(2004/08) Anyone due in August 2004?

Hi Joey,
You're very welcome...=P I'm the opposite of you, so excited that I started looking around for baby stuff when I was 4+ months! My hubby thought I was so ks. Heh.

Thanks Sue, for the advice on coconut juice. Will take my first one next weekend when I hit 32 weeks. Hope it really helps!

Hi WinnieRabbit,
Welcome to this thread. I'm actually the person with the latest EDD in this thread - 25 August. So where're you delivering and are you expecting a prince or princess?

Hiya ladies,
Just wanted to ask all of you, esp irenevinc since you've deliv before. Is it a gd idea to drink chicken essence before going to hospital for labour? Or is it too heaty?

Sue,

There r many diff type of coconut in the mkt. Which type r u referring to? The small brown color? Hmm... I think fm Thailand or those green color type?

Thx for all the coconut input. My mil n mum never tell me to drink coconut. They only emphasize on chicken essence n soya milk. But now, i think there r simply too many things to drink, don't u think so? Sigh, never in my life have i been so conscious abt eating n drinking!

Andriany, i read somewhere from other threads that chicken essence does help in delivery. But basically, i find that if we drink it everyday, then perhaps might b too heaty for us.

Something to ask: Nowadays do u pant easily? I just walk only a short while, n i find myself breathing heavily. Wonder is it lack of exercise, or due to pregnancy?

Dont know y, but i kept having this fear that bb might b premature! Coz i've been having diarrhoea for a few days, and i read somewhere that bouts of diarrhoea might lead to birth, anyone read abt this b4?

Valencia, I think any type of coconut will be ok. I bought those from Thailand one from supermkt. The husk has been removed.

Leibit, me too! Have been thinking abt premature. My colleague told me that she had diarrhea before her labour & I've been having stomachache. Don't worry so much, try to relax. That's what I tell myself to do. I'm short of breathe very easily, guess it's due to the extra weight that we are carrying. Worst when I've to walk up the overhead bridge.

Hi Joey , me deliver at TMC.

Hi Andriany , I dont like to drink Chicken Essence so for my first child , I did not drink it before labour so cant comment sorry. Anyway , my labour is about 4 hours.
BUT I HAVE TO DRINK CHICKEN ESSENCE DURING CONFINEMENT !!! YUCKS !! Every morning have to drink one can ! Oh no....

ohh..about my gynae visit ...must control my food in take now because my baby is going to be big !!
Oh no ! gynae say dont let baby too big if not difficult to give birth !!

And ladies ...do check out the diapers before you buy. As for me, I dont buy NB because its quite small . For big baby , buy S size better cos it from 3kg onwards..

Hope everyone's fine today! Anyway sue, thanks for clarifying that bit abt wh type of coconut to drink.

Argh, feeling so annoyed now...my tummy's getting bigger by the day and can't wear a few of my maternity clothes anymore. So have to just keep wearing the remaining day in day out coz it's such a waste of money to buy new ones now when I'm already in 32nd week. Anyone facing the same prob?

No prob, irenevinc, abt the chicken essence, I'll just prob drink a bottle before I head for delivery at Eastshore.

Oh yes, Leibit, even though I'm only due in end Aug, still having nightmares abt water bag bursting in public and having early delivery. My hubby's boss asked if he could go over to US in mid July for a 2 wk training and the paranoid me said, "NO!" What if I have to face labour all by myself? Gosh what a nightmare...Anyway, don't worry abt the panting bit, think all of us are prob feelg more tired as we carry more and more weight. Can't believe I'm the same weight as my hubby now.

Oh yes, thanks irenevinc abt the advice on diapers. Don't think I'll need Pampers NB anymore cause my gynae says my baby should be at least 3.2kg at birth or 3kg if she's 2 wks early.

Havent log on for a while. Seems like everyone's doing fine

Hi Helpful Punggolite,
You are better, cos we left out the bigger sizes and decide to wash later ;p i guess almost complete the washing liao, so it's the packing and preparation!

Hi Andriany,
i went to the gynae last night..and at 33 weeks, bb's 2.6kg! i wonder if my edd will be brought forward leh...so worried i'll be having a huge bb...and mil kept asking why my tummy so small

i've read somewhere that drinking chicken essence is to help you keep your energy in case of long labour. Therefore drink one before leaving for the hospital loh

Me also cant wear some of my clothes, esp pants (be it high/low waist) *sigh* Seems like my selection for clothes is getting lesser and lesser liao

Hi Joey,
Like what Andriany has posted,do get those basic and impt things first like cot, bb's clothes, diapers etc. If not, bring hubby along when shopping so that in case you've delivered, he knows what to get
Heard from the staff at Kiddy Palace the sale is ending today...so better drop by if you can!

Hi Sue,
thanks for your input on the coconut..prob will go buy one tomorrow...

Hi Leibit,
Me also thinking abt premature..and warning my husband abt it..that's why we are now so eagerly packing our house

Anyway, so long as you dun exert too much force to push when in the toilet, guess it should be ok..Also checked with my gynae that we'll know only will premature when our cervix starts to open until a certain width during the checkup? So dun worry too much and take good care of yourself

Hi irenevinc,
you must be eating alot of 'bu3' right?

Well, you still need the necessary nutrients, so dun make an attempt to control your diet..just eat more healthy food loh. And drink lots of water

hi everybody!!..

Hi Leibit,
My mum will be coming over to do the confinement for me..cos my MIL not experience..and i also prefer my mum's cooking. er..i also not sure how much to give leh..i'm thinking of giving $500. actually this kind of things depend on that person one lah.

Hi aimee..
did your doctor say that your baby too big??..i think now this stage better not eat too much tonic..cos will really make the baby big. Me also got lots of clothes cannot wear..i'm just thinking anyway giving got few months left...don't waste money on the clothes..i rather buy things for my baby..anyway..nobody wan to "BIO" pregnant lady one lah...(haha).
One of my friend's friend just gave birth to a premature baby on 36th week..a doctor friend of mine say actually 36th week is ok one..you just need to breastfeed the baby and the baby will soon be normal liao. Better don't stress ourselves on this kind of things ah..just relax lor.

