Teacher Mummies

Rin, how I envy you! I also hope to have NPL for one whole yr cos the first yr very impt for the baby. But now hard to sustain with only one income. esp when my MIL quitting her job to take care of the baby and we have to give her a token.

But if you take NPL for a long period of time, u need not be ranked. so u dun have to worry

Wow Rin, so nice taking NPL till end of the year..
Me will be going back to work this Aug. Not taking any NPL cos need double incomes and somemore this year taking connect plan (7.5 years liao - don wan the connect plan to be prorated so die die must go back to work)

i still have 3years to go! Hope i can make my kaki stay for another 2years, til my bond finishes. She finishing next year -.- damn!

same sentiments Rachelle! Can't survive on 1 income.. have to pay bills too! haiz

they are smart to come up with connect plan eh!! smart move esp with the no-lump-sum withdrawal.. make you gian and stay on..

Gina,
the connect plan realli make u gian cos u take at 4, 7 ,10 ,15 years etc..
but those who enter later seems better.. more $$...

Tan, gota watch spending lor but to me, bb is more impt than anythg..i'm due 4 connect plan dis yr too so actually my frens told me nt to take NPL but i'm just going ahead la..n i know i'll b worth it cos im enjoying every moment wif her...

Just wanna ask, how much is the payout fr CONNECT plan after 4 yrs? I understand that there's this cash payout and a compulsory saving component to our CONNECT acct. so we will only get the $ in the acct upon retirement? if we resign halfway, all the $ in the acct is gone rt? it goes something like the old pension scheme huh?

I agree with Rin. $ can still earn next time. but once you miss the time with your child, you cant earn it back.

jacrudo: same here, I'm also waiting for my connect plan this year. think for 7 years we can get almost 20k. thank goodness it won't be prorated because my leave is much later.
hey, i have an ex- colleague who just gave birth, around the same time, and her name is similar to yours (i think). To see if you are her, can I ask you, did you meet your hubby at work?

rachelle: go to your pacgov and click on the link connect plan. u will be able to see. If not, go to moe intranet and use the search function.

rachelle: if you resign halfway, whatever that's left inside would be gone, unless you quit to go to independent school, teach for a short while and then totally quit. if that's the case, you can draw out the whole sum. That's what I heard from people.

we can get everything by end of 30 years in service. no need to wait until retirement.

glass: i meet my hubby in my sch. he is our IT trainer for litespeed then after that he went into NIE and now teaching in a pri sch.

ladies...i was juz wondering...will our connect plan be affected when we take maternity leave? I'm due to get connect plan this year...and taking maternity leave end of nov...hopefully won't be affected

haffa: don think connect plan is affect unless u take NPL. Should be okie.
glass: ur hubby also teacher? do u teach EL and ur hubby humanities?

The CONNECT payments are higher in the first 20 years of your teaching career, where you may have higher financial commitments - aiyo! later also need a lot of $ for health checks etc mah! hahaa by then don't know still in service not :x

sobs.. The total outpatient subsidy for you and your eligible dependents is capped at a maximum of $350 per annum. Tried claiming $10 but was rejected saying i capped le
But i visit KKH's specialist considered private outpatient meh?

hi fellow teacher mummies..
i've am a 1st-time mummy, delivered my gal in Jan this year.. she is already 5mths+...

nice to know that there's a thread for teachers..

haffa: connect plan will not be affected by ML.. dun worry...

gina: this is something new.. din know that there's a cap for medical subsidy.. tsk tsk... how sad.. $10 claim is bad enough.. and now there's the cap..

WOW!! Really? Cash Payout from CONNECT is 20K for 7 yrs? Then I must at least stay till 7 yrs!

But actually not a lot also cos considering we are slightly below our peers. Sigh. I'm mid career switch so suffered quite a big pay cut. Still struggling to catch up with peers.

