TOA PAYOH mummies

Hey janice

Aiyo, tell u hor, u will think I'm so KS. My girl is only gg to P1 in 2014, but I'm checking out the history, so to plan my route if I sld PV, sld join RC or whatever.

PC is out of my mind, coz I'm staying 1-2km and already those within 1km have to ballot.

Hence, most ideal to my place is Hong Wen, less than 1km. But also had to ballot..97 seats vs 90 seats.

Precious, my god, 12 hrs... cham... looks like i got to be mentally prepared..

Be@ns, the 50% for all items. I see bed sheets also 50% leh. The sofa bed/foldable mattress got a few model. Got children size, got thin tilam kind, i got the bigger one 120cm width.

The thin and children one i think can fit into back of car with seats down and take home urself. The one i got, if i bring down my honda jazz back seat, i think can squeeze in. BUT they say cannot take home myself, this one has to be made and delivery. So die die i must pay for the delivery fees.

precious,
12hrs during sha's time...woah that's long. did u do more walking this time round? heard that walking a lot helps in having shorter labour time. it kindda worked for me as i walked quite a lot 3days b4 i delivered then next day started having contractions. whole delivery process took about 5hrs, thank God. re: maternity clothes, thanks for offering but u're so slim, i highly doubt i can fit into your clothes wor.

ryes,
u're so hardworking leh, searching for pri sch for your gal. think my gal also goes to P1 at 2014 and i'm still so blur about all these. do share with me wat u know hor.

Hey Precious, congrats! Have been meaning to sms you but I keep forgetting after messing around with other things! Seriously, age is catching up!

Ryes, Marymount Convent is apparently a good school. My friend's cousin went there. Sis-in-law's cousins went there too. Quite a number of girls from there end up at RJ. This school may well be my 2nd choice in phase 2C supplementary if things don't go according to plan at Pei Chun. Ideally I prefer PC, not because it's a "better" school but because of distance. PC is within walking distance but Marymount isn't. And goodness gracious, your girl will only be going P1 in 2014, now is not even 2010 yet!!! Haha!

Pooh, are you still in the thread? Your girl's going P1 next yr too right?

ivy,
i'm ok thanks. still feel nauseous whole day but bearable lah. think it's all in the mind. i noticed if i'm outside i tend to feel less nauseous maybe becos of the distractions. last night i could almost finish the whole bowl of tori katsu don for dinner at kou fu. i noticed that i can accept japanese food but not spicy food for now whc i love. last gynae visit the EDD was mid mar, in fact same date as my gal's bday but becos of the slow growth can't confirm EDD yet. could even be late mar. next scan will be next tues and i hope there will be some good news.

re: constipation, try taking prune juice bah, it helps with constipation. and as u know,take more fruits and veg and drink more water. aiyo i better stop, i beginning to sound lor soh.

no u not lor sor lah, i shld be nag cos im such a bad mom to be, not taking care of myself well, am going to start taking prunes and drink more water.

i was so into spicy food ever since pregnant, its good that you are eating well, cos i couldnt eat for the 1st trimester. Take good care ya.

Char, yes, your girl, Dor's and mine will be in P1 2014.

Jcfoo, yeah, I read up abt marymount, seems like a good girls sch too, but then it is 2km away from my place leh..sob sob...

Haha, I expected that reaction fr some parents. You know, one have to think far. If I am planning to join some huey guan, one have to be member for at least 4 years before can qualify to get some recommendation to get into the schs related.

To be grassroot leader, must be active for duno how long. and 2 yrs prior to 2014, I have to start PV at the choice sch if I am keen. So it is never too early to start planning now...

Hello TP Mummies,

Any comments / experience with Toa Payoh Methodist Kindergarten?

The one at Lorong 2 and is currently under renovation.

Please give some feedback. Thank you.

Ivy

Spring maternity is having some baby fair, go and take a look if you are keen.

Maclaren triumph gg at $168 on offer..limited

Janice

YOur boys are good! Now my boy cry just to show. Once I left the school, he stopped crying, washed his hands and did his work.

Understand that teacher Virgina is only more active and involved this year. Previously, the teacher assistant was teacher Agnes. The other teacher is the chinese teacher - zhuo lao shi. She is newly recruited and started with Liz like only in May. it was good arrangement for me, if not, I have to source some chinese programs for my kid. I think there are some fixed days where chinese is taught and other days, english, maths, cultural stuff....

Went to check out newton life kinddy, pretty strong in their mandarin program, now thinking whether I should send my kid to Newton life instead. But then the kinddy is also very full, on the waiting list....

