Tampines Mummy Club

Hi olive,

nvrmind then we will do it at mcdonald breakfast so u coming?

Dear all mummies, I am still waiting for some of your replies. In case u have miss out, just to let u know that our first gathering will be on the 20/5/06 Tampines Macdonald breakfast tentatively 9.30am. Hope to hear from all of you very soon.

meanwhile would like to check if any of you have any catering company to recomend? I am looking for 1, for my son's birthday party

any ideas on baby 1st year birthday party

hi yen,

I just celebrated my son's one yr old birthday in April. We cater a buffet for our relatives at our home and got god commends on the food. Maybe u would like to try.They have a webby which u can refer. http://www.casserole.com.sg/

Regarding the meet up i can't confirm till next week. Might have to do some errands.

thanks JoshMummy !

yah, baby was sick with bronchilitis abt 2 mths back, so body a bit weak.

now cough, slight wheezing, and a bad rash (tiny bunch of raised bumps near the diaper line... do u know what is it?)

I'm home alone with him and our PD is at Bedok, a bit difficult for me to move around alone.. hee

Hi can i join in? I'm a weekday Tampines mummy staying at Tampines St 44. I got 2 daughters, 27mths & 11mths. There is one PD at Blk 828 Tampines St 81 #01-238. Clinic name is Baby & Child Medical Grp. Tel: 67831955.

Rayray,

Oh Bronchilitis.. Joshua had it when he was nearly 3 months old. It was a nightmare for both me and my husband. I had to neb him 3 times daily to clear his airways and fed him diff kinds of medi. Imagine he is just 3 months and had to suffer this! My heart aches.. Thank god he recover after 2 weeks.
Hmm...Joshua had bad rash too.. u could apply desitin(white colour tube). it's very good. Must apply it deligently.. will recover a few days later.
So u r a SAHM? Me too.. i know its tough to take care of the baby alone especially if he gets sick. Joshua's PD at rivervale Mall is quite good. Maybe u would like to try?

hi Yen,

count me in for next week breakfast! thanks

ruffy
I am looking around st 71/72 or 83/82. Quite limited choices here. So how's Ryan doing in the new CC?

Sara
Is the PD at St81 good? I've seen quite a lot of parents bringing their kids there. Is the charges reasonable?

Yen
The gathering on 20/5 is a bit too early for me. My boy is a late sleeper and late waker too. Don't think I can join in. Sorry.

jastan,
Ryan still adjusting. He still whines in the morning but other than that he is okay at the new place.
St 71 that area there is the one ELFA at the Community Centre.. have seen it but didn't trial it..quite expensive $500 after subsidy also didn't like that it is fully aircon. Opposite there road level there is YMCA.
St 81 PD have brought Ryan there once/twice. Apparently there are 2 there.. the one upstairs u dun need to q that lone. We saw the one downstairs the Q is very long and Ryan hated the female PD will cry as to leave the min he saw her also the med that she gave is not effective for him..so now we just bring him to the male GP behind our house.. he is more relax with the male doc and the medicine works better for him.

ruffy
thanks for the info for the PD. I didn't know got two PDs in the same place.

I know about ELFA but like you I don't quite like it as a fully aircon environment and I agree it is not cheap.

Hello all tamp mummies,

I have one medium size silicone feeding teat from tollyjoy to give away.. any of ur babies using it?

JasTan,

Have brought my daughters there a few times and their medicine was quite effective on them. Price is around S$50-60.

Tentatively we have abt cfm 5 mummies including myself for this coming 20/05/06 breakfast at mac TM. Time will be 9.30am.

Can I have yr hp and name, just in case
1)Ng Totorofurby
2)Rach
3)Minnies
4)Olivetree

I will cfm the attendance again on thursdays hopefully more peopple can make it

SO excited to see all of you soon.

My no is 92723415, you gals can call me too.

Hi Sara, Sure you can join us, will you be coming on this saturday for a gathering

Hi Jas,

Its a church kindy. Got schoolbus.

Hi Yen,

Okie, TM at 930am. I should be there earlier cos will need to go to the bank. I sms you later.

Hi Yen,
Thanks for your invitation but this saturday I'm not free. Will join you gals some other time. Enjoy your gathering.

Hi Yen,

Most probably i can make it but not sure whether i'll be late or not..cos i'll b bring my little baby along. You gals go ahead without me if i'm late, will look out for you gals when i'm there.

Me have not have Big Breakfast for a looong time liao..

