(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

Jus got back from MIL's pl, gave Steffi her nap breather...she's seems pretty ok oredi...can talk, laugh & chatty...
TBL, yup I've got one of those mucus extraction thing too...but difficult lei, Steffi won't let me put dat thing on her nose, so no choice, I use mouth to suck out...at first, was comtemplating but after see her so charm, no choice lor...faster & easier oso...

[Yu] Hang on there...I salute u, can ton so long...!!! watch ur bb cough 'cos pd said it will cause ear infection-datz wat happen to Steffi now... and may oso lead to bronchitis...hear oredi, scare 'cos I myself had bronchitis-very torturing....jus imagin for bb, can't even tell mummy howz she's feeling.... Today at the clinic, most children & bb patients were sick!!! and most of them got to use the nap breather...haiz....

LL,

dont know if the service is good there but the opening hours are good. at least if need to see paed better than worry til the next day.

24-Hour Hotline: 6311 1222
Mon - Fri:8.30am - 10.00pm
Sat:8.30am - 2.00pm
Sun & PH:9.00am - 1.00pm

TBL,

I give my boy the si sen brown rice in his milk bottle so today is the first time feeding him cereal using the bowl and spoon. Think you should be the first one to feed Natalie cereal. than you get the see the first facial expressions when she tries to chew the cereal. if your babysitter feed than you miss the initial expressions. my boy at first gave an apprehensive look but after tasting the heinz plain rice cereal, he ask for more. so we end up feeding him two teaspoon worth mix with water to form a paste.

[Rochelle] thks...better then nothing, was hunting high & low yesterday... How old is ur boy? can take paste food, won't get choke? tot must be watery, am going to start my girl wif solid food after she recover...

LL,
Nat 'enjoy' me doing the mucus extract thing with her. dunno why lei, but everytime she will keep still when i do tat & smile at me after it's done. :p ya, no choice need to use mouth to suck if needed.

rochelle,
ya lor, i oso think it's better for me to give her 1st solid. but HB think otherwise, he think it's ok for nanny to feed her since nanny got more experience wor.... aiya, i need to consider again. :p

HI mummies. All the babies tht are not feeling well, hope u all have gotten better.
muak* muak*

I Aaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrbish Evelyn first, u huh, ban u from saying the word 'slim' haha.

<font color="0000ff">shall I give up</font>
I started Chloe on cereal again last weekend, fed her with spoon and bowl, she didn't really know how to eat.. blow out all the food, but she's very interesting and keep grabbing the spoon and put in her mouth.

But today I ask my MIL to feed, sigh... I come back she told me baby don wanna sit still and eat. She put her in sleeping position and feed.. means pour into her mouth laah....

I told her my point of why need to sit and learn how to eat from spoon. And also why don't pour into the mouth. But she say last time my hubby also like tht grow up one.... I really don feel like saying more....

I really very sian liao,,,, nothing I read and plan to do can ever happen. at this point I already feels like throwing all the notes and books and research away.... don read better lah. Read already also no use....

lucky shann has aldy recovered fr her flu...the last time she screamed at the PD was whn shes 3mths wif the tube thing in her nose... aiyo mi v sim tiah...scream like hell bt at least she can breathe,nap,drink milk at ease for the next few days lor...heng if nt v siong for mi man!!

my MIL can comment i stupid let the PD earn my $$ cos bb onli abit flu n cough y go see doc n hav all the exp medicine?? nt fever wun die 1 la..no nid to b so paranoid abt bb's health...nt yet 6mths see so many times doc v exp n useless.. WAHhh i !@#$%^&amp;*F***!!!..invisible tight slap flew to her liow!! BTH...

i tik most MILs always like tat say HB also grow up like tis..felt like answering mine.."no wonder HB gt strange behaviours /is stupid nw somewhere.. :p" ekekeke...

fatchick,
so happy that shann has recovered! yippee!!!

sometimes, i also dunno how to explain to my mum that i want to try 'new methods' (nicer way of telling her that her methods are 'outdated). for eg, she wants to buy a walker for my girl and so when we went for my girl jab 2, i took the chance to seek the pd's advice and he was against it!! hahah.. my mum 'bo whey gong'!!! .

my girl is 5 months old today!!! can't wait to start solid for her next month!!!
any recommended first food??? thinking of plain rice cereal

Nicknames
can't help but wondering, what does your nick means?? coz i saw many interesting nicks here and am curious.
Mine is 'lachesiz' / 'lachesis' means weaver of your own fate. i am a big neil gaiman fan and this was one of his character. (though sandman/morpheus ans death are my fav) any neil gaiman fans here? sorry, off-track a bit......

and on the subject of names, how did you all choose your darlings names and what does it mean?

