TOA PAYOH mummies

Sunny,
Thanks for the recommendation. Hope Neobiotics is not too hard to consume for toddlers.

Char,
now u mentioned i totally forgot i got her colostrum hee! had not been putting in dun noe since when liao o dear.

j_foo,
me too rx'd their leaflet and quite curious to chk it out.

Hi, Any more mummies who are user of Nespray, Dumex Dugro and Abbott Grow keen to participate in a focus grp discussion, token $100 cash? You must have kid 1 to 6 years of age to be qualify. SMS me if keen. 97640028 Sally

ivy,
how much was being poured? if its jus a drop or so then i think should be ok cos anyway nose also linked to throat. if you're in doubt then better to call your doctor for advice.

Its not a drop, its a splash.. my PD if i call him from hospital, got charges? or he will only charge if come down to the hospital?

that i'm not sure. do u have an urgent number to call him? like doc heng has an urgent number to sms and she will actually call you back.

Kin Elijah j foo, the otrivin seems to cause no major harm but her flu n fever seems worst. I think my girl got sensitive nose like me, easily catch a cold n trigger fever. When I was young, due to my nose sinus even now, I tends to get flu esp when I sneeze non-stop when contact with dust or animal fur. Have u girls ever send ur kids for allergies test?

hey all... anyone wants the NTUC points for diadora bags? i got 12 i think. FOC.

ivy... gd to hear baby is ok. i also got sinus prob since young, but no doc ever say go for allergy test leh. my mum went is cos she got asthma, and the doc feels she shd know wat to avoid. in the end, also the usu things like dust and all, no one thing in particular tat is a main trigger so a bit non-conclusive like tat. guess its better to ask doc.

Hi Ivy,
Thank goodness everything ok.
Yr bb is abt 5-6mths old already right? My 2 girls r highly sensitive and allergic to numerous things. I guess for you , just have to keep things less dusty and no soft toys yah. I have sent my girls to one type of allergic testing, gonna send them to another round of it again..... And yep, they tend to pass down from parents. My husband had childhood asthma, my family has ffod allergies and eczema, so my girls got combination of all..arghhh.

ivy, i was prescribed zrytec for sensitive nose esp when my kids have flu. Not sure if it's of help.

precious, so ur helper takes care of both kids n entertain them? Are u still doing homeschool stuff with ur gal?

Erm..do u guys know if kids at 4 can read on their own? Coz been hearing like kids at 3+ can read.

Kin, yes my dad has sensitive nose n skin and pass down to me, I got a feeling my girl too, pd did confirm she got sensitive skin. She is going to be 6mths old on 06/06.

Babe, my pd prescribed zyrtex for my girl, seems very slow in seeing results. Not sure if wanna ask for another medication.

Babe
Yes, she helps me to take care and entertain the children. We still do the usual stuff like reading on daily basic, a&c, simple maths and science, waterplay, swim

Zyrtec only works at the start of cold symptoms, once it has hit on hard, Zyrtec will not have much of an effect. That's what I find.

I too have a few NTUC points for Diadora if anyone wants, but not as many as ARE. Haha!

Oh, I have a $5 voucher for Fila too. I won't be using it so if anyone wants it just let me know.

I know of a 3 yr old, turning 4 end of the yr, who can read fluently. His mum's a phonics cum early childhood specialist teacher, haha!

ivy,
good to hear that your gal is ok. my gal last time also was prescribed zyrtec for sensitive nose, doesn't seem to work leh. my hb has sinus problem so our gal also kind of has it too. bit somehow i noticed my gal seemed to have sort of outgrown it, nose not that sensitive as before. guess when baby everything is sensitive cos everything is still developing.

Char,
ya I also find it not effective, any other medicine u girls recommend for flu or cold? She having running nose again.

I bought bao ying dang from eu yang Seng, haven't use n not sure how to transit from western medicine to tcm. Anyone use before?

ivy,
i remember when my bb was less than 1yr, the pd does not usu prescribe zrytec. In fact, we had to deal with the sensitivities thro keeping the house less dusty , etc etc. If the child really running nose the whole day, the pd usu gave me the cold medicine rather, at v small dose.

So like char say, if can outgrow that's the best. Coz the child can get de-sensitized to the anit-allergic med. then must find alternative.

Both my girls r also on steriod nose sprays, on cortesteriods for their lungs and on anti-allergic medication Every day for at least a mth. My younger girl(3.5yrs) can have a runny nose for 2 wks, if not cured, will turn infected, then become yellow mucous and if still don/t treat, can develop into bronchitis and pnummonia. So no choice, put them n these med until I can find a "cure"......

