TTC for 2014 Horse Babies

My AF came today - one day late (my hopes got raised for that amount of time), so it's back to BDing and 2WWing. Sigh! Just want to check with you ladies here, I am taking folic acid supplements (5 mg) and raspberry leaf tea, should I take prenatal supplements as well? My pocket is a little tight cos I'm only working on a freelance basis, so wondering if I can save on prenatal supplements or is it advisable to take. Any suggestions from more experienced folks here would be greatly welcome!

Mummies, just a qn needing advice..when we ovulate, we can tell by the increased discharge over the few days? If no more/dry means ovulation period is over??

mrsgg... folic acid is more than enough as I get from NTUC unity, cost less than $3 (i think)

adde... it depends, not everyone has sticky white discharge.. otherwise, you may want to get the ovulation kit.

Thanks simmama! I got my folic acid, ntuc unity brand, for 4 plus. Good to know that it's enough!

Btw, I'm starting a 10-day steamed veggies diet today to clear out toxins in my body before attempting to conceive. It is ideally done months before conception, but since my diet is usually not too bad, hopefully there's not too much to clear. Really wanna create the best possible conditions for my baby to come to me!

Thanks for the encouragement and optimism which I think is really impt..We must have heard about not getting too stressed TTC, so I also take a relaxed n zen attitude..if will have, god will give..

I am 32...I hv never taken note of ovulation/fertile period and things like that, perhaps coz we were quite lucky for our first child..for past 3 mths, I realised menses schedule went haywire..dunno y also so now we just let nature takes its course..hope we will be lucky this mth! going into the 2WW!

It's true... I also read many stories about couples who conceive when they totally let go of attachment of the outcome. With that being said, i'm still in the "desperate for baby" state... hehe... hopefully it will pass.

If you BD regularly, like once every 2-3 days, throughout the month, easier to strike "lottery"! Then ovulation timing won't be so impt liao...

My AF came today - one day late (my hopes got raised for that amount of time), so it's back to BDing and 2WWing. Sigh! Just want to check with you ladies here, I am taking folic acid supplements (5 mg) and raspberry leaf tea, should I take prenatal supplements as well? My pocket is a little tight cos I'm only working on a freelance basis, so wondering if I can save on prenatal supplements or is it advisable to take. Any suggestions from more experienced folks here would be greatly welcome!

folic acid is more than enough.

mrsgg, my TCM gave me a small bottle olive oil plus some chinese herbs to consume together & detox..
haven drink yet.. cos will LS.. must stay at home for the home day

simmama: Olive oil can be used for detox? My first time hearing about this. Try to time the detox to be done asap, cos you want the toxins to be fully out of the body before you conceive, to ensure that the egg is as healthy as possible. At least this is what I read... I was a bit hesitant about doing steamed veggies detox, cos if too close to conception, the toxins that are coming out from the fat deposits in the body may enter the egg. But then, better late than never right and I also don't know when I will successfully conceive. So i'm planning to detox 7-10 days, drink more water to flush the toxins out, and wait a few days before BD. Hopefully that will work! :)

Hi everyone, can i join this forum? I'm here here.

I was diagnosed with PCO around 10yrs ago and been seeing doctor at KK who prescribe me with oral contraceptive trying to regulate the period. But i defaulted treatment.
Few months before getting married in 2010, i been seeing Dr Benjamin Tham (very gentle and nice) in TMC as i knew that its not easy for me to conceive. I was started on clomid+metformin and the dosage just keep increasing till 150mg clomig and 1500mg metformin. I had my first attempt on IUI by Dr LC Cheng couple of mths back as Dr Tham was unavailable. Subsequently, i switch gynae to Dr LC Cheng (fertility specialist - he is professional, informative and great!). Another attempt cycle of clomid 150mg+metformin 1500mg was unsuccessful as i had ovulated by the progesterone level was not high enough. Just had appt with him today and had 'upgraded to injectables' - Gonal F. Will be doing SO-IUI.
I am also seeing TCM Dr Chen Qiu Mei (last time from Tong Ji)
Anyone experiencing emotional roller coaster? Don't know if its due to all the medication but I had emotion breakdown on and off.
Is the success rate for SO-IUI high?
Fertility treatment are so exp, hope to succeed this time and save the money for grooming baby. ;)
On top of the metformin 1500mg, I'm taking other suppplements that include folic acid, multivitamin, royal jelly, omega fish oil, EPO and vitex. Is it too much?

Thanks simmama, i'll take a look next time I pass by guardian.

Welcome Joyce! Wah... I think it's great that you are taking all those supplements. As long as taking within the recommended dosage, it's never too much! Your future baby would be very lucky to have all these nutrients stores waiting for him/her.

