TOA PAYOH mummies

ivy,
dun be nervous, jus enjoy your pregnancy once u start to feel better. and as long as you know that you're eating right and not doing anything that may endanger the life of your baby then u're fine.

precious,
yeah i hope to have more time for myself when my gal can start to go to school. currently her PD said no school for her yet cos of her health. its a phase.

orangeymum,
i gave my gal some bread about that age too, just pinch size and she'd soften the bread in her mouth then swallow.

woah, so many slim mummies here ah. i think i gained about 15kg during my pregnancy and have not shed my baby fats but partly becos i tend to snack at night and am naturally a chubby person. i too had very bad nausea during my 1st trimester whc caused me to have phobia of food. whenever i see, smell or even think of food, i'd puked, and once it starts, i'm like the merlion, not stop. i was so glad that it was over by 2nd trimester and like Dor, i enjoyed eating especially during the last trimester. imagine 2wks b4 EDD, hb & i rode on his scooter to east coast hawker ctr where i satisfied my craving of 'gong gong', satay, roti john and coconut water. oh, the only discomfort i had during last trimester was difficulty in burping and swollen feet. i had to sit on a stool while bathing cos my feet were too tired and aching at the end of the day.

jasmine,
last pregnancy gained only 4kg?! can't stand u! haha.

btw,
anyone went to the pasar malam? i was at my parents' plc this weekend so didn't get to go yet.

Ryes
If you want wood and rectangular shape table, can try the ikea Lack Nn side table. I got 1 for my gal. It’s not advertised under the children furniture but it is certainly does the same function. Height is good for the toddlers also. Got 4 colours to choose. Only $19.90.
http://www.ikea.com.sg/catalog/product_display.asp?art=40104270-2469-2-3-548948429-63361369
For the chairs can get those plastic ones. Toyogo now sells the chair that is similar to the one selling at ikea. http://www.ikea.com.sg/catalog/product_display.asp?art=20099496-1282-10-23-548948429-78090678
I saw some plastic table/chair set at kiddy palace yesterday too. Cheapest 435.90.

Orangeymum,
Can try the Heinz or Gerber rice cereals. My gal used to like the “chicken rice” and the “fruit and vege” ones even till she was about 2 yo! Can cook some porridge in the morning and put in thermal flask for the day of departure if you are not leaving too early.
Enjoy your trip ya!

Jasmine,
You better than me leh. I gained only 5+kg for my 1st pregnancy and my family got so worried. My gla was 2.65kgat birth then. As long as baby growth is good, the weiht is not too much of a concern. It will be easier to regain your figure after birth :)

Ivy,
The sickness will be over soon. Enjoy your pregnancy. There is a baby fair at OG, in case you are intereste. http://www.og.com.sg/ad_babyworld.html

Ryes,
I got this Kritter N fm ikea http://www.ikea.com.sg/catalog/catalog_search.asp is designed for Children hence edges r smooth and rounded. U can base on this for a rough guide. Most impt the tble & legs mus be steady. Square/retangular table r better coz children can rest their hands at a proper angle while writing/drawing compared to the circle ones, also it resemble the tbls in school, hence easy to adapt. I din go to TP, basically the weekends was a R&R for us staying at home.

Precious/Ivy/Jasmine/Char,
Alamak i feel so paiseh leh after telling u how much i gain during preg. My pre-preg weight was 43kg and the last trimester my ttl weight was 65kg, wowpiang it was my all time fatest faint! I was pretty depressed after birth partly due to my weight gain and also post natal blue syndrome.
I strongly believe breastfeeding helps slimming even thou i only bf for 1mth + (no milk supply leh) can tell my stomach went dwn quite a bit.
Then follow-by the usual post natal massage which helps a little too. Thereafter, is hsewerk and taking care of this little one which really contributes to the weight lost.
Dieting is another factor, after birth my appetite was still v gd, its hard to reduce the food portion i so used to have during preg. I did it gradually and becoz am cautious abt my weight it somehow helps to build my determination. Breakfast-feast like a king, Lunch-Normal in-take and Dinner-Eat like a pauper. Tk soupy stuff for most meals especailly dinner. DO NOT starve or skip a meal u will ended up eating more and worst cause case develop depression.
It tks me almost a yr to loss 18kg and am werking hard on the few more kilos left, the stubborn fats r pretty hard to get rid of leh. Tat's y now am bk to gym again.

