TOA PAYOH mummies

babyminnie,
i bring my gal to dr heng however i duno wats the cost of the 5-in-1 jab. u may wanna call to find out the cost. Tel: 663540662. the subsequent consultation charge is $40, not sure wat is the 1st time charge as my gal has been seeing her for 2.5yrs and she has changed her rates some time ago.

kin,
your gal's case sounds quite serious and familiar cos my gal gets it like that when she's sick. usually when my gal starts to have phlegmy cough i'll nebulise her and give med for running nose. if it gets worse then i'll bring her to her PD who will prescribe antibiotics to clear the redness in the throat and when the phlegm is yellowish. and i will ask the PD to do suction, although it is very tough on the child at that moment but it really helps my gal to breathe much better after that. i suggest that u bring her back to her PD and if u feel that there is something is not right then switch to another PD.

rlcl,
i rembr precious recommended a dentist at ntuc denticare near kopitiam at central. http://www.ntuchealth.com.sg/group/denticare/clinics/detail.php?ID=1256
i can't rembr wat is the name of the dentist who is very good with kids. u may wanna call to find out.

Hey ..

BDay cakes .. just ordered a small double choco cake from The Patisser. Very very Yummy .. but also quite costly. If you have good budge for cakes .. you should go for this one :D I'm ordering a Bakerzin 2kg kids cake too, the taste is good and I think the price is reasonable for the taste too.

Cake Buddies ... The Bakerzin's 50% cake promo is back again. Blueberry cheese cake is the for this round ...any one keen to share again?

PD .. is Dr Ong at United Square good? Expensive? Boys are having flu again ... and I have given up after so many episode of illness. This round, no medications, no doc and only lots of fruits and Vits C. Really wonder when can they be stronger !

Kin, how is your girl now? The current type A flu attacks on kids with sensitive airway and may lead to bronchiolitis. Usually antibiotics is required.

Dr Ong A T ... extremely bad experiences with her. She say until my boy cannot make it .. and I almost believe her to do a complete spinal MRI on my boy which will cost me at least $10k ! Lucky I went to seek second opinion.

ivy,
my gal is taking Abbott soy milk initially coz allergy to cow's milk and now she's taking Pedisure.
join Abbott as member and u'll be able to redeem free milk poweder by mailing the reciepts to accumulate points.

Gal.dolphin,
I want to BF, i hope i can. Tats why i still thinking whether confinement time let baby sleep with me or with CL...

Dor,
how we know our baby is allergic to cow's milk?

Janice, your description very cute - "she say until my boy cannot make it .. " LOL. Dont mean to be offending but it's funny, the u word your sentence.

Ivy, regarding allergic to cow's milk - U will know want but maybe not immediate. One of the most obvious sign - the baby will vomit like the merlion. Literally sprouting out the milk like the water hose. Before the merlion stunt, the baby will make some noise (cry abit) and look very comfortable. But once the milk is out, the baby looks like nothing happen like that.

Another sign is diarrhoea lor. Very watery and very frequent. Maybe more than 10 times per day.

The very interesting thing about babies who are allergic to cow's milk is that other than the vomiting and diarrhoea, they look perfectly fine.

My vote for cakes (if not on budget) goes to Glace, although for heavy choc ones I'd go to Gastromania (Da Paolo). Their blackforest really potent! Goodness knows how much alcohol goes in there! Haha!

Ivy, as mentioned by Dolphin, hospital will provide you with a few bottles of premixed formula milk (at least that's what KK provides) which you can use as standby. From there you can decide whether you want to stick to the brand provided or switch brand, and whether you'll still need to have another small tin o standby. Upon discharge I asked for a few more bottles of the premixed milk (think I took home 6 bottles in the end), didn't need them though, so just passed on to other mums.

Janice, if the boys are coughing don't give too much fruit (and certain ones are to be totally avoided), certain vit C will also cause even more phlegm and cough. Be cautious. Once they're well, concentrate on building up the system.

My son went to YKids today (first time in school), and as I expected, he was always looking for me. I stayed at the back of the classroom for the first 10 mins or so then I moved to the room next door. When he turned round and saw that I was gone, he went round looking and found me next door. Think that gave him some security. So he went back and carried on with the lesson. I then decided to head out for a while (as he stopped looking for me). I stepped out for 15 mins and when I got back to the school I could hear him crying away "where's my mummy? Find mummy." Haha! I stayed out and let the assistant teacher calm him down. Luckily it was towards the end of class so he only cried for 20 mins or so and he did manage to calm down a fair bit. Hopefully he'll be ok by end of the week...

The principal at YKids, Yu Kai, does a pretty good job, but the assistants...hmm...there are two older kids there (I think K1 or 2) and they don't seem to be doing much...Well, it is a new establishment so still too early to tell, teachers ad students are still settling in. Maybe will switch my son when he reaches K1, see how, still a rather long time away.

