TOA PAYOH mummies

precious

mine is his LG playmat that i got from a bp here...

his haenim playyard i got it second hand (paid 140 for 8 panels) but its one of my best buys! hahah now he is the gate man! eveyday just stand at the gate and open and close it!

Beautytan
Unfortunately Toa Payoh Safra Kids' Adventure does not allow parents to enter the playarea with them.
Have you tried Fidgets at Turt City and Little OZone at Orchard Country Club?

Elijah's mummy
Pretty soon, the playyard will become my bb boy's territory.... haha! Currently the playyard is my daughter's Music Area.

Busy these days hence no time to login.

Jus like to check out any suggested venue/restaurant/ideas as my gal is turning 1yo in May.

Hi pooh, I tot of sending my boy for the Shichida method class as well but he is almost 2.5yo now. Do u think it is a bit late? Besides flashcards, wat else do they teach the children? Thanks in advance

Hi! Spiderman, dun mind if i asked if u r a daddy or mummy heehee! Just curious.
Btw, my gal spent her 1 yo celebration wif families @ a chinese rstn, she had a great time getting all the attention as we were sitted on a big round table (15 pax). Initially was thinking of throwing her a party but considering is too young at her age she'll prob wont noe and enjoy much with unfarmiliar faces surrounding her.

hey dor, rasheed had his 1st bday party at 2yo.. he din really understand wats happening except there's lotsa ppl at home. however he enjoyed his strawberry cheese cake and his load of presents.. haha..

at 3yo, he really understood the meaning of bday cos we celebrated it at ccc. i guess they did it so often that the kids just cant wait for their turn to stand in front of the cake.

this yr, he already chose his cake and asked for his present.. hehe..

spiderman

i just had my boy's 1st birthday about 2 weeks ago.

well i did mine at home in the end as i wanted to let him have a familiar place that he can run in without me having eye at the back of my head! hahah

well we catered and the total cost came up to about 1k...
here is the breakdown of what we had....

1. photographer (benjamin from foto 4 you) - $280
2. catered food - $400
3. balloon deco - $68 + $32 (helium to fill additional balloons)
4. party deco - $150 (bought from a spree here on smh)
5. birthday cake (this was done by me) - $60

Miin, ya can imagine how the kids feel when is their turn to celebrate BD in the ccc or kindergarten haha!
Btw, her 2yo is even lower key compared to her 1yo BD. Hb and I brout her to her fav activity swimming, in the evening we blow candles @ my in-law's plc. But can tell she's happy and somehow noe is her special day tat day, which is very heart warming. Of coz she enjoyed the cake very muchie and asked for more....kekeke!

hi pooh,

hmm.. i also heard from my other fren that SM is quite effective if apply at home as well.. but it's abit costly.. registration alone cost $50!will discuss w hub first.. ya the next intake is in July but must register b4 April 09 to get a place.. =) it's like selling hotcakes.. so fast taken up.. haiz..

wah. it's great to hear how other mommies celebrate their bb's 1st yr birthday.. at least give me an idea how to do it when it's my boy's turn. =)tks!!

1st yr birthday
My daughter had hers at the Delta playgym (At Delta Sports Complex). The price was quite reasonable.
http://www.playtime-recreations.com/location.htm

Minn
Bought a Compaq laptop at less than $1.5K, was a good deal indeed! Oh ya, as they get older, they really understand the meaning of birthday celebration. I might book the SOL restaurant at Turf City (it has indoor and outdoor playarea). Actually she asked for McDonald party again, as she had it when she was 2yrs old.

Thanks for all your sharings, mummies!
yep, i should choose a venue which also provides a playarea for the kids too..

Dor
hehe, i am a mummy. cos i tends to forget the username that i used so i picked one which my hubby like.

Hi Pooh & Dolphingal, pardon me, there is a long journey ahead for our bb edu path, save $$$ for future use. Rite now they r still at infant age can start them off wif Flash Cards and any play items tat triggers thier brian, is not too late to enroll them in courses or training when they reach 2yo and abv. Take it easy and be stress free for both mommy n bb.

precious

that looks really good... haahhah for my boy's 1st we had so many adults but kids there were only a grand total of 7... hahahah

wah you are really good... preggy and still made it down to the it fair... me and hubby would give these a miss as the crowds are really crazy! hahah we were on our way towards cityhall mrt and saw that there was a jam (meaning total stand still!) up the escalator to suntec!

wow precious, u r really good at sourcing out places to go.. hehe.. delta seems a nice place..

hey your laptop is really a good deal ya.. wish i thot of getting a laptop there.. but alas, it's too late.. plus i was away in batam.. wrong timing..

Dor, how abt playground this sat??

ok Dor.. np.. keep me updated.. any mummies interested?