Cafe cartel serves nice breakfast too but think the place quite cramp for strollers..

so happy to see you gals during that gathering.Hope that we can have it again.

Hey want to share something with all of you, (olivetree) i hv brought my son to the kindermusic in Tanglin mall. i personally think the class is very interesting.

there is abt 8kids around my son age. their activities involve both mummy and child. Their activities are more like helping our child to learn from senses like sound, feel, see, and touch. I really hope that the Tampines branch will have enough kids to organize this. Another good thing is they actually group the same age group of babies together, which is good because they can mix and interacts well.

Temporarily i will send my son to the Tanglin mall branch first until i hear from our tampines side again. Olivetree, come come bring your girl there.

Hi Yen, Olivetree and Ng,

Nice meeting all of you too.
Sorry had to leave as my boy was getting bored and wan to see toys. V good that he could in his chair for 1hr+ leowz. :p Then gotto rush home for his lunch. Hope to see you gals again!!

Sorry dat i can't make it to join u guys.. it was a change in plan last min. But i'm sure i'll be able to make it to join u guys the next time round.

Yen,
i'm interested in the Kindermusic but wat's the entry age huh?? Think my boy might be too young to join..i'm thinking of enrolling him to gymboree @ marine parade..u tried that before?? Else he seems quite pathetic to stay home everyday..

hi hi!

Yen, thanks again for organizing the gathering. it was an "eye-opener" for my gal as she usually stays at home and seldom meet other kids.

i would love to go to kindermusik, but it will be quite ex as we have to take cabs for every session. so, just hoping for the tampines branch to open soon. will call them to "pester" them again! heheee...

this sun, sorry, i have to give it a miss as my parents want to bring my gal to the zoo.

so, Happy Birthday to Shawn in advance! (hope i got the name spelt right!)

meet up soon!

I'm a mummy of a 1 yr old boy..living near Tampines Mart.

Hi Yen, did u attend the Kindermuzik on 14/5 Sun 4pm slot? I was there with my boy....

Hi Olivetree,
Thanks, so sad to know that u cant make it. well i guess we shall just arrange to meet up again next time. I agree w you that taking a cab there everytime is very expensive> hopefully they can hv it soon in Tampines, you let me know my son is a cfm student so long as the timing is right.

Ok then u enjoy yr zoo trip!!Bring more water for your daughter in case the weather is too hot

Sammi,
Hello, i went for the 2pm trial session. mine is the village group. ixit the same as yours?is your group very big,how long hv u been w the kindermuzik. can give some comments, to me my first trial i think is quite fun eventhough my son is kind of out of control at times. But their teaching method is quite good. Mayb we can arrange to the same timing and go together next time.

Rach, is ok we can always meet again next time. yr son is only 2-3mths old rite? i dun think there is any min age though coz they indicate there from 0-17mths is village group if i m not wrong. However i personally think sending them there too young is a little bit waste of money.I hv tried send sean to tumble tots before when he is abt 9mths,and feel that that is a really waste of money lor, bcoz so happen that on that day there are not much student and they actually teach my son colors, so how w1ll a 8mths old baby understand anything abt colors, so end up he is just busy sitting there playing with the toys. But tumble tots they hv those equipment which teach your baby to crawl and walk which i think kindermuzik doesnt have.

Hi minnie,

ya so happy to see u that day, your son very good boy liao lor as compare to my son.at least he tahan for you for 1hr(haha)hope that we can always meet up again

Hi Yen

Think mine was about Feathers...Group size about 8 pairs of parent-child. I haven't sign up for the class yet as I was not able to attend for the subsequent 2 sundays. Tot of going for Gymboree trial class next door. Prefer Tanglin Mall as cud oso do my marketing at the same time. I was recommended by my gf who sent her son to Kindermusik since he was 1 yr old...now her son attends the toddler class. Told her my boy didn't really join in the activity, half the time I was struggling with him... and then he got cranky and wanted his daddy...can die! My gf said beginning is usually like that, seems like the kid is not learning but they actually are absorbing in their own way, after a few lessons, they will learn when to play, when to stand up, or walk about etc.

I will chk again when the next class will be, will probably be in the 4pm sunday slot coz 2pm is my ah boy's milk time. Thk my boy likes music and songs, coz his fav show now is Hi-5 and everytime its sing song time, his concentration is 100%! I sang one of the songs we learned from Kindermuzik after we went home and I could see he could connect and remember he heard it during the class...so funny! Plus the class will help him to socialise with other kids and not be so suaku...