I'm still waiting for an answer from my company if i can work as full-time freelance (i'm a graphic designer)..that mean working at home. I've been praying hard for this..cos this will lighten my husband financial burden if he were to work alone...but somehow..i've decided that even if my company rejected my request..i'll quit and stay home to look after my baby and doing freelance job. One thing..nobody can help me to take care..another thing..i feel that it's better to take care of the baby myself...i want to be the one to nurture the baby rather than someone else do it...i trust that God will make a way for me!!

Oh..and for those giving birth soon..my doctor told me that by walking and moving around..it'll make delivery easier.

Hi scoobydoo,
doc say it's normal, but i find his weight gain too much over the past month...so got a little worried leh..am i too paranoid??
prob cos i'm scared of going through c-section bah...
Me no eat alot of tonics leh, at most 3 times during my first 2 tri...also dunno what happen

Actually i also dunno how bb's are born premature. Issit something that we do? Or can we predict it??
Sigh, seems like me watch too much of the "Luo Shen" on channel u...becoming dramatic also ;p

So envy you can be a SAHM. Thought of keeping the job and find a nanny near your place? Me cant afford to be SAHM, and no one to help take care of bb, so got to find either a nanny in my area or send to infant care loh.

As much as i have trusted God to provide for me throughout my pregnancy, i believe He will do the same for you too!

Wow aimee,
Yr bb is 2.6 kg at 32 wks?! That's like amazing! What do you eat everyday? So lucky, yr weight gain goes to yr bb. As for me, even though I'm eating normally and try to curb my cravings, I still gain 2 kg each month! So depressing...must really exercise after deliv. Oh yea, speaking of deliv, I'm also absolutely terrified of going thru long labour then in the end c-section. Been praying hard that it won't happen....scary!

Hi scoobydoo,
Well, good luck in getting yr request approved. Really und how you feel abt takg care n nurturg bb on yr own. I myself hv stopped work since April but will be tryg to get a full time job if finances are tight after bb's born. Right now can't access how much bb needs so in the meantime, after confinement, I'll prob teach tuition first or do some part-time work to help my hubby out.

Gosh, I've been pyschoing myself to walk, walk, walk everyday to exercise. But since it's so hot, I end up exercising at shopping malls. Cooling yet there's eye candy. Anyway, found a factory outlet at Novena Sq selling Osh Kosh clothes on top level but they sell more gal's clothes than boy's, tees cost $9.90. Robinsons also selling short-sleeved rompers at a steal at 5 bucks each but variety quite limited.

Oh yes, anyone read the thread on how to stimulate baby? Have some interesting info on flashcards for pics, words and dots that can be downloaded off net. Was thinking of buying thick white paper to print the pics on since I'm so free now. Anyone else interested?

Andriany,

I outgrown most of my maternity clothes ard wk 29. Now, I onli left tat few pcs onli. I had spent a lot on matenity clothings liao. Dun wanna spend anymore.
I love chicken essence. I take it weekly. Guess I would take two bottles when on my way to hospital :p

My bb was 2.5kg @ wk 33. Not too big rite? Nowadays, my feet and hands oso ache. Dunno wats wrong. Need to check with my gynae during the next visit.

Hi aimee..

what does SAHM stands for?? Premature baby can be due to lots of reason one..we must play a part too..taking good care of ourselves
Oh..i got a good news from my sup this morning..my part-time thing is granted..Praise the Lord. Me and my husband were overjoyed!..me actually can't really afford one..but i trust the Lord will provide and i have the peace of doing so. From my point of view..it's not very good for such a young infant to be sent to nursery..i read from an article..the doc said that with such a young age .the baby needs an adult figure to be there..or the kid will grown up with insecurity..something like that. Maybe a nanny will be better lor. Pray hard for this..and have faith..God will provide.

Hi Andriany,
i eat normal food loh (at food court,market,fast food,home-cooked), nothing special leh...one thing is i dun have cravings loh

But i also gained 2 kg per month, so you are not the only one lah

Me too...dun want to go through the agony of c-section at the last minute!
Wow, you are going to prepare the flashcards. Havent read the thread, maybe pop by later...will it be difficult to do?

Hi Valencia,
wow, finally someone with almost the same situation as me
well, maybe those who has passed our stage can help us with the sizing worries that we have??

Hi scoobydoo,
SAHM = stay at home mum. So happy that your part-time is now granted.
Well, some would prefer infant care, cos there are registered nurses there, and can look after the condition of the bb/children there. i'd prefer a nanny due to distance and prob timing issues. Well, remember me in prayer also ok?

Hm...this thread has been quiet for a while...where's the rest??

Hi val, scoobydoo and aimee,
Wondering where the rest have gone....hmmm.....

Val,
I'm glad to hear I'm not the only one who's wearing the same few outfits day in day out....still got 8 weeks more....must tahan! Maybe exchange clothes with sis but then again, she's super slim!

Actually I was afraid of taking chicken essence even though I love it....heh. But since you've been doin so for a while and yr bb's growing well, I'll start taking from this week onwards. Yum!

Read the website www.babycentre.co.uk and they said ave size of babies are as follows:-

Wk 32 1.8kg
Wk 33 2kg
Wk 34 2.2kg
Wk 35 2.5kg
Wk 36 2.7kg
Wk 37 2.9kg
Wk 38 3.2kg
Wk 39 3.1-3.4kg
Wk 40 3.4kg (2.5-3.8kg healthy)

My feet ache too....got my hubby to give me shoulder, back and feet massage every night. Plus yest got blackout, I nearly died due to heatstroke! No air con for 2 hrs! Gosh.

Scoobydoo,
I'm so happy for you!!!!! Yr prayers have been answered! Yep, what you said is true, kid will end up growing up lacking in self-confidence...so it's wonderful that God has blessed yr child in this way.

Aimee,
Lucky you, no cravings.....I esp crave for durians now and it's not helping that there's durians everywhere. My mum told me not to eat coz it's too heaty so my hubby says just enjoy the free smells....sigh.

I've read the thread but have not gone to the archives yet. Thought that after baby's born, I may not be so free to prepare the flashcards so was thinking of starting soon. Well, apparently the dot and word flashcards are supposed to be written with a marker whereas the pics for babies 0-3 months, 3-6 months can be printed directly on thick white A4 paper. That's all I know for now.

