TOA PAYOH mummies

Orangeymum,

So you would intend to send your child to ascension N1 2011? By then, your child will be 2 yrs 4 mths right?

I'm still thinking lor, duno will be too young or not..tts the thing about having later part of the year babies.

Dolphingal, for me, IF I were to get a maid, I will only ask her to do housework. Bath, feed, play or anything to do with my kids, I will do it. I definitely wont feel good if my kids cry to look for maid instead of me.

Ryes,
i also not very keen to let maid take over my role as a mom.. .but of coz..need to help take care of my son.. as to give me a break at times..but NOT all the time..i do agree with u..it's quite sad if my son cry for the maid instead of me.. coz now with him starting solid..i can hardly eat properly..(shld i say i have not been eating properly after confinement)so with a maid, she can help me cook n clean etc..makes my life slightly easier n i can spend more time with my son.. =)

kin,
thnx for sharing your exp. yup yup will do a good confinement this time.
btw, what does D&C stand for?

i've not reached the time to have a maid yet but it's good to learn tips from mums who have exp with maids.

dolphingal
OIC.. hope you wl get a good maid then..
Hear all sorts of terrible things about maids....

About getting close to maid.
Need to lay down rules when maid starts.
Also the maid needs to be 'tze dong'... eg love the child, take care but not allowed to kiss the child..

My maid is ok, I consider her good, responsible, honest and hardworking.. cannot ask for more lah...

char
D&C stands for 'dilation and curettage'.
It's a procedure done to remove whatever is inside, and sorta 'clean' the womb.. (other mommies, correct me if I'm wrong.)

My grandma was also part of a twin, the other twin didn't survive.
While it's common thot that there needs to be a family history, since twins can be identical or fraternal, there needs no family history for identical twins...
Er, I actually conceived the month after my D&C...hehe.... mine are fraternal twins..
Twin pregnancies supposedly happen in only 3% of pregnancies...

orangeymom
My gals went to kiddyABC when they were 2.... near Braddell MRT...

<font color="ff0000">JTS</font>
Performances: DUCK AND DIVE! The Ugly Duckling &amp; The Frog Prince
Date: 29 Oct - 21 Nov, 09
Time:
10.30am, 3.00pm (Tues - Wed)
3.00pm, 7.30pm (Thurs - Sat)
11.00am, 5.00pm (Sun)
Venue: Drama Centre, 100 Victoria Street, National Library Building
Ticketing: Call SISTIC hotline: (65) 6348 5555 or visit www.sistic.com.sg or SISTIC Authorised Agents Islandwide

Performances: The Jungle Book
Date: 5 Nov – 13 Dec, 09
Time: Weekdays 10 am
Weekdays 7pm
Saturdays 11am, 2pm
Venue: DBS Arts Centre – Home of SRT

For more details: http://www.passioncard.com.sg/pa/PA-Arts/PACalendar-pg2.html

stylobb,
thnx for sharing about the D&amp;C and twins.

precious,
it just occurred to me that TPY central cc is so near my plc. maybe i could consider registering for the aerobics class......

Hi Golphingal,

To me it is very impt not to let the maid be too close to my child as now he is at the learning stage. If he is very close to the maid, not only will he rely on her but he will tend to pick up alot of things fr her also! Singlish &amp; bahasa indo.. I would want to educate my child myself.. I've frens whose kids refused to eat, sleep or do anything if the maid is not ard. I'm sure no mommy wld want to be in that situation right?

I don't like my maid to get close to other maids as well cos I don't want her to be poison by other maids. When they mix together, they tend to gossip, compare their salary, work load, employers etc... Slowly, u will see their pattern come out liao.. They might also pick up bad habbits. In other words, I try to keep her as "pure" as possible so as to protect my family.. Juz my 2 cents worth..

Char, you better rest yourself well. Aerobics class...maybe too taxing esp after what you've just been thru?

Pooh, should let our girls meet up and with Janice's gal as well, all the same age.

Now time to seriously think about where to send my little boy next year, or perhaps after Sept hol. He'll be turning 3 next year so about time.

Char,StyloBB correct,a minor surgery. Depending on how advanced the failed pregnancy is, D &amp; C will be done.

On the topic of maids, before my no. 2 came and until she was 1 yr old, I had a change of 3 maids. I tried Philip.(Eucated w exp), tried Indon(no exp), tried Philipp(w no exp). I had really bad experiences with all of them. I was so mentally tired dealing with them, so gave up after the 3rd one failed on me. What Precious, Christine and StyloBB say are ALL good advice.
For me, I needed to rely on my maid to cook and clean, as well as to look after my no.2 (newborn then)when I teach at home. She also walked my no.1 to kindergarten everyday....

