TOA PAYOH mummies

Hi rlrenn,

Good to bring ergo carrier, if not your arms will be tired to carry her. Good to hv compact travel stroller too, those which can fold into a backpack or very lightweight stroller w shoulder strap

HI beautytan,Ykidz ok lo,but the groups now got total got 5 kids,i feel quite alot,sometime,the 1 hour vy fast past coz the teacher is teach them one by one like show materials to teach them and ask them involved.
But now don hv intake liao...shd be..

Btw, received phone call claimed got vacancy in My First Skool in blk 192 TPY,but class start 15 nov,too rush for me!and they will gv priority to 18 or 19 mths old bb..
So i gv it a miss lo...no choice!
My boy now still need zz in sarung le!!don know how to train him zz on bed. Lukcly nite time he can zz on bed la..

rlenn,
we went HK in Mar (f&e) nice and cooling weather. Brought stroller along and used only once on our last day when we go shopping hee!
toilet train, hv u try letting her sit on toilet seat perhpas tell her everyone in the family are doing tat maybe she'll wanna follow. However, someone have to be around to guide.

beautytan,
I was contemplating berries and this. i choose hokkien huay guan instd b'coz its walking distance fm my place. Both places r popular for their chinese classes according to my understanding.

Hi precious, Tks for recommendation but I dun Tik I want to
Invest in ergo carrier now. She might not used to it. My hb say just go without stroller. Haha. Will see how.

Dor, she is afraid of sitting on toilet bowl n potty. Dunno why. I bot those cute potty n cheapo potty, she oso scare of sitting on it. Mayb she is not ready yet.

rirenn,
it helps if she sees you use the toilet. if she seems interested like observes you whenever you use the toilet, it could be a sign that she may be ready to give it a try. if not just try again next mth.

Newmummy

Blk 192 is the CC above Fairprice supermarket right? You are so lucky. The last I called up, think 1-2 mths back, I am still number 20 something in the queue! Alr gave up liao.

BTW, mummies here heard of Cambridge CC @ Mei Hwan / Ang Mo Kio? It's not toooo far from TPY. Very spacious and hv a big playground.

Sigh, I am a fickle minded mum, hv signed up and paid deposit for the church kindy come Jan. But as the days towards my due date gets nearer, I am beginning to feel paranoid
. I feel that we cannot cope with the elder gal and baby. 2 hours at the church kindy is not enuff. After that 2 hours, my girl needs to still be entertained and when MIL is here, she only clings and cries for her. MIL also getting stressed up over this as we dunno what to expect when the baby is out. Will my gal be more sensible? I dun think so. Scarly worse, jealous and throw more tantrums
It does not help also that I happened to just change my helper, still blur and slow. Not comfortable to let her handle baby and yet, MIL has to entertain my elder gal. Of coz, elder gal still has not gotten used to the new helper too. Not easy as she is older now, not like when she was a baby last time.

This whole childcare arrangement thing is stressing me up!!! Can't sleep at night
And I am due anytime now! I found my 1st strand of white hair last week.

Surf
I have 2 children, year 2006 and 2009, wo any alternate help. Have you called Cherie Hearts @ Kallang? I just visited last week and both my kids loved it. Very spacious. Nice sch principal too.

Many childcare centres do not have sch bus transport service. Does Cambridge CC @ Mei Hwan provide?

Btw, my girl took 4mths to adapt to her little brother. In the beginning, at all times she wanted my attention, most likely due to jealousy.

I hv just delivered my boy yesterday! So sudden and fast. Delivered within 2 hours after I reached hospital. Goodness, almost cannot make it in time for epidural. Was in distress coz cannot get into position due to the pain. Lucky managed to get the epidural on time.

Hi precious
I always admire SAHMs who can manage without alternate help. Kudos to you. My gal didn't even want to look at di di yest in hospital but today better. Everytime she comes, we prepare a gift to say it's from di di and it seems to be working!

Now you thinking to send your elder on to CC? Cambridge does provide transport but i hv yet to chk if they ply to our area. Yes, I hv visited Preschool by the Park. Are you referring to Carmichael branch? One of the mummies here sent her boy there, but can't remember her nick here :p Mummy - pls identify yourself ok? Hee....

hi surf,

congrats to you on the arrival of your little prince. me still waiting. was in hospital on late monday morning due to false alarm. had irregular contractions through out the whole night and ended in early morning. my gynae came by to check on me and said still early so went home.