Oh yes, those who've yet to buy diapers, do check out Sheng Shiong Hypermart at Tekka Mall. Not sure of their other outlets but I got Pampers BB Dry for $10.95 when NTUC sells for $11.90. Think their other brands of diapers also cheaper. Do check it out when you're free.

Alrightey, take care everyone....will check in again soon!

Hi Andriany, I've prob fitting into one of my maternity pants. It's getting slightly tight around the hip area. Same here, don't intend to buy anymore because left with 5 wks. Yah, the blackout could kill, the heat was unbearable and I can't sleep.

HI Scoobydoo, I'm also thinking of $500. This is on top of the monthly allowance that I give my mum.

Hi Aimee, your bb is big. Mine was 2kg at 32wks. Have to stop taking durians & those 'pu' already.

I went gynae today and bb is already 3kg at 35wks plus but it's +- 300gm. So, she might be only 2.7kg

Hi Andriany,
Prob all are busy with the washing, packing and shopping for bb's stuff?

Have you started drinking the coconut drink?

Hope the gynae gave a wrong measurement, or if bb's weight is +-300g, then i'm not so worried loh, cos they estimate the weight by the tummy size

Hi Sue,
havent been eating anything 'pu' leh...hope it's a mistake made by the gynae loh...will find out more during my next visit 2 weeks later

Received a pack of passed-on clothes from my da sao...think got to start the routine of washing again this weekend...
Have been raining these few days in the morning, so hopefully all mums are able to rest well during the coming weekend!

Hi sue,
Also wondering how much to give mum for taking care of baby and me during confinement. Told my hubby I want to provide everything ready for her so she need not run out to buy anything. Is $500 reasonable? I couldn't give my mum allowance ever since I stopped working in May, will resume when I go back to work.

Hi aimee,
I'm finally done washing and folding all the clothes. Packed them in hospital bag and also paper bags to be brought over to my mum's pl at the end of this month or so. Actually wondering why I cleared up the guest room like crazy cause we eventually dec to place baby cot in our master bedrm once baby comes back home after 2 mths at my mum's pl. Don't think I can tahan having her in the next rm....even with baby monitor. Talk abt paranoia!

Nope, gonna start on first "dose" of coconut this Sat....since I'm in 32nd wk now. Hmm, yr gyane estimates weight of bb thru tummy size? Yr tummy or bb's? Anyway don't worry abt the wt of bb...just as long as bb is healthy. No pt puttg unnec stress on yrself. Think of it this way, if the bb is big, then easier to handle...anyway you're so lucky to have hand-me-downs. Wish I had too so I can save money on bb clothes. Oh well, at least I know I'll have lots of lovely maternity clothes to wear during my next preg...since my sis will be "closing shop" and passing all of them to me. Heh.

Alrightey ladies, wish me luck on my JC reunion dinner later at the Esplanade. Gosh, warned them I'm a whale now....hope they'll be kind. =P All of you take care now!

HI all!

went to my gynae on Thur coz i experienced bad aches over at the side of my right tummy. It somehow got worse each day, esp in the morning when i just woke up. And i noticed that it was due to me sleeping on my right. Does anyone experience this too? Gynae told me that bb's well, could be due to his body position. My baby somehow seems to prefer my right body, keeps on having his gym over that part. Such a pity i cant tell him not to concentrate too much on my right!
nono.gif

Bb's 2.3kg at 33 wks. I was actually quite happy with this growth, but somehow my mil wasnt. These few days she kept on making me eat n eat n plus the 'pu', sigh, i'm already ballooning like an ostrich, and my feet looked like pig's trotters somemore, feel so upset n stressed!

Bought a prenatal heart listener. I think i'm being paranoid, if bb didnt kick for a while, i will try ways to make him move. U know what, last year, my colleague's bb died inside the womb coz of the umbilical cord thing. She was in also around 30+ weeks then. That's y i keep worrying now......

Thanks Scoobydoo n Andriany for the input abt $500 for mum's confinement. As for me, i'm still in a loss coz she's my mil. Perhaps i go n ask her how much she wants--->much more straight forward, rite?

Take good care all the mums here! We just have a few more weeks to go!!!!

Hello, how's everyone? Finally, I've gotten almost everything packed into my hosptial bag. One of my friends gave birth yesterday & her EDD supposed to be 27 July.

Hi Andriany, have checked with my friends abt the amt to give our mum, most said $500 is reasonable.

Hi Leibit, my bb also prefers my right side. Her buttock is always on my right, I know because I told my gynae & he scanned it for us to see. Must make sure you monitor your boy's movement. Don't worry so much.

Moving another week closer to seeing our little ones

Hi Andriany,
i think it's safer to let bb sleep in the same room as you. i'll be moving bb's cot into my room when my CL leaves, seems like that's safer since we both sleep like log, and placing bb in our room can mean closer monitoring

My gynae determines bb's weight by measuring bb's stomach size during ultrasound. Is that the same way the gynae of you gals derive bb's weight??

Yah, do have quite alot of hand-me-downs, but not the big big items like cot and stroller. Anyway, i also bought some nice nice clothes for bringing bb out - simply cant resist the cute little pieces we see during sale time

Hi Leibit,
bad aches at right side? i dun have leh. prob it's due to bb's position? Is is better for bb when we sleep on the left instead??

As for bb's weight, dun worry so long as doc says ok. My mil is worse, keep asking why my tummy so small, and whether it's because i've eaten something bad. Prob she minded when her friends saw my small tummy and prob asked her if she gave me any 'pu' to eat

Well, i think it's good to take note of the regular times bb kicks/moves. Of cos when bb doesnt, then good to 'stimulate' them to move.
Nowadays bb keep moving almost throughout the day...giving me only short breaks in between...so hyperactive.

Hi Sue,
so your friend gave birth almost 4 weeks earlier? Wow, seems like we must really be prepared at all times

A note on giving money to parents: i believe it's always good to give based on what you can afford and how much she's doing for you. For me i always find that my mum's a little too old and dun want to burden her, and managed to talk her out of doing confinement for me.
i guess $500 is a benchmark, or can even be more...like i say, give base on your affodability loh.
The market rate for CL is abt $1500. so use that as a gauge? Giving to mil can be another greater sensitive issue, depending your relationship with her

Gosh, each day's another day closer to our EDD! Feeling excited yet a tad apprehensive at the same time....