Haffa, I'm also due late nov lei!! I'm with Glen E, you? mayb we in same hospital!

glad to see this thread. Need to check, if one has taught for about 9 years, what is the pay by then?

cos need to go back to work soon and wonder how much should the pay be like.

many thanks for help

Harriet

glass: how are u?heard that u have veri terrible morning sickness in the 1st trimester. Enjoy ur 2nd trimester cos it the best. Where will u be delivering? Deliver in oct good. cos weather not so hot and coming to end of semester so vic can help u out during ur confinement too.

Hi Rachelle...

Me delivering in TMC..
So how's ur pregnancy so far? My 1st trimester was bad...but now sooo much better phew..at least can eat lah..but my weight is still the same..*sigh*

Hi harriet. It depends on your performance and ranking i think. Cant really give u an exact figure ;p

Different salary scales different payout amount wor.. http://www.moe.gov.sg/careers/teach/career-info/salary/
Just click which scale u are at and scroll to the CONNECT PLAN part. They will still retain a portion of your payout, make u gian and stay on.. >.<

CHAM LO!! Think now i pay is deducted via my salary even though i am using PSC card
Just saw that the invoice state payment class: PRIVATE. I capped my outpatient subsidy!!! I am a gpw (Read: grouchy pregnant woman).

hi jac: no lah, my nausea wasn't that bad, though it was bad during weekends, esp during evenings. Got about once a week type, sometimes can go up to 3 times, though I would be feeling terrible. Always super hungry. Sometimes would feel super dizzy in class, esp during lunch hours.
my 2nd trimester is coming to an end soon. me going to tmc. he's probably too busy with exams and other things. He's so busy even right now during sch hols.
How is your baby?

Hi gals!

Long time never log in to check.. so many teacher mummies!! :D

Is the topic connect plan now? Uh.. how does it work? Does it mean that at the 4th year, you will get a sum of $ (payout quantum - retention quantum)? So if 4th year dun want to take out, then it'll accumulate? So 7th year will be $15,200 + $24,000?????? I very blur liow....

Pls advise!! If really got so much $, then I will but a nice baby bed for little junior when he arrives in Sept! Hehehe!!!!

jade: i think it will just be automatically transfered to your account. I don't think you can keep it inside. And why keep it inside? Just take the money out, but make sure you do something to manage your taxes, like SRS or donating to charity. Anyway, I think mummies get quite a big tax relief.

which year are you at?
i've check online, for those getting the 7th year payout this year, it's around $20k (that we can take out). It will change because moe has increased the payouts for those who have just entered, so by the time it is 7th year for them, they should get more than 20k.

hi Gina,
thanks, but I was actually referring to monthly pay if a graduate teacher has taught for about 10 yrs.

may be I should explain further, am an ex-teacher and going to apply for a new job, so it those new job application, they always ask 'what's the expected income' so i was wondering what $$ to put?? so since i have not taught for 10 years, maybe I should put in a 8 yrs experienced teacher's pay and see heng heng can get it or not..

any mommies know what's the current market rate now??

MTIA

harriet

Hi fellow teachers,I am a newbie in this forum and chanced upon this thread. Anyone like me now on no pay childcare leave and bond unfinished? I have only completed about nine months of my bond and took no paid leave for a year. Now deciding to extend my no pay leave till my baby turns 4 years.meanwhile planning for second child.Still thinking what is a good age gap between siblings. Not sure if MOE will let me further extend my no pay leave till second child turns 3-4 years old...

glass: enjoy ur er ren shi jie and ur sleep now cos baby come out veri hard to enjoy i feel. agree with u that ur hb will be busy during that time. he is so workaholic. hahaha
my girl is okie. so far (cross my fingers) she din wake up for night feed these days. occasionally maybe one night feed. so i am consider lucky. also maybe cos i use formula so easier for me..
but during the day, need to carry and pat her to sleep. wrong move that time. better don carry bb too much. they noe one and they will be used to it. Whenever yh carries her, she wans him to walk around the house and cant carry her and sit down at one position. she will cry and cry..
sometimes both of us so tired that we have to use scissors paper stone to see how carry her... hahaha...
wanna ask, since we maybe getting a big sum this dec, how to get relief for tax if not veri siong leh...