So far, I;ve not found a TCM doc who can treat allergies as it is. They always say its something else,and then dismiss their allergies etc.... which I find rather frustrating ...anyone have this experience?

ivy,
maybe you have to find the source of her runny nose. Does it clear up in the afternoon and comes in the morning and night? Did you clean the air-con if you sleep in aircon? Do you have pets in the house? Change the bedsheets of the cot? Sleeping in a part of the room that is dusty? dress her in cool but long sleeves and pants at night? Just some suggestions....

Oh yes, can try massaging the bb, at the finger tips, the feet, gently below the eyes, clear circulation.....

ivy,
dr heng usually prescribe polaramine for the running nose. and if after a while it doesn't work or running nose comes back again she would prescribe polaramine mixed with predisolone. it works most of the time but lately i've brought my gal to see a GP who prescribed either fedac or rhinaramine which i find works pretty well. the GP also prescribed adezio which is also for running nose but non-drowsy for daytime and also a mixture of sabutol with something else to reduce phlegm cos once the running nose has stopped the mucous becomes thick and gets stuck at the back of the throat and nose (back-drip). so far i'm very pleased with the medicine given by this GP. now also very happy no need to nebulise her or give her inhalor puffs. thank God! btw, dr heng also adviced to keep soft toys away from her and to change and wash upholstery regularly and change her bedsheet every 2-3days but i was too lazy to that, keke. but now, she sleeps with her soft toys and her bedsheet is changed monthly (lazy me!) and no problem so far. so i guess it's a matter of building up her immune system, however it may not be the same for other kids who are allergic to dust or are asthmatic. as for the bao ying dan, i put it into my gal's milk. when i see that my gal's condition is much better after taking western, i'll give her bao ying dan the next day for about 1 week but still i dun find that it works on her either.

kin,
your gals using nasonex? i use that on my gal too when she has blocked nose. her GP said can use twice a day when her blocked nose is bad and use once a day when it's getting better. thnx for sharing the massage to help relieve blocked nose.

Hi Kin, have you tried using saline rinse/neti pot/large syringe to 'wash nostrils'? It sometimes works for me. I've had very bad nose, and have tried all kinds of antihistamines, nasal sprays etc...went for 2 surgeries even. Try the saline rinse/neti pot - not a cure-all but it seems to help a bit. Dont expect instant results tho.

Mummies can try "tapping" as well to loosen phelgm. An osteopathist taught me how to do for kids. Can do it at least once a day and if you're with child during water play, can also tap immediately before and after the waterplay to dislodge any water. I do it every morning for my girl and it seems to be working, at least she doesn't automatically catch cold everytime she plays with water/go swimming nowadays.

Method: Depending on how broad your kid's face is, put 2 or 3 fingers (closed together) on the cheekbones near the child's nose bridge. Use your other hand and tap on your closed fingers. Tap for a slow 10 counts, then do the other side. After than put one hand on front of chest and another at the back and just gently press in and out for 10 slow counts as well. The theory is that the tapping loosens the phelgm on each sinus area and then the gentle chest pumps works to drain the loosen phelgm out into the colon system. Done correctly and if your kid has a lot of phelgm, you may find that the poo is slightly stickier than normal. For adults, you can just tap directly with your fingers on the cheekbone (from temple to nosebridge) ( i.e. no need to 'cushion' the taps with the fingers from your other hand).

Kin,
i also suspect house dusty, my house front 1 car park, back 1 car park. I remember when i use to open the window, the fan gets dusty so easily so i try not to open when im not home.
I change her sheets every 2 week:p vacuum mob once a week.. i got on air purifier from osim... i also dunno what cause it. Night time is worst.

sunny
ur method is do when baby sit not lying down right?

char,
i tot of bringing her to dr tan EJ if she always same prob. I worry her bronchitis will come back, she is coughing again.. alamak.

The thing is she is only 5 1/2 mths old, dunno what medication can take or better to not take so much medicine?

ivy,
i understand how you feel, worry that bronchitis is back, worry she's taking too much med but for me, i just trust in her PD in whatever med she prescribed as long as she got better. dun worry, the doc will know how much med to give her. the important part is to help her get well by giving her the med accordingly. just think of it as she's building up her immune system. hopefully by 2yrs + she'll start to fall sick lesser.

Sunny, the "tapping" method is interesting, I must try that out.

Jasmine, if you need more pts I can pass you mine as well.

Bao Ying Dan is more of a supplement. Chinese Med I find works well if used right at the start.

Hi everyone.... haven't follow this thread for q some time.

ivy, ur gal ok? sounds bad. take care.

regarding playgroup
My older boy is attending Deerland Montessori now. Send him there once he reach 24mth. Not too bad, at least he is enjoying it and very near my place. teachers ratio 2:12.

For Ykidz there's free trial lesson. For those int, can attend the trial first. I like the school but din enroll there cos of the traveling.