Hi leibit,
My bb's also v super active and every time she kicks, it hurts big time. Havg trouble zg every night coz tt's when she's at her most active. Maybe you could try zg on yr left or alternate btw left n right to alleviate aches on yr right?

Hey, don't worry abt wat yr mil says...2.3kg at 33 wks is indeed a gd wt for the bb. Anyway, I don't think you're being paranoid...guess all mtbs will be worried for the health of their unborn child. My hubby keeps askg if bb is kickg all the time so think it's normal! Just don't worry too much...

Regarding the amt to be given for confinement, I'm givg $500 coz tt's how much I can afford at this pt in time. Not sure how much bb will cost us later on and still dec if we shld get a car to transport bb to and fro if I go back to the workforce.

Hi sue,
I'm also almost done w my hospital bag packing....heh. Paranoid abt early deliv coz my friends keep tellg me abt them bein 3 wks to a mth early. Gosh. Scary!

Hi aimee,
Hmm, I'm not too sure if gynae determines bb's weight by measuring bb's stomach size during ultrasound. Usually she measures bb's tummy, bb's head, bb's length but not sure where she gets the fig for the bb's wt. Will ask her next wk when I see her again.

Just got a call yest frm ex jc-mate whose daugh's turng 2 this yr. Gonna pass me some hand-me-downs and a couple of new stuff they bought for us durg GSS. Gdness, so this wkend I'll be washg again....heh. Oh no, then my bb'll hv so many clothes to wear at such a yg age!

Oh well, aimee, guess all mils r concerned for their grandchildren's health. Mine comes by once in a while w/ some soup or what not and keeps bugging her son to accompany me for walks. Guess she thinks I stay home and rot all day now tt I'm not wrkg. As if I would be willg to die of boredom....heh.

Anyway, do any of you hv this syndrome where u must make it a pt to go out every weekend? Now tt I'm nearing my EDD w each passg day, I keep hvg this thought tt I may deliver anytime soon n after tt I'll hv confinement n I can't go out for a mth or so. Makes me wanna seize each minute and hour of every weekend n do somethg instead of stayg home. My hubby thinks I'm nuts....anyone else w the same syndrome?

hi everybody..
yeah..we're getting closer and closer..very excited indeed!.

Andriany,
Maybe becos you're not working...that's y you keep wanting to go out..as for me..i can't wait to be home lying on the bed..last saturday went to buy stroller and baby cot after work..took me whole day..my legs were so tired!!..wondering how you do it!!(haha)..but keeping active i good lah..esp near to EDD..make labour easier.

I'm having back ache too..esp on my left side..i can even feel the strain on my left rib cage...have to alternate the position..cannot sleep well also...i guess this is to train ourselves for the no-good-nite-sleep after the baby's out.

ya..i also wonder how they determine baby's weight by measuring??(really advance man!)

Sue..
Your friend gave birth one month before!!..izzit a premature baby??

oh..can i suggest that we post our baby photos up after we give birth??..

Hi all, my friend's bb is borned closed to 37wks. The bb is 2.92kg, not really premature. She didn't have any episiotomy as bb was small.

Do you all have the feeling of passing motion all the time? I've checked with my gynae & he said it's normal because the bb is pressing on our anus.

Scoobydoo, will try to post the photos here after birth. Gd idea.

Hi sue,
I actually feel like peeing all the time! Maybe coz I'm in 33rd wk, so not yet exp the feelg of passg motion yet.

Hvg diff gettg to z. Usually do my pelvic tilt exercises and all the other nec exercise whilst watchg tv then get ready for bed. But bb keeps kickg n makg me unable to settle down to z. By the time I am so exhausted n doze off, it's time to wake up to visit the loo....and the vicious cycle repeats itself thruout the night makg me so groggy by the time I wake up the next morng. Gettg me ready for motherhood? Maybe....

Hi scoobydoo,
Yep, I'm tryg my best to stay active these last few weeks altho I do get bouts of wantg to just bum...but I try not to give in. Worried tt if I just laze ard, may end up hvg tough deliv. Hope it works! *crossing fingers* Anyway, will also try to post pics once bb is born. Hubby is def gonna bring his digicam to hospital...but hope I will rem with all the fuss over bb. What to do, first time mum, so know I'll be super kan cheong since I'm so ignorant. *heh*

hope you all had a good night's sleep?

Hi Andriany,
i did ask my gynae how he know bb's weight when he told me at wk 28. He said they'll usually measure bb's stomach size, and from a chart, they'll know the estimated weight of the bb loh
Last time they measure bb's size by mother's weight without ultrasound...so that's the beauty of technology 8)
Dunno if this is the same method used for all docs...prob you gals can check with yours during the next visit

Good that your mil always drop by with something for you...mine has offered me nothing since the day i'm pregnant
i think she's more concerned abt what others say abt her rather than the health of her own grandson.
And prob like what scoobydoo says, you are at home most of the time, so you may have the tendency to want to go out. Whereas we working mums will want to stay at home to rest rest and rest

Seems like many of the mums suffering from backaches...i'm having lower back ache for the past 2 weeks, so have to walk slower now. Falling asleep is ok leh, but me nowadays so tired, so lie down, within 5 min sleep liao

Hi Scoobydoo,
when's your next gynae visit?? should be having 1 in 2 weeks now right?
No problem with sharing photos (and birth stories) here...let's see who's the first to pop :p

well...seems like the other mothers are getting tired and our thread is getting quiet...

How does it feel like when baby hiccups inside you? How long does it last? Just now I felt small 'thumps' from my belly, quite fast, something like the pacing of my heartbeat, around 7-8 times. It got me a little worried- anyone knows what that is? Are hiccups so fast? BTW I'm in my 29th week. Thanks in advance

Hey gals,

My gynae explained to me tat BB weight is determined by taking the measurment of head, stomach & thighs bone.

