Support group - Miscarriages

ladies, the ensure milk tt is being discussed here is the ensure life?
i actually bought the similac mum milk formula before i had the mc, haven't opened yet, now wondering if i shd just open n drink it or go n buy the ensure life

Today I bought Ensure Life. Isst the same brand u saying?
Bought the smaller bottle n it cost less then $17.
Sometime when I take milk, will make me vomit. So buy smaller bottle n try first. Wink!

By way, wat benefit it has huh?
Seems lot of Vit n nutri inside...

Celestine,

Ya i just take it like a multi vit.. Seems to have a more complete set of vit and minerals.. Can also be used as meal replacement but i feel we shldn't do that when ttc.. Anyway, just taking a drink, don't think can keep me full.. Hehe..

Mich,

I was asking the nutritional advisor if i can continue with ensure when i get preggy, she said better to switch to similac mum cos diff set of nutrients.. I guess no harm though? Or can keep it first, it might come in use very soon, u never know

Leapgal
huh? prescribe you this drug despite triple lining but no ovulation..hmm..did you ask why? so now these 3 mths did you see any ovulation i.e positive opk?

min/jwh/princessleopard
yea..no choice since it seems like a common drug and as 2nd opinion is not possible as for now--no extra money and also distance(to another pte ivf clinic) wise plus not to mention time..ah well, we'll see what happens lah..since i've not experienced medicated FET b4 and as this new doc is new to me..i guess i have to just trust and keep my faith and take a leap forward!
*feels like we're all jumping off cliffs in this ttcing journey right?*

Min81,
Oh yes! My Fil use to drink this, cos he can't eat solid food.
For us, dun think milk alone can make me full. Wahaha!

ChrisL,
Understand how u felt.
I'm so tired of ttc now but I know can't give up hope.
Already told my hb, if we fated to hv childless, so be it.
Hv bb is a blessing but without we still hv both of us.

ChrisL. I did clarify with the nurse & pharmacist and told them about my lining but both confirmed it's the correct prescription. They mentioned its to promote some kind of hormones (estrogen if I am not wrong) for my next fet since I did not ovulate, besides building up lining.
So far I did get a positive opk in this month cycle but will continue to monitor in my next cycle. When do u plan to do your next fet?

min, thanks for the info, n ya! really hope the similac mum will come in useful soon~

chrisl, ttc is really quite some journey. keep telling myself tt the good that came out of my mc is tt it has made me a more compassionate n understanding person. hope u get a bfp soon.

celest, agree with u; although i do try to think positive, but i also feel tt if we r fated to have a child then the child will come when the timing is right. otherwise our lives are pretty good as things r now. even better if my hcg levels drop to <5 on my next dr visit..

hi ladies, I m back fm my surgey but still not feeling too good. Have been suffering cramp and bleeding. Now don noe is aunty visit or really bleeding. Hospital wan me to monitor and to see if it stop after a week. Anyone hv experience?

ChrisL. All the best in your next fet, may u bfp and have a healthy pregnancy throughout.

Eil. It's norm but the bleeding should subside after a week. I got my af 4-5weeks after the surgery.

leapgal, oh so is normal to bleed for a week. The cramp is killing, any tricks to reduce the pain?

ChrisL, good luck to u.

Chrisl,

Its normal to feel this way. We have our ups &amp; downs. Just try our best &amp; its fated, we will have our rainbow babies. Jiayou!!

Eil. Were u given painkillers? So far I only felt really painful once but it lasted for about an hour. I just drank plenty of warm water then lied down sideways to ease the pain.

leapgal, yeah, given painkillers but I really don wan to eat cause I hate painkillers. yeah, I lead down for a while then the pain will sideways a bit. I really hope is aunty visit.

Haiz! My hb went to see Dr Su.
Sudden she ask my hubby to do a sperm check.
She saying from feeling his pulse, his sperm not in good condition.
Gosh... My hb so depress, he so worry. He scare of next week checkup in Nuh.
Ladies, anything guy can do to improve their sperm count?
Dr Su given him pills n powder form of medicine.

Celestine,

Don't fret k.. Since appt already made, go for the test first and see how it is.. Generally, zinc, selenium, vit a, c and e are good..

Min81,
My hb suffer from gout.
Duno why, each time he takes Vit, his gout will attack.
So he dun dare to take any Vit. He trying on zinc now.
Cross finger, hope he able to continue.

