TOA PAYOH mummies

btw mummies...let me know anyone keen to have customised pinata for their kiddos parties. I have the contact.

after much consideration, i've decided to get a maid..can mummies here advise.. wat are some of the things i need to pay attention to before engaging maid agency?or any mummies have any good maid agency to recommend?tks alot..

are,
hope ur gal's op is successful..

Precious,
u done with confinement?=)who is helping u?=)

hey all... am home for a good nite's sleep to gear up for wat's to come so here's a brief update of wat has happened.

rachael's op was twice as long as expected as we were told it would end about 1pm. and when the time passed the 7th hour, i was literally in tears as we did not noe why there was a delay. when she finally emerged, the doctors told us that when they were done with what they initially wanted to do, they discovered another problem so had to do another set of procedures, so it was literally two operations, thus the long time.

she is doing pretty ok at the moment, but the next few days will be critical as she is slowly weaned off painkillers, meds and start to breathe on her own.

i will come in here with updates as and when i can, and when mac's PC is avail. thanx once again for all the well wishes.

saw a few posts randomly...

char... sorry to hear about your news. but like wat i told you in the email, some things are just meant to be. but do take care of yourself regardless of the outcome.

dolphin... contact my agent shirley at 63447665. v nice and helpful lady.

jfoo... thanx for helping me update here, and congrats on your ger getting in PC.

Hi Gal dolphine, before u engage the agency, ask a copy of their contract to read thru. Check on items like: the guarantee period? can you return the maid who work less than a month? Need to pay for food and lodging fees if you return the maid? What happen if the maid is not transferred within 14 days, do u or the agent pay for her ticket home? What is the amount of fees you need to pay for exchanging another maid? Are you able to get the full refund if you don't want the maid?

Choose an agency that is reputable and has good bz. If the bz is good, then you can transferred your maid if not suitable easily. You can checking the MOM website on the retention rate of the maid agency and if the agency has any penalty points.

Choosing a maid is like hitting a jackpot. Perhaps my luck with maids has not been very good, so exchange policies is very impt to me when choosing an agency.

If you can find a recommended agent that is reputable to give good recommendations and after sales service, then it will be very good

I've engaged my from an agency in toa Payoh. I won't recommend to you cos the service is no good.

Good luck

Hey Are, have a good rest ...

I will be going down to KKH again tomorrow, see if got chance to meet up with you there.

Take care! Will continue to pray for her speedy recovery.

Are, hang in there...Your girl will be fine.

Dolphingal, how come engaging maid? You going back to workforce?

hi Janice,
thank u so much for the information!! it's super useful..

Ryes,
not gg back to wrk..feels tat i'm neglecting my son.. hence decided to get a helper... coz me spending too much time on either housewrk or cooking. haiz.(or mabe i cant manage my time well)

mummies any other good agency?thanks ya!

Any mummies here selling away enfapro A+ bo?

Dolphingal, it is good to have a helper. Want to consider those partime helpers? You know like come twice or thrice a week for 4 hrs?

My mum engaged maid from the TPY center, forgot the name though. My gf engages and has recommended all her gfs to her maid agency. She got give me contact before, that time considering, but didnt. IF you keen, I can ask.

din hv time to come in for a few days only and the thread move so fast..

Hi Precious, congratulations on your new bundle of joy..

Hi Jfoo, am happy for you and your gal.. PC is a good sch & near to our place.. I have to sign up for Parent volunteer next year in order to have a better chance for R to get into the sch in 2013, altho we stay juz opposite!

Hi Are, pls be strong for your gal. hope that she will recover very soon..

Hi Char, u take care too.. update us again aft u visit the gynae again.

Hi golphingal, I was strongly against having a maid initially bcos I don't like stranger in the house and privacy issue but my hb managed to convince me. That was 2 years ago. We juz renewed another 2 years contract with the existing maid cos I feel that I can really spend alot more time with my son with the maid helping me with the hsework.. My advice is to get a maid that's totally new so u can train her to do things exactly your way. Rather than get one with experience who will always like to do things their own way or follow the previous employer. It might be a bit tedious at first but aft she knows your expectation, it will be very easy. Secondly, don't let her be too close to your child or other maids.. This is very important..

I am also joining the grp of Ascension mommies
my son will be in N2 2nd session next year. I've already made payment for the deposit..

are & rachel,
加油!加油!

dolphingal,
your ah lau got a job liao?
like ryes mentioned perhaps you cld consider hiring a part time cleaner to do your hse chores it really makes a diff. u can leave ur ironing, washing of toilets when she comes, nt much chores left for u except cooking and perhaps occasionally moping the flr.
currently am hving a pt cleaner, considering I am working, am still able to squeeze some quality time out to spend wif my gal whenever am back fm work.

Mummies of babies year 2008. Do you know if you are keen to register ur child for ascension 2011, enrolment is next year april? So fast right???

i'm contemplating to "retain" my son at home till he is 4 to go N2 leh, coz he's end of year bb...if he joins the 3 yrs old, he will just be 2 yrs 2mths in Jan 2011...

dolphingal, u leh? when will u send boy to sch?