In the end, so much problems.... Can I check with you mummies, do you all encounter problems with your husbands when there is a maid in the home??? I get blamed when the maid does the wrong thing,and somehow, our r/s gets worse. On top of that, one of the maids actually tried to frame me and played politics with me towards my husband... At the end of 3 yrs, I had enough, and took care of everything on my own. Yes, I can barely cope, can barely cook everyday but I get along each day. Occasionally, my own mum helps me.
Having a maid is like you being a boss to a one-man company, aka the maid is yr only employee... I believe that there are many good and capable maids, just that I've not met any.... I hope to have another child, but I guess its kinda dificult now, with no other help.

j_foo,
the aerobics class starts in late sep. i should be fine by then.

kin,
aiyo, some maids really create trouble at home wan. it's really luck to have a good maid. if u dun have time to cook then perhaps u may want to consider dinner delivery? lunch just da bao? that's wat i do,lunch i buy back and share with my gal and dinner is delivered. this way i just attend to my gal &amp; the household chores. toilet cleaning, i leave to my hb...hee hee!

i want to eat dessert....wat can i eat?

thanks all mummies for sharing the topics on maid.. i'm still hunting.. =)
will keep u gals posted once i choose my maid.. hehe.. oh ya.. any advise on nationality ah?
m tinking more of fil.. any comments?

Kin,
of coz having a maid has pros n cons.. really depend on luck.. so i'm praying very hard to get a good one.. imagine tis timing i havent eaten.. haiz.. just finish cooking only.. gg to have dinner.. =)

Char, I would think something like sweet potato with ginger should be alright?

Dolphingal, personally I reckon is how you prioritise and make time for things that are important. I have two kids no maid, though a part time helper comes in to do bits and pieces once a week. Meals aren't always "3 veg 1 soup" type but I make sure there's at least a good soup on the table (cos for me I think that's the "foundation"). And I make simple dishes most of the time. As much as I can I'll do everything in a pot. Do I spend all my time with the kids? No. There are times where I have to get chores done, so that's when the kids play by themselves - whether it's to play together, or if the older one is at school then younger one will have to entertain himself.

Well, that's how I manage. I use to gobble up my food (this I have to admit I still do at times) or get all my timetable mixed up, but now I've learnt to juggle things and know what my priority is.

<font color="ff0000">gal.dolphin</font>
Currently, they just launched a new model which is suitable up to 4yrs old. Saw it on Young Parents Magazine August Issue.

char

you take care k. heheh now that things are more settled at home. you can seriously look to me bugging you already!

jfoo

thanks for passing me the cloth diapers! heheh my boy is now able to remove the diapers and go to the toilet to pee!

maid issues .. sometimes really depend on luck. I realise that no matter how hard you train or how to prevent her to mix with other maids, her attitude may still change. Like recently my 8 months maid, has changed from good to bad, getting rude and extremely forgetful. I'm not sure if its because her bond is going to finish tat is y the performance also start to lag. Does mummies here have similar experience? By the way, do you allow your maid to cook?

hey ladies...

an update : rac is recovering frm her infection slowly, but still needs to improve on her breathing. guess her stay at ICU will still continue for a while. really wish she can move to normal ward soon. partly cos it means she is better and preparing for discharge, also cos i cant sleep in the ICU visitor's lounge anymore, its like sub zero temp there! i'm wearing 3 jackets, 2 of which are fleece one, winter socks, cover with fleece blanket, and using a heat pad, and yet i can oni last 2 hrs max, and hv to go outside to "thaw". i gave up at 4am last nite, took my chair n went to sleep at the corridor, like a homeless refuge like tat. ha!

re maid issues : i totally its luck. i havent had much luck, and i have more than 10 maids over 5 years. there are also periods where i give up and manage on my own, but for my case, i really need a maid cos i still need to clean my parents' place and cook for them. if no maid, i'm dead beat all the time, and barely got strength or time for my ger or hubby, since i have no help.

<font color="ff0000">are</font>
Continue to pray. She is always being protected.
Poor u, having insufficient sleep and not having a good place to rest. You are a great mummy!

<font color="ff0000">janice</font>
Yes, I do allow my maid to cook. She plans the daily food menu and does marketing within the budget given.

Hi are, good to know she is recovering well. You must take more tonics leh .. and don't take heaty stuff .. else u will fall sick easily. I can understand its really torturing staying in the hospital.

Hi Precious .. your maid good leh, can help to lessen your load. Where do u get her from? My maid just cause another injury to my boy
She left behind a screwdriver on my boy's cooking toyset and he cut himself, 0.5cm to the eye. Now he look like those crooks with a scratch across the eye

<font color="ff0000">janice</font>
Had posted the agency details on the earlier post.
Oh dear, must tell your maid not to do anything dangerous when the child is around.

Janice,
Yes, mindchamps called me to make payment. I told them to let me know once they finalise the place before I make any payment to reserve. They told me it will be within Toa Payoh but not exactly sure where it is.

