat solid. so there is no limits. that's y i am worried about overfeeding. (after 11mos, hahaha)

isaac will shut his mouth when he doesn't want to eat anymore. No amt of coaxing can open it. Normally we tell him stories to get him to eat, if he's just being naughty. When he hears us recite story, he'll guai guai open his mouth & eat up!

igotmilk
milk not enuf iron..
dat's why must start solids @ 6m. Some people insist TBF 1 yr without solids - in the end baby iron deficient

hey aidanee
what FM is cayden taking now?

Anton's feeding schedule

7.30am-180ml of milk followed by one small tub of yogurt and one cube of fruit

1130am- 2 cubes of carbo, 4-5 cubes of vege, one cube of meat =245-280ml of food
followed by 2 cubes of fruits= 70ml

3pm-180m l of milk

5pm-same as above for food

6pm -120ml of milk

when he reached 11mths I will cut down his afternoon 3pm from 180 to 120 ml.

Aidanee
I think at the end of the day...u should feel comfortable whichever way Cayden is fed..

I have never been to HK but alot of ppl tells me Christmas is nice in HK

Cakey
I doubt it....
I think Singapore will have more baby stuff than HK!Haha

triniti,
So sayang to cut Anton's hair, he looks so adorable. So when u going over to HK?

igotmilk,
Aiyoo.. Eliz is so chubby & ah..hemm.. sexy too..heehee...
Re: feeding
I think so Edna can get her basic nutrients from the milk. U noe I am worry that if my gal still so picky when she's pass 1, then she will continue to be a picky eater.

How much can your baby eat?

A PD dietician told me that the size of a baby's (everyone's) stomach is in fact the size of their fist. The more you feed the more the stomach distends and the more uncomfortable/ bloated the baby will feel.

Some babies are able to eat more because their stomachs are used to accomodating more food. Overfeeding can result in overeating in their later years. That explains why some of us have insatiable appetide.... So when your baby doesnt want to eat anymore they really had enough....never use your bowl as a target

Hope this helps! Remember, their stomachs r only d size of their fist!

dressaholic
wahh that is a very small tummy!!But Anton is still less than 10 kg though he eats alot.I think also for the fact he sleeps from 7pm-7am..that is why he needs to eat more during the day time ...

triniti, i actually think that anton's routine is so ideal! He is feeding and sleeping so well. Our bbs are only expected to triple their birth weight by the age of 1, so he is definitely growing very well.

Anton probably has very high metabolic weight, hence explains his weight gain and feed amounts.

BBs tummies r small but they are also meant to be filled up. Mummies whose bbs aint feeding well, just give them more small meals throughout the day...

dressaholic
yeah he is alrady drinking 110ml when he is one mth old every 3 hrly!! haha...he is very hungry baby...maybe he is like me..very high metabolic rate. Plus because he is so mobile now, he perspire alot!The smell....*faints*

triniti,
Coolz, u r going off very soon. HK is more or less like Sg & it's a great shopping paradise!!
But got to take note of yor health cos their air pollution can be quite bad.

just took a breather out of office!

thanks for all the advice and information. Actually feel more confident now.

Popped by Babies Resort. quite keen to start in Sep when Cayden hits 1yo, will discuss with my hubby when he returns from work.

Hi Triniti,
I think you will enjoy life in HK. I stayed there for 5 years and I had a wonderful time! If not cos my mum nagged at me to return to Singapore, I would have continue staying there.

As for air pollution, funny thing is, I never have a single asthma attack when I was there but I have it almost every day when I am back in Singapore! Maybe cos I was staying at Repulse Bay and the air there was great!

Anissa
Wow!I think this is like the first time someone actually say staying in HK is great
Yeah was thinking of Shaosun hill, repulse bay or deepwater bay...hehe din know u went to HK but this time i am going with a baby..oh do u know much about the documentions if I want to bring my maid along...heard their minimum wage is like so almost 700SGD!!

my friend is in HK with her 1.5YO girl, she says nothing to buy in HK coz everything is branded stuff & so expensive.. So she v sianz at home, chasing her girl around the house & waiting for hubby to come home.

hey gals...
Thanx for ur advice. I think I'm gonna leave Keyon at home with my mum liao.

Initially, tot wanted to give hb a surprise buy bringing bb to him... But i jus realise that my flight will transit at Brisbane for 2hrs, then to Sydney. Luggage is a big issue + hb mentioned he may be late to pick me at airport. he oso says itinery is to rush down to the weekend market since i arrive on Saturday.

Too many 'obstacles', plus when we come back, 4 more days to Keyon's Birthday party, think better dun tire him....

