(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi applejuz,
forgot to ask..what about the height/length gain of your baby? did you measure during PD visit? my baby girl grew 7.5cm in about 5/6 weeks..not sure if that's average?

snoppy ...

really ar ... the dr at the polyclinic refuse to give him the hap B jab ... she say that his jaundice level is still high .... got to bring him back for the check next week ... sianzzz ...

skippy ...

my bb is q naughty too ... be q fun to see his expression lor ... very animated ... like mummy like that hahaha ...

mummies ...

what is the routine of your bb hur??

we bath our bb at abt 10am every morning ... then he will usually zzz after a feed (wake up for his feed in between) ... stay awake for a while at abt 7pm to 8pm .... after that we will usually change for him at abt 10pm and then he will be wide awake until 1am or 2am ... no matter how we coax him or ignore him ... he will not sleep ...

is it cos the changing time is too late? i rem that mrs wong said that we should put our bb to bed by 7pm or 8pm ... but me having dinner at that time ler ...

Hi Skippy10,
re: sleep through the night
Haha. I also like to sleep, esp after becoming mommy. Sleep is so previous to us. Actually, my bb does not sleep much in the day, maybe 1 long nap in the morning, 2 short naps in the noon. She is at her crankiest in the evening.
What i did is to give her full feed of FM before bedtime. When she was around 1 month old, i started giving her full feed of FM ard 11pm. However, nowsadays, she does not finish her milk and yet can go to sleep at around 10pm.
I have put her on a bedtime routine since she is very young. I will wipe her first, feed her and put her to bed with soft music playing. It works for her.

re: tantrum
My bb gal also like to throw tantrum esp when we try to bottle feed her. She hates bottle feeding! Always want to nurse. Will scream her head off when we try to feed her with bottle. *Sigh*

re: brands of FM
I am using Similac now. Her poo is quite watery too despite not pooing for 5 days. Don't know if i should change FM too. Cos' each day, she don't poo. I get nagging from my mom. Very stressful.

I thk it's really not easy to be mother esp when you heard all sorts of funny advice from elders. Not easy to ignore them when they are so close to you. It's also not easy to tell them that the pd/book says certain things are normal. I think they think their experience is more reliable than books.

Hi I'm a mummy,
I didn't buy baby scale.
I just use normal digital weighing machine, weigh myself first, then weigh me carrying baby, then minus the difference. :p clever right.. ha ha...

My boy was 5.26kg & 61cm on his 1st mth PD visit.(he was 3.79kg & 51.5cm at birth). Now i haven't measure his length yet.

hi wendyg,
did you need to hold your bb's head/neck when sling? if need then only left one hand free.. looking forward to the day her neck no need me to support.. But then again, by then maybe too heavy for me to sling liao hehe.. sling downstair to buy lunch already felt shoulder aching...

re:weight
I weight my bb using normal scale by weighing myself first then carry bb and weigh again. My bb growth also slow down after 1st mth now stays at 5+kg. But her height already shoot up from 50cm at birth to 62cm or so now.

hi Nicky's mom,
You mention your boy drink 280ml of ebm per feed. What's the interval of his feed? should be quite long then?

Hi cakey,
He takes his ebm every 3 hourly except in the night where last feed is 11 or 11.30pm and then in the morning when we feed him again at 8am.

As for the sling hor, if i am carrying bb in a sleeping position, i usually hold his head with one hand (something like carrying him under the neck) cos i scared people bang into me or his head and then he will sprain his neck (dunno will or not lah but i feel more secured this way).

If i'm go out alone for more than 2 hrs, i will carry him in the bb carrier that places the weight of the bb on both side of the shoulders rather than the sling which is only on 1 side..

hi vone/cakey

my boy use to cry very badly when poo poo, so i gave my son gripe water every day. Nowadays he doesn't cry or yell loudly anymore. still he will poo poo only once every two days (mostly watery) but he's ok... i think their poo poo suppose to be watery (if i'm not wrong) i think if they do not scream and yell, should be fine...

hi everafter, i'm staying at blk 407B and i started work liao... perhaps only able to meet up during weekends instead of weekdays...

everafter, my workplace is at Pasir Ris and my husband works at Changi North. So we will drop our son to the nanny at Tampines, then my hubby will drive me to work at pasir ris and he will go to his workplace after that.... all quite along the way lah...

Seabreeze,

To convert the reading, you just need to divide it by 17. Your baby's jaundice reading is 162, that will be 9.5 pt. Shld be considered very safe. Only need to send baby in to hospital when the reading is 15 pt and above.

hi i need milk,

i saw doris on sat - she's really easy to talk to! thanks for the recommendation!