Just to share with u all an old wives tales. Last wkend I went over to my grandma place and she asked me how my boy is doing. I complained to her tat my boy always kick on my right side (i.e. buttock sitting on the left side) and he is playing my rib range like though he is playing a harp. Haha.... and my grandma told me its usual for a boy. If its a girl...more movements fm the left. Her theory was boy usually is fertilised fm our right and gal fm the left. Well...the theory was true for myself as during my 1st check up my gynae told me my boy was being fertlise fm my right. Hehe... Perhaps juz qiao he. How abt u all?

Went for my checkup yest. At wk 35+, my boy is now 2.8kg. He had filled up the whole womb. Gynae said maximium liao, almost no chance of head turn up again :p Head getting lower though not engage yet.

Berry,

Hiccups can last ard 3-5mins. Feel like small thumps at constant interval. Juz like our hiccups.

Hi Aimee , I did not take lot of "bu3" leh! My gynae say have to cut down on carbohydrate ( Rice, noodles ...) And sweets food !! ( DONT TAKE DURIAN !) He also said one month gain 1 kg ok ! not 2 kg! last visit , I gain 2kg within 3 weeks !
And furthermore, my first child is already considered big ( 3.58kg ) and he said second one will normally be bigger ...(3.8 Kg...) Oh..no!Hope it will be a smooth delivery.
Oh going to see him this saturday !!

Now I am 36weeks already ! My first child delivered at 38weeks so ...I might deliver early too ! Maybe in 2 weeks time !

Have to rest more , dont walk too much during you last few weeks because your will have difficulty sleeping at night !
I cant turn from right to centre to left so easily because its painful at the thigh/hip...
I have been walking too much !

Oh time has moved so fast, yet there r still times when we cant help but hope that bb can be out fast!

Andriany n Aimee, I've tried sleeping on both sides, yet still end up with bad aches on right, even when i sleep on my left most of the time! The aches felt like gastric pains on the higher side of my rib cages. Same as Aimee, i'm beginning to have lower backaches, but cld be due to our walking posture. I found that as bb gets heavier, we tend to pull ourselves back, n thus strain our back. Do b careful when u walk around. If only i can b like Andriany, resting at home, then so good!

Sue, i also have frequent toilet trips- both big n small. But mostly, it's a lot of wind in my stomach, keeps on farting till i embarrassed. N when i do the big biz, i was so scared that i might push wrongly!

Valencia, i cant help but agree with what u've said abt the right active being boy. Coz my boy keeps on poking my right! He only fingers my left when i lay on my left when sleeping. When i'm up n about, he pokes my right, kicks my right, never-ending right, his favourite!

Irenevic, is 3.58kg the usual weight for most newborns? I think my mil expects more from me, coz she keeps on saying must eat n eat. Sigh, i become so fed up that i told her if bb too big, we need c-section, n there might b complications.

It's a great idea to post our bb's pics here, Scoobydoo! Can serve as motivation for all of us---> so is Irenevic the one who is due soon, followed by Valencia?

Any of u gals gonna breastfeed? My mil as usual quite cynical of this idea.....:<

Hiya ladies,
Wow, seems like our thread is becoming active again...thought for a moment I had lost many of you.

Hi aimee,
Hey, tt's cool the way a bb's wt is measured. Will ask my gynae how she comes up with those magic nos next fri when I see her next.

Hey, at least yr mil is not harping on the fact tt u shld hv 2nd child soon. Mine keeps tellg us to make sure we hv another one soon as she's pining away for a grandson. Does it really matter what gender the bb is? I've always preferred gals myself.

Hey you are seriously v lucky to be able to get to z within 5 mins. No matter how tired I am, can't seem to settle down to z. Wonder why. Any tips?

Hi Berry,
Sorry but I can't help you on hiccups. Never seemed to exp it or maybe I nv noticed?

Hi Val,
Hmm, another slight deviation on the method to ascertain bb's wt. Interesting....

Abt yr old wives' tale, yup it seems to me tt my daugh likes my left side more. Quite scary to see my bare tummy nowadays as it can be distorted by kicks or punches...hehe. Not quite sure abt which side she was fertilised though. Maybe I can check with gynae abt tt.

That's wonderful news to hear tt there's no chance of yr boy's head turning up again...so def not breech positn...you can relax now.

Hi irenevinc,
Oh dear, I also gained 2 kg in a month.....gynae also said to ensure wt gain is 1kg....gosh. So stressful!

Well, seems like you may be the first to pop...do share with us yr birth story okie? In the meantime do take gd care of yrself!

Hi Leibit,
Yeah tt's true abt the posture bit. Think I'm also hvg backaches due to my pulling my body back, n thus straining my back. Oh gosh, don't wish you were like me...you do not know how it is like to stay home! I've always led a hectic life as a sec sch teacher for the past 6 yrs, and then a freelance phonetics tr till late april. Imagine how my life is from may when I've nothg much to busy myself with!

Wow, yr mil expects you to deliver to a 4kg bb?! That's like huge right? I would be happy if she's 3 kg and healthy. Hope my mil doesn't hv her own expectatn on bb's wt. Stressful!

I'm thinkg of breastfeedg but my sis told me tt it'll mean I can't start on any diet anytime soon. Must make sure that I lose most of my wt within 3 mths....coz I don't want the fats to be permanent. Still wanna wear my Mango and Zara clothes......but also want my bb to hv the best in terms of nutrition. So how do I balance both?

Lebit,

Was it the poking fm ur bb ard ur rib cage area tat is giving u pain? Yeah boy, my boy oso fingers ard my left. Sometimes when I sit down, I could feel something poking ard my hip bone since now my tummy can touch my thighs when I sit down and elevate my legs up. Hehe...
Dun "kek" ur stools. I read fm magz tat it may hurt dunno which part. Anyway, in short DUN PUSH :p
3.58kg consider big bb already. The avg weight is ard 2.8kg to 3.2kg.Too big very hard to come out leh.
Yes. I will bf my boy for as long as I can.

Andriany,

I m surprise to hear tat u nv experience ur bb hiccups. Hehe.... Cos I get it very often nowadays. I felt so bad whenever my boy gets it. I bet he feels lousy when he got it. So I will start tokking to him and tells him mummy sayang :p
I think now may be too late to know which side is being fertilised already. I guess its being determine during the early stage.
BF oso help the mummy to lose weight. Anyway, if it dun, u evaluate the two factors. ur bb and ur figure? Figure is impt though but I guess bb is ur priority rite?