Aidanee,
Keyon's meal almost similar to Cayden. Also got fish & meat + veg/potatoes etc. ~ 4 ingredients per serving. And he could finish 1 bowl within 10mins! 'Tam Chiah' boy. For Milk, its 210ml x 3 times a day.

haha.. me these few days menses too. aiyo, few mths of failure, gonna try harder next mth. :p

Triniti,
It shld be cold in HK, do wear more clothes for urself & Anton..

but... hee, i trust ur fashion sense hor... cos the gals there wear nice coats..:p no worries 4 u lah. (^^)

re: how much baby eats

oh no, after reading how much your babies eat, i think my baby girl is probably eating too much! she's eating as much as the baby boys in this thread!

My girl's feeding schedule:-

7.30am - 150ml of milk followed by one small bowl of cereal (around 75-100ml) or 1 bottle baby jar food (fruit). Then later, we feed her some bread, cheese and baby bites when we have our breakfast.
11am - 120ml of milk
12pm - 1 bowl of porridge with vege and fish (around 200-225ml)
330pm - baby biscuits, and 1 small cup of petit miam yoghurt, or fruit (around 1 baby jar food size),
430pm - 120ml of milk
6pm - 1 bowl of porridge with vege and fish (around 200-225ml)
830pm - 150ml of milk

no wonder she got small tummy/potbelly...alamak

aidanee, seems like those older generation dun feed babies too much leh.. Daryll has been taking 1 bowl (adult rice bowl) of porridge for his lunch and dinner as well. each time my mil will comment that i'm overfeeding him..

if i'm not ard, she'll only feed her half a bowl.. this has been going on since Daryll was young. when he was just 1 month old, she refused to let me feed him more milk whenever he cry for more..telling me that i'm giving him too much..

i'm a mummy, seems like your gal really eats a lot n the interval quite close.. hee

applejuz
hi, my offc uses Elsie's kitchen coz our big boss is also called Elsie. kekeke
but seriously, we hv their catered food so often until a bit sianz liao. To me just average la, can't remember anything outstanding. Eat too often liaoz.

i used www.liangfood.com.sg for my wedding reception @ church. Excellent service & great makan. But layout just normal la, not those swanky type like Kriston.

Here's the feeding schedule of my little one:

7.30: 150ml milk
8.30: Cereal
11.30: Milk ( btw 130 - 150 ml)
1: Porridge ( 1 veg+ 1 meat) & Fruit
3.30 : Milk (btw 130 - 150 ml)
6.00: Porridge ( 1 veg+ 1 meat) & Fruit
7.30 : Yoghurt
9.00 : Milk and Zzzz for the day

Looks like he is eating quite a bit huh? But then he is still very small sized.He is only abt 8 kg and he is nearly 11 mths! He is extremely extremely active though...

Aidanee:perhaps our little ones will become classmates then

Morning ladies

re: HongKong,
I guess different part of HK has it's own characteristics.. Life in urban area such as causewaybay are quite hectic and fast pace.. pple hurrying on the street and heavy traffic. Whereas in rural areas its not so bad..
Yes I remembered every gals in the street were properly dressed and hair neatly done

And on valentines day you could see almost every gal is holding a bouquet of flowers

hiya, just to share that the caterer i used (4 seasons) for zephan's birthday party was quite well received in terms of food quality. Set up was basic. I ordered tea items.

re: feeding
yeah, i heard about the stomach/fist relation also... but if so then all of us are over-eating right? i mean, 1 bowl of rice is already the size of 1 adult fist... hmm, zephan takes 1 chinese rice bowl of porridge, sometimes a little bit more. usually i wont force if he finishes 80% of his daily quota, but if it's less than that i'll try to distract him and make him open his mouth. Amazingly, he always has room for fruit though! so i think when it comes to their fav foods, they do not have a limit, and parents have to set it for them. My godson loves pasta, and can overeat and vomit later.

I feel that where possible, should try to get them to take nutrients from normal food, besides milk. Can entice them to take some adult food? I really dowan zephan to end up like my nephews, who have to take Pediasure to supplement their nutrient intake (expensive!), and parents (plus grandparents n maid!) chasing after them during mealtimes..*faint*

wendyg
I have also heard that HK is more expensive in Singapore BUT my hubby said my 'income' will also increase and there is no 'limit' to my expenditure hehe....

Applejuz
Yeah!!I can finally wear my mouldy boots hehe and prolly have to buy new coats cos I gave away most of my winter wear away.

Cakey
Neat hair all the time...oh no, sometimes my hair looks like I just woke up and I will just go out like that!!Uh oh!! Girls holding flowers on Valentine's day??? Haha, u know my hubby will only buy it and leave it at home and he REFUSE to bring it along in the public!!Talk about being romantic...

wendy,
the cake was nice, but 3kg was too big.. :p and people want to "jian fei" so cannot cut too big piece for them.. aiyoh, the couples kept saying "we share 1 piece enough already".. haha... but all said the cake was v nice.. :p lett not a lot though, about 0.5kg left.

hmm, some pics of the birthday fr my camera. no chance to take anymore when the party was in full swing.. gotta wait for my fren's photos.

with my grandmother
476991.jpg

his loot!
476992.jpg

Hi Phoebe,
maybe you are right about the older generation....but could they be right? that's what i am more concerned about. Most books are written for western bbs, so the intake of food is also different.

