(2004/09) Year End (Sep - Dec) 2004 Mothers-to-be

Berry,

my ex-colleague also not paying income tax due to the rebate but it is not forever becos our family income would hopefully rise through the years.

anyway I am already over 30 and some of my classmates are not attached so we are more looking forward to see what baby package the government might annouce in august.

pets... oh I see this is how it works! hmm...then I better go and find out from hubby how much is the rebate. chey...I thought is garanteed forever dun need to pay LOL.

rochelle, yeah, at some places (like suntec city!), its not easy getting a parking space on weekends, and the traffic jam esp on sat afternoons can be a killer. and I realise that alot of car parking lots in singapore are not very big-car friendly- if you buy a 7-seater, you'll have even more problems finding a parking lot that your car can park comfortably in.

Berry,
If u have 2nd child before 28 yrs old, u get $20K tax rebate. Before 29, $15k. Before 30, $10K & before 31 $5k. On 3rd child, u get $20k rebate (no age limit). It depends on your income bracket. Assuming both of u pay tax of $1k each per year (not taking salary increment into a/c), then the max of $40k will be used up in 20 yrs.

joyful, thanks alot for the detailed info. didnt know that 2nd child also have income tax rebate. but very little leh, I thought it would be along the lines if few hundred K at least. anyway, I'm not working, so income tax rebate only for hubby, not me. but really very little leh, sure hope it will increase by several folds at least when they announce new plans in aug.

Berry,
I heard the aim is to encourage pp to give birth to 2nd child earlier so that when they plan to have the 3rd one they are not too "old" yet. Nothing for 1st child cos it's expected that married people would naturally want at least one child. I seriously do not think it would rise astronomically to a few hundred K so i suggest don't even think of it. My guess is the impending annoucement could be more on maternity leave & childcare.

joyful,i am just daydreaming mah LOL. goverment wun be so generous lor, esp when it comes to income tax- if can slaughter they will slaughter! but I do hope that they will also give more substantial benefits in terms of paternal leave for the dad. 3 days is really too little I think. after all, parenting should be shared among a couple, so fathers should be allowed to stay home longer to supprt/help his wife with their newborn baby.

Berry,

alot of private companies give one or two days of paternity leave
most of my friend's hubbies took one week leave by topping up with their annual leave.

3 days is not enough becos we usually get to go home from hospital on the 2nd or 3rd day. then regardless how prepared we are, also will feel a little lost if hubby have to go back to work. thats why my mum insist I hire a confinement nanny though my hubby would probably "work from home" for awhile after baby is born.

<font color="ff6000">tbl</font>
congrats on hving a ger ger !
must be excited over the wkend buying cute cute bb's clothes..

i hv also bought some bb's top but mostly white, tink got 1 or 2 pcs of yellow, since dunno my bb's gender yet

hopefully can see tonight !

rochelle,
the sterilizer u bought is it the rapid steam sterilizer? How much u bought it for?

no lah.. i got very serious ms till my 18th wk but mine is a boi leh.. my friend also.. think it depends on individual's hormone one

yeh.. me too.. not in time to enjoy the tax rebate liao..

wah.. Berry,
U not working can claim for wife relief leh.. hee hee.. U b4 28? Wah.. can cheong for high rebates liao..

cubbieBB, yeah, we should have our 2nd baby before I'm 28 (its our original plan anyway). the rebates so-so only leh, but better than dun have anything keke. yeah, i'm not working- there is such a thing as wife relief? u have details about it?

rochelle, I think all fathers should be given a minimum of 1-2 weeks paternal leave, if not like what you say, few days is barely enough for anything.

chihiro,
hope u can see bb's gender tonite.
keep us posted!

yes, agreed. paternal leave shld be longer than the current 3 days practice! but dunno coming Aug annoucement (maternity leave) all of us will be affected or not? Sekali govt says only wef next year then all of us sian liao...

inspired by cubbie's post I went to check out the IRAS website about wife relief (for wives who are not working or earning less than 2K). The wife relief rebate is only 2K leh, I thought it'll be more. but well, better than nothing.

CubbieBB

The one I bought is the rapid steam steriliser. The sale price was $87 than after the 15% + 5% should be about $70.25.

We choose Pigeon becos any brand of bottles can go in. It can take 9 standard bottles so we can sterilise the breast pump since we have 6 bottles only.

We are using Avent bottles but the Avent sterilser is too costly and cannot take other bottles.

