TOA PAYOH mummies

beautytan

thanks for this link... :p

dolpgingal

want to join? am thinking to go on sat at 6pm with my hubby.... at the tpy one... hehe try my boy out. if he like then we will continue. :p
oh yah its very easy to book.just go to the preview page and enter in your contacts

favored, actually i'm not worried.. she's already standing unassisted. as for walker, my son din have walker oso started walking at 15 months.. my gal has walker slightly longer oso not walking yet so not much effect i think.. but i always remind myself each of them are unique and it's true. like my son, cant talk properly until 2.5 yrs.. but my gal is already pronouncing words at 14 months.

i koe she'll do it at her own pace la.. right now i'm concentrating to get my son to go diaperless when sleeping .. hehe.. coming to 4 liao.. actually he's ready but he's very afraid of dirty things/toilets so he will tahan his pee lor.. really must have a talk with him.. kekeke

Miin, for a start maybe gotta buy bedsheet protector, heard fm my gf tat's how she train her gal go diaper free in the nite while sleeping. She will always tell her daughter to pass urine b4 sleeping plus drink less water an hr or 2 b4 bedtime. Occasionally she has to wake-up in the middle of the nite and chk on her or even wake her up to wee. Nt sure if this is a gd way thou hee!

Dor, i already have bedsheet protector. My mum even gave me plastic table cover to put under to protect the mattress.. hehehe..
ya must get him to pee before sleep n he always drink milk before sleep. i tried getting him to wake up middle of nite to pee but he's too lazy. so he rather control his bladder till morning.. trust me, he's very good at controlling.. haha.. (i koe it's not good la)

btw, I read there's Robinson mega sale at expo this weekend.. mummies can start shopping again.. haha

JTS
re: pnuemococcal

im a mummy in may forum.. but my bb was borned in Apr..

Just to share on pnuemococcal.. For mummies who have not bring the babies to vaccinate the above, pls do so.

My colleague nephew just passed away 2 weeks ago. He was only 25 mths.

He had fever on a Monday (on and off, less than 38 degrees). So his mum only fed him with the pink panadol.

His fever did not get better. Thus, by Wednesday, brought him to see a PD at Pasir Ris (Pasir Ris Baby and Chxld Clxnxc). The doctor gave them some medicine and they went back.

By Friday, the boy still did not get better. They called the clinic to ask how. The doctor said "Nowadays, parents so kiasu, come and see me on Wed and Fri call me again!". On hearing this, the mummy felt that "Oh, maybe I really to kiasu ald.. just monitor to see how"

Things did not get better. On Monday, they decide to bring the boy to Polyclinic since he started to feel restless. The doctor decide to do a blood test for him since its the 8th day of the fever. After drawing the blood, the boy went to sleep... and passed away... Everyone was shocked...

The blood test report came out on wed and the boy was diagnosed with pnuemococcal.

The doctor at the mentioned clinic is under police investigation currently.

Char, o dear sorry to hear that. Is always very heart breaking especially when I come across news abt misfortune fallen upon an infant or young child. Perhaps is maternal instinct bah. Btw, my gal tk her jab liao. Since we r on the topic of young infant/child I had 1 to share too..
This recent incident happened to my hb colleague's niece in M'sia who is abt 6yo . The little gal's mummy was cycling along side of the road and she was the pillion, a drunkard lorry driver hit them from behind, both of them flew fm a far distance. Her mummy was injured and her daughter was lying at another end. Her mummy ran to her and carried her into her arms and notice that the back of her daughter's head was bleeding furiously. The gal saw her mum and mumble 'Mimi' immediately after, she laid motionless in mummy's arm. (am tearing when typing this)....very sad.

aiyo so sad to hear news like that.

Dor, i think i saw Chloe yesterday morning at blk21. Was on my way to the lor1 market. din call her, don't think she remember me. She's very cute, doing exercise/stretching there.

Ling, ur huggies contact dun sell pull-ups?

