TOA PAYOH mummies

HI all the mummies, thanks for the encouragement! :) Guess this one is really hard for me cos the first guy was good. That's why I guess this one must be a girl. Yeah, that will be great. I can close shop liao...

Hi Mommies

I have some furnitures I'm letting go at fire sale prices as we're moving. They are in still superb mint condition.

Items such as:
** Sofa
** Dining Table
** Coffee Table
** TV Consoles
** Book Rack
etc...

PM me if interested. Will send you the pics. :D

mummies... can i ask a very personal question.

Is it true that after natural, our vagina passage will become loose? That sexual life will be affected??

C-section is not so easy to heal? Im 3rd trimester liao.. dunno if can natural, or want natural birth or not... my 2 sisters both c-section cos baby din engage, i dunno how natural birth is.. am quite scare.

Hi Ivy
If you're worried about that (there is some bit of truth in it), dont worry, just do Kegel's exercises (Google it)

Dont do the Kegels' now k!

At the same time, if you are employing Malay massage lady, ask her for some jamu for that area. The one that my massage lady gave me, (actually my massage lady said use salt also can
) just need to mix in a small basin of warm water and sit in the water mixture/salt water. If you can find a plastic basin that fits into the toilet bowl rim without falling in, even easier, just sit like normal and soak.

what can I say... that massage lady is a very good businesswoman! ensuring continuing business for her in the years ahead kekeke

Ivy, can do natural but take epi - then no pain. I was induced so was in hospital for a day and a half waiting for my cervix to dilate (took its own sweet time). Heard only one small scream...Mainly, the only sounds I heard from the labour rooms were the hubbies or the nurses encouraging the mum to push at the peak of contraction (which if you take epi, you may not even realise you're 'peaking).

Sunny,
yes im geteting malay massage, u mean massage V-area helps?
Ya i think i will just ask for epidural, i often hear from my gfs who given birth, say just ask for it, its very painful...

No, the massage lady wont massage your "v-area" and I dont think you should either. Seems like if you massage that area it would get looser rather than tighter

My massage lady does full body massage but concentrating on the tummy area .

Try the 'soaking' I was taught.

Ivy, my first delivery was via C (breech baby). Contrary to what others told me, I didn't experience the pain or long healing process. I was actually off the bed walking around the following day. Wound wasn't painful. 2nd deliver was normal. No epi. Seriously I didn't find it painful until the last "lap" but by then it was too late to have epi. So if you don't want to experience that pain at all then just tell the nurses to give you epi. My sis-in-law did that cos she knew she wouldn't be able to withstand.

As for the vagina being loosened, yes, that is true, but as Sunny mentioned, Kegel exercises help. You can start that after delivery. It's like how you'd hold back your pee.

ivy,
it wont loosen so much until that extend as it will affect your sex life. kegel exercise is to tighten the pelvic floor muscle whc expands when we get pregnant and when baby grows. on the contrary, you can start doing kegel exercise now to tighten the pelvic floor muscle. that's wat i learnt during my antenatal class. dun be afraid, if you can't stand the pain then opt for epi. for me, i was afraid of needles so i didn't opt for epi and although the whole process was painful but bearable to me, i felt a great sense of relief when my gal came out. don't think too much, let nature take its course.

Char,
your threshold is very high i mus say. Initially i wanted to try w/out epi but when contraction started it was so unbearable that I warned my hb not to touch me otherwise he'll get it haa! Was a releif after epi.

ivy,
if you wanna experience contraction and feel of natural birth w/out going thru much pain, u may request to lesser the dose of epi. I put up the request however the dr. did not do as per requested ended up i was totally numb starting fm the lower portion of my body sigh.
Also it is advisable to opt for 'Confinement Menu' b4 u admit as u maybe too excited or too occupied by other happenings that u overlook on choosing 'Confinement Meal' tat's wat happen to me, the nurse asked my hb instd of me (as am in pain b4 epi), he conveyed the message to me but I was not in the right mood to picked hence ended up wif Jap meals.

Sunny, j foo, Char,
Thanks for your honestly, so V-loose is a truth not a myth. But i guess natural will be better in terms of healing and experiencing child birth? If not why so many woman still go for natural right??

Char, Dor,
tats really good to know what you girls went thru, i think its really brave to go without epi hehe. I will sure ask for it, but i think i dun wanna be totally numb, if not also hard to push. I make sure i get my hubby to ask for confinement meals, i think it include the soup that mrs wong mention. i love my soup.

