TOA PAYOH mummies

Char,
my gal recently gotta habit of biting the toothbrush and swallow the toothpaste aiyaya....tried so hard to stop her but she's too fast.

Precious,
My gal is using Kodomo too she loved grapes flavor, i tried to change to another type of taste but she refused to brush her teeth ones she tasted a diff flavor.

White-lady,
for a start your son might not get use to a new flavor of toothpaste, u have to be persistent in no time he'll get use to it. like my gal, when she was being 1st introduced to toothpaste, she gave me a sulky look haha however, i play by example meaning i'll show her how i used the toothpaste and brush my teeth and slowly she started to follow as well.

HI mummies
Long time didn't post here.

babe
Nice to meet you...our kids are in the same class too. My gals were fine, v happy. Asked them if they like their new school and they said "Yes.".

Ascension - It's a cheerful and spacious place lah...

Toothpaste - at a certain age, need to change to fluoride toothpaste otherwise may hv tooth decay... so do take note.

white lady
Show him the action of how to spit and ask him to imitate..hee

giantq squid/precious
Can I just go to EYS and ask for the cough/phlegm? Really thinking of trying chinese med to gv to my T1...

Thanks Giant Squid!
This Bao Ying Dan is a health supplement (i.e. no sick also can eat) or a medication (i.e. sick then eat)?

Thanks Precious! My SIL's boy is sickly. At one time they were considering TCM and Eu Yan Seng was their first choice.

Which doc u go to at EYS TPY blk 79? I think there's a male doc. How's the queue like ar?

Char,
I can't remember exactly, I think between 18 mths - 2 years old ba. Now that she is 3.5 yo and illness usu. goes away after a few days, I try to skimp and save on the powder liao. 1 box of 6 costs abt $16+. I have never tried giving for poor appetite hehe...if she poor appetite and prefers more milk, I let her. If she prefers only white rice and don't want any other dishes in her bowl, I also let her be, I just monitor. After a couple of days, her appetite will bounce back and then she will start to eat normal. I think children's appetite change quite frequently. When they grow older, naturally will eat more. If not, probably they don't need so much, as compared to others. Heehee, I'm a very laid-back mom hor?

StyloBB,
Yes, can just go and ask the staff to recommend. They have other products more specific to cough. They will ask you whats the symptoms like and may recommend the type for han2 cough or re4 cough. But more expensive than bao ying dan, cost ard $23 for a box of 6. So I tend to buy bao ying dan.

Sam,
Personally, I would prefer to give only when sick. All the ingredients are grounded into powder so can't really "see" if got any other not so good component in there. Good to relieve immed. symptoms and then stop. Not so sure abt taking everyday, long-term.

To strengthen and taking on a long-term and regular basis, I think better to boil real chinese herbs (you see for yourself) like cordyceps and pao shen. I boil pao shen for my girl if I notice that she is getting heaty. The only drink she will take. Won't drink chrysanthemum, barley or even water chestnut. Pao shen also mild and not too cooling. If you give too cooling drinks on a frequent basis, child develops cough easily. Pao shen also a bit of bu3 qi4 purpose.

Cordyceps is very good but very expensive. So I skimp and save and boil only once in a long long time....if u want, must boil with a small chunk of meat and red dates. Grind into powder also can, but a bit wasteful (since so expensive) as our body can absorb better the boiled version. Don't give all this when the child is sick cos may clash with his illness.

thanks GIant squid!

Wah u not bad hor... know a lot about chinese herbs also.

My boy takes the common chinese herbs too but not as supplement/medication. He drinks the good stuff from the soup I make. I will always double boil soups for dinners or weekend meals and chinese herbs will be added as part of the ingredients. Pao Sheng or Hua Qi Sheng is one of them. According to ZTP staff, Pao Sheng or Hua Qi Sheng helps to 'release' the benefits of other herbes to the fullest when added a small amount. Hence, sometimes u see people adding a few pieces in bird nest or gingko nut dessert or soup.