Hey Surf!congrate~!btw,i thk im lucky to get call from my first skool,but ho,i just take a miss this time,coz too rush le,is this 15 nov hv to start le.she said is priority to kids 18 or 19mths de...hmm...hope next yr,will hv change.Coz now my boy still not prepare for it,as he still zz in rocker!i don know how to train him!coz nanny hse also use rocker,she said when time come, bb will choose not to zz..i was wonder this time will come or not..sigh!
Btw,now my boy already 19mths, can eat chicken liao?coz i nvr gv him eat b4,heard will easy get cough and phlegm?coz in future go cc will halal,no pork...so hv to let him try1st...

Precious,the cc at Kallang how much fees?u send both by shcool bus got extra charge rite?then u will follow them go?how many mths of ur son now ah?they got vacancy ah?not like my first skool?forever waiting list...haiyo..

newmummy08
Before subsidy, each child is $830; Sch bus is $140 per child. How much is My First Skool?
For long term, it would be good for them to take sch bus.

Btw, Blk 54 My First Skool, most likely it will operate in June 2011.
This info was provided by the sch principal of My First Skool Blk 192.

Currently, my #2 is 16mths. He can start to go Cherie Hearts in mid of Dec.
My #1 will go first, as she is having her sch holiday soon.
It would be a good time for her to get used to the change of environment, and also she has never been in any half day nor full day program.

Thanks mummies, for the well wishes!

Char, must be extra alert for 2nd one. Comes out real fast. From the min I had the labour pain till I delivered, it was all within 3 hours. When I first had the pain, was still dilly dallying at home, thinking bathe or not to bathe first (coz one month cannot bathe). Mistake, shld hv rushed to hospital immediately. After 15min of the contractions, didn't feel right coz very frequent and strong. Ended up never bathe coz cannot even stand properly alr. By the time reach hospital after 1 hour, alr 6cm dilated. The staff still tells me may not need epidural coz due anytime, dun waste the $$, blah blah. I told them dun care, just give it to me! Kudos to mummies who didn't hv epidural. Which hospital you at?

Precious

Haha, your gal so cute! My gal just happy that got present.

Wah, kallang is not really near TPY. Your hub working near the area? or you hv heard good reviews about it? I was also considering Cherie Hearts near our area, think there's one at macRitchie. But cannot find any review on it. Hey, the kallang branch fee is cheap at $830 before sub. My first skool about $600 plus before sub I think. This Cambridge at AMK is about $900 before sub. Quite exp as compared to others actually. We likely to confirm.

Newmummy
Why not just confirm the place first? Send him there and then adapt?

Surf
Is at Kallang sector, very near to tpy. Enter into pie change then exit Kallang. Is inside infineon building. We had visited a few cc, after 2nd visit at Cherie hearts at Kallang, we decided on this cc. The sch principal is very clear of the objectives on the children's welfare and interests. Very spacious, clean and organized environment. Most importantly the kids like it, the rest of the cc, they showed no interests

How old is your girl?

Newmummy
Have to let him slowly adapt. He will cry for a few days, though some I heard a few weeks. If he is really tired, he will sleep wo a rocker

Precious
I see, it's inside Infineon. You are right, that's quite near. Lucky you, managed to get a place coz usually such workplace cc are full and they give priority to the staff working in that building. My gal is only 24 mths and this age group is usually full at most cc due to lower student:teacher ratio.

We prefer those landed property cc so that it provide an outdoor space for the kids to run about. This Cambridge at AMK has a playground as big as those at HDB area. Like your kids, my gal also didn't want to leave the cc when we are done talking to the principal. She refused to wear her shoes and close the gate on us even! So me and hubby were thinking, ok this is the place for her. As for curriculum wise, can't comment yet till i see her go through it. But a fren whose kid also with them but another branch, said most cc curriculum about the same.

hi mummies, anyone of you have your children at United Montessori Schoolhouse at Bishan? My girl going there next year Jan for N2.

Surf
We drove by and saw Cambridge at Mei kwan, it is very spacious! Earlier we visited Cambridge at novena, the area is very small especially the toilet. They are very academic focused. The k1 and k2 are prepared to do lots of worksheets. But they do hv good reading program, using national geographics readers.