The abv is nothing special or great, as long as one stays healthy and happy tat's wat matters.

Btw, wonder if the nite market will last till nxt wk?

JTS interesting and nice makan plc -
TPY lor. 1, 2nd Street Coffeeshop, besides SPH, the Zhi Char stall (only 1 there) sell nice and resonable food. The canteen has other stalls such as Botak Jones, Indian, Pizza, Jap, Korean stall and a separate Bar counter serves beer.
Saturday, we had dinner there wif my bbysitter and her family, total 5 of us spent abt S$60+/-, thou I expected the price to be $80+/- dishes incldg curry fishhead, cereal prawns, beer and others.

Wow, alot's going on here.
Orangeymum, how was the aquaducks trial?

Precious, where do you buy art and craft materials for you to play with your gal. U started using those Chinese readers and flash cards? Are they good?

char, ling, thanks for the encouragement, yesterday night was my worst deal, keep running toilet. now am 7weeks, hopefully once i hit the 2nd trimester, i will feel better.

Babe
I normally get them from Art Friends/NutureCraft/Popular. I do make use recycled materials too.
Yes, those Chinese readers w flashcards are good!
Besides that, I try to communicate with her in Mandarin, let her listen to Chinese songs.
And of course since she loves Mickey Mouse clubhouse now, so I take the opportunity to let her watch the Chinese version...hee hee!

Jasmine
Now into 26 weeks, only gain 5kgs. But gynae advised me to cut down my carbo intake as bb is considered big.

Hey ling

thanks for the recommendation! I saw this table before at ikea, may consider to get it. But am worried abt the sharp corner lor...

You said the cheapest at kiddy is $35.90 is it..not 435.90

Precious, thanks for the information. Will try to get them. For the books, does the RM200 set come with CD and flash cards or have to buy them separately? How many books are there in a set? Sorry abit mountain tortoise, dun quite like to read chinese.

Wah, seems the hot topic for this week is abt pregnancy and weight lost ah??

All the talk on preg makes me wanna go thru it again! haha, dun start throwing things at me ah..

I think I'm one of the fortunate lots to not have any morning sickness, no nausea. Practically nothing. I was like as per normal, had cravings per normal. Only towards the end of my tri, then had terrible backaches nia.

I love being pregnant. Coz got privilege mah, then u can be queen of the hse. haha.

char

hahah... ya.. look and me now and you will love me rite... hahahah

ling

yah i agree... maybe coz my boy was more then 3kg at 32wk that is why dr not worried that time?
hahah this time when the dr is comparing the #1 and #2 weight growth he more worried leh.... then see that i am gaining weight steadily not like the last round he say that its not too bad... so far i have gained 7kg... shock!

precious

envy you.... now am 30+weeks and have gained 7kg. baby so far not considered big as compared to my boy... only 1.8kg+. hahah you are with which gynea?

Ryes, is $35.90. Sorry to scare you with the price.! But is the plastic typre not wood.
Yes yes I missed the priviledges during pregnancy, but not when taking public transport... cos really no one give you space to board the train at peak hour, let alone giving up seats!

Jasmine, Was your boy borned big? IS this no. 2 a gal? The last few weeeks baby will "balloon". My no. 2 was also about 1.8kg at 30 weeks I think. At 40 weeks, estimated weight was 3kg. But at birth was 3.45kg! Lucky not oo long in labou pain.

ling

yap. #1 was big!!!! he was 3.725kg at birth... war labour was 13hrs but actual pain actually was only during the last 2hrs heheh....
#2 will also be a boy so dr was saying that he hope #2 will have time to be bigger... :p coz i was telling him that i have been telling baby i want to deliver him at 38wks :p

precious

hahah. that is normal. heheh i was so happy that i actually lost 5kg for my #1. end up got scold! :p

heheh. hope you are happy with this gynea.

