Support group - Miscarriages

Ling, I have thyroid antibodies. what's the diff between thus and hypo thyroid? Yes... I was in strips and hubby in t shirt and track pants I think. I must have seen u too... Heh heh but I happened to see be ex neighbor so we were chatting away. Is your menses irregular?

Tub, have tpo could indicate that you run a high risk of getting hashimotos meaning hypothyroid. Normally if your blood reading is okay even though u have the thyroid Antibodies endocrine will not give you thyroxine. I think because we are ttc hence to play safe they give the thyroxine to bring down the chances of inflammed thyroid.

Go with what they recommend infact after both doctor advise me to up my thyroidxine my goiter literally gone and my regular endocrine doc say they are dishing good advice.

I do have regular period but my cycle days too long I just want to shorten it.. My cycle almost 40 days long cannot help but think this lead to my mcs

Thanks ling ! I always tell my hubby u r an angel on thus thread. Always so composed and knowledgeable.

Ling, i just took as per recommended. As i gave no symptoms, don't know the effect yet till blood test later. I think dr vasoo was very surprised I am totally asymptomatic despite all the numbers. Felt like a specimen! Haha...

Dear all, I just suffered my first mc on Jan 24 (abt a week ago). It was also my first pregnancy. I was about 11-12 weeks pregnant.

I have some queries which I hope some of you can help me out here.

The events that happened are as follows:
1) on Jan 17, I went for routine scan, the bb was growing well, 10wks 2 days old, growing perhaps better than I expected as my EDD was pushed forward by 4 days since the last scan. I was naturally optimistic seeing how bb had grown...
2) On Jan 18, I suddenly had cramps and HEAVY Bleeding. Doc found some blood clots between the sac and the womb lining. Baby still had heartbeat, normal range, but on low side (i.e. 120 Hz)
3) I was given progesterone pills to stop my bleeding, as well as bed rest and told to see the doc after 1 week. Bleeding stopped the next day.
4) One week later (jan 24), doc found that bb's heartbeat stopped. Hence I had my DnC

I have been trying to figure out the causes of my miscarriage. Is it possible for me to have a blood clotting disorder or some auto-immune disorders (e.g. Anti thyroid, Anti Phospholipid, Anti nuclear antibodies) that somehow caused the miscarriage.

I also had taken my bloodwork on Jan 17 and the data shows that I have higher amts of white blood cells, and lower amts of red blood cells.

I also have a few more questions.

1) How do I go about taking tests such as Antibody/Chromosomal testing? (Do I have to experience mc #2 before the doc will suggest that I go through such tests?)
2) When do I take such tests?
3) Are these tests taken during every pregnancy or are they just taken once?

Sorry I have more questions. Guess my way of coping with this loss is to try to find as much information as I can about miscarriages.

I've been reading up on when it is a good time to try again.
1)My Gynae has advised 2-4 mths.
2)My Friend's gynae said after first AF.
3) The following recent article says some docs have advised that there is no need to wait at all http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/38576273/ns/health-pregnancy/

Just wondering whether there are any known/proven risks of trying immediately/1 month after AF first arrives?

Hi Tub,

Wah.. angel... kua zhang man!

Anyway I almost same case as you.. blind high numbers and no symptons of hypothyroid. Hence a lot of ppl probably walking ard not knowing they have a condition. Anyway the TPO doesnt give ppl any symptons it is only when they start to attack than symptons comes up. So your antibodies might be in dormant stage.

Beowie,

I think this is your first mc.. hence dont go over the top. Most of us here are recurreny miscarriages hence we are seeking help with the recurrent loss clinic thus a lot of tests but for you I think they are actually not necessary. It could just be a chance of bad egg meet bad sperm. Give it a chance..

Did you send your fetus for testing? There is no way to find exact cause of mc unless it is evident it is chorosomal disorder.

About trying again I think is personal comfort level.. if you think you are ready go for it.. if you think you want to give it a few months to try and improve anything than take those few months to bu.

It's difficult and we know it too well. Do let yourself have ample time to grief.