Dear mummies
I had found a nanny for my boy!! Finally can have peace of mind. Was debating on this (nanny or infant care) for the longest time. Now just praying that things will work out fine when I start sending my boy to the babysitter.

Cakey
Re sleeping in sarong
I think bb preference will change one. Last night and this morning, my boy don't want to be rocked to sleep in sarong. I put him in the sarong and he fell asleep on his own without any rocking, but he still needs his pacifier.

ixwong:
do u want a tin of NAN 1 HA? I have a big tin, i opened it on last sunday. Wanna give it away since i just discovered my bb hates it. She likes Nan 1 FM better. Good for me since Nan 1 is cheaper than HA. Maybe u wanna exchange yr Nan 1 FM with my Nan 1 HA FM? THought maybe u wanna try HA for yr bb since Nan 1 gives yr bb watery poo.

re: sleeping thru the night
My bb is already 8 weeks old and she doesn't sleep thru the night.. in fact, she likes to keep awake from 11pm - 4am!! How do you mummies change the bb's schedule to sleep at night instead of day?

Very siong.

hi i need milk

my gal is on nan ha too and she poo 2-3 times a day once she is off gripe water.. mashy mashy green poo that smells and looks terrible. If we fed her gripe water, she poos 5 times a day and it is so watery.. Wonder if she is having diaharrea.

She can't take nan 1 as it gives her v bad colic and cry from 11pm to 5am!!! Nan ha seems suitable except for the poo now.

Re: sleeping thru the nite
Was very happy cos my gal slept thru the nite ytd! haha.. last feed arnd 9+ then slept till 6 am. Praying hard ytd was the first day to sleeping thru.. hope she will continue to sleep thru. *wish me luck* haha

Hi everafter i stay 407A, PM u my hp.. can arrange to mit up anytime

Hi skippy, kylie sometimes can sleep thru the nite w/o any feeding.. say last feed is 10pm. will wake up oni ard 6am for the nxt feed..

Hi Lib,

How old is kylie? so nice, sleep through the night..my baby girl now 7 weeks, still have to feed every 4 hours..but atnight, she can drag longer..about 6 hours. eg.last feed at 10pm plus, then she'll wake up at 4am plus..sitll have to do one 'morning' feed

Hi Angel,

my girl on nan-ha1 premium also...Ya my girl's poo mashy one, like mashed up avocado haha..i feed her gripe water once a day only, but infacol i give every alternate feed. but she doesn't poo everyday leh..every 2 days poo once...how often does kylie poo?

share with u.. i did something very daring.
I drove my little Keyon to Habourfront alone today. Put him in the infant carseat in front passenger seat...Very challenging. He only cried a while on the way back.. chuck him a pacifier... luckily got home safely.

re: sleeping thru the night.
*sigh* I'm still waking up once or twice at night. Maybe I direct latch on BF, baby not full lah..

Hi applejuz,

I also want to drive alone with baby girl, but my car cannot put car seat in front cause got front passenger airbag, can only put car seat behind. Like that how leh,,,if she cry halfway, i have to stop the car to attend to her..so dont dare to yet

applejuz, is Keyon using a rearward facing car seat? Was told that rearward facing car seats cannot be put in the front passenger seat. In fact, for baby's safety, it is better to put the car seat at the back. That's what I do, I put nicole in the britax meridien rearward facing in the back passenger seat diagonal to me, so that I am able to see her when I stop at the junctions. Nicole is now 1mth and 3 days old. She took her 1st car ride when she was 3 weeks old to apply for her passport!

SeaBreeze....I think the dr in the polyclinic blur ah.....your baby's jaundice level is not high at all! And if you are BFing, BFed babies tend to have a bit of jaundice but that is fine as long as the level is not high.

I also can't drive if i bring my bb out alone cos he will cry the moment i put him in car seat leh.. Like i'm a mummy, my front passenger seat has got airbag, so got to put him behind.. Last week when i bring him to mom's place, he was crying in the car seat all the way from Toa Payoh to bedok. I saw his eyes got tears when we reached my mom's place.. Heartache..

snoppy ...

yap the more me think abt it the more 'angry' i am ... anyway just spoke to another fren ... she recommended that i take the 6-in-1 instead and go to a PD ... cos seem like the needle they use is diff ...

any mummy got any recommendation?

ya.. i think its not advisable(illegal?) to put reaward facing carseat in front. but my car no airbag there, so tot not so bad... see many pple doin it too. maybe next time try putting him behind...
snoopy, u put at the back diagonal seat right, tot baby's head backface u? can still see him? do u feel unsecure?

