TOA PAYOH mummies

Dor

I went to United sq to enquire on GUG, the damn grounchy receptionist was sooo unhelpful leh. She didnt like explain further to me etc etc, and I had to take the leaflet myself to read.

Asked abt the trial, no more $25 liao, is $50 now.

I had enquire abt kindermusik before too! Interested, but alas, weekday I can only afford if someone looks after my girl...so gotta give it a miss.

dor/ling/sunny,

Oops, Hehe now I know you are working.. its takes awhile to remember who's working or who's not.. See, I need memory lessons more.. Haha

Ryes,
Wow! They up the price liao ah guess good biz. Dun bother abt the receptionist as long as the course and trs. r good can liao. If u r keen, can try the new branch at SUNTEC everything there is brand new too, look for Debbie (receptionist) previously fm United SQ transferred to SUNTEC, she's quite helpful, provided she's still werking there. Kindermusik has wk end class too. Am thinking of Sat 4.30pm trial, r u interested?

Btw, anyone send their little ones to Laura Winston? Any feedback on this enrichment ctr?

Precious,
Thanks for the info. U always hv gd ideas & activities in occupying Sha. Both your little ones are blessed wif such a creative mummy. When your son is born, Sha will be the big sister imparting her skill to him liao hahaha!

Hey dor

suntec out of way for me leh. United sq got direct bus and is just few busstops away lor. Will consider once I end her JG class after term 2.

My girl now JG on sats 430pm, so cant join u for kindermusik trial until her JG ends in end May before June sch holiday.

JTS, ntuc at TPY selling enfagrow with the magnetic board $52.95. Bought 5 tins yday..hahahah, KS.

MP also offer, think $21.45.

Our A&C activities @ hm

2369677.jpg

2369678.jpg

2369679.jpg

looks like the topic discussed here lately is about enrolling your kids into schools. i should look around too as my gal turns 3yo next yr but not sure if her PD gives the OK for her to go to school as she gets sick very easily even though she's not schooling now.

reyes,
my gal had problem eating too when she was much younger and even now. she ate porridge for only a short period when she was about 9mo then i had to change style like boil soup then put into plain rice cereal whc she accepted. then she didn't like that after a period of time and went back to porridge. till today at 2yos, she prefers to eat soft food like porridge or kuey tiao soup to rice. sigh! and she doesn't want to eat breakfast and no appetite for dinner. every evening is a struggle for both of us. the only time w/o struggle is lunchtime whc she eats readily. adding sisen brown rice cereal and sisen powder into her milk doesnt seem to help boost her appetite. but at least she drinks her milk whc is a big relief to me cos when she was 3-6mo she rejected milk.

precious,
you're really creative leh, your kids are so blessed to have such a creative mum. if only i was half as creative.....

Precious, you are very creative. Where do you get your ideas from? How old is your gal? U SAHM?

Ascension kindergarten
Went to have a look but still not sure to send my gal there as somehow can't see much of what the teachers do or hear them speak. Some looked really young. Can I ask where did you all find out that it's a good school and how do we determine that? Anyone tried Newton Kindergarten?

precious, the art work is nice.. u really make me think how to occupy my son during the weekend.. i'm not sure i can handle all the paint work alone with a baby around.. hehe

char, maybe u can try instant oats? i add milk powder and a little sugar to make more tasty.. then u guage the water depending if she wants it thicker or thinner..

yesterday was suai.. my stroller was stolen at My First Skool. it was behind the infantcare door staircase area.. last week just found 3 cigeratte butts and ashes on the floor beside the strollers.. cant blame others.. sigh.. forgot to lock it..

does anyone koe any good chinese physicians for children? not too exp.. my kids are on western med for 2-3 months and still relapsing in their cough.. thanks in advance

Miin,
O dear sorry to hear tat your stroller was stolen. Wonder if there's ccv cam installed at the ent. to captured the culprit.
You can go to tpy ctrl ZhongHua Medical Centre gotta go early to tk queue no. thou.