<font color="ff6000">Brushing teeth</font>
Good to introduce them through story books too!
Btw, Dr Chan also suggested me to use finger toothbrush to make sure her teeth are thoroughly clean by counting 1-10 for each side.

Dor
No worries, swallow a little bit of toothpaste is alright :)

<font color="ff6000">Toa Payoh Mummies</font>
This thread is moving pretty fast. And most of the mummies have not met, shall we organise a playdate? Since most mummies are FTWM, shall we fix it on one of the Saturday morning @ Fidgets?

Let's say on 7 Nov, Sat 11am @ Fidgets, Turf City?

1) Precious + 2 kids
5)
6)
7)
8)

Precious,
So thotful of you to have arranged it on Saturday to mk things easier for FTWMs. I would love to bring C along however, she has class on Sat morning alas! If there's a change in timing pse let me noe.

ivy,
i personally dun use diaper bags coz i find them too bulky and heavy. i used backpack and sling bags instead. for the initial start is better to used backpack it is easier to carry as both ur hands r free. subsequently when ur gal grows older and lesser things to bring u can change to sling bag.
Jus bring essential things along such as changing mat, flask warmer (if u think is a mus) etc.
Choosing a normal bag as diaper bag u may wish to ensure that it has some compartment to keep ur purse, mobile and keys. Otherwise, u'll have a hard time searching for them.

Talking abt brushing teeth, I finally managed to successfully brush my girl's teeth without putting up a struggle.

I told her there are earthworms and frogs stuck in her teeth and I shall use the brush to kill them all. While brushing, I will say like "kill all the notti earthworms so that they wont harm you," and pretend to look at the brush that there's an earthworm on it.

I'm using the colgate strawberry flavour, box mentioned to use a pea size nia. But she loves the flouride free toothpaste and she actually likes to eat it!

Ivy, no need diaper bags lah, any bags will do to contain all your barangs.

Toa Payoh Mummies
This thread is moving pretty fast. And most of the mummies have not met, shall we organise a playdate? Since most mummies are FTWM, shall we fix it on one of the Saturday morning @ Fidgets?

1) Precious + 2 kids
2) Dor + 1 (join in abt 12nn+/-)
5)
6)
7)
8)

never understood what "diaper bags" are for really. And soo expensive! No offence okay to any mothers who have - just joking.

Ivy - if you BFing, lagi senang. For baby, just pack 1-2 diapers and a small pack of wipes, depends on how long your outing, a small changing mat or plastic sheet, blanket (if necessary), and change of clothing in case soil (but if wearing disposable diapers - quite rare). All food needs are already taken care of!
Strongly recommend getting a sarong sling - v useful. Can use to carry baby, frees both hands, protect your modesty when BFing, use as blanket if baby sleeping in pram (or as shawl for yourself even), use as padding for high chair (when baby is old enough to sit in high chair but butt too small or too short
), nowadays I also use it as restraint (some restaurant's high chair have no harness)to stop my girl standing up in the chair, use the free end to patdry girl when she plays with water features...can go on. you get the picture. The MIM ones even come with pockets so if you going out for short walk, can stuff your things in the sarong, no need to carry bag.

Oh, MIM having open house at their showroom this sat. I was thinking of popping over to see their Chinese flashcard DVDs... (the DVDs are for me! need to learn mandarin! how to teach girl when mother is a banana hehe

1) Precious + 2 kids
2) Dor + 1 (join in abt 12nn+/-)
3) Sunny + 1
5)
6)
7)
8)

Dor, sunny,

thanks for the advice, am gonna cut and paste and print out hehe.