Hi seabreeze

"gatecrash" tis sept thread as need advice. come to tink of it, my bb is a sept bb though edd is is in oct. let me know wen u r back at hme

btw need some advise
currently wif cl, i m latching on in the day n ebm at nite (i pump, cl feeds) but wen cl goes, tot it is easier for me to latch him on at nite instead... wat are ur arrangement at nite? i prefer EBM to a certain extent but troublesome.

btw seabreeze

tink i sms u b4 that my pd recommends 5 in 1 as it is more estb. also wif 6 in 1, bb takes more jab at a higher age.. (1.5mths time) tho 5 in 1 requires more visit.

applejuz
BM is easily digestible, that's why need night feed. Breastfed babies will stop eating when they're full, unlike those given a bottle, who will eat as much as is in the bottle.

inc
my baby is hungry every 3-4 hours all round the clock. I feed direct all the time... too lazy to bother with bottles & expressing etc.. hee. Very sian to hv to let him use EBM (ie bottle) when I return to work. Wish I could bring baby with me to latch on!

seabreeze:
i chose 6-in-1 for my bb cos got less injections. I think that was the deciding factor for me. I don't wanna subject my bb to so many injections!

angel:
my girl didn't like nan HA plus, yesterday her poo was so watery.. like diahorrea.. first time i see so watery one. So i changing back to Nan 1. Today i give her Nan 1 to drink, she very quiet.. no more complaints. Past 3 nights we give her Nan HA, she cry and cry and cry. And we thought she hates the teat.

Hi seabreeze,
Like Ineed milk, We chose 6-in-1 also because got less injections for baby, not so stressful for her. Also, if hep B is taken separately, its more painful..according to the PD

dun get cheated by my little girl hor.. sometimes she can be a monster!! her sleep thru isnt tt regular loh.. maybe nw she is slowing adapting. *my girl is nw 10weeks old

I need milk
Thanks for your offer. But dun think will let me boy try NAN HA. Will let him try Friso 1 instead cos he's taking Friso Comfort for constipated babies quite well. Unfortunately Friso Comfort cannot be taken for long term cos poo will be like diarrhoea.

Re Sleeping thru the night
My boy now 8 weeks still not sleeping thru. His schedule is still 3-hr feed like clockwork. Seem like many of the bb gals are sleeping thru but not bb boy huh? maybe bcos boy eats more??

Re jab
My boy is on 6-in-1. Costs us $100 per jab at our GP.

Hi wendyg,
My boy always stops halfway & fell asleep on my 2nd breast.. then I'm too lazy to express out the remaining, maybe breast become 1 big 1 small..ha ha.. use bottle no such problem.

btw, will direct latch-on babies become chubby too? coz they dun tend to over-eat, plus our BM so dilute.... but i wan a chubby baby leh...

applejuz,

my boy is super duper chubby.. but then dunno if it's bcos of genes, cos most of the fats are at the thigh area! haha...

hi ixwong

i've an open tin of Friso 1, so u wan it. i open it couple of days back cos wanted 2 let him try formula (due to BF jaundice), but after 2 feed, he don't seem happy so i jus latch him on again.

i understand open tin can last 4 weeks, if not must throw away, so its gonna be wasted. if keen, can collect at whampoa road. mine is e 900g tin.

been having challenging days e last few days cos CL left. on e 1st nite, boy stay up fr 2am-6am n cry for milk hourly.. siong.

re: baby not asleep, cry for attention
how do u mummies handle, whenever my boy is awake, usually 4 hours in a go, he'll wan 2 be carry n not left in cot alone.

re: mittens
when do u remove mittens totally??

re: 1 to 1
any mummies alone with baby? how do u manage your meals? i'm alone with boy in e day, no other means of support, so finds it hard to prepare my meals especially when he's awake.

can remove when u're brave enough to cut his nails..
i removed my boy's when he's abt 6 weeks old. Hands got too fat for them...

re: 1-1
i cater tingkat dinner. Lunch is usually sandwiches / instant noodles. If u want, can use slow cooker to cook some soup over the night. Can cook noodles / bee hoon with it, or reheat rice cooked last night. But usually i'm too tired / lazy to do that, so have less healthy lunches... :p

hi cookies,
my bb needs to be rocked in sarong alot of times so what i did is to put most stuff in the room. Her powder, bottle and water are in the room. Sometime I eat my breadfast in the room while rocking her.
For lunch I think the best is to cater. Else got to take sandwich etc simple one. If my gal sleeps soundly then I sling her downstair to buy lunch.
I got to wake up quite early like 6am when she's still asleep to do own stuff like brushing teeth, eat breakfast, washing her stuff, prepare for her bath. Then go back to sleep if she's still sleeping. Otherwise once she wakes up no ganrantee when she'll sleep back again and might not even have time for breakfast!

applejuz, I put nicole at the back seat diagonal to me, so can only take a look at her when I am stopped at junction. I actually feel that it is more secure this way as the car seat, apart from being held by the seat belt, is wedged between the back seat and front passenger seat, i.e. you move the front passenger seat backwards until the car seat is securely wedged between the front n back seat.

