Zoophonics

Hi Joanne & Minaw,

Just some comments abt JW branch. Think the quality of the class depends greatly on the teacher. Initially, I felt its so-so, thus decided 2 withdraw. While 'serving notice,' my son's playgp was assigned a new teacher - Ms Esther. Exactly the same syllabus, but great difference in teaching method, enthusiasm, etc. My son really enjoyed himself more & so did I (since I must sit in). Still discontinued 'cos I live too far, can't tahan the commute anymore. But if I lived nearby, I'd definitely have continued. Find price reasonable. Guess if the kids enjoy it, then frequency is not an issue. Hope this helps!

Hi Minaw,

We only went in for the playgp, but I also see bigger kids ard. Think they cater to different age grps. Found their website, can get more info. I'm also wracking my brains where to place my son. For now, he's being 'home schooled!'

http://www.zoo-phonics.com.sg/

want to get more details abt zoophonics.
What are the benefits, and why cant we just straight jump to teaching child ABC instead?

I have just attending a playgroup trial today. And here my feedback regarding zoophonic @ JW. My boy is currently 16mth, personally i dun feel that 18mth toddler is suitable for playgroup, as their actitivies r more suitable for toddler ard 24-30mth (ard2year n up), eg. using glue to paste paper, painting with finger, n etc. End up the smaller toddler playing with glue n painting all over the hand, n table, clothes n .... I think that 18mth is too early n young for toddler to attend playgroup, it is waste of $ to start too young as they didnt learn much. The class is 2hr long which i think not suitable for too small bb. I wonder hw 18mth bb going to cope alone when parent put them in the playgroup without parent accompany, somemore some classes are 3hrs long. It more suitable for 2yr up toddler, can see those bigger 1 doing their work well, atok it is a mess.

The reception ladies do say it is too early to start. The class is full of 2005 n abit 2006 toddler and my son is 2007, i think he is the youngest, hahaha... Think i will continue my BJG (1hr enrichment) with my son till he is bigger then i put him in the playgroup, maybe next year ba.

The overall lesson is not bad, compare to tumble tots @ JE. The young chinese teacher voice is loud n powerful althought the class is quite noisey. She manage to capture children attention with her voice The actitives is fun oso but more suitable for 2yr up. Class is abit messy, small, n cramp.

the class is oso not beri organise, eg. all sort of music instrument put together in a tray, just ask all children pick any1 of them they like... Neva try out their 1hr class, shd be more comfortable (18mth old) than 2hrs class ba.. Class student is too many, eg today 12kids. If the room is big i think shouldnt be a prob...

Hi Joanne,

Thanks for the info. Really helpful and I feel better not sending my child there. Hee hee my mum has been bugging me to send my son there. So stressful :p

I went there to have a quick look before too and I also find the place too small :p

for 3year old, the actitivies in zoophonic suit him too. Eg, 2-3pcs puzzle,mixing water n flour to make a dough, painting with finger, using glue to do art. The actitivies is quite alot during the lesson, i shd say it is really not bad loh, in fact it is fun, but my bb just 16mth, cant do any of the above. I saw u post a thread in kiasu parent forum, maybe im going MMI on tue, i sure u r looking for school for ur son, so maybe i will pm u regarding my trial at MMI jurong west. Im looking for school in jurong, do u have feedback regarding JCK taman Jurong, SFA Boonlay, Q-dees and ichiban @ yunnan?

my kids r at k1 and k2 JCK. my ds join JCK only this yr in k1. his teacher said he has problem to catch up with his peer.
thats y im looking for phonics lesson for him. anyone tried READ IN A WEEK?

Which nursery did they go previously? I tot JCK supposed to teach them phonics? My friend sends her son to I can read @ JE. He is also from JCK

hi min,

actually my dd is ok, she joined jck since nursery. she is now k2. but my ds only join this year k1. he was at pcf jw last yr. reason b'coz my mil threw the application form away when jck gave it to my dd for registration. i miss the date to register for my ds lor. aiya, long story lah...
now my ds' teacher said he has problem to catch up and she also said my son look very stress when all his classmates finished their work lor.

