(2004/09) Year End (Sep - Dec) 2004 Mothers-to-be

pawprint, we got cat 1, row E. Actually I like our seats v much cause from previous experience I feel that if seated at the first 1-2 rows, might not be able to see very well cause the stage is relatively high and plus I imagine that characters are all v big? Just guessing only haha.

Pawprint,

WW has always been the more cautious one. so he was alittle scared even though I was nearby. He did want to see Barney though

Just "threaded" this for ahgirl! The small white fake pearls I bought for some other abandoned craft project, 15 yrs ago! The swarovski crystals was some abandoned wedding project, 5 yrs ago! The baroque pearl is real and recent, haha.
1365225.jpg

gabby, yup, I made it for her to see, then she took a nap... and when she awoke, she asked to wear it immediately!

Rochelle, thanks hehe. It's a very imperfect pearl so I'm hoping I won't be too distressed if she loses it.

rochelle, WOW! thanks for sharing, now I got more places to spree at! :D Online sprees are sooo good for a busy sahm's soul haha.

pawprint, its gorgeous! Too bad faye doesnt like these sort of pretty little trinkets, otherwise I'll love to buy her something pretty like this too (cant make to save my life :p).

Kelly,

no prob. my boys understand chinese but dont speak it. I find the commercial flash cards over priced but lazy to make my own so just download free ones.

HFMD
yap,that alot of cases, quinn caught it too!!!! just recover and he didnt caught it in school, we been to so many places, difficult to trace also.

Any of ur kids have the step-on scooter skateboard thing with steering handle? Ath been asking for one but am not sure whether she'd really like it. Those who have it, ur kids like it?

Pawprint, u mean the skate-scooter ah? Yeah Faye has one since quite long ago, she quite like hers but not keen on it enough to play for v long.

Sorry to interrupt. I have 2 boys of preschool age and want to send them to school. May I find out from you what are the important factors that you all consider when choosing a preschool?

chihuahua, depends on what is impt to you? Cause all parents have diff concerns. For ME,things that matters most are discipline policies, the core beliefs of the principal/school when planning curriculum (I prefer a more fun-based prog rather than acedamic), and that there must be a chinese teacher that accompanies the children thru the sch hours (and not just for chinese class). Its also impt that the teachers must be flexible and have an open mind when parents give feedback. I also feel that its important for the principal to be as hands-on as possible, and to actually know what is going on as well as to maintain a good r/s with parents. So thats how I picked a preschool for my DD.

chihuahua,

I prefer a safe environment and caring teachers. when teachers are just teaching and not willing to help intergrate the child into the preschool environment, hard for the child to feel "at home" in the preschool

- proximity/ convenience
- caring teachers/ safety

Thx for the feedback, waaaaaaaah, all of u bought that scooter-thing already, haha! Did u buy a helmet with it?

pawprint, yeah I bought a helmet to go with her skate-scooter, but found it redundant cause she doesnt exactly move that fast haha, so no need for it at all.

ehhh.... i didnt buy any helmet or such but now i realized it could be dangerous without one as quinn plays with it very often and he loves to do it on slope!!!! he simply loves the feeling of speed and doing stunts. hmmmm..... should i get a helmet then....??

school
tender loving care and fun!!!

Dental checkup

yesterday WW went for his routine dental checkup. suppose to go dental every 6mths starting from 1 yr old.

he cried when the dental nurse wanted to clean his teeth. but was ok when the dentist check his teeth.

luckily both boys have no cavities. it was my younger boy visit trip to the dentist.

Still recruiting! Time changed!
I already have an existing Wed morning Playgroup running at my home for my boy, he loves it!

***I already have 1 mum, need at least 1 more mum to get running! :D Anyone pls?***

Anyone interested pls email mel_tan_st at yahoo dot com
Tots-and-MUMS Playgroup for 2006 Tods.
Free, bring your own snackbox, and each mum contributes a 15min segment .

Suggested Outline:
3PM. Freeplay! I’d set out a tray of toys, and change them weekly. You don’t have to bring toys, less bulk to carry!