Ya cos i see some forum buying branded baby bag.. i tot.. wah... need meh.. to put diapers....

ivy
Not necessary to buy diaper bag. any big tote bag will do. i have two TMC diaper bags, brand new, if you want, I can give them to you :)
However you would have to buy the changing mats, as I'm using them.

ivy
these are the essential items to bring
1) 3-4 disposable diapers.
2) baby wipes
3) baby sling (mine is MIM brand), can also used as a blanket to cover baby etc: in the shopping mall if air con is cold.
4) nursing shawl
5) hand sanitizer (I find it good especially to change diaper for baby, if the changing station is not near to the washing basin, or when I have to change baby in the car or in the stroller)
6) extra set of clothings

And if your stroller also have pocket compartments, then make use of them.

A few occassion, I have brought two kids (my girl 3yrs old, my son just turn 2mths old) out alone for more than 6hrs, and it is still manageable.

Btw, always get ready when you have to change the baby, so that you won't be panicked when baby is crying (etc: get ready for bb wipes, open up the diaper, changing mat, hand sanitizer)

My hubby is always impressed that I would be able to change diaper for the kids within a few seconds :)

precious,

i have the tmc bag when i sign up FBI, i find it bit heavy, i think my hubby say he wanna get a big backpack.

copy ur essential item to print too haha.

dor,
tell me about it. my gal oso used to do that and sometimes still does. i have to keep telling her cannot cannot....like a broken record until she gets it.

giant_squid,
thnx for the info. u sure seem to know quite a lot about chinese herbs. my gal's poor appetite has been like that for nearly 2yrs. every meal time is a battle. she doesn't like rice, 1st mouthful of it can keep in the mouth for 15mins and i've to keep reminding her to chew her food. so i'd cook noodles whc she prefers but she wont eat much. even ice cream &amp; chocolates she oso wont eat much hor. once i tried to just let her be, eat how much she wants and dun force but she lost weight so PD gave supplement whc worked for a while and she's now back to sq one, keep the food in her mouth. i feel so sian when think of mealtimes that i sometimes just feel like dun feed her at all. just drink milk whole day like infant......

ryes,
that's a very creative and funny way to get your gal to let you brush her teeth.

ivy,
i oso dun find it worth it to buy diaper bag. i just use watever backpack i have. to me it still can contain wat a diaper bag can contain.

precious,
steady lah! can change diapers so quickly. your gal is guai, wont wonder too far so it's easy for you to bring both kids out. my gal ah, if bring her out, she's like a bird out of a cage, "fly solo" and wont turn back to look for me or hb. even if turn back, she'll just go forward some more instead. can drive me nuts!! she's not afraid of getting lost. faint!

ivy, no need diaper bag la! It's just another gimmick to con our $$$. Just buy a bag organiser if you really want. Watsons has them $6.95 only (cheaper than BP). But come in only 1 design and 2 colours (black and grey). But ok la, it's meant to be inside the bag.

As time goes, u will bring less and less baby barang liao. So diaper bag will be redundant in a year's time.

But I did buy a 'diaper bag' lah. I bought a baby safe back pack that likes like a samsonite so that I can lug my laptop and my baby's barang.

Precious, your #2 needs Angels baby wet wipes or not?

Ivy, agree with the mums here, don't need a diaper bag. Important thing is a bag with good compartments or you can self organise into zip-lock bags so that you don't have to dig for certain small items. So pack wipes with diapers as they always go hand-in-hand. Spare clothing in one zip lock. Also good to have a thin towel or those white diaper cloth, just in case baby gets wet or can serve as a thin blanket if place is cold. Mine came in handy once when it was drizzling and I didn't have my umbrella, I used it to wrap round my son's head (and he ended up looking like a Malay girl!)

Fidgets, sorry Sat morning out for me cos I'm teaching at my friend's music school. Finish at around 130pm.

Char, my sis-in-law encountered the same problem with her 2nd son. She had to put chilli padi into his rice so that he'd quickly chew and swallow. Not saying this is the method! Haha! But she did bring him to see a Chinese physician and they gave him some med to aid digestion and that has worked. He said the boy's stomach not very strong. Have you tried "si shen" and "liu wei", those are good in improving appetite. Hawthorn (san zha) is another. Can get fresh ones from Yu Ren Sheng. Once in a while I'd just use a little, boil with water, add honeycomb sugar.

