TOA PAYOH mummies

char
2nd hand rainbow? so do u still get any warranty wif it? cos i heard that it's non-transferable. but 800 plus is a steal compared to buying it brand new.

elijah
we bot one few mths ago too & am using it for all those purposes like you. My helper says it cleans better than the normal vacuum cleaners which she used b4.

precious
u bot the rainbow too? when did u buy? is it the new model too"?

Miin,
paiseh, i went bk to chk the brand yesterday haha! Its 'Laughing Cow' quite a popular brand.

Ryes,
Like u, i chopped her food till very fine, most of the time i use sieving method even until now for certain food.
U can try mince chicken meat since now there's 'swine flu' going ard. Ask the stall owner to grind twice say for bb consumption. Marinate the mince meat, add water n mix it evenly b4 pouring into the porridge so that the meat is very fine and easy to chew.

Precious,
Am eyeing at the handbag hanger too cool! I bout the Thermo jar quite sometime ago thru a friend, slightly more expensive abt S$35-36, sigh.

Dor
Remember to rinse the minced pork w hot water b4 you marinate it. I have too many bags, I'm getting the handbag hanger to see if it helps.... keke!

Miin
I did consider Cambridge@Novena since i'm staying at Balestier. But it's too pricey and i was worried about the stairs (kids love to climb up & down) so i choose first skool (better for my pocket)

Ryes
Last time i did the same as you but i choose softer food like carrot, potato and fruits. A lot of work but fulfilling when you see them enjoying the food. Now i got to start all over again when my son turn 6 months.

Precious,
The apple jus cut/puree and throw into the porridge? I got headache giving C fruits leh...she doesnt seems to like them.

Dor,
Chop finely, throw into the porridge then cook.
Same procedure when you prepare minced pork porridge. Just throw everything inside and let the cooker does the job.

Hey precious

hb just went to cheong robinsons during lunch time today. Avent is up 30% off. He say very crowded lor..too bad I cant go..sigh.

Hey mum, you staying where at balestier leh? I'm at whampoa area.

Precious, having problem with apple leh. U see hor, if chop finely, by then due to air contact, the apple will turn brown leh. I've never try fruits with porridge before, duno nice or not leh.

As for minced meat, when is minced, already there is a need to chew leh. My boy now har, i have to force him to swallow, so I think I gotta stick to mashy food first until he learns to chew.

Have yet to start with fish also, maybe this weekend I give it a try. He is still refusing to eat from spoon. sigh.

Ryes,
U can try adding a bit of fish floss (very fine dun hv to chew) into the fish porridge to let him hv the 1st taste. Tat's wat i always do when my gal refuse to eat halfway thru her meal haahaha!

sorry pooh, i think i saw ur msg somewhere but couldnt update the thread a few days back.. could be me cos i was on leave but if i'm carrying a kid then it's my gal.. she looks like a boy.. my son ends at 6pm cos of his speech n drama course.

dor it's the same kind as the one i use for macaroni n cheese then but mine is wedge form..

ling1312, i din koe cambridge is more exp than my first skool. thot it was the other way round.. i wasnt too worried abt the stairs cos it's locked and trs accommpany them going up n down. well, in sg u take stairs so often the kids will learn fast la..

ryes, if u invest in a blender.. u can cook the minced meat then blend it finer.. this is wat i do with my porridge.. i dump all ingredients to cook (so i dun cut finely) then put into blender to mix them up.. it'll end up meshed and i freeze it..

Ryes
I'm at Ah Hood Road. The more he refuse spoon you must be persistent if not it'll be difficult to cultivate it.
Maybe we can meet up around our area. Are you working? I'm working part time (half day) so most afternoons i'm free.

Precious
Your apple porridge seems tempting, will definitely try it. But like what Ryes pointed out, will the apple turn brown?

eh sorry to spoil any appetite on food to cook...

anyone has shit a lot during their pregnancy say 7th week???

I had 2 incident so far, where i shit a lot in 1 day until i feel so weak. Soft stool but not diarrhea.

Hey ivy

Was told that pooing alot is common during pregnancy. But I only pooed alot towards the end of my pregnancy leh...You go ask gynae if there's a concern or not...

Mum, Ah hood rd is quite far from my place..hee hee..wat are you working as part time? can share?

yah lor, I've been spoon feeding him lunch and dinner. Sometimes he will open his mouth to eat happily for say first 5 mins, then har, after that, he dun want to eat liao leh, but I know he is not full, then he will start to cry and yell and I have to hold him dwn to feed him lor..sigh..each meal is a huge battle for me and him. sweat

Dor, fish floss is it like Ba hu?

Miin, will discuss with hb if want to buy blender or not. Coz har, i seldom cook one leh and having a blender, wait become white elephant lor. I made it thru without blender for my girl, so I'm hoping no need get blender..hee hee.

dor,
i'll try to find out if my fren is still able to get 2nd hand rainbow as he's no longer working there liao.

cheris,
no warranty for the 2nd hand one that i bought but it's still working. bought it since may 2006.

precious,
thnx for the info. can i have the addr of the plc if u dun mind? see when i feel not too lazy then i'll drop by and take a look at the plc.
i must admit that initially apples and minced meat porridge didn't sound appealing to me at all but since you said that it's yummy then it must be. will give it try one day.

ryes,
my gal is 2yo and i'm still fighting on a battlefield with her every evening. but then i think her lack of appetite could be becos her last 4 molars are erupting.

dor
if u dun mind not having the warranty, i think there r always ppl selling off at ebay etc. But it's definitely not as light weight as the usual vac cleaners. Maybe you should call them to ur place to do a free cleaning demo first then decide if you really like it.