Do Cambridge at Mei Kwan have vacancy for your girl?

surf,
yours was really fast labour wor! that's what my gynae kept emphasizing on-that things can happen very quickly for 2nd one (and mine being a small sized baby) until after i had those irregular contractions that night for 1hr i decided to go to hospital but who knows i wasn't dilated that much and baby's position was still not low yet and come next morning the contractions were gone so chose to go home. i was at mount alvernia.

surf, congrats. Steady ok, got no 1, no 2 u will be more steady after some time.

Char, urs soon ya. Nervous for u dunno why haha, reminds me that time when i due, so nervous!

Tat day went thomson ntuc finest, my girl went excited over a boy in pram lolz. My parents talking to the parents who is from braddell, my girl really like kids... maybe shld get her into more activities with children.

Surf, congrats on #2.

Cambridge @ AMK Mei Hwan
my #1ds is there for K1 and now K2. He loves the school very much. BTW there's also a small pool in there and there will be swimming lessons for K1 onwards.The teachers there are nice too.

Yes there is school bus but you need to check with the school for the vendors' contacts.

Mummy tang
Wow! It is so nice to hv a small pool. My girl is still having her swim lessons at TPY so once a week I hv to fetch her earlier to let her have her swim. And also she has her violin. Really got to plan my time wisely

ivy,
haha. i try not to think about it cos i do feel quite scared when i do think about it as i can recall the pain for labour and the stitches. i even contemplated about having epidural this time but after watching a video for epidural procedure, i freaked out cos i'm so afraid of needles. :p

Hi Precious/Surf,
I really wan let my boy go cc,coz rather than let him rot at nanny hse do nothg other than watch tv lo!Nanny also will intend spoilt him as every time he scream,nanny will surely gv him thgs he want.The teacher in Ykids said it will make him feel that yelling and screma will get wat he want,so become a way to communicate with us as he doesnt know how to speak yet.
Haiz wat to?i got alot concern,as im working mother,knock off sometime over 7pm,then cc until 7pm only,if my and hubby cant on time knock off, then no one help to fetch him back!as my MIL/mum not stay in SG...some more schoold fees is one of my concern too!and the location of coz is most important!
Blk 54 will only open next yr June?omg!bythen also don knw got vacancy or not!
Heard PFC will open new cc also at blk142,i did register too,hope can get in,but i more perfer blk 192 le,more convenince,environment not bad,but some of mummies feel too crowded,too pack?
Abut regret gv up the chance,but when he go cc,sure i need tk long leave company him few days c how he can use to the environment,from the "situation" he at Ykidz,i thk by then all the teacher also will vy vy scare him!!cry so loud and so noti!

Abt the rocker,i also was thk to train him start this few days,but back to nanny hse,still back to square,coz nanny also will let him zz in rocker de...haiz...don know how to train also...then only when go cc,no rocker for him zz,then when he super tired will zz too,but tot cc normally will hv nap time together?then if he doesnt wan zz,then how the teacher will "settle" him?

Newmummy
Blk 192 has more than 100 students.
Blk 142, imagine for K1, they have only one teacher with 25 students? The in-charge of Blk 142 told me for 18mths, it was mostly 100% full enrollment.

About 154, by the time they renovated, it would be June 2011 as told by the sch principal of Blk 192.

Why not enroll him near to your workplace?

You would have to work together with his nanny to stop using the rocker. This way it is much better for you to take care of him at night and during weekends :)

About screaming and crying, try time-out. Let him scream and cry for 5-10mins, eventually he will stop as no one attends him?

Have you tried any Childcare at Bishan?

Newmummy
Think if you put your boy in cc, you only need to take at most one or two days leave. If you are with him all the time, it doesn't help him to adjust cos mummy is always there to run to. From what I have noticed at my girl's childcare, the kids which adjust the fastest are those who's parents dont hang around looking worried and who leave with a wave and a happy face. You should of course tell him that you'll definitely pick him up later but you want him to have fun first. Dont worry, the teachers know how to settle the kids to sleep, to eat etc. And the herd instinct really plays a part - when all the other kids are doing something, it wont be long before your boy does the same as well. My girl is impossible with sleeping time at home but in school, kwai kwai follow everyone else to drink milk and sleep without fuss in the afternoon on the mattress and most amazing doesn't roll out of the little mattress area either. Initially the teachers had to 'pat pat' her but apparently now, she just goes off by herself

Most childcares do not encourage parents to hang around cos the kids will cling to parents if the parents are around. This doesn't mean that they are unhappy at school but which kid doesn't want special parental attention if the parent is around right. When I checked out Learning Vision some time ago, their method is to get a family photo so if the child asks for parents during the day, they will show the family photo to assure the child that daddy and mummy and child are a family and daddy/mummy will see the child later.