Hi mummies,char,Dor,janice,

brought girl to see PD. I really don't know what kind of bug this is. Actually, I think it is allergy? Virus?. Coz my girl got no fever at all , and her nose uptil today been dripping. She Is scratching herself sore. And I've stopped her milk for 3 days. I still remember, runny nose from Sept 28 until today!!!! Now, my older girl is wheezing , caught the bug fr her, and my husband and I have very nasal voice fr phlgem.
PD says her inside of the nose are infected already. Yesterday was yellow, green. Her coughing, is still really bad esp in the afternoon and night is like bad. Then morning, PD says her lungs clear, prob the phelgm choking her. Then PD says nebuliser no good, just use inhalor/puff... Put her on antibiotics(coz nose prob infected w bacteria by now...)-Clarithromycin.

I've changed a few docs but end up with this current one still, cause more convenient and he has the record for both my girls since birth....
And I want the PD to make a report to re-assess my older girl for insurance so she can be covered again for respiratory illness when she is 8-9 yrs old. So no choice, still will stick to him.

Not sure how lah.... she miss school for so long already.

Jfoo, Ykids started school already? funnym when I call them, no one picks up the phone. wanted to ask them abt the arts classes on sat. Both my girls v interested.....

ivy,
like Samantha mentioned bby will either hd diarrhoea (watery compared to norm poo & freq) or puke. my gal initially changed to soy due to her phlegm Dr. Rebecca Tan (@ Bishan) mentioned soy milk able to mellow dwn. Subsequently when she revert bk to cow's milk she had diarrhoea, brout her to see Dr. Tan again and she suggested to gv her soy thru out as she has sensitive stomach. I tried changing back to cow's milk when she's 1+yo but my in-law started to question me y i kept changing sigh...hence now i still stick to the rule, no cow's milk this is for prevention and also avoid being lectured by my in-laws hee.

Here's a good deal for Birthday gals/boys, aunties/uncles, ah gong/ah ma http://www.bluebpo.com/~grey/WRS/01102009/index.php

Samantha,
my gal is 32mths liao.

Just got this in my email,
Hi Parents.

Ykids Montessori @ Toa Payoh would like to informed you that the creative art enrichment course that you were interested in, will be starting on the 24th October 2009 (Saturday).

Marks Making
1st lesson- 24 October 2009
2nd lesson- 31 October 2009
3rd lesson- 7 November 2009
4th lesson- 14 November 2009

Mosaic
5th lesson- 21 November 2009
6th lesson- 28 November 2009
7th lesson- 5 December 2009
8th lesson-12 December 2009
9th lesson-19 December 2009
10th lesson- 9 January 2010

Course Fee: $120/- (every 10 sessions)
Time: 9:00 am To 11:30 am
Day: Every Saturdays

Please give us a call for further enquiries at 63025654/ 97903690.

Thanks & Regards,
Fie

Ar i see. I think TMC will give me a tin ba. Later on i will see what milk to use if i really no BM.

My fren recommend wyeth S26, i search some say Nan Ha is good.. aiyo see how lah.

Dor,
ya i tink if allergic to cow's milk means forever cannot liao. I got a gf in her 30s liao who till now still cannot drink cow's milk. will vomit.

Ivy
My girl developed some rashes when she was in her early months (I forget exactly). Doc said it may have been because I drank cow's milk and the allergens were passed through my BM to my girl.
I went off milk for about a month, her rashes cleared up. I then took a bit of milk and she had a bit of reaction again. But now she drinks formula cows' milk - no problems. Pedi explained that younger babies' systems are less developed so are more prone to allergy-like symptoms. Most should clear up when they get older and their liver/etc develop and can process all the different enzymes. Of course there are the bad cases like your friend's.

BM - suggest you let your baby sleep with your CL. When baby is hungry, she can bring the baby in. Then you can get better sleep. Otherwise, new mums usually v kancheong
every little whimper or shuffle and you wake up. (Even if you dont, your hubby will surrrely surrely wake you up and say feed! feed! new dads are definitely much worse on the kancheong meter!) CL's are stronger/harder heart. :D

sunny,
lolz, i can imagine myself waking up often cos im so light sleeper. Ya maybe i will tell her at least 1 week let me BM direct, after that i will try to pump.

ivy, u can latch in the day and pump the excess BM for CL to feed at nite. i let my baby sleep with CL so that i can have better rest and really, i din wake up in the middle of the nite during my confinement.. i din even hear my baby cries coz CL will very fast go n attend to her. but of coz tat is only for the 1st mth.. then frm 2nd mth onwards, hai.. no good sleep. :p but come to think of it, i miss the time when my gal is still a little baby.. haha

Dor, is pedisure soy milk too?? my gal is on isomil too but thought of switching to other soy formula tat are suitable for >1YO children..