Thot of Jessin at blk 122 but they only accept 3yr onwards. That one is super near my in-laws place.

ivy,
Want to add on another method from friend's chinese sinseh. She was asked to locate the skin just next to the spine(child/baby lying on tummy), then using Thumb and third finger, light pinch and pull the skin(on both sides of the spine) and let go, start near the tail bone and work until the area ajoining the neck and shoulders. do abt 10mins, or until the area you ave done is a little red. (do not use strength)

Ivy, just to share, don't give up and don't worry abt medication at this age. If your child needs it, just go and see the PD, even if its the second time in a wk. Bronchitis/or broncholitis can flare up suddenly over night. Further delay can lead to nebulising for at least a wk, or worst, hospitalisation to draw out phglem using a suction tube.(I saw this done on a child less than a yr while my girl was hospitalised.....terrible...) And at this age, TCM takes too long to effect a fast cure, espcially when the child is so young, and their airways are narrower...
So no worries, the PD is the best bet. The next thing is to clean the home more often(I know easier said then done.) And I change my kids' bedsheets every 3 days or at most wkly.. you can try that and see how it goes, Coz dust settles v quickly on flat surfaces.... Jia You!

Mummies, ever heard of Chinese sinseh, Guo Mei Ling from Chinese traditional HEMED/ at people's park centre. My girl's classmate passed her the name card... My elder girl got asthma attack in sch again today, quite a bad one... Must take super heavy dose of prenisolone to stop the attack....... so sian.....

char, my girls were on flixonase off and on for a few yrs, after that cahnged to nasonex as it works better.

sunny,, Thanks, I've thot abot the saline nostrils... but it doesnt work on my kids, as it just washes out all the mucous and phlegm. It helps on the surface but must deal with the inside problem. The allergens r everywhere, so if I get rid or minimise their presence, my girl will not have the allergies. Of course, outside, cant control. So still flare up, and nasonex works. coz it is a cortesteriod to stop inflammation which comes from allergies... not the normal sinus.......

Seveneleven,
my girl is ok, just tat since young she got sensitive nose. In fact she was already sneezing coughing when she is less than a mth old, not sure if my confinement lady who claims that she cough due to dryness has anything to do with it -.-

btw my instructor is very good but he teach ubi area.

Kin,
I bought this dust mite vacuum call raycop, I hope it works to reduce the dust on her bed.

Char, ya got to hope her immunity will become better when she grow up.

7/11,
long time didn't hear from you, welcome back to the thread.

kin/ivy,
i learned that "pinching" method from a former neighbour who brought both her gals who were suffering from bronchitis to a sinseh but she can't rembr where but she taught me how to do the pinching (to do it everyday) and shared with me what she learned from the sinseh-she gave her gals eat starfruit about once a week and the juice of a raw lotus root (1 tablespoon for a young child like 2-3yrs old) also once a week. in addition to that, she steamed 2 whole frogs and added some pao shen and wolfberries and let her gals drink the gravy once a week too. she did that religiously for about 6mths or so and her gals finally cured of bronchitis. i wasn't that hardworking to do all that, depended on PD's medication instead cos it works faster and on and off did some of those.

hi Ivy, yup tapping works better if child is sitting cos gravity then helps as well.
I usually cheat and tap when my girl is sitting in the car seat on the way to childcare
Can make a learning game of it as well. My girl nowadays will count along with me from 1 to 10.

I am looking for a playgroup in Toa payoh for my 17m old toddler.

Any mummies places your kid at the ykidz montessori at TPY lor 6? Any feedback to share?
They are having open house on 27-May 12-6pm.
www.ykidz.edu.sg

The kiddyabc at blk 99 takes children age 18 months but not enough children to start the class this year

Do you know of other playgroups within Toa Payoh that takes 18mth toddler?

Thanks very much!

ivy,

do u noe if ur instructor comes toa payoh? really need one that comes nearer. leaving 2 kids wif mil is no joke.

babygenius,
i think the open house for sch holiday program right? i suggest u go and sit in to the normal day lesson. just call them up to arrange for the free trial. i find the teachers cheerful and energetic.

I also recce kiddyabc. i find the place not safe for toddlers leh. i think it is also a RC center during the evenings. they have big tables and big chairs stacked at one area. When i was there i saw a goods trolley parked under the table. When i ask the teacher, she said she train the kids not to touch them. i was "har, like that also can". Next thing my itchy hand son was playing wif it. So din put him there cos i know he cannot resist the temptation of the "obstacle course".

Just to share my experience in looking for a playgroup. What ever they put on paper or advertisement, go and take a look at the place, look at the teacher, the environment etc. Better still get permission to stay around during the lesson time to look-see.

