(2005/04) Apr/May/June 2005 MTB

<font color="0000ff">krazy</font>
Exactly the same sentence that Joeson said. That was 3 months ago. After that, whenever his stuff spoiled, I no longer buy for him.
Nowadays, we give him allowance. He will keep it in his piggy bank. Whenever he want to buy something, we'll bring out his piggy bank and start counting the money with him, then compare the price of the item with him. Will inform him that the money is not enough.
Also made him work for money. Like sometimes, will bring him to my company and he'll help me with some little stuff. He'll earn salary. Don't know whether too early to do this, and will cause reverse effect or not. But, seriously, don't wanna him to be too pampered.

hello mummies, TGIF! Today is my last day before my maternity leave and waiting game start.

<font color="0000ff">Angel,</font>
wow, nice cake! Happy belated birthday to Joeson.

<font color="ff6000">posh,</font>
Happy belated birthday to both Gerald and Glynnis too!

<font color="0077aa">
Hi Angelneo,

Nice cakes!

Hi Poshies,

I was about to go on business trip until economic downturn and no need to go. If I were you, probably will pump and throw just to keep the supply.

I am bringing the 2 kids to Taipei the week after next. Iden is still on bm. Anyone ever bring bm on board a plane? Any issue during clearance?</font>

<font color="0000ff">angelneo</font>:2 little ones on long trip? Get a portable dvd player.. that's what we did for valerie &amp; my niece on our way up to KL last year. O/wise they very restless after a while.

<font color="119911">dewdrops</font>: Hats off! I didn't even want to consider going <u>anywhere</u> while nigel is still on bm.. too much hassle. gotta find plc pump etc... Have fun and enjoy your trip! Do share with us ur experience of bringing ebm onboard ok?

<font color="0000ff">Dewdrops</font>
Enjoy your trip. I'm not sure whether customs allows u to bring in BM or not. Think u better call &amp; ask?

<font color="ff0000">Tigger</font>
Hope Bb will guai guai come out after 31st.
Feeling excited for u now.

<font color="aa00aa">Angel</font>
Ya portorable dvd player is really great to divert their attention. Other than that, think not much things to do on the car, wait move too much motion sickness. Have fun in ur trip too.

Dewdrops,
Yeah enjoy your trip. Me too thinking to go taipei with the kids. But my HB worry the little one will run around and might change plan to go cruise instead. Will see how lor.

Tigger,
waiting game starts liao hor. Do keep us update wor

Twinklets,
not too long later will be your turn liao

thanks for the wishes...

now at ica... waiting for my turn to collect my passport..... haha

i bot ftg and milk bags along... see how the thing goes....

hi dewdrops... u onz lah... talking abt bm... will check for u tomorrow when i'm at custom... i thinking of the same thing... was think to pump before board the plane ... then what should i do with the bm.... haha

Tigger,
Any signs yet?

Mummies need some help here....maybe elaine is the best person to ask...
Anyone knows where i can get this kind of brightly coloured balloons that are put on cakes or anyone got 2 bunch to spare me?
2301165.jpg

<font color="0077aa">Hi Valmom,

I was thinking to stop before going for the trip since Iden also coming to 1 year old already but then, hubby and me were worried that this is his first trip aboard. If gana flu or cold (*touchwood*), then quite troublesome too. Also, Iden is not taking FM well yet. Started him on little bit of FM mixed with 70% bm, then he drink, if not, he don't want. Then like that also difficult, still need to pump too.

I have been there with Xavier about 2 years ago. The airport and major shopping centres are well-equipped with nursing rooms like these but if go excursions or nightmarkets, then don't think so convenient.

In Taoyuan Airport (Transit area)
2301771.jpg

In Sogo Departmental Store
2301772.jpg
2301773.jpg

Hi Twinklets,

Do you know what number to call? I checked the airport website, they say cannot bring liquids more than 100ml and sealed in transparent plastics, with the exception of baby food. So baby things anything also can?

Hi Meow,

Originally we wanted to go cruise too but my hubby dilly dally until there is no more cabins on the dates we want. Now we joining my family to go Taipei. Easier with more people around to jaggar the kids, especially when I still need to pump.

Hi Tigger,

The baby cycle starts again! Hope you will have a smooth delivery!