U sign up for the class already??

I wan to give away Similac Infant Formular, left 1/2 tin..need to be completed by 1st week of next month ( cos once open,can last only 4 weeks)

My boy on TBF, got the Similac cos MIL n CL wanted my boy to try FM..Now stuck with 1/2 tin..

Any1 keen takers?? Collection: My place (Flora Road)

Pls contact me ASAP, 1st come 1st serve basis..Thank you

so quiet in this thread?!

Yen, how's your boy's bday celebration? Post some pics here to share yeah!

and...shall we have another gathering soon?

Hi ,

I am still here, yes abit quiet here though. Was busy with my son lately as he was sick right after his birthday.Ya we really have great time during his birthday celebrations. The food was good, the cake was nice. All the kids running around my house. Tired but happy.

I am not sure on how to post a photo here leh, they say the dimension too big, how to shrink it hah?

Ya we shld me again, you let me know the timing and venue. I tried to msg the rest.

Hey olivetree , i have enrol my son for the "village" kindermusik class at Tanglin mall.Have u heard of brightspan at blk 201, they have call me somewhere last week. I think they are gathering all mummies details for this kindermusik class. I have given them my name, if they really do hv enough ppl i think they will start a class there real soon. Come come join with us. Really hope to see you there. If u need the contact u let me know. At least is nearer to our house.

Recently have been busy with creating a blog for my son. Hee hee still learning. Does yr daughter have one too?

ok hope to hear from you soon.

Hi Yen,

Send me the pic, i can adjust the dimension for you.

As for the kindermusik class, yes, please send the contact to me, i want to join if it falls on the weekend

I am free on 17 June, lets' have a gathering? as for the venue...other than Mac, not really sure where to suggest
any mummies here would like to contribute and join?

I tried to create blog using friendster before...but too busy to maintain it. hehee...so gave up in the end!

send me the contact yeah, so we can enrol our kids together! Thanks!!

Have been really busy with work as there was an internal audit which ended today. Am on leave from now till 26.06.06. I can meet anytime unless decide to go Jalan Jalan last minute.

I am fine for 17/6/06. You gals let me know where to meet. I am fine with anywhere.

Wah ng, so good you on leave for so long. How i wish i can go on leave for so long and accompannied my son. You know recently i have been having this crazy thought. That is to resign from my current job and stay at home become housewife where i can look after my son full time. I do feel that my son now is actually closer to my mum, since she is the one taking care of him most of the time since birth till now. Eventhough when he is back during weekends, i try my best to spend most time with him, but still is only 2 days lor. Feeling a little bit sad though.SIgh.....Worried next time he doesnt want me.

Hi Olive, i have posted some photo in the blog that i hv created for my son www.sean-damian.blogsot.com. Do visit my blog. I will on off posted so new photos up if there is any updated ones

The Bright span fellow have not called me to tell me on the 1st july lesson. You think i shld give them a call? My current class will ends on 24th june, which i believe by then they will ask if we want to cont the next class. Actually is quite fun there, but the distance abit far.

Ok lah. i will wait for yr advise on the time and venue though.

Hi Yen,

You mean Brightspan conducts Kindermusik classes at their premises? I am looking for music classes in the east for my boy....

Perhaps you might like to bring your boy home on weekdays if you KO earlier? My boy has never been apart from me except when I go for holidays w/out when he is younger. Even when I have apptmts, I will make it a point to bring him home, normally around 9pm+. I also cant bear not seeing him daily. :p

Hi Ng,

Wah... so shiok. On leave so long ah!!

Hi Yen

I have emailed to Leanne and she said she will check with Kindermusik on the waiver of registration fee. I have confirmed my registration. She said there are 3 confirmations including me.

I have seen your blog! very well done! Sean is so cute, love his smiles esp. those taken at IKEA. EZone seems like a great place for kids. Where is it located?

This sat...i suggested tampines mall level 4 near the foodcourt. There is a playground there or toys r us there. I can only meet around 1130am or afternoon.

Minnie, join us at brightspan! the class will start on 1 July, Sat, 3pm.

So, mummies (Yen, Minnie, Ng), can meet after 1130 or afternoon on Sat?

Very sian with work. Fed up with bosses. Hence, clear leave. Anyway, I have 21 day leave from last year which cannot be sold, 21 days leave this year, 1 day time off and 4 days childcare leave ( do not need MC ) ==> 47 days. Was told not to take leave in Jul - Sep. Hence, clear some leave now. If not, Dec cannot take full 26 days ==> I cry.