Harriet, you are not coming back to teach? how long have you been resting? cos all these will affect the expected pay you can write. n also depend on what kind of job you applying. if still a govt job, the chances of you getting your last drawn pay is higher.

Haffa, you din gain much weight? I have already gained about 3 kg within 4 mths! doc said i gained too much weight haha. I think first tri not gaining weight is quite ok cos kept vomiting mah. For me, I din vomit during first tri. Now is a lot of burping and bloatedness.

Grace, you so good life! can take NPL for so long!
I think mayb a bit difficult to take such a long NPL esp when you are still under bond. If I'm not wrong, most is 2 yr NPL lei. but not so sure about that.

I think hor, beta take the cash payout and not put it back into acct. You never know what will happen in future. What if suddenly want to resign and then they said cos inside the acct cannot take out? then lugi lei.

Anyway, just saw the news. Doc are suggesting to extend the june holiday to prevent spread of virus. so happy to hear that! Hopefully govt will really extend our june holiday and then we can rest more! haha

Thanks glass! Oh dear... i don't remember got deposit when I am in 4th year.. die, I so blur.... coming to 7th year soon.. will it be indicated in pac@gov? Then I will check when return to school.. forgot to bring token back.. really absentminded!!!!

Rachelle: Serious can extend holiday!!!!! Wow.. it's great.... hehehe... at least not exam period lah.. :p But I think tough lah.. wait they also deduct our pay HOW!!!????

-.- I just checked my CONNECT PLAN thingy via pac @ gov. Sad. Last year was my first year. Argh! I grad from NIE 2yrs ago

Quote from my account: I will only be eligible for CONNECT plan award 3yrs later "if you remain in service and meet the eligibility conditions of the Plan. In the year that you are due for the award, you will receive a proportion of the money that has been accumulated in your account. The balance (if any) will be kept in your account."

Oh and there is this qualifying period for full deposit, which they will state, eg. last year was from 1 Jan to 15 Nov 2008. "Deposit for the year will be pro-rated if you have not worked full time during the qualifying period."

Rachelle: Yar.. I saw the news too! Hahahaa Am waiting for email/msg relay system from the heads to come down saying extension of holiday! If deduct pay.. Not fair!!!

jac: haha, not much er ren shi jie. coz i'm living with my parents and he's with his parents. I can't move into my new house because of pantang. Now they tell me must wait until next year CNY then can move. super sian.

Scissors paper stone ah, wah, so cham. I think I definitely need help. My husband can survive on little sleep, but I cannot.

I'm just checking the iras. Lucky we are giving birth this year! We can get $5000 Parent Tax Rebate for the first child, which we can share with our hubby. Previously, only those who had their 2nd child can get $10k. We are given $5k to use. So if you have to pay $3k for income tax, you can choose to use up to $3k to pay , meaning you pay nothing. If your hubby wants to use it, he can. Just do the transfer online. You can also choose to use it next year.
See http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page03_ektid6054.aspx

Since our income for this year will be super high, the tax could easily go up to $4k or $5k. Having one child means we can claim 15% of our total income. I think that is a huge saving for us. I think for those having their second or third children, they can actually pay very little tax or no tax.
This is called the Working Mum's Tax relief. Again, it's great to give birth to our first baby this year, because we are getting 15% instead of just 5% compared to last year.

Wahahaha, I just discovered one more relief. It's called the Qualifying Child Relief. 1st child can get $4k off.
The working mum relief and the child relief can add up to $50k, twice the amount for previous year.
Plus you get relief if your hubby is an nsman. $750.

Think there's still personal relief of $2k, and if you have maid, there's some relief as well. Donations to charities and contributions to SRS can go towards reducing your tax.