The 1st time I was out with nicole, I put her in the car seat when she was sleeping. When we were about to arrive at our destination, she started crying when she woke up to find herself strapped in the car seat (guess it must have been very foreign for her). After a few times, she is used to it and seems to enjoy the car ride! She will quietly let me strap her in the car seat even when she is awake.

Hi Snoopy,

I also do the same thing as you..push the front passenger seat backwards until touch the carseat. this way, the car seat wont move when we do turns or brake. :eek:)

HI Cakey,
Me also, wake up 630am to bathe, wash hair etc. prepare her bath..and i don't sleep till at night 12am, after her last feed..cause in the day, have to take care of baby, and do my work ( i work freelance from home) etc. And still have to wake up to do a morning feed at around 4-5am,depending what time she wakes up..sigh..going to have panda eyes..feel so shaqued...now only 3 weeks since CL lady left, but i feel it has been ages!

My bb girl seldom wear mittens since she was born.. thought its better to let her hands breathe.. plus, we cut or bite her nails so its not too long.

re: sleeping thru the night
ixwong - my bb is a girl but she also wake up ever 2-3 hourly... for some days in a row she refused to sleep for 5 hours straight at night! so i don't thik its a girl or boy thing.

re: chubby baby
applejuz - tingting and wendyg babies are all on total breast milk but they are very chubby!! They got thunder thighs.. Guess this means that their mummies BM are power-packed!

I've also removed when my boy 6wks old last wk.
cos realise he grab his fist tight tight during bath time.
so better remove to exercise his fingers. Initially, he'll tend to scratch his face.. aiyo. got a few scratches, but easily recover.. baby skin mah.. :p .. but still must cut his nails very often.

I also removed his bootees in the day time. Only wear at night in aircon room.

hi snoopy,
Thanks for sharing on carseat. Think I need a few more times to practise.
Cos i tend to see how's baby doing while driving, quite dangerous leh. Hope next trip, baby will 'Guai Guai' beseated. :p

Here's my Keyon in car seat...
324992.jpg

ixwong,

my bb is a boy also. He started sleep 6 hrs strech before i start work. Now, even longer. Sometimes can sleep up to 7-8hrs. I also dun think it's because of sex.

Re: Jab
Can I know what's the difference for 5-in-1 and 6-in-1 jab? My boy have his hep B & BCG done in hospital. Going back for his hep B 2nd jab tis mth end. So I shd take 5 or 6 in 1 jab?

cakey, yes, it's possible 2 restore ur bm. try 2 let ur bb suckle more often. tis'll signal 2 ur body tat u need 2 produce more milk & drink more papaya & fish soup.

i m a mummy, tink it's d way ur mil carry ur gal, thr's y ur gal falls asleep so fast. u observe how she carry, then u learn.

seabreeze, tink ur changing time is 2 late. we usually give him a wipe down at around 7pm. then he fall asleep at around 9pm - 10pm. if we r lucky, he'll sleep til 5am. if u r hving dinner at tat time, then u either change him earlier or hv dinner earlier.

ixwong, congrats on u finding a nanny 4 hao wen.
dun tink sleeping thru d nite is restricted 2 bb gal leh. mine is a boy & he sleeps thru aso.

i need milk, wat i do is tat i refuse 2 let my boy sleep 4 2 long in d afternoon. i either talk/play wif him or bring him out 2 stimulate him. then he'll b so tired tat he'll sleep in d nite.

inc, i either latch bb on or hb will feed him FM if i can't wake up.

cookies, if my boy can't sleep & cry 4 attention, usually we'll carry him & he'll fall asleep. as 4 mittens, i remove them when he's abt 6 wks old on snoopy's advice. as 4 my meals, i usually take maggi mee or last nite's leftovers when my boy is sleeping. hv 2 b fast jus in case he wakes up.

snoopy, hehe... ur hb's photography skills r not bad. tink it's d camera's fault. hahaha...

hi vone,
i follow the way she carry leh, but not the same effect..maybe cause my MIL got more 'suppor'..fleshy fleshy all over like cushion haha me bony bony, not comfortable..

Hi applejuz,
Keyon so cute! got so much hair!