Has any of you received the letter from ascension kinddy yet?

Workio

I have heard mixed comments on TP Methodist Kinddy. SOme say that teachers are not experienced and fierce. But some say the teachers are good and their kids enjoy the school. One such comment came from a parent who sent the kid to GUG kinddy initially but droped out cos the kid kept crying. SO no choice just put the kid in TP methodist kinddy., and he is doing well and having fun there to the extent of lookking forward to attending school. So I think it really depends on the teacher allocated to the class. For the younger class, seems the older teachers are in charge

Eunice - thanks for your reply. I am considering this school for my child but got confused with the "extreme" comments from the forum. The older teachers whom you mention for the younger classes are supposed to be more experienced ???

<font color="ff0000">Char</font>
I can't stop myself for not being active... keke!
Now, though it is the confinement period, I am already out for shopping/dinner/bringing my girl to sch etc.
One good thing about me, I heal very fast (thank God).
Can go toilet myself after I delivered.
For #1, I walked a lot, almost full-term I was out for shopping almost every day!
For #2, still busy bringing my daughter out for play till week 38+ (by then, tummy was too big to walk around, and felt tired easily).

ivy,
i was wrong, tonight my appetite was poor, jap food also not appealing to me. i guess it depends on each day how i feel. some days ok, most days lousy. i wonder how long this is gonna last. the last time i went for gynae check up i lost 1kg. my gal's time i lost more cos like u couldn't eat anything during 1st tri but the weight piled back on when the MS ended. hope the prunes work for you.

dor/ryes,
wonder if by then our gals will be in same pri sch....

precious,
steady lah, that's good that you could walk about this time but do take time to rest.
confinement is a time to let your body rest and recover if not when old liao then feel the consequences. aiyo i sound like old auntie talking, haha! cos my confinement wasn't done properly and i hope 2nd time will be better. who is helping u during your confinement now?

Precious,

thanks for the suggestion. will pop by this wkend to do it!!! cheers, hope u r coping well with 2 kiddy.. how's ur gal taking with his new bro?

Ryes,
i will go spring maternity to see!!!!!

cg
iya, must rest lah..dun walk ard too much for this mth...the womb tends to drop lower more easily at this time cos of gravity too.

Char, 2nd time muz do well. Pu back all that you lost in the first one.

Precious, you so fast go out? Thot will get sick easily? So what good plans have you made?

Eunice, did you have to put registration fee for Newton life? Heehee...yupz thot the programme that quite good as well. Still deliberating over that and Acension. The facilities look better in a way coz newer and the phonics system is fixed unlike ascension which says it uses a mixture.

Stylobb, so your 3Ms really handle well ya. You can be quite handsoff then? Erm...can give tips what the 3yrs can do? Your kids can write letters already? Mine still can't trace properly ya.

Char, 1st trimester sufferings hehe. I lost 1 kg also for 1st trimester, my fav japanese food also boring for me... no appetite. After 1st trimester, no more craving or liking for food, eat for sake of eating lolz.

Put on weight after MS end, my last check up 20 weeks, i put on 2 kg.. so much for losing 1 kg at 12 weeks. (at 16 week, i regain my 1kg and add on 500, 1.5kg in total)

Hi Eunice

yet to receive the letter from ascension. Newton long waiting list liao? I bet. They are also equally popular.

babe,
ya lor ya lor, must pu back wats lost. no wonder now feel so tired and lethargic.

ivy,
so far u put on 1.5kg, ok mah. for me i dun really care how much weight i put on during my gal's time cos after the terrible MS, i just whacked! compensate wat i couldn't eat then and was glad that my appetite came back, that's why put on weight lor. but it was worth it. muahahaha! this time round think i have to watch the weight cos i have not lost much b4 i got pregnant again.

char
Was asking if ur check-up is mid Aug??

babe
But Chinese language is my dept leh... so I'm the one who will coach my boy in Chinese in the evenings when I'm home. Prepare him for his Berries class mah.
I also read to them.
He has art class on Mondays.

Worksheets - mil wl pass the finished worksheets to me to see loh.

I think the gals can write their names, but now they are tracing the letters of the alphabet.
They can spell their names.
Mil got worksheets for them to do.

For tv, it's educational stuff or good VCDs/DVDs like Leapfrog, Mr Men...

ryes
I used to get mine from here but I had to go personally to get.
http://www.99partytime.com/products.htm

Yah man... 2014 but you gan jeong now...hehe....
My boy wl be going to P1 in 2011, so wl hv to register him next year... gals wl be 2013.