Can try using this excel spreadsheet.
http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/uploadedFiles/Quick_Links/e-Tax_Guides/Individuals_and_employees/How-to-calculate-your-tax.xls

I think the PTR need not be taken this year, if we can enjoy a lot more others. I think best is to time our second child before the 10th year connect plan, when we get another huge lump sum.

I'm a little confused with exactly how much we can have rebates, but I think the timing is just great for us.

hi Rachael,
still thinking, going back to teach or go out to private sector to do HR/admin staff. that's why thinking of what should my expected pay be like? u mean after many years of teaching break, go back to school to teach, we draw back the same pay?
what if a teacher had taught for 1 year, then rest 10 years, and on the 11th year, go back to teach, the teacher gets the saem pay as first year?

a little confuse now.

harriet

jade: The amount was quite pathetic in our 4th year, so you might have forgotten. I think I only got about 4k or 5k plus after all the deductions. It will come in around 19th dec of the year.
No need to use token to go pac@gov. There's a web based version.

Gina: The connect plan is to make those who think of breaking bond, or leaving after 3 year bond is up, to stay for another year or so, just to get the pathetic amount. Now with the generous 7th year and 10th year amounts, it serves to get you to stay on even longer, coz you 'gian' the money. By that time, your skills will be obsolete if you want to go back to private sector, unless you are still teaching. You may also be too 'old' or have family commitments to leave the service to try something else. And that's how they can retain you for life as a teacher.

Thanks Glass.
U realli have gone to check out all this. so nice..
good to see that there is so much relief. if not tax this year will be super man...

Rachelle: for the connect plan, they will make some payout to u but don think possible to take all the money out unless u realli work to 30 years. think of it as a bonus. now better cos connect plan already revised so more money for those who join later. so i told my hb, when he take his connect plan in 2011, will reserve money to bring bb on tour. so no money for him....Hahaha....

Sigh, I think this H1N1 virus is giving us more work to do. Got to call all parents and ask about whether they traveled or not. So tiring! It's like call centre in sch today!

I was just thinking of wearing N100 mask on first day of sch to protect myself. Is it a bit exaggerating? Will i cause a panic? haha

My colleagues were telling me there's so much work to be done before school starts next week. Was telling me that I'm so lucky that I'm on maternity leave now.

Hopefully the parents are responsible enough to keep their children on LOA if they have been to affected countries. Don't put everyone at risk.

Rachelle, u went back to sch to call? I was like a telephone operator today at hm. Calling the whole class up. Haiz....

Enidmummy, my ML only start next mon. So this fri still need to go back for staff seminar

kitty
my school has been having meetings since Monday. Staff meeting, dept meetings, flu meeting, etc. You name it, we have it.

I gave bith on 17 Jun so now is the official ML for me. Why not you take MC for this Fri?

Hi to all the teacher mummies,

I am a new mummy here. Hope some of you can give me some advices.

I am in a dilemma when to take my ML. My EDD is on 10th Oct. At first I am thinking to take from the end of Sept onwards. But my husband and a lot of my friends feel that I should take from Term 4 onwards but I am worried about my N level class. Anyone in the same situation before?

Also, I am thinking when I should end my ML, till end of Jan or towards the CNY so that I can fully utilise my ML to spend time with my baby. MY RO said that if I went off for too long. I will have to "clear" the mess by the relief teacher if any as I will have 3 graduating classes next year.

hlmilk

kitty, we had urgent meeting on wed so, went back sch to call loh. I have a kid in my class whose parent has to travel to Thai every week. I called and said that the child is advised to stay at home for 7 days. Then the parent a bit irritated and said like tat if parent travel every week, then child forever no need go sch? Sigh, this is social responsibility mah. Imagine coming to sch with 2000+ children and a preg form teacher. I really dunno what to say. Anyway, it's not compulsory for the child to stay at home for 7 days if parent traveled to affected cty and not issued HQO. I think I really must wear my mask to sch on Mon. Preggies belong to high-risk lot!