Char,
Thanks, if its too much of a trouble i'll perhaps get a new one instd. Think Best Denki, Courts will carry this brand rite hee!

Cheri,
Thanks for the info.

Ryes,
Yes, Fish floss is like Bak Hu but certain type of Bak Hu u nd thick and chunky hence nd chewing. whereas Fish Floss is very fine melts in the porridge.

Any Mummies still giving your little ones Pork?

Dor,
I like the laughing cow cheese too. I still give my gal pork. It's safe as swine flu does not spread by eating pork.

Miin,
Aiyo, now everyday I got to wear mask at work if I step near the clinc, with the hot weather, really suffocating.
The swine flu first death case in US is a 23month old child...so sad.

Ling,
Many thanks for the info!

This morning i went marketing @ Lor. 1 notice that the Pork Stalls r so quiet no customer leh usually there's 1 particular stall v crowded but 2dae no queue at all. Then i went to another popular stall selling Chicken aiyor all snatched out!

Ling, do u work in the hosp? my friend working at SGH says they are working double shift now bcos of the swine flu.. taking a lot of precaution..

last mon my son's ccc rejected him cos there were a few red spots on his leg and hand n 1 tongue. no choice had to bring him to c doc. doc says suspicious but cant confirmed if it's HFMD. in the end he stayed home for 2 days.. shiok lor.. ate a lot and watch tv whole day.. haha.. then doc confirmed it's not HFMD on tue. thank god.. haiz.. i became so paranoid. everytime he touched something dirty outside, i make him sanitise his hands.. *faint*

Miin, yes I work at SingHealth (hq office for a cluster of hospitals/polyclinics). It's better to be careful than not cos the viruses are so potent nowadays.

dor/cheris,
that price for rainbow is very good wor. looks like wat i'm using now. dor, dun think department stores sell rainbow brand. they do door-to-door marketing.

precious,
thnx for the info.

miin,
glad that your boy is cleared from anything serious.

i'm still giving my gal pork that i bought b4 the flu virus came about. should be still safe to eat.

precious, tot pork is marinate 1st? how come u rinse with hot water then marinate???

Do u guys cook the pork before throwing it into porridge? or throw in porridge let it cook?

Ivy
Rinse with hot water, mainly is to kill the germs. You can pour the marinated pork into porridge then cook, or stir fry the pork with unsalted butter.

precious
Thanks for your info, will try using slow cooker for my boy.

Ryes
I'm working as an admin assistant, basically just prepare some paper work.

I'm still giving pork, in fact it's one of his favourite food.

hi mummies, any1 using pigeon Mag mag training cup Stage 2 for ur baby? is it good?

i'm using an old version of Mag mag cup n a MAM spill proof training cup. in a dilemma now, the old version mag mag cup always leak so when bb is drinking by herself, she always get wet. den the MAM drinking cup, the water doesnt comes out on its own, bb gotta suck then water comes out so I hear ppl saying that spill proof cup sometimes water very difficult to 'come out'.

anyone got any suggestions abt good to use BPA free drinking cups?

Hi all, there's gonna be a fair at Bishan Park on 31st May in the morning. It's organised by the Bishan-TPY GRC. Tickets are priced at $2 (I think only one tic needed per family). I have a few in hand so if anyone wants one do PM me or leave me a message here.

Oh yes, one more thing, I'll be traveling to UK end of the month with the kids. It's an annual thing I do - my parents are staying there so I visit them at least once a year and they come over to S'pore at least once a year too. Anyone wants me to get anything in particluar?

hi j_foo,

which part of UK u be going to?=) heehee,so that can ask u to get some stuff...tks tks!!
btw, wat fair is that at bishan park?can share?thanks!

orangeymum
No, I did not try. But my friend shared that it is much better than Pigeon. Advised me to use combo cups for #2. For #1, I used Pigeon (but that was 2yrs ago)

wah jfoo, how envy to travel with the kids to UK..whats cheaper to get in particular over at UK leh?

I used to let my girl use the mag mag cup as well, but gave up in the end. I let her drink from water bottle straw instead from then.

The carnival is jointly organised by Bishan and TPY GRCs. There's gonna be a mass walk plus all the fair/carnival sort of activities and food. Time is from 730-1130. Transport is provided (but timing is super early) to and fro from TPY East CC, leaving at 7am. But with kids and all, probably wiser to take a bus or drive there. So do let me know if anyone's interested. Support the GRCs and come along, have fun.

Dolphingal, my parents reside at the outskirts of London.

Ryes, all the UK brands work out cheaper there. Friends normally give me shopping lists from Boots Chemist (some friends swear by their in-house facial and cosmetic products), or Clarks shoes (but I normally discourage buying shoes cos I think one really needs to try them on cos cutting is different, unless you have a specific model in mind), branded goods (there are a few retail outlets that offer past season goods).

hi J_foo thanks for the brief description on the carnival.. dun tink my boy & myself can wake up so early!!lolz..

wah!U gg to london?it's a lovely place..except that most things are quite exp leh.. i went there for my honeymoon & end up din get anything. maybe you can advise what is cheaper there?I even went to the Harris but it was sooo exp.. cant hardly bear to spend..
thanks J_foo.
Btw, any mummies know where to get good cups with straw?like those training cups but with straw?would like to get one for my boy.
another thing, any mummies got any idea how to get rid of phlegm?my boy is like choking on his phlegm.. i dunno wat to give him as he is still so young, less than 1 yr old,no medications.. any home remedy can recommend?would appreciate it. thanks!!!