Yes, go natural if you can. Tats what my hubby encouraged me to do when i was having my 1st bb. I was so afraid of pain that even my sisters think I won't be able to bear it but my hubby said I can, turned out I was much stronger than I thought.
No epi, just the strong determination that I don't want epi. + gas + pethidine and I made it. The instant relief when my bb popped out was so amazing. It's like the pain was so long to bear yet stopped suddenly when bb popped. It was double happiness.
And my frens who have always known me to be a kia si and troublesome person were amazed that I went thru w/o epi. hehehe...nothing's for sure.
So I agree with Char that Ivy, u don't think so much, just go in the labour room, can tahan then tahan, cannot then epi. Don't be scared, so many women have been thru it and survived and then to go thru it the 2nd time, 3rd... U will be one of them too...
As for the v-loose, I really don't feel any difference, after 2 kids, neither does my hubby hahaha maybe we are the not-so-sensitive type

samantha, u mentioned u have lobang for p/t cleaner. Is she good? Does a good job? Are u at home when she does the chores? I will probably need it next year when my maid's contract expires. then no more maid, yeah!

There's a certain risk that goes with C - it is after all an op. So majority of the gynaes don't suggest C unless absolutely necessary. Of course mums have a say too.

Going without epi really ain't THAT painful, the pain is there only during the last lap of contractions just before the birth. I found the stitching more painful than the contractions! Haha! So gynae had to numb the area cos I was squirming. Haha! My hubby wasn't with me during the entire process cos my daughter was with him, had to bring her along cos nobody else to take care of her (this was at 4am). He didn't get to see the first birth either cos that was a C so nobody's allowed in the operating theatre.

I went in to KK when my water bag burst but there were no contractions. So no pain. I was then admitted to the room where they monitored the contractions. It was very sparse to start off with and mild. And that took, to me, what seemed like eternity before I could feel the real thing coming. And each time the nurses would pop round asking "do you want epi?" And because I didn't feel much I'd say "don't need". This went on for quite a few times until the nurse said "this is your last chance, do you want epi?" And at that time I still felt things were bearable so the answer was still "no". After that, things really heated up, and I was really kicking myself "why did I say no?!" Haha! But that was really the last lap already. Nurses had to stop me from pushing any further cos gynae had just arrived and was still prepping up. And of course I was on the verge of screaming my head off. The next thing I saw him slowly walking in in his bermuda shorts and a polo t. I almost yelled at him cos he was strolling in! Haha! He took a look at me and said "guess you're ready." Haha! Yup, it was a fast one, and really the pain wasn't that long (even though at that point of time it did feel otherwise).

Dor, where did you give birth? Jap meals??!! I also want! Haha!

j foo,
LOL, so if u pregnant next time, u gonna ask for EPI haha. i think ur gynae so funny, its good that he is so calm.
And tink abt it.. ya hor, dor japanese got sashimi??

giant squid,
i think hor if my hubby say i v-loose liao.. i will say aiya why din urs grow? heheh, joking joking.. he better not see this.

j_foo,
Raffles hospi. Japs meal not recommended i still prefer oriental. The nxt day i changed to Confinement Meals and enjoyed every bit of it hee!

ivy,
btw, u shld avoid cold or plan water immediately after birth, coz tat's where ur confinement starts liao. if possible tk brewed red dates drinks instd.
also u may wanna let ur hb decide if he wants to witness the moment bby pops out fm ur V, some hbs i heard were traumatize after the incident tat they got turn off having sex.

dor,
i told my hubby, he must prepared. If he wanna go in with me, i ask him to just look at my face, dun look down there. I think my hubby scare of blood leh, i scare he faint.

....and mine always beside me din dare to look under 'there' and cut the umbilical cord as well. maybe he's afraid to make any mistake while cutting hee!
acutally is good to let hb in the labour ward so tat he'll noe how hard it is for us women to go thru that.

Giant Squid,

Yup. She is my current p/t cleaner. I am very critical about home cleanliness and thinks she does an OK job. But 2 mummies fed back that she’s good. Well, it’s personal opinion I guess.

Yes, I am at home when she comes. I don’t like the idea of leaving the keys to the cleaners.

sam,
now just hit 3rd trimester still got energy to joke. i think later on i back to lazy, sian and scare when going to delivery soon. lolz.