Congrats to all new mummies and 2nd time MTBs.
So lucky. I wish I will be so lucky too

Sunny
That is a very good idea used by learning vision.
I do agree with you. I'm sure the teachers have the experience to settle down crying babies / toddlers.

Newmummy
Is that any method to distract your boy easily when he cries? Perhaps u can let the sch knows :)

Hi Precious,
Blk 192 got so many students?wah...really regret let go the chance!Blk 54 still so long way to go!also don knw got place or not by then!Blk 142 so diff to get in ah?but is it good?fee wise?
I did try Bishan cc,got 1 get back to me, but i don like the environment,is under YMCA..
Regarding the rocker,actually nite time he can zz on bed,just day time!thk nanny also wan more easy,so let him zz rokcer and shake him lo...

she said when time come,he will doesnt want zz in rocker automatically.,is tat true?
Ya,i let him screma and cry b4 he go on bed,thk he jiust wan some one company him!but if company him zz,then he will play with u,talk talk there...haiz!
My working plaze got cherie heart,but vy ex,abt $900+!is fully aircon condition,im not really like it actually.some more vy far,is pretty not convenience for me to bring him there too...
Surf, i also don wan compnay him whole day in cc,thk u are rite to say they will tk longer time to adj themselve in cc environment!but im so doubt he will just like ur girl,will follow others zz too!my son?hmm....vy hard to say...

let c,when the time he got vacancy in cc,i thk he already grow to 2 yo liao,thk by then will more easy ba..hope so..
Precious,i thk the only thg to distract is on iphone show him video,pic and those children programme that i uploaded, then he will stop crying...but no use in cc...haha~!

Newmummy08
Personally I also don't like YMCA Blk 185 Bishan.
Heard hamptons at blk 178 bishan? and Blk 181 Bishan East 3-in-1 operated by Ren Ci?
Btw, Blk 505 Bishan (Happy Family CC) has very good feedback, however the place is too old (we feel) though spacious. It is located near to Bishan CPF board.

I am more concerned about the curriculum for kindergarten for my #1. etc: the reading program they are using. As I don't want her to go to any additional academic enrichment since she is going full day program, hence the school must be able to provide the learning materials and tools.

And also a good principal with clear objective towards the children's welfare and interests.

Have you called Blk 192 again? See if you can still enroll him if you are still interested?

newmummy08
There is a high demand of childcare centres in Toa Payoh. Blk 142 is operated by PCF Sparkletots. They are expanding just like My First Skool.

newmummy
I know there are some CCs, though the children are already in full day program, they do provide additional enrichment programs excludes school fee, etc: speech and drama, computer, gym. You may want to find out more details when sourcing for a childcare centre:)

Hi Precious, yup I think its a good cc too after visiting them few times. They just move to a bigger place. my girl now at My First Skool at Bishan blk 245. The cc also not bad but I feel tat she will learn more things at montessari school.
Im interested to enrol her in the abacus class but dont know which one is better. There's this CMA mental arithmetic school at Toa Payoh Central, their fees is about $300plus. & as long as your child knows how to write 0 to 9, you can register for the class. There's also abacus class conducted in community centre. I have enquire, there's elementary class at Toa Payoh East CC starting Jan next year. Fees is $107. But only for child from 6 years old. The CC staff explained that if the child is too young, they might not understand what the teacher is teaching. by the way the class is conducted in Chinese.

Sabrina
If she is in Montessori, then they would be using Montessori maths to teach her. Very hands-on activities. CMA provides lots of worksheets, just like Kumon. I heard MPM is good, with logical and analytical thinking.

Good morning mummies, now topic is on cc, just what I'm headache on. Currently my gal is in 2 hr playgroup but thinking of putting her in cc next year. But my concern is whether to put her in cc near TPY or my mum's place in jurong. Now we r staying with my mum during weekdays n only come home during weekend. Poor hb is staying alone. Felt tat my hb is seeing us lesser now, so now thinking if we Shld find cc in TPY instead. Hai also got alot of concerncoz both of us always work til v late. Dilemma leh..

food poisoning and down for 2 days... puk puk puk.