Dang Sheng is good for qi as well. Add some red dates and ribs to make soup, or just boil Dang Sheng and red dates to drink.

Samantha
I have been using Angels bb wipes. Just ordered another 13 bundles.

Char
If my gal is just alone with me, she is like an angel. She won't wander too far away.
I always feel stressed to bring her out if I have to bring along my helper, or during weekends when my hubby brings us out. That is when she really misbehaves!
Perhaps with one person, there is only one rule.

j_foo,
thnx for the suggestions. will consider to bring her to a chinese physician but duno if she'll take the med cos she has phobia from the last time she took chinese med. i've tried si shen powder from EYS but it worked only for a while. i'll boil liu wei tang once in a while. will try the dang sheng soup u suggested. thnx ya!

Sam, jFoo, char,
ya from all of u experience mom, yes i conclude i shall save $$ hehe. If wanna spend $$ on bag, might as well buy for myself for work in future and no restriction. I think i will put in my hubby backpack and made him carry. I carry baby 9 mths, he carry diapers for many years haha.

Aiya, actually hor, that's all I know, haha.

Sam, what is double boil?

Char, how old is your girl? Since she takes so little, u just got to shao3 chi1, duo1 can1. My chinese physician taught me - eat little every meal but have more meals in a day. But I do find more meals very cumbersome. Or like Sam who prepares such nutritious soups, u give your girl more soup so she also absorbs all the good stuff from your soup.

Another thing to consider is the timing of feeding. U let her become hungry then feed, maybe she can eat slightly more. If not rice, porridge? No need to chew. Just swallow.

Giant Squid,

Actually grammar mistake - should be double boiled. I describe the process and you will understand liao:

Have a big pot filled with water. Put a smaller pot inside the big pot. THis smaller pot will be filled with water (just enough for x number of bowls of soup u need) and the ingredients for your soup. The fire from stove will be directed at the big pot while the stuff inside the small pot is "cooked" from the heat of the water in the big pot.

Get the idea? Like that then more nutritious as the good stuff gets contained and less diluted since the water is supposed to be just nice (i.e. u need 3 bowls of soup, u only put in 3 bowls of water).

My boy is a soupy boy. He always have one adult rice bowl of soup for his meals. Maybe the ccc taught him well - they got nice soup every lunch. I tried once when I stayed with my boy when he moved to playgroup. The quality is like our mum's soup - nice!

Hi everybody,

Can share what u cook for dinner every night?

Then I can cut and paste like Ivy.

No need to be too specific. Examples:-

1) Carrot potato soup - spare ribs (or chicken bones), potatoes, carrots, big ionion (chopped fine), celery, tomatoes.

2) corn soup - corn, spare ribs, potatoes, carrots

3) fry pork in dark soya sauce and ginger shreds

4) fry veggie with ikan billis (a standard for me - everyday fry with ikan billis, only changes the veggie type)

etc.

I have been cooking the same things over and over again and looking for fresh ideas. But lazy to read cookbooks - many ingredients and many steps.)

Sam,

Oh I got it - in chinese call dun4.
Wow which ccc your boy goes to, food so high standard.
Oh good, we are a soupy family. All of us love to drink soup. What soup do you prepare?

LOL... me got same problem too! Been cooking the same thing over and over again. The boys (hubby and son) are contented but mummy sian liao!

