TOA PAYOH mummies

Hey Precious,
My nanny doesnt know ba..simple simple body language got la..but read book to him?don thk so ba...but i got borrow few book for him bring to nanny hse read lo...he like turn over book,and read out those language only he know wats that abt..haha..
but now he know how to read ABC,123 and some colours as well...:p
The one Kallang Cherie Hearts till 7.30pm?i thk i heard so,but no diff for me le,so far when go over there also more than half and hour le..

u work as part time hse agent is it?tat time heard u say b4...good then,time flex and can earn alot too~!:p
For the part time cleaner, is it charge at $10 per hour?min 4 hr?
I stay at Blk 126, lor 1. The cleaner le?

Newmummy
I had checked w the part time cleaner. Her schedule is full.
Property agent, as long as we have assignments, there is actually no difference as part time or full time. In fact when we advertise, our phone rings non-stop. And we work on weekends too. I might be focusing more towards commercial rental/sale, as viewing arrangement is normally during office hours. Good $ or not, have to depend how much work we put in too :)

Newmummy
One good benefit in placing both in cc, it allows me to have quality time with one child once a week, by fetching one child earlier. When the child is older, it is definitely much easier to handle but you will be busy occupying him too. My 4yrs old girl can sometimes drive me crazy especially when she feels bored at home, and I don't allow her to watch tv programs for more than an hour. I have to constantly keep her occupied to do some interesting activities at home, or bringing both to outdoor activities, they like waterplay n sandplay and they can play for hours

Newmummy
I just received a call from PCF Sparkletots Blk 146A. They just told me that they are able to have two vacanies for me, born in year 2009 and 2006. The price for 2009 is $877 before subsidy. And born in 2006, is only $588 before subsidy. Centre operates 4 Jan 2011

Oh really?then u will let ur kids go there?thk ur kids name under the waiting list if b4 me ba...so lucky...but seriously if i got call, i also don know want to let him go there on jan or not...hmm....the fees seems abit ex rite?how abt the cherie heart in kallang?
so u reject liao ah?

Newmummy
After discussed w hubby, we decided on Cherie Hearts at Kallang, since the kids enjoyed there. In fact yesterday was our 3rd visit and they spent 2hrs to mingle and played together with new friends. Though more expenses as they have to take sch bus. Cherie Hearts at Kallang has been operated since year 2005, their school fee is $830 per child before subsidy

Precious,
Preeschool by the park at carmichael is taken over by Kinderland. They offer school bus service also.

May I know how much is the fee your for your no. 2 at Cheri Hearts @ Kallang?

Heard the principal and one of the teachers at PCF sparklethots at 146 will be from the current PCF kindergarten at block 97 where my gal is.

I personally find that the curriculum has improved a lot. They included computer skills. music toolbox in their curriculum and offers some enrichment classes too. I suppose it should be pretty similar fo the CC.
My gal is in K2 and they had classroom simulations as well as actual field trip to nearby Pri school to prepare them for the big school environment. Last week, she had her first try to queue and buy snacks from school canteen.

For Cheri hearts, do they offer additional programmes like music, art, sppech and drama etc in the afternoons?

Kinderland offers kindermusik at all centres. Other enrichments like speech and drama may be centre-specific.

I am also considering a childcare for my no. 2 whom is turning 2 next month. She's currently at Y'kidz for 2hr PG. Her teachers felt that she is ok to go for the 4h PG next year. My only concern is she'll be repeating what she learn twice. until she's promoted to the junior workgroup when she turns 2.5 yo.
I don't beliver in sending my kids for lots of weekend enrichments so hope to find a preschool with well-balanced curriculum.

Any mummies visited mindchamps at TPY before?
The fees is $1500/mth before subsidy! Is their curriculum good?

babygenius,
both my ex-colleagues send their kids to mindchamps. one for tuition class the other cc. feedback for tuition classes are good. but childcare no, maybe my colleague is rather paranoid over cleanliness and food nutrition bah. fyi, mindchamps cc food is catered.
the a year back i went to it chk-out the take up rate for cc is not very high perhaps due to course fee, hence good in a way but not sure about now liao. also understand and see for myself they employ quite a no. of flipinos trs and assistants.

Newmummy, ya 192 got rockers, but once they can walk abt 12-15mths old , they change them to sleep mat liao.

wah..tat really is hard time to train le!My boy will definately refuse to zz on mat/cot de...during day time he used to zz in rocker liao...nanny also let him to be...haiz...

Babygenius
Cherie Hearts's curriculum is quite comprehensive. Hence they do not provide any additional in-house enrichment programs. Total focus learning is 2-3hrs per day, English and Chinese. Next year, they will be using jolly phonics to teach phonics n blending, and all teachers have to go training for this program

After visiting more than 5 centres includes those in Bishan, to choose a comfortable, have to depend on individual centre. Some centers, the turnover rate is very high.