Backache could os be due to the position of the bb. If bb's back is against mummy's back. Mummy will get backache oso.

Hi Andriany n Valencia!
Ha, i seriously think my mil wants me to give birth to a super huge bb:p She's always commenting abt our relatives' newborns being of little weight, which to me are of satisfied weight. Or maybe she thinks i too skinny, so worried that her grandson takes after me! Haha! N u know what, when i told her i'll b breastfeeding, she said maybe i wont have that much milk, n bb wld keep crying if he doesnt have enough. Sigh, somehow i feel lousy whenever i hear that... i really want to breastfeed, at least try right?....

Btw, bf really helps us to slim down. My colleague gave birth in Feb this year, n prior to her delivery, she was like, wow, rounded n plump to say. With bf-ing, she has since lost lots of weight n regained her figure! She didnt engage any malay msg either to help. So bf has lots of benefits yeah!

I think it's my bb's poking of his feet that's hurting my rib cage. There's always a bump out when he does that, n i will go ouch ouch for few moments till he stops. When he does that, i will rub the area n scold him softly that he's such a naughty boy! N when he fingers, yah, it's that part where the tummy touches the thigh, haha, so ticklish right? =>

Andriany, i oso quite confused how to determine which r the hiccups. There r times when i feel constant soft pop-pop sounds so i think that's the hiccups.

Does anyone notice ur bb's favourite exercise? Mine actually likes to use his fingers and do some kind of beating round my lower tummy. He does it mostly 3 times a day without fail!

wow, quite alot of postings today. Hope all mummies are feeling better today

Hi Berry,
i do feel those constant 'thumps', but dunno if it's bb's hiccups though...always forget to ask gynae these qns when i see him, and when i step out then i remember.

Hi Valencia,
my boy likes to move more on the left leh...so i'm the odd one out

Wow, bb in position now...so are you ready for the big day?

Hi Irenevic,
Did you put on alot of weight? My gynae no comment on my weight gain cos he find that so long as bb's growing fine can liao...to think of it, till now i only put on abt 9kg in total. Wondering if i've not been eating enough though.
Do remember to update us with your birth story ok!

Hi Lebit,
prob it's also becos of my work...sitting in front of the computer all day, can be quite tiring. So my only exercise is to go toilet...then i got chance to get up to walk and stretch

My mil also expects bb to be huge, but we always tell her doc says he's of average weight so dun worry. Anyway i do hope for a smaller bb so that delivery would be easier (dunno true or not leh)
She also not pro-bf one. Was very discouraging and skeptical when i told her i want to bf...and i always remind my husband, he must always stand by me to support me when all others discourage me. Heard from some nurses that most impt is to get hubby on your side. Cos the first few days will be the most depressing part if we're not producing enough (and 3rd parties' nasty comments come in)
So dun be too stressed ok?
Must be a happy mum.
Me also hv alot of wind in stomach...dunno if the rest are having this symptom?

Hi Andriany,
mil did comment on second child before, but we brush off that saying financially we cannot afford. Can tell she's pining for a gal cos everytime go out see those pink pink sweet sweet accessories for gals she'll comment "aiya, for gals only hoh..."

Prob cos when i go to bed, i'm usually very tired liao...and most impt, dun do any mind stimulating things before going to bed..hope this helps

Heard that during bf have to eat well, so prob you may want to shelf the diet plans for a while?
If you're taking of bb yourself, shld be able to shed those kgs with all the running abt and sleepless nights. i saw that in my sil...so dun worry abt not able to fit into your Mango &amp; Zara clothes

Are the working mums going to work till you give birth? Or going to take leave/mc before that?
How abt names for your bb?? Thought of the names liao?

Hi Leibit,
So lucky that you're still skinny during pregnancy. Heh. Actually yr current size has nothing to do with yr ability to breastfeed, so don't worry. Yea, agree with aimee that it's most impt to hv hubby's support. Told my hubby I must try my best to bf for as long as I can. Must persevere...

My daugh likes to kick around my left side perpetually, esp at night. Gosh, then my tummy really becomes totally distorted. Quite entertaining to see but yet painful at the same time.

Hi aimee,
Wow you only gained 9kg in total? I've already gained 13kg so far. Hope to gain a max of 15kg only for entire pregnancy. Still got 7 1/2 weeks more.

Yup, we also did the same, tellg her we're not financially prep and she just kept quiet. Now my dad's excited abt prospect of buyg barbie dolls since my daugh's first granddaugh. Gosh, think he's so into girls..hope he doesn't spoil her to bits.

Yea, I def won't go dieting since I wanna bf. Will be staying with mum during confinement and after that for another mth coz hubby going away for training in US. Think I'll def lose wt with all the lack of z. =P

I'm still currently at a loss as to the Chinese name for my daugh. MIL just suggested Yong'en but somehow we both don't really like it. What about the rest of you? Decided yet?

Hi Andriany,
yah loh...good for me if i want to lose weight. But that's also the cause for people to wonder if bb's big and healthy enough

Thankfully everything's ok!

We also havent decide on the last character...thinking of Zhi3 Yang2. But hubby dun quite like the word yang2 leh..

Are you gals considering storing bb's cord blood? There's a mother's day promo which just ended, but if you are interested still i can refer my salesperson to you and she'll try to enrol you for the promo.

Heylo Aimee n Andriany!

Actually i also not that small size now- gained a total of 12.5kg in all for these 34 weeks of pregnancy, just that i have smaller bone structure so look small sized, haha!

Andriany, 'En' is a very nice name for bb gal, whereas 'Yong' depends on which chinese character of 'yong' u r using, as it may sound too masculine. Is ur 'yong' the one with yan2 zi4 pan2(speak)?

Aimee, u only gained 9kg in all? What's ur bb's weight? As long as he's of average weight, then no need to fear the rest. I do agree with u that if bb is small, easier to deliver, heehee! My bb currently starts to put his weight near my bum there, n starting to get painful if i sit for too long. But if i stand, my feet get all swollen, and somehow my legs start to feel shaky :< It's so difficult getting around now, sad-sad! Indeed chinese name is so hard to find one. 'Yang' sounds quite traditional for a boy, but not commonly used now. Btw, what's the mother's day promo for bb's cord blood abt?