Christine, you're guaranteed a place if you join as PV, get in there soon, think it's 3 yrs or even 4 before R enters P1 otherwise they'll just say "enough PVs already".

ryes,

so fast must register? hmm i think i better remember to register in april. think ascension is more economical, after calculating, dun think will be able to send my bb to shaws..

mummies have any recommendations for playgroup in tpy for 18 mths onwards? now my bb is 12 mths.. so doing some early research..

orangeymum...chelsea born in 2008? my boy too...he's an april child. Now also considering playschool for him. As i'm a FTWM, probably let him attend enrichment classes during the wkends.
Mummies, any comments on Mindchamp?

be@ns, Mindchamp is my top choice haha .. very nice environment and teachers are nice. If you don't mind the aircon environment, and the high fees, it should be a very good choice. Waiting list is super long ...

Hello Ascension mummies ... just receive the letter today and have called the school to request to put on morning class wait list while I register for session 2 first. Most likely I will be putting the boys up on the school bus as I have logistic issues on who to fetch the kids.

My orientation is on 16 Oct 2009, any mummies keen to meet up n go together?

Hello .. just curious how much do you pay for a part time maid? I thinking of cutting cost by engaging a part time maid instead but my friends said full time is cheaper.

wow..just called up mindchamps..goodness, the waitlist is like 20++ for next yr class for childcare services! Very very slim chance then.
darn...

Hi gal dolphine .. forgot to add .. better to get a new maid cos experienced maid are all bullshit. My indonesian maid is experienced and I'm paying her higher pay, however she is equally dumb and quality of work is as poor as fresh maid. My water bill, electricity bill and all the household groceries went up almost 50% due to misuse by the maid. SinceI'm not working now, seriously need to cut cost and prob will be fired the maid.

Hehe .. if given a choice, I will not want to have a maid .. cos they will shorten my lifespan. My twins came out early also due to one very dumb maid I had then.

<font color="ff0000">Gal.Dolphin</font>
My hb and my helper are helping me.
My agency is Recruit Asia, located at Golden Landmark Shopping Centre. She is very responsible as she is the owner of the agency. Agency fee is below $400. Transfer maid is below $200 for agency fee. Maid agency ranges from $350 - $450 (depending on experience), and levy fee is $170 per month. She knows her maids well, as she is the one who interviews them when she goes back to her office in Philippines. Her contact is 68373879, Ms Teena. So far, two of my friends hired their maids from this agency, and they have no issue. Btw, if your maid were to request off day, you can send her to the agency on weekly/monthly gathering (if you are worried, she might mix the wrong company if she were to go out by herself). Yes, FT maid is much cheaper, but lack of privacy... keke!

hey Jfoo
Im here!!!! Was pretty busy and fell sick last week...hence MIA for awhile. Congrats tat ur gal gets into PC. Mayb our gals will be classmates ya

Sotong, Part time per hr range from $10 to $12 and min. 4 hrs per session. I think it is more visible to have full time helper as u have 3 kids?

be@ns,my younger gal is in Mindchamps. She is really enjoying herself in the sch!

be@ns,
mindchamps r famous for their enrichment classes however, childcare service is a ? btw, the food they r providing to tods r catered food due to space constrain they do not have own pantry/kitchen.

Janice,
i had tried a few namely indon, mainland, Burmese the most ex is $12.50/hr and cheapest is $9/hr all direct hire. All of them worked for 3hrs. Some may request 4hrs in order to justify their trip.

gal.dolphin

y dnt u try out part time helper 1st be4 u make decision to get a domestic helper??
Having a full time helper can help here and there abit but dnt forget u need lots of patient and time to teach
besides the salary, levy, and If maid sick often, medical bill !!! not to scare u but its gd to have a estimation when getting a helper.

having a gd maid needs lots of Luck to me!

ic...seems the youngest they (mindchamps)take in for enrichment classes are for P1?
anyone send their kids to GUG?

Dor
u are right abt the meals catering coz i think they not allow to cook. so far, my gal din complain on the food..they serve soup daily and my gal is a soup lover!! kekeke

Cirr wise,they do update the parents every fortnight of what they been doing

MC used to have enrichment for Kinder but since they started this preschool, the youngest enrichment classes are for P1 onwards

bens,
i would highly recommend GUG, however as mentioned in previous post u need to get into a popular or so call good class as the TRs or Trainers play an important role to motivate and control the class. u may try ur luck and chk wif the receptionist which tr is more popular in way. As far as i noe GUG has 2 branches, United Sq and SUNTEC. SUNTEC is rather new hence environment and facilities r better if u r chking out SUNTEC look for debbie the receptionist (is she's still there) she's qutie helpful and able to gv u some tips.