Huiling, If I were you, I would take MC before EDD. Mayb take 2 weeks before EDD. then ML all the way till mid feb. I know teachers will tend to worry a lot about their pupils but i think sometimes, we have to think for ourselves. you only have the first 4 mths with your baby and the time can never return back. So i think if can spend more time with your baby would be beta. But if your sch not very supportive, then you have to see liao. Cos if not, they give you a D for perf will be even worse.

So ultimately, sometimes, just have to be a little selfish and think for yourself and baby.

Thanks Rachelle for your reply.

Actually my school is quite supportive whatever decision I make. In fact, they assign a teacher to coteach with me for 3 classes. In time I need to leave for ML anytime, she can take over so that it will not disrupt the lessons. What you say is what my husband says too.

Okay, think I will take from term 4 all the way to Mid Feb. At most, I will work extra hard when I go back to school. Hee....

hlmilk

Agreed with enidmummy that we are on ML, we escape all this H1N1 thingy. I go sch for retreat these 2 days cos not on ML for June will continue for next 8 weeks in term 3. See my colleagues so busy i also pity them.
hlmilk, u can never worry enough for the students one. more important is ur health and baby. By term 4 ur kids are alreadi having prelim, it's up to them liao. nothing much u can do cos u have alreadi done alot for the past 2 years with them. I understand how u feel cos every year i confirm will having graduating class one. but after giving birth, i feel that our health and bb is more important. ur sch like mine also give me a relief and he also co teach with me and follow me for all lessons at least 2 weeks. i took 2 weeks before my EDD and i din even have time to rest cos my bb come 2 weeks earlier. imagine my house in total mess, playpen all in storeroom not even set up when bb come back with me from hospital. i actually tot that i got time to pack my house and set up everything. just take ur ML. no need to feel gulity. at most we work harder when we go back..
I will have alot alot to catch up with my kids after i go back. Think nov will have remedial and supplementary lesson like crazy cos my kids don respond to my relief.... ah.. sian man.....

HuiLing: Does your school allow you to break up your maternity leave?
I've asked so many people and their schools seem to allow them to break up. My EDD is near yours, and my principal so far has refused to allow that.

Hi Glass,

My school allows me to break. I ask my AM and VP le. I heard from my friends that their schools do not allow them to break. Pity them cos it went over to the sch holidays.

Btw, where are you giving birth? prenatal class?
I will be at TMC, having Prenatal class end of July.

HuiLing

Anyway, whether a not the ML can be split depends on the school. I read the guidelines. It is stated that need to take 4 months straight unless the school is able to make arrangements.

hi HuiLing,
I'll be at TMC. Now attending prenatal classes. Some of the exercises are quite good. Learnt about different types of births plus the pain relief last week.
Yes, it depends on the school. So why is it that other schools can allow but my school doesn't? Super sian.

I'll most likely finish Term 3, and start my ML from Term 4. My school gave me a co-form, but he's an AED, going to NIE for training. Not sure who will take care of my class when I go on leave.
That means I must type out all the remarks for report book before I go on leave.

I think wearing the N95 mask a bit 'kua zhang' at this stage. how are you going to teach?

I asked my AM and she mentioned that we can stagger the 4 months leave. I am delivering end of sept
If baby decides to arrive earlier, i intend to take 1 week ML after the sept hols (if nothing goes wrong :p)

Then take ML for oct, nov... dec go back for a few meetings :D Jan take ML again.. still undecided about my last month of ML though hmm...

Enimummy, i shd hav taken mc yest. Found myself so tired after a whole long day of staff seminar yest
haiz...glad yest was my last day of work.

But i m still left with uploading my online resources in case sch closure. Going to finish this by wkend so that can totally put sch stuff at the back of my head. My head even told me yest that we will still call u during yr ML if there's anything...i'm so sianz when i heard this.

Ya gina, it sounds gd to stagger your 4mths leave cox not worth it to take it during sch hols. That's why my ML begin on this coming mon.

Teacher mummies gg back to wk on mon, pls dun tire yourself out. BB is more impt than yr work. So try to take things easy if possible