1st Time...

Helo!

Stepford and jasmine:

YUppie!! Taiwan is sooooo nice! Really a paradise for woman....and i mean woman!Haha...cos my hubby regret bringing me there...All he did is to accompany me to shop! There arent too much things for guys to shop,mainly females. Esp Wu fen pu(wholesales area)and shoes there are really so cheap..total i bought 6 pairs of shoes!wan to buy more but stop by my hubby cos luggage not enough to squeeze liao.. and not forgetting bout those Taiwan food!

Graybecky
i jus went there with my hubby.. cant possibl bring bb along cos too she too small liao..we will have a hard time if bring her along...(haha..horrible mummy hor)but of course will miss her lor..thats y only go for 4 days..very short trip.

Shauna
wat u plan for xmas? Mi and hubby have not decide yet. Still considering to bring bb out for dinner together or leave bb with mil den we go for our xmas dinner..dilema!

Parent: Shauna Low (SAHM)
Baby: Sidney
DOB: 29 Jan 2007

Mum & baby particulars:
Parent: Jasmine (jasminenbc)
Baby: Nichole
DOB: 7 Nov 2006

Parent: sgn
Baby: Kai Yang
DOB: 13 May 07

Parent: peck
Baby: Jovan
DOB: 29 June 07

Parent: jolene
Baby: Ashley
DOB: 26 Sep 07

Parent: pooppy
baby: matthias
DOB: 10 july 07

Parent: graybecky
Baby: Naomi
DOB: 24 April 07

Parent: Jan
Baby: Jarienne
D.O.B: 9th of June 2007

Parent: Kimmylian
Baby: Jade
DOB: 26th Aug 2007

wow...the list getting longer and longer le...

graybecky-we started sidney on heinz cereal at 5 months after green light from PD as it had no added sugar. we began nestle at 6 months.(mixing half nestle and half heinz coz i found nestle very sweet).
the 1st veg we started was carrot puree. but we give sidney a very large variety of veg as we pureed everything so basically anything we could find on the supermart shelves liek caixin, cauliflower, babycorn, asparagus, broccoli,and so on, giving an interval of 3 days each time we wanted to intro something new.

kimmylian- i asked hubby what he wanted to do for xmas. then he said cook something nice for us. and i was rolling my eyes, saying " omg, just like every weekend.." then he said,' ok, cook something really special then.' nearly fainted. but aiyah, its the 1st xmas with our boy so anything would work.. haha

hi jasmine,

will start work next mth, so my MIL wanted me to start let my girl get use to staying at her hse lor. she also mention tat i can hav time to do some shopping, buy some new clothes for work. tot of bring her back in the evening but my MIL dun wan us to travel between SK & sembawang. another thing is tat, she tink tat bb cant bring them out at night. so no choice lor. (MIL is a VERY traditional lady) *SIGN*

Jan,
When you make the cereal, don't make too thick yet till she knows how to take it easily, slowly than thicken it in later state. My gal start her cereal at 5 months plus. But she don't like the brown rice, try a lot of times, she just refuse to take. As for porridge we try to give her at 6 months plus she don't seem to accept it till she is coming to 7 months, guess my gal is slow at adapting new food. Its take times for her. I brought organic pumpkin, spinach and potato for her porridge and of coz fish and meat is a must to make the porridge taste better.

Jolene
Is like that old people believe in not bringing them out at night my MIL also like that. My maid bring her just right outside our door step she also say cannot. Cause recently my girl have been having nightmare at night so she blame it on my maid for bringing her walk outside our door step at night. Your girl will recognise place if you were to bring her back only weekends. So you stay at Sengkeng or sembawang? I stay at 1 stop after sembawang.