Babe,
U can go to MOE website to chk out those popular kindergarten/school http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/preschool/
Besides tat by visiting different kindergarten/schools you can compare factors such as facilities, edu materials, env. to gauge. By asking the Principal how long the trs. hv been ard in this sch also an impt factor.

Precious,
I like the caterpillar Sha made fm the styrofoam egg holder. U can ask her to mk 2 sets so that when her little bro comes out they can play 2gether tat is also to draw her bonding closer to him.

Yesterday, my hub jus asked if i want a 2nd one alamak.....

Miin, so you caryy Aleesha all the way back from central? I just gave away my extra stroller to a frend recently. Otherwise can pass it to you.

Precious, you can go open a neighbourhood class and conduct A&C classes. very nice art work :)

Sorry ryes, what is JG?

miin,
aiyo stroller also people want to steal. i've not let my gal try oats. will try one of these days and have to make it thinner else she'll choke. re: TCM, u can try Yu Guo at kembangan which is famously known for tui na for children. if u keen i'll email u the details. i once brought my gal to see a chinese physician at lavender but she had phobia in taking the chinese medicine so i stopped bringing her there. as for yu guo, only tui na, no medicine to consume but i can't be bothered to go all the way there leh. :p

Miin
I also heard the one at Kembangan is good. And the price is quite reasonable.

Babe
My girl is 34mths. Yes, am a SAHM.

Char
Have to keep myself occupied too. If not I will feel bored being a SAHM too.... hee hee!
Alternatively you can try to cook some oats, takes around 30mins, and you can add some fruits in it.

Dor
Actually we made 6 caterpillars.
2371246.jpg

thanks for the thot ling..
yes i carried her home with my big handbag and her schoolbag.. but my gal is happy cos get to be carried all the way.. haha

thanks Dor, char & precious for the recommendation.. the 1st thot came to mind is kembangan so far too.. hehe.. but can tui na cure phelgm and cough?? i thot need med but i'm worried the children wont take it.

wow precious.. thats a lot of caterpillars.. haha.. so is it 2 for u, sha and heleper each?? hehe

btw, wat oats u use? how come u cook for 30 mins? usually i just use instant quarker oats, cook 1-2 mins & it's nicely mixed together..

precious,
i'm a lazy mum...either i nap together with my gal or i surf the net. :p

miin,
actually tui na is very good for cough and my phlegm. my former neighbour brought her 2 gals when they were younger for tui na as they had bronchitis and had to be nebulised regularly. according to the chinese physician, she gave raw lotus root juice twice a week and star fruit twice a week too. then once a week she'd steam a whole frog with some bilberry and pao sen and let her gals drink the gravy. all these done within about 6mths together with tui na, no medicine at all and her gals were cured.

Miin
I bought the packet of oats from Cold Storage, the brand is "Sam....." (can't remember the actual spelling). I normally use rice cooker to boil.

Char
There are many activities to do together etc; reading. Now they are much older, more fun to do together.

Precious,
Wow! 6 caterpillars.....try attaching a string on it so tat your gal can drag them along shld be quite fun.
How old does Sha learns to write as in follow the dotted lines. Now am training my gal 2yo to draw on the dotted lines but she cant follow thru.

Miin,
The oats thingy ijit in Red packaging. I bought tat add wif hot water & milk powder, however, doesnt seems to thicken leh.
I gv my gal oats as her meal at times.

Dor
You can start with Kumon Mazes/Tracing book, or just white board (I bought ikea white board).
Get those white board markers (size M) from Popular, the brand is Pentel Maxiflo as it is xylene & toluene-free.
Once she is confident in using broad markers, then you can introduce those thin washable markers/colour pencils. Alternatively you can also get those broad crayons.
Btw, to improve pencil grip, you can let her play with playdough.
Objective is to train her fine motor skills 1st, hence starts with broader writing equipments.
Practice makes Perfect, have fun!