Sat afternoon diffcult cos need to attend collegue's wedding. So how ? Are we meeting ?

Yen : One mum sms me asking for your contact as she is interested to join us. Can give ?

I shld be able to make it saturday morning unless is raining then it will b more troublesome since it has been raining every monring lately

Hi Olivetree,

Talking abt Kindermusic, i hv yet to call brightspan will call them mayb torm. must remember. Haha have been quite forgetful lately. Hopefully they can quickly gather more people and start a class soon. I have just done the "feather" theme. Pray hard they dont repeat the same thing.

Ya, i will cont to update the blog, do visit when you have the time.

The Ezone is located at Parkway 5th floor, an adult must be there together since our baby is still so young.

Hi Ng,

SUre everyone is welcome to join us. Ask yr fren along too for this Saturday meet up.Actually i was thinking why dont we meet at one of us's place. will it be easier?

Hi Minnie,

Can i ask if you are working? If yes, how did you manage your son and work at the same time.

it is good if we can meet at someone's house. Sorry, can't be at my place coz' i am living under my aunt's roof, thus not convenient.

i can only meet after 1130. Ng can't make it on sat, so how??

Yen, i am waiting for Brightspan to send me the registration form. Confirm joining!

Hi to all Tampines Mummies..
Can i join in? Just found out that there is a Tampines mummy thread.. hee.. me staying at Tampines St 11.. my girl is 7.5 mths..

Hi Yen,

Yes, I am a working mom. In the morning, I bring my son over to nanny's house, around 730am, and then go off to work. In the evening, I pick him up around 745pm, after I take my dinner and shower. Dinner is normally packed from Kopitiam. No time to cook lah.

Children grow v fast. I am learning new things about my boy daily.
So I would strongly encourage you to bring your boy home or if not, stay at your mom's place till he goes to bed, just to bond with him. Even if you bring him home 3x a week, its also good. Does your mom stay near you?

Hi San,

Welcome!!

Olivetree,

Huh? 3pm class ah? Cannot cos its right smack in my boy's nap time. Sorry ah, cant join leowz.

Since we cant meet up yesterday, can we meet up this sat 24/6?

Yen has kindly offer her place for us, so, wonder if u all are keen?

I can only make it after 12. What about u all?

Yen, Brightspan will waive off the registration fee for me! Go and check with soon so u can get them to waive off too!

Minnie, join lah...my gal also nap around that time...hehee...but, i think she will feel happy there! She is becoming more and more sociable nowadays, always wanting to say hi and play with the kids she meets at the streets!

Yen, I agree with Minnie that u should try to go to your mum's place every day after work to spend time with Sean. My maid helps me take care of her and yet...my gal is closer to her! First thing in the morning, wants her to carry, nite time also want her to carry her and sing to her to sleep!

Not to scare u or pressurize u, but kids get adapted and close to their caregivers very fast. when i was young, i also stayed with my grandparents till i reach 21! refuse to go home coz' i dun want my grandparents to think that i dun want them. And, becoz of that, i was not close to my parents till i reach adulthood....that's why i insist to stay with my gal.

Hi Reaching out to All Mummies & Babies in Tampines.

Not sure if you have heard of Kindermusik. Below are some write up. or you can visit their site at www.kindermusik.com.sg

Age Range - newborn to 18 months.
Semester - 8 units, each 8 weeks
Class Length - 45 minutes
Focus: Nuture the bond between parent and child.
Curriculum Content: Village engages all of your baby's senses through a unique blend of multi-level activities which include creative movement, vocal play, object and instrument exploration, and reading literature books, which aid the baby's visual tracking and language development.

There is 1 bracnh at Tampines called "Brightspan"
Blk 201D, Tampines Street 21
#01-1167 (2nd Level),
Singapore 524201
Tel: 65 - 6587 7188
Email: [email protected]
www.brightspan.com

Me and olivetree, intending to bring our kids there, They are trying to start a class on the 1st July 06. For those who keen to send their baby to learn more things quickly grab this opportunity.They are still looking for kids. We really hope that they can start a class soon since is near our area. So be hurry, hope to see your gals there.

I have personally attended the one at Tanglin Mall and I must say the teachers there are really professional and my son really enjoy it alot. Their teaching method is more on encouraging our baby learn to explore things through the things they see, feel and listen. ANd this 45mins is also kind of a bonding time with your kids.