Kimmy,
You make me feel like going there again leh. The last time I went I also brought a lot of stuffs. Did you go to the Espirt Factory Outlet, tell you is so cheap until my bag is fully loaded too. I stay at 'Hsi Men Ding' hotel so is easy to go around and near to their MRT too.

jasmine,

i staying at sembawang. tis is wat i fear most, keeping telling my hb wat if bb cant recognise us if we bring her back. worst still, my MIL told my hb tat she would not allow us to bring my ger back during the first year!!! tis is wat she hav been doing when she was looking after her sister's 2 child. *faint* hav been telling my hb to talk to my MIL on letting us bring back my ger during wkend.

can i join this thread ?

Mum & baby particulars:

Parent:Bunz
Baby: Ian
DOB: 31st May 2007

welcome bunz.

jolene, my mom suggested the same thing to me abt not bringing baby home unless its weekends if we left in her care. (she stays in hougang and us in the west.) and it was just no-no for me n hubby. so we resorted to so many other child care options. maid, which we quickly fired after 3 months, we looked at infantcare, and just din think it would do our baby any justice. so in the end, i took a year off to look after sidney full time.

it is indeed so hard for modern parents. we have to make money, (and darn.. these days, single income just dun buy u fancy toys and pretty clothes anymore) and make babies. its not fair for the little ones to be away from their mommies, not even a day!

anyway, if u make the effort to travel to bring ur bb back, ur mil shldnt 'disallow' u to bring bb back. explain to her that u need to bond with bb too. its ur bb,not hers. its good she helps to look after bb, but not at the expense of stealing ur right to be a mother.

Hi bunz welcome...

Jolene,
I agree with Shauna, your MIL got no right to insist both you and your hb not to bring your own child back home provided your hb agree with her. Bonding with your own baby is very important especially a mother. Now my girl is so sticky to me even day time my maid is looking after her, she just treat my maid as a play-mate during day time. When I reach home see her happy face I was so please even Im so tired after a day work. We get a maid coz got no choice my MIL is too old to look after her, she's like 73 yrs old liao can't even carry my gal around (No strength got weak muscles).

Hi Bunz *welcome*

Hello Shauna,
I stay @ west area..
By the way..I'm getting very confused..cereal different from brown rice rite..? Wat's the diff?? *faint*

Hmmm... this thread is moving fast! I can't seem to follow where I left off now. :p

Let's see... we have a few SAHMs here. I'm another one. It's a joy to be with the baby everyday but there are times I envy the working moms because sometime we do need a break too, and get away from the screaming little one.

Jolene, not sure if it's of any consolation, but I used to stay with my grandparents during wkdays and only get to go home on weekends. It wasn't that bad an arrangement but of course, if you and your hubby do not mind the time and effort to fetch and send the baby to and fro your in-laws' place, by all means, do it. It will be worth it!

Shauna : how do you manage to login all the time??? I'm dying to catch my breath looking after my girl. Every time I put her to sleep, I would have to quickly rush to get the housework done.

Kimmylian : Shoes!!! Love to see your loot. I've been living in my birks for so long. During pregnancy, don't dare to wear heels. After delivery, don't dare to wear also cos' I'm always carrying baby.

bunz : Hi there! welcome to the thread.

graybecky : girl, I want to transfer the money to you but waiting for you to advise account details. email me yah?

I'm looking forward to Christmas! have started to let my girl watch the Baby Einstein Santa Music Box. It's the only one that truly catches her attention, like 15mins?

Mum & baby particulars:

Parent : stepford
Baby : Yurie
DOB : 30th August 2007

Shauna,

Im a FTWM, I work in advertising so sometimes is so tired after a day work reach home already like coming to 8pm took shower and dinner is already like 9pm spend time with my gal for like 1hr plus have to put her to bed liao. SAHM is what I think of sometimes, but cannot afford leh. It will be hard for my hubby as now everything is so expensive like milk powder price goes up high like property market now.