Can understand the emotional breakdowns, especially since you have spent so much money and time going for different treatments. But remember that it's best to have a relaxed and happy mind and body when TTC, so pls don't stress yourself out too much. Maybe take up yoga or meditation class? Very very good for you and your future baby. Or at least, spend some time everyday doing something that relaxes you or that you enjoy. The better you feel, the more likely that your baby is going to come to you! At least that's what I think... :)

Thanks mrsgg... That what doc say too... But so hard not to be stressed. Stress doesn't come at all from family, it all come from work. I am working in nursing management. The stress level everyday is horrible

Hi ladies, I'm new to this forum. =) I am trying for a horse baby too. This is officially my 2nd month trying. Last month I though I might be pregnant after my first try, of cuz, it didnt happen. My menses is suppose to be due yesterday and I have tested this morning, still negative. Feeling not so positive and keep checking every hours whether my AF is here. No early pregnancy symptoms like sore boobs or morning sickness at all. I'm taking supplement from blackmores conceive gold, hopefully it will help in a way or two.... Good luck!

Hi there!

Im new at the forum. Been TTC-ing for 2nd baby since March. Was thinking of trying chlomid. anyone have any experience or advice? would greatly help.

Joyce-ee, my case is exactly like yours. Dun give up!! Miricle do happen. Btw, I waited for 10years. Your turn will come.
I have tried all sorts of fertility drugs and injections.. you name it, I have used or eaten it.
You may want to private PM me so that I can share my experience with you.
"You are not alone" Let's Jia You together!!

Mama_suria, clomid does not work for me. The max. I have eaten is 3 tablets for each consumption.

Yup.. clomid din work for me either... but then different people respond differently... maybe you can try and see how izzit?

Fairytooth: Pregnancy symptoms sometimes don't come until after 6 - 8 weeks, so no symptoms not necessarily a bad thing. I'm also just starting TTC, like you, and same thing, after missing my AF for 1 day, I did hpt but BFN. AF came the very next day... :( But I got over it liao, and it just so happen that I fell sick these 2 days, so maybe baby knows that mummy's body not ready for her (or him.. but I'm expecting it to be a girl) and decide not to come. Haha... I'm wondering whether I shld take Blackmore's Conceive Well or not. My pocket a bit tight, and i'm hoping that I won't need it. For now, just taking folic acid, raspberry leaf tea, and trying out steamed veg detox diet. But I think the best is to keep BDing la... have to think of how to get hub in the mood... ;)

Joyce: Even if not for the sake of TTC, you may want to consider how to deal with the work stress. Next time when bb comes, there will be even more stress, then how? Happy mummy, happy baby... I suggest that you find ways to reduce the work stress, either by finding solutions for the workplace, or taking up some course that will teach you to relax and detach from the work stress. Don't just live with it... it's really not good for you in the long run. Take care ya!

mrsgg, thanks for your reply. i was worried that no symptoms mean not pregnant. My GP was saying i should have sore boobs or pelvis cramp if i am pregnant. So i am still hopefully for now, until my AF comes... =( hopefully i dun have to buy a second box of conceive gold well.

Thanks everyone, its great to join this forum. This jouney is so hard to walk through alone and the support from you mummies, mummies to be and TTC mummies are so precious

I have not slept thru e night for the past 2 years... my boy is super addicted to the sarong.. and need the sarong before he can sleep. We try to cut so we always transferred him to the bed when he fell asleep but he will always wake up at 2, 3am to fuss n cry n point to e sarong n tell me yao yao... It's very tiring for me cuz he only look for me at night... sometimes I really feel just wanna have one... but feel bad like no sibling for him so that they can tc each other when we are old and gone...

jinnous, i think you can encourage your boy to take afternoon nap at his own bed and a period of time, maybe he should be able to sleep thru the night on his own bed...

I agree with fairytooth's suggestion. Also, if we keep giving in to the child, the child will never learn an alternative way. Why not just keep away the sarong? Tell your boy that sarong spoilt already. It will probably take him max 1, 2 weeks to get used to the idea of not having the sarong around. Will be a bit shiong for you during this period of time, cos he may cry and refuse to sleep so I suggest that you also introduce to him a nice bedtime routine, like massage session, storytelling, put on music, a cup of warm milk with honey, etc, which will help your boy to relax and know that it's time to sleep. Then just stay beside him until he falls asleep, and then gradually sit further and further away waiting for him to sleep, until you are sitting just outside the room. In this way, he gets used to sleeping with less and less "intervention" from you, and eventually, he may not even need you to fall asleep. Be patient, and persevere, you can do it!