I am fine of meeting on 24/6 but around 4pm can, coz i have got a meeting on that saturday so need to report work on that day. My place if fine, but hope that you gals dont mind. Is a bit small though.

Hi Minnie/Olivetree,

Thanks for sharing me with your experience and ideas, actually i also plan to bring my son back more frequent. No doubt the timing will be short but at least he gets to sleep with me at home. Then the next day send him to my mum's place.Hopefully things will improve. But i reckon it will start in july bah since my hubby having exam now, so didnt want to disturb his studies at the moment since he will be the one driving.
Ya is really kind of heartache when i see my son prefer my mum at times, but he is now slightly better since i have really start looking after him myself for the past 1 mth despite having a maid. I only ask the maid to do the housechores and i take care of the baby myself. But this current moment dont think will bring him back everyday because my job is quite demanding and my hubby finish work late 8pm so by the time we fetch him will be 8plus to 9pm. Abit tiring for us, maybe will start with bringing him home for 2-3times as suggested by Minnie first.

Hi San,

Welcome to the Club, we will be having a gathering this Saturday do come and join us.St 11 is very near my place, which Block you stay? ARe you keen on sending yr baby to the Kindermusik class at Blk 201. Is quite fun..

Hi Yen,
Thanks for opening up your house. I'm not free on the 24th.

Kindermusik would be fun for your kid. I brought my son there for a trial when he was 9-10mths old then. Now at 29th mths I will be starting him on piano lessons soon as he has been showing interest in the piano at home. Will start another kindermusik like playgroup next year for my #2 after he pops in Dec.

Hi mummies.. thanks for welcoming me

Yen:
I'm staying at Blk 114.. I'm sending my girl to BJG class leh.. She completed her 1st term already.. going on to her 2nd term next mth.. I had been to Kindermusik trial when she wasn 4mths plus old.. hubby find that Kindermusik not suitable for her at that moment so we sign up with BJG.. where do u stay.. This sat I can't leh.. got plans liao.. hee

Why dont you mummies come up with a date that you are available so that we can try to fix it on a date that is most suitable for everyone. Will it be better that way?

Hi San,

I am staying at Blk 272,behind the Holy Trinity Church. Where is this BJG? What do they teach normaly? Is it more on motor skill training?

Long time didn't contribute but have been following the thread though..

Yen,
my son is 3 months old in july, do u think he's too young for kindermusik?? any idea which day will the class be held??

Any mommies here have the no. for Pd @ st 11?? am looking for that PD..think is a lady doc..

Hi Rach,

I am not sure if it is too young, but alot of books did mentioned that baby can start to learn and absord since birth. But i do see poeple bringing babies which are alot more younger then my son, mayb 5mths to the kindermusik class. Basically what we do is singing/massaging/bonding with our kid. Of course all the time is mummy singing, but my son do make alot of hoo hoo haaa haa sound when we were all singing to the rhyme. I think he is trying to sing as well.The class is conducted on saturday 3pm if i am not wrong.

Is there a PD @st 11, i know there is a clinic not sure if it is a Pd, mayb you can give me more details i try to walk over and find out for you since its quite near my place.

Btw, are you able to make it for our gathering this round.

Rach,
Got this info from yellow pages.. hope got help to u..
Paediatric & Family Medical Centre The
Blk 139 Tampines St 11 #01-52 Singapore 521139
6783 8743

Yen,
Yup there is a PD there.. used to bring my girl there when she was barely a mth old.. after which I bring her to the PD at st 81..

BJG stands for Baby Jumper Gym.. this is their website.. My girl still in the little crawlers class.. http://www.bjg.com.sg/programs_crawlers.htm

My girl attended the 1st term at HomeTeamNS at bukit batok.. but her next term I had transfer my girl to Orchid Country Club(OCC) at Yishun.. Actually they do have a branch at Pasir Ris but different account from OCC and HomeTeam NS.. I choose Yishun is mainly becos Sat I normally go back to my mum's place at Yishun so convenient for us and OCC can waive the registration fees since my girl was already with the HomeTeam NS branch.. they not able to waive registration fees if I transfer her to Pasir Ris one..

yen, thanks for your explanation regards to the kindermusik.. think maybe i shall wait till Ryan is a little older then i join bah..

regards to the gathering, may i confirm with u again later..cos i have to see if hb's any programme for the weekends..

San,

thank you so much!!