Most prob will take mc the week before my edd. I dont want to waste my 2 mths of maternity leave by having part of it b4 the delivery. Well, i'm still keeping my fingers crossed that we are able to benefit from the new maternity leave that govt says they r announcing soon....cant wait for the news!

Hi aimee,
Don't worry abt wat ppl say...u knw for sure tt bb's a healthy wt rite? Really find it so hard to choose a Chinese name. Is yr son gonna hv an English name too? Could u also care to explain to us what the promo abt storg of cord blood is all abt? Totally clueless abt it.

Hi Leibit,
So nice, to not to be able to show tt you've gained 12.5kg. I'm tryg hard to ensure I don't give in to my cravings at all so I can gain max of 15kg for this entire preg. Heh.
Ya, agree w yr take on 'yong'. Thk it sounds too masculine. That's why we disagreed with MIL over the name she had chosen. Not sure wh 'yong' it is, def not the one in 'yong gan' I hope. That's too boy. Maybe it's 'yong yuan' that 'yong'. Didn't ask her to write it out.
I'm currently hvg aches when I walk...so can't walk as fast as I'm used to. Is this normal? Also hvg lower back pain...and hard to turn in bed. Do any of u feel the perpetual need to pee? I thk my bb's pressg on my bladder or somethg...so uncomfy!
Oh yes, talkg abt benefits, can't wait to hear it being announced durg Nat'l Day rally. Prob by then, all of us would've popped!

Hi Andriany,
why dun you try using the yong in Yuan2 Yong3 Yi2? think it's look nice and more rou2

Hi Leibit,
Yah, only abt 9 or 9+ this week
bb's weight abt +-2.6kg...
Yah, really difficult getting around..and my hubby made fun of me, calling me a penguin when i walk

i find it difficult to name boys though...dun want to use 'jie', 'wen' 'yong'...so actually also not much choices left. Me headache over his name..and worried if bb's going to pop anytime if we've not got his name ready!

Anyway, stem cord blood is the blood at the umbilical cord.. Prob you all can check out this website Stemcord for more info

Anyone knows that if bb's born before the nat'l day rally, will we be entitled to the benefits announced then?? Will be so sad if we cant..

Hi Andriany!
Yah, for a moment u really left me clueless as in who's this radiohead all of a sudden responding!
Well i agree with Aimee's idea of yong as in Anita Yuen's yong yi. That's nicer for a girl. Like Guan Yong He, very sweet n pretty
Same here, low backaches nightly, n combined with dat Braxton contractions somemore, sigh never-ending suffering! The pee has been increasing in frequency, once i went to toilet 3x within an hour, feel so lowsy as if i suffer from some kind of leakage problem. At times i even wondered whether that's break of water bag! Ha, scare myself only hehee...Correct bb's pressing on ur bladder, does she press on ur bum too? Lately i wake up, feeling my bum tightens up alot, but as if i'm going to do big biz. Do u experience that too?

Hi Aimee,
how many weeks r u at now that ur bb is 2.6kg? I'm very excited abt bb's weight but only due to see my gynae 2 weeks from now. I also find myself a penguin, swaddling here n there.
I find it difficult to even lift my feet off the ground, so i try to make swift steps while walking. My colleagues all thought that's such a funny sight, while poor me becomes a living exhibit now

Whether boy or girl, names are ever so hard to decide upon. Name stays with us for life, so of coz we try our best to think of good sounding ones for our children. Else they ask u next time y u give them this name. Try flipping through a chinese dictionary for inspiration. U may actually catch a glimpse of some characters u think is nice, yet hardly use it before.

It will be so unfair if we r not entitled to the new benefits leh! I mean i still remember when they start this issue in March, they told us by all means can go n get pregnant, dun need to wait till announcement. Sigh, keep our fingers crossed!

Our thread seems to b quite now....where r the rest? Dun tell me u have popped already?

Hi aimee,
Gosh, I'm totally clueless as to which yong3 you are talking abt. Must really try to get hold of a Chinese dictionary to look it up Think I've passed all my knowledge back to my tr already. =P
Yeah, like Leibit, also curious which week you are at now. Gosh, hubbies can be so mean...my hubby keeps saying I look as if I swallowed a big bowling ball. Sigh!
Oh well, names are def tough coz hv to make sure our kids don't end up gettg teased in any way and the name stays with them for life.
Regarding benefits, some minister announced tt all who are born this yr will be entitled to benefits so don't worry. Think it was Dr Lim Hng Kiang.....

Hi Leibit,
Yea, I agree w tt bladder prob. Feel really terrible, esp when I'm out during wkends and need to find a loo. So stressful! Hmm, I'm not hvg BHC yet...or maybe it's too mild for me to feel. =P She doesn't press on my bum but now feelg increasing need to go to loo for big biz. Wonder if it's coz she's lowering? I'm not walking like penguin yet but know it's gonna be real soon. Must warn my hubby....heh.
Yea, also wondering where the rest of the MTBs are....

Hi MTB, I was busy last few days so have not log in. Now catching up on all the postings. I'm not sure if my bb has engaged but lots of pple told me my tummy is now lower. When I went gynae last wk, he said bb not engaged yet. I'm so excited, 3 more weeks to see my bb.

My gynae measures the bb's weight by taking the head size, tummy and thigh, similar to Valencia's gynae.

Andriany, I've gained 13kg too and I think I shld be able to stay within 15kg, I've 3 more wks to go. ;p Those late nights toilet trips are so frequent, sometimes, I doze off at the toilet seat.

Leibit, I also feel like doing big biz most of the time. It's normal because bb is pressing on anus. I tried to sleep on my left and sometimes, my left bum will be numb. Sometimes, I feel like I'm loosing my balance when I get up the sofa or bed.

Aimee, not sure if those born before National Day will be entitled to the benefits. It was unfortunate that we fall in this 'window' period.