Mommies & Tods Gathering
Date/Time: 21 March, Saturday, 9.30am
Venue: Blk 97 Playground, Lor. 3 (cool & windy)-behind yellow pages
-----------------------------------------

1) Dor & Chloe (2yo)
2) Miin, Aleesha & Rasheed
5)

hidayah, the last time I asked was $14.50 each pack for a minimum order of 6 packets. After I consolidated the orders, then I will reconfirm the price. Collection will be from mu place (TPY lor 7) or another mummy's place in Toa Payoh.

hi ling , i will like to order 2 packs XL size : Dry comfort ...

so do i transfer money to u ? or pay cash upon collection ? thank

<font color="aa00aa">Wow I tot Shichida is only for older kids, didn't know can start as young as a few months huh? For me, I'm very particular in instilling moral values, faith and disciplinary at young tender age lor. Plus alot of love, hugs and time. The rest can wait.

Re birthdays:
My son Isaac's BD falls on Oct. Remembered last year when he's 1, he could only walked max 10steps unassisted. We brought him to Melbourne for 2weeks and he came back walking super fast! We are sooo happy witnessing his milestones.</font>

HEy Precious,

Thanks for the info abt Toa Payoh Safra kIds Adventure. Yes I've tried Fidgets at Turf CIty but find tat it's better for kids abt 3 yrs to play there. I've not been to Little Ozone. Are there many things for kids below 2 to play??

THose who r interested in Shicida Method, hv u heard of Little Neuro Tree which is located at Toa Payoh Central, above KFC?? I find the lesson engaging, though it may b different fr Shicida..

Oh sigh Miin, can't make it for Sat mornings cos I have to teach at my friend's music school...

Precious, I'm shocked you went to Suntec on Sun! A few of my friends attempted and gave up half way through cos they were in the queue to get up the escalator! Some other friends who thought about going changed their minds when they heard of the crowd and went shopping at Raffles City instead! Haha!

My sis-in-law just celebrated her son's 3rd b'day with a DIY sandwich party. That was fun. She bought really nice bread with Cedele and had plenty of different fillings like shaved ham, cocktail sausages, tuna, peanut butter, cheese etc etc. The kids had fun making sandwiches (some with really strange combi!).

2days didn't log on and so many posts. this thread is moving faster now.

precious,
good to have you back.

jasmine,
woah u really spent a lot on your boy's 1st bday.

i remembered that my gal's 1st bday was quite simple amongst immediate family members and a few close frens. and yeah, most of the guests were adults too and my nephew was the only other kid besides my gal. now planning for my gal's 2nd birthday next week. it's gonna be a very very small celebration.

Here's the updated huggies order list.
1) Jasmine - M, 3 packs dry
Jasmine - XL, 1 packs dry comfort
Jasmine - L, 2 packs dry comfort
Jasmine - M, 1 packs dry comfort
2) White lady - XL, 2 packs (dry comfort)
3) Seveneleven - XL dry, 2pks
4) Favored - Dry - (M) 2pkts
Dry - (L) 1pkt
Dry - (XL) 2pkts
Dry comfort - (XL) 1pkt

White lady, I will call to order tomorow. You can pay me when you pick up the diaper form me k.

Jasmine anf Favored, I will PM you the contact after I order confirm the free delivery part k.

BeautyTan
You can try Gymboree, My Gym or Delta Altantic Playgym (near to Redhill MRT). Or maybe sandplay or waterplay at Children's Garden at Bot Gardens?

Jfoo
I went on Fri afternoon for the IT Fair, did not bring my girl along. Since she was having her afternoon nap, so I left her with my helper instead.

Morning, I saw this banner that there'll be a SSO concerto this Sat evening in front of the library. For those who r interested...

favored, my gal is coming 15 months liao.. but she still refused to walk unassisted.. aiyo.. everytime she sees me, wanna 'bao bao'.. headache ar.. my son oso oni started walking unassisted ard 15 mths.. sigh..

Favored, agree wif u. My gal now is at the age of terrible 2 or some say 3 hahaha! Very challenging, when verbal warning doesnt werk, at times hv to resort in using cane on her.

Precioius, how Sha reacted when she woke-up and u r nt ard since she's quite clingy to u nowadays....

My gal started walking when she was ard 9mths old unassisted, some said is fast for her age, others said is not so good for gals learning to walk at such an early age coz in future they'll hv to work to lead a gd life (grandma's tale) haha! Nt sure if u heard of it. heehee!

Btw, this friday Popular Fair is on @ SinExpo members get to enter fm 10am onwards wherease Public starts fm 3pm. Anyone is their member and thinking of going early, perhaps we can meet-up.

Dor
SinExpo is so far... hee hee!
If I tell her in advance that I am going out, she is perfectly ok with it. But when I am not around, my helper is not allowed to turn on the TV programs for her nor give her any snacks wo my permission. So far, my helper is quite co-operative.