Mommies & Tods Gathering
Date/Time: 21 March, Saturday, 9.30am
Venue: Blk 97 Playground, Lor. 3 (cool & windy)-behind yellow pages
-----------------------------------------

1) Dor & Chloe (2yo)
2) Miin, Aleesha & Rasheed
3) seveneleven & Asher
5)

7/11, Wow! U still rem how Chloe look hee! Her nanny stays at Blk 199 usually will bring her to nearby playground. She's super active nowadays.

hey mummies

jst came back from j8.

there is a popular sale at atrium. Books are on offer and if u buy min. of 10 books, 50% off yr total bill!! Gd deal!! some books look old thou and alot of nice activities books too!

hey, Beautytan, thanks for the link! will discuss with my hub.

Jasmine, sorry leh.would love to join in but cant,got to attend a fren's 1st bday party. =)mabe I book on sunday.. havent decided yet. Btw, i went to Aussino today..saw the promo u told me.. the $10 bedsheet for bb cot, but i din get it, my fren got it instead. me gt a winnie the pooh single bedsheet for my boy. it's 50% off!! hence got it only @$22.90!!hehe.. pretty good deal..the promo still on if anyone wanna get it. =)

dor,
sooo sad to read about that 6yo gal who died in her mother's arms. so heartbreaking! about the pneumoccocal story, i duno who that mummy is, it was shared with me by a mummy of another thread. my gal also had that shot when she was an infant as recommended by her PD. altho it was very ex my hb & i decided to go for it ever since she suddenly developed bronchiolitis when she was 1.5mo and had to be hospitalised for 5days. so watever jab there is she has taken it as recommended by her PD. even have to burn a big whole in our pockets, its better to be safe ( kiasi and kiasu) then be sorry. we dun wanna risk our gal's health and life just to save money.

pooh,
good deal! feel like going but have to refrain cos my gal's medical bill this mth already caused big damage liao with her flu 2wks ago and fever just this morning. sigh!!

jasmine,
yup. like today courts also have sale!hehe..my hub forgotten to give me his card hence i cant go to the private sale! sigh. =(

jasmine,

i realised e courts sale preview is from 6-10pm!hehe.will ask him to come back & pass me e card!haha...
u still wanna go taka??

7/11 and white lady, I have placed order for the huggies diapers. estimated delivery is next weekend (28/29 Mar). I will let you know when the delivery is here k. $14.50 each. You can pay me when you come by to collect.

7/11, Not sure if they carry pull up pants.U wnat me to check?

Jasmine and Favored, the huggies contact is ok to do free delivery for >/=6 packs for Toa Payoh area. I PM you the phone no. k. So you wont need to come by my place to carry so many packs.

Miin, good luck with the diaperless training!
My elder gal was not potty trained until 2 weeks ago, day + night at one go :) All the aricles I read said dont go into power struggle so I tried for so many time in the past and gave up when my gal resisted. Then I told myself this time I have to be firmed cos she is old enuf to be trained. Wrestled with her for almost a week. I know what u mean by holding bladder. My gal's record was 9.5hr and she was jumping like a Joey cos bladder is bursting. She sufferred a urine tract infection...I felt so bad about it.
Now I have to work on getting her to sit on toilet and the poo poo part... aiyo, I dont want her to be still on diaper when she goes to Pri 1!

Ling, so far my son is diaperless while he's home or out short distance. last 2 nites he managed to go diaperless n i rewarded him with a thomas tattoo this morning.. hehe.. my next challenge is for him to go diaperless in school n nap. the biggest obstacle is he's a bit of jie pi.. so he feel uncomfortable peeing or pooing outside.. dats y he prefers to pee in his diaper rather than the school toilet. it's his phobia that i have to overcome, not the readiness. hehe..

i told him already that if he can go diaperless in school, i'll reward him with his fave train tattoo.. hope it works.. keeping my fingers crossed.

managed to chong to popular expo during lunch hour.. luckily met Dor and cut into her queue.. hehe.. it was not too crowded but the paying queue was so loooooong.. adidas is worse, queue all the way from hall 5 to almost reaching subway.. scary..

Ling, ya can help find out for me? Every diaper changing time has been a "wrestling match" for me. I'm trying pullups when we are outside.