315PM. Keep away and Intro! (by all)
“Toys away, toys away, time to keep your toys away”.
“Welcome today, friends of mine, welcome today little sunshine/ starshine. Bounce/ Skip/ Jump/ Sway, to (child’s name).”
“Biddely Diddely Bumblebee, Won’t you say your name to me? What’s your name? (Child’s name). *blow bumblebee*”
“(Child’s name), how are you today? *handshake* Good?”
*Rub hands for energy ball*

330PM. Alphabet/ Phonics! (I *WOULD LOVE FOR* other mums to take this segment- use Jollyphonics or Letterland, will be GREAT change from my usual Zoophonics materials! Wld love to expose the kids to different phonics materials!)
Alphabet Song/ Finger-trace, Zoophonics, Related Poems OR Jollyphonics or Letterland?/ Magic Box/ English Storybook

345PM. Music & Movement! (by any other mum please! )

4PM. Snacktime! (by all)
Reinforce “yes, more, please, water, bowl, spoon, cup”.

415PM. Mandarin! (by any other mum, pls!)
Eg. Flashcards, Songs, Stories, or any other activities!

430PM. Misc! (by me)
Numerals, Dots/ Finger-trace/ Topics like Colours, Shapes, or Days of Week/ Sightwords/ Simple Memory Sequence/ Speedreading materials

445PM. Craft/ Hands-on! (I can do this too!)
Eg. finger painting, sticker activities etc!

Pawprint...i'm around hehe
and yups I'm expecting 2nd baby, but still very very early stage...this round will need to get a CF lady and me kiasu ask around first :p

AC, congrats!

Rochelle, ur boys into penguins now?

Mummies, will like to check if you have any recommended kids' dentists pls? What are the charges like and what is the procedure? Anything I have to prepare J for? Thanks!

Jen,

my boys love penguins since they first saw the penguins at the aquarium when the older one was 18mths old. they just not interested in the pingu show. they only like real penguins. my younger boy likes Happy Feet though

Jen,
ath checkup after K has his checkup, no separate charge for "looksee" only. Nothing done.
but if got problem... heard united square dentist is gd. no details sorry!

Yuru,
yah, Irv did show more devt when we started his expensive PG... now just trying to continue with DIY FOC PG.
ur C going which classes? I'm suddenly very impressed by classes conducted in CCs!!!
Ath's gym was gd!

DORA- anyone going? Where to buy tickets ah? Not sistic right?

S.O.S!! Just trying my luck to see if any of you have insights on this since most of you already way past the bb stage liao haha. Gene (my bb) has some dark yellowish patches on his toungue, these patches are definitely not thrush (he also has oral thrush but thats another problem) and they are not raised patches, just colouring- makes it looks like he went and chewed some dark yellow crayons! I have NO idea what it is and I cant swipe them off, kinda worried about it but cant find ANY info online! Just wodnering if anyone has a slight inkling what that is? Its very rare that I dont even manage to find information online, I'm a little freaked out.
BTW I've booked a PD appt for him tomoro liao, but still hope I can at least have an idea what it is before tomoro.

yuru, thanks! Whew, I thnk its just a more serious case of thrush, cause I asked the nurse to tell PD and see if I need to go down for consult or not, PD told me to collect thrush meds, dont need to see her for consult. Got the meds today, he really dislikes it lol, but thats another story altogether!

skyblue, okie thanks! but turned out faye didnt want to see Dora, she says she is ready for dora show only when she is 5!

Dressing up- I need help again! Anyone has any inkling how I can dress Faye up as a EGG (specifically humpty dumpty)? Her school has a small party next week, theme is Fairy tales & nursery rhymes, she only wants to go as humpty, but how to make a humpty costume?!

I am thinking of using a large piece of cardboard and cutting it into an egg shape, but how to let her 'wear' it ah? Any ideas? I am very not artsy, so please throw me whatever ideas you can think of hee. And BTW, I dont plan to buy a egg costume cause it'll be too hot/stuffy, plus I am not prepared to spend more than $10 for this.

Berry,
wah that's challenging, a comfy egg costume under $10 leh. I can only think of asking her to curl up as "egg-y" as possible when required to demo, and just having "fragmented" look on her?
The big red BOW is pretty essential for the look, though.