Nicknames
can't help but wondering, what does your nick means?? coz i saw many interesting nicks here and am curious.
Mine is 'lachesiz' / 'lachesis' means weaver of your own fate(something that i strongly beleive in). I am an avid Neil Gaiman fan and this was one of his character. (though Sandman/Morpheus and Death are my fav) any neil gaiman fans here? sorry, off-track a bit......

and on the subject of names, how did you all choose your darlings names and what does it mean?

hi ladies... how's all babies, mummies &amp; daddies??

Re: MIL
That's partly why I rather not have my MIL take care of Jean... initially she took care oredi so many conflicts... then when I refuse to talk to her cos fed up leow (she got argument whenever I say something), she say I bu ting hua... BTH!!!

Last time hubby grew up by pouring food down his throat?? Tell her last time police wear shorts, now police wear long pants... last time last time... always last time... sianz... =P

*paiseh... bad mood... cos damn bz at work...*

think most bbs here recover alr!! good to hear tat.

rochelle,
me decided to feed nat her 1st solid! told bb sitter this morning not to feed her for the time being. feel veri happy after making the decision.

duffy,
***hug*hug***
yr MIL really terrible!! how can she feed chloe solid in sleeping position!! it will choke her lei! u ask her whehter she will feel comfortable eating in the same position? ask yr HB to talk to her. tell him u are not being paranoid but it's really dangerous to feed bb this way!!
nono.gif

fatchick,
another funny MIL here!! sick of course need to see doc lah! bb can recover without med meh? small sickness need to see doc liao, else wait till very serious then go hospital ah??

lachesiz.
i will try dumex infant cereal on Nat this wkend, will let u gals know her reaction then.

Jen,
hahaha.... ya, last time police wear shorts hor...

nickname
---------
hehehe.... think i'm the most not creative one here lah. why TBL? coz i dun have christian name &amp; my name is Txx Bxx Lxx lor... :p

bb's name
---------
name her Natalie meaning 'gift from God'. Her chinese name 'xin tong' meaning 'happy tree'. kekeke... very odd hor? but i tot she is born in year of monkey and I want her to grow up as a happy girl. so give her, a little monkey a happy tree lor. :p

nickname,

my nickname is my english name on my NRIC. I am not a christian.

bb's name,

my boy's chinese name means culture and martial arts. so that he would hopefully be a balance individual, good in sports and studies.

LL,

I feed my boy half a baby size teaspoon and put on his lips. then he "suck" in the paste himself. so less likely to choke. also I sit him on my lap when I feed him becos he cannot sit unsupported yet.

<font color="ff0000">fatchick</font>
Huh, Yr MIL say u stupid ah. Walooor, let's 'blanket' her, haha :p
How can a elderly say something like tht.
Chloe give Shann a flying kiss, now tht her flu is better.

<font color="ff0000">lachesiz</font>
I tell u huh, even my MIL goes to see the doc and doc advise this and tht hor. SHe can say she don believe one hoooor, really pei ceh one. Grrr......
Oooor, I went to do a search for Neil Gaiman, haha, interesting figure
so u like comic also huh?

my usual nick name is actually wooof last time, cause I love doggies mah, than I lost my password and all, so register a new name call duffy, cause it's my hubby's nick. If i can I will change to wooof lor, but don wan lah, confusing ah

<font color="ff0000">Jen</font>
hahahahhahaaaa.... u so funny, yr MIL even more funny, say u bu ting hua, haha
ahyoh, yalor, don know how to tell her bu yao last time last time liao....grrr...