Anyone got good suggestion how to get rid of baby ear wax? i've been noticing this huge earwax in asher's both ears. When i look in, its covering up 80%. but too deep in for using a cotton bud. i know it will come out finally but i hand very itchy, want to do something abt it

7/11, it's better not to do anything abt it.If u try digging his ears, he may end up getting an infection. =(
if the wax is not blocking his hearing then leave it, if it is, then better get professional help (like doc) to remove it. =)better be safe than sorry.

seveneleven

i call the contact already and she say got pull ups.... think she mention something like 14 per pack. but size wise only got m onwards.

thanks mummies for the advice on ear wax. i just ask my fren who is a doctor. He also say leave it alone, use olive oil if i really need to do something abt it. haha.

thanks jasmine for asking abt the pullups. If it is $14, Ling can still add on to the orders? 3 pks of XL pullups

precious, think the process to do the conversion q tedious leh. my hubby just explain to me but catch no ball :p

Seveneleven, my daughter had pretty bad ear wax too at one stage, went to see the doc and he gave ear drops to soften the wax then did syringing.

Precious, my player can transfer music from cassette to CD. Any players with these a cassette and CD compartment should be able to do that.

I just managed to "semi-train" my son who's 2 to go diaperless during the day. I gave him the "incentive" of dried fruits when he sits on the potty. But I realised the moment he wears his diaper he forgets all about the potty. He doesn't seem to know that he's on "high tide" and need to pee...

As for poo, it's gonna take some time I think. Pooing somehow is always more difficult...

ling,
how old is your gal? oh dear, got urinary infection....poor gal. i have a similar exp with my gal.

i'm also trying to toilet train my gal who is almost 2yo by letting her go diaperless during the day when she's awake but i've been pretty lazy and inconsistent with the training. gotta buck up and give it a serious try again. the problem with her is that sometimes she just doesnt tell me that she wants to go pee and when i can tell that she needs to go pee, i'd tell her to go toilet but she sometimes either run away from me or she'll sit down and wont budge. can faint! but once she's on the toilet bowl she'll pee compared to the initial stage where she wasn't used to peeing while sitting on there. now also facing a bit of problem getting her to poo. she usually poos in her diaper and when i notice that when she wanna poo and put her on the toilet bowl, she'll not wanna poo liao....can faint again! can't imagine having to do complete diaperless training the whole day. heard from a fren who has 2 teenaged sons, wat she did when they were young was to wake up at 2am and 6am to wake her sons up to pee. siong man!

Miin & Dor,

sorry went to the playground just now, din see u guys so went off. i didn't wait very long plus the slides look a little wet so went to market instead.

Hope u had a good time

HI mummies
Just want to check if anyone here send their child/infant to the BISHAN-TOA PAYOH NORTH CCC CHILD CARE & DEVELOPMENT CENTRE at Blk 199, Toa Payoh North? Cos' I'm expecting my 2nd one and want to put him there. THanks!

Miin, my girl had the same phobia also. That's why only succeeded with potty by force recently, She has been able to go diaperless in school (4h) and nap time for months already. She could tell when she wants to pee but will only do it in diaper....dunno why just so phobic of potty and toilets ??? And she is 19kg now so gotta buy XXL diaper (which is so exp) just to contain her waste!!! Faint! I tried giving her lots of reward but she wasnt interested. She rather not want the reward and tells me she is a baby and wants diaper...vommit blood! Now I am cracking my brain how to get my gal to poo in potty :-(

Char, my gal is 4y 4m. The older she gets, the more difficult to coax cos they can bargain and retaliate. I think 2 yr is still ok. Take it easy. I know what you mean by whole day just focusing on toilet training. If not becos I m on maternity leave, I dont think I have time and energy to do toilet training with my gal. Ya I gotta wake up middle of the night to ask my gal if she wants to pee during training her. Now she will wake up on her own to call me if she needs to go :) Start with day training 1st.

7/11, I added 3 packs of the diaper pants to the order liao :)

Hi BS_S
I dun stay in Toa Payoh, but my SIL places her kids (18mths and 3 years old) there. The older kids goes to Blk 200. 18mths - N1 is in Blk 199.
From what i understand, this school has no parent-teacher communication, so my SIL doesn't know much about what goes on there. Breakfast portion is a little small. But the kids are happy there.
The fees are cheap though.

Precious, can, no problem, I can "attempt" to transfer for you. Hopefully I can still remember what to do! Haha! I can't remember where I kept the manual already :p

My friend managed to train her daughter who's only 6 months to poo in the potty! But it was "indiretly". The baby girl had constipation and she realised that by putting her on the potty she could poo more easily. So from then on the baby girl only knows how to poo in the potty!