Yes, last time, I used to let my maid to cook. Actually, one impt factor is to pray. This maid really loves my child. She will consider my child's interest and wakes up in the middle of the nite to take care of him when he is sick. She is also diligent and does housework properly. Of course there are some not so good points like stubborness etc but I think overrall, I had a good maid. The problem is my son is getting so close to her that he doesn't really need his parents. That's why I chose to quit my job and reconnect with my kid after one year.

jfoo,
u r rite on prioritizing.. sad to say.. mabe i m not good with that management hence no time for myself.. after 8mths + of looking after my boy alone n he is still BF w direct latching.. hence sometimes i can spent e whole afternoon latching him to zz n nothing done!it will be easier if he is older but not now. me n hub already decided tat we shld give it a try.. coz u never try u never know.

Precious,
wat model is that?can share?i saw on at rob sale!thinking of getting it.. coz it can sit up to 4 yrs old! =)looks good too.. hehe..

are, precious and stylobb,
thanks for maid agency contact.i'm looking for them one by one already.. hopefully can settle for one by end of this month! =)

thanks all mummies for your advise.. i'm wondering those fresh maid u gals mentioned, is it that they never work in singapore before or totally never work as maid before?coz like so many versions from the agent.. pls advise.. thanks ya!

are,
i'm sure rachel will recover soon!!!=)take care ya!

Hey elijah's mum!

You are giving away your FBM? Can I have them? Dont know if you are staying anywhere nearby TPY central.

Hi Eunice .. sounds very strange leh. I went down on last thursday. The counter lady told me they have not finalised any new branch in Toa Payoh / Bishan area. I ask them if they have any plan to open another one here .. she said don't think so, as no available places now. She told me the nearest will be the one in Lavender, and ask me if I'm keen to go there.

dolphingal
I think good maids are an exception, and not the norm.
You just have to decide what level of tolerance you can accept from a maid and how much you expect her to do.
Some maids really cannot make it, don't know what their purpose is to work here, heart is not here.
Most will start off v good, everything also 'Yes, Mom' but later on, who knows? I hear so many horror stories from my gfs..

Just have to see how much you can take.

But some employers also expect too much from maid, work whole day w/o adequate food and rest. Expect maid to be on call 24/7... even machines also need to be switched off and rest, right?

Frankly, if given a choice, we all don't want maids.

You get a good one, you will wanna keep her, and your life will be made easier as you have time with the kids, and you don't need to do housework.
Get a bad one, and it's trouble all the way!

eunice,
mindchamps called me last wk and tld me if am interested to reg my gal at their new branch Farrer Rd area (if i rem correctly). tld them its too far liao. is better if u find out fm them the exact location b4 making any payment.

My excolleague sent her daughter to TPY Mindchamps and had a bad experience there hence she withdrew her out of there.

Are,
You are really a great mummy. Not everyone can go thru tat. Do take care of yourself at the same time.

Dolphingal,
Good luck to your maid hunting.
My advice if possible dun leave your maid alone wif ur boy when no one is at home, u'll never noe wat she'll do to him especially Sky is now at a vulnerable age still dun noe how to tell u if the maid is treating him right.
You may consider installing a cctv it cld be either on display purpose to warn the maid or functioning.

Are, lol u are experiencing winter?

good to hear so much abt maids from all of you. My sister has 3 kids, and the maid takes care of the youngest son.. in a way, the youngest son spend more time with maid, but my sis do not have a choice, her time is split between work, the 2 kids already. I tink whatever it is, the kid will grow up fine.

mummies..any post natal massage lady to recommmend? cos my previous massage lady is going on her pilgrimage during my due date. Thks.

be@ns, i intend to use http://jamumassage.com/ but they are more expensive so i havent pay yet.

BTW that day at hdb hub.. so many parents with kids, my hubby end up press the lift for them, and no one even say thank u.. sigh, singaporeans really like to treat everyone like their own lift operator.

janice... on one hand, i shouldnt take heaty cos not enuff sleep and all will make me sick, but on the other hand, i need the "heat" to counter the "winter"! so v funnie diet now... eat heaty things, then drink cooling stuff... sigh...

i found a corner yesterday that is slightly warmer so i could sleep better with juz 2 jackets, so hopefully can tahan a few more days till rac is moved to normal ward. else, hubby will hv to take over night shift liao...

jfoo... thanx for offering to help, but i'm not doing much myself either! everyday juz walk in and out of the ward to see rac sleep, then "harass" the nurses by asking loads of qns on meds, procedures, read newspapers/mags, watch tv. sigh... we used to pull our hair out at rac waking up in the middle of the nite, now we can't wait for her to wake up and play.

thanx for all encouragement. am sure i will gain weight instead of lose weight cos am piling on loads of food and rest as and when i can to "stock up energy". ha!

are,
dun mind wat op did rachel go for?=)

be@ns,
u can try my massage lady Mdm Leha - 90181705. she is very nice lady n with good hands and her charges is reasonable - $45 n always give extra massage w/o extra charge. =)u can consider. just mentioned my name when u call her. =)

beans,

I'm using mdm rokiah last time, then her staff mdm sharifah did for me during my 2nd confinement.

