TOA PAYOH mummies

any mummies are american idol fans?? i'm following this season.. so many good singers.. last nite missed the show but heng ah, recorded.. hehehe

last nite wind very strong hor.. so scary..

Miin, your son born in 2005 right? Mine is 2004 Nov. yours wants to draw trains...mine drew her own smiley face all over the paper when i ask her to practice writin or drawing...peng!

Ya last night as if like tornado coming.... storm shortly after that strong wind...luckily not for long.

oh yes man..it was so scary over at my side too, coz my side is very windy and the 4 blks are together.

so once the wind get caught inside, it cant escape out and it was just howling and howling and I was home alone with the kids, until hb was home at 12 +....

miin,
no prob, hope it works well for u.

yeah boy, last night's wind was very very strong. both of my toilet doors slammed shut so loudly. i was in my gal's room with her sleeping with the door closed and can hear that it was rattling as if someone keeps pushing at the door. the "storm" left my plc dusty, man. so much for mopping the floor shortly b4 it happened.

Ryes
The high possibility of introducing etc: 苹果, then the child would recognise either word.
Good to introduce single word for beginners.
And with pic at the back, the child might want to see at the pic to get hint. But of course, it is all based on individual child.

Ling ,

haha , didnt notice u mention on the hill ... mine was MCYS ones ...

And last night was scarey , those blk opp safra , so many trees fall ! so scary !

thanks thanks!

i always siam the chinese section, coz dun like chinese lah. really testing my patience to read a passage man..

will try to pop by popular when i have time this weekend. once again, thanks!

hey mummies, who wanna share share from the website, let me know k...

i can imagine those staying at very high floors.. with the strong winds.. scary.. esp alone with the children.. scare scare..

no american idols fans here ar.. hahaha.. how abt thomas trains fans?? i saw from fb thomas group, there's a new version of thomas animations.. but i still prefer the current one whereby the facial wont move so much.. hehe. the new version is already showing in uk

haha, miin, still trying find someone who is AI fan ah? I was one of them during the first few series, after that, you know, kind of sick abt it liao lor, so nv chase..

Hi Miin,

my son loves Thomas & friends.. I hv at least 10 pcs of trains at hm which he plays with them every day.. Can u tell me where or how to go to fb thomas grp? Can add my email - [email protected]

Ivy,
sorry for the late reply as i seldom log-on on weekends. I'd oredi send u the bbysitter contact to your yahoo a/c.

Char,
I boiled instead of steam the slice potatos, pumpkin/carrot, mince meat into a pot. When its cooked drained out and mashed them together mixed wif cheese. I prefer to keep the soup coz mashed potatos cld be quite dry, i'll pour a little over it b4 serving my gal. If u r adding fish cooked after or b4 u throw the rest of the stuffs in.

Steam mince meat wif a little soup base very easy, manirate wif corn flour, oyster sauce or soya sauce, sesame oil. when it's ready to cook bring out fm fridge add water and steam for abt 15mins.

Mummies, re MOE Link, clink on Kindergarten Profile either according to Alpha or Postal Code order. You will see a PDF file wif lists of kindergaten/presch, then look under the 'TOTAL ENROLMENT' column this tells you the popularity of the sch.

Miin,
I used to follow the earlier season of AI hee! Now I heardly follow any tv prog coz when i watched my gal will follow aiyah headache.

Precious,
Yeap managed to get an xtra car seat @ Baby Hypermart (kaki bukit) within budget. Initially thinking of poping by Kidzloft but my hb said since we found one here dun bother to go elsewhere liao, u know lah guys dun like trouble and shop hee! She's now 2yo, hence got prob looking for one tat can last for a quite awhile. We got this 'Babyfit' brand which caters to 9mth-4yo thereafter, we'll prob use booster liao.
The Chinese flash cards at Popular store seems like selling hot leh, no more stock except for the sample set but is in good condidition and all cards intact hence I dun mind gtg tat.

Alamak for a moment i tot 2dae is Monday, coz am on leave yesterday. Hence, 2dae came bk to werk and thot is Monday. My leave not wasted...managed to get my gal the car seat and bth hb and me went for a massage and fascial session after tat Shiok! The weather was scroching hot yesterday, it was good tat we went for the spa, felt so good after.