Anyone went for the SSO @ Toa Payoh? Such a pity the weather played up. But I was surprised that the crowd still gathered with their umbrellas.

jcefoo,
wat is SSO?=)
hmm..seems like we are at the topic of potty training.. hehe..
my boy is 4mth old and he is able to poo in the potty and able to "tell" me when he needs to poo.=)initially he was even able to tell me when to pee,but i was too lazy hence put him on diaper for peeing only.he hardly poo in his diaper & will insist to poo in his potty even in the middle of the night! =)

Hey,Jasmine how was the littleneurotree?can share? I havent book any appointment yet.would like to hear from u.

Any mommies send their babies (5-6mth)to learn swimming?can share your experience?thanks!

I missed the preview for the neurotree..

can anyone share? expensive? is it a once a week lesson or what?

Wow Dolphingal, that's impressive! Good for you! It takes a lot of patience and it's time-consuming to do the potty training thing at such a tender age.

SSO stands for Singapore Symphony Orchestra.

As for swimming, I've heard quite a few PDs who discourage swimming at such a young age...Anyway I think SAFRA has swimming for little ones

dolphingal,
got a friend who attended swimming lessons with her 6mth baby. It was a small group abt 5 mum&babies. Not really swimming lessons, but more of playing. main thing is to get the baby comfortable with water. She did not attend for long cos very ex$$. $100/mth. half hour.

I've been bringing my boy to yio chu kang swimming pool. Not too bad and convenient. They use salt in the pool. The TP pool is too chlorinated. Went there once, my baby's eyes all red after the swim and skin very dry

ling,
ic ic, woah u must be having big headache on how to make your gal poo on the toilet bowl. too bad i've got nothing to contribute on that matter.....yeah thnx, will focus on day training with my gal.

dolphingal,
how did u manage to potty train your son at such a young age? i'm really curious on how he is able to let u know that he wanna use the potty to pee/poo.....

Char, aft hearing the news fm my hb i went over and hugged my gal who's sleeping jus beside me. When u potty train ur gal mus always ask/remind her every 1.5-2hrs if she wants to pee or poo. My nanny and I did tat so often until she's piss off haha! Answered us back wif a loud and frustrated tone 'NO' so furnnie. There's a stage when she's really urgent and still refuse to pee, I gotta dragged her to the potty n made her sit on it! She let out wif a releive look haha! My nxt challenge now is to put her on the toilet bowl. Yes, she just had her 1st try in our master bedrm toilet which is out of emergency haha! She managed to pee but miss target kekeke!

Ling, fyi my colleague's daughter went diaperless when she was 5-6yo heehee! coz she din really train her sigh.

BS_S, my advice, if possible dun leave infants there. My gal was there for a few mths and i withdrew her out fm there. She develop seroius nappy rash after 2 wks in there. Some of staffs jus doesnt seems to bother, I was quite mad and told the principal however she defended her staffs saying tat my daughter has sensetive skin. The menu is always very standard seems no changes at all fruits will always be apples. Miin, mummy in this thread, will share the same sentiment wif me too. Rite Miin heehee!

7/11, sorry i din on sat either, the weather doesnt seems very promising, tot it wld rain but din. Miin brout her kids there thou.

Dolphinegal, Sky really super leh. Me too wonder how u train him, do share wif us.

Am also checking out abt Little NeuroTree, perhaps we cld go 2gether and find out more and hopefully with our nos. manage to squeeze them for some kinda discount if we decided to sign-up. Wat say u?

Preview of Littel NeruoTree
Date/Time: 28 Mar, Sat / 10am
Mtg point: o/side TPY KFC
----------------------------------
1) Dor & Chloe (2yo)

Dor, I think I will end up like your collegue. Die die must get her trained before end of 2010 cos she is entering Primary 1 in 2011!!
I am interesed to learn more anour the little neurotree programme too but don't think I have time for the preview now with my no. 2 around. Can share if you managed to attend the preview session?

Ling, Here u r trying to potty train ur gal and me trying to kick her habit of thumb sucking b4 she enters Nursery nxt year haha! Good Luck to both of us! Sure, I'll be glad to share any info if i do attend their preview.