<font color="ff0000">TBL</font>
Me trying to see if can talk her around lor, ahyah wanna give up liao

nickname
As my chinese name is Ong XXX Yu so I used Yu as my nick

BB name
My gal name is Elicia Low Qiu Min. For english name i think of, somehow like this name very much so want it. As for Qiu Min, is my HB ideal, it means alert, healthy and happy.

TBL,

last 6-in-1 jab today and my boy cried the minute he enter the paed's room. now he got stranger anxiety already.

now I got two small cans of NAN2 and one small can of similac excellence as samples. my hubby does not like Abott products so probably try NAN2 on my boy when he is 6mths old.

my boy today weigh 8.05kg same as 3weeks ago. he is 72.5cm now. think he stop gaining weight since he start teething.

<font color="ff0000">Jen</font>
yes yes, i think we spoke b4,,,,, long long time ago when we are preggy on the other forum... than after tht I forgot my password, forgot which thread,blah blah, so sign in new one lor haha

duffy,
u are wooof.....!! i'm sure i did 'talk' to u b4.
hehehe.... have ur memory better now? u dun forget yr p/w for duffy again hor!! :p

rochelle,
any reasons why yr HB dun like Abbot product? i got samples from mamil nite, similac &amp; friso. any idea whether we can give different FM? thinking to give similac 2. after nat get used to it then slowly introduce different brands until we finish all samples. then can save a bit mah!! btw HB may wan to kill me coz i think of this idea to 'save' yet spent a lot on other things!! :p
good lei! stranger anxiety!! i kind of waiting/ hope nat to have stranger anxiety ASAP. :p

TBL,

he knows people working as sales people for Abott that are not very nice (sales driven). can give different formula milk as our baby not so sensitive already. after all I tried different brands of baby cereal on my boy also no problem. only some he dont like to eat.

hubby going bangkok tomorrow.
so i'll be taking care of nat by myself till friday. not a problem on taking care nat as I only bring her back after office h., but feel very sian coz HB not in town.

rochelle,
ya lor, i oso think bb shld br not so 'fragile' alr since alr 6mth. but HB very 'bao(3) bei(4)' nat lei, always worry tis &amp; tat if I wan to try new things! actually wanted to ask PD in front of him last wk when Nat did her jab, but forgotten abt it.

nick...will i get beaten for explainin mine??ahhaha..
aiyah i always use tis as i m er.. puixxx(FAT) bt still pretty(CHICK) on the face boh..dats y la.. lol.. *shy*

my bb name..we name her chinese wen(1) xuan(1)den found on the net SHANN..sounds v alike like xuan lor..tik its a guys name in the olden times la cant rem the meaning.. opps..bt i also dun wan to risk my bb name to mis call by some old folks also..like labbit=david u noe??!! :p
*my ex col's name also shann,&amp; shes a real babe wif brains*wow* leh..so i hope my ger will be presentable n gt brains..demure >wen(si wen) nt chor lor like my MIL..

MIL..shes senseless/mindless/u always kana snooked by her suggestions type.. i aldy used to her liow la.. juz walk off or i yell (she consider normal toking method) to her wat i tik lor.. take it or leave lor...dats y dat day i tok back to her *HB nt ard* say if nx time bb sick i let her treat bb..cos she says like shes the PD mahh...she @@ at mi i juz walk away.. wah sat sat man!! *hahahaha*

FM..i try NAN.. whn shann was newborn..to my horror..she shits greens everyday n damn smelly sia!! it happens the same thing to my sis 2 sons whn she try nan last time on em.. so since den we let bb drink similac exellence lor...at least nt so smelly liow.. any bb wif similiar effects??cos my sis n i tik its quite generic as it happens to the 3 kids in our family..

most importantly my MIL every time wil force mi to change the diapers whn bb shits(NAN days)cos she says she cant stand the shit smell..too smelly liow..hiaks!! ...stupid rite?