Hey Applejuz,
You work hard in Sydney, sure come back positive one!!!! hahaha....jia you....enjoy yourselves!!!!!

Sweetpea,
hello, saw matthew napping when i was there.....my only concern is that bbs sleep in aircon room, which Cayden does not. I notice that there are indian helpers. are they ok? (not bias lah

Triniti,
No lah, flowers can save for next time. Ask for watches/diamonds. hahaha...

Just take care in HK as it is not so safe now because there are so much influx of Mainland Chinese. but if you hang around Central or the high class places, should be ok. OH! I really love spending Christmas in HK....that was many years back! Xiang Dang Nian!!! feeling really old now.

hey, let's have a farewell lunch ley...

Ting Ting,
My sis' boys also like the chasing game during meal times....i pity her 2 maids. and i can only pray that Cayden will grow up with good table manners at mealtimes.

Quite keen to visit zoo. did the one u organized take off?

oh really? then pls share your experience, okie? it's been ages since i last visited the zoo!

wendyg,
have you heard of Pampers Comfort? abit cheaper than Pampers all night. I didnt buy, but want to find out more info.....have you tried NTUC brand?

Hi aidanee,

Oh..for Matthew, he is quite used to sleeping in air con cos it is air con at home too. He cannot sleep without aircon and would end up just tossing and turning. Heh...yah...there are quite a few Indian teachers at BR, not to worry lah, they are all very nice and clean
Matthew is quite attached to his Indian teacher and she in turn is good with the babies.

aidanee
yes heard of Pampers Comfort. Orange packing right? Nvr tried b4 though. Isaac is currently on NTUC diaper, L size. U want? I've got extra packs of XL, can sell u. Bought too many packs nowhere to store & hubby grumbling. He's good at grumbling, my hubby.

wendyg,
hey, i bought NTUC L size too. abit tight now and it cuts his thighs. can hardly secure. may want to upgrade to XL. did u get it at 9.5? Thought if you havent tried it, can pass you the balance L size.

okie. me go there everyday. sooooo tiring!!! (Got room to rent??? hahah)

not today cos never bring the L size pack. will do so tomorrow. sms you!

aidanee, Daryll has been taking the same amt for few months liao.. so far he's alright with it.. maybe gotto cut down a bit, just to play safe.. hehe

Daryll is using Pampers Comfort for daytime.. u want to try? i can pass a few to you but its M size loh. personally i still think that Pampers Premium is the best....

HK
Its really a nice place. i'm craving for HK foods.. esp those big and nice wanton noodles. hehe

ladies ...

am back from my BKK trip and I survived hahahahaha

YC refuse to eat his jar food for the trip ... I brought 8 there and came back with 5!! I threw away 2 of the jar food after only manaing to force 5 mouthful into his mouth (before MY DADDY asked me to stop!!! cos he finds it v cruel *faint*) and 1 jar ended up in my hubby's stomach cos he v heartpain to throw it away after another 5 mouthful haahahah

So YC only had FM and cereal at BKK and some udon at the place that I had dinner at heehee he was so happy when I gave him udon and some pork!! machiam like I tortured him and refuse to give him food like that

YC didnt like those night market though cos it was too noisy and hot!! He was waving and waving at the night market and the moment we went into the cab!! He started to clap!! I think he was saying 'bye bye' cos he wanted to go back!!

The flight to BKK was ok but the return fight was horrible!! He was so active that he kept wanting to come down the seat to crawl and I must confess that he tore 2 of the in flight magazines!! And he kept 'acting cute' in front of the stewardess but bully me!! *faint*

ok here are some tips for those who wan to try BKK:

1) Leave your pram at home!! Bring a baby carrier. There are no esclator or lift in sight at the skytrain stations, so thank goodness I only brought my baby carrier with me

2) Stay at the hotel that is nearest to the shopping area that you want to hang around at. I stayed at pathuwan princess which is just next to MBK!!! I am so glad that I made that choice although its so much more exp then the rest of the hotel. I can just leave my bag upstairs, shop and then go up again for any other matters. If I stay at Asia Hotel (like for my previous trip), I think I will die!!

3) The high chair there are sub standard one!! The restaurant either dun have high chair or they have high chair without seat belt!! So i had to tie him to the chair using the baby carrier and of cos he protest lar!! Even the hotel's high chair comes with a belt, but the belt is so loose and unadjustable that its as good as not having one

4) Baby clothes and toys are not exactly cheap there. In fact its the same price as the adult's t-shirt!!

now downloading the photos ... will post up some heehee

Thanks to Aunty Snoppy, I got to bath in this nice yellow bathtub!!

477628.jpg

Mummy making me wear this stupid sleeping bag AGAIN!!

477629.jpg

Nice View!!

477630.jpg