Berry,

I also just check IRAS website. I think our "si fan qian" already more than $2k per year so they should revise the wife relief amount. our cost of living rising so cost of "maintaining" wife also rising.

i got myself some protein drink mix (is soya and milk based drink) . heard tat is safe. i am too lazy to chk with my gynae.... any comments?

TBL,

also wish paternity leave would be increased but alot of us not protected by MOM's Employment Act as we are classified under professionals/executives. Somemore my ex-boss already think 2mths maternity is far too long, if it is longer bosses would rather hire guys since the govt pays for their reservist.

Mngo,

have to check the listing of the ingredients to know whether safe or not.

some of the protein drink mix are actually for fast weight gain for underweight people or bodybuiders.

Company should be more pro-family. if not, who will want to have children when employers are not even understanding abt such things?

mngo,

problem is govt want more babies but the companies are more concern about profit margin. so if govt pay for our maternity leave than they would be happy for us to go on leave.

my hubby used to work in a stat board and his colleague had a misccarriage becos of work. so it happens in the public sector also.

rochelle,
what? his colleague got miscarriage cos of work! tat is so not worth it! somemore is stat board

i can imagine company asking us to leave after maternity leave..

rochelle, why professionals/executives not covered under MOM's Employment Act? professionals are also employees rite? just curious, cause I dun know much about these (cause my hubby in SAF).
I'm also planning to get a pigeon steriliser. heard many good reviews about it.

Mngo,

yalor. it was in the straits times also though actual name not mentioned. she had so much work and was so stressed by her boss that somehow it cause her to miscarry (could not remember full details). all her boss got was a light telling-off from her boss's boss.

one of my previous boss was a slave-driver but allow you to take work home if too tired (eat, rest than continue) instead of stay in office and suffer.

Berry,

From MOM website
Who are covered by the Act?
The Act covers every employee (regardless of nationality), including a workman, who is under a contract of service with an employer . However, the Act excludes :-
(a) any person employed in a managerial, executive or confidential position;
(b) any seaman;
(c) any domestic worker; and
(d) any person employed by a Statutory Board or by the Government.

Berry,

your hubby should be covered under SAF laws and not under MOM's (if I didnt remember wrongly)

The Pigeon steriliser was recommended by a close friend who had used it which is why we bought it. also in case you get bottles of different brands as gifts can still use the same steriliser.

The Milton sterilising tablets/liquid is good, my mum said she was using it while working in the hospital to sterilise baby bottles and teats. Milton is available at Guardian Pharmacy.

Mngo,
In reality, companies ask u to leave before maternity leave..not after. I've heard a few MNC retrench preg ladies. You can't really do anything unless u can prove that it was pure discrimination. Luckily not all bosses are so heartless.

Rochelle,
Even if govt pays for the extra maternity leave, no boss would want disruption to work, etc. Many bosses are not happy even if govt pays for the extra. It just helps financially, but operationally work is disrupted. Everyone's mindset has to change else i don't suppose much would change however attractive the announcement would be.

Berry, the massage lady I'm going to try for prenatal massage, does postnatal massage too. So of course house calls
I'm feeling lethargic and restless haha, so thought will be wonderful opportunity to "test" her prenatal massage skills (and ask more questions/ clarify about the post-natal massage methods/ oils etc) at the same time. Better peace of mind by the time my postnatal mah :p

Seagal,
the prenatal yoga is by shambhala at forum shopping centre (take lift from basement to 6th floor), check yellow pages for contact number

Mon morning, Wed evening, Thurs morning are the classes- u can take either once a week, recommended maximum 2x a week, or be lazy like me... once every 2 wks or so.

BUT ASK ur gynae 1st- some preggies not suited.

hai.... so easily tired lately, dun know is it going to be in 3rd trimester..... by the way, which week does 3rd trimester start???? lately i dun know y i gain weight so fast???!!!!! pretty worried.......i didnt really stuff myself with tons of food leh....?????? *scratch head*

Hi Rochelle,

I'm also thinking of getting the Pigeon steriliser cos it can fit all brands of milk bottles. Is it the purple colour lid one? U mean when we sterilise the bottles, we need to put in sterilising tablets?

lil_devil, I think accelerated wt gain in 2rd trimester is very common. Sometimes it's water retention.