TBL,

I also very sian when my hubby was overseas. since our babies been taking milk since they are born, wont have milk allergies so should be okay to try different brands. my hubby also will worry about his baobei but he will still let me try.

fatchick,
hahaha... we dun *arbish* pretty babes, only target on those 'slim' one!! :p
wow... u steady lar!! tok back to yr MIL. last time when I was staying wif MIL oso did tok back. but now seldom see her so less arguement...
NAN - last time when nat took Nan her poo was ok, yellowish colour &amp; not very smelly. After i change to similac her poo poo a bit greenish, but oso not smelly.

Oh dear, Im so bz today..

Actually Wilfred on solids since from 2 or 3 weeks ago but found red rashes on his face and headhad to stop immediately. (He couldnt take Si Sen Brown Rice, got allergy reaction.)
Last Sunday I gave him try Gerber rice cereal, suggested by one of the mummy from other thread. He really loves and enjoys it, no red rash found...heng ah!

Oh ya mummies, dun forget to video cam your bb when they first take cereal cos their mouth movement very cute, you will definitely love to see.

Lachesiz,
My nickname is my English name because dun know how to create nickname for myself. Hee!

TBL,
Are you indirectly saying me??? So bad! Dun friend you

Sorry to all mummies here, cant write more because very sleepy..

duffy,
i am grahic novel (comics sounds so childish, esp DC/Vertigo leh)
fan but now no time to read.
maybe will read comics to my girl then can kill 2 birds with one stone!

my hb n I are also toys fanatics, esp star wars, jap anime, 12" soldiers. any toy collectors here? btw, can't wait for star wars ep III.. catching it tmr! yeah, my hb has been inducting my girl into star wars by humming the theme music to her recently in place of her usual nursery rhythm!

MIL
Mine is a nice lady and she already 'book' herself as my girl caregiver even before i conceive! but i know sure got conflicts one so i managed to persuade my own mummy to do the job. at least kah ki nang, easier and less stressful but my mummy is those who must go kai kai, shopping, meet frends kind so she is getting restless after only 2 months on the job!! argh!!!

whenever i visit my MIL, i feel like a mannequinn or 'miss universe'... a 'smile' permanently plasterd on my face. go home immediately massage else get cramps!

tbl,
agree with you that we dun arbish pretty babes (not their fault they born prettier than others. but i still *jealous*)

btw, how do i change the font color in my post?? sorry i PC idiot.

teething.
how do you know whether your bb is teething? mine has been quite cranky these few days but she just turn 5 months and i feel nothing on her gums.

cereal.
just bought organic plain rice cereal and earth best brown rice cereal from tanglin. intend to mix these 2 and give it to her maybe in 2 weeks time. any advice on mixing? my mum fed her porridge water from my nephew's lunch (but cook with meat and vege) in front of me!!!!! and twice somemore even when i was screaming my head off!! she very smart, did it when i was expressing milk so no hands to stop her!! but my greedy girl seems to love it and ask for more!!!

My HB did this when she was about 1 month. (he was gaming when this idea dawn upon him, but of course not done so professionally and nice like chole's) M girl has changed alot since, both in the looks and in the 'likes and dislikes' departments. now she loves to drink plain water. and she doesn't mind being naked! (under heritage is actually the father and mother's name but i edit abit... shy la)

i wanted an 'interchangeable' name (can switch between Chinese n English so only one name is reflected on her BC, so next time kena punish by teacher to write name, no need write so much) so i decided on *** Rae-Ann. i want her to be a grateful (grateful for who she is, grateful to ple, life, situation and things), gracious &amp; wise person. Her intitials *RA means light as i also want her to be a positive and happy person! basically, i want her to be happy in life!

