TOA PAYOH mummies

have you taken a look at Jelly cakes?

v colourful and a hit with kids usually.
I'm not sure where to get in Singapore but just attended a party in KL last month and they had a huge really colourful jelly cake there. cool/cold, light and sweet - just nice as dessert. Looks like cake but it's pure jelly.
This is the malaysian website.
http://www.qjelly.com/ - can look through for design ideas.

If you can find any shop in Sg, do please let me know.

re cake :

since we lost our "wheels", i opted for polar cake again tis year cos near my place, easier to collect. i hv 2 jelly cakes contacts, but they are not as fancy as sunny's msia webby. sunny, i will email you the pics from both contacts. i actaully wanted to order from one of them, but they say they are busi with jelly mooncakes so might not be able to do my order. i dun wan to risk a last min cancellation, so decided juz order normal cake lor.

wah ryes.. your budget for cake so high ah? altho mine is 'sponsored', i oreadi think the $90+ one too ex, oni ordered $70+ one. maybe cos my party oni 20-30ppl, and not many cake lovers. everytime i go party, i always see the hosts forcing ppl to eat the cake, cos everyone already full and no one wan cake. so i rather order a nice cake, but no need too big, everybody a small pc can liao. so far, i liked polar and bengawan solo cakes (value-for-money), so was deciding btw the two. plus they got cute cartoon pics of cos.

but if buy cake to eat myself then i dun mind paying more lah! hahahaha... hey cake buddies... any lobang recently for our binge??? :p

Ryes,
tks for asking abt the cakes!! i was just abt to ask coz me also preparing for my son's bday! =)

thanks all the mummies for the input! =) really appreciate it!
my first bday with my son celebrating with me..

I realised most kids party got gifts for the children who attend the party.. may i know why??can also advise what are some of the things i can get for the gifts?as this is my first time organising for my son..thanks alot!

if i delivery my bb in TMC, do i have to find a pediatrician from TMC? so after delivery, the PD come and check the baby???

Sunny

I have the contact for jelly cakes leh, agar agar right?

For my party, all the kids mostly are still infants leh, 1 yr old babies, so they cant eat the cake. Hee hee..

Now thinking if sld spend such $ on the cake bo. But then again, when will I be able to throw another huge party like that for my kid again right?

Ivy, TMC has this Dr Ong Eng Keow. He's one of my choice PD when my kids fall ill. But I brought them to United Square to see another Dr Ong.
http://www.thomsonmedical.com/tp.htm

Ivy
For PD, I would like to recommend Dr. Ho Chin Seng.
He is good and experienced. His fee is very reasonable. His clinic is at Thomson Road.
He is well known in TCM too.

Sunny
I always order the cakes from Prima Deli or Bengawan Solo.

i also felt that $90+ for a cake is too ex and went for a $70+ cake for my gal's 1st bday from prima deli. duno why but i just like their cakes. bengawan solo's cake is oso nice.

ryes,
it's not necessary to splurge so much on your son's 1st bday. 2nd, 3rd... bday amongst close frens and family oso can splurge, better still, can savor the expensive cake.

ivy,
it's not necessary to choose the PD that is from the hosp that you deliver. fyi, my gal's PD was refered to me by my gynae.

gal.dolphin,
giving away 'goodie bags' r a token at the same time makes the kids happy too.
the goodies bags can be a choice of candies & chocs, cute stationery, party accessories etc., depending on the age group as well.
I gave away candies & chocs packed in nice decorated gift bags for my ger full mth celebration, thot is more suitable for both kids and audlts.

Ryes & Sunny,
a few of us tried bakerzin choc and cheese cake and is thumbs up!

Agree with Precious tat Prima Deli's cakes r yummy not too sweet as well price is economical too. You may also consider Angie The Choice http://www.angiethechoice.com.sg/, my BDs, as well as my gal, 1st & 2nd BD cakes r bout fm Angie. is my all time favourite coz is soft, nice and not too sweet either. However, in terms of design not tat fanciful thou.

Char,
my gynae referred me dr Ong Eng Keow & Dr keok (i think).

Ryes,
ya i tot of united square PD, i heard pple talk abt it, but dunno dr name. So is Dr Ong at United square good?? thats Aglow right.

RE: cakes
ryes, sunny,
i just ordered 2 cakes for chelsia's birthday in september. 1 was Polar hellokitty cut out cake 2kg-$70+, nice and presentable.