Hi Precious

Cherie heart at kallang is so far.. so difficult to find a CC tat is near to tpy n near mrt station. i was thinking to find one near mrt station so that in event i cant make it to fetch my gal, i can ask my mum to fetch her..

PCF sparklethots at 146 is a new CC?

any mummies heard of Cambridge Child Development Centre @ Novena (Curious Minds Childcare Pte Ltd)? It is v near to Novena mrt..

Rlrenn
Yes is a new Childcare centre located at Blk 146a. Under PCF Sparkletots. I did ask them about the school cirrculum, and the reply: "we just follow moe'

You can arrange a visit at Cambridge @ Novena. I personally find the school small as it is a terrace house. However they do hv good reading programs. They do not hv much outdoor activities, normally indoor

i also find the school small but tot it is good to hv an outdoor area of its own.. din know they dun hv much outdoor activities coz i saw from their multiply website they hv photos of their outdoor activities

Rlrenn
I was surprised too, when the sch principal told me they normally arrange indoor activities. Location is good, near to Mrt, direct bus is 56.

Precious
Yes, I hv secured a place at this cambridge outlet for my gal. Cannot wait to start her. She now at in laws place and they brought her back 2 days ago. She was whining coz restless at home and during nap, when bb cries, she also woke up and cried
and I still hv to focus on pump milk and latch. Lucky for confinement lady to settle the baby.

Newmummy
Expore sch bus if really no choice to put him at cc further away. Even if you put in TPY, you may still not make it back here in time to fetch yah? How about some flexi arrangement with nanny? Just drop off at her place and you go there pick him up?

Char
Please please, go take epidural. It's a life saver!

Talking about latch, I am going bonkers already. Just now let bb latch 40 min and i can still pump out the usual amt after that! Goodess, what was he doing at my breasts that 40min?! Pump is so much faster. Sigh. I really dun want to give up latch. Already failed at latching for no. 1, now no. 2 also so tough

Precious
Lucky you again, PCF sparkletots called you up. No one called me up, guess intake for 18m-36m always very popular lor. But am glad I secured a place at cambridge alr though not in TPY.

Ok, must ZZZzzz, later must still wake up pump..........

Precious
Lucky you again, PCF sparkletots called you up. No one called me up, guess intake for 18m-36m always very popular lor. But am glad I secured a place at cambridge alr though not in TPY.

Surf
They are taking in 100 students for Blk 146A.
Which Cambridge did you enrol? I called Mei Kwan branch but they did not hv sch bus transport service

surf,
i really very scared of needles so i'll pass it for now. will bear with the pain like i did for #1 until if really can't then will opt for epidural. oh dear, hearing you talk about BF'ing i also a bit worried. i was also not successful during #1 time and not sure how it'll go for #2. will take a step at a time bah. hope BF'ing will go well for your #2.

Precious
you called the bus operator? i hv not called them. The principsl told me got 2 operators.

mummy tang
Pai sey, just saw your post, trying to catch up on the messages, thanks for sharing. Good to hear that ur kid enjoyed at cambridge. Ur younger one going to cc soon? yes, they hv a pool. Ur kids took sch bus then? remember how much u paid for?

sabrina
how much u paid for at united montesorri @ bishan?

Char
you felt the needle pain worse than labour pain? or it is the phobia of needles? yah, u dun think of bf now first, get the bb out, then try your best. Hope u hv an easier time than me.

Char
#2, I insisted to have epi. Learnt my lesson for #1 wo epi. I wont want to suffer one more time. #2 was very smooth delivery for me. Went hospital at 10pm, and I delivered him at 150am.

Surf
I did not call. They don't hv vacancy for next year 2006.

surf/precious,
i have phobia of needles indeed. when i was working last time and they had those free health screening where they had to draw blood, i actually fainted after my blood was drawn. then after that everytime i had to do a blood test at the clinic, i had to tell the doc that i tend to faint and i was allowed to lie down and rest after my blood was drawn and then can go home. but lately so far no fainting spells after blood test during this pregnancy. jia lat right? :p

actually i also wanted epi for this time cos i remember how painful it was and got scared. so i took a look at a couple of videos on youtube on epi procedure and i freaked out. saw how many times kena injected then the syringe for the epi tube to be inserted is so thick and all that, i'm having 2nd thoughts. but hor, is the epi procedure painful or not?

Char
Nothing can be worse than labour pain!!!! trust me!!
Or maybe my threshold for pain is really low. They had to put on laughing gas for me before they can administer the epi as I was tightly curled up in pain. You won't see the needles lar. I kept saying i want epi when i reached the hospital. The nurse was still telling me, oh you due anytime, wait for doc come hospital assess and see if epi is still in time. If not, waste of $$$, blah blah. I was so pissed off then and told them to just give it to me!!!!!! Alr passing out from the pain.

But if you have tahan labour pain think u can manage, and so scared of needles, you may want to go wo epi this time again. That's what a fren of mine did. 2 kids wo epi.