Precious,
Thanks for your recommendation. She prefers to hold those thin ones such as color pencils and markers instd of the broader ones. The only thing now is tat she either refuse or dun noe how to follow the dotted lines in the Maze/Tracing book i bout.
I tear out the pgs and insert it into plastic folder so tat it can be reuse again after erasing the lines drawn by her using washable markers. Somehow, she jus likes to scriber on the plastic sheet instd of following the lines.

Hi babyship,

Did the VP of ascension showed u around the sch area etc and explained to you what they do?

Normally for myself, I would ask questions like how many teachers to kids ratio, what do they do in that 3 hr (see their timetable, its in the classroom on the wall), then what the kids learn in N2, K1 and K2, got spelling etc etc. And I stood outside the classroom to see the teacher teaching chinese for the N2 kids.

And they also have kindermusik incorporated and gym class, which I like. Both Dor and myself have enrolled our girls in ascension, except in different session.

I went to newton as well. Shortlisted these 2 schs. Their lesson is conducted in mandarin, except english and maths time. My niece and nephew goes to both sch - Am ascension, PM newton to brush up on their mandarin and I can see there is a great improvement.

If you have msn and wanna find out more from me, can add me in.

Ling, JG - julia gabriel

Hey miin, your girl sick with cough? You wanna try the pear and rock sugar method? double boil it. It works for me..and I read in the baby book it recommends that too.

Hi Char

My son is now VERY SMART! He refuses to cry when we try to feed him. Previously, he will yell and then open mouth big big and we will put the food in.

Now, hahah, he will not cry, and close his mouth soooo tight and we will have to make him laugh to open mouth. Peng.

I think there is a sligh improvement lah, as in he will taste the brown rice/porridge a few seconds, but still spit out lor. Today tried papaya, he seems to like it, but still spit. sigh...., PD say will take up to 1 mth for them to get use man.

Where to get the kumon maze tracing paper?

Miin,

my mil told me her colleague used to bring her baby to this TCM for massage when the bb cough n have phelgm. The colleague said very effective, the following wat the colleague said:

Hi, when my son was baby .... we used to bring him to "Yu Guo" every week and I find it very good. One thing you have to be patient because it is quite crowded with babies due to popularity
Traditional Chinese Tui Na Massage (suitable for infants and children up to 7 years only):

Yu Guo Chinese Physician Acupuncture & Physiotherapy Pte Ltd
8-B Jalan Masjid #01-04 Kingston Terrace, Singapore 418929 Tel : 64474761 (Behind Kembagan Plaza, near Kembagan MRT. If driving, park at Kembagan Court).
Mon - Fri: (except Wed) 9:00 am - 12:30 pm, 2:00 pm - 5:00 pm, 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Sat: 9:00 am - 12:30 pm, 2:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Sun: 9:00 am - 12:30 pm (Closed on Wed & Public Holiday)
Tel : 6447 4761

precious,
i guess you're right, now that they're older can try lots of different activities. i got to think wat i can do together with my gal. like ryes, i was about to ask where to get the kumon maze tracing paper.

dor,
our gals are about the same age and my gal recently started to scribble on my wall and its quite a big portion and she used a marker whc i had to take some time to scrub out. i must say the 3M sponge, forgot wats the name of it (1 side white and the other side blue) is excellent at removing stains like that altho i had to use a bit more effort to scrub it out and i worn out 3 pads.

ryes,
sama sama lah. my gal at that age also close the mouth tight tight. now she'll turn away and say dun wan or cover her face with her hands. so i will keep asking her to try and say that it's nice or worse case have to threaten with a cane. haha.

Char
My girl will definitely gets it from me if she goes and draws on the wall. She is very afraid of "Mr Right" (a cane). You can try using CIF to remove the stains on the wall. Best to invest washable markers.

Ryes
I started with Chinese songs (CDs and Sing Along VCD), followed by simple Chinese books.

Hey char

hahah..i think ur girl, dor and mine are the same age lah, all march babies right? My girl scribble all over our hse wall lor..sometimes while mopping, I will come across a new scribble. and she also scribble on my homogenous floor tiles too..sigh...And all these despite putting up this mahjong paper on the wall for her to scribble.