Den i also order a cake from Canele, by Les Amis.

3057481.jpg

this is 2kg - $320. Dark chocolate flourless cake.

Prior to ordering from Canele, i went to Pattisier and a few others to try. seems like Pattisier got the prettiest cake but i went to buy a few slices and try from Pattisier, not nice leh.. so i nv order from them, anyway Pattisier fondant cakes are brownie filling. so i din want to have 2-3kg of brownie to eat. the yellow cake that some1 posted on top is brownie filling 1..
my advice is go to ur shortlisted cake shops and buy 1 slice of the wanted flavour and try, i mean taste is very subjective..

ivy,
my gynae referred me to Dr gong wk at gleneagles, so dr gong did the baby test after delivery. then many ppl say dr ong eng keow is good. so i went to dr ong eng keow for baby's 1st mth check up.
wah 1st time go there, so super crowded and many ppl had to wait so long. but 1st mth bb got priority so i didnt wait so long but still waited quite awhile.
my fren who intro-ed me told me that dr ong eng keow is good with cough and asthma. so the first time i went, got so many coughing children. i almost fainted during my wait there. after that i nv go to him anymore, i went back to my own PD,dr gong.
dr ong is so good thats y so crowded, but i feel that since my bb didnt have problem so i dun go to dr ong. just go my PD for the normal injections. thank god, she only fell sick once and 2 times fever after injection.
my PD also got night clinc at Holland so there was once my baby who was 2 weeks old was crying loudly when she poo-ed in the evening, being 1st time parents we were so worried then lucky got night clinic so faster bring go see dr gong.

Orangymum,
thanks for the info, yes i heard Dr Ong Eng Keow very long queue. I was thinking of Ryes recommendation of Dr Ong at aglow since nearer TPY.

My fren use to use Dr Ang PL, but seems like a lot of bad reviews on him and his daughter.

The other PD is Dr Keoy who my sister use, she seems to like him, but review also say he is bit strange hahaha.

ivy,
ya lor, it's good to ask around.

but if the after delivery check at the hospital can use dr ong and no need queue, why not? lolz

orangeymum,
tats what i tot, go to dr ong after deliver. Then use others pd next time. If not serious case, just got to DR Tan at braddell hehe.

wow orangemum

nice cake !!
If any of u mummies wan to order patissier cake, mayb we can 'pool' and order and send to one venue and share the delivery cost...i have the disc card..i think its 10% off.

re: PD
my gals' PD is also Dr Ong eng keow. agree that the waiting time is a killer. His injection skills is super!! chop chop kind.

anyone bring their babies to have injection at dr heng's clinic? how much is her 5 in 1? do we need to pay the consultation fees or issit included in the vaccine cost?

re injections : actually, first few jabs at polyclinics are free. you can call their hotline to make an appt, then no need to wait in Q for too long.

Ivy
My PD is one who believes a child should build its own immune system. Hence he does not encourage any supplements etc.
I normally call and fix appointment, and the waiting list is short.
His consultation is $45, sub is $35.
Btw, polyclinic gives priority to babies.
There is 6in1 and 5in1 jabs (choose either one), less than $300. About the same price in PD clinics.

my girl had her Hep B already so now taking 5 in 1. deciding to bring her to PD or GP downstairs or polyclinics. is the price difference a lot? do we still need to pay for consultation?

Ivy
Dr Ho relates to babies very well.
He was the one who taught me how to take care of baby, etc how to burp him, how to calm him down (the techniques to carry), how to clean him,
(I was totally clueless how to clean a baby boy).

I;ve a question that needs some answering. hope you all can help.
My 3 yrs old developed a runny nose one week ago, after 4 days of runny nose, i suspected its allergies coz she had no fever, but then she developed a dry cough. Then on the early wee morning on the 5th day, at 4am in the morning, she was crying and choking in her own phlegm. I thought she developed croup, coz she was barking in her cough. I gave her 3 puffs of the inhalor than was calm enough to go back to sleep. but her breathing was still quite loud.

Then, in the day time she appeared well apart from a little runny nose(after some med). So I brought her to her regular PD, who said her lungs are clear, asked me to continue with her ventolin puffs. Said she had sensitive airways and will always over produce mucous...and said she had a littel sore throat prob due to the nose back drip.
Then in the night,(Thurs) she started to cough again and guess what, the same thing happened and she panicked as she couldn't breathe again.This time, she refused the inhalor, so I gave her some liquid Ventolin which cleared her airways and she was sleeping better.
Friday - I continuosly gave her Ventolin liquid med throughout the day and she was ok at night.
Today is Sat night, and its only 7 plus and she is getting all the symptoms again.