Celestine,

I see.. Actually not too long ago my hubby started having rashes.. I got him to stop all his supplements cos i felt he was taking too many and that could have caused the rashes.. I thought it would be better if he gets his nutrients from more natural foods.. Now, he takes the following daily:

Ensure life (1 cup) - has got zinc &amp; selenium
Brazil nuts (4) or brazil nuts (3)/almonds (3) - brazil nuts for selenium/almonds for zinc
Cherry tomatoes (5-6) - for vit a &amp; c

So far so good for my hubby and his rashes have healed.. But have not done a sperm analysis recently so i won't know aboutthe improvement.. Not sure if ur hubby can take the nuts though cos he has gout.. Tell him not to worry and stress too much k, must stay positive

Celest,

Back then, when hubby had sperm quality and quantity problem. He went to Chung Hwa clinic. He done acupucture and tcm medicine. At the same time he also took gynae prescription tribestan. 6 months later, he went for the semen test. His sperm count increase from 4 mil to 80 mil. Quality did improve but not as significant as sperm count. Cos they said quality takes time to treat.

Min81,
Xie Xie Ni....
Dun think my hubby can take nuts. Nuts is the blow factor for him too. "sweat"
I'm buying zinc online, so hoping he can take it.
So far, he taking cherry tomato almost everyday.
Pray hard for the miracle now.. Haiz!
Been trying to console him, he felt guilty for the cause of our infertile. Haiz!

Princess,
My hb been taking Dr Su medicine, powder n pills form.
Previously he only require to take pills.
Hope tat next week the test wouldn't be as bad what we think.

Celestine,

Okie, zinc was the first thing my hubby took when doc told us abt the low sperm count.. Quantity improved tremendously.. You can get it from unity or guardian leh, no need to buy online.. The brand is Greenlife, zinc chelate 30 mg.. It has exactly the same content as what gynae prescribed for him..

Min81,
Wa! Thanks!! I will go n grab for my hubby. *^^*
This few days he taking multi-vit, his gout again attack n poo turn green. Duno isst the zinc tat causes it...
He said at the same time he taking his gout medicine to reduce the protein. Haiz! Pity him...

Celestine,

Ohh.. Can try lor, but if his gout act up again i think better stop.. Wait and see what the doc says.. Good luck k!!

Min81,
Ya loh. No choice.
Need to test here n there like a guinea pig. Hehe!
Hope after see Dr next week, he/she will able help us.

Celest
For the past one mth, i have been preparing cereals with sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds and walnuts for my hb to eat every morning , for his sperms de... u may want to try too.... sunflower seeds contain selenium, pumpkin seeds got zinc and walnuts improve the motility of sperms.
Oh ya i give him folic acid every day too , good for sperms
U can try...

Princess,
Hoping things not as bad we thinks.
Since we can't do anything, leave everything to fate.
Of cos will try my best improve my hb troop. Haiz!
He need to cut down his weight but aft injure his foot, he can't do much exercise anymore.

Jhw,,
Wah.. Ur hubby so willing to eat those?
My hor... Will eat lah but only a few times. This time round I'm not letting him to be choosey anymore. Hehe!
Pumpkin seed bought from where? Ntuc selling?
Thanks! Will force my hb to eat. But walnut he might need to avoid, cos he suffer from gout.

Gbob,

Oops sorry, missed ur qn.. Hehe.. When tomatoes are cooked, they have a higher concentration of lycopene (anti oxidant properties) but the vitamins are reduced.. Fresh tomatoes have high levels of vitamins and lower concentration of anti oxidant properties.. So to me, it does not really matter, i believe all in moderation, will be nice to have variety, sometimes cooked sometimes fresh

Celest...
ya, i forced him to eat one..
since your hubby cannot eat nuts, then i think he can try Seeds.... maybe ask doctor if seeds is okay for him before trying?
in fact, i also force myself to eat Sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds everyday.... Zinc and Selenium are good for Women fertility too.
I bought them from NTUC and i bought organics one..

actually i heard that Zinc and Selenium is best to be taken from Natural food instead of pills...

there are two brands..
First one - the brand is green in color one but i forget the brand name... this one is tastier but more expensive...
Second one - the brand name is Nature's GLory... this one is less crunchier than the above brand but Price cheaper by almost half... So i buy this one because want to save Money mah...