285862.jpg

evelyn,
hahaha... ya lar, kind of indirectly say u lor... duffy alr ban u from saying the word 'slim' mah!
thks for yr reminder on recording bb 1st solid experience!! Will standby the videa cam.

fatchick,
hahaha..., the labbit=david very funny. :p

lachesiz,
me too dunno how to change the font colour lei.
did u check her lower-ctr gum see any white spot or not. normally teething starts from there. is she drools a lot? as for cereal, i think now it's still not advisable to give the meat-vege porridge water now lor. but then yr girl likes it and no allergy reaction then shld be ok?
wow, yr HB did a good job lei! very very special n interesting!! Rae-Ann scores full marks of cute factor &amp; babe scale!!!
hey, ask yr HB to do a updated one since Rae-Ann has changed the 'like' &amp; 'dislikes'.
btw she looks really cute!!

saw an article on bb's solid, quite intereting &amp; think it's useful for us. will try to scan in pdf files &amp; upload here.

aiya, the file is too big. how?
it's an article from today's newspaper. may be if anyone of u want can let me then i will PM to u.

hello mummies...wow leow very shiong, new maid + sick bb + HB chasing for work deadline!!! Anyway, steffi is quite back to her normal self oredi but only wail during medicine time..hate dat!!!!
MIL - all r the same lah, always got their own formula. Lucky mine not so bad, still can listen to our opinion. Own mummy is always the best lor, can argue and things will be back to normal after the argument, no hard feeling but MIL very difficult, afterall still outsider wat.
[fatchick] u tok kong men....talk back to ur MIL, sometimes oso good so she knows ur kwan oso and she is not the decision maker...

what is labbit = david? *slow* ORH... i get it... wahaha...

lachesiz, cute leh... can send me the file so i can make my own... hehe... see oredi very gian... hahah...

Duffy
U are woof? From the year end thread one?

MIL
so many stories abt MIL hor... from Jen, From fatchick , from everyone .... I also have. Last time during 2nd Jab, we din bring my MIL to the doctor to witness the vaccine. After the jab, we gave declan medicine. Then the nagging started
they say we should not anyhow give med if bb not sick. and say tat due to med, bb drowsy. com on lor. tat one is Panadol - pink liquid given by doc.

This time i smart liao, i bring her to doc to witness the jab, and i PURPOSELY asked the doc if can give med, and if med cause drowsy. then doc explain..bla bla. then my MIL nothing to say and then at home, ask me to give bb med. BUT after the med, my boy was playing with saliva , and drooling purposely. then my MIL say "why after med got so much saliva? is it caused by med?" then i told her no lor. last time same med but never drool

cereal
my boy can take cereal quite well. see his pic

285979.jpg

Where is my CEREAL!
285980.jpg

My Nick
I am mango fan lor. the mango logo is MNG. but i think is trademark or patent. so i use MNGO. haaa

Baby name
Declan Isaac is initial of me and my hubby. Hubby is D, Me is I

hey all
very tired, no time yo login. Gal still sick but at least fever have gone. NOw if she cough too much, will vomit... So poor thing and she dun wan to eat also.

hi muumies..

most of u quite lucky huh at least ur MILs is convince aft doc advise..u noe y i tok bck to her??

REASON: i bring her to PD once,aft tat my MIL can actually tell mi:" the PD bullshit one.nt serious say until like v jia lak den charge u all young ppl exp medical &amp; consultantion $$.. u all stil like goon du kana cheat ur $$!!bb less than 6 mths no nid to see doc..y u nid to see?? " ..aft i hear this i almost died!!
so many parents thr see leh.. dats the last time i step into tat clinic so ma-lu!!

ever since my dog died,MIL is happy cos for many yrs she aldy ask mi to throw away my dog to hav bb instead..*damn angry &amp; F*** inside!* so i m v determine to protect my bb as much as i can..even toking back at her dun care so much liow.. i am a MOTHER liow, even my mum also juz advise wun instruct mi to do tis n tat..*of cos whn HB nt ard den tok back la if nt HB tot i want to stage a overthrow!! ahahahha...*

no more trips to PD wif her.. double tragedy for mi n bb!!

on cereal.. strange my sis kept saying bottled solid food nt gd for bb (sure gt preservatives ler)ask mi to cook whnever i can.. bt shld b okie hor..whr gt time to always cook??!

teething.. my bb starts nw..bt PD says actual teeth will appear like 6-7 mths onwards.. any1 wif exp? my bb is nw 4 mths..

lachesiz> ur HB v creative leh?? is he a designer?? ehhehe *bb looks kinda cute wif those funnie side modes!!* i also tik my bb scream mode is 10/10 leh!! ahahhahah...

dunno y, my gal like to sleep on her tummy! Now I no need to latch her on till she sleep. I will still direct BF her for abt sometime and she turn away. Once she turn away from my breast, she will flip and roll abt till she find a comfortable position and sleep (on her tummy)! She will sleep on her own, no need me or anyone to accompany her!

