(2004/09) Year End (Sep - Dec) 2004 Mothers-to-be

kel, i saw the hou ning... but dun think J will be willing to drink leh... will consider after this batch of medicine from doctor... thanks...

berry
oh okie, i bot the softgel as i really think quinn will not take the oil BUT maybe i should try...... and also was thinking if we are going overseas or wat, its easier to carry along but yah, after calculating, the soft gel is more costly..umm.... but if both must keep in fridge after opening then the oil form is sure much better.

for the cactus juice, its a long long theory behind it. its the way of how they harvest and pack that make it works as they believe in WHOLE FOOD, and also good nutri. = to better immune and health. so they actually have a so call FACTORY in the dessert area where they can quickly harvest and transport it in a way that they can get the goodness of the plant without destroying it since its a very vunerable plant. at first i was put off by the high price but after ard 6 months since my fren share with me about this supplement, i decided to give it a try and it works for me but again, i didnt really take it constantly as its abit too expensive if the whole family is taking it. the ingredients are cactus nectar, royal jelly, lemon juice and honey .... i think so.

berry
i didnt bookmark that website wor.... :p but i think i can still find it, maybe when i have more free time, if i manage to find it i will sms u

yuru
u are welcome
for cooking, u just need to do batch cook for certain things, for me, broth is a MUST!! my freezer is packed with it!

jen
which tod is willing 2 take chinese medicine? i've seen it work in every tod who took it. mayb u 1 2 consider since jean's cough has been bothering her for almost 1 mth.

810160.jpg

I was trying for this shark-with-Steve-Jobs-superimposed effect (Finding Ipod not by me lah).
810161.jpg

*sob* my photoediting skills not as gd as I thought. I dunno how to make Irvin's face that red shade yet still see human features!

810162.jpg

But do u think the old fogeys will be offended or something???

hey can someone tell me the name of the ikea easel? i tried to look for it on the websites (both UK and SG) but cannot find.

pawprint, i'm still marvelling at your easel-box-car and you've come up with something new already. i don't think anyone will be offended by Irvin's face in a car la.. i thought it was quite subtle.

berry
i went for a good meal on Mon night too and didn't feel too good since yest as well. LOL! hope you get well soon!

batch freezing - how long do you keep the broth or stews when you freeze them? i guess if we are cooking daily, its more convenient to do freezing of some stuff but if we only cook on weekends, what we freeze this week must be used up by next week?

supplements - can they be mixed into milk or liquid drinks?

vitakids - now they got 3 branches right? Forum, Paragon and Vivo?

haiz, rhyan is not as well as i thought to be. no more fever but his cough is pretty bad, and he is almost voiceless. i think i will bring him to visit the PD later for a check.

hou ning - it is very costly. rhyan took it a few times previously when he had phlegmy cough. i would think its effective if the kid has alot of phlegm but looking at rhyan now, i think its more important to treat his cough in case it leads to something serious. oh, due to hou ning's high cost and require to eat for a few days, i substitute with hou zao san from hock hua. it has hou ning components but not as much as the actual one from eu yan sang but works equally well for rhyan when i tried, and alot cheaper.

yuru
erm, i think it can be folded up but the idea is to leave it there for our tods to draw as and when they want mah. but hor, i am also terrified that rhyan may decide to use his markers on the walls or what.

I had another medical damage last night , nicole cough sound really terrible till i scare reoccurign of croup so bring her to see doc. She is on antibitic again sigh...... Another $56 damage for a GP.

Hi Littleprince
I really peifu u, coping wif studies and sick child and u still doign great job. Yes u are right better to cure the phelgm first, it the phelgm tat cause nicole to have infection and croup and it had been ard since May 5 till now still no improvement.
Me too bot Hou Ning San but I bot from ZTP and cost me only $20 which is half of EYS. i find it work quite well too and it contain trace of cordecep, but now Nicole alway refuse to eat unlike last time so feeding is a big problem.