Hi Jasmine,

That sounds stressful and I'm stress too. haha.... my son is gg to N2 next yr and he still cldn't read and speaks well. Not sure if he would have problem. So overall JCK is good? Any idea if SFA @ Boon Lay is equally good too?

ya, mummies and kids r stressful. btw, i just book appt at ICR CCK branch for the test.
cannot delay liao.

not sure abt SFA @ Boon Lay. Overall jck is good. oh ya, start fm this yr (think term 3), jck oso hv kindermusik included in thier normal sch hours. heard not bad.

i stay at bukit gombak. i choose cck coz is oni 1 mrt station and dun need to walk so far.

btw, u fred's son is jck k1 too?

Anyone has feedback on Teacher Ivy from Zoophonics Jurong West branch? Thought of enrolling my kid under her. Thanks in advance.

just to share...
signed my twin boys up for ZP @ Siglap.

As with any concerned parent, I had my "initial reservations" after the 1st lesson... i feel my boys couldn't quite follow & worse my younger boy was sobbing silently 10 minutes into the lesson...altho he only sobbed for 5 mins, i felt "embarassed enough" as i didn't want him to disturb the class ... and my older boy was walking all over the class....

However, I was glad i took the teacher's advice & let them continue for another month ... my boys were fine with the 2nd lesson & by the 3rd lesson, they were actually following most parts of the lesson altho they still do not quite enjoy the story-telling part as my boys just can't sit still ! They are now into their 2nd month with ZP & they seem excited abt going to class ...they love the Music & Movement segment the most & will dance happily with the teacher & the other toddlers..

Another thing I am impressed with: My older boy wasn't good in "returning items" he took... so when the teacher gave them musical instruments like bells for the Music & Movement (M&M) segment, my older boy simply refused to return the bells when the M&M ended. He is like that even at home .. however, by the 3rd lesson, he readily put the items back into the bag & he understands when we asked him to "give" us certain items he is holding on to when we are at home.

... so far so good.

I can now understand why ZP@Siglap doesn't encouraged trial lessons .. cos 1 lesson ain't sufficient to tell if the kids will enjoy esp if it is the kid's 1st exposure to a "classroom environment"!

I might try out Zoophonics at Bt Timah.
Price wise, its not very expensive. Plus I can ask my mum to bring the 18mth-er to "have some fresh air" + play and learn in new environment.

Problem is hopefully they have transport services... If not it seems soo difficult to get to Beauty World!

Oh, just checked that Zoophonics only provides transport for Pre-schoolers and above.

I will drop the Bt Timah area as its a headache getting to Beauty World.

Looking for zoo phonics shirt size 24 and shorts S size in good clean condition (no obvious stains/discoloration). Offering $10 incl. normal postage. thanks!

Hi All ,

Something to share with all parents who intended to start your child with Zoophonic .
We had some friends who brought their child to Zoophonic and most came back with very poor remarks ,
regarding their deposit collection , staff's attitude as well as the standard of some of their " teachers " .
We had initial intentions to start our boy with this programe ,
so to check it out for ourselves , we called up Thomson's Branch ,
which is the nearest branch to our home .
To our geat disapointment , the staff who answered to our basic enquires , was very , very rude ! Besides being rude over the phone ,
"She" told us : "You may come on down to sign up , pay for just the class , registeration fee , as for the deposit , we may pay only after one(1) lasson , when we had decided to continue ."
We were glad to hear that as we had friends who were very unhappy as they had paid for all the above charges and after three(3) lassons , they decided to stop attending , due to poor standards , only then they realized that they need to have a month's of writen notice , therefore they would either have to pay another month's fee or use the deposit for the 2nd month .
This seems like , we do have to attend a compulsory two(2) month's lesson , so if you want your deposit back .