<font color="0000ff">hi stepford,graybecky,jasmine</font>

am a FTWM..so envy SAHM,can spend time with yr little ones. i muz work and earn $ to buy pampers & milk powder

anyone staying in SK ?

bunz: welcome...

stepford: i used to stay wif my grandparents also. my parents bz working so during my childhood, i stay wif my grandparents.

shauna/jasmine: knew tat during the first three years bonding wif bb is important but my hb prefer my MIL to look after the bb. maybe we will go over to my in-law's hse after work to see her lor. but will insist in bring her back during wkends & public holidays.

as for being a SAHM, will only consider after i give brith to my 3rd child. tink still a long way to go....

graybecky- we are neighbours. *wink
cereal is rice or wheat or brown rice ground to a very fine texture. brown rice is healthier coz more fibre but may not taste as nice. the supermkts sell "si sen" which is brown rice. anyway, the idea is start with the finest texture possible since the bb has never tasted anything more solid than milk. so go easy before u try anything else..

stepford- there's more to come, baby. when they commence solids, u find urself making food and changing them n feeding them all day. i let sidney stay in the play yard while i quickly wipe ard abit. when he sleeps, i prepare bath and food and then i get on to surf the net. its no sweat once u get into the swing of things. also, my boy has regular naptimes (at the same time everyday) so i know how to plan my day loh..

and i live in my birks too. oh gosh. i'm lettin sidney watch dora's xmas. i hope sidney isnt upset with me for lettin him watch a gal's show.. haha

jasmine- i know what u mean man. i used to work in the bank ang slog my a** off till late nights. and i would be tired as a log. we went thru many options before deciding that i shld stay at home, and even so, oni temporarily. its damn sad right.

jolene- is ashley ur 1st child? as long as u're happy with ur decision, then its the best decision for u and bb. *hugz. its never easy in motherhood.

and HALLO HALLO?? anyone else in the west besides me n graybecky?

aloha!
Wow...agree with stepford! Our thread really fast and furious!haha...

Jasmine
Where is the outlet u talkin bout? I didnt neo at all..i stay quite near ximending(cheng du hotel)around 10mins walk..cant manage to get the rainbow hotel..

Shauna,
Ur hubby can cook! wonderful! I love guys who can cook but my hubby only neo how to cook hmm...instant noodles la..instant soup la...etc...haha
U wan to find khaki @ west? I kind of west cum central wor... stay at tiong bahru.U gals?

Jolene
Sounds like u really got a diffcult mil..but i seriously think u should bring ur gal back during ph and weekends..maybe tell her in a nicely way..like u wont wan to tire her out la..she can have a break la..kind of thing.

welcome bunz!

well its good to start the forum with a blast.

poppy pop- my boy uses nepia in the day n pampers at night. nepia is good and soft but it gets soggy and droppy after a night so we've always been insisting on pampers for him in the nights. he does pee alot in the night so it seems to be the one diaper made for him.

kimmylian- yah i think almost all the men ive dated (obviously in my younger and more available days..) could cook. whereas i was oni as good as ur hubby ( instant everything). i stay in west coast. we're connected by some expressway. so i guess we're sorta near. haha

hoping to go chinatown today with bb to get him some nice cheena clothes for the new year..

Kimmy,
The Espirt outlet is 2 street away behind rainbow hotel. Its 2 level shop, upstairs is clearance downstair is new arrival product. I went there twice to grap things coz the 1st night I went its late liao so dont hv much time to shop hehe...

Poppy pop,
I use Nepia at night leh. I normally change to nepia before she go to bed at about 10pm can last her till morning abt 8am before her shower. Day time I use PET PET is good enough I ask my maid to change 3-4 hourly. I try PAMPERS ALL NIGHT I brought it in JB here they don't sell, doesn't seem lasting have to change for her in the middle of the night leh.

shauna: both our hb can cook. usually my hb will cook during wkend. ya, ashley is my 1st child. cos my gynae quite old alreadly, afraid tat she might retired so must chop chop and close factory lor.

poppy pop: which part of semb u staying??

kimmyliam: hav a very difficult to handle MIL. even friends & relatives also comment tat only i can 'tahan' her.

can i join too? we are now thinking to change the milk from Friso gold...cos boy is starting to drink less... not sure why... is it he sick of the taste already? so thought to change brand... any auggestions on brands? another thing i need to think about is weaning.... perhaps he's ready to wean??? but i dun know how to start.....