Dolphingal, I think I used mdm leha before for pre natal massage, not sure if is the same lady. But the mdm that I used, did quite roughly for me and even massage my tummy which I tot they arent suppose to do it...

Dor, thanks. Have told them to confirm it's only in Toa Payoh then I will make payment. But now plans gotta change again.

Janice, I thot Mindchamps has a franchise in Bishan? They are supposed to be opened in Jun this year leh.

Are, sleep more, eat more, most impt of all, may your heart be filled with peace knowing that everything is in control.

precious,
Bishan Montessori Playgroup is at bishan? not in our estate?

ryes,
ya hor, jan 2011 she will only be 2yrs 4mth.. can join in like july 2011, later term like tat 1?

stylobb
where exactly is kiddyabc? i see their website only put TPY but no address..

orangeymum (orangeymum) : my gal also sep 08 baby
i also intend to send her to playgroup soon leh coz she has nothing to do at home everyday except ransack my living room! what activity do u do with ur gal?

ryes,

not sure if mdm leha is the same person we are talking abt i had her for post natal. she is good coz not only she does the tummy she also helps me do whole body and when i got stiff neck, she will also help me relief n hence i really sleep better.. =)

Dor,
I understand your concern even my PIL also asked me not to learn sky alone with the maid.. well.. basically now her role is help me lighten my work, taking care of sky is still my role.. coz i really find it hard to do all.. i've tried PT maid before n coz it's hourly base hence some will take A LONG time to finish then claim OT lor.. haiz.. then they also dun care..anyhow do.. that's y i'm not keen for PT maid..

wah...everyone is talking abt sending bb to playgrp..hmm.. tink i better tink also..hehe..
btw how old then can send bb to playgroup ah?

rlrenn,

oh we same, sep08 baby.. hehe
my bb goes to kindermusik on monday and gymboree on wednesdays. then other days i bring her swimming, or to the garden, park..
today i just brought her to the library to borrow books..
i keep her in a playayrd so she cant ransack my hse but my hse is a dangerzone so i dun let her crawl freely so have to go out lor..
but playgroup start from 18mths, prior to 18 mths are infantcare or parent/child programmes.. i dunna parent/child programmes from 18mths cos i'm gg back to work when she is 20mths and i seen those ppl who ask their helper to attend lessons with the kids. in the end, those helpers all sit in 1 corner n chit chat, nv follow teacher's instruction 1..
u sahm?

Hi Orangeymum

I was also thinking duno can join mid year type or not lor, I think maybe cannot, but can always try luck to check.

dolphingal,
u shldnt pay your pt maid OT if she cant finnish the chores within the given time, unless on tat particular day u have more then usual chores for her to do. she shld be able to tell u if she can finnish the work within the time given some maid try to drag in order to get OT but u shld be able to tell if she can manage since u r quite hands on too. Work wise, cant expect much fm pt maid or even a full time maid.

orangeymum : yes im also sahm. like u, also plan to go back to work when she is 18mths. in fact, im starting to look for job nw. do u plan to put her in childcare when u return to work? where is kindermusik and gymboree and what class is that? i think im bad mum, seldom bring her out to garden / park. she only goes to ntuc / hub shopping with me daily. other times, we are at hm and i will do my own stuff and she will play on her own.. hehe.. must start to plan some activities for her liao..

<font color="ff0000">Be@ns</font>
You may call Yanti @ 96175345. I just had mine 5 sessions of post natal massage with her last week. Her charges is $50 per hr. She also provides normal massage/pre-natal massage.

<font color="ff0000">orangeymum</font>
Yes, it is located at Bishan.

rlrenn,
I intend to let her go playgroup for 2-3hours tat kind. Childcare I scared too taxing for her, long hours.. I do have a helper to take care of her but I dunna my bb to be with the helper for so long hours. So I tot playgroup will be ideal.
Gymboree n Kindermusik are schools at Tanglin Mall. She attends baby gym classes at Gymboree, each session abt 45mins, music class at Kindermusik also 45mins. I wanna expose her 1st cos I'm afraid next time when 2yrs go playgroup or school, the separation anxiety will be bad..
If you dunno wat to do with her, I think reading is easiest? Just go library borrow board books to just let her have the habit of flipping books.. She can also see pictures..

Precious,
Thanks but Bishan is too far for me also. I hope to find those 18mths playgroup within walking distance 1 but pcf must wait till 3yrs old..