ling,
thanks, will try cereal. ya the 1st day, she will have porridge but not the 2nd day lor.

babyship,
it was good, i think i will sign up for the course when my bb finish her Gymboree and Kindermusik classes. Probably in July like that. Dolphingal and I & another ang moh bb 1yr+ in 1 class. Actually also not full house lor, dunno y they dunna let u go.. that ang moh bb can submerge into water and swim to his mother lor, so impressive.
SEE THIS!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Aq4ZnrdtEGc

Aquaducks can make ur baby like that.

orangeymum, so angry wor..how come they dun let me go...now I gotta wait for them to contact me again. Hope can join u all for class but my boy like alot bigger than yours...

Precious, thank u...see if we could meet up for some playdates for our gals when we move over next mth..Is PCF good?

Babe
Sure! My girl enjoys PCF, she is attending the one at Blk 45 Lor 5. She looks forward to go to sch everyday! But for 2hrs daily, we cannot expect them to learn much too, mainly for her to socialise, sing n dance etc.

Jasmine
So far, the gynae is ok though not so informative as my previous gynae from M.E. The one at M.E is very expensive (he is a very famous gynae), spent more than $6k cash just to have normal delivery for no.1, each time gynae visit is at least $300-$400. Now expecting no.2, actually not as anxious as no.1. A lot of things we realise it is not necessary at all. Hence this pregnancy is quite relaxing now.... keke (except for the 1st 4.5mths of terrible MS). Btw, hv you planned to get a helper soon?

ling/jasmine,
your babies pretty big wor! i put on so much weight when i was expecting my gal and she turned out to be 2.67kg at birth nia.

precious,
woah, thats really ex wor!!

Precious, you staying lor 5 area? I'm at central. Worried about sending to PCF though nearer as the mix of children and the teachers.

dunno y i cant update the thread yesterday. so many going ons.. losing track already.. hehe..

paiseh i cant rem which mummy was looking for chinese flashcard.. last sun i saw Buzz in Lor 1 market selling many chinese flash cards (in booklet form) and chinese story books.. pretty cheap.. check it out..

Dor, what cheese do u use to mix in your recipe??

let my son tried out the double boil pear with rock sugar n chuan bei.. he din like it so my baby gal finished it instead.. hehe.. in the end, i double boil just the chuan bei in water.. strain the powder away and use the water to make his milk instead.. at least he drinks it.. :p hehe

precious

hehe... hubby just bought some rainbow vacume cleaner... so he say that cleaning the hous is so easy now that we don need a helper in the house leh.....

yaps agree that pregnancy #2 is really more relax. :p

i'm also using rainbow vacuum cleaner but a fren who used to sell them managed to help us get a 2nd hand one. it's good as it uses water in the tank and all dust/dirt/dust mites get mixed up in the water so no micro particles come out at the exhaust unlike most vacuum cleaners especially those with paper bags. its expensive but the parts are very lasting.

elijah's mum, u mean that vacuum cleaner is that good? Pls provide more review.

Char, how much is a 2ndhand one? Still go lobang to get such? Can use to vacuum bookshelves as I find there's always so much dust accumulated there.

Ivy, PCF = PAP kindergarten. Their new name.

Miin, where is BUZZ?

Jasmine
My hb also bought the Rainbow vacumn cleaner. Yes it is very good.
But daily housechores like cooking, tidying still have to do them manually. I was teasing with my hb, best to get a robot machine.... kee kee!

Ivy n Babe
PCF and PAP are under different management, operation

Babe
My girl attended Montessori at Bishan when she was 18mths till 30mths, as I wanted her to develop her fine motor skills, and in logical thinking. Eventually decided to change her school nearby to my block (in Jan 2009), convenience is an important factor for me. The ratio at PCF pre-nursery is 1:6, as far the quality of the teachers are good, and the children are ok (as I do communicate with most of the parents as well as the teachers too). There are a few good schools at Upper Thomson Road, and they do provide sch bus, however my hb is not comfortable w the idea of sch bus especially for very young children. Hee hee, and also I still enjoy sending/fetching her to and from sch.

babe

yaps its really good. hubby uses it to clean the air con, mop the floor, clean the toilet and the kitchen.. some more is that he even uses it as an air purifier.

precious

hhahahah that point i agree with you.

char...

wah 2nd hand. good deal coz the new one that i got is like 3.5k!!!!!!!