Mum & baby particulars:

Parent : obride
Baby : Nathan
DOB : 12 july 2007

jolene- wah u already plan for 3 kids. my hands are tight with this one, and we are already wondering if time n energy permits for no.2. i mean, we are more than happy to have another, but its really abt gathering up whatever energy we have to "make" one more.
my hubby loves to cook. and he whips up pretty impressive dishes.
admire u for being able to put up with MIL. but i'm sure it helps not to stay with her. my MIL is a nice woman, but ever since the bb, i get so upset with everything everyone wans to "teach" me with such "i know better than u" attitude . so thank god, we do not live with each other. it is indeed true that distance makes the heart grow fonder. perhaps the further the better. haha

sorry, this should be the latest list... cos i couldn't decide on my nick.... ehhehehe.....

Mum & baby particulars:

Parent : 1stxmom
Baby : Nathan
DOB : 12 july 2007

hi nellu,mesh how old is ur bb?

mine is 4.5mth, is time for him to start solid, think i would start when he turn 5 mth old.. now do lotsa reading regarding weaning.. hopefully i can start it right as my mum and helper is looking after him now

Welcome 1stxmom & nellu...

Shauna,
I think U got it wrong is it jolene says she Ashley is her 1st child right? I envy you and Jolene hubby can cook. My hubby only know how to cook instant noodles and soup only sigh....
Weekends Im the one who have to think of what to cook! weekdays we buy dishes from outside and ask my maid to cook the rice, no time lah no choice. Yeah its not easy to handle kids nowadays very xiong hor. I agree with not staying with in-laws I got no choice coz my hb is the only kid. Shauna are you planning for no. 2 next year? I thinking also, but think at my age I can't wait longer age catching up, may try next year. After married we've been trying for 4yrs almost go for IVF, before we go for doctor advice miracle happen I was pregnant.

shauna: both my hb & i love kids. actually we plan for 4 but later decide to stop at 3. moreover, it took me almost 2 yrs to hav tis bb. tried all menthods. tcm, so-iui etc... we even thought of doing ivf. but luckily, manage to concieve naturally. since difficult to concieve, must plan lor

Jolene you also ah, but you better than me. I try for 4yrs leh. Now couple too stress up by work I guess. Are you still in your 20's or early 30's, pei say ask you this kind of sensitive question hehe? I got married only at 32yrs old so you see I tried for 4 yrs, now getting old liao so must try & try fast. But think will try next year lah, I like just recover from all the sleepless night.

jasmine-dun think i got jolene wrong. i know ashley is her 1st child.. ")

i think i will oni start to try for no.2 when sidney 2. we do wanna focus on each child as much as we can. hey jas, actually u can order tingkats, so u save the trouble of buying outside food everyday. thats what i do, since we dun wanna spend everyday wondering what hawker food we shld eat tonite. and then on the weekends, u can get cooking!
and i'm keeping my fingers crossed for u while u work hard for the next baby. dun worry, 35 and below is ideal but look at huang bi ren and zoe tay! living examples of mommmies going strong!

jolene- *hugz.

chinatown was scorching hot!

Shauna,

Sorry I a bit blur. What U mean is cater food ah, which they will send to your door step is it? Dn't quite get what you say" tingkats"? If its cater food which send to out house, we tried that before kind of xian after a well that why we go to out neighborhood coffe shop to buy cook food can choose, coz we ever cater before they just rotate the same dish every 1 week so a bit xian on the same kind of food. I really hope my 2nd 1 would need to try for that long, if not no energy to look after. Now the weather is bad cool &hot the next day. My girl just fall sick with flu, poor thing have to take lots of medicine.

