(2004/09) Year End (Sep - Dec) 2004 Mothers-to-be

Pawprint, Jen,

Saw on kids central. Barney show from 5-8 Jun at Suntec Convention Centre. Trailer mentioned ticket details coming soon.

hi, i wld like to join this thread too.

Currently i'm fm the june 2007 thread but i have a preschooler who is born in sep 2004. Currently in N2 now.

I am also bf my 2nd child who is 10 mth old.

jen, didn't know there's a gainIQ for 3yrs and abv? what my boy is taking now is grow for 3yrs and abv. He was on GainIQ fm 1 to 3yrs old.

abt pre-navar jab, i took risk that time by waiting for my boy turned 2yrs old then jab.

now the baby, i'll go for it after he turns 1 yr old...

berry,
how many weeks your baby is now? do continue to bf despite now supply low. btw birth to 3 weeks, supply not much one. try lactation tea like mothers milk tea to up supply.

i was like before. i diligently pump every 3 hrs or latch whenever i can to up supply. now at 10 mths le, supply still enuff for my baby but just that i need not wake up to pump in the night le...

i'm sure u can do the same... jia you!!

J&Mum, my gal was on Gain IQ as well and switched to Grow as she is quite phlegmy. Not sure if it's because Gain IQ is too "rich"? Recently, in the past couple of weeks, I saw the new Gain IQ Kid on the shelves so wondering if any mums tried and find it good. It's less expensive than Gain IQ (1-3YO) but more expensive than Grow. Abbott does not have sample for this yet though.

J&mum, hi, welcome!

My baby is now just past one month old. Honestly, I dont have the luxury of time to pump regularly, there just isnt enough time. But well, like what a good friend told me, some BM is better than none, at least I am trying my best I guess. I am trying to not feel too guilty over what I cant help.

Did you have the help of maid/mil/parents? If you dont and still can pump 3 hourly while caring for 2 kids efficiently plus cooking, then u must share your secrets with me haha, see if can help me salvage my dramatically dropping supply. :p

(pawprint, eh my supply is like HALVED on some days, its pathetic. I think v soon I can sell you back your pump liao- if you still want it.)

Hi Mummies, hope this is useful!

Start Date : 5 June 2008
End Date : 8 June 2008
Title : Barney’s Let’s Imagine Live!
Description : Barney! BJ! And Baby Bop are back! It’s Barney’s 20th Anniversary and they are having a Party!

With the help of the marvelous musical party machine that churns out great ideas and lots of surprises, the cast of twelve will learn about team work, healthy eating and exercise as the join together and plan the perfect party.

Meet musical sensation Cousin Riff on stage for the first time ever. This all new musical adventure features many favourite Barney songs and some new tunes!

Educational and entertaining, Barney is 65 min of super duper fun!

1319815.jpg

hi mummies, can't access smh forum during office hr one cos its ban fm my co... so i can only reply posts in the night and morning pump... haha

boring mah, if just solely pumping right?

jen: didn't know got gainIQ kids. i always trust abbott product so i don't mind switch if it's really good...

btw, u know ntuc got a type flavour straw that when u sucks, u can sucks the flavour together w the milk... very amazing one.. there are so many flavours, like choc, choc mint, banana, strawberry, etc...

i let my elder boy tries...

berry: wow.. new born baby, how nice and cute.. those tiny foot/hands...
I think you shd let your baby latch on your breast to increase supply. Don't worry that your baby did not have enough to drink or what, our body very nice one.. will listen to baby's signal and produce milk again. Latch each side for 15mins before switching to another one.

latching is fun lor, cos u don't hv to wash bottles, steralise, heat up... very good and convenient and moreover u r on maternity leaves now... best is to latch baby on to increase supply. u think by latching, you worry baby is not drinking enuff? not true hor, just latch latch.. continue to latch no matter what...

i got no maid lah... so weekend only me and hubby to take care of each boys... haha...

and yes, very tiring as no helper at home. luckily my 3yrs 6 mths old boy quite guai. Can study and play on his own... as for my 10 mth old boy, he is happy when he sees gor gor beside him so he won't pester me if i need to do soemthing on my own...

pebble: how old is your child now? my 3yrs 6 mths boy doesn't like barney anymore. he is into transformer, thomas & friends and bob the builder. I guess he has passed the Hi5 and Barney stage...

Berry,

Congrats. my hubby's 6yr old niece fight her 3yr old brother so this kind of things hard to say. Have a good rest

Washing their own hair,

So happy now my boys can both wash their own hair. so now they have nice clean hair after playing with the sand in the playground.

they use the Johnson buddies easy rinse shampoo (yellow with pump). easy enough for my 2yr old to use.

J&mum, thanks for sharing your thoughts. yeah its much easier for me too when my hubby is around to help out for sure. I always eagerly wait for him to return home at night so that there will be an extra pair of hands, it makes a world of difference cause its like there is two of me. And I am so used to handling it alone on weekdays that on weekends when he is around, things are actually quite a breeze in comparism.

rochelle, how do u make sure that they suds are all rinsed off throughly? And they dun mind water/suds running down their eyes? Cause faye hates water to be in her face, even one droplet haha. so when I wash her hair, I get her to tilt head all the way back. I dont think she can tilt that way and still rinse her own hair.

Hi J & Mum,
Actually i seldom post here. Have not posted here in yrs! jus lurk ard to read the posts. kekeke.
My gal was born Nov 04 and my son in Jul 06. He'll be 21 mths next wk.
My gal is into Princess and Barbie now. As for my son, he doesnt have any characters that he likes but i liken him to Winnie The Pooh cos he's v 'round' like winnie hahaha.
When he sees Barney he goes 'ARRRMY'LOL hahaha.

bernice: guess this age ranges are good...

berry: i think it's just a matter of getting use to the baby alone or what..