Beowie: Bleeding stop 12 days after D&C. Saw gynae 2 weeks after D&C, scanned and was told the womb is recovering. Advised to rest for one cycle as it may be more likely to miscarry again since womb is still in recovery stage. Was told to ttc after the first cycle. Gynae did give us the option of chromosomal test. But we decide to skip the test since we want try again (unless results say 100% no good, but which is unlikely). Gynae also said not necessary as this is not a recurrent mc.

Thanks Ling, for your reply and encouragement.

I guess it's quite shocking to be told by gynae that baby's growing well and the next day have heavy bleeding, blood clotting.

What worries me is my blood test. It tells me things are not ok. But I also notice that the blood test that I did was rather general and does not test for those auto-immune antibodies. I will have to wait to discuss more with my gynae about my blood test.

I didn't send the foetus for testing as Hub and I are so new to all this.

Beowie: my bb also has got no hb, this is also my first preggie. But my doc says there is no reason fo this mc. It can be just bad luck that bb did not develop well.

So i take it as the case of bad luck. Since my bb did not grow well.. I have to let go.

My gynae said try after my 3rd af.. My aunt who got preggie 1month after her mc when she was in her 20s she eventually suffered ectopic preggie and somehow, one side of her fallopian tube burst suddenly in her first trimester and was hospitalised immediately..

But she still manage to get pregnant 1 yr later after the incident.

So i guess its better to play safe. Get your body back into normal first before trying. I just had my first af a week ago. Although i feel ok. But since my doc said that i should wait for 3rd one. Then, i just follow his instructions. At the meantime i just do things that will help bring down the rate of mc the next time round.

Because a person who is tryin to conceive have to start taking folic acid or multi vitamins 2 to 3 months before trying to get preggie. Its better cos it will lower down the chances of mc.

Try eating wheat germ every day. What germ helps in decreasing the chances of mc and help regulate hormones and it helps the bb to grow during preggie.

For me, i will be going back to my gynae in march after my af to ask if he gives green light. If it is a yes then its great...

Its always good to go back to your gynae to check up before trying again. At least you will know your body's condition by then.

Dont think too much about your loss. I also mc during my week 12 of preggie but bb was dead by week 9.

U have to do a mini confinement first before you can think about anything else.

Try drinking raspberry tea leaf. It helps regulate hormones, periods and push out old blood clots. So that you will not face the same problem again.

Dont worry about bleeding during preggi my mum had it when she had my elder sis. She said lucky my sis was strong enough to survive thru the heavy bleed.

So.. Do not try to fine reasons for your mc, cos u will feel worse than ever i was like you but my whole family was afraid i will be over depressed eventually arranged a big family holiday trip 1 week after my dnc.

Keep yourself relax.. Dont think so much. Ur bb in heaven do not want to see his/her mummy be upset about their departure.

Thanks May for the info... I am glad that I am not alone in this...

While some women have healthy pregnancies after getting preg. immediately, I personally think that there are more risks to getting pregnant immediately (e.g having marginal placenta pervia).

I am eager to get pregnant again because i'm not young anymore. However, the thought of enduring MS, having mood swings and then experiencing another mc is very frightening and traumatic.

Sometimes a small part of me even feels good being not pregnant not, because I'm no longer feeling nauseous and vomitting and unable to work. I'm no longer gagging at smells...etc. So my emotions are still very conflicted.

Also I still experience lower abdominal cramps now and then despite having no more bleeding. All these are signs that perhaps I'm not so ready to try again.

I guess it's really up to the individual's body and emotional readiness.

Anyhow, I'm glad I am able to let my feelings out here in this forum.

Thanks Christine for your advice.
Yeah my mom insisted I have to go thru a mini-confinement. Am going through it and actually I feel it helps me alot.

I was actually cheered up by my little nieces and nephew when I stayed with my mother initially after DnC. Sometimes i'm amazed at how sensitive/warm-hearted children can be. I guess my older siblings have 'prepared' them well on what they should do/should not say in front of their auntie.

Beowie: yup thats great that you ar recovering well. Your pain should be gone in 2 weeks.. I also stopped vomitting after week 10. But i thought its ok cos heading into week 12. But didnt know it was asign bb gave me.

Everyone in my family also try avoiding asking me about my mc. But i feel tat its ok to say i out cos at least you can let the others know so tat they will not go thru the same as us.