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>Parent</TD><TD></TD><TD>Baby</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>D.O.B. </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Jasmine</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>Nichole</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>7-Nov-06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Shauna</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>Sidney</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>29-Jan-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Graybecky</TD><TD></TD><TD>Naomi</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>24-Apr-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Sgn</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>Kai Yang</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>13-May-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Bunz</TD><TD></TD><TD>Lan</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>31-May-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD>Jarienne</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>9-Jun-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Peck</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>Jovan</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>29-Jun-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Poppypop</TD><TD></TD><TD>Matthias</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>10-Jul-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>1stxmum</TD><TD></TD><TD>Nathan</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>12-Jul-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Kimmylian</TD><TD></TD><TD>Jade</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>26-Aug-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Stepford</TD><TD></TD><TD>Yurie</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>30-Aug-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Jolene</TD><TD></TD><TD>Ashley</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>26-Sep-07 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

like that easiler hor.. no mood to work now as going to knock off... do testing :p

Jasmine, u takecare too, hope she get well soon

Yeah 6 girls and 6 boys. hehe. Your boy is it your 1st child? My MIL hope for a boy, but she still loves my girl. She kept saying no.2 boy will be good. Stress me out man. Like I can control boy or girl like that.

yup.. mine is first child, my MIL didnt give me stress on this la but my mum prefer girl then boy says that girl can dress up

Yeah but girl have to spend more. Nowadays girl clothes so pretty tend to buy. But sometimes I buy from Auction those pre-loved ones those wore once or few times ones and cheaper. Going home soon... It's FRIDAY.

peck
i also want a girl cos everytime go shopping girl's dresses got so many choice, else boy's only long pants or shorts. so sian!

jasmine,
so u intend to stop at 2? I also thinkin max i can only tahan 2. 3 is a crowd! haha...2 being my jade wont be so bored in future..like no siblings to play with...lonely darling..but of course also hope to have a boy...1 boy 1 girl jus nice!

hey jus curious har..anybody gone thru c-section?Mine is thru a emergency c-section one... or all natural?

Agree with Shauna, great to start the forum with a blast...heheee..

I use Pampers & Mami Poko for my girl..so far quite good..

1stxmom - *Hi*
Wat brand are u thinking of switching to? Have u discuss it with PD?

mesh - *hello*
how old is ur bb??

Nelli - *Hi*
how old is ur bb?

Jasmine & Jolene - wow..u both really put in hard work to have bb..thank God for ur wonderful kid..

Peck, thanks for the chart

peck
i never cos i always pad him to sleep, nanny says she always put bb alone in the cot n he will sleep himself during the morning nap (9am+ after bath) that's his routine. these few days i very tired i just bor chap him (we sleep together) he play by himself then fall asleep again. ha ha ha.

kimmylian
my bb was 3 days early b4 the date dr wanted me to admit for induce. somemore it's mother's day!

Jasmine: i'm 29 tis year. my MIL also hope for a boy but too bad mine's a girl. during my pregnancy, she keep nagging why not boy. so i hope my next is a boy. so stress!!

peck: thks for the chart. pls update, i also a FTWM. look like my girl is the youngest.

kimmylian: me is c-section cos my ger too big (3.9kg), so my gynae suggest c-section.

Shauna: thks, so u manage to buy some clothes for ur bb?? talking abt zoe tay. tink imy gynae is the same as her. if i not wrong, most of the mediacorp's actress see the same gynae.

same tots as graybecky, jolene and jasmine really gone thru a lot!Happy for both of u!Maybe ur determination touched GOD,blessing both of u to have a bb!
sgn,
so lucky of u! Didnt realize is mother`s day aftre u told me..such a memorable day! haha
Peck,
i`m also a FTWM.Thanks for the efforts!
Jolene,
OMG!Didnt neo u have a BIG BB!! haha...3.9kg is really huge! den ur tummy must be very big then??
Mine is 2.8kg...already feeling so heavy during pregnancy..haha
Oh is it? Which gynae u visited? Anyone from glenagles by dr fong chuan wee?