<font color="0077aa">Hi Poshies,

It will be great if you can have a word with the custom people on how bm is handled. Thanks alot!

You plan to bring back the bm you pumped there? Then you will need quite a big cooler bag correct?</font>

<font color="ff6000">meow,</font>
No signs yet. Hopefully the signs will come after today.

<font color="0077aa">dewdrops,</font>
Thanks! Have a good holiday in Taiwan too!

Feel bad that I have brought Keane to overseas a couple of times but yet to bring Kayla. Have actually planned to do that when she is ~18mths old but I am already in my 3rd trimester. Mind is willing but body is not. Hopefully can bring the whole family for a good holiday by end of next year.

<font color="aa00aa">tigger:

ohh... time really goes by so quickly.. it didn't seem tt long ago when you conceived..

now, its almost time for you to give birth..

have a smooth delivery, girl.

<font color="aa00aa">Tigger</font>
Hrmmm.... You feel bad ah. This Friday's trip to Genting, is the first 'Holiday' for Joeson lei. He's 4 yrs old. How to say lei????

Hubby's idea is that we let the kids grow to a stage where they remember events, then we'll bring them for a holiday. Hehe..... Initially, hubby don't wanna bring Anson along, saying Anson don't remember places and things at all. But last Sunday was our turning point.

Brought Anson to my office, which also is at my dad's company location. Since it's a Sunday, nobody was there, thus the 2 kids were roaming the compound, when Anson suddenly ran towards the main door to the office, and started to knock on the door and shout for 爷爷.... My hubby and me were so stunned by his action. This obviously proved that Anson remembers location and can link the place to the person there. Thus.... Anson's going for the Genting trip afterall. HAHAHAHA.....

<font color="aa00aa">angel:
oh yes they remember!!!

my girl is always asking me if i remembered that this happened and that happened.. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">krazy,</font>
Thanks! I hope I can go for natural birth again this time.

<font color="119911">Angel,</font>
Actually a lot of parents prefer to bring their kids overseas when the kids are older. But then I cannot bear to leave the kids at home while going for holiday with hubby. So if I want to go holiday with hubby, must bring all the kids along.

same here.. i also want to take c along even if its a short getaway.

i am sure you can. dun worry too much.

<font color="0000ff">Krazy</font>
Ya ya ya... but you know hor... sometimes when they ask if we remember, can be quite a challenge. Cos... my elder one once asked me, if I remembered that we took one IMM bus back to Jurong and he lost his water bottle in the process. It took me about half a day to recall it. Haiz.....

<font color="aa00aa">Tigger</font>
Yeap, sure cannot bear to leave the kids behind. But you know hor, it took me so long to convince hubby to let me bring the kids along this time. He prefer that we both go for holiday, with just the 2 of us.

tigger,

same here.. prefer to bring all the kids. Its been more than 1 year since our trip to korea... I am planning to bring the 3 kids to either Alaska cruise or Japan/Hokkaido within the next 12 months. Planning free and easy now cos very difficult to follow itinerary tour even with 2 kids. I am on a mad rush most of the time when I was in korea.

Its nice to bring the whole family though the kids are so young especially Josh .. wont remember much. I love the photos taken... its so nice. And of course the cost... one trip will cost $15k or so liao.

dewdrop,

the airport customs dun check baby food. The last time I bring J to korea when she was abt 17months, I brought a bottle of her milk, a hot flask and a big bottle of water for both kids to make their milk.... they din really check at all when we said its for the baby. I mean its obvious when we are carrying two young tods.

Been training my new maid for the past 5 days...

She's quite forgetful, plus choosy with what she eats... *sigh*... but there are times when she shows some initiative...

My mum keeps saying that the previous maid better... aiyah... how to compare???!!??? The previous maid collects urine leh... cannot ask her to come back right? Must change my mum's mindset but very difficult. Hopefully, over time, my mum can accept her.

My kids also find it hard to accept her. Now my boy super sticky to me... dunno what will happen if i go back to work after my leave.

re: bicycle

I bought a 14" bike with trainer wheels for S recently. But when I bring him downstairs to cycle, I found a lot of little boys, some even younger than him, cycling with just the 2 wheels! And I found that they are mostly using smaller bike like 12".

I am thinking of selling the 14" away now and buying a 12". Cos I think the 12" has a lower centre of gravity thus easier to master cycling. What do u all think? Do u think our kids should be using 12" now?