Seagal, the yoga is very relaxing- focus on stretches, alleviating pregnancy aches and strains, preparing body for labour, and sometimes even how to cope with contractions. Depends on what she touches on that day. NOT for toning or anything like that, so dun expect to lose weight
Only complaint I've heard so far is a fren's fren who said she mumbles sometimes :p

Skyblue, for Pigeon purple steriliser- it uses STEAM to sterilise. Dun need tablets. Tablets is used only if u want to sterilise and u dun have a sterilising steamer. Basically 3 ways to sterilise- steam (pigeon purple), tablets or microwave (pigeon also has one model for this, or use specific bags sold for this purpose). Some sterilisers specifically use steam only, some use microwave only, and the tablets are more for people on-the-go with access to neither steam nor microwave.

joyful,
poor preggies. they want to do their bit for the nation by giving birth, yet they have been retrench for doing so.

little devil, third tri is starts from 28 weeks onwards. as we grow bigger, the weight we carry around is more and more, natural to feel tired. I also been feeling lethargic lately. hormonal changes + water retention also play a part in weight gain.

seagal, I'm also attending the prenatal classes, not bad, I quite like it. if you can't decide, why not go for a trial lesson then decide. http://www.shambhalayoga.com/

MT, I've gained so much weight (damned water retention!) that I've decided to keep my weight gain a secret form now on- I'm officially in denial LOL.....

i have heard tat TMC is good, Mt A is not too good, and vice versa. I am making difficult decision to choose which hospital. any comments?

by the way i am carrying a boy... doc say 70%

Berry,
think I mentioned my facialist gained alot of wt when she was pregnant right (BTW she lost ALL and probably now slimmer than before, at least it seems to me). In her final mth, her fingers swelled up so much due to water retention (and probably cos her bulge got in the way hehe) that she couldn't do facials for her customers.

You want to try arm and leg massages? Or/ And facial massages? To drain the lymph nodes, improve circulation and all that
Might be some relief.

MT, yeah, I DO and I will try arm/leg massages once I find someone to do it. *sigh* Now I'm more worried about how much more weight I'll gain and bloat for the next 3 months rather than after delivery- cause you bet I am so gonna do something about this once I can.

Anyway, ladies, I need some feedback on UOB credit card cust service- how many of you have citibank and UOB credit cards? I've always been using citibank actively, but now thinking of changing to UOB but worried about bad service. Anyone uses UOB credit cards and is pleased about their services?

gd morning ladies !!

gynae say my bb is growing well ..

according to his scale, so far i've gained abt 1 kg
last night he say my bb is 90% ger ger ..

hopefully can cfm detail scan ..

well, i did opt for DS's blood test for my bb
hopefully everything is ok

<font color="ff6000">mngo</font>
same here..
but most likely im gg to Mt.A
mainly bcoz parking is an issue in TMC
however, will decide after gg for their hospital tour... hvnt bk date yet

109950.jpg

<font face="courier new"> <font color="0000ff">as @ wk 21-Jun
.. .. .. .. .. . EDD .. . Week

aurora ......... 08/09/04 wk 28
cubbiebb ....... 12/09/04 wk 29 MAH / B
expecting_mum .. 12/09/04 wk 29 TMC / B
lilo ........... 20/09/04 wk 27 TMC / G
mom ............ 20/09/04 wk 27 MAH / B
little_devil ... 21/09/04 wk 27 MAH / B
berry .......... 22/09/04 wk 27 TMC / G
bebechic ....... 26/09/04 wk 26 MAH / G
ww ............. 29/09/04 wk 26 KKH / ??
pets ........... 03/10/04 wk 25 TMC / G
angelia ........ 04/10/04 wk 25 TMC / G
SLK ............ 08/10/04 wk 24 GEH / B
yingzi ......... 10/10/04 wk 24 MAH / G
heather ........ 10/10/04 wk 24 GEH / B
blisse ......... 11/10/04 wk 24 GEH / G
are ............ 12/10/04 wk 24 MEH / G
mtmtmt ......... 18/10/04 wk 23 ESH / ??
dee ............ 22/10/04 wk 22 GEH / ??
micky .......... 23/10/04 wk 22 GEH / B
yeeyee ......... 24/10/04 wk 22
AC ............. 06/11/04 wk 21 GEH / B
cosmo .......... 08/11/04 wk 21
cirtusfruits ... 16/11/04 wk 19
young jes ...... 18/11/04 wk 19 MAH / ??
joyful ......... 20/11/04 wk 19 MAH / B
peg peg ........ 22/11/04 wk 18 MAH / ??
melbb .......... 26/11/04 wk 18
sybil .......... 26/11/04 wk 18
deer ........... 29/11/04 wk 18
chihiro ........ 02/12/04 wk 17 ?? / G
leo29 .......... 02/12/04 wk 17
TBL ............ 02/12/04 wk 17 RH / G
rochelle ....... 02/12/04 wk 17 RH / B
plong .......... 08/12/04 wk 16 KKH / ??
woof ........... 08/12/04 wk 16
kypf ........... 08/12/04 wk 16 GEH / ??
emma ........... 09/12/04 wk 16
jen ............ 09/12/04 wk 16
chantelle ...... 12/12/04 wk 16
guess .......... 12/12/04 wk 16 MEH / ??
mngo ........... 12/12/04 wk 16 MAH / ??
melody ......... 20/12/04 wk 16
wendypooh ...... 22/12/04 wk 14 GEH / ??
oranges ........ 22/12/04 wk 14 TMC / ??
jov ............ 05/01/05 wk 12