Hiaz, my older girls is asthmatic and I expect this young one too. but the doc's treatemnt not working....plus the haze and smoke and burning...

I was wondering should i just change docs? Get her a nebuliser treatment? Or what... the coughing is dry and sounds bad, the mucous from the runny nose is clear but starting to turn thick and yellow....
its the weekend and PD's dont work right..

Kin, try TCM? Yu Ren Sheng at Paragon. My bro-in-law kids also sensitive (though not asthmatic) and they went to the TCM at Paragon (now they visit the local TCM) and that really helped. BUT THEN, your gal sounds rather bad... try one of the other PDs that mummies here recommend? Once you've settled this then try out TCM? TCM takes a longer time to set in and clear things but it tends to clear the root of the problem so better in the long run.

Hi J foo,
thanks . yah, lucky we are all on the topic. I quite desperate coz really tired of all the night episodes. prb will try Dr ong eng keow i suppose.
Last time, some one recommended ang ai tin. aiyoh,,, first time i spent $400 plus and she said my girl very serious case. don't think I can afford long term for everything, so stopped

now, just have to "dong" until monday.....

ivy,

You dont need to choose a TMC PD if you deliver in TMC la. But I think most docs will do referrals lor. It's soemthing like - I gynae in tmc, I refer my customer's baby to u (the PD in tmc). If my customer has a second one, u refer back to me ok? *wink*

My gynae referred Dr Keoy to me. So far, we are very happy with him, no complaints.

Some people will find him weird but we think he's ok. the "most famous complaint" about him is his "close eyes and talk to you". I can understand that. He's at the hospital at 6am everyday or even earlier.

When I delivered, he would come to my ward as early as 6am or 6.30am to 'report' how my child was doing. You can imagine how tired he is when he's on shift in the evening. he's very sharp. We are very pleased with him.

Sometimes, he doesnt charge us consultation fees.

ivy,
dr tan is EJ tan? i just live there only, brought my girl there when she had flu weeks ago, his medicine quite good and seems like he is experienced with kids also.. he got 4 kids himself..

I dont like Dr Ang PL or Ang AT. I find Ang AT's attitude quite bad.

As for Dr Ang PL, he's quite nice to his customers. His room is not as private as Dr Keoy. While waiting for your turn, u can actually see Dr Ang PL dealing with his patients and the parents. Very professional and detailed.

But he's not very nice to us lor (maybe cos we were not his customers). Once, my child had 3 ulcers. His ccc thought he HFMD. We rushed him to Dr Keoy but doc said he's not HFMD case. So we brought him back to ccc. Then the ccc said need letter to certify 2 days later.

Ok lor, we went back to find dr keoy but alamak, he on leave liao. So ask Dr Ang PL to issue letter. Wah, he damn unfriendly lor.... Our opinion about him changed after this incident.

Hi Ivy

Yes, Dr Ong is the aglow one. I like the huge clinic there and I hardly have to wait long when I have appointment. Most of the time, mine is last min appointment, ie, kids are sick today, i call tomorrow to walk in type.

He has 2 consultation rooms, so while he is attending the other baby in the other room, and yours is the next, the nurse will ask you go inside the other room to wait.

His charges are reasonable too, incomparion to KK A&E $80. If I'm not wrong, 1st time consultation $70, subsequent is $50. Medication wise is like $6, $9, $12 type, or even cheaper.

I like him, coz he is very patient and answers all questions and wont rush. And he always carries a smile with him. He reminds me of this KK professor Phua Kong Boon whom my girl was seeing last time.

As for cake, sigh..I've yet to dare bring up to hb I wanna splurge $200 on a cake. And now that orangeymum mention their cake is actually brownie? I didnt know that, thought is like sponge cake or what. Sigh. Maybe I'l just fall back to awfully chocolate in the end.

ryes,
ya this kinda thing very hard to tell hubby 1.. but i usually let him try then convince him. so u can just go different cake house to buy 1 slice to try. few $ mistake better than tens or hundreds $ of mistake..
why u wan to spend so much on a cake? u like fondant? or u wan nice cake? actually hor, my dark chocolate cake if not customised is $60+ per kg but its the customisation & fondant that is ex.
if u wan quality cake but dunna fondant, then will not be so ex. If u wan fondant, the blue magnolia is homebased one.. that 1 i remembered not very ex..

orangymum,
yes dr Tan EJ, he very good. Everytime i dun get cured, i look for him and i will recover. He dare to use medication but he is not anyhow one, when i pregnant and got food poisoning, he was very careful and also say must cure me.