I can't cuz my mil uses sarong in the day. My hb doesnt want to stress her out lor.. I tried sometimes I tell him e sarong spoiled already but he will just sit there n cry... at 2,3 am really no choice in e end I give in cuz I nd to sleep.. gotta work e next day. Sometimes I scold also he will just cry harder...

waiting for my O period but i doubt i will really try this month cause will be travel oversea during O period but my kid will be with me. lol

mama_suria, i think blackmore conceive well is good for those who doesnt get sufficient nutrients from our daily food intake. There might be certain food that you avoid but is good for female reproductive system. so eating blackmore conceive well might helps in a way or two. but have to stop folic acid tablet becuz it's included in and don't overdose the intake.

jinnous: I can understand how frustrated you must be... there is no easy solution to this. No use scolding the child when he is already tired (though I understand you must be just as tired yourself). If you told him sarong spoilt, and he cry (which is natural), then you give in and bring him to sarong, the message sent to him is "mummy bluff me, I just need to cry louder next time and sarong will appear", or somewhere along the lines. I know of other parents trying to wean their kid off pacifier. They really throw pacifier away just like that. The kid fuss for a few days, after that ok cos they realise no matter how much they fuss, pacifier throw away means throw away, what to do? But in your case, more difficult since your MIL needs to use sarong in the day. Sigh... maybe you try to sleep as early as you can, to gear up for the night time session, and you really need to be very patient and just tahan your child's crying. Whenever he is calm in the day, explain to him that sarong is for day, not for night, and at bedtime, just put him to bed immediately without using the sarong, let him get used to sleeping without it. Try the bedtime routine idea. And no matter what, don't give in cos he is crying and you are tired! I know how difficult it can be... all mummies get upset when their kid cries... but in this case, the more you give in, the more you will suffer in the long run plus your child will be very confused cos of the lack of consistency (one night have sarong, another night no sarong...). Jiayou!

mama_suria, i think blackmore conceive well is good for those who doesnt get sufficient nutrients from our daily food intake. There might be certain food that you avoid but is good for female reproductive system. so eating blackmore conceive well might helps in a way or two. but have to stop folic acid tablet becuz it's included in and don't overdose the intake.

Folic acid is water-soluble, so no worries about overdose. Just no point in wasting money that's all or your urine will be very expensive! :D

Hi everyone, can i join this forum? I'm here here.

I was diagnosed with PCO around 10yrs ago and been seeing doctor at KK who prescribe me with oral contraceptive trying to regulate the period. But i defaulted treatment.
Few months before getting married in 2010, i been seeing Dr Benjamin Tham (very gentle and nice) in TMC as i knew that its not easy for me to conceive. I was started on clomid+metformin and the dosage just keep increasing till 150mg clomig and 1500mg metformin. I had my first attempt on IUI by Dr LC Cheng couple of mths back as Dr Tham was unavailable. Subsequently, i switch gynae to Dr LC Cheng (fertility specialist - he is professional, informative and great!). Another attempt cycle of clomid 150mg+metformin 1500mg was unsuccessful as i had ovulated by the progesterone level was not high enough. Just had appt with him today and had 'upgraded to injectables' - Gonal F. Will be doing SO-IUI.
I am also seeing TCM Dr Chen Qiu Mei (last time from Tong Ji)
Anyone experiencing emotional roller coaster? Don't know if its due to all the medication but I had emotion breakdown on and off.
Is the success rate for SO-IUI high?
Fertility treatment are so exp, hope to succeed this time and save the money for grooming baby. ;)
On top of the metformin 1500mg, I'm taking other suppplements that include folic acid, multivitamin, royal jelly, omega fish oil, EPO and vitex. Is it too much?

Hi Joyce,

I'm also a PCOS, I had a natural pregnancy 2 yrs back, but had a miscarriage at 7 weeks. Then we tried for 1 year naturally without any success. In Jan this year, I started taking clomid, but still wasn't able to get pregnant, doesn't help that my cycles are over 30 days. The fertility doctor advised me to change my diet drastically, cut down sugars, and eat complex carbs instead of simple carbs (ie, no white rice or white bread), and start exercising 2-3 times a weeks. I started doing that in June, but I still didn't get pregnant.

Finally, we started on IUI treatment with clomid in July, and I just had a positive pregnancy test last Sunday!

While I am still uncertain how this pregnancy will go, I wanted to encourage you to be positive. It's tough for all women ttc, and even more so for women like us with PCOS. Jia you, and baby dust to you!

Btw, I'm seeing Dr Christine Yap from Mt E, and she's so encouraging. Her fees are quite comparable to NUH ~$600+ per IUI cycle. :)

Hi Joyce,

I'm also a PCOS, I had a natural pregnancy 2 yrs back, but had a miscarriage at 7 weeks. Then we tried for 1 year naturally without any success. In Jan this year, I started taking clomid, but still wasn't able to get pregnant, doesn't help that my cycles are over 30 days. The fertility doctor advised me to change my diet drastically, cut down sugars, and eat complex carbs instead of simple carbs (ie, no white rice or white bread), and start exercising 2-3 times a weeks. I started doing that in June, but I still didn't get pregnant.