Here's what I cook:
1. char bee hoon - 1 can of roasted pork leg, bee hoon, home made stock, shredded mushroom, shredded fried eggs
2. macronroni/ mee sua soup - home made stock, minced chicken/pork
3. steamed cod fish with fried chopped garlic. This is the easiest. Just put on a steamer rack and steam it up as the rice cooker cooks. But you would need to have a rice cooker which comes with a matching steamer rack la.
4. Potato gartin/baked pasta - sliced potato, baked in oven, add grated cheese, tomato slice. For baked pasta, replace potato with pasta (pasta needs to be boiled first)
5. Fried rice - cooked rice, stir fry the ingredients with home made stock (e.g. diced tomato/onion/minced chicken/ham/mushroom).
6. mui fan - just like cooking fried rice. Except that I add 1 more cup of stock when all the ingredients are mixed together.
7. spag with tomato sauce - cook spag/linguine first. For the ingridients: diced onion/minced chicken/diced shitaka mushroom (chinese mushroom doesn't taste as good). SImmer the ingredients with a cup of home made stock and a can of tomato puree. Add in spag.
8. stir fried shitaka/abalone mushroom with garlic
9. steam egg (chawanmushi) with minced meat and mixed pea
10. minced chicken/pork porridge - cook the rice porridge first. Heat up the home made stock. Add in ingredients such as minced chicken/pork, century egg, meat ball etc. When the ingredients 80% cooked, add in the rice porridge. Stir well, bring to boil again and then ok liao.

FYI The floating library MV Doulos is back in Singapore. Docked at Harbourfront. Entry is free. Visiting hours are 10am to 10pm except Sun (1pm to 10pm). The ship is here until Monday only. Even if you're not too interested in the books, it's a unique experience for your kids if they have never been on a big ship.

Sam
It is $5 per bundle (80pcs x 3)

JTS
Brought my 3yrs old daughter to the Eduplus Chinese Language Centre @ Toa Payoh Safra for assessment test and she PASSED.
She even danced and sang the song: 小小萤火虫 to the teacher when asked to sing a Chinese song.
Now waiting for them to open a class below 4yrs old

giant_squid,
my gal is 2.5yrs old. i oso thought of that but really troublesome. i do boil soup everyday, she loves soup. aiyo, i tell u, her milk feed will be at 2pm b4 she naps and by 7pm feed her dinner she dun wan, duno how come not hungry after so long. ya, i've to cook noodles for her whc she prefers. sometimes oso cook porridge.

j_foo,
your sil brought her son to whc chinese physician?

Char, SIL went to EYS at Paragon to start off with cos they specialise in seeing kids. After that switched to the one near Lavender (or is it Kallang), or sometimes the one at Rivervale Mall (near where she lives).

Soup - goodness I have 1001 soup varieties! Haha! I use a variety of chinese herbs which I mix and match. Then there's lao3 huang2 gua1, yu2 chi4 gua1, lotus root, chai4 gan1, bai2 mu4 er3, watercress, green apple soup...For soup, the stock base is always imp. Use chicken bones or pork bones, or if scared heaty, a combi of both. Add red dates or mi4 zhao3. I use dried scallop or a dried shellfish called gan1 bao4 (but it ain't abalone, just a "wannabe").

As for dishes - stews are always quite easy, from chicken with mushrooms to chicken with carrots and pots. Sometimes just switch chicken to pork or beef or mutton. Also use pork with apple, and recently I tried with lychee. Also do mince pork patties, add lime leaves, lime juice and zest. Hardworking then chop water chestnut or prawns. These I'll make a batch and freeze raw.

Hi Precious, thanks for arranging the playdate. Would love to join but girl is having her school orientation and concert on the 7 Nov .. busy day.

Have fun

Mummies with kids in Primary 1 / 2 .. want to check with you .. is it really necessary for the child to be well versed in Han yu ping ying and multiplication before they start their primary 1 ?

Oh more ideas on recipes - orange, lemon chicken, a fav of kids. Not deep fried, just stir fried. Sauce lemon and orange zest, lemon and orange juice (use to marinade the chicken), tad of sugar and salt. Fish use to be cod but nowadays nice cod hard to come by and the taste seems to have changed...so more salmon - pan fried with just a tad of sea salt, or sometimes add lemon/lime or orange zest. Also the usual teochew steam fish.

As you can see I like my citrus zest

Janice, how are the boys?