Ryes,
One thing about Flash Cards, at a stage when my gal was few mths old to ard 1yo the flash cards seems to catch her attention. Now tat she's 2yo, seems like she has lost interest in this boring game liao. I tried flashing her English Words without any pix she jus refuse to see. Then I notice when I start showing her words wif pix she's more interested. My personal advice and experience try gtg flash cards wif colorful real pix (not drawn) on other side of the cards.

Precious,
Her daddy cant wait to let her sit inside, last nite fix the car seat for her b4 fetching her home fm nanny's plc. She seems to like it, kept smiling during the short journey home.

any1 got the experience of travelling with 8 mths baby? i'm travelling next month with my baby, i'm a pump exclusively mum, baby is eating porridge twice a day now.

I'm only gg for a 3d2n on Star cruise. But the cruise ppl said no water heating device or steriliser are allowed. Needless to say slow cooker also cannot lor. But then they told me their housekeeping will sterilise for me.

So I'm in a dilemma now. That 2 meals of solid food, how to settle? Any suggestions other than baby jar food?

ryes,
sama sama, reading one chinese passage is so trying.

dor,
thnx for sharing your recipes. at first i thought it was one of those western recipe where you bake it but this will do too. i'll try it one of these days and see if my gal wanna eat. show's now having fever so her appetite is low. woah envy you that u can get to go for facial and massage treatment. the last time went was 2yrs ago.

orangeymum,
my experience in travelling was when my gal was 15mo and we went to KL by coach. becos of her age, it's a bit more convenient for me as she could eat wat we eat but i still brought 2 diff flavours of cereal (for change in taste) and instant porridge when i can't find anything suitable for her to eat. carrots, potatoes, pumpkin etc from your own menu is another alternative.

Orangeymum,
I face the same worries prevoiusly, however trip on a Cruise shld be easy. The cabin will usually provide kettle, better to chk wif them b4 u go on board hence 1 problem solve looking for hot water. My gal had her meals serve on board. She doesnt eat much, so either i supplement wif bread, mashed potatoes or just feed her wif milk. Morning usually they will have porridge, afternn and evening u can go to the Chinese rstn where they usually serve porridge otherwise try instand oath mix wif milk powder. I bout her milk powder in satchel form, alternatively u can buy a small can 400g to bring along for 3D2N trip. For such a short trip miss a few meals of solid is fine. The only way i seterilse her milk bottle is washed under hot tap water, or soak the bottles in hot boiling water for few secs. no frills.

forfot to mention earlier on that the pasar malam should be operational by tonight as i saw a few stalls selling things already just now.

Char,
Me no good in preparing western food, haha! I learn this fm my mom, she used to steam tat for us when i was young. Very easy to prepare.

Going for your beau treatment is possible, if u r able to find someone look after your little one for few hours. B4 hving a kid, me go anywhere own time own target no curfew heehee! Now 360 degree change, no more clubbing, shopping, if i wanna do my shopping gotta tk leave haahaa! Go clubbing or entertainment mus come home b4 clock strike 12!

Dor, got it! thanks.

Dor you should start a blog on cooking baby/children food, how many kids you have now?

TPY food boring -.- recently trying to find good healthy food but central food really sian.

ivy,
at the present moment i got a 2yo+ daughter. shy to say but i only noe these few dishes to prepare for my gal and kept repeating it heehee! I only need to cook her meals on weekends hence nt so much headache compared to those mummies gotta prepare the entire week menue for their little ones.
TPY has a few places selling nice food, such as lor. 5 foodctr, lor. 2, famous roast duck rice/noodles and yong tau fu, lor. 8 famous fish head curry, butter crab, kuey chap .... not bad liao.

Orangeymum
How about those portable travel cooker?
Would they allow?
Alternatively is to feed bb cereals, quick and fast. Prepare hot water in the kettle provided in the room.

Char
Thanks, might go there tonight.

ya dor, must travel out so bit sianz esp now 1st trimester bit tired and moody hehe.

this link very good, got news update somemore, i stay lor 2, tat day strong wind, my hubby very kua zhang, he say he feels he is going to be suck out of the window -.-

ivy,
Congrats! which blk r u staying? normal to feel tat way during your 1st tremester it will be gone soon. most important maintain a happy spirit so tat your child will be a happy bb too!
Abt the strong wind, i tot typhoon is coming boy is quite scary to hear the howling wind specially staying at high floor. I asked my hb a silly qs. wat happen if typhoon coming where we gonna hide, he sd bombshelter lor...hahaha!

i stay blk 145, ya hoping that everything will be fine, cos major check not yet done.