J_Foo, you mean after the 1st birth was c-section, your gynae allowed you to go for ntural for the 2nd one? Aiyo, my doctor was like ok just go straight for c-section since the first one is done under c-section. I was jut thinking whether I should try for natural but my doctor is like discouraging me saying once there is a wound, it is not so strong etc

Ivy, it's great that you are in a witty mood, helps you in your delivery process too and will have a joyful baby.

dor,
looks like giant squid's threshold is much much much higher than mine wor, she didn't even take the gas while i did. to me the gas helps to relax.

giant squid,
kowtow to you leh for going completely drug free!

Eunice, my gynae very pro natural, so after he took a look at the baby, the C area and the womb, he said this time can definitely go natural and he encouraged me to do so.

Ivy, the "how come yours didn't grow bigger" is a good one! Haha!

As for my 3rd one...won't have epi, or gas or anything. I know I can take it. Anyway, I really doubt I'd have a number 3. Firstly it ain't easy bringing up 3. Secondly, it ain't cheap and thirdly, I don't have my parents here to help. My MIL currently stays with me (she's looking to buy a place as she sold her old one), but she works. And seriously she can't handle the kids for more than half a day. Only once in a blue moon when really "bo bian" then I'll leave the kids with her.

Ivy, buahahaha...ok, I'll use your comment on him, provided he even noticed that I've become loose wuahahaha...
Char, paiseh, maybe I didn't explain myself clearly. What I meant was I made it w/o epi by (1) being very determined that I don want epi
(2) I used gas
(3) I used pethidine
I still lose to you lah hehehe...u know, S'pore is a very competitive place...

Wow, sharing on child birth. Let me add on:
I went without epi too for both deliveries. 2nd one was even more garang. Admitted already 5cm dilated and not much pain so bo chap. This time I managed to use gas correctly till at the end of it I ma bo to the extent nurses had to take it away from me to get me to push the baby out. Yes the last stage was very painful and I always scream...Ok I know mrs wong says cannot scream but then..Anyway it's a good experience.

Dun worry so much about v-area. Though I did hear that male gynaes will sew up smaller to ensure the same sexual pleasure, mine was a female and so far no complains. Yes do more kegels.

jfoo, really think of no. 3? I find 2 already a handful both in handling and finance. Geez...got help also can have problem like I don't see eye to eye with my mom eventhough she's so ever willing to come over the help me. Sorry still haven't quite visited your fridge.

Eunice, take good care...rest more and this phase will soon be over!

Babe, noooooooo, no number 3. My parents also say "better don't have number 3". I'm happy with 2 - a girl and a boy.

help help..

frantic help on good suggestions of 2 tiers cake for birthday for my son pls...

Awfully chocolate is my top choice if no other choice, but they are quoting me like $170 at least, which I thought with this price can pay for a 2 tier cake...

You can try Blue Magnolia, google their webpage. Alternatively you want to try my friend's cake? Not 3D or anything too fancy (though her piping is really pretty) but I find that her baking is pretty good and price reasonable, and she doesn't skimp on ingredients.

sunny,
tat time my hubby bought the chocolate cake from awfully chocolate for me, not nice leh, was bit dry... the chocolate not rich.

oh cakeglace.com quite nice cakes too.

Anyway honestly, i always goes to kids birthday, the taste of cake matters meh.. its for the kids, and look pretty cute can liao.. the kids just eat haha.

wah

thanks for the suggestions! Am looking at ecreative leh, told hb, I'm keen to get 2 tier type, but it's gonna be like $250 at least.

bakerzin kids also have cakes, much cheaper though, but I'm not sure nice or not.

Sunny, where got $162? The nicer designs that I'm seeing, so ex leh..

Yeah! Char, we're even! Yes, pethidine is the painkiller jab at the thigh.

Check out this website for cakes: http://www.7thmanna.com/
I tried the carrotcake (which is more special)for my girl's 1st mth and brandied cherry for my mother-in-law's BD. Think not bad. But I donno how high is your standard. Taste is a subjective thing. of coz, brandied cherry is out for kids BD, wait all the kids get drunk and high, more chaotic, haha.

sorry ryes the 162 i got from their order form. I think it's for the normal basic design. Not a decorated birthday cake which I agree is way EX .. did you see the 600plus dollar one??

Hi Sunny

Oh yes!! I saw the $600+ one...with that amt of money, I can go holiday man!

I'm keeping my budget to $250 and below nia, so far saw 2 designs, my top choice is the one above at $222+GST.

but look so plain leh