Kin, received the same email from YKids too. I think the reason nobody answers the call is because they're off for a break (btw 1245-145pm) or not enough manpower - now a few new intakes coming in and they're all crying away, incl my son, haha! Anyway, haven't quite decided whether to send my daughter...trying not to touch Sat morning cos she'd normally go for a swim at her cousin's place. Have you decided Kin?

RE: formula milk

Hi Mummies, just to share. I exclusive pump BM to feed my bb till 1 year old then after that I switch to Bellamy Organic FM Step 3. She adjusted well to it and her poo dun seem to have much difference from BM's poo.. After reading some aussie forums, Bellamy FM has very good reviews.

But the issue here is the cost. Guardian sells it at $50 for Step 1 and Step 2, $45 for Step 3. My 1st tin I bought from a BP, she sells me for $35, she bring back from australia from time to time. So I will buy a few tins from her. Then my relative will be coming back from aussie so I tompang her buy more. And the best thing is aussie supermarkets are only selling at A$19-22. Much cheaper than step 3 FM here. So Mummies, if you have lobang.. Try Bellamy Organic FM.
Just my sharing.

Yes, Bellamy is good, but ex. I have a few boxes of Hipp Organic for toddlers (10 months and above) if anyone is interested. My kids are currently on goat's milk and fresh milk. It's very thick (therefore very filling) and I must say, not easy to mix...

Can get Bellamy from VitaKids too, by far one of the cheapest place for Bellamy milk powder.

kin,
how come you stop your gal's milk intake?

ivy,
there is no best FM to me. in my experience, i've tried a few better brands like similac, mamil and my gal had constipation as a result. after a PD recommended friso comfort to mix with her FM, her bowel movement improved hence i switched her FM to friso from then on and everything is fine. so just get samples from different brands and see which one suits your baby best.

Precious,
yes baby will be sleeping in cot bed, and i will be putting beside my bed. But my CL has mention to let baby sleep with her the confinement month and i should sleep. So yes so maybe like rlrenn say pump it out for CL to feed at night.

Char,
the best is still BM, im hoping that im full of it haha.

actually organic milk is the trend now isnt it.

Dental
Yes, today just went to the NTUC Denticare that Precious recommended Dr Chan. He's really good with kids. My gal at least open her mouth to let him check how many teeth she has and he gave very detailed explanation on whatever you ask him. However, he will be going to another clinic in Nov. So catch him while he's there.

PD
I'm seeing Dr Ong EK too. He's good with kids but very busy and crowded. Must make appt before going n best not to choose Mon and Fri to visit him. Sometimes I last min never make appt will bring my kid there at 8.30am and wait for his clinic open to get to see him faster, say in an hr or so. AFter awhile, think after 2 or 3 yo, will bring my kids just to see GP

Hi char, thanks for your mail. will reply and elaborate abt that stopping milk further.. my girl is actually still allergic to milk. I sent her blood for the IGG allergy testing-for delayed food reactions and milk and milk protein is Extremely High, from a range of 1-6 , she is 6.... and since her cough, she vomits the milk out coz its bad for her in that sense.

Jfoo, will call Ykids tmr. I'm just wondering whether they r short of kids to start the art. I don't want to waste my money, sending both girls are quite costly for me.... but than, my girl is having her SA2 on the 26 oct which is 2 days after the first art lesson....

babe
my daughter likes Dr Chan too. always tell me that Dr Chan wants her to brush her teeth in the morning and before bedtime.

ivy
try to rest as much as you could. btw, would you be getting a full time helper?

Kin,do u want to consider going to Eu Yan Sang to buy their medicine powder for cough/phelgm/running nose all-in-one to help clear your daughter's phelgm? No need to see TCM practitioner. Just ask the staff for it.

That's my way of treatment for my kids. I stagger western and chinese medicine feeds during the course of their illness. Western medicine is used before nap time and at night before bedtime since it causes drowsiness, best for sleeping time! Other times of the day, I use chinese medicine which does not cause drowiness and won't make them iritable or interfere with their day-time activities.

Western medicine is good for managing the running nose and cough symptoms but the chinese medicine powder is very good for clearing phelgm. Western medicine is more debilitating so no good to feed for long periods.

rlreen,
Pedisure contains very little amt of cow's milk hence is fine. Understand this is a premium formula compared to Gain, am not sure either, i buy coz the nutritionist fm abbott suggested since my gal is allergy to cow's milk.