Re: Mindchamps
we were also comtemplating but it's full at the HDB branch alr. A fren intend to enrol her kid at the K1 level instead. They are now diverting students to Paragon branch instead, with FOC transport from HDB. Yes, the fee is high! Hey, but if tuition is good, can consider. Dor - you mean their weekend enrichment classes?

surf,
we'll see how lah. if i can bear with the pain again then i'll go w/o but if cannot tahan then will go for it.

RE:pT cleaner:
Hey mummies...just wonder any update on PT cleaner?need her on this wed or sat/sun only...if u gals hv lubang pls recommend ya..thx 1st...btw,now the rate increase to $10 per hr?min 4 hr rite?
I got this china cleaner,Ah xiang,recommend her fren Ah Lan,don know got or not..any one of u heard abt it?
RE:CC:
Surf,regarding the cc operating hr,i really did consider b4 to get school bus,but not all cc got this svc?some more,if dopr at nanny hse,also don know she wan?coz already nvr let her tk care my boy le, still ma fan her like not so good le..

Newmummy
You may contact her: Ann from [email protected]
She is from the agency, and she can get weekly pt cleaner for you. No agency fee.
Slowly look for a good and convenient cc, sooner or later he has to go to sch, kindergarten etc. And you may have to seek help from the main caregiver too. Etc: have to prepare dinner for him if he goes to full day program. Today we drove by Blk 146A, and the centre was very big as according to the diagram chart shown on the letter pasted outside the school, no wonder they can take in 100 students.

hey Precious..thx alot ya~!

So the Blk 146A hv not open yet la?still under reno?
but the fees seems abit ex...
anw,i still not get news from any cc yet!so just buy my time while wait times come to train him...

Hi..I seldom post as not really a TPY mum. Hehe

Am wondering if any kid learns piano? Any recommendation?

newmummy, train to sleep in cot easier cos cannot run. Got to tahan cry for about 1 week, my girl stand and put her down, stand down stand down, see who tired first haha. But now she ok, sometimes i so angry i walk out, then my hubby say go sleep, mommy angry, then she will sleep. If i stay in room, she will refuse to sleep lor.. sian.

Char... u reminded my journey 11mths ago, my girl born on 06dec, her birthday soon, the day i had my painful labour haha. Breastfeeding also another tough journey, i bf her for 7mths, now breast so saggy sia...

Ivy

Did you wear underwired bras throughout pregnancy and breastfeeding? I read some parenting magazine, and was advised to wear for Asian mummies. And it is true :)

ivy,
time flies doesn't it? tell me about saggy boobs after stopped breastfeeding. i only breastfed for 1.5mths and they look like deflated balloons after that. :D

Surf,
Re: Mindchamps. The classes mentioned by my ex-colleague were for older children Pri-Sec lvl. However, another gf of mind who is an owner & teacher of a tution centre in Hougang 'Promiseland' highly recommended to put my gal in mindchamps. I din coz its quite costly.

Precious,
did not wear underwired bras leh!!! Cos hard to latch with them on. I think its not the bra that cause my breast saggy, its the pumping, i find at one point im pumping to store so maybe exhaust the breast.

Char,
Did ur boobs go back to normal after a while? My fren keep consoling me, say will go back close to normal hahahah. (CLOSE TO -.- qi si wo)

I'm not a TPY mummy, but my MIL lives here and I leave my boy & maid with her when I go to work.

I'm looking for a good childcare/playgroup to send my boy to when he reaches 18 mths.. bcoz.. with MIL & Indo maid, he only learns broken English (or Malay!) & watch TV! Am I too KS?

Char, we are fren fren flen flen. hehe.

jul, u not KS lah. I wont want my kid to speak broken english or speak like maid. But no help then no choice, will take a lot of effort to correct. Send to some weekend classes? My girl is in my first skool.

ivy, char

My boobs also 'deflated' after I stopped pumping. My boy refused to latch, so from 8 weeks till 1 yr old, I was exclusively pumping. Each pump lasts 30min. Till 6 mths, I was pumping 7 times a day. Can u imagine the wear & tear???

ivy

I was thinking to send my boy to some Kindermusik or Gymboree thing once a week. He hasn't attended anything & he tends to cry in a crowd

Then when he gets used to it, I wanted to put him into a playgroup. But there seems to be a shortage of good playgroups in the TPY area?

Oh ur gal is in the branch above the old NTUC? Does it have those 2-h playgroup?

jul,
one of the mummies here put her boy in star tot at TPY central blk 78B, she said so far not bad. it's a playgroup for kids btwn 18-30mths old if i'm not wrong.

wah... all abt "boobs" hehehe..
talking abt it.. soon i have to start pumping too.. =( really drag the process.. thinking of direct latch all the way but not sure if supply will be enuff...

oh ya. any mummies gt newborn bb gal clothes to spare?i can collect from u anytime..
thank u in advance..