I was so worried abou my af not coming few weeks ago.. Cos i has been 5 weeks after my dnc back then. But lucky my raspberry tea leaf came in time... Drank for a few day and it really came.

And i just continue drinking it until now. I drink it like 3 times a day. It helped me tone up my uterus as well.

Hopefully this time round i can have a successfully peggie.

Hi Christine, may I know where to buy raspberry leaf tea?

When did ur pregnancy symptoms disappear after mc? My boobs are still rather heavy and full.

Will gynae take blood test during the checkup after mc? will doc ascertain the HCG level?

Beowie: Don't be sad anymore. Me too had a miscarriage on 25th and gone for D&C on 27th. Now resting at home to do my mini confinement.

Don't think too much about this mc since it's your first time and my first time too. I do not want to think too much about it too or else it will affect my confidence in ttc for 2nd time.

Meanwhile, just eat alot of heaty stuffs, build back your health and wait for your next appt with doctor for the follow-up chk up. We will jiayou together and ttc again once the doc gives us the green light.

I bought it from naturaworks.. Its an online organic shop. Its local. So delivery after order is 2 to 3 days.

My pregnancy symptoms disappear right after i did my dnc. But yes my boobs remain full and heavy for about 2 weeks. And my water retention went off only 3 weeks after dnc.

My gynae did not do any blood test on me and he just did a ultrasound to see my uterus. He said everything is fine.

Hcg level was not measured cos i was in a late mc. I only had my mc 3 weeks after my bb has no heartbeat. So, my hcg levels had already dropped to almost zero when i did my dc. Thats why i ovulate 3 weeks after dnc and af 5 weeks after dnc.

I went into emergency at the clinic when i start to bleed. And my doc say im mc-ing already.. I have to get the bb out immediately... So i did my dnc that very night. And stayed over in the hospital.

My gynae checked on me the next morning before being discharged. And said everything is fine.

Oneway to check your hcg level, buy preggie test kit. If its negative means ur period will be on its way 2 to 4 weeks after your visit to your gynae.

If ur hcg level still remain high after your check up, u will have to wait even longer for your first af. But the tea i mention can help to push them forward a little. Not to worry.

You can request your gynae to help you check your hcg levels...

Beowie: I'm also not young. Gynae did casually mentioned that mc could also be due to age.

For my case, i did not experience alot of pain after D&C, some cramps but manage to do without painkillers. Fair amount of bleeding in the first ten days or so. Remember to go back to gynae for check to see if womb is clear.

I also ate mainly confinement food and red date tea after the episode, and lots of sleep and rest. Now importantly must build up body.

Gals, in case I get too busy to go online tomorrow, gong xi fa cai! And may the year if the rabbit sprinkle loads of baby dust on all of us!

Christine, thanks for sharing. Glad that you are recovering well.
I hope my AF returns promptly too.

Today I had to go out to help my father out as he had a minor car accident. No one else to help him...I started having a bit of red spotting after I returned. Guess this cny i won't be visiting many relatives... just my parents and in-laws.

Hi May,

yeah, I've been eating lots of food that is known to 'bu' the body. Also went to TCM doc and bought some herbs. As well as lots of rest and sleep. Also been watching korea and chinese drama at home to pass the time.

Hi Cheerypie,
Thanks for the encouragement. Yes we will Jiayou togehter!! Hopefully things will work out better for us the next time we get preggie. It's now back to ovulation monitoring again for me now.... A bit sian as I actually had tried for 1.5 years before i had gotten pregnant. My hub had sperm issues. But after his sperm returned to normal, we strike within 2 mths. Thought the worst was over.... but guess... there are many obstacles I must overcome.

Hi gals, I had DnC done on 29jan, abit of cramp on that day but no more pain the following day. But today (3rd day), the cramp came back again and is mostly on the right side. Is it normal? Or Mayb because today I went to shop for cny clothes, walk for 2 hrs so the cramp came back?

Beowie: yes, so i hope you will recover soon too. As long as you keep positive mind, you will recover fast!

Red spotting is fine. You will get them on and off for 2 weeks. So dont worry.

Precious, your cramp on the right side is fine. I got them too after my dnc..but its better to rest for now than walkin too much. Cos you may hurt your uterus as the wounds are still not healed its still bleedin in process.