Stylobb

where are you intending to register your boy at?
You aiming for phase 2B or 2C?

same price as the BP offering leh. Except they dont include GST i think..

hey all... MIA a few days hard to catch up with postings!

precious... i oso join "auntie gang" to nag you... cf muz do well. try not to eat outside food. cos my fren dun believe, 1st cf nvr do properly, everything also dun wan to eat, then really so weak aft tat. i was real lucky. tho i had to go hospital everyday and sit in cold aircon cos ah ger was in hospital, my cf lady was very kind, wake up 4/5am to make red dates tea and cook lunch for me to bring to hospital so i din eat outside food at all. then when i hm, she will stuff me with loads of things, liquor-cooked bu, tats why my health was ok even tho i did a lousy cf. so i totally believe in cf food and practices.

dolphin &amp; ivy... truimph is a very gd stroller. light and easy to use. i used to hv one, but my ger sweat very badly, so i bot a netted one so more airy.

ivy/char... i also MS very badly till 14weeks. aft tat also whacked like nobody biz! ivy, if no appetite, then eat some plain crackers lor. cos when you are hungry, MS is worse. my MS is super jialat one, so i can tell u all the things you can try to stop MS cos i've tried them b4! ha!

are, ya i no choice just eat, if not baby also hungry sigh. Yesterday heartburn until can die. Lucky u all no one stay at blk 145, arbo from my constipation to my heartburn, u all will hear a neighbour making a lot of scary noise in toilet and kitchen haha.

Ryes
Yes, Newton Life also very long waiting list esp for the 8-30 class. So if Ascension letter come first, then I will forgo the newton life

Babe

Just need to call and put your name down for the waiting list. As for the phonics system, actually, I think it's good to use a mixture as there is some strength with each system. SO if the school can mix and bring out the strength of each system that complements, it will help the child to learn phonics better.

Ivy, take care oh. Maybe morning wake up and take some plain crackers could help. If really cannot eat, take nutritious soups like chicken soup. The soup will have the nutrients from the meat cooked inside. But don't take too cooling soup.

Precious
Must do your confinement properly. Rest well for the womb to contract. Don't walk too much cos bad for both womb and back. Don't strain your eyes too. Just rest and eat all the good confinement food and drink the red date tea. Yummy yummy. My previous confinement lady is a good cook. I only eat those internal organs cooked by her.

Eunice, plain crackers will bring down the heartburn??

i have been trying yakult, bread, eat porridge only, see if the heartburn will be reduce.

Ivy,

get medication fr ur gynae for heartburn. I was prescribed that when I was pregnant.
It is safe for pregnancy.

Eunice, I'm still waiting for ascension letter leh..maybe today might arrive, yet to open letterbox.

Ryes,

so sinful leh.. hehe.. now no more promo in bakerzin.. haiz..

are,
ya i know the maclaren triump very good.. but hor.. already bot daytripper leh.. haiz.. if only this promo comes earlier.. =(

Precious,
u r soo lucky! i was in so bad shape after i delivered my boy.. took me almost 3wks to heal.. haiz.. everywhere pain.. top is the boobs(engorgement), bottom is the stitches.. haiz.. now tink abt it.. i'm glad it's over..

Ivy,
i had severe heartburn when i was preg too.. even in the middle of the nite.. so i took some veragel (u can either buy over the counter or get from your gynae or gp), safe for preg.. it helps.. hope it will help u.. also.. eat SMALL frequent meals.. =)

mummies, bakerzin is having 44% off their tiramisu for a limited time only - they didnt state till when though. UP$48, Now $26.90
and some on going promo for their mooncakes...Yum!

gal.dolphin, ar ok i go get from counter, only seeing gynae end of mth. Ya lor.. eat small meals and less spicy stuff... im so not discipline.. very bad diet.

<font color="ff0000">bea@ns</font>
Thank you for sharing. Will ask hb to go and buy tiramisu. I love it!

<font color="ff0000">Gal.dolphin</font>
I tried to rest, but in the end body aching everywhere. Once I move myself around the house, I feel so much better.

<font color="ff0000">Ivy</font>
Poor thing! Can understand how terrible you are feeling now. I encountered heartburn for #1, the feeling was so HORRIBLE!

<font color="ff0000">are</font>
Thanks. Glad that my helper can cook confinement meals and soups, and have been eating them. Just that I belong to the heaty type, so cannot have too much liquor, ginger etc.