Yuru
is the lung med u mention call "singular?
tat a ex med, tat time nicole took it and cost me a bomb.

kelly
thank for yur call last nite adn recomendation to see dr tay. he is a nice and asscuring doc. Nicole had bad experience since so many visit to doc recently and all doc alway try to "dig" to see her throat whish she hate. Last nite the min we step inisde dr tay clinic she wail loudly and dr tay very patiently tryign to coax.
he cfm not croup and say usually will not come back so fast after med. it the phegm tat cause the sound. Seeing a Gp is not tat cheap nowday. wat i liek abt dr tay is he dun push ex med to patient he let me choose and recomend me to take the normal one.
btw he say he will write up someting on croup on his blog, to let us have better view

Littleprince
tta day when we feed nicole dinner at KFC, we bot a buddy meal and hubby was eating while i feed so our table is full of kFC food. usually only if we eat there then we will feed will not just feed their if not eating lor.
i get real piss up after tat aunty tell me off ask hubby pack my food and went home to eat, but i contiune to feed nicole till she finish dun care

I keep hearing abt Hou Ning too... my gf using it (lilprince u met her at Gallop) for her boy. His case very stressful cos VERY sensitive- asthma attack after spending few hrs at my place (dog dander), few hrs at Gallop (horse dander), think even the nurse said she spent so much renting dunno-what equipment, might as well BUY it home. She calculate Hou Ning more ex than gold. :p

Karen, thanks! :D My attention span like the kid's... the car discarded one corner liao. Nothing much to "do" other than pretend to vroom around the hse mah.

wendypooh
yours is called hou ning san? mine is called hou zao san, think it costs $12 at hock hua (can buy 5 bottles to make up 1 bottle of hou ning). rhyan refuses to eat all kinds of med or supplements wan, so we feed him like we feed normal medicine.

if you are eating their food, i don't see why you can't feed nicole. if i were you, i will walk up to the manager and lodge a complaint.

pawprint
i read in your gf's blog and had a good luagh at her calculation compared to gold! but i don't think hou ning is more like a cure for each time than permanently? anyway, one bottle can only last 2 times and recommendation is to eat for 3 days ($60 x 3 = 180!!)

pawprint, I din notice irvin's pic superimposed until I saw the 3rd car!! hahaha... ur skills very good oredi!!

lil prince, that medicine also mix in water and drink? how much water?

jen
its a powder, i usually mix very little water (enough for 1 syringe) and use the syringe to feed. the water amount is just enough to dissolve coz if too much water and it doesn't taste nice, difficult to finish all.

hou ning vs hou zou san

my boys tried 3 different types of hou zou san fr 3 different medical halls b4. all 3 dun seem 2 work. i m very close 2 buying hou ning but husband complaining very ex. 2 make sure e boys get their proper dose, i may even need 2 buy 2packets.

pawprint,
i smsed our GF earlier. she told me she juz fed her son another dose of hou ning 2 fix e phlegm tis time so it has worked on both occasions 4 her. tat's y i m abt 2 run out 2 TM 2 buy hou ning 4 e boys but husband said find cheaper alternative.

hi littleprince
oh sorry i just check wif mil it Hou Zou San and not hou ning. i bot from ZTP $20. Hock hua seem cheaper leh. U use syringe to feed ah? i scare waste the powder cos stuck inside haha cheapo me hor, haha now all of us liek relying on the miracle Hou Nng to cure our kids, all of us sound so desperate.

actually i dun wish to blow up the matter and no mood to aruge wif her since both my girl fussing. But also hoping she ask her manager out adn confront me so I can fight for my right but she dare not. and hubby ask me dun bother lor cos we oso have fault cos they state no outside food mah, anyway i wont go tat place anymore. just wrote a mail to KFC HQ to complain haha

kelly
i bought on all occasions at TM Hock Hua, at B1.

wendypooh
the powder won't stick to the syringe coz its already mixed with water. if its on a spoon, it will even likely go to waste coz i will be feeding a struggling rhyan, got more chance the spoon gets pushed away by accident.

yuru
yah they got better price BUT wait till u check out www.iherb.com u share think their price is so attractive!! i found this webbie and request someone to start this spree for me as i refuse to do spree, too much work :p so this mummy by nick name PINKMONSTER help me with it and start the first ever spree and now i think spree 3 started liao. and iherb has very very good service, both of us so shock when we learn that after we place our order, we received everything on day 3!!!!! i just met up that mummy yesterday, shes a very nice lady! and shes so excited when i told her about iherb.com as their price is really good!! and they really have WIDE range of brands even like SAMBUCOL

hi littleprince
yes yes tat wat i tot too, alway struggle wif Nicole and alway end up split. when she was young she love it but now like a poison to her. I intend to let her finish her antibitic and will start her on this Hou Zou San