<font color="aa00aa">poohy:
c got a bike as a bday gift.. not sure how big the bike is .. but we havent taught her to ride the 2 wheeler so she is still using the assistant wheels.</font>

<font color="0000ff">poohy,</font>
wow, Alaska cruise! Can bring me along? It will be very expensive for the whole family to go on a holiday. Especially to somewhere far. Planning free and easy is a better choice as tour package is usually very rush. Gotta wake up very early etc. I prefer to go places where we can self drive.

I think our kids still need trainer wheels for bike. I also intend to get a bike for Keane. Not too sure abt the size though.

<font color="ff0000">Carla,</font>
Give your maid some time. She is still new so still can allow her to be forgetful. Did you give her a notebook to note down your instructions?

As for choosy with food, you have to tell her firmly that she has to eat what is given. No wastage of food etc.

The kids may need more time to accept a new maid. Ask her to be more hands on with the kids and hopefully they will accept her soon.

krazy,

I regret getting the 14" one cos felt it may be more difficult for him to master the 2 wheels. Likely will buy him another one... I felt that we can teach him to cycle with 2 wheels now... after seeing all those really young kids in my neighbourhood all cycling 2 bikes.

tigger,

tought of alaska cos got wild life (J loves animal) and dun need to travel like mad in a normal tour.

but the likely destination shd be japan i think cos of the long flight for alaska.

with 3 kids and more, guess no choice cannot go every year liao... can save and go every other year only.

Poohy,
i bought the 12" one cos that's e only one left. She's still with the training wheels attach.

mummies know where to find the ballon i posted?

<font color="0077aa">Hi Poohy,

They didn't really check the baby things? I thinking of bringing a BIG flask of hot water on board the plane cos I need to warm Iden's milk and my small hot water flask cannot keep as warm. I have a feeling that the hot water provided on the plane will just be lukewarm and not enough to warm his bm. Will be bringing a couple of packs of frozen ebm to make sure he got enough. Hope the custom won't ask me to throw away any of it.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Tigger,

I asked my maid to write down in a notebook everytime she forgets something and ask her to read her notebook frequently but she still makes the same mistakes. I am looking for a new maid again. Until I find a new one, the current one will go. Is your agency good? Can recommend?</font>

dewdrop,

I brought a big flask of hot water on the plane to korea and back. I know they provide on the plane but I need to have it at hand in case my kids need milk and the staff cannot provide in time. I dun think its a problem at all.

San,

I got one for S last year as a present from Josh. Hm... he play with it on and off and its quite educational with most of the programmes.

poohy,
so its good? Thinking to get it for D but not sure if the screen is ok and will she be too addicted to playing games. Did you get the Leapster 2 or the older version? Wondering what is the diff.

Poohy,
yeah you not worry S get addicted to future handheld games like PSP or Wii etc? Me saw this promo and its ending soon right? I only saw the click start games that i'm keen. But not deciding to get yet since include shipping is about the same price as selling price before discount. Unless got more things to buy then maybe i will get tat

<font color="0000ff">Meow</font>
I know where to get the balloons. Going to that place this Thursday. Will help you get it. 2 bunch enough right?

dewdrops,
based on personal experience wif SQ, the hot water on the plane is REAL hot... so sure can warm your bm one... enjoy your trip

<font color="0077aa">Hi Poohy and Sweatcorn,

Thanks for your advice! I hope I am not too overly worried about all the logistics things and forget to enjoy my holidays.
.</font>

hihi...

hi dewdrop..
had spoken to the staff inside the airport... if u r travelling with baby.... no problem... just let them know u r travelling with bb....
for my case as i'm travelling alot... so i can only carry 100ml of bm... haha... in the end.. .due to time constraint... i pump it at the plane... so funnie rite....

<font color="0077aa">dewdrops,</font>
My agency is so so. The person that I used to contact has already left so I am not sure about the service level now. How long has your maid been with you?

Birthday celebration
We celebrated Keane's birthday in his cc yesterday. Planned for early celebration in case I pop on his birthday (tomorrow). Have been telling bb to wait in my tummy till we celebrated his brother's birthday.