7-11, my friend's driving instructor picks her up from Toa Payoh outside her blk then drives around the Ubi test routes. His name is Mike 90080158.

I just made an appt to see Dr Lynette Shek fr NUH, for my girl's asthma..... so ex. I checked w my doc,Dr dawn lim from kinder clinic, dr lee bee wah at Mt E, and Dr Lynette Shek. Her choice was Lee BW, followed by L Shek then Dawn Lim...

Hi newmummy08

Apologies for the late reply. Was down with bad flu since last week. Was on 2 days MC.

Guess some mummies here hv answered your queries. As for Location of little skool house, heard it's the more premium CC under NTUC. It's located at MCYS building, on the hill behind Phllips office. Abit concerned abt the slope up and down, esp when it rains. They don't provide transport. Where else are you looking at? I am thinking if to venture out of TPY for a good CC if they provide transport. Thinking of Novena area where there's Cambridge and LV i think.

Hi Precious

Jessin is good but can only start in Jan 2011. Good thing is they have N1 all the way to K2 and got transport
I need to plan again once my girl reaches 2011 to enter N1. Quite excited abt Jessin coz cannot imagine my little princess taking school bus. Haha. Anyway, am still thinking if to put at CC or a Kindergarten.

My gal has been on milk strike for 2 days
She was fine on Enfa all along. The last time she went on milk strike was when she had flu and cough 2 months back. She just had her MMR job and thank goodness, no fever. But now refused to drink milk. Dun think it's related to the jab. My mum told me to change milk powder, but I just bought half a dozen tins last week coz got offer!
Sigh. Any mummies experienced this before? I will call Dr Heng at CC clinic tom to ask for advice also. Now I tried to give her cheese as a substitute.

Hi 7/11,
Thanks for sharing. I did consider deerland at block 205 also but can only start my gal in Jan 2011 as they take in 2years and above.
Meed to find a school to start my gal soon for short relief for my mum.

So far, I only managed to find 2 preschools within Toa Payoh (ykidz and mindchamps) taking kn 18months toddlers.
Ig anyone knows of other preschools that offer programmes for 18months, pls let me know.

surf,
me me! i had this problem with my gal when she was about 3mths+ and she only started to drink milk again at about 6mth+. i was so stressed out that even after dr heng told me that she's ready to start on semi-solids at 4mths, i still went to see 2 other PDs who told me the same thing and that this is a very common thing in babies. so i gave rice cereal but she only took it for about 2wks and then dun wan to eat liao. the only way i could get her to drink milk was when she was sleeping. shortly after she dozed off, i'd removed her pacifier and then quickly feed her milk then she would drink. but hor, if i pull out the pacifier too early she would cry when she tasted the milk and if too late she won't suck the milk at all. i even changed FM, tried different teats also no use. she would cry whenever she tasted milk but was very willing to drink water. very weird! it's a phase. i had frens whose babies are like that too but after a few mths started to drink milk again. btw, how old is your gal now?

babygenius

can check out edu farm at blk 78b. my boy is there and have no complains so far. :p though the teachers dont exactly do a health check.

Hi Jasmine,
Thanks very much for the info.
I just called edufarm. The one your boy is in is full and quite a few on waitlist.
The Kim keat branch has inadequate response to start class

hi surf, when did ur gal has MMR jab? if im nt wrong, the fever will only come one week later.. ur gal on milk strike, my gal on water strike.. she refuse to drink water but milk and soup she is ok..and she is currently having running nose and cough.. me too! so sian..

hw abt spoonfed her? my gal once had milk strike when she is sick, so i had to spoon fed her..

Hey rlrenn

My girl took the jab last Fri. Oops, really arh? just called my mil to tell her what you said, hv to continue to monitor her for the week.

Oh dear, you better take care. Your girl resting at home now and not going for her PG? Good to drink milk and soup. My coll was suggesting to me to put some glucose in the milk for my girl. You can try put some in water? May work. We tried spoonfeed, she cried!!! put in cup also cried. She sees the drink colour is white, she cried and pushed us away. She sees water, she drinks.

BTW, i popped by Edu and met the teacher. It's a different lady from whom I saw in Jan. Hmm... she did check temp for each kid and that's abt it. Cleanliness, ok lar. I have confirmed the slot, start first and see how.

Hi Char

My girl is about 19mth. Glad your kid is ok with milk now. Can imagine your headache when infants/babies reject milk! Goodness. They can't eat anything else at that point in time. As what you said, I probably re-introduce milk again few days later. Been pouring away bottles of milk every day. Heart pain. Lucky not my EBM, if not lagi more heart pain. How old is your kid now?

Hey Jasmine

so my girl will be classmates with your boy soon!
Saw a mummy brought a boy that day when i went, not sure if it's you. It was a mummy with short hair