The cramp occur because your woinds are acting up again. Just like an injury. Sometimes u will feel the pain fo nothing.. Tats the same meaning. So not to worry unless you are heavy bleeding.

To all ladies,

I will be flying off to my mum's hometown tomorrow for cny... So im wishing all ladies a happy new year, gong xi fa cai, baby dusty dusty to everyone here!

Hope those who just did their dnc will recover soon! Hope those who are trying will have a better luck this time! Hope those waiting for af, af will arrive very soon!
stay happy! Less worries!

Beowie: Dun be sian ok. After doc's green light, try again. Dun think too negative for ur 2nd try, we will pray hard that we will hv smooth pregnancy the next time. Who knows u will strike the 1st time u try ;-). For the moment, just eat a lot of tonics and dun walk ard too much.

Precious : Rest well and dun walk too much also. Eat more confinement food to build back strong uterus :).

Christine: Thks for ur well wishes! Wish u hv baby luck soon too! In the meanwhile hv fun when u r back to hometown.

Christine: enjoy your trip. ;)

SY: yes need to rest n walk less Liao, dun Tik gog anyway except mum's plc n in law's plc during this cny Liao.

I am back from my hometown.. Hope everyone is doing fine...

Just got a news from a friend. His wife just gave birth to a full term bb gal yesterday. Felt abit hurt though....

Back in hoetown, all relatives started saying tat i should carry a bb back next year during cny...

Even my grandma says so... Felt so stressed... During cny i gained 2kgs already... Now only can think of losing weight and waiting for af to come on time monthly...

Hope really got bb dust luck this year... My hubby's youngest sister getting married in july some more... Dont think have time for an bb making nor..

Hello Girls,
Happie CNY!

Hi Christine,
I just got back yesterday. Hubby and I went to Bali during CNY for a getaway. It was such a refreshing trip eversince my D&C trauma.
I think I oso put on weight during the mini confinement. It's now week 6 and my af is not here yet. When did yours come? I'm having little spotting though.

Happy cny holidaygal!

I got my af on the 5th week after my dnc.

My af wasnt suppose to be accurate though, but somehow it came on time.

I was spotting for a few days after my real af came which lasted for about 5 days.

Maye you would like to go back to you gynae if you dont want to wait any longer for your af to come.

I did ask my gynae before about my af. He did mention, after a follow up, af should be here 2 to 4 weeks later.

So mine did came on time. But many mention that af are usually late. Some came 3 month later. Some 4 weeks later.

I read online, if you did ovulate after dnc, your af should arrive 2 weeks later. I did ovulate on my 3rd week after dnc.

U can try and see how your spotting goes for t next few days. If you are unsure, let your gynae check, some after dnc, their first af was very light, and only get back to normal after the 2nd af..

Christine, wah some had it 3 months later? that's super late....wish mine will come fast fast...

i dint check when i had ovulated after D&C, but i felt "dry" for the past weeks and also bleeded slightly after s*x.

This post D&C period seems so draggy ....

Ya... Super dry and painful.. But i got better after my first af.. I dont feel dry anymore.

I think u can just go back to your gynae.. He will help you push your af here...

Happy cny to all...

I'm new to this thread & am glad to find this thread too. Today my gynae confirmed no heartbeat for my bb & scheduled me for D&C tmr. Feeling emo & upset now.

This is my #2, conceived after 2mths of trying, thought we were lucky but somehow we are not. Bb was fine during 1st scan 2wks ago, spotting for a week, then back to him today to find no h/b. I'm starting to blame & question myself what hv i done the past 1-2wks tat caused this m/c

This is my 3rd week after dnc. First week was bleeding, second week light spotting and now in the 3rd week, am suddenly bleeding again. Is it because I didn't have enough rest ?

Also, has anyone did HSG test before ? Must it be done after the first AF reports?

Sorry for the many qns, am simply directionless...

Ytanhn: there are no reasons for bb to be no hb before week 12. It can be just due to bad luck. Dont blame yourself.

Mommytq: is your bleeding heavy? If its heavy bleeding, you have to go back to your gynae. It can be infection.

Hi Christine,
The bleeding not consider heavy, no soaking... but still need to use regular pad. The uterus also feels "aching".