I watched TV, they said to use soda bicarbonate with water to clean off stains on wall. I bgt 1 btl but yet to try.

Haha, threaten with cane...My son now cry he bend down on the walker tray lor, so that I cannot see his face! muahaha. Then hor, later when I call him after I let him go away to stop crying, he dont want to see me leh. so funny.

What type of chinese CDS? get from popular? I was there yday, saw there is chinese assessment books for kindergarten kids, thinking of getting and use that to teach.

I'm also trying to sing to her this 1, 2 3 4 5 6 7, 我的朋友在那里. But har, she then replies back to me 1 to 7 in english. ahahah

Ryes & Char,
I only allow my gal to scribble on drawing papers and i'll keep the washable markers out of her sight if not in use.

U can start off by speaking to her in mandarin and use eng and translate to mandarin, vise verse when u read to them. I ordered a set of simple chinese books wif colorful pix from Pan Asia is quite good. Let me know if u r interested. Another way to draw her interest is by letting her listen and watch chinese rhythms or edu prog.

Ryes
Continue to speak to her in Mandarin, once she is confident, she will speak. Languages should be introduced in a fun way, if not too stressful for parents.

ryes,
ya, my gal is mar bb. i strongly recommend the 3M sponge that i mentioned b4, no need detergent, just wet it with water and it comes off almost effortlessly especially on floors.

precious,
can tell that your gal very guai. my gal is like a boy, if kena cane once she'll forget the next day. she's the dare devil type. once she stood on a chair and leaned over the backrest and fell forward even after being warned by me and my hb not to do that. of course she cried for a while but after the crying stopped, she climbed the chair again but was careful not to lean forward....see lah....

dor,
i keep nagging at her "draw on paper' but duno wat came over her that day and started drawing on the wall. she got caned on her palm that day.

my gal received a dvd as a gift and it's got chinese songs for kids (eg: liang zhi lao hu, san lun che, liang ge xiao wa wa and twinkle twinlke little star in chinese). it can be bought from kiddy palace, $12.90. she likes to watch that and tries to sing along too.

Char & Ryes,
Your little ones very cute and mischievous, mine too maybe is their passing stage of terrible 2-3yo bah.

precious,
huh? your gal considered angel liao if she can dun draw on your walls and is so scared of the cane. my gal is scared of the cane too and can say dun wan but will forget wat happened almost instantly. plus she's stubborn also. sigh. maybe like wat dor said, hope its a passing stage. but the funny thing is that when i go to her with a cane and she knows that she did something wrong, she'll voluntarily bring out her hand with a remorse look on her face so i'll just only give a light stroke. re:dvd, duno whc vol but its the blue cover one.am thinking of getting the other vol.

dor,
when u watch her for 1 whole day u wont think that she's cute anymore, haha! that chair incident is only 1 example, there were many more whc i can't rembr liao. thats y a lot of ppl said that the next one will be a boy since she looks and behaves like a boy....we'll see.....

Shaws pre-school's good. I have a couple of friends who send their kids there (but the Katong branch) and they're all giving the thumbs up. Orangeymum, do you plan to visit the branch enar TPY? If you are, don't mind going either if timing is suitable. But fees on the high side... however teacher:student ratio is low. And their curriculum's sound.

Oh, I think some time ago, someone was asking about natural remedies I give when my kids come down with cold or cough. Well, normally I try out homeopathic tablets for common cold or if running a fever there's one that will help bring down the fever (but I do give Calpol or Panadol alongside the homeopathic tablets if there's fever). Then instead of plain water I give "rice water" (the water I use to wash the rice, then boil). That reduces the heat in the body. I also give "chuan bei fen" if there's a cough. I find that it really works. And if that doesn't work after 3 / 4 days (or symptoms get worse) then I bring them to the doc.

And oh one more thing, anyone here looking for MP4, have one from Shinco that's BN to let go. Only $50. Don't use and it's just sitting at home doing nothing...