<font color="ff6000">JTS</font>
Toa Payoh East CC is conducting Mooncake making lessons for little children. And they also have another "Creative Learn &amp; Play Program conducting every Thur evening for 4-6yrs old". Do check it out!

dolphin... daytripper also very good lah, esp when ah boi is bigger, so gd buy also lah!

precious... oh, then u like my sis. her CF lady hv to "ration" the heaty foods for her. sounds like you are such an active person. but move ard also gd lah, wound will heal faster, but need to rest as and when lor. when i csec last time, the 2nd day the nurse already ask me to get dwn and walk on my own! i stare at her and say, wat if i fall down... she say, then i will help u up! haha! but fortunately-unfortunately, cos gotta visit ger in hospital everyday, so walk a lot, my csec healed very fast and very well. by 2nd wk, i can walk like normal liao.

ivy... agree with ryes and eunice, crackers really help. my fren even told me muz get this small sq type then will work! haha! i did get those, but oni cos i like the taste. everytime i feel unwell, i will munch a few lor. its like sor da pia, but small squares. muz buy plain plain ones, no butter or oil else will "fan wei". where u stay ar? lor 2 market got one biscuit auntie shop got sell. very fresh somemore. normal muz go these kind of biscuits shops then will hv. eventually, when i was better, the much tastier substitite was chocs! hehe... soups help too, cos you wun throw up so much. and pls hor, last time i merlion, all my colleagues run out of the toilet!! they say hear already very "err xin"! hehehe... in the end, they noe how to see my cue. morn when i come to work, before lunch, dun follow me to toilet. they wait for me outside, i finish liao then they go. if they cant wait, they run before me! hahaha... a little humor to brighten up my merlion days.

and antacid really helps, and its very safe. last time i also hv v bad bloatedness. in 1st tri, i still dare to use ru yi you, then after tummy big, i dare not use, anyways cant rub tummy, so i hv to eat antacid. many doctors says it is safe cos not absorb by our body, oni help to clear the gas. even my kiasi family doc say ok, so i'm sure its safe so took quite a fair bit.

Precious, I'm like you, after my 1st C delivery, I hardly felt any pain. Next day was walking around like normal. 2nd delivery was a normal delivery, and again was walking around hours after delivery. I still remember after my 1st delivery, confinement was at my MIL's place which is a terrace house. My room was on the 3rd floor. She insisted that dinner was to be served to my feeding room (which was opp my bedroom) and I wasn't allowed to go downstairs. But I'd always sneak down when she wasn't around. haha!

are, me staying at lor 2, like tat tml i go see. I so far very little MS, i think cos 2nd trimester liao. The issue now is constipation &amp; heartburn. I think i eat often outside, very little fibre... always char siew rice, chicken rice, time to eat healthy. Central blk 179, near the temple coffeeshop, recently got 1 chap chai peng stall, quite new, i find their dishes quite nicely done. Better than kou fu chap chai peng.

Mummies, I have some loose Huggies pull-up pants XXL which I don't foresee my son using, anyone here want? Gonna let go cheaply.

<font color="ff0000">Mummies</font>
I'm looking for a function room to hold 1st mth celebration.
I was so shocked when TPY Safra quoted me $2K+ for 50 guests!!!!
Any good recommendation?

<font color="ff0000">are/j foo</font>
I totally salute those with Csection.
It must be damn painful! And not able to consume any food for many hrs after delivery.

Ya, I was told that the recovery after C sec would be a painful and long one so I was surprised that I hardly felt anything. The painkillers that were given to me weren't touched at all. So I'm really thankful I managed to recover so well. I had no choice but to go C sec with my gal cos she was a breech baby.

2K?! For Safra?! Can book private room at a nice restaurant with nice food for this price!

beans!!

IS that so? 44%? I was just there this evening at united square and I saw two ladies carrying bakerzin's paper bag, but never come across my mind that they were having promo on their tiramisu!!! Damn!

ivy... tat stall used to be HK street, seems like curry fish head v popular. juz changed hands.

ryes... cfm have lor, cos i juz bot ystr! after GST is $28.30. yum yum! and for aug promo, they are having 50% off all desserts. hope to go try their warm choc cake cos heard its good. other desserts look yummy too!

precious... wah, tat rainbow mart sell the products like all so good leh. i really wan to try bb cream, cos my skin tone very even, juz wan something lite when i go out, so i bot one frm the BPs b4. turns out to be so thick, my skin cant breathe! so i gave up. anyone tried a light and good bb cream b4??