Finally, we started on IUI treatment with clomid in July, and I just had a positive pregnancy test last Sunday!

While I am still uncertain how this pregnancy will go, I wanted to encourage you to be positive. It's tough for all women ttc, and even more so for women like us with PCOS. Jia you, and baby dust to you!

Btw, I'm seeing Dr Christine Yap from Mt E, and she's so encouraging. Her fees are quite comparable to NUH ~$600+ per IUI cycle. :)

Thanks Vivbbnn,
My IUI with clomid didn't work. Now started SO-IUI with Gonal F. Hope it works. Congrats and Jia You...

I have not slept thru e night for the past 2 years... my boy is super addicted to the sarong.. and need the sarong before he can sleep. We try to cut so we always transferred him to the bed when he fell asleep but he will always wake up at 2, 3am to fuss n cry n point to e sarong n tell me yao yao... It's very tiring for me cuz he only look for me at night... sometimes I really feel just wanna have one... but feel bad like no sibling for him so that they can tc each other when we are old and gone...
Joinnous, is your boy in Childcare? My boy also slept on the sarong for almost 2years plus. But after he goes Childcare, they'll have to sleep on mattress. Slowly my boy used to it already. He also wean off the pacifier thing in his CC. I think u try to talk to ur MIL to cooperate with you to let ur boy to sleep on the bed. As they grow older, the sarong also cannot withstand their weight and it's dangerous if they turn and fell from the sarong. But I think you don't have to worry too much. Sooner or later ur boy will get used to sleeping on the bed. Jus keep on trying. But don't transfer him when he fell asleep, this will not worked out as we also tried before. Get him to sleep on the bed when he's awake. I remember when i transfer my boy from sarong to bed, he can wake up 7 times a night. After a week or two, should be fine. Fighting!

Simama don't be disheartened! As long as af stays off, still got chance..

Lately I am quite baffled by how I felt. We hv been trying for a baby n this stretch should be around the time of ovulation. Three days ago I had very bad nausea and body ache which kept me in bed for a day. These couple of days I felt nausea still and could only feel better when I sleep. Also feeling tired. But my menses may only come in another 8-10 days.. Could I just be unwell? Cannot be preg right?

Hi Joyce,

Hi vivbbnn, just wish to find out more-- u said that ur cycles r more than 30 days ... How does that affect one's chance of getting pregnant? My cycles r bt 32 days

Hi Novi,

PCOS always have irregular period and the cycle will be v messy. for knowing that you are pcos is thru gynae.

Hi snowyee... nope he's not in CC. That's why difficult to break this habit. He can wake up in e middle of e nite and cry and tell me he wanna yao yao... I can faint...

I realize my CM decrease... do u gals know if there's any possibility to increase the CM?

Technically, it just means that you have fewer cycles in a year to ttc. In my case, sometimes, I don't ovulate in some cycles. So clomid helps. Keeping a low sugar, complex carb diet and regular exercise will also help regulate the cycles. Hope this helps.

Trying for number #2 but I think failed this month. Mense coming in 4 days time and I can feel menses is coming :(

My first one is already 2 yrs 7 mths.

Poohpooh80, how come u so sure it is menses? U hv any symptoms? I think my menses coming soon but I hope it will stay away! God luck to all ttc mummies, hope we hv gd news soon.. Anyone testing soon? If my menses don't come by next fri, I will test!

Got those kind of cramps like PMS. I been testing 3x last week, all neg. very kiasu. Now don't want to test. scared negative :( booboo. I also did online test. most say unlikely to be preg. don't know whether to trust it or not.

My 1st child, I tested when I am 3 weeks. I was crying for no reason every 10mins. My hubby suspected I could be preg so asked me to test. tested twice, faint positive. Went clinic the next day went GP, also faint +. Went gynae, and saw a sac.

Intended to try again these few days for #2 but realized I have a little blood stain on my panties just now. I dont think is menses cos my next menses should come on 08 Sep if I am not pregnant. I wiped and there's nothing.
BD on 17th Aug. Dont think will conceive so fast right?

Intended to try again these few days for #2 but realized I have a little blood stain on my panties just now. I dont think is menses cos my next menses should come on 08 Sep if I am not pregnant. I wiped and there's nothing.
BD on 17th Aug. Dont think will conceive so fast right?

Could be implantation bleeding.. :D

blur02: oh. I dont mind if its really implantation bleeding.. been disappointed for the past few months. hope not another false alarm. Thanks.

I read that implanation bleeding might not be pregnant.. i think I better dun pin too much hopes first..

huh.. implant means the egg attach itself to the uterus wall.. something like this right?? but u wont be able to test BFP so early though.. anyway.. good luck to u!!!