Since abt 6mth age of my gal, she can sit unsupported for at least a few sec to 30s. Do ur baby also like this?

TBL,
To every parent, their own baby definitely scores a perfect 10 in the cute /looks factor. all parents are bias
. i know NOT ADVISABLE/TABOO to feed meat-vege porridge water but my mum caught me off-guard!!!pengz. good idea to do an updated version.. maybe should do a 6-monthly review.

Jen,
My hb simply use powerpoint to do the slide and then save it as jpeg file. hence, i have no file/template to send you as he had already deleted the original ppt file and only the jpeg one remains *sorry*. he says quite easy to do and its fun!!! u should try it

mngo,
love the 2nd pic! declan seemed to have enjoyed his yummy meal and then relaxing in his chair! so 'tow kay'. u love mango? me too... until i gave birth and grew too fat!!! argh... *look of hatred*

fat but chio chick,
he not designer la but he quite artistic n creative.

yu,
hopes she gets better REAL soon. i read your post, my heart also feel the pain

my gal loves to sleep on her tummy from birth to about 2plus month, she slept more soundly and awaken lesser. i know its very dangerous to let newborn sleep like that but i bo bian (else she will wake or jerk at the slightest sound) and let her do it in only the morning when we check on her every 5 mins!!! (we were that KS!). but as she grew. she dislikes that position now!

so jealous that your girl can sleep on your own! mine still very sticky/difficult, needs us to pat/cradle her to sleep!

rae-ann can sit unsupported for less than half a minute since 4mths but hers is a very 'slouching' kind of sitting posture. i don't think is as upright as your girl! mine is still not a homo erectus yet

Wilfreds Chinese name, Jia Le means the best and the happiest. Hopefully he will be the best and the happiest person in the world. My SIL likes to call him tian tian kua le.
Hubby and I created his name and my elder sons name both. As their parents, we prefer create name for our babies instead of ask for strokes.

MIL
So far my MIL treats me very nice. Pak toh with my hubby that time she oredi treated me like her own daughter, just sit there waiting for makan! Haha!
Whenever weekend coming, she would be very excited! Prepare this and thatand ban me help her in the kitchen (even though my cooking is better than her, hehee!)
Dinnertime, Im definitely the first person sitting there for dinner. Not because Im tham chak lah, its coz I dun like old pple call and call for dinner, she oredi prepares dinner for us, its not so nice to let her beg us to eat. Noticed that she likes to call me first follow by hubby and SIL. If Im busy coping with bb, she will definitely heat up the foods again for me. She always asked my SIL helps me to pick my elder son at childcare to avoid me rushing back from office. She never interferes the way I taking care of my kids. Therefore, so far we never have conflict before.

TBL,
You know, when I see your nicknameI would think of my ex-classmate. Her name is Tan Boon Leng. Of course, cant be you right?

LL,
Hows your new maid? Are you ok with her?

Lachesiz,
Bb starting teething will drool constantly and try to chew on anything that is handy, including their thumb.
Btw, your hb very creative leh and your girl look so serious! Anyway, she such a cutie!

Mngo,
Haha, we have same model high chair leh. Its a baby gift from my company. Your boy at the second pic very cute leh, my Wilfred also likes to do that.

evelyn,
you r one lucky daughter-in-law and her MIL is also lucky too as i can see that you really appreciate her efforts and understanding!

my girl is drooling more and seems to have started an intense and affectionate relationship with her thumbs and my shoulders! maybe she is going to teeth soon! don't really look forwared to that!

you are spot on to say that she is a 'serious' girl! she always look so intense, serious and deep in thoughts (how shall i torture/stress mummy next?) since birth.it was only when she is about 2-3 months then she starts to smile more (but her smiles then looks so condescending and 'dao') and only in recent weeks that she laughs more.. now she is one crazy, giggly, playful baby!