Ya, bit far but we hv the whole morning heehee! Btw, am taking leave. Gd that Sha is understanding. Btw, will u be able to mk it for this Sat morning gathering?

Hi linda, u want GP or PD? GP is for all age. Right now i bring my kids to EJ Clinic (Dr Tan) at Braddell Mrt (beside McDonalds). His med is pretty effective &amp; he is very patient n nice. He's off on Wed nite and Sun. Relief doc not so nice.. hehe

For PD, some mummies go to Children's Clinic - Dr Heng(Central). Opp Blk 79 beside the Raffles Medical. I find her rather exp but i guess that's the price for PD.

Hi Miin
Thanks for your recommendations. I am asking for my SIL. GP will be good, imo, cos cheaper. If need PD, I might as well bring KKH. :p
Is Dr Tan good with children?

Hi! Pooh, nt sure leh but usually members will get additional discount for certain items. I'll be mtg a fren there in the morning between 10.30am - 11am i'll pm u my mob for contact purpose. Btw, u going there alone or ur kids r coming wif u?

linda, he has 4 kids himself.. i visit him so often that he remembers my son's name already.. haha.. he's good with kids. old folks all like him.. everybody will ask if it's dr tan.. or else they wont see the relief doc..

call before u go, 63540662

Miin, usually how much u pay per visit? My gal went to him and he charges me like $38 which i think is abit to the high side. Then I visited the relief dr. which is not so gd looking heehee! My bill comes out to $44. I almost flip.

<font color="aa00aa">Miin,
is your gal on sit-in walker? No adverse effect though but may develop weak leg muscles and the proper way to stand from seated position. May also result in lack of confidence. If not, give her some more time. Melbourne has many big open space parks, my son has nothing to hold on and was forced to balance on his own. And when he fell on unfamiliar ground like grass patch, he suddenly didn't seem to know how to get up. Will stay lying down till we 're-teach' him to stand up, so funny!

Dor,
I really can't stand ppl commenting about our bbs' milestones! It's proven gals speak and walk faster than boys. That's why we are great shoppers mah...haha. Just the other day I was at my bus stop and the auntie from the mini provision stall asked me if my son knows how to call mama,papa. I said 'nope'...don't quite bother to explain he can pronounce but don't call me 'mama' when he needs me per se. Then she said I didn't teach him isit? Must teach you noe? Wahpiang, in my heart I feel like telling her, from day 1 I have been saying mama papa. What can I do when he doesn't call me? Anyway can't be bothered to defend a mother's heart.

Ling,
Wah, must wait 1 week to confirm delivery huh? Aiyo, my diaper running low liao.</font>

Favored, i laughed while reading the aunty's never ending qs. I guess human tend to compare and gv comment, beyond ones control too. I'll prob kept smiling and let her do the talking haaaa! Cant be bothered either wif the so call 'san gu lui po' comment. U can tell if one is really concern or jus kpoing ard.

miin

every child is different... the tot that boys and gals develop differently also not all true.

my boy is already walking and running around... and he has just turned 1 about 2 weeks ago.

think its more about what they get to experience and see... coz my boy has a uncle that is 4yrs now and every time they meet up its my cuz who running circles around him so think that is why he start to walk early... he started to walk at 11mths and cruising at 7mths.

I'll be bringing my daughter (and probably son) for the SSO open-air concert outside the library on Sat. You can also attend the pre-concert talk at the CC opp, catered for kids age 5-9. Must book a place thru the Passion card website or go to one of the CCs and book. Limited places.

Hi Precious,
THanks for the recommendations. I'll try them.

Dolphingal,
LIttle Neuro Tree conducts lesson once a wk, an hr each for the kids. They believe in right brain training. They teach Eng, Chinese and Japanese. One wk Eng lesson, next wk Chinese, then following wk Japanese. They use interesting manipulatives to engage and teach the kids. As an adult, i'm fascinated by the effort they put in to make the manipulatives which can b v cute. They teach alphabets, words, strokes for Chinese. If u r interested, i recommend tat u go for a trial class to see for yourself.
Check out the website :-
http://www.littleneurotree.com./index.php

ling

i add on to this order

Here's the updated huggies order list. (organized by ling)
1) Jasmine - M, 3 packs dry
Jasmine - XL, 1 packs dry comfort
Jasmine - L, 2 packs dry comfort
Jasmine - M, 1 packs dry comfort
<font color="aa00aa">Jasmine - L, 2 packs dry </font>
2) White lady - XL, 2 packs (dry comfort)
3) Seveneleven - XL dry, 2pks
4) Favored - Dry - (M) 2pkts
Dry - (L) 1pkt
Dry - (XL) 2pkts
Dry comfort - (XL) 1pkt