Wow! The Rainbow Vacuum Cleaner sounds so dynamic makes me wanna get one too. Currently am using Magic Cleaner to replace broom and those conventional mob to clean the floor as am afraid vacuum cleaner will scratch the surface of the pergo flooring in the rooms. Btw, is it bulky and heavy?

Hihi, I'm a mother to 2 boys, 2.5 yrs and 4 mths. I'm working part time and staying near Toa Payoh. Happy to find this thread. Hope to meet up with some mummies. My son's attending playgroup at My First Skool in Toa Payoh.

Mum to M&M, ur son attending first skool is how old? where is it located? i tot of checking out whether there is infant care there.

Ivy & Mum to M&M,
FYI, there's infantcare @ my first skool. One of the mummy in this thread Miin's son and daughter r there. So far her feedback was quite positive. Usually she's quite prompt in her reply, you'll prob hear from her soon.

baby,
i got the 2nd hand one for $800+ but i only got basic one. i use it to vacuum only. it came with a bulky thingy whc is used to clean upholstery rather thoroughly but its kindly troublesome so i just use the normal vacuum head to vacuum my sofa and other upholstery. i'll ask my fren if he still can help to get 2nd hand one.

jasmine,
woah, yours is brand new model, so versatile!

dor,
the vacuum head i'm using has got soft bristles and i'm sure the new models has that too so no need to worry that it'll scratch your flooring.

welcome to the thread, ling1312.

precious,
may i know how much is the school fees for PCF?

Char
For PCF pre-nursery is $160 monthly. Nursery is only $115. But if you plan to enrol her, have to act fast, due to limited seats. Btw, she has a classmate staying at Blk 79 too.

Dor
Yes I am getting. I'm also getting the bag organiser and handbag hanger.

Hey precious

the kids colouring bag looks good leh. $12 reasonable or not?

So it can only be carried and hanged on the car seat? I have problem keeping my girl seated at the dining table whenever we makan outside.

Used to show her movie shows on the portable dvd, now she no longer finds it interesting..sigh..

where are u collecting the bag?

been quite awhile that ive gone MIA.kekeke. Just recovered from running nose after my wisdom tooth surgery.

ive got OSIM iecologi after went maid-less. find it useful and easy to 'handle'

ivy
The sch is good, my son has been there for 4 months already and i like that sch a lot. The teachers are quite friendly and prompt on questions. Even now the HFMD going on but i got feedback everyday and they do strict checks so i feel safe when my kid's in sch. I like the spacious space and not forgetting that they got their own outdoor so your kid do not have to go common playground.

The infant care is isolated at another corner but same building.

Nowadays quite a number of vacuum cleaners are water based with a HEPA filter. Personally I'm not convinced with Rainbow, or should I say, not convinced with any multi-tasking equipment which claims that it can "bao ga liao".

to mummies who are doing purees..

can you share with me what u use to puree your food before feeding bbs?

I have never puree my bb food with processors before. What I do is just to sieve it or chop till very fine and feed.

But now with my bb boy, I'm doing sieving n he has been taking carrot with porridge for his meals and I want to try out other food. But thinking, other food may be difficult to sieve and so wondering if those food processors like you know munchkin lah, pigeons lah, will it really work?

I really dun want to spend $ on expensive processors like braun leh.

Babe, BUZZ is the newspaper vendor at blk 128 or 124(i think) lor 1 market

thanks Dor for promoting me.. haha..
my son is at Cambridge@Novena (beside novena church) and my gal is at MyFirstSkool infant care. I'm ok with the infant care centre but i'm not sure abt the childcare side. recently we were informed the childcare side has HFMD & even 1 tr on suspicion.. maybe the ccc is too big so easier to get infected. if my gal has graduated, i'll move her to same ccc as my son.

ryes, u can use philips.. not very exp..

dor, u din ans my qn lei.. what cheese do u use with ur recipe?