We were told that the staff's attitude at Thomson's branch is very poor and rude and yes indead , so we proceed to Serangoon's Branch indstead , which the distaince is still fine with us .
We brought up the information given to us by Thomson's Branch and to our surprise , they had totally disregard the information as an option .
However , they offered us to sign the termination form at the same time ,
so as if we had decided to stop the lesson , we need not provide another month's of wruten notice and we could have the deposit refunded in full .
We signed up in mid Feb so we paid only for the last two(2) lesson's fee , S$50 and other related charges , as we were told .
We have our boy attended the two(2) lessons and we took turns attending the lessons with him .
After the last lesson , we sat down and talk over the lessons ,
we both felt that the main problem is with the teacher , who not only does not remember names of her students , in a class of ten(10) , but couldn't even speak good english , worest , a phonic teacher who couldn't pronounce words correctly .
We were convinced and truely disapointed !
At the same time , we were glad that we are able to have our deposit refunded in full and need not go through such lessons for another month ,
we called up Serangoon's Branch today , asking for the arrangment of the refund ,
the staff who answered the call , told us that she does not know what she should do and the "Principle" is not around , she said that she will call up the "Principle" to seek his advise and return us a call .
She later called back , with the "Principle's" instruction that the deposit can only be refunded in ONE(1) MONTH'S TIME and we will only be refunded S$45 as we will have to pay for the other three(3) lessons , S$75 , EVEN if we are not attending .
We replied that , this was not the agreement and she told us that she will have the "Principle" to call us personally ,
we did not hear from him so far .

To conclude , we do understand the differences in the charges as compared with the other schools with the similar curriculums .
Does that mean , PRICE=STANDARDSSERVICES .
If so , how sad , parents , like us who wants their child to grow up writing/reading/speaking good english , would have to send him/er to better schools , which may cost more .
As all of us hope that our children will end up , "better" than us , parents , we often are more particular with the teachers who are the very ones , your child would learn from .

We hope that if there are any other parents here who sadly had gone through the same incident and would like to share , as well as if you do have a great school , you like to talk about ,
please do write to us .

Hi Caterpilly (emeraldy)

Thank you for your recommendation .
However , we had just started our boy with Learning Horizon ,
we felt that they seems to be more professional in many ways .
Thank you any way

I am looking for zoophonics card, can someone PM me and guide me where can I get a set of it? thank u!

Hi Jo,

I faced exactly the same problem as your friends in terms of the deposit and in Thomson branch too. The staff, by the name of Catherine has misinformed me and they are clearly cheating us. It does not make sense for us to put our kids through another month of class just to get back our deposit. Their request is ridiculous and I'm furious that this wasn't stated clearly in their contract. And you are right, it seems like parents have to sign up for 2 months of compulsory lessons to get back deposit. Then why do they allow parents to sign up just for one month? This is outright a cheating case.

I am intending to report them to CASE as this is not the first time that they had misled parents into paying everything up. I would like to gather all the parents with such bad experience and lodge a formal class action complaint to CASE. I'm gathering my friends to see if their friends have faced the same problem. And through our grapevine, I'm sure more of such issues will surface. If we do not take action, more parents will fall for their unethical behavior. Please PM me.

Hi Yogamama (evagrace) ,

It was really the right thing you did ,
to stand out and come forward to point this out ,
I do not know about the others who had sadly encountered the same incident here ,
but I am more than willing to step up and bring this case to CASE or even the media/press .
Some time ago , the "Director/Principle" finally decided to call me ,
I had clearly and calmly explained to her about what had happened , thinking that as a leader/boss , she would handle the case well ,
however , not only she did not bother , she thinks that we should just rest the matter as we did not read the terms carefully before we signed up .
Her attitude was VERY poor and NOT PROSESSIONAL at all , not the right kind of attitude and professionalism a Principle of a school should have . She did not need to yell over the phone , when she was asked about , why the school have such unreasonable terms and conditions . She clearly cannot answer the question .
Therefore , I , hereby , strongly encouraged all parents who felt the same way and experineced such or similar case , to come forward as well .
Only than , we may put a stop to this ,
no other parents will be cheated .

Yogamama (evagrace) , I shall PM you .

ZOOPHONICS SUCKS BIG TIME!!!! Don't send your kids there....I have poor experience and they are holding on to deposits to tie you down and treat your child badly once you give them a month's notice. Please bewarned. Siglap branch is the worst! The receptionist Lily is a hypocrite.

Hoho. You are not the only one I heard the 'nasty' stories about children not learning in this zoophonics schools and it is widely known that this school using high-handedness to 'eat ' money by taking deposits and advance school fees. My kids used to go to the jurong west branch and it was a waste of money.
Take heart, sister.

I hate Zoophonics Kindergarten - commercialised and hypocritical. I agree once deposit and advanced school fees paid, the attitude is !@#$#$#@!!! Anyway I have withdrawn my daughter from the school in Siglap branch. The day I gave notice for termination (1 month required), the chinese teacher was very nasty to my girl

Really regretted sending my dd there, wasted $ and time.