Both brands are Organic and can be bought from Bigger NTUC.... especially NTUC fineness

In fact, my hb is not willing to eat. But I force him to eat.... sometimes guys, u must force de.... i prepare the cereal beforehand, so he no choice got to eat.....

Did your hubby eat folic acid too?

your hubby bath in cold or hot water?
Try not to let him bath in water which is too Hot or too Warm, preferably no Steam that Kind...
they say Too Warm Bath kill the sperm duct...

min81
oh i didn't know vitamins will be reduced for tomatoes after cooking... was kinda confused...
i remember last time Home econs teacher told us Tomatoes is best to eat cooked instead of uncooked but she never explained why....

jhw,

Anything cooked, will caused loss in vitamins. That's why I eat the tomatoes raw. Even if cooked, dun cook too long. Sometimes, I eat my vegies steam or just rinsed with hot water. This will keep the vitamins intact.

Jhw,
Thanks for the info.
Will grab those seeds for my Hb.

Nah... my hb dun bath with warm water.
Ever since tat time he went to the talk, he bathing with cold water.
Got to force him take folic acid liao. He alway think folic acid is for women only.

Princessleopard,

Ya i also dunno whether it's logical, but i like to steam the veg too cos i feel so wasted all the essence go to the water if i'm not making soup.. Haha..

Celestine,

Can tell ur hubby folic acid also gd for guys.. Actually i didn't know la, it was my hubby who read up on it and started kapo-ing my folic acid.. Was wondering why finished faster than usual and he went to replenish.. Haha.. I didn't read it up myself but he said apparently good to prevent chromosomal abnormalities in sperm..

Min81,
Wah! Ur Hb good wor.
He will go and read up info from website.
Mine hor... dun believe in me. Until he goes for research then he will start taking it. But it takes him forever to do a research. *knock head*

Haha ya my hb will never take the initiative to do research like this... sometime he even reject wat i forced him to eat when he is not in good mood...

jhw, my hb too.. nv take the initiative to search... i hav to force him to eat vitamin, everyday must ask him whether eat or not.. &amp; then black face to me... sometimes really very tired
he totally do not has initiative want to do something that can help him . worst thing is his mother still think that big problem is come fr me! sometimes i m confused should i proceed my fet ?

Snoopy
ya my hb also ever comment that miscarriage is my problem... but i still wish to hv my child soon... so i need to force things down his throat... everyday whatsapp him to check if he take omega after lunch... also check if he eat any unhealthy food..

jwh, my hb back to take unhealthy food now.stop all the vitamins
i really dont know who can advise him. he still think that this is not big problem as long as now we hav oredi hav frozen embryo so his task is end....haiz.....

Snoopy
how about brewing soups for him weekly or twice a week?
At least can get some nutrients from soups if really no way to stop him from eating unhealthy food...

Or get a fren to persuade him? Guys listen to outsiders more than wives

min81,

I read somewhere before that cooking destroy the vitamins, so have to limit the cooking time. But of course meat must be cooked. SO I try to control vegetables. Anyway, healthier to steam, cos no oil involve.

Princess, min81,
How to eat veg by just boil or steam. Hate the bland taste wor. Hahaha!
Nowaday I try to eat more veg but must stir fry. *^^*
But of cos tomato I try to eat raw.. Least the Vit wouldn't lost.

Celest
i saw my MIL used to steam/Boil vegetables such as caixin and kailan... and then she will cook Oyster sauce and pour over them and Stir... taste not bad...

Celestine,

Adding sauce like what jhw said will make it tasty.. Or normally i add pepper, a little sesame oil, salt or soy sauce and lotsa garlic.. Not plain la, if not, i also cannot tahan.. Keke.. Today will pamper myself and cook beef fried rice for lunch after all the steamed food the past week.. Hehe..

Celest,
to eat healthier, i just chop up the veges, boil water with salt and add some oil so the leafy kind of vege wun taste too bitter. take out once the water boils again, tt way everything is cooked but not cooked for too long. washing the vege oso cannot soak in the water too long, else the vitamins will b leached out.

agree tt oyster sauce makes most vege dishes tastier. sometimes i just heat up the oyster sauce then stir in the boiled vege.