Hi Leibit,
Hm...gynae said i'm 34 weeks when bb weighed 2.6kg. Was quite worried at that time cos his weight is like almost doubled in a month. Anyway, going to see him again this wed, so prob can have an updated weight by then

Hi Andriany,
Hmm...prob you got to consult the dictionary for the correct yong3.
The govt very bad, always make us preggies wonder if we're eligible for the benefits, esp the maternity leave that i'm eyeing

Really hope to spend more time with my little boy before i return to work

Prob the MTBs are busy preparing their home for the little ones

We're the few hardcores who will log in everyday...prob give them some time to finish their work and they'll be back.

last Wednesday was rather exciting for me. I was at work when I experienced a piercing pain down my back, my lower abdomen was also in pain. My boss ordered me home. Colleague drove me home. MIL came to accompany me. Couldn't get hubby cos' his handphone is dead.

Gynae saw me in the evening and realised that my womb was tight. He speculated three possiblities: 1. early labour 2. false labour and 3. placental separating. He was most worried about the third possiblity as if it was the case, baby would be danger and must be taken out in 5 minutes time.

He put me thru ECG to monitor baby's heartbeat. Fortunately, it was fine. Doc still worried though, so wanted to see me again at noght. Did ECG again. Baby's heartbeat was good but womb still tight.

Told to go hospital for close monitoring. Regular contraction detected and baby's heartbeat still good. Hence, 'placental
separating' eliminated. Given pills to stop contraction and to delay labour. Contractions will cause me to give birth early so must delay. I'm only in 36 weeks you see.

So glad everything is alright. Doc saw me again yesterday. Baby is fine, engaged and big enough. No need to take pills. Now on mc, waiting for the big day to come.

Learn a few things:
1. must make sure bag is packed
2. must have contingency plans - who to send you home if you are still at work? Hubby or a relative must be on standby etc.

hi all MTBs...

Talking about name..i already got one for my son..Chinese is Lai4 Yi3 Le4..got this name translated from the bible..Jehovah Jireh (in chinese)..provider. Christian name is Joshua (God's salvation)..both name has it's own significant..we almost lost the baby..doc told us that the baby was very sick in the early stage of my pregnancy..both me and husband thought that we're going to lose the baby..but God actually healed my baby...so it's God's salvation...
must agree..thinking of baby's name is really tough!!..

Actually...i still don't really know how braxton hicks feel like..can anyone explain??..

Augustmum,
Glad to hear everything is fine..try to relax. You were saying your baby is engaged..does that mean you'll be in labour anytime??..doc say my baby's head is down liao..that's doesn't mean it's engaged right??

Now the most stressful thing for me is my gestational diabetes..need to really control my diet..have few high reading last week..called the nurse and she told me that i might need to inject INsulin!!..that's really scared me!! (feel like a sick person!)

oh..i got this sharp pain in my vagina occasionally..does anyone here ever experience it??..want to know what it was..

Hi Augustmum, phew.... what a relief! When I read your posting, I tot you hv given birth. Rest well as we need lots of energy to push.

Hi Scoobydoo, when you experience BH, your tummy will harden for about 30 sec. I'm not sure how to explain it to you exactly but you shld be feeling it by now. I can feel the pressure pressing down when I pee but not sharp pain in my vagina. It might be normal since bb is already head down. My gynae told me my bb's head down, birth position but not yet engaged, meaning she has not drop into the pelvic area yet. LIke the name you've given your son, very meaningful.

Hi Augustmum,
Wow, really glad to know you are now resting at home. Seems like we are really unsure of when the actual moment will come

Anyway is it true that if bb pops anytime now till 40th week is safe?
And when's your MC until? i dunno if i'll be brave enough to stay home and wait wait wait...

Hi Scoobydoo,
really liked bb's name

Got to take care esp when having gest. diabetes...got to watch your diet just for the last lap!

Hi Sue,
Seems like your big day is also quite near right?

Hi Scoobydoo,
sharp pain in vagina? Do u feel the sharp pain coming from deep inside or on the surface? Coz sometimes, it could be some vagina yeast infection. What i experience now is as if my vagina gonna be separated anytime.

Hi Augustmum,
Thank God u r fine! Must have been a stressful time for u then, having to go through so many unexpected trials! Good thing ur MIL is there w u too!

Hi Aimee,
Hmmmm...shd be alright as mine is 2.3kg at 33 wks. Ur baby will be a healthy one, dont worry!

Hi Sue,
yah, it's hard to balance, esp when we need to go to the loo in the midst of the night. I always walk as if i'm real old suffering from osteroposis! Wow, 3 more weeks for u, Jia1 You2!!!

Hi Andriany,
right soon u'll have the penguin symptom
Btw, if the benefits are to be announced during the N-Day Rally, most prob u'll be entitled as urs is late Aug right? Sigh, majority of us in this thread seem to be before the Rally. (Rally usu. held around 20+Aug)

My MIL told me not to drink too much coconut water though it's good for delivery. She says wld be too cold for us then. So a total of 3-4 from Wk32-40 shd do.

Okie, take care n rest well gals! Check in sometime again!:>

Hi Leibit ,
3.58 is bit big ! Some newborn only 2.5 - 3 +.
4kg is consider big ! Anyway , bigger baby is easier to carry and bath them ! Smaller are more fragile !

Hi Aimee
I gain 11kg till now ( 37 wks). Doctor already say baby big ( 3+kg ).Just went to see gynae on Sat! Luckily no weight gain !
From now on , I have to see gynae every week !
I will Start my maternity leave on 02 Aug.
Hopefully she will pop out after 01 Aug !!
For chinese name , we will ask the "shifu" for few names , then we will chose the best one .

Hi Andriany ,
Your mil so eager for your 2nd one !! 1st one havent pop out yet already asking for 2nd one !

hi all!
Leibit,
the sharp pain is from inside..yeast infection got kind of foul smell rite and very itchy..mine not like that. I got the pain usually standing up or walking ...it just come and go...i tot that one is contraction..

Just went to see diabetic doc this morning...haiz...need to inject insulin ah!!..but only small amount lah. Doc say won't have any side effects, but will have effect on the baby if i don't take..so no choice lor..for baby's sake..what i scared of is baby get too big and i'll have a difficult time delivering him...anyway just a few weeks more to go. Keep telling myself must be brave ah..

How many of you here intend to inject epidural??..izzit true that there will be side effect when we get older??