I always wonder, if we hide in bomb shelter, then the whole building bomb off, those living in top floor how to come down ahha. Must stock up parachute.

dolohine gal,
the pasar malam is from library to opp blks 79.

dor,
ya loh, most times i miss those time when no kid, so much freedom, wanna go where just go. actually my mum can help to take care of my gal so that sometimes me and hb got time to go out. either she comes here or i go over to her plc in pasir ris.

speaking of food, actually here in TPY considered good liao. nothing much at pasir ris and i used to stay there for 10yr until i got married and moved here.

ivy,
congrats to u! so this is baby no.2?

Char
There were couples of times when my girl was sleeping in her stroller, while I enjoyed my facial treatments/hair cut.
Perhaps once your girl goes to any playgroup for a couple of hrs then you would be able to have some time for yourself?
Understand your situation as I also do not have any helper in the past, always had to ask my mil, mother and hb for help if I want to go out with my friends for dinner/gathering wo my girl.

Ivy
When is your EDD? I'm into 2nd tri now.
Was having terrible MS for the 1st 4.5mths.

precious, EDD 12/12/09. I was having bad cramps for 1st 5 mths, now better, not much cramps but sometimes feel like throw up.

dear mummies,

thanks for the bao gui advice.. Will try the oats cereal with fruits available on board and bread..

can i ask 7 mths can eat bread crumbs already? my bb no teeth at all yet, can eat bread?

Hi orangeymum...

last time my girl only grew her first tooth at 13 months, and I only fed her porridge..didnt give her any other tings, other than the heinz rusks leh. Bread i also didnt give, felt it was hard to digest leh, isnt it?

Also i scare gena choke too...

I brought along lots of those xiao man tou and easy to melt biscuits like pigeon or this japanese red box brand can be found at ntuc.

Also if you like, there is this Gold-something brand of mashed potatos. Simply add 80ml of water and pour 1 sachet and voila, you have mashed potatos..can be filling too. They have different varieties, I like the red version which is herb one.very nice smelling too.

mummies ah,

do you know where to get nice and reasonable price study table for toddlers? Other than ikeas'?

ivy,
i still rem my 1st tri had MS in most morning drag to go werk. until my 2nd tri i felt better and appetite slowly increasing. the whole preg i enjoy most is eating more then my usual intake coz b4 i watched my diet and only eat half portion of my food hee! and guess wat i gain a total of 22kg during my preg faint!

Ryes,
1 impt think to look out for is the stability of the table, square or rectangular wood table wld be a better choice rather then the circle ones. avoid gtg low table, as todt out grown v fast, the nxt moment u'll see them bending their back, consider a higher table and get a higher chair to fit them.
1st that come across my mind where to get is carefour, giant, ntuc xtra perhaps they might carry study tables for todts.

Hi Dor

Can advice why sq or rectangular wood better than circle ones?

Was thinking sq/ rect ones have sharp corners, unless the table is rounded at the corners, arbo dangerous leh. I dont want to spend $ getting those rubber thing to put at the corner also, coz my kids will definitely itchy hand pull out.

Maybe will try out carrefour to take a look, or maybe courts hor..

BTW< did you mged to go thomson plaza today to get the books?

Dor
Gained 22kgs? But you are so skinny now!
My 1st pregnancy, I gained 12kgs.
But I think for this 2nd pregnancy, I might gain more because I keep eating.
How did you manage to shed the extra fats?

Dor! 22kg !! haha, then u need to start advising us how to lose the excess weight after child birth liao.
Today is my most horrible day, feel so weak and headache and feel like want to throw up but din really throw up. Drove 1 hr (cos Jam) to hope to go liang court eat nice ramen, end up carpark also jam and change to another location... boring..

hihi ivy,

heheh another baby joining our list!

precious

12kg! whar did you manage to lose them? hahah i remember that the last time i gained 4kg. dr was so cool about it!
now this one i seem to be gaining about 1 to 2 kg per visit! hahah feeling like a pig!

dor

must share how you loose all that weight! i cant imagine losing all the weight that i have gained now with the lazy me mindset that i have now.... :p