Hi kelly
u can get from Hock Hua or ZTP they all selling. So far i try ZTP one only cos the lasy tell me they got add cordcep.
i glad i see dr tay tat day, nicole condition seem to imporved but still phelgmy but she throw up alot these 2 day and guess pheglm follow out. tat day he prescribe med tat was total new to me so far no gp give me b4 except the ventolin. i wonder could it be all the previous med dun work on her alry and new set is replacing.
dr tay feel nicole is takign too much med and her fear, so tat day he give a cough med at call En cough (orginal packaging) i read and saw it work for runny nose, itchy nose adn dry cough. tis med seem working and 2/3 in 1 so nicole just need i med cover a few illness.

yuru, mashed potatoes dont freeze well (texture) but potatoes in stews and soups are fine since its meeant to be mushy anyway. I've only tried freezing carrots in soups/stews (basically liquids) and they freeze v well.
For broth, I freeze in freezer ziplock bags for convenience(no need to wash), plus they take lesser space than containers.

Stews- Yeah I was referring to the stew as the way it is- with meat/carrots/onions/watever else. Since stews are often liquidy, its one of the best things to freeze.

kelly, pawprint and lilprince, thanks for replying to my post on the Rainbow. Actually I am most concerned about reducing the amount of dust at home and improving quality of indoor air. My apartment faces main road and lots of construction works nearby so we can't open windows all day long. And we use aircon a lot, so the quality of air is really not great. You think just using a cheaper wet vaccum cleaner and air purifier (what brand is good) will be more cost effective and still meet objectives?

Hou Ning
How much is one bottle and where can we buy it?
keira has finished her 2nd bottle of Hou Zao San and I'm still deciding whether to continue the 3rd bottle
The hou zao san i bought is $15 a bottle. enough for 2.5 days only. keira cough is recovering but feel a little uneasy to feed her more.

Yuru
count me in if u do BP :p
Oh i'm learning to cook nowadays too.
Do share wif u find any recipe book/website useful

berry
u n faye feeling betta?

pcs
hou ning is fr eu yan seng. it costs $60 for 1 bottle n enuff for 3 doses if meant for keira. i went 2 EYS 2 check it out 2day. if meant for edward, can take 5doses so 2 fix my boys, i need 2 safely buy 3bottles. damage = $180

i went back 2 e medical hall opp my plc n bought a $19 hou zou san

lil prince
i went 2 hock hua at TM 2day. they said their hou zou san sold out for 1mth+ liao. not enuff production so dunno when will sell again.

DG
after using e rainbow vacuum cleaner for 3yrs+, husband now swears by it. if given a choice, we would still buy it. never try n heard of other types of vacuum cleaners n didnt tik of trying purifier/humidifier. e rainbow has served us well.

DG,
quick one... if concern is INDOOR AIR QUALITY, then u shld be getting purifier/ ioniser (I dun mean the swirling water type, but those with HEPA FILTER- one gd model is HONEYWELL but it looks darn ugly & bulky.). Something relatively quiet that u can switch on a few hrs daily. As long as ur current vacuum does its job of removing dust from upper layers of ur bedding etc, shld b gd enough. Unless ur kids are hyper-allergic to dust mites etc.

But personally... well, I have 2 dogs and high tolerance to dirt :p . Though I'm constantly surprised by HB's even higher tolerance to dirt (he didn't wash his blankie for a FEW YEARS, before I knew him! Claimed blankies unravel in the washing machine, cannot be washed one, LOL. And his mum let him be! *even more shocked*).

DG
i think if no one in ur family is having any allergy problems and such, meaning no one experience any thing bad maybe u can get a GOOD purifier / ioniser with HEPA FILTER else its as good as not using any *pawprint mentioned* i mean its IMO of cos but i am the kind who believe in not keeping my place dust free and such but of cos if anyone react badly to it i will do something else i will just do my basic cleaning. for infor., i dun sweep my floor everyday, maybe alternate and sometimes when i am really busy, once every 3 days :p:p:p and mop once a week..... and my place is facing expressway.

yuru
i mainly freeze broth, like i will have different broth in my freezer, chicken, pork and beef. maybe i am not very comfy in freezing veg., but sometimes i will freeze veg. like brocolli, potato and carrot for easy/faster cooking when i know that quinn is very sticky to me for that few days so to make my life easy. i use these veg. cube formy porridge and oatmeal. other than that its all freshly cook. i didnt really freeze stew as most of the time, hubby can finished alot, whole pot of it in a day. but i really think freezing broth is very good in terms of cutting time and also broth can use in many many ways.

berry
so u freeze in those ziplock, so how u thaw it?? i am using container and its such a pain to wash them!!!!!