Keane's cake...he is still into army stuff so he requested for an army tank cake.
2305773.jpg

hmm.. am sure Keane understood that you had to do what you had to do.

but his cake is so cute!! hahahah

i will upload c's pics on fri after c's celebration in sch.. this time, she gets to celebrate with her classmates as her bday falls on fri (day designated for bday celebration for her sch).</font>

Tigger,

I gave her notebook and pen and ask her to jot down the things that she needs to do.

Told her that as she is an ex-sin, I would expect her to plan her things... i.e. no timetable from me.

Yesterday, she forgot to bring my boy's milk bottle to my MIL's plc. How to make milk????!!??? So angry... In the end, make milk in my boy's water bottle.

This morning, after we arrived at my mum's plc then she remembers she forgot to bring my kid's medicine. Luckily i got prepare liao...

Cannot depend on her.

Dewdrops,
U changing maid? no good or purely forgetful.

<font color="aa00aa">Krazy,</font>
C's sch has a designated day for birthday celebration? I am sure C will be thrill to have another party. Saw your blog, her Mickey Mouse cake is so nice!

<font color="ff6000">Carla,</font>
Even now I dun trust my maid to pack the kids bag for going out. I will pack their clothes, diapers, snacks etc while she does the milk bottle and formula. I always make sure everything is in place before we leave home. For sch bag, I have put the packing list on the fridge door. Even so, sometimes my maid will forget to pack one or two items.

yes. they only allow celebrations to take place on fridays.

guess it is to prevent disruptions to their normal lessons.

hee.. thanks. i used her toys for the cake. c was very obliging when i told her that i needed her toys for a few days. hahahaha</font>

<font color="0000ff">tigger</font>
Nice boy boy cake! Think Keane must be thrilled to see his cake design yday.
So good that your wish is finally granted!

<font color="ff0000">Meow</font>
Thanks but still a long way for me, still have 3 wks+ to go. So sian..

<font color="aa00aa">Dewdrops</font>
Think u must feel more relieved now after hearing so many + feedbacks from our mummies here on the BM. Hmm really gotta consider a lot of things when BF. U mummies already v good liao, can tong till like 1 YO.

<font color="ff6000">Holidays</font>
Ya I also want to bring my kids along when I go holidays. Feel v bad of leaving kids behind eventhough some pple say they are young &amp; cant remember much blah blah. No doubt tat is mostly the case when kids below 2 YO cant remember much, but I guess it is the ‘moment’ thing that counts. Ashley can surprise me saying things like her strawberry shortcake water bottle during Melbourne time when we brought her there at 16mths old. Tat time when I heard her said that, I was wondering she really remembered tat holiday or simply remember from her photo album. Anw, I cant wait to travel out of Sg man. Cant wait to sit aeroplane next year. Keke.

re: Holidays
I had never left D behind for holidays before. Partially all my holidays are traveled together wz family and never ever did I and hb bring her wz us alone for holiday before. Plus i got nowhere to 'tombang' her if me and hb go alone. I don't really know if D still remembers all her trips but seems like she never mention to me her US or Taipei trip when she is 2+ yrs old already. Those trips earlier than that, don't even need to say. The deepest impression she had is last year Nov trip. Maybe its jus few mths ago only. Though said that the kids when young may not remember a single thing, but the moment when they are there, they really enjoyed. For monetary wise, kids below 3 especially below 2, there's really not much involve except for airfare. Hotel, transport, admission tix is all FOC. Below 2, they don't even need a seat on aircraft so, it will be even cheaper plus adults get priority to sit at the exit row with long leg room! There's a plus point for adults. haha. Only trouble is the younger they are, the more 'ley chey' to bring them out.

san, meow,

I got the leapster LMAX. The one that can also plug into TV and play.

I have concerns too... that's why I din get it earlier and when hb wanna buy WII for him, I said no. But I think my concern is undue... cos so far, he play with it on and off only. Same for PC games, he also play with it on and off... and same goes for Joelle. Maybe there is too much other things in my house and they dun get to play a single thing all the time. But S's first love is still playing ball game, riding his bike, scooter, car, go-kart. He enjoys physical activities more. J on the other hand, loves to read books.

<font color="0000ff">poohy,</font>
I am really impressed with both S and J. They can read well at this young age. You have really cultivated good reading habits in them. I am one lazy mummy...didn't really spend much time to teach the kids to read or write.