RE HFMD, My elder boy's school got 8 cases le... so scary, didn't send him to school lor. Scary scary...

pebble: pooh is a gay leh ... that's what i heard... i used to play barbie doll when i'm younger... now i miss playing with it.. too bad, no daughter.. otherwise, will play with daughter...

lol...

Berry,

can us a child sun visor for washing child's hair. v cheap to buy and the free ones are good too

example:
http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2792398

I used that when I was young. my boys are ok. just need to wipe dry their faces right after they rinse off the shampoo. this shampoo use v little water to rinse off so my boys got used to it.

Winnie the Pooh,

WW loves Winnie while WK loves penguin

rochelle, didint know there is such a cool gadget for washing hair haha, thanks!

BARNEY- anyone who has info on tickets please share. Faye doesnt watch barney on TV but she is keen to go to the concert

I heard fr another thread that Barney tix go on sale next wk. Not sure abt any discounts leh.

Yuru, yup teacup/ teapot fr Bodum. I think can check out Ikea for teacup too, probably cheaper option and looks similar.
Beer Glass fr Ikea sells in a set of 6 I think, not sure if still in stock, haven't been to Ikea in some time. I like glass too... unfortunately not very suited for kids household hor.

Yuru, for glass fragments, use a slice of bread to rub onto the floor. Picks up fragments!
Ooo- u had a glass water pitcher? Like a decanter? Very cool!

Aiyoh wanna vent... there's a hole in my CONCEALED water pipe. Last time Ikea handyman install my wall-mounted cabinets at the entrance, unknowingly drilled and sprung a leak in the concealed pipes!
Next wk gotta hack away a section of the wall, replace the pipe. YIKES.

Berry,

I saw this children bath visor in lots of kids stores in singapore like kiddy palace and others. any sun visor would work too.

was not so worried about washing their hair until saw some "dust" stuck to their hair from the playground.

oh no! bride, feel so sad for u... must take care...

pawprint, how do you know the concealed pipe is leaking? water stains on the wall? i'm interested in the barney tix too...

rochelle, ^5! I also used something like that to wash hair when I was young... saw ur post abt the yogurt drink... J took yakult for a couple of days and she had loose stools... not sure if it's due to yakult... do u know what's the diff between yakult and vitagen?

bride0712
sorry to hear that, its important to take care of your health at this moment.

jen
quinn dun experience loose stool drinking either one BUT he only took it less than 5 times as i usually dun give him that as its so sweet!!!!

pre-navar jab
SIL says that quinn is going to be 4 and whats the point of taking it. if wanna take it should do it earlier.......

Jen,

not sure whats the difference between yakult and vitagen. I give my boys lots of different brands of yoghurt drinks (organic and non-organic) and so far all the brands have help in preventing hard stool.

lil devil, I think it's really up to u... to me, $100+ vaccine is worth any headache later...

rochelle, J doesn't hv hard stools... it's soft... she's been complaining of tummyache sometimes... so guess I will stay away from yakult and vitagen for a while...

CSR, sorry, late reply... very bz lah...

Jen,

maybe stop yakult and vitagen for a while. might cause gas buildup leading to tummy ache if she already have soft stools.

hihi... been crazy week for me...

little devil, i think it is best to go for the jab still... i took a risk to let my elder had it at 2yrs old, but now i'll let my baby do it after 1 yr old for 2 doses...

bride0712, sorry to hear that.. you can try again so don't be too upset.. take care of your health now. remember to jin bu alright...

Who got the tix? :D
I went in 9am, the first row in Cat 1 were GONE!!!!!!!

So I bought all Cat 2. 6 tix (on behalf of frens) + me 2 tix. 6 rows from the front, I think we did ok.

Now I will only KILL myself if there's a 20% discount somewhere...

pawprint,
I got the tix! Managed to get 2nd row tixs. My fren managed to get 1st row tixs and we logged in at the same time ;p Guess it's cos i'm getting 3 tix while she nids only 2.

Ok, I am wrong!!!

1337015.jpg

Based on this layout which is not detailed enough, darnit... our Cat 2 Row F is...
Cat 1: "A-N" (ie. 14 rows).
Then 2m gap.
Then mixed Cat 1 & 2: "B-F" (ie. 5 rows).
My Cat 2 Row F should be... *drumroll*... 19 rows away from stage, plus a 2m gap!
*FAINT!*

But the lil kids shld be glad we mums are even bothering to buy tix for them hor! :p
Besides, it is always nicer to go together with frens hor... *CAN YOU SMELL SOURGRAPES and SELF-CONSOLATION? LOL*

Rochelle,
HB was just remarking that he tabulated his hours in a day.
Only 1.5hr spent for shower/ 2 meals/ time with the kids. So basically only 20min with the kids, other than mealtime interaction.

Some days he doesn't see them lah... and it's not becos of me trying to put them to zzz early.

Pawprint,

last time hubby work 7am until 9pm. reached home by company bus + walking = 11pm. my older boy slept already

end up only weekend than got time to play with my older boy after he finish catching up on sleep.

when he change jobs, he can spent at least 1hr playing with my boys. and 2hrs playing computer games :p

Thanks! I guess I was able to handle it better because I knew baby was already gone when I did my DnC. Had it still been alive, I think it would be a different story. Impossible to rest cos I still have to look after the 1.5yo and send the elder one to school. Got home at 8plus after the procedure and next morning I had to bring my girl to school liao.

For barney tixs, I got Cat 3.. Row H. Was offered Row F but was along the aisle further from center. Wanted to be nearer the center, so settled for the aisle seats 2 rows further. Anyway only 3 rows from the CAT 2 lor.

Only those who have friends working in Mediacorp gets 15%.