Step Aerobics is cancelled becos the trainer, due to some personal reasons, could not conduct the new class. Hence I signed up Cardop Sculpt at TPY Central CC, starting date on 23 Sept, every Wed, 7pm - 8pm. Limited slots, anyone who is keen to join, must quickly register :p

thnx mummies for your support &amp; prayers. the last scan today showed no sign of life and in fact showed sign that my body is rejecting it. hence fetus was removed. i'm resting at home and will be going thru 2 weeks of confinement as insisted by my mum so gotta guai guai stay at home at strengthen up.

are,
you're right, there is a reason for watever happens and thankfully i'm taking this news pretty well.

thnx mummies. will definitely rest well and get well too.

ivy,
yeah i'm doing a confinement of 2wks. my mum insisted lor. and will also be doing massages to strengthen the body too. now my womb area and lower back feels weak &amp; tired. just now while walking home (cos gynae is jus opp my blk) feel like wanna faint, jia lat so weak now.

galdolphin
I think the mummies' suggestion that you try part-timer helper is good.
I pmed you my agency's contact.

IF the maid is good and reliable, makes one's life easier. If not, adds to the stress.

are
You and rach take care yeah... Good to read your update.

char
Please take care, rest and do the mini confinement.
FYI my case was like yours... heartbeat at 6 weeks, none at 8 weeks, no bleeding, just an empty sac. So I went for D&amp;C.
Gynae said it prob. was not developing normally hence the body dispelled of it naturally.
THis was before my twin gals came along.

janice
When did your twin boys come out? Really caused by maid to pop earlier?

They will be N1, right?
My twin gals N2, so will be different date for orientation.

janice/beans/pooh/dor
Mindchamp enrichment classes are at the Hub??

So, is Mindchamps a kindy??? or an enrichment centre? I I can't quite make out what it is from the website.

Anyone has boys coming to 3.5-4 yrs??

Char, must do lah, get ur body/health into good shape.

Mindchamp started by this guy call david chiem, it use to be call other names when im doing video for them. It use to be a enrichment centre, teaching kids confidence, interaction etc. Only recent years they started preschool/childcare.

stylobb,
thnx. ic. woah after that u kena twins ah?! lost one but when try again kena 2. haha! blessing in disguise? seriously i scared to get twins cos i dun think i can cope leh and there may be some slight chance cos my maternal grandma is a twin. scary!!

Dor,
yup.now he is wrking as freelance.. so no medical benefits/leave etc.. gt wrk then gt $$ no wrk no $$.

Janice,
thanks alot for the input.. really appreciate it.

i do agree that having a PT maid is better more privacy.... but i have weigh all the pros and cons..
having a FT maid, means no privacy and may have potiential pros.. but but.. also means i can also eat properly, spend more time with my bb, go out n wrk part time...

stylobb,
thanks for the contact, i'll contact the agent tomolo.. haiz.. no time today... coz spent whole afternoon w my boy... haiz.. din even take proper bf n lunch.. haiz..

Char, take care. Do a good confinement.

Janice, the waiting list so long uh. last month, they call me leh to say there is a vacancy and ask me to make payment but the centre is not at the current site. So I ask them where is it exactly and the lady can't tell me. They will call me again when it's finalised. But I heard some negative feedback from other mums with younger kids., Seems that feedback for Mindchamps is better for older kids.

Someone asked about maid agency. I got my maid from Joy Employment. Can get their contact via telephone directory. Got the number from newspapers when I was looking for one two years ago. Actually, the owner is pretty good. Even though the contract mentioned that we have to pay a sum of money per day if we send the maid back, she is flexible to waive it off. Like in my case, when I stop work and call her to find out about bringing the maid over, she says no need to pay the food and lodging. She also helps me to bring maid to MOM for interview.

beans,

ya chelsia is a sep 08 baby, now looking for those 18mth onwards playgroup. but 3 yrs old shud be gg ascension cos i shud be moving to Boon keng when my new flat is ready. Ascension is also near to my new place..

precious,
did u send ur gal to any playgroups before she go nursery?

ryes,

i havent decided where to send my son.. havent got time to do research yet.. haiz.. but mabe will consider ascension bah.. any good recommendation?hehe

Hi Char,
Rest well yah. I also had the same experience when my preg also had no heart beat, but detected at 11 wks. So had to do D &amp; C, and really, its impactful on the body. 2 wk Confinement is worth it and so is the massage. Hugs to you....

<font color="ff0000">orangeymum</font>
She was in Bishan Montessori Playgroup when she was 18-30mths.
Due to the long term convenience, I put her in PCF when she was 30mths, just 5mins from my block.

<font color="ff0000">Gal.Dolphin</font>
I do agree with Christine about getting a "totally new" maid, unless she is strongly recommended as according to your needs/requirement.

About not to let the maid get too close.
For me, I won't allow my children to sleep together with the maid.
She should have a good night rest, after a whole day of doing housechores (takes up lots of physical effort)
I heard some cases when the child is so close with the maid, then whenever she is not around at home, the child would cry/look for her etc.
Most important, the maid must always understand the 'safety of the child comes first", the rest is secondary. Etc: the maid should not mop the floor when the child is walking around.

Do prepare a schedule for your maid and rules &amp; regulations before she starts work. It does help her to plan her day, and understand your expectations.