<font color="ff0000">GEH - GlenE, MAH - Mt A; MEH - Mt E; ESH - East Shore; RH - Raffles</font>
<font color="119911">remind me if I left u out or get ur date wrong</font>

</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">berry,</font>
i'm a UOB card member, hubby too.. so far, find their service quite good (a least i got my annual fees waived everytime
), also, find their rewards better than the rest

Berry,
Me holding UOB ladies' card, find their service quite ok. they waived the interest and late payment charges when i forgot to pay on-time.

but thinking to get DBS woman's card coz it has 10% discount for health screening under raffles hosp as well as 10% off the raffles group clinic charges. Thinking nxt time bb sick can always go there since the clinic is near my place.So in long term, may save quite a lot too.

angelia, do they waive the annual charges automatically or do you have to ask? can give me ballpark figure of how much you charge to your card every month for the fees to be waived? actually the reason for changing is because I like their reward catalouge keke..

<font color="ff6000">angelia</font>
thanks for updating !

btw,how did u manage to get the fees waived huh?

chihiro,
congrats on yr ger ger...
we can doll them up liao.

90% sure har, then i think is quite accurate liao. My gynea onli can cfm 70% leh. btw i heard most ppl say if boi then can see the penis very clear one. so for those not able to see during 4th mth, the must be ger ger, dunno how true it is?
btw wat is DS blood test? are u referring to triple test? me going to do on coming Friday.

<font color="ff6000">tbl</font>
ya.. can doll her up !!
can get all the cute dresses... haha ..
dunno how true leh.. gynae was explaining to us tt if boi can see something in between lor .. but we were looking from bb's buttocks below (i tink), not front view.. saw 2 lines .. tts y he say 90% lor
my mum was telling me, if boi boi, v.early can see liao ... usually ger ger more difficult

oh .. other than triple test, i've also opted to test Down Syndrome from my blood sample

nx visit is 2wks later..

farni thing is tt gynae told me im in 16wks day2 as of yesterday .. but fr previous scans i shd be in 16wks day6 yesterday .. blur liao

tink i still stick to the earlier one

Berry/ Chihiro,
for my case i spend avg $500~$1k per mth on credit card. most of the time i pay on time only when cases like i'm oversea or forgot, UOB will charge interest and late payment fee. Then I need to call them to ask for waiver. Think they will check yr payment record lor..
for UOB when i call to ask to waive annual fee, they will agree without asking. last time when i used OCBC, they onli waive when i threaten to terminate lor.
btw sometime call UOB can be quite frustrating! coz the line is always engaged. So far i called 3 times and each time need to try almost 5x leh! BTW citibank gold card has new service. Each gold card holder will have a unique tel nbr to call for services.

berry
professionals/executives not covered under employment act coz not workmen. they covered those earning <$1600. but of coz, professionals can seek MOM help in cases where he is not properly treated or not being paid salary. MOM will step in to meditate.

i bought bought the pigeon steriliser, bought it coz can throw in all sorts of bottles..

me hoping that the maternity will be 3 mths when announced in aug..4 mths really too long, by then boss will tell u dun need to come back liao..

<font color="ff6000">micky</font>
i also tink tt maternity leave at most will be 3 mths
if 4mths, tink once u resign can 4get abt getting a job nx time.. coz no employer want to employ married women who r still able to giv birth

see wat they hv in Aug.. hopefully they dun delay the announcement !