Hi mommytq, I had a similar experience, my spotting stopped on day 12 and on day 15 it started having heavy bleeding.
My gynae said it's normal. Mine stopped only around day 20.

Dun worry, yours will stop soon. Just dont carry heavy things and try not to walk too much.

Mommytq: oh.. If its not heavy that means it still clearing your blood inside... Uterus will feel aching is fine.. Unless you have got very bad cramps... Currently your uterus wall is still recovering from the scarring... It will be fine soon.

Thanks holidaygal and christine, will continue to monitor. I was quite upset throughout the whole episode and the last thing I would want is to have any complications...

mommytq: dont worry.. be positive... get well soon and try again.. as long as u have your af... try after 3 cycle... things will turn out fine... :D

Hi all, Wishing all a happy new year! =)

I started work this week...also went for a gynae checkup and found that while i have no more leftover tissue, i still have some blood left in the womb - hence the occasional cramps.

The weirdest thing about me is that I hardly bled after my miscarriage. Day after my miscarriage, i was only spotting.

Doc gave me cytotec, to dilate my cervix and also to make cramp so that my body can release all the old blood.

When taking the medicine, all i had was brown spotting/discharge. Doc said it is still normal... but going to see doc again this coming monday.

Mommytq, i did not have a HSG, almost wanted to go for it. I rem the doc telling me tat HSG is done after AF. If a person has recently naturally conceived before, it is unlikely that both her tubes are blocked, as in it shows that an egg managed to travel down one tube and implant into the uterus.

Beowie: u actually can try taking raspberry leaf tea. It helps to tone and release blood in the uterus. And i think its healthier too.

My af did not manage to come on time after Dnc. Until i started taking the tea few days later, my af really came.

Cos i always wanted my af to come fast so that i can start bb making in time.

Cant wait for too long when seeing too many mummies to be on the street.

I wanted to see my gynae for my af problem. But thinking, i should avoid all medicine. Becos i feel tat i should not depend on medicines for my af to come or to heal my uterus. Its better for my liver too.

Maybe after your visit on monday if doc says it has been cleared up u wanna try taking the tea.

U can buy from a local online organic store. Call naturaworks.

Mommytq: i dont think its neccessary for you to go for the hsg. Unless doc says so. From ultrasound doc can roughly see how is the structure of your uterus and see if its normal.

So dont worry about it.. Try again... Im sure things will work out.

i did the HSG test prior to conceiving naturally. it was painful and i had cramps for the next few days. not an enjoyable process. and no s*x between af and hsg.

my d&c was done well, no issue with left over blood or cramps. so gynae gave me green light to try ttc after af.

used to take evening primrose and it helps to regulate af. not sure if its ok for those who are ttc.

May: its ok to take that cos that is to help balance your hormones. Being on regular af is equal to regular ovulation. Some used to have late ovulation due to irregular af.

For me, my af is always a 28days cycle. So i dont have much worries about it but currently im taking raspberry tea leaf to boost my af to be on time monthly and to tone up my uterus since i dont go for adobmen massage.

My dnc also was done well. But my doc say play safe, try 3 months later after i had my 3rd af...

christine: wait for 3rd af... wait till neck long. waiting for the next af (1st) is already so long to me, hope it comes soon so that can ttc again.

ok, will start taking evening primrose again.

was worried about s*x for first time after d&c as heard some said pain. did it and dh was happy, waited so long

Today I went to see doc after my d&c 2wks ago. Doc said my af shd be coming end of this mth and after my Mar af, I can start trying already! Am so happy! ! Can't wait for my af to come! Baby dust to all!

Sy: i did claim mine back...hospital bill and my monthly gynae check up... Full refund.

May: u can try taking raspberry tea leaf... I took mine and it came 5 weeks after my dnc.

My gynae ask me to do HSG test after the first AF. I ask why and he just replied, to investigate reason for mc. I was concern if really need to do after first AF because uterus still weak, dunno if can withstand test at this stage..

My bleeding/ spotting has stopped...Finally !!! Can't wait for first AF to come !!

Hope everyone gets sticky and healthy pregnancy soon !

Mommytq: my gynae did not ask me to go for it. He just say its very common for preggie women to go thru at least one mc. He say try again nvm. Dont need to test.