By the way, for coughs, chuan bei works well (at least it does for me and my SIL). I buy chuan bei from EYS, double boil with chinese pear (those huge yellow ones with rough skin), nan2 bei3 xing4 and rock sugar. EYS sells premixed formula of chuan bei with she2 dan3, that's good too.

wow jfoo,

tks so much 4 e recipes.. it comes in REAL handy coz i'm having headache.. as to wat to prepare nowadays since my helper is here.. n I'm a soupy person.
oh ya.. how u prepare stew ah?can enlighten me abit?so tat i can prepare it for lunch n dinner.. hehe..
also wat bones shall i buy for the soup? hmm.. where to get the dried shellfish ah?tink i shld try so tat my son also start drinking.. coz now i only use dried scallop..=)

Jfoo,
u teach piano? =)

thanks so much for the recipes contribution mummies!! =)

ivy,
Ok will wait for ur email..

Janice,
I was a chinese teacher in school before I gave birth. Yes, it's better that they know HYPY before entering P1. Reasons:

1. HYPY will be taught during the 1st term, 3 months to master a new phonetic code is considered a very fast pace. Then, they will be tested on their HYPY understanding.
2. 课文 teaching will start in Term 2, students are expected to read words they dunno using the HYPY Given in the textbook.
3. HYPY is tested is SA1.
4. HYPY still useful in P2.

So a lot of K2 kids already started learning HYPY, those P1 kids tat come in fresh without HYPY knowledge, always struggle very hard.

Starlight,
I can wait cos so far I haven get $300 worth of orders yet, only $100+, but u dun take too long also ok? Cos I scared later no more stock as I think 50% is very attractive in many countries.

Hi Janice,
If your girl is gg Pei Chun, she need not be well versed but must know something. They will teach that the whole of P1 term 1 and 2. Multiplication-its good to know 2 times table and 5 times table. Not a must,in P1 they teach the concept of multiplication and not just learning by rote. But shld expose yr child to chinese language so they are not afraid of learning in sch...my girl up till term 4, is still tested in their chinese spelling , CA2 and SA2....:>

Jfoo, the arts class from today has 6 pax, have you signed up. I'll prob sign up tmr... they close the class at 10 pax....I remember you teach piano at home hor? me too leh.but really v little as i wanna focus on my kids now.

hi orangeymum

i have PMed you my order and a replacement in case my 1st choice is out of stock. have left my hp no too. thks

Sam,
Thanks for sharing. Looks like you cook a different variety for dinner. I cook rice and 3 dishes every time. But nowadays so sian of the same dishes that prefer to eat outside some days. Now is different. With you mummies sharing, will have more selection.

Wow, Jfoo, u make cooking sound so effortless - 1001 varieties! Shifu, pls chuan2 shou4 your skill to me! ;-)

oh ya, I haven't shared my comprehensive cooking manual ;P

1) fish with salted soya beans
1st fry fish in oil. Take out. Fry garlic, tomato &amp; salted soya beans till fragrant. add a little lime juice. add fish and fry. lastly, add parsley, fry a while, serve.

2) pork with potatoes
marinate pork with corn starch, light soya sauce &amp; pepper. fry potatoes then set aside. fry big inion and garlic till fragrant, add pork, add potatoes.

3) chilli squid
fry with tomato and taho chilli sauce from NTUC

4) lemon butter chicken
marinate chicken with sliced lemon, thyme (I substitute with parsley, donno how thyme looks like, think market no sell) pepper and salt. use oil and butter to fry chicken. turn off fire, deglaze pan with white wine and cover.

5) steam chicken with wine
marinate chicken with pepper, wine, light soya sauce &amp; ginger. steam with mushroom.

6) fry pork with liver, spring inion and shredded ginger

7) fry toufu with minced pork, prawns, spring inion and parsley. must fry toufu in some oil 1st then set aside to be fried later with other ingredients.

8) fry pork with mushroom and spring inion. marinate pork with corn starch, pepper, dark soya sauce and little bit light soya sauce