Kin,
i heard a lot of bad things abt Dr Ang AT, so im not considering her for my kids in future also.

Ryes,
my hubby very keen on Dr ong from Aglow cos he say parking much easier.

Hey orangeymum

Went to blue magnolia website, but cant see any photos of bday cakes. Have wrote to them, waiting for their reply.

Actually hor, I dont know what is fondant leh. Haha, I go for the design actually. Dropped by bakerzin today and picked up their brochures for thomas train and bob builder. Reasonable price leh, 2kg at $148.

Ivy, Yes, I totally agree that aglow more convenient, coz in shopping center mah, easy to park lah. TMC also easy lah. BUt at united sq, can go shop shop while waiting for your turn lor, can leave hp # with the nurse and they will call you prior to your turn. Best of course is, I like Dr Ong.

But I didnt take any injection pkgs. I go to GP for jabs. We see Dr Ong when kids are sick. Used to go KK, but stopped, coz realise they dont issue medication unless necessary and my kids illness sometimes last for weeks.

Ryes,
ya my hubby work near novena square, i think he feels that he can just walk over if necessary haha.

did u girls sign up cordlife when you deliver your baby?

Ivy, I think should. I regret not signing up for both kids. I should have done it for one of them, just in case anything, touch-wood, happens.

Ryes, Blue Mag has quite a limited selection of designs but I think the few they have is very nicely made. And their cakes are better than the ones on high street. But be careful if you do order the one with giraffe. The figurine (which is made from choc) is tall so they break easily. That's what happened to the one I ordered.

ryes,

fondant is the pastel color coatings that u see on the cakes. very 'in' nowadays.
ya bakenzin not too ex but the filling flavour for birthday cakes dun come in slices, so cannot buy and try.. thats y i din get that pink castle cake from them, that 1 very nicely done.. hehe

jfoo,
is blue mag cake nice to eat?

ivy,
my gal signed up wif cordlife, is good especially if u r thinking of 'more then 1'.

Kin,
perhaps u shld seek for 2nd opinion instd. taking too much of ventolin is not good for tods as well.

ya dor,
i was thinking of more than 1, but after so many mths of Xin Ku... i wondering if i dare to have 2nd one hahaa.

Orangeymum, Blue Mag birthday cakes (which are sponge cakes) are nice, nicer than the commercialised Bengawan, Polar etc. They're well known for the carrot cake.

i m so headache ... i have not settle my son next year school yet ... argh .... m thinking of PCF blk 205 , but pple comment not good ... or Toa Payoh Methodish Church one , but the school bus quite unreasonable leh , charge abt $75 and have to walk to main road ... argh

hi, any one tired to bring their 2+ yr old to the dentist? any recommendation? found "Hosanna ! Dental Surgery" at lor 1, anyone tried? her teeth getting yellow and got one groove on one teeth. sigh

rlcl,
if im not going to bank the cord blood with a private bank for our own use, i will donate so can help others which is scbb.

ivy,

i also signed up with cordlife.. so far so good.. let me know if u r keen then can pass u my contact so tat u can save $$ when u have referral.. =)

bday cakes
wah.. just nice le.. me also researching for my son's bday cake!! headache also..
also thinking wat to prepare for those little kids.. as well..
so many things.. i wanna plan some programs as well.. wow. need to multitask manz..

gal.dolphine,
i got referral liao. How does the referral help??

oh btw, do i need to stand by a formula milk when i give birth? What brand is good ar?

Ivy,
with referral u can save $50 if i'm not wrong..

formula standby:
u can get a few from hospital after ur bb discharge to stand by... that's wat i did previously so tat dun have to waste $$. btw u intend to BF?

HI jfoo and orangeymum

blue mag has replied me with a brochure pix of their bday cakes. Price wise reasonable too. But the bday cake is just a small pix of the main item, so cant really see the whole cake leh.

the aimummy blog and another glad blog, they are already fully booked.