I personally feel that Organic stuffs are good however over doze may coz ur child to have lower immune system to non-organic food. B4 the child attends sch or when he/she is still young it's easy to control their diet, however once they reach the age to attend sch they r being exposed to so call 'outside' food which is not so healthy. then they might have a prob in adapting.

One of my ex-colleague was an extremist for organic food, she literally gave her daughter full organic (veg, meat) when she starts to take in solid. she even goes to the extend of frying her own french fries, packed in the McDonald happy meal box and bring to her daughter and tell her this is fm Mac (fainted)! When she sent her to childcare, her gal really faces a lot of problem fm the food provided by the sch, she even fell sick, poor gal. She has to slowly adapt to the food eventually.

precious,
im having the CL for 1 mth, after that its myself only, my mom say she try to come over once a while -.-

Veg I'd buy organic as much as poss. Fruit, only the ones I'm gonna eat with skin-on or porous ones (the berries). Meat just normal. In S'pore organic meat costs a bomb and not widely avail. I've read that organic doesn't mean totally no pesticide, tests have been conducted and pesticide has been found but at a much lower quantity.

kin,
ic ic.

babe,
thnx for the dentist info. i'm hesitating about bringing my gal there cos wonder how she will react. for all who knows she wont even wanna sit on the dentist chair.

dor,
oh dear. didn't know that taking purely organic food can cause a reaction like that.

Char,
perhaps if u start a child fm young it may, tat happened to my ex-colleague's daughter.
Maybe the system is too 'purified' that rejects any 'alien' stuffs tat enter.

Dor, tks for the info regarding pedisure.

Organic food:
I also give my gal organic fruits/vege when she starts solid, but nw that she turn 1, i also give some non organic too. like what Dor mentioned, next time when they go to school, don't think the school will give organic to them lor..

Sam,

I used Bao Ying Dan. Altho the dosage indicates one bottle per day, I fed my girl 3 bottles a day as taught by a friend and her green and sticky nose mucus cleared up in a few days.

Before that, I had been feeding her western med since the onset of the cold, for a week. Her mucus turned from colourless to sticky yellow to thick green that was difficult to be cleared from the nose so I used Bao Ying Dan.

I got this from their website but note the packaging sold in sg is different from the one shown on their website:-

Bo Ying Compound

Description : Bo Ying compound is an ancient formula proven to be a safe and highly effective remedy for babies' discomforts like restlessness at night, severely poor appetite, cough and phlegm, influenza, stomach-ache, vomitting, excessive air in the stomach and diarrhea.

Indications : The pure natural herb in this product is ideal for the promotion of good health and the prevention of diseases infants are prone to.

Ingredients : Moschus, Calculus Bovis, Borneolum Syntheticum, Margarita, Lapis Micae Aureus, Alumen, Succinum, Herba Ephedrae, Arisaema cum Bile, Concretio Silicea Bambusae, Rhizoma Paridis, Radix Saposhnikoviae, Rhizoma Pinelliae, Bulbus Fritillariae Cirrhosae, Scorpio, Rhizoma Coptidis, Bombyx Batryticatus, Ramulus Uncariae cum Uncis, Radix Curcumae, Herba Menthae, Rhizoma Gastrodiae, Periostracum Cicadae

Unit : 6 bottles / box

White Lady, if you're using the non-rinse toothpaste then the reason for teeth turning yellow may be the lack of fluoride. That's what happened to my daughter. She used "fluoride free" toothpaste and I realised her teeth was turning yellow, so I showed my dentist (and it was also time for her first long overdue check-up since she had already developed her full set of teeth) and the dentist said to switch to fluoride toothpaste. And once I did that her teeth turned "normal".

I now use MacCleans from UK cos they grade the fluoride level according to age whereas the ones here don't.

Char, it took awhile to coax her into the child. But Dr Chan made it fun. For first visit, it's really nothing more than getting them to open their mouths and check how many teeth there are and the state. No wash or polish.

Didn't know non-flouride toothpaste will cause teeth to be yellow.

Ascension
My girl loves the place and the teacher. Hopefully it will be a good start next year when she goes there and not whine and cry like how she started childcare last time. The teachers were really friendly I must say.

White lady, teach your boy how to spit. Just a little water, demonstrate. Tell him "merlion". It's ok if he swallows the water to start off with, shouldn't take long before he masters the art of spitting.

giant_squid,
at wat age can give 3tubes of bao ying dan per day when have phlegm? my gal's appetite is poor so wondering if i should give her 1tube a day but give for how long?

babe,
ic ic. thnx for letting me know wat the procedure is like for 1st visit.

white-lady,
agree with j_foo, u show him how to spit and at his age he should be able to imitate you. i taught my gal once and she managed to do it. and whenever i brush her teeth i keep reminding her to not swallow and then spit out the toothpaste.