Kelly, thanks for asking about Faye and me
I am fine liao but Faye still not. I will bring her to the PD again later today to see if new symptoms have developed.

little devil, soups/broth are easy, I run the pack (still closed of course) under tap water till the the whole frozen piece is dislodged from packet, then drop the frozen piece into my pot and heat over low fire with lid on. Or if you have more time, you can dunk the frozen packet into a big pot/bowl of water for 10 min, it will melt even more so that when you put contents into pot to heat, there will be some liquid sitting at the bottom.

For things like stew, this method is not v gd cause stews have more meat/veggies than liquid usually? so I'll sit the frozen pack of stew in a pot/bowl of tap water until it thaws 50% then so the same as above.

Kelly
tks for the info on Hou Ning.
think better stick to Hou Zhao san for the time being.

Yuru
Tks. Just Joined BP.

Any mummies can help me to collect???
Bedok quite far and I'll be super busy till 15 June after my exams :p

DG
Rainbow also has a purifier function, but I can't remember whether there is a HEPA filter. Like Kelly, no regrets for buying so far (i paid by instalments, will finish by end of this year) coz we use it weekly. Other than normal cleaning of the floor, can also clean bedding and sofa for us as well. And, also can clean the air con pipe. my place faces main road and low floor, also very dusty but just with vacuuming and no mopping when we are really very busy, the floor still appears to be very clean.

kelly
wah! didn't know hou zao san so saleable at hock hua!

PREVENAR
would like to check which kiddos already took this and any afetr effects? if yes what ur kiddos experienced?

QUAIL EGG
any recipe using this? i am too bored with mine so wanna see what mummies cooking using quail egg....

<font color="aa00aa">pawprint,</font>
2 yrs ago, the kids are not running around yet. now either chase after them till "heh-heh chuan". hahahaha..

pawprint
ha!!! our thread is one of the HOTTEST *use to be* but now so quiet ........ i post less becos i keep falling sick!!! i seriously dun understand why i kenna cold EVERY month!!! its rather frustrating and helpless......

irvin is so handsome..... he smiles with his eyes!!
tena has a new hairstyle? cool!! and looks like she has some highlight ...:p

lildevil,
hehe I cut her hair cos she kept complaining her sides bother her eyes (last time I tried to leave sides long to "narrow" her face, hahaha)! So this time I tried for The Beetles mop... :p . Yahlor, her hair VERY brown leh (not obvious in these pics cos Irvin NO HAIR, but very obvious when next to me and HB)... wonder if it's sun/ pool exposure.

This thread losing steam liao, next year think will be even more quiet. So must check BLOGS liao, LOL. Then a few more yrs, some blogs will MIA. When the kids old enough to pak-tor, scarly they pak-tor with each other also dunno last time they met as babies :p .

medusa
ha!!!! i really dun see the need to narrow her face :p she looks perfectly good! just now while driving home, quinn and talk atlk about my friends and his and when i mentioned athena he seems to show that he still remember about her. so i just ask "so what did u 2 play in the park last time"? he says "we play bubbles.....we take turns and so fun". heee....

medusa

funny reflection about the babies pak tor... hahaha.

But you hit the nail on the head. Soon, things will just fade out. However, what we shared here are such precious moments and experiences.

We will always hold on to dearly every moment our babies are growing.

No 1 vs no2:

I find that my girl learns things much faster. Mmmm. I wonder if it is because she is observing what gabby is doing and just following. What about other mummies?

gabby,
in my case, #2 definitely learns things faster than #1. recently he learned how 2 give flying kisses n patting his mouth a few times, making e bah bah bah bah sound. husband only taught 2-3x n edward caught it. milestones aside (talking, pulling 2 stand, etc), edward picked up other stuff faster too, like "bye bye, hi-5, kissing, putting e tel onto his ear 2 listen (we'll ask edward "how do u use e telephone?". tis is something we didnt teach him but he suddenly showed us he knows wat 2 do wif a telephone. must b fr watching us use it.)

i agree wif u tat #2 has a bigger sibling 2 emulate, hence they r more advanced n learn things faster. other than teething, IMO lah edward's more advanced than gabe.