Sunny, you wanna have another kid??

Char, no epidural also very pain leh.

Newmommy, my girl in blk 192 (thats abv ntuc right?) infant care. They put her at rocker to sleep, but i tell them do not over-rock. At home, be it day nap or night sleep, she sleep in cot bed. (use to be rocker until she get so active) start cry and cry but slowly she know cry also no use, she just sleep, With my hubby better, she usually wont throw a big tantrum. With me cry and cry want to be carry.

For working late, I actually work very late but had been going off early to fetch my girl. In the case that i cant reach in time, my mom will help me pick her and wait for me at toa payoh central. So if put your child at cc near your house, its good to have a backup to pick your child when really cannot make it.

Precious: yalor, so now thinking mayb i shld find a cc in tpy.. which CC u put your kid?

if we are working late, my backup will be my mum too but she got to travel from jurong to tpy..

rlrenn,
I am ftwm used to leave my gal @ ccc but decided to put her wif a nanny due to our nature of work.

If the cc is @ tpy, maybe could coordinate with your hb that one of you will pickup your kid on the days either one is not working late. Need to have some time management and sacrifice especially both are working parents. Agree with Precious that couple time is very important. Also good to build the bonding between your hb and kid.

I have a gf which faces the same prob as you. She arranged her mom to put-up @ their plc during weekdays looking after her son and also send him to attend 2-3hrs class/playgroup. Every Friday nite her mom will go back and stay over the weekends.

Hi Precious,
I hv not try to call back again to ask,mayb try again tmr...try my luck...but another concern,like dor,rlrenn,i also some time need to work late,some time hubby some more need go oversea business trip!me hv to handle my boy alone!!As im not tat xing fu as u all,always got MIL or mother to back up!

So i really hv to thk twice to send him to cc at this age...mab 2+ will more easy to tk care him alone?as he know talk,tell u wat he want,can walk also, no need use pram...anw,go cc hv to b4 7pm pick him,really stress for me!Just don understand y all cc timing is from 7-7, can not 8-8pm meh?

Oh, Ivy, the one at blk 192 got rocker ah?but mayb for infant use only, my boy already almost 20mths!let ppl know he still zz in rocker will let ppl laugh only!cc won let toddle zz in rocker liao ba...
hmm..don know wen he can zz on cot during pm time!well, thk really need nanny help, but it will create ma fan for her,so don thk nanny wan ba...

CC after all is a better place let our kids learn thgs lo,but due to certain reason,like dor,hv to let nanny tk care..i thk me also same...haiz..but hubby wan let my boy go cc learn thgs,so will pray hard see which tpy cc got vacancy again lo..

I actually prefer him go cc when my boy abt 2+,coz by then he antibody more strong,then won so easy get sick if kena virus spread by other kid...

Btw,mummies,
Any good cleaner aunty to recommend?i just need her to clean up my hse,like wahs toilet,mop floor,clean desk,wahs window,etc...
I only need her on 20th or 21st this mth,but if she good,may call her back again again?those like adhoc job,but not routine come over...
So is min 4 hour is it?now the market rate is $10 per hour?
The tools use to clean up is use mine?those dettol,cloths,brush all must provide her ah?
i nvr engage a cleaner b4,so not sure...
Can i instruct her to clean up certain thgs for me?Like if i feel that i need her clean the tv,clean the shoes rack,then i ask her do on the day,is that ok?
So is pay on the spot when she come?and must i leave my hse to her to clean?i need be around,so that to make sure she did clean properly,rite?

Newmummy
Cherie Hearts @ Kallang is from 7am to 730pm. I also don't have any alternate help, hence have to find a job which gives me the flexibility so that I can be there to wait for the school bus to fetch them home by 6pm. I do have a part time cleaner, let me check with her schedule. Btw, which block do you stay? She is also staying at TPY.

Does his nanny know how to read simple books to him? Or perhaps simple art n craft activities? I heard there are modern nannies who homeschool the children.
For Childcare, they learn much on fine motor skills, learning through music and dance. Focus learning is 2hrs. The rest of the hours, is to socialize, nap, lunch, snack, free play, bath

Zong xiang canceled their nursery class